Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Relax by the river!

A Romantic Riverfront Retreat [#300092] | View Property

Carmel Valley
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths (Sleeps 6)
$300/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (22)

Sort by:
  • Fabulous home tucked away in Carmel Valley

    Fabulous home tucked away in Carmel Valley

    • Guest Rachel (Summit County, Colorado)
    • Date of stay 10/17/13
    • Review Submitted 10/24/13
    We had a wonderful time at CVFun. It was so nice to arrive at our quaint getaway by the river everyday after enjoying the Monterey peninsula and surrounding areas. We enjoyed the house so much that we choose to stay in for dinner several nights instead of going out to eat. We came for a wedding that was held at Holly Farm, it was a nice drive into town and conveniently close to everything else. We wish we'd had more time to stay! Erica was easy to work with and very responsive to any questions we had. This place is really great.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Getaway

    Perfect Getaway

    • Guest VRBO Traveler (Oakland, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/12/13
    • Review Submitted 10/15/13
    My friends and I stayed at this house for a weekend wedding in Carmel Valley, and were thrilled with our housing choice. The house is down a windy street off of the main drag (if you can call it that) in Carmel Valley, but it's a nice walk to town. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed to cook a full meal, and there was a BBQ with charcoal awaiting us. The beds were comfy, the hot tub was hot, and the back yard overlooked a beautiful and private slice of a creek. Erica was very responsive while we were making plans for our stay, and she left us a bottle of wine to welcome us. I would definitely return.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Lovely getaway

    Lovely getaway

    • Guest Christine (Valencia, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/12/13
    • Review Submitted 09/18/13
    We enjoyed a wonderful long weekend at Carmel Valley while attending a wedding at Holly Farms. The house is clean and we especially loved sitting out on the deck. The babbling Carmel River was so peaceful and two deer were fun to watch. I would highly recommend this property if you are looking for somewhere to relax and enjoy the beautiful Carmel Valley.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • GF

    GF

    • Guest GF (United States)
    • Date of stay 07/06/13
    • Review Submitted 07/09/13
    This is a wonderful place to stay. It's located in a charming, quiet neighborhood. The house has a nice floor plan, a well - equipped kitchen, and very comfortable beds. The property had a welcoming calmness about it. Sitting on the rear deck(facing the river) is peaceful and relaxing. The purpose of the visit was to attend a wedding at Holman Ranch - just a few minutes down the road. There were 4 of us ( 2 couples) and we opted to stay here rather than in one of the rooms at the hotel booked by the bridal party. A much better choice as far as we were concerned. The owner was helpful on the phone, and there is also very clear info in a binder in the living room. CVFun is only a couple of hours from home - we'll definitely use it as a getaway again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Vacation Retreat Home

    Great Vacation Retreat Home

    • Guest K (Oceanside, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/02/13
    • Review Submitted 05/12/13
    We stayed here for 4 days while attending my son's wedding at the Holly Farm (within 10-15 mins). Great home, very spacious! Full kitchen, has everything you need to make full meals. Big bedrooms and newly remodeled bathroom worked very well for us! After busy days, it was great to come back to this home and relax on the patio and watch the river, so peaceful. Waking up to sound of birds and the rolling river and watching the ducks and geese while drinking your cup of coffee. This home is very close to Safeway market and you have to try Toast Restaurant nearby. Easy to get to Carmel and Montecito from here also. Very easy to work with the owner. She will answer any and all questions you may have and she has compiled a "Guest" book at the house containing ALL information regarding anything you need to know about the house or sightseeing. (We found a great pizza place in the book)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A true gem!

    A true gem!

    • Guest The Louisvillinas (Crestwood, KY)
    • Date of stay 04/26/13
    • Review Submitted 05/04/13
    This house is superb in many ways. The location is very nice, private and quiet. The interior is very cool and well laid out. Kitchen is well equipped. It has nice sitting areas front and back with plenty of sun and shade. The house is shaded and keeps cool. We had some excellent days here and felt at home the minute we walked in the door. We will gladly come back. The Louisvillians

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • great place, great owner

    great place, great owner

    • Guest austin h.
    • Date of stay 01/25/13
    • Review Submitted 02/16/13
    we chose this place after seeing the great pictures and reviews. We were not disappointed. the place was very perfect for a nice relaxing getaway. Neither my wife nor i wanted to leave, and we needed to carry our 2 1/2 year old daughter to the car kicking and screaming. The owner is very nice and accommodating. Everything about the trip went smoothly. The only problem about the trip was my own fault. I realized when i returned home that i left my charging adapter at the carmel house. When i told the owner, she was so nice that she shipped it back to me at no charge without my even asking. I highly recommend this house to anyone looking to stay in the area. We will hopefully be returning soon.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A peaceful, relaxing environment.

    A peaceful, relaxing environment.

    • Guest Ann (Santa Barbara, Calif)
    • Date of stay 11/21/12
    • Review Submitted 11/25/12
    We spent 4 nights over Thanksgiving at this delightful home. My husband and I and our two adult daughters, who joined us from SF, enjoyed reading on the deck and using the hot tub each morn, sans jets as we didn't want to drown out the sound of the river rolling by. The foam bed in the master provided the best nights sleep I have had. The area was so quiet and peaceful. The baths had plenty of towels and were fresh and clean. The kitchen had a good quantity of pots and pans for our turkey dinner and we appreciated the basic supplies. They even had firewood for our use! The quality and decor of this quaint cottage were definitely above average. The owner was very helpful and prompt in answering questions. We enjoyed hiking at Garland Preserve, wine tasting in the nearby village, walking Carmel and Pac. Grove, and visiting Pt. Lobos, all easy drives from the location. We also took evening walks in the neighborhood- and saw wild turkeys! We hope to return and have already recommended it to friends.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Retreat

    Wonderful Retreat

    • Guest MC (El Paso)
    • Date of stay 10/12/11
    • Review Submitted 11/22/11
    While we originally were looking for something up higher on the hills, something about this place looked appealing. We were so pleased with the place. Its down hidden away off a quiet residential street along the creek. Once in the property, its like nothing else is around. You don't hear anyone or see anyone. It truly is a retreat. There were four of us (two couples) and we had more than enough space to spread out. We cooked at the house twice because it is so nicely equipped and furnished. There is a grill too. We spent a lot of time with our wine out on the back patio just listening to the creek run below. The place is very clean and beautifully decorated, especially the bathrooms. I would return to this place. Its wonderful!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Tasteful, quaint, secluded, quite and close to Holman ranch

    Tasteful, quaint, secluded, quite and close to Holman ranch

    • Guest CV Weekender (Sacramento, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/23/11
    • Review Submitted 09/27/11
    Three couples spent weekend here as part of attending wedding at Holman Ranch. Very nice. Seemed better in person than web site pictures. Close to nice shopping and resturants. Great place to spend time reading on the deck over looking river or drinking wine with friends. Also has cable TV for Giants, Cal, 49er games. Doing business with Erica was very professional, polite, prompt without any surprises.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A Hidden Gem

    A Hidden Gem

    • Guest Syl (Berkeley, Ca)
    • Date of stay 09/03/11
    • Review Submitted 09/06/11
    We just enjoyed spending the Labor day weekend at this amazing cottage. The cottage was spacious and cozy at the same time. We had our parents, our two kids as well as our dog. The place is quiet and really let's you relax with the sounds of the river. The house provides great amenities including beach towels, charcoal, and all the essential cooking items. In the words of my 8 year old son, "We should come here every year!". Erica is also very patient and a pleasure to work with. Thank you!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Terrific Weekend

    Terrific Weekend

    • Guest Andree and Brooke (Stockton,Ca)
    • Date of stay 08/19/11
    • Review Submitted 08/23/11
    My husband and our children(21& 25) stayed the weekend of the Concours and Car Races as a celebration for the 25 year olds birthday. We loved the house, so beautiful and relaxing. The pictures cant show how lovely it is, or how awesome the back deck and river are! We enjoyed cooking out on the deck and going into the hot tub. The beds were very comfortable. We had everything we needed for cooking. The boys went to the races and saw all the cars, but it was so nice to be out of the noise and traffic in Carmel Valley. We definetly will visit again. This was our first VRBO experience and it was a truly wonderful one! The owners were so nice and we cant wait to plan another trip to visit this lovely place!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • GREAT house!

    GREAT house!

    • Guest Jen (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 08/12/11
    • Review Submitted 08/17/11
    I recently stayed here with my family including husband and children ages 3 and 5 as well as my parents. The house was wonderful as was the neighborhood/surrounding area. The house was much larger than expected - plenty of space for all of us. The pictures do not do it justice. The kids loved the river and the adults loved the hot tub. All of us were very pleased with the entire experience. Great location - it was very close to the little town for groceries and only 20 minutes to Carmel for the beach/shopping. Big Sur for the views was not far either. The owner was very easy to work with. We will definitely stay here again when we are visiting the Carmel area. Thanks for a great time!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Fantastic!

    Fantastic!

    • Guest Arthur L. (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 07/29/11
    • Review Submitted 08/02/11
    I recently stayed here with my husband, two year old, and my parents and it was a PERFECT weekend retreat. The house was wonderful - very clean, well decorated, spacious, and calming. The master bathroom was very nicely remodeled. We enjoyed sitting on the deck overlooking the river. Erica was very communicative and helpful and we would stay again in a minute!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Trust the description - it is Accurate

    Trust the description - it is Accurate

    • Guest Nancy & Cindy (Monrovia, CA )
    • Date of stay 07/14/11
    • Review Submitted 07/20/11
    This house (definitely more than a cottage) is lovely. Well appointed and totally comfortable! We enthusiastically recommend this house and location. The moving and audible river was beautiful and soothing. Loved being able to cook complete meals in the spacious kitchen as well as on the BBQ. The master bedroom was very roomy with an absolutely gorgeous master bathroom. It is close to the CV Village with many cute shops and restaurants in a hometown atmosphere. Did I mention we LOVED this place? Definitely coming back but for a week next time!

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Relaxing and Private

    Relaxing and Private

    • Guest Emily (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 04/29/11
    • Review Submitted 05/04/11
    Just got back from a weekend with friends in this lovely rental. We were delighted to find the house in great shape, very clean and tastefully decorated. The kitchen was fully stocked with cooking tools, the beds were comfortable, and hot tub was in good shape. The loft bedroom is over the dining room, but that room can be made more private by drawing curtains. Lovely view of the river from the kitchen and back deck. Very private and centrally located in Carmel Valley. Make sure to check out the swimming hole down the street!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful home

    Beautiful home

    • Guest Brittany (Arizona)
    • Date of stay 04/26/11
    • Review Submitted 05/03/11
    I stayed at this house with 2 other adults and a child - it was perfect for us. It was close to grocery stores, restaurants in Carmel Valley, and also very close to Carmel and Monteray but far enough away to be quiet and away from traffic. The house and river are beautiful, as are the surrounding areas. I would highly recommend this as a vacation spot and would definately stay there again. We loved it and had a great time.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great getaway by the river

    Great getaway by the river

    • Guest Anne and Chris (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 01/28/11
    • Review Submitted 02/03/11
    After sitting in the hot tub with the jets on - we turned them off to listen to the river and look at the stars for another long while - just delightful! The place was roomy and comfortable. I think the tempur pedic bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Nice quiet neighborhood and a short drive to lots of activities. We would definitely recommend your lovely house.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Cottage for Romantic Holiday Getaway!

    Wonderful Cottage for Romantic Holiday Getaway!

    • Guest TRM (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 12/24/10
    • Review Submitted 12/30/10
    My boyfriend and I have stayed in several homes from VRBO, and we agree that this is our favorite. The cottage was so cozy, we hardly left (other than for wine-tasting and a fabulous dinner at Marinus). We spent our Christmas weekend curled up in front of the fireplace, enjoying the rear views of the river and the front view of the lovely private courtyard. Unfortunately, we didn't get to take advantage of the hot tub due to the rainy weather, but hope to visit again in the spring. I highly recommend, and the owners were so kind and easy to deal with....I can't say enough great things about this home!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A perfect place to stay while visiting the Monterey peninsula

    A perfect place to stay while visiting the Monterey peninsula

    • Guest michelle B. (Woodinville, WA)
    • Date of stay 08/12/10
    • Review Submitted 08/16/10
    My husband has been going to the Monterey Historic Races and the Concours for years and has stayed in many different areas. We found this listing and thought that the Carmel Valley Cottage looked like a good alternative to hotels and the hustle of Carmel and Monterey. We were so pleased with our find. This was a beautiful home and a perfect place for us and our 2 boys to stay. Monterey, Carmel, Laguna Seca and Pebble Beach were all easily accessed from here. The cottage was so nice to come home to in the evening. Erica has beautifully decorated and furnished this home. The kitchen is stocked and we had everything we needed. It was so much more spacious then we thought. The bedrooms and living areas were all very roomy and comfortable. It was nice to have 2 good sized bathrooms. I loved the deck overlooking the river. We spent a lot of time just relaxing and having wine while enjoying the view. Though we didn't use the hot tub, it is very private and over looks the river. I would highly recommend this to anyone staying on the peninsula. Erica is very accommodating and the communication was flawless.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxing Weekend

    Relaxing Weekend

    • Guest Andrea (San Jose, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/03/10
    • Review Submitted 07/07/10
    My boyfriend and I stayed here during the Fourth of July weekend. We were trying to get our dog away from the loud fireworks and also needed some down time for the both of us. It was perfect. We were able to catch up on much needed sleep in all the quietness. All you hear is the water from the river running and the birds chirping. The owners made it very easy to rent the place. It was well worth it. The neighborhood is very cute, we saw a family of deers when we took a walk. There is a store near by where we bought breakfast, lunch and dinner to cook back at the place and also drinks (it was nice that the fridge was stalked with drinks also from the owners because we needed it when the store was closed on the holiday). The house has a lot of space, it is well furnished and the kitchen is full with dishes and pots and pans. The bed was very comfortable. I enjoyed the patio area alot, the hot tub was nice and there is a stair case that leads to the river. Our dog enjoyed playing in the water. There is also comcast cable. We definetly will be coming back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A really charming little hideaway

    A really charming little hideaway

    • Guest Holly (Palo Alto, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/24/10
    • Review Submitted 06/28/10
    We had a little extended family gathering here and found the place to be perfect for what we wanted--off the beaten path and in the midst of nature--with a lovely, flowing river in the backyard. Plus, because it was in Carmel Valley (and not on the coast), it was sunnier and warmer. The place was immaculate and prettily, if sparsely, furnished. A great sit-and-chat kitchen area (very important for family get-togethers!); a deck with hot tub overlooking the river (great for evening cocktails); a nice dining room with windows overlooking the river; and a good size living area (great for charades and other games). The two bedrooms and loft are small, but adequate (since there are no dressers--just small closets). and the two bathrooms are quite nice & updated. You can also eat in the enclosed front patio area. The owners were quite responsive and reasonable in their requests; and they even stocked the fridge with drinks. All in all, an excellent experience.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]