Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Sunset over Rest Lake (from cabin)

Cabin with Lake View on Sandy Beach - Beautiful Rest Lake [#297501] | View Property

Manitowish Waters
Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 6)
$115/nt - $785/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (14)

Sort by:
  • Outdoor Adventure

    Outdoor Adventure

    • Guest Steve (Mundelein, Il)
    • Date of stay 09/12/11
    • Review Submitted 05/30/12
    My wife & I stayed at Red Feather and really enjoyed ourselves. The stars at night are out of this world! There are all kinds of boats to go out on the water and the sandy beach cooled us off after a day in the sun. The room was clean and everything we needed. There is a wide array of restaurants in the area and all the people were really friendly. We plan on going back again later this year.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Red Feather Classic Northwoods Reteat

    Red Feather Classic Northwoods Reteat

    • Guest Lynore (Lemont IL)
    • Date of stay 09/12/11
    • Review Submitted 04/09/12
    Over the past 20 years we have visited Manitowish Waters and Red Feather Lodge many times. We go up there for the true flavor of the northwoods. The cabins are always clean and well maintained with fully equipped kitchens. The owners appear to make improvements every year. The views and the sunsets are heavenly. The rowboats, canoes and paddle boats are a big plus. It's a little slice of heaven where we can get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. No TV or radio, and we love it! If you really suffer without technology, then bring your ipod and dock, and yes, your cell phone will work. Red Feather is a place to get away from it all and get back to the basics.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • great spot close to the water....but camping out is only a step away

    great spot close to the water....but camping out is only a step away

    • Guest 3 women (windsor, wi)
    • Date of stay 09/03/11
    • Review Submitted 09/21/11
    The lake and boat access was very good. Our old cabin, Fish Tales) was so crooked you literally slid out of bed. The mattresses were minimal. No radio, fan, clock, T.V. or water pressure. Huge gaps in outer doors and screens. The mice came to visit us in the kitchen every night. (The caretaker said we should have borrowed his cat for a while.) The owner is a really nice person to do business with, but he REALLYY needs to take care of the business! Respectfully, three little women

    Recommended for: Pet owners

    Manager response: I am glad that you enjoyed the lake in September. I was shocked to hear about mice. Even though the cabin is in the woods, I have never before had a single report of mice in this cabin. As soon as I heard about it, I addressed the problem thoroughly. When an issue arises, I take it seriously and try to take care of it right away. Regarding the lack of electronics, I am very upfront on the website that the cabin is definitely not the Hyatt - it is a rustic housekeeping cabin in the northwoods. It's true that though it has spectacular lake access and a great sandy beach for swimming, it does not have electronics. We have purposely kept it free from radios, clocks, and t.v.s so our guests can enjoy the delightful peaceful time that the northwoods can bring.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Six times over the past 14 yrs--got together with same 5 families--a week in early Aug.at Red Feathe

    Six times over the past 14 yrs--got together with same 5 families--a week in early Aug.at Red Feathe

    • Guest jimboman (Waukesha, Wisconsin)
    • Date of stay 08/07/11
    • Review Submitted 04/07/12
    The kids are grown and gone, but still talk about the times at Red Feather Lodge. Their kids are at an age when we'll soon be making it three generations trekking to this up-north retreat from noise and tweeting and TV full-time. Good fishing--even in the dog days when we routinely plan our trip. The beach has great lounge chairs for the adults. The big brick BBQ makes for a great fire--first for the food, later for the long evening of sitting around, talking and taking-moonlight-dips in Rest Lake. All in all, not only a great bargain, it's always a nice evocation of life several generations back AND meticulous attention to keeping it a place for people who want a special vacation. Those photos are real--only thing missing is the sounds of loons over the water. Our family is small, so we've never reserved the big house--but, for a big clan, it can't be beat.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Anne

    Anne

    • Guest Anne (Lagrange park)
    • Date of stay 08/06/11
    • Review Submitted 04/09/12
    We have spent years vacationing at RedFeather. It is a unique and wonderful family destination. You can relax in the boats,swim on the best beach on the chain of 11lakes and fishing forever. All of the cabins are well located for fabulous views of the lake. The restaurants are wonderful.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Little Piece of Heaven

    A Little Piece of Heaven

    • Guest Dan (Milwaukee, Wisconsin)
    • Date of stay 08/03/11
    • Review Submitted 04/22/12
    A "little piece of heaven." That is what I would call Red Feather Lodge on beautiful Rest Lake in the Manitowish Waters region of northern Wisconsin. If peace and serenity is what we need in our busy, hectic lives, then this is the place to find it! My wife and I found nature in its complete freedom to enjoy and experience - a wonderful refreshing lake with gorgeous sunsets and spectacular starry night skies. Simple, complete and totally comfortable accomodations help make Rest Lake true to it's name. I was at home and on an exciting, wonderful vacation all at once. I can't wait to go back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Will be back

    Will be back

    • Guest Louise (Glenview, Illinois )
    • Date of stay 08/02/11
    • Review Submitted 04/13/12
    Can't wait to return this summer. Red Feather Lodge is a wonderful place to completely unwind: alone or with family and friends. Swimming, fishing, boating, biking and hiking are all so easily accessable here. So is kicking back, watching the lake or the starry sky, sunsets,etc.. Our cabin was comfortable and secure (not completly isolated, out in the middle of nowhere-- but not on top of the other cabins either) with lots of homey north woods accents. We had a fun, worry free, regenerating vacation.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • I Recommend Red Feather to my friends

    I Recommend Red Feather to my friends

    • Guest Maureen (Arlington Heights, Illinois)
    • Date of stay 07/30/11
    • Review Submitted 04/21/12
    Our family has stayed at Red Feather for many years. We have recommended it to friends, who have also returned for multiple visits. I love being in the woods with all the necessary comforts of home. The pictures can't possibly convey the beauty and peace of this place. Owners seem to always be adding more conveniences to help make our stay pleasurable.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • great family getaway

    great family getaway

    • Guest Big Chip (Skokie, Illinois)
    • Date of stay 07/30/11
    • Review Submitted 04/09/12
    Been going up North for many years and always a relaxing experience at Red Feather resort. Cabins are charming and very clean, beach right on property and very close to town. Great place to stay for families because there is so much to do. Boats on property and plenty of fish in the lake.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Rest on Rest Lake!!

    Rest on Rest Lake!!

    • Guest Patti (Munster, IN)
    • Date of stay 07/23/11
    • Review Submitted 04/24/12
    We have been going to Red Feather for almost 10 years. You truly get to enjoy the beauty and peacefulness of nature on the beautiful lake and surrounding areas. The kids/grandkids have a ball playing on the sandy beach, swimming in the lake, or safely playing on the resort grounds. It is a wonderful place to go to escape the busy routine of city/suburban life.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great family place to stay

    Great family place to stay

    • Guest Mike (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 07/23/11
    • Review Submitted 10/12/11
    I vacation with my family and friends in Manitowish Waters for 2 weeks every summer. We always stay at Red Feather Lodge. We like it because the cabins are clean and well-maintained, the beach is sandy and great for kids, the lake views and sunsets are spectacular, and the whole atmosphere is very comfortable and relaxing. We have a lot of fun.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nice quiet location with well maintained amenities.

    Nice quiet location with well maintained amenities.

    • Guest Chuck (Middleton, WI)
    • Date of stay 07/20/11
    • Review Submitted 04/10/12
    I stayed at the Red Feather Lodge in July and it was very relaxing and enjoyable. The beach area is sandy the the lake is great for wading with its very gentle slope. Picnic tables and lounge furniture is kept in excellant condition. I used the canoe and padel boat that was available for use..The large wooded area next to the property is great for wildlife viewing. I even saw an albino deer while there. In general the property and furnishings are very welll maintained. There are several great restrauants and golf courses within a short driving distance. I would highly recommend the Red Feather Lodge.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • THIS PLACE IS THE BEST!

    THIS PLACE IS THE BEST!

    • Guest Tammy (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 07/25/09
    • Review Submitted 06/23/10
    Of all the places we have stayed in the Northwoods, Red Feather Lodge is the absolute best. What a breath of fresh air this place is! There is so much room for the kids to play and run around. A sandy beach and open grass area on one side of the property, and docks for fishing, crawdad catching, and boats on the other side of the point of land that juts out into Rest Lake. For boating, fishing, tubing and skiing, Rest Lake is usually not that crowded since it is the last lake on the Manitowish chain. The kids and us can easily canoe over to the Manitowish Waters town. The cabins and house are comfortable and clean. You can easily access Red Feather Road which is a nice loop road with virtually no traffic that is great for biking, jogging, and walking. I would recommend this place to anyone!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Looking forward to returning....

    Looking forward to returning....

    • Guest Kevin (Schaumburg, IL)
    • Date of stay 07/01/09
    • Review Submitted 07/07/10
    We feel fortunate to have found Red Feather! It really brought us back to the simpler things in life. The days were spent on the beach with the kids, floating away our troubles on Rest Lake, and lots of boating! The nights we were up late playing cards. We stayed in the Sipping Deer cabin which has absolutely fantastic views over looking the lake. The kids absolutely loved the sandy beach area. I loved using the bbq pit near the beach for grilling. The prices were very reasonable in comparison to other properties on the lakes. Booking was very easy working with Jack. We are looking forward to visiting again later this summer. We may also visit this winter - I've heard the house is available for rent during the snowy months.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]