Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Our custom built 1700 square foot immaculate cottage.  Beautiful open floor plan

Torch Lake Hillside View Cottage - All Perfect Reviews! Wireless Internet [#295816] | View Property

Torch Lake Township
House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 6)
$1,200 - $1,700/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (31)

Sort by:
  • Great getaway

    Great getaway

    • Guest Julie (Downers Grove, IL)
    • Date of stay 08/28/13
    • Review Submitted 09/05/13
    Friends of ours rented this house for the week and invited us to stay as well. The house is spacious and airy; has beautiful views, is quiet and so peaceful. The photos of the house are completely accurate - brightly decorated and extremely clean. The bedrooms are large and comfortable and we enjoyed the wonderful sound system which played throughout the living area. The house is centrally located and we had many excursions to Traverse City and the surrounding areas. We brought our canoe and were pleased to find a small access ramp to Torch Lake right down the street. We would go back in a heartbeat! Loved it!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: So glad you enjoyed your time in northern Michigan, and in particular, our "cottage". Hope we'll see you again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Little Bit of Paradise

    A Little Bit of Paradise

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/24/13
    • Review Submitted 09/09/13
    Our stay at Torch Lake could only have been better if we could have stayed a few days longer. This beautiful house sits high on a bluff and has gorgeous views of Torch Lake across the road and has wooded seclusion surrounding the rest of the property. We loved sitting out on the balconies in the mornings with coffee and at dusk with a bottle of wine. This immaculate house is laid out with a spacious living room, kitchen and dining room with stairs leading up to two large bedrooms and a second bathroom. Everything is decorated beautifully. At one point there were six people staying in the house, and it never felt crowded at all. The house is very well stocked with not only with kitchen utensils and glasses, etc., but also with bath towels, beach towels and just about anything else you might need inside or out. The owners were very easy to deal with throughout the whole rental process and answered any questions we had almost immediately. We really felt welcomed into their home. We hope to return for another stay in the near future. I would recommend this house to anyone with the possible exception being someone who has trouble climbing stairs, as there are quite a few leading to the first floor and then up to the bedrooms. There is no end to the things that we like to do and see in this area. Down the road a short walk is a small private beach that is a very pleasant way to spend some time and cool off. One of our favorite restaurants is around Torch Lake in Clam River--"The Dockside". Great burgers, Bloody Mary's, fries. Sit out on the deck next to the channel and watch the boats go back an forth. After that, go across the channel to "Butch's" and rent some kayaks or wave runners. For truly gourmet food, "The Cook's House" in Traverse City is a must stop destination. A day or two touring the beautiful peninsulas north of Traverse City is always a rewarding experience, and if you like wine, it is almost like being in Napa Valley. Sleeping Bear Dunes, like Lake Michigan itself, is one of the natural wonders of the world.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Torch Lake Cottage

    Torch Lake Cottage

    • Guest Sheila (The Woodlands, Tx)
    • Date of stay 07/06/13
    • Review Submitted 08/05/13
    The cottage is darling and very clean! We were comfortable here and the owners were very nice. There are beautiful views of the lake and it is very quiet and peaceful. There are 2 drawbacks- no internet,which we really needed because we stayed for 2 weeks . The phone service on our cell phones wasn't great so any internet business we needed to do was hard. And the beds are extremely hard! If you like a very firm mattress then you are in luck. I would stay here again in a heartbeat- but probably not for 2 weeks with the internet situation.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Coming to the Gribi cottage in spring of 2014 wireless Internet!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • vacationer

    vacationer

    • Guest Diana (Canton MI)
    • Date of stay 06/29/13
    • Review Submitted 07/10/13
    My husband and I stayed at the property with our 3 children and 1 of their friends. The home was beautiful and upkept quite nicely. It is in a very central location such that you can easily travel to either Traverse City or Petosky. It is in a very quiet location that provided us with the peace and quiet we were looking for. I would recommend this property to anyone visiting that area and I would definitely recommend the home rental to anyone looking to rent in the area, it was well worth the money. The homeowners had any and everything we could possibly need and the home was very well clean. Great place to stay, we would come back again!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Honeymoon Location

    Great Honeymoon Location

    • Guest Katrina (Gaylord, MI/Edinburgh, UK)
    • Date of stay 05/18/13
    • Review Submitted 06/07/13
    We stayed here for nearly a week during our honeymoon, and it was fabulous. The house is beautiful; the pictures in the description are completely accurate. It's very nice, open, clean, and well decorated. The view from the balcony is gorgeous. It's a great view of Torch Lake. There's also a very helpful binder full of ideas for places to go, things to see/do, and places to eat. It's in a nice location for sight-seeing in Charlevoix or the Traverse City area, and Torch Lake itself is beautiful, and it's very close to Elk Rapids. The owners were very friendly and helpful and a pleasure to work with and talk to. I would definitely recommend this place. It's a very good location for a get-away. It's nice, too, that there aren't a lot of houses packed right on top of each other here. There's a comfortable amount of space between this house and the next, and there is room for walking in the woods or on the road. Overall, this was a great choice for us. I'm very pleased with it.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: So glad you had a nice honeymoon. Hope you are enjoying life in Scotland. We love it there!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fall visitors

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Fall visitors

    • Guest Laura and Dorie
    • Date of stay 09/27/12
    • Review Submitted 10/14/12
    Kim, we had a WONDERFUL time! Perfect house, thank you for sharing your beautiful home. We will be back for sure!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Cottage, Wonderful Area

    Wonderful Cottage, Wonderful Area

    • Guest Family of Four (Grand Rapids, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 09/15/12
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    Beautiful home that made for a great vacation. Unfortunately, the weather did not cooperate with our stay, but even in bad weather we had a great time. We had a beautiful view of the lake, with only a short walk to the beach. Wonderful kitchen and deck area! Owners are VERY pleasant to work with and go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. I really can’t imagine anyone being disappointed with this cottage. We’ve rented many different places over the years and this is one of our favorites.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Post Labor Day Vacation

    Post Labor Day Vacation

    • Guest landrewg (West Bloomfield, MI)
    • Date of stay 09/04/12
    • Review Submitted 09/22/12
    We agree with everything stated in the prior reviews. This is a beautiful place, high on a hill, with a beautiful view of Torch Lake. Private and very peaceful. The only negatives are based on our personal preferences: No internet access. TV on the small side. Beds are very, very firm. To restate: this place is fantastic and we highly recommend it! The owners are great, too!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Comments from our appreciative guests

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Comments from our appreciative guests

    • Guest KF, Galesburg, MI
    • Date of stay 08/27/12
    • Review Submitted 09/10/12
    Perfect! Perfect home, perfect weather, perfect vacation! Thank you so much for renting your beautiful home to us. We had a great time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Out of the mouth of babes!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Out of the mouth of babes!

    • Guest Recent visitors from Ohio
    • Date of stay 07/28/12
    • Review Submitted 08/05/12
    Hi, Thank you for letting us stay in this house! It was beautiful. We used all the beds in this room. We love to make the beds because they are so pretty! I love the flowers on our mattresses! Sorry! Thanks! Love - the names of the two young girls who just stayed. This note made us smile as we request our guests to leave the beds they used unmade so we know for sure which beds were used. So here they are apologizing for making the beds. How sweet!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Everything We Wanted, And More!

    Everything We Wanted, And More!

    • Guest Michael and Patty (Springboro, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 07/28/12
    • Review Submitted 08/02/12
    This place is everything we wanted, and more! You can tell that this is a loved home, not merely a vacation rental business. When we arrived, on July 28, 2012, we were greeted by Kevin, the owner and builder of the home. He was generous with his time and showed us around the house and gave us some good ideas of what we should do with our kids (10 and 8) while we were in the area. The kitchen is great and is stocked better than our kitchen at home. The living room/dining room are spacious and more than what we needed. The upstairs has 2 bedrooms and a full bath (the downstairs has a full bath also). Both bedrooms were very nice, with great firm beds (3 queen sized beds). The deck was wonderful, with a nice view of the lake (although it is not an expansive view). We saw a lot of deer, including fawns, and a flock (?) wild turkey (maybe we will come back for thanksgiving???). The home is in a great location; mere minutes from Elk Rapids, 15 minutes to Charlevoix (our favorite), 25 from Traverse City, an hour to Sleeping Bear Dunes (you MUST go), and maybe 2 hours to Macinac Island. The only downsides are: (1) the house is not ON Torch Lake, it is across the steet from the Lake (the street does not have lot of cars going by, maybe 10 an hour). You can walk to the Lake, but it is a 20 minute hike. It would be better to drive; and (2) no wifi internet (I know you shouldn't want internet while on vacation, but many jobs really require it now a days). Overall, this place is great and we look forward to coming back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Fabulous Cottage

    Fabulous Cottage

    • Guest Mar (Macomb Michigan)
    • Date of stay 07/07/12
    • Review Submitted 07/27/12
    We stayed at the Hillside cottage for a 1 week family vacation. It was absolutely perfect. The home is immaculate! It is so welcoming, cheerful, and the decor is so fun and whimsical. Everything we could possibly need was included in this cottage. It was so organized, a renter's dream. The pamphlets, area maps and visitor's guides were extremely helpful and a very nice touch. Kim was so kind and thoughtful when it came to giving us suggestions, and places to visit. A list of beaches would be a great addition to all the information provided. And also, fun places and things to do for children. We spent a day at the Dam Beach in Elk Rapids, it was really nice, it is a soft sandy beach and the water was very clean and clear. However, the water was very shallow and the kids had to venture very far to swim. The river/stream was so much fun! We also spent a day at the Depot Beach in Charlevoix. It was a very nice beach as well. We liked that it was small and had a grassy/picnic area nearby. We set up our tent on the grass near a picnic table and we were still very close to the sand and water. It is a soft sandy beach and the water was clean. The Omelette shop was a great breakfast place in Traverse City, they have fabulous baked goods, the cherry cookies were delicious! The Lego Brickstation was a HUGE hit for our boys. They spent about an hour there building Legos. We had Moomers ice cream, which was fabulous. I guess Moomers was featured on Good Morning America and the Oprah Winfrey show as being one of the best ice cream in the United States. American Spoon has great homemade gelato too. We rented a pontoon twice from Butch's Marine Rental and had so much fun at the Torch Lake sand bar. Torch Lake was absolutely AMAZING! Pristine is the perfect word to describe it. Make sure to take a first aid kit and include peroxide and crazy glue. None of the rented boats around us even had a first aid kit, which I couldn't believe. Luckily, we had one in my beach bag, our little guy had an accident. We have rented in the past, and 1 thing I think would be a nice addition is to have a renter's journal. I saw one in the china cabinet that would work. Renter's can add comments, reflections, places they visited, restaurants they ate at, and suggestions. When the morning of check-out came, we were all sad and dragged our feet. None of us wanted to leave. We had such a wonderful time and having such a perfect cottage to come home to each night was the icing on the cake

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Cheeriest, Cleanest, Most Serene Cottage!!!

    Cheeriest, Cleanest, Most Serene Cottage!!!

    • Guest Jaxtraveldr. (Jacksonville, Florida)
    • Date of stay 06/16/12
    • Review Submitted 06/26/12
    My sisters and I stayed in this cottage from June 16-June 23, 2012. When we first entered the "cottage", which should be called a palatial newly built gorgeous home, I was first struck by all of the unique and happy decor, and the utter cleanliness of the home. The owners greeted us and gave us a tour of the home and they were quite neat and interesting and eclectic. The home really shows their creativity. The husband actually built the house, and the wife has left no small detail untouched in the superb manner in which she has decorated it. You simply must see it to fully appreciate their efforts in providing renters with a wonderfully unique and happy experience. There are two decks that overlook Torch Lake, and the sunrise in the morning is as peaceful as it gets while sipping coffee on the deck(s) while watching the morning sun dance off of Torch Lake as it begins it's day. Relaxing on the front decks in the mornings also means watching the deer that come so close as to almost walk right onto the front porch. Each morning we had the pleasure of watching 3 deer and 2 fawns gather their breakfast while looking at us gathering ours. The house is a hop, skip and a jump away from nearby towns such as Elk Rapids, Traverse City, Charlevoix, etc., but the home itself has a BBQ for you to BBQ on the deck and is secluded so that you can have a really great time without intruding on surrounding properties. The home also has a separate fire pit area for those cool nights by the fire. This is truly a wonderful place to stay while you're away from your own home. Everything is provided for you including paper towels, toilet paper, towels, beach towels, full utensils in the kitchen...everything. Nothing has gone unthought of by the hosts. Plus, the A/C is awesome! The only drawback, if there has to be one, is that it does not have WiFi internet. But from the hosts I met, I am sure that WiFi is coming soon! Great great great great great rental. You will not be disappointed especially if you like a clean, comfortable, peaceful place to call home for a week or two. WE ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We always are happy when our guests love our cottage as much as we do! Sincerely, Kim and Kevin Gribi

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Everything a vacation should be!

    Everything a vacation should be!

    • Guest luv2travel (Hamilton Indiana)
    • Date of stay 09/09/11
    • Review Submitted 09/19/11
    This cottage is exactly as the pictures indicate, beautiful, spotlessly clean and with a great view of the incredible clear, turquoise waters of Torch Lake. The owners were flexible and very responsive to questions, and emails. The cottage sits across the road from the lake on a hill. There are 3 levels, the garage level, main living level (open concept) with wrap around deck and the bedroom level with small deck off the master. Whether you love watching sunrise with a cup of coffee or sunset with a glass of wine, sitting on the deck is the perfect spot to enjoy! There is a public access beach close to the cottage and and a public access ramp for trailered boats/jet skiis 1/5 of a mile from the cottage. There is a parking pad at the cottage for a boat. This cottage is half way between Charlevoix and Traverse City on the NW side of Torch. It is a very quiet and relaxing area. Elk Rapids is the nearest town (approx 10mi). I enjoyed the farm/orchard stands, the Schooner festival in Traverse City, the beaches and "Hobbit" houses in Charlevoix, and Sleeping Bear dunes (amazing). The winery's on Old Mission peninsula are fun too! I enjoyed eating at Dockside in Alden on the chain of lakes/Clam River, The Riverwalk Grill in Elk Rapids, and Shorts Brewing Co in Bellaire. You can do as much or as little as you want! I would recommend this to a friend (I already have) and I would definitely stay here again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Torch Lake Hillside View Cottage

    Torch Lake Hillside View Cottage

    • Guest M, L, and KB (Pickerington, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 09/01/11
    • Review Submitted 09/13/11
    This cottage is amazing! The views of Torch Lake from the decks are great, and the sunrises are gorgeous! It is in an ideal location for anyone wanting peaceful surroundings. The road (little to no traffic) it is on is perfect for running, bike riding, and walking...no matter what time of the day. The kitchen is the best equipped of any vacation house we have ever rented. The description on this site was 100% accurate....warm, inviting, immaculate, and truly does feel like home. The Gribi's are wonderful to work with, and so very accomodating. Torch Lake is the most beautiful and refreshing lake to swim in....access to the Lake is just a short walk away. We went boating, kayaking, rode the TART bike trail to Traverse City, visited Charlevoix, had wonderful meals at Pearl's in Elk Rapids, and enjoyed the peace of quiet runs in the morning. Our first night there, we took a night hike on the road (take a flashlight, as it is extremely dark), and were in awe of the beautiful starlit sky. The only thing we would recommend is that if you are not familiar with the area, do your researching of restaurants, churches, boat rentals, activities, map quests, etc. before you arrive because there is not access to the internet. We would highly recommend this rental to anyone visiting beautiful Torch Lake. We will most definitely be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Happy Renters

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Happy Renters

    • Guest Sharon and Joe, Cleveland area
    • Date of stay 08/13/11
    • Review Submitted 08/21/11
    Just a note to let you know how much we enjoyed our week in your beautiful cottage nestled in the perfect setting. It was one of the best experiences we've had with renting a vacation home. Everything was exactly as stated and then some. We spent much of our time on the decks admiring the lake, the sunrises, and listening to the sounds of the woods. The location was perfect for many day trips to the different attractions in the area. We will definitely be visiting again. Thank you.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Second Visit Just as Great!

    Second Visit Just as Great!

    • Guest Laura D. (St. Clair, MI)
    • Date of stay 08/06/11
    • Review Submitted 11/20/11
    We returned to this cottage for the second straight year because of its beauty, location, cleanliness, and amazing owners! Our three boys think of it as our summer slice of Heaven and continue to talk about the precious memories we make here throughout the year. This year we were fortunate enough to catch the Elk Rapids fireworks show...WOW!! It was the most amazing show we've ever seen. It kicked off what would be a week we'd never forget. From trips to Sleeping Bear Dunes where we canoed down the Platte River...a MUST do...to our day at Mackinac Island, the location of this cottage is what we love most. We can take day trips all over the area or just hang close to home at the Elk Rapids beaches which are some the best in Michigan. We cannot imagine a summer without our week in "Heaven." You must visit this cottage and see for yourselves!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Leslie and Chuck
    • Date of stay 08/01/11
    • Review Submitted 08/10/11
    Many thanks for lovely stay. The cottage was just perfect for a week's getaway. You thought of everything - extra towels, cooking supplies, and even a Michael Buble CD. How did you know he's my favorite?! The place was delightful in every way! We loved it! Thank you! Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Gorgeous Home!

    Gorgeous Home!

    • Guest Sharon & Dan (Goodrich)
    • Date of stay 07/23/11
    • Review Submitted 08/09/11
    My family found this home to be not only comfortable but also very lovely. The view from any of the windows was calming and did wonders to relax all of us during our stay. The view of Torch Lake was just wonderful to wake up to and linger over coffee. The kitchen was one of my favorite rooms and came fully stocked for any meal you might decide on preparing. The entire home was spotless and came stocked with all linens. It was also nice to have a washer/dryer available for use during the week. I would highly recommend this home to my family and friends.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Vacation @ Torch

    Vacation @ Torch

    • Guest Kevin (Ypsilanti Township)
    • Date of stay 07/16/11
    • Review Submitted 08/04/11
    Thank you for a very enjoyable stay at your home. If you're looking for a nice place to stay close to a lot of activities then you've found the right spot. For those of you towing a boat, then look no further as the boat launch is 1/4 mile away and you'll be on Torch Lake, which is now rated one of the best in the world. My party consisted of me, my wife and 3 year old boy. He enjoyed playing the piano, running around the house, walking in the woods behind the home and taking walks down to the beach. We also took day trips into Elk Rapids, TC and Charlevoix too. If we weren't going to a nearby town, we enjoyed walking a trail in the woods behind the house, watching the deer or heading down to the beach for a little swimming and hunting for rocks. I enjoyed the proximity to A-GA-MING golf club as the house sits on the 10th hole. I actually was able to walk through the woods (w/clubs) up 10 fairway to the clubhouse, which allowed my wife to use the car all day. If you are looking for other golf courses check out Loccenheath. In regards to the house itself, it is very clean, nicely decorated and offers all the comforts of home like central air! The house sits up from the road. The road isn't very busy, but you can get a car or two going too fast. On the weekend mornings we watched the bicyclist come rolling by. The house is new and offers a good sized porch with a view of the lake. The view is good, but no expansive as there are some trees to the left and right blocking you, but all in all it is a nice view. The kitchen is nicely stocked with everything for creating meals. The bedrooms are nice size and comfortable; however, the beds are a bit firm. If you have trouble with stairs, you might want to avoid this place as you do climb your share!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We had a great time during our stay at Torch Lake!

    We had a great time during our stay at Torch Lake!

    • Guest BrianD (Perry, MI)
    • Date of stay 07/02/11
    • Review Submitted 07/18/11
    We stayed at the cottage two weeks and loved every minute of it! The weather was warm and sunny and we enjoyed the beautiful views of Torch Lake (great from either of two decks). The cottage was also great for entertaining family and friends...even a fire pit outside which was a pleasant surprise. The interior is impeccably decorated, confortable, and very clean with beautiful wood floors and plenty of space. We were also close to swimming areas and access to boat rentals. We rented a pontoon boat and had a blast swimming and tubing. We highly recommend this property and we'll be back again!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Rachel and Brandon
    • Date of stay 05/26/11
    • Review Submitted 05/31/11
    We can not express in words what a truly wonderful time we had during our stay, and a huge part of it was this place. A perfect gem in every single way, from the expert craftsmanship to the colorful inviting decor, to the beautiful, most perfect location...your home is truly one-of-a-kind. Thank you for sharing the magical place with us. As soon as we are able, we will be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Christine and David
    • Date of stay 05/21/11
    • Review Submitted 05/31/11
    Just wanted to let you know we enjoyed the cottage so much. It is so beautiful inside and of course the views are stunning. We went to Blue Pelican on Saturday and had a great meal. We played AgaMing on Monday. You are on the 10th hole Torch course by the way. I hope you found the cottage in good shape when we left. Christine will be there with her sister in June and then we may want to come back in October. Thanks so much for an enjoyable stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We love this cottage!

    We love this cottage!

    • Guest Laura D. (St. Clair, MI)
    • Date of stay 08/08/10
    • Review Submitted 08/30/10
    What an amazing getaway on Torch Lake! This cottage is absolutely gorgeous. It is beautifully decorated, meticulously maintained, and stocked with all of the kitchen tools, linens, and towels you'll ever need. It is located on a peaceful stretch of Torch Lake where there is a peaceful road perfect for biking, walking/running, inline skating, etc. We saw deer all over the place - even in the backyard. There is Torch Lake beach access just down the road (an easy walk) where you can enjoy one of the most beautiful lakes in the world! Elk Rapids is a quick trip down the road where there are four other beaches to enjoy. Traverse City is a quick trip south and Charlevoix a quick trip north. We loved that the cottage is centrally located which allowed us to explore so many local treasures. The owners are the best to work with. They are passionate about the area and are eager to help you enjoy all that it has to offer. We highly recommend this cottage and will definitely return with our boys for another amazing week in paradise!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Hidden Gem !

    Hidden Gem !

    • Guest Joe (Traverse City, Mi)
    • Date of stay 07/13/10
    • Review Submitted 01/09/11
    We had the good fortune to score a summer stay at the Torch Lake Hillside Cottage. This delightful cottage has a view of Torch Lake, easy access to water-play sites and nearby dining options. The full kitchen, comfy bedrooms, fireplace, and multiple views from both levels had us wanting to settle in for a long long stay. We're already planning our stay for next summer.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Vacation home

    Great Vacation home

    • Guest BB (Tullahoma, TN)
    • Date of stay 07/03/10
    • Review Submitted 07/13/10
    This is a great place to stay! We have never stayed anywhere that was any better furnished than this home. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you could possibly need. Every room is tastefully decorated. The view of Torch Lake from the deck, balcony, and the entire east side of the house is beautiful. When the sun shines on the lake, it looks like something in the Carribean. I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a fun weekend getaway or a full week of fun in the sun like we had. There is planty to do in the area to please anyone, especially if you love the outdoors. We came up from the southeast. So the 80 degree days and 60 degree nights were a nice break from the heat and humidity in our neck of the woods. Thanks!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Romantic Anniversary Getaway

    Romantic Anniversary Getaway

    • Guest DK & SK (Maple City)
    • Date of stay 05/09/10
    • Review Submitted 06/23/10
    We stayed at this beautiful hillside cottage to celebrate our anniversary. What a surprise to find such a bright, colorful, and beautifully decorated cottage. It was much nicer that what the pictures try to capture. There is wonderful artwork, whimsical color scheme, and comfortable furniture. We enjoyed relaxing at night with a glass of wine looking out over Torch Lake with the glow of the corner gas fireplace. The living area is nicely equiped with large tv, dvd player, and a sound system that has ceiling speakers throughout the living area. The kitchen was well equiped and had everything we needed (or would have wanted if we stayed for an extended period of time.) The bedroom bed was very comfortable and the room was nicely decorated. the cottage has a large connected deck off the dining area and off the master bedroom on the upper level. Great spots to enjoy watching the sun rise in the morning. We really enjoyed the location between Elk Rapids and Charlevoix. The cottage is across the street from Torch Lake with great views. There is a public access and boat access nearby. We enjoyed walks along the lake road in this vacation neighborhood. The cottage also backs up to the A-Ga-Ming and Sundance golf courses. Nice golf courses to play, so bring your clubs. We visited downtown Elk Rapids and Charlevoix during our stay. Great little towns with nice shops, pretty beaches, and wonderful restaurants. This was the perfect place to relax and enjoy our anniversary, we wanted to stay longer. Highly recommend for any type of getaway. You won't be disappointed.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • gribi cottage

    gribi cottage

    • Guest Jean and Joan (Interlochen, Mi)
    • Date of stay 05/01/10
    • Review Submitted 05/20/10
    What a nice getaway! This is not really a cottage - it is a beautifully furnished home that makes you feel at home the moment you walk in. Everything is new and tasteful, comfortable, whimsical, cheerful, bright, clean and convenient. The master bedroom has a sliding door on to a small balcony looking on to the lake across the street. The sunrise on the lake is beautiful. A lower balcony is great in the evening for a glass of wine with friends. Our favorite thing to do in nice weather is walk on the lightly-traveled road. In the cooler weather, we sit by the gas fireplace and play games around the big table, or watch movies. The cabinets have everything you need. A Bunn coffee maker always has hot water ready. The beds are very comfortable, or is it that we just sleep better in such a calm and relaxing setting? A friend and I plan to have a writing weekend in this lovely place. The wooded property is close to a golf course and there is a great restaurant nearby, The Blue Pelican. An afternoon trip into Elk Rapids or Central Lake or even Traverse City or Charlevoix is not too far. The only, and I say ONLY negative is that a person in a wheelchair could not manage the stairs alone. We have visited several times, and we highly recommend the Gribi cottage. Go, and be ready to relax.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely Hillside Cottage**

    Lovely Hillside Cottage**

    • Guest JJ and PDJ (Traverse City, MI)
    • Date of stay 04/16/10
    • Review Submitted 05/13/10
    This place is wonderful! It’s a lovely cottage, meticulously cared for and nestled into a hillside overlooking Torch Lake. It offers not only beautiful scenery, but a very comfortable stay. The home is tastefully decorated and furnished, and welcomes you into its spacious kitchen and dining room with lots of color. As people who enjoy cooking, we appreciate the fully stocked and spacious kitchen as well as the large dining room table that comfortably accommodates guests. The view from the front balcony is exceptional, from the pure blue waters of Torch Lake by day to the star filled evening skies at night. Don’t miss it! Whether one is interested in a quiet hiatus or an up-north adventure vacation, this place is ideal. The owners of this cottage are very accessible and accommodating. We would definitely recommend this summer home to family and friends!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Vacation Spot!

    Perfect Vacation Spot!

    • Guest SE (Michigan)
    • Date of stay 03/28/10
    • Review Submitted 06/23/10
    We stayed at this great cottage for a quick spring break getaway. Beautifully decorated, well built custom cottage, great view of Torch Lake, and a very comfortable layout. The bright bold colors that decorate this cottage, you would think you're on Mackinac Island or Seaside, Fl. The lake side view has a large bank of windows across the living area and the master bedroom that gives you great view and awesome sunrises. The cottage is very well equiped from the kitchen to the bedrooms. We were pleasantly surprised that all we needed was our clothes and food. The kitchen was better equiped than our own, plus everything was tastefully matched. The cottage sleeps 6 in two bedrooms. Very comfortable beds and decorated to match the theme of the cottage. Hint, enjoy your morning coffee off the master bedroom deck with the sun rising over the lake, great way to start your day! The cottage owners are very easy to work with and very accommodating. Easy to find cottage in a nice lakeside neighborhood. Close to Elk Rapids/Traverse City and Charlevoix/Petoskey. We really enjoyed our stay, highly recommend to family and friends.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic lakeside cottage!

    Fantastic lakeside cottage!

    • Guest Steubenville Slim (Florida Panhandle)
    • Date of stay 08/24/09
    • Review Submitted 04/25/10
    We absolutely LOVED this 'gem' of a cottage. It has the feel of a much-loved home, every detail in accord with the excellent taste in decor. The large, comfortable bedrooms and well-appointed baths made us feel at home. The kitchen is stocked with anything a chef could need and it all MATCHED, to boot!!. All the rooms were squeaky clean and in perfect order. The owners made themselves available for any questions or concerns, but we had none. I would definitely recommend this cottage to friends and/or relatives. The entire Traverse City area was just down the road, as well as the many natural attractions and waterways. The corner fireplace was a bonus, although it was warm enough that we never had to light a fire. The absolute best were the sunrises, which were 'framed' in the front bedroom windows each morning. We sat on the beautiful deck with our morning coffee and soaked in the sun's rays and the gorgeous vista of Torch Lake. What more could anyone want in a vacation cottage? Nothing!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]