Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Relaxing on 'The Rock'

A Private Getaway on the Ocean with Mountain Views - Book Now for 2014 [#299142] | View Property

Surry
3 Bedroom, 2 Bath, Sleeps 6, 1 King, 1 Queen, 2 Twins
$1,200 - $2,400/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (11)

Sort by:
  • Wonderful Family Vacation

    Wonderful Family Vacation

    • Guest maria g.
    • Date of stay 07/14/12
    • Review Submitted 07/23/12
    My family and I spent a week at bayport and it was wonderful. The house was beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and very comfortable. The view in the back was like waking up to a postcard scene everyday. kudos to the owners who thought of everything to make this trip a absolute pleasure. Looking forward to returning in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/8

  • Maine perfection

    Maine perfection

    • Guest John (Chesterfield, VA)
    • Date of stay 06/09/12
    • Review Submitted 06/17/12
    What a beautiful place. From our initial personal welcome to all the amenities and all the little extras. We had a great time and enjoyed this amazing well kept, well landscaped and deceivingly spacious home. Single floor from the front turns into 3 floors when you walk in. Georgeous view of the bay, right on the water. Thanks for sharing this great place. We'll stay here again when we come back to Maine.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • A beautiful relaxing spot to enjoy the best of Maine

    A beautiful relaxing spot to enjoy the best of Maine

    • Guest C & B (Upstate South Carolina)
    • Date of stay 09/17/11
    • Review Submitted 10/20/11
    We stayed at Bayport for 2 wonderful weeks and enjoyed every minute. Bill and Mary Anne extended us the nicest "home away from home" hospitality that we have experienced while visiting Maine. From the generous gifts, providing all the provisions you could possibly need and more, and the comforts and beauty inside and out, Bayport truely is a very special place! We loved the peacefulness of the Surry/Blue Hill area and the ability to split our time between visiting Acadia and Mount Desert Island, and exploring the beauty of the Blue Hill Peninsula. We hope to return to lovely Bayport on our next visit to Maine.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Heaven in Maine

    Heaven in Maine

    • Guest Sue G. (Gurnee, IL)
    • Date of stay 08/13/11
    • Review Submitted 09/29/11
    We have been staying at Bayport for the past 15 years and think of it as our home away from home. This stellar property is beautifully decorated and maintained and contains every amenity one could want. Spectacular sunrises give way to heavenly days and peaceful, beautiful evenings. Time spent here will salve your spirit and nurture your soul. Surry is a haven, but Acadia National Park, beautiful Blue Hill, and incredible views at Eggemoggin Reach are just a short distance away. Don't miss dinner at Arborvine in Blue Hill or Cleonice in Ellsworth and be sure to visit Perry Long the local lobsterman on Newbury Neck. A stay at Bayport is an unforgettable experience. Don't miss it!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/7

  • Amazing. But true.

    Amazing. But true.

    • Guest Creativeguy (Boston, MA)
    • Date of stay 07/31/10
    • Review Submitted 08/14/11
    Even though previous reviews were glowing, I wondered if they might have been written by friends or relatives of the owners. I mean they were that good -- check them out for yourself. And I kept expecting something to be a bit less than my expectations. But it never happened. Every inch of this place is perfect. From the setting overlooking the ocean to the attention to detail throughout the house. To the cleaniness of every nook and cranny to the carefully tended grounds and gardens. (Another reviewer said the pictures don't do Bayport justice and I agree 100%). Bayport is magical in every sense of the word. From the moment we stepped in the door and saw the sun sparkling across the water, we knew we had made the right decision to come here 9 months ago. And the reason is Mary Anne and Bill. They’re hosts that don’t just give you the key to a rental. They do everything possible to welcome you into your home away from home. A couple of examples: A welcome package with fresh flowers and champagne. (Is this a resort?) To make our morning coffee, we found a percolator, a French press and an electric coffee bean grinder. In a rental. The whole house is like that. There are plush bathrobes upstairs and down, a kid's bedroom with luminous stars on the ceiling, games and beach towels, the list goes on. And not to mention one of my personal favorites; lighting with lots of dimmers so you can always set just the right mood. But most of all, Bayport is a place of exceptional privacy, quiet and serenity. What more could you ask for? We couldn't think of a thing. Except thanks to Mary Anne, Bill and Melone. We can't wait to return.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 12/12

  • Paradise in Maine...

    Paradise in Maine...

    • Guest Jen (Peoria, IL)
    • Date of stay 07/24/10
    • Review Submitted 08/02/10
    Decided to visit Maine on a whim and stumbled upon this rental. Let me say this - the pictures don't do justice to the home or to the property. The Property is SECLUDED and BEAUTIFUL! SO well maintained and landscaped... the access to the bay is a real added bonus, too. (Would have been a great place to launch kayaks!) The home is very well kept, CLEAN, and beautifully decorated. Again, the pictures don't do this property justice! We spent the majority of our time on MDI and at Acadia Natl. Park, as this was our first visit to the area, but we all agreed at the end of the week if we were to visit again, we'd definitely spend more time at the house so that we might be able to enjoy its amenities even more than we did on this (our first) trip to the region. Although, we did have to commute to Acadia (and depending on the time of day, the trip can be as long as 45 minutes if traffic is an issue during the busy season), it was really wonderful to return to such a quiet, peaceful retreat every evening... away from the hustle and bustle of MDI and away from all of the tourists. You can't go wrong with this rental!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Bayport was Lovely!

    Bayport was Lovely!

    • Guest Bella Blue (Boulder, Colorado)
    • Date of stay 06/28/08
    • Review Submitted 07/09/08
    Bayport was classy, felt like home, clean, and had everything we could have wanted. The location was fabulous. Surry and Blue Hill are just far enough away from Bar Harbor to avoid the hectic tourism. The distance was perfect to Bar Harbor for and easy access trip. Rest, Rest and Rest at Bayport. The robes, flowers and amenities were lovely.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/01/04
    • Review Submitted 09/11/04
    This was our first experience at the Bayport and we enjoyed it immensely. We were referred by friends of ours who are VERY particular about where they stay. It was everything we hoped it would be and more. We felt as though we were staying at a 5 star resort. No details were left undone. The welcome package was delightful and the terry robes were a cozy treat. We look forward to coming back to Maine and Bayport again soon. This time, for more than just a week. Thank you, Mary Ann and Bill for a wonderful experience.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/01/04
    • Review Submitted 09/10/04
    Bayport is a beautiful house located on a magical spot on the Maine coast. Serene, private and perfectly located, we were able to spend our days hiking and kayaking in Acadia National Park, and our evenings watching the loons and eagles from the garden back at the house. Nothing is nicer then sitting on the deck at Bayport and watching the moon rise over the water. We've been vacationing in this part of Maine for three years but this was by far the loveliest and most comfortable place we've stayed. We had a wonderful time and will definitely return again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/01/04
    • Review Submitted 03/14/04
    My family and I have stayed at Bayport twice -- the cottage is immaculate yet warm and cozy and comfortable. It is private and secluded yet minutes from restaurants and shops. The early morning views are breathtaking. One week was just not nearly long enough. We can't wait to return!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Sue G. (Gurnee, IL)
    • Date of stay 03/01/04
    • Review Submitted 03/14/04
    Don't miss this wonderful opportunity to commune with the Maine woods and water. Beautiful views to Acadia-an absolutely top-knotch location. The house is beautiful, very comfortable, and appointed like your own home. You'll never want to leave!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]