Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
A private 'Shanghai-La' in beautiful Santa Barbara

Private Family Pool Home on Acre Property-Close to Town [#296221] | View Property

DownTown
Four bedrooms, three baths sleeps up to 8 in luxury and with incredible space
$3,800 - $4,500 per week (USD)
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (23)

Sort by:
  • "Totally Relaxing & Enjoyable..."

    Guest comment entered by owner

    "Totally Relaxing & Enjoyable..."

    • Guest Art & Sherry & Family
    • Date of stay 08/26/13
    • Review Submitted 03/26/14
    "Totally Relaxing and enjoyable, what a vacation should be" This is the second year that we have spent our vacation at 'Poolside' in Santa Barbara. As before, the only thing we needed to do was show up and bring some good books to read and our food and drink. This vacation rental home comes with everything else you might possibly need for a relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The location is perfect. You fell that you are miles away from everything but in actuality you are only minutes away from downtown, the beaches, restaurants, etc. We hope to be back again next year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • "A Great House for a Family Vacation!"

    Guest comment entered by owner

    "A Great House for a Family Vacation!"

    • Guest The G Family
    • Date of stay 08/19/13
    • Review Submitted 03/26/14
    We had a lovely week in this house during our recent family reunion. The home is large enough that everyone has privacy, and most of the decor and features are updated. However, it is casual enough for families with small children to feel comfortable. The best part of this house is definitely the outdoor pool area - beautiful fruit trees, a huge deck area, and a fabulous pool. The location is lovely, a short drive to town but removed in the hills. Walking distance to a great park, the Natural History Museum, and the Santa Barbara Mission. The secret perk that makes it feel luxurious is the white towels - there are tons of them in each bathroom!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Getaway

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Beautiful Getaway

    • Guest Sandra B., Alberta, Canada
    • Date of stay 08/10/13
    • Review Submitted 08/28/13
    "Beautiful Getaway!" 3 couples recently rented "Poolside" to celebrate our 50th Birthdays...and we are so happy we did. We enjoyed the beautiful gardens, private yard, swimming in the pool, and cooking with the fresh herbs, lemons, limes, and oranges we found on the property. We are from Canada, and spent our days exploring and golfing around Santa Barbara - but we enjoyed coming "home" to cook and eat our meals in the quiet and privacy of the home. Wendy was very helpful in providing suggestions for golf, limousine service for wine tours, and any other info we wanted to know about Santa Barbara. We especially appreciated her professionalism from start to finish in the process - following through in a timely manner with e-mails and phone calls, and leaving us feeling that all is being taken care of. The home was perfect for 3 couples who wanted to be together, but still have our own "space". Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful, relaxing, revitalizing week!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Wonderful, relaxing, revitalizing week!

    • Guest Emmet B., Dublin, Ireland
    • Date of stay 07/19/13
    • Review Submitted 07/21/13
    This place and home will live long in our memory. We have had a wonderfully relaxing, energizing and revitalizing week in your generous slice of paradise. We became thoroughly immersed in the property's balming charms from the first day until our final early morning last swim just minutes ago. The symmetry, architecture and spatial embrace was unique and delightful to us all. What a place, for which our only regret is having to leave! We shall return again, and that thought shall stay with us until the next drive up Mission Canyon road.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxing, effortless stay

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Relaxing, effortless stay

    • Guest Neil B., Glasgow, Scotland
    • Date of stay 07/13/13
    • Review Submitted 07/21/13
    Where did the week go? We had such a relaxing time here and loved both your beautiful house and wonderful garden. Thank you for making our stay so effortlessly easy.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Exceeded Our Expectations!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Exceeded Our Expectations!

    • Guest David D., Ontario, Canada
    • Date of stay 11/10/12
    • Review Submitted 11/15/12
    This was our first stay at a vacation home and the visit exceeded our expectations. The house is beautiful, spacious and comfortable to live in. We had 3 generations and all loved it. As stated in the description of the property, it is private with a beautiful garden and pool. Our kids were thrilled to pick oranges, pomegranates, lemons, tomatoes which we ate. The kitchen is well stocked with all things including a spice drawer! As a result we ended up eating almost all of our meals in the house. The bedrooms are well separated from the living room, kitchen allowing us to be up while the kids slept. The owner has left nice "personal" touches - toys for the kids, toiletries stocked in the bathroom, pens/scissors in the kitchen that made us feel like home. There was even a piano that I could practice for an upcoming concert on. The location was good - accessible to all the places in the Santa Barbara area we visited over the week stay. We would like to stay here when we return to the area!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • "Totally Relaxing, Enjoyable..."

    Guest comment entered by owner

    "Totally Relaxing, Enjoyable..."

    • Guest Art & Sherry W., Los Angeles, CA
    • Date of stay 08/26/12
    • Review Submitted 09/13/12
    "Totally Relaxing and Enjoyable; What a Vacation Should Be" This is the second year that we have spent our vacation at 'Poolside' in Santa Barbara. As before, the only thing we needed to do was show up and bring some good books to read and our food and drink. This vacation rental home comes with everything else you might possibly need for a relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The location is perfect. You fell that you are miles away from everything but in actuality you are only minutes away from downtown, the beaches, restaurants, etc. We hope to be back again next year

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • "A Great House for a Family Vacation!"

    Guest comment entered by owner

    "A Great House for a Family Vacation!"

    • Guest The G Family, Montclair, NJ
    • Date of stay 08/19/12
    • Review Submitted 09/13/12
    We had a lovely week in this house during our recent family reunion. The home is large enough that everyone has privacy. It is casual enough for families with small children to feel comfortable. The best part of this house is definitely the outdoor pool area - beautiful fruit trees, a huge deck area, and a fabulous pool. The location is lovely, a short drive to town but removed in the hills. Walking distance to a great park, the Natural History Museum, and the Santa Barbara Mission. The secret perk that makes it feel luxurious is the white towels - there are tons of them in each bathroom!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely, Restful Stay

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Lovely, Restful Stay

    • Guest The Wren's
    • Date of stay 02/20/12
    • Review Submitted 02/22/12
    Dear Wendy & Chuck, We had a lovely, restful stay in your beautiful home--thank you for sharing it & for your warm welcome. We enjoyed the spa, the piano, lunches on the patio, & our daughter at UCSB enjoyed discovering this other aspect of Santa Barbara life. We saw hump-backed whales & dolphins yesterday, lunched at Hendry's Beach today, loved touring the Mission & shopping on State St.! Many Thanks, The Wren Family, Ireland

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Great Location in a Wonderful Destination

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A Great Location in a Wonderful Destination

    • Guest Michael M., North Dakota
    • Date of stay 10/24/11
    • Review Submitted 11/02/11
    All of our party enjoyed our 5 day stay. While the guys went sport fishing(with Tony from Santa Barbara Sportfishing, a real pro),the ladies went to Lotusland(a beautiful gardenspot). We brought enough fish(18) home for two meals and took advantage of a well stocked kitchen and grill. We went hiking in the Santa Ynez mountains just above the rental and enjoyed a view from 2700 feet or so. A limo picked us up and brought us to 4 vineyards. We enjoyed several fantastic meals, local Mexican fare,El Sitio(taqueria),Los agaves(with fabulous sauces) and Brophy's, a local seafood place with clam chowder that was as good as I've had anywhere. We went to the "Choir Mass"(0900, Sunday) at the Mission of Santa Barbara and the music was inspiring. I recommend this to any visitor to SB. We made good use of the pool, spa and poolside furniture. A bonus was the fruit(oranges, lemons and limes) on the tiered orchard that surrounds the pool area. I can't imagine a better place to spend time while visiting Santa Barbara. We will be contacting Wendy to make arrangements to stay when our daughter gets married in SB next fall.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Base To Exlpore SB

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great Base To Exlpore SB

    • Guest Andy & Marika, Switzerland
    • Date of stay 10/15/11
    • Review Submitted 10/19/11
    We had a great relaxing few days at the hourglass. It was a great base to explore the SB area and the house is really well equipped with all you need. Many thanks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Loved Everything

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Loved Everything

    • Guest Don & Pat A., Berkshire, England
    • Date of stay 09/24/11
    • Review Submitted 10/19/11
    Had a lovely weeks break from being on the road traveling around California. Loved everything about the Hourglass and we think Santa Barbara is lovely. Will definitely try to get back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Delightful Setting

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Delightful Setting

    • Guest The "G" Family
    • Date of stay 08/27/11
    • Review Submitted 08/29/11
    We had a wonderful family vacation visiting the various sights of Santa Barbara, then coming home and enjoying the pool & spa. We grilled almost every night. The backyard was a delightful setting for our dinners. Thanks for sharing your home with our family.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The Most Comfortable & Relaxing Vacation Ever

    Guest comment entered by owner

    The Most Comfortable & Relaxing Vacation Ever

    • Guest Art W.
    • Date of stay 08/19/11
    • Review Submitted 08/29/11
    "The most comfortable and relaxing vacation that I can remember" This house and property were fantastic. The house was large and spacious and had just about anything that you would need for a comfortable stay. The back yard and pool area were the best and we spent most of the time outside enjoying the great weather. The location felt like a retreat miles from anything buts was only minutes from everything in Santa Barbara. We definitely will want to come back for future vacations.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Home Away from Home!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Home Away from Home!

    • Guest Dolores G.
    • Date of stay 08/09/11
    • Review Submitted 08/10/11
    We had a fabulous fiesta week! Our families enjoyed all the perks of this home & amazing area. We all traveled from various areas: NH, Georgia, & Florida and met up with our lovely Ashley & Jonathon from 29 Palms, CA. It was great to be able to eat & swim together & feel like we were home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Tara T.
    • Date of stay 02/18/11
    • Review Submitted 02/21/11
    This weekend was spent with my best friends...How did we all manage to break away from reality to actually be together?!? Thank you for this warm, friendly, beautiful house & grounds for us to reunite our friendship. This morning was spent eating orange slices (from garden), dipping our feet in the hot tub & making tea. Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Location

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Perfect Location

    • Guest Natalee Mayo
    • Date of stay 10/17/10
    • Review Submitted 10/20/10
    "Wendy, Thank you so much for allowing us to stay at your beautiful home! It was the perfect location and size for our group! The "Live Like a Champion" team made sure to take good care of everything and enjoyed laying poolside, eating fresh tomatoes, and making 'family' dinners in the kitchen! Thanks again!" LLAC Crew

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Location

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Perfect Location

    • Guest .Susan Acker
    • Date of stay 10/09/10
    • Review Submitted 10/11/10
    Hi Wendy, We loved our visit! It was a great place for my sister, brother, and me to connect. Location is perfect and the outdoor area so beautiful. We'll be back. Thank you! Susan A., Stamford, CT

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful

    Wonderful

    • Guest Steve (Santa Ynez Valley , CA)
    • Date of stay 10/07/10
    • Review Submitted 10/18/10
    The house is a wonderful example of architectural excellence using modest materials. Wherever there is a view of the gardens, pool, mountains, trees, distant ocean or sky there seems to be a strategically placed window. Inside is a wonderful collection of very functional rooms with space for adults and kids. Outside there's the pool and large patio surrounded by gardens and trees. There is an abundant amount of quality pool furniture and tables and chairs for dining or reading. We also appreciated the high quality bbq. The large gardens continue around the home, including wonderful wild gardens with fruit trees , flowers and vegetables.The preparation of the home for our visit was great. The result is a wonderful place for a restful vacation, an inside or outside dinner for 10 or just several families sharing a wonderful time. It would also make a great working retreat, Close to the Mission and the gardens

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We'll Be Back!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We'll Be Back!

    • Guest Phylis Dougherty
    • Date of stay 10/01/10
    • Review Submitted 10/04/10
    "Wendy, We loved, loved, loved this house. We had so much fun! Your house provides so much--we felt we were on a luxurious vacation. We will definitely be back. Thank you for accommodating us last minute. Phylis & Brian D. & Family, San Jose, CA

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Garden

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Wonderful Garden

    • Guest Carlo Schmid
    • Date of stay 09/30/10
    • Review Submitted 09/30/10
    Hi Wendy, Thank you very much for your wonderful house. We loved it. The garden with all the birds (specially hummingbirds) and all the flowers. Take care, Sabine & Carlo S., Berlin, Germany

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Boston goes to Santa Barbara

    Boston goes to Santa Barbara

    • Guest Chris (Boston, MA/USA)
    • Date of stay 08/12/10
    • Review Submitted 11/06/10
    The house exceeded our expectations. My family of 8 (including two small grandchildren) enjoyed the spaciousness of the house. The patio with the pool and spa was well just. The landscaping was beautiful and we even were able to pick veggies from the garden for some of our meals. We are planning on staying at the house anytime we travel to SB to visit our extended family living there.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Getaway!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Perfect Getaway!

    • Guest Pierette T., St. Helena, CA
    • Date of stay 07/31/10
    • Review Submitted 08/04/10
    "We loved the place!!! Loved to walk to the Mission and to downtown. Close drive to wineries. Love the backyard with pool and beautiful garden, comfortable, quiet...We will be back!!!!"

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]