Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
The Yellow Cottage on Harness Creek

The Yellow Cottage on Harness Creek [#300511] | View Property

Annapolis
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 4-6)
$200 - $245/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (32)

Sort by:
  • A Great Place to Hang Out

    A Great Place to Hang Out

    • Guest B&A (Wheaton, IL)
    • Date of stay 04/10/14
    • Review Submitted 04/15/14
    We rented Yellow Cottage to visit our son; he's currently teaching at the Naval Academy. We were accompanied by my sister-in-law and her husband. We found the cottage very comfortable and well equipped. We were able to enjoy quiet breakfasts and evenings here while touring the Annapolis area. There's a great view of the water and Quiet Waters Park across the river. We also found this an excellent location for day trips to Washington DC (Use the Metro from New Carrollton!) or up to Baltimore. The owner is extremely helpful. Her recommendations on local restaurants and businesses were both helpful and very accurate. We hope to enjoy staying at Yellow Cottage during future visits to Annapolis.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect In Every Way!

    Perfect In Every Way!

    • Guest P! (Crystal Lake, Il. U.S.A.)
    • Date of stay 02/01/14
    • Review Submitted 04/09/14
    When my husband asked what I wanted for my February birthday, I replied "Yellow Cottage!!!" We rented Yellow Cottage last June to have a few quiet days before my daughter began her first year at the Naval Academy. Rhonda, the owner, was an absolute dear. She had thought of everything for our stay. The cottage was immaculate, well-supplied and truly felt like a home away from home. There is just something so special about this cottage - part nostalgia, part "oh, I can really relax here" and part "I never want to leave." This cottage felt like home within moments. So when it came to my birthday, I just wanted time again at Yellow Cottage. It was equally lovely in winter as it was in summer. Again it was well-supplied, and we were able to control the temperature. Each night we cooked rather large dinners, and the kitchen had everything we needed to cook. We walked down to the water and enjoyed seeing the view in a different season. Yellow Cottage has a personality of its own that says, "Welcome home - relax - I hope you can stay a while." So for anyone looking for the perfect place to stay near Annapolis, I hope you make your way to Yellow Cottage on Harness Creek. You will not be disappointed, and you will not want to leave!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Couldn't be better

    Couldn't be better

    • Guest BaltimoreFamily (Baltimore, MD)
    • Date of stay 08/18/13
    • Review Submitted 08/19/13
    This house is beautiful, clean, well stocked, and a perfect destination for a family that wants a low-key and relaxing vacation. Rhonda couldn't have been more accommodating and eager to please. My kids loved kayaking in the creek. We unfortunately had to cut our trip short due to circumstances beyond our control and Rhonda was so flexible and willing to work with us. I cannot recommend this house enough.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Warm Family Getaway

    Warm Family Getaway

    • Guest Fun 2 Travel (Toronto, Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/09/13
    • Review Submitted 03/20/13
    Our family of 4 (2 adults and children aged 13 and 10) stayed for a week during our spring break. As soon as we opened the door we immediately felt at home. Rhonda has everything you could possibly need to be comfortable from kitchen equipment and dinnerware to lovely bedding and plush bath towels. It was spotlessly clean! The location is wonderful! Right on the creek, too cold to kayak but warm enough to sit out and enjoy the view and wildlife across the way at Quiet Waters Park (a great place to walk, run, bike). Accessibility to Annapolis was quick and so too to the highway to go to either Baltimore or Washington DC. You are close to the urban areas but at the cottage, country life is right at your doorstep. Our favourite dinner place was in nearby Eastport,The BoatYard. Lots of great shopping, including Outlet Malls within 20 minutes drive. In Washington we enjoyed the International Spy Museum, Natural History Museum and Georgetown is very nice. Needless to say it was very hard packing up and heading back north to the cold and snow. Thank you so very much Rhonda!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Home away from home!

    Home away from home!

    • Guest Alice D.
    • Date of stay 02/23/13
    • Review Submitted 03/06/13
    The Yellow Cottage was a magical place! My family (including two small children) recently stayed here while house hunting for a week in Annapolis. It was perfect. The cottage was spacious and beautifully decorated. We cooked meals, sat around the dinner table and enjoyed the lake from the comfortable chairs when we had a break from our real estate agent! The hostess was so gracious -- we were greeted with fresh fruit and muffins when we arrived. She also checked in with us to make sure we had all that we needed. My kids loved throwing rocks in the Bay and exploring the yard. I would highly recommend the Yellow Cottage! I wish we had more time to enjoy the vacation aspect of it. Once we move to the area I plan on recruiting friends to stay here so we can come back and enjoy the amenities!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Even better than expected!

    Even better than expected!

    • Guest Happy family (Dayton, TN)
    • Date of stay 11/17/12
    • Review Submitted 11/29/12
    The Yellow Cabin was even better than what we expected. It was a beautiful, peaceful, and enjoyable place to be. Extremely clean and had all the amenities one would need. The pictures don't do it justice! The owners were friendly and helpful. We will be back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • AH'MAZING!!

    AH'MAZING!!

    • Guest avery l.
    • Date of stay 10/12/12
    • Review Submitted 10/16/12
    What an incredibly charming home...and owner!! There was everything you can possibly need in the home and then some (toys for our kiddos, night lights, beautiful flowers and a delicious fruit bowl)! This was so refreshing bc we usually have to bring linens, towels, paper products, cleaning products, SPONGES, everything. On top of that luxury the spot was filled with character, a functional layout, it was impressively clean, and the incredible views of the water topped it all off! We absolutely canNOT wait to come up with an excuse to return!! THANK YOU!!!

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Just Delightful !

    Just Delightful !

    • Guest Connie (Bayonne,NJ)
    • Date of stay 08/29/12
    • Review Submitted 09/01/12
    The Yellow Cottage was just a sheer delight! This cottage was warm and friendly just like our hostess,Rhonda. The cottage was cheerful, clean and abundant with care. It had everything a home needed to make it feel comfortable. The little touches in the cottage ( warm blankets, kitchen utensils,books and lots of extras ) helped to make it feel like home. Everything was appreciated as a tourist! Gladly we would come back if staying in the Annapolis area! Enjoyable stay.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Just Delightful !

    Just Delightful !

    • Guest Connie (Bayonne,NJ)
    • Date of stay 08/29/12
    • Review Submitted 09/01/12
    The Yellow Cottage was just a sheer deight! This cottage was warm and friendly just like our hostess,Rhonda. The cottage was cheerful, clean and abundant with care. It had everything a home needed to make it feel comfortable. The little touches in the cottage ( warm blankets, kitchen utensils,books and lots of extras ) helped to make it feel like home. Everything was appreciated as a tourist! Gladly we would come back if staying in the Annapolis area! Enjoyable stay.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Amazing weekend with the girls!

    Amazing weekend with the girls!

    • Guest schil (South Jersey)
    • Date of stay 08/02/12
    • Review Submitted 08/10/12
    I can't say enough great things about our time at the Yellow Cottage. Our host made sure that absolutely everything was taken care of for us down to our morning cup of coffee and our yummy coconut shampoo! My girlfriends and I had an amazing weekend mixed with some serious food and fun in downtown Annapolis (five minutes away) and some much needed relaxation on the water. The only thing more wonderful then the view from our back yard was Rhonda's attention to detail and desire to ensure that her guests have a wonderful time. My girls and I have agreed to return here every year and I have to say I'll be planning a trip with my family as well... By far the best property I've rented from VRBO.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • An Enchanting Week

    An Enchanting Week

    • Guest Allen (Laguna Niguel, California)
    • Date of stay 07/08/12
    • Review Submitted 08/13/12
    My family (six of us) spent one week at the Yellow Cottage in July. Rhonda was a superb host. We loved having the water views and kayaks at our disposal. We kayaked to Quiet Waters park across the river and rented a 14' sailboat for a great price too. The kitchen had everything we needed and we put the gas BBQ to good use. Old Town Annapolis/Naval Academy is just a few minutes away by car. We would have no hesitation staying here again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A Wonderful Hideaway

    A Wonderful Hideaway

    • Guest Traveler (Northwest)
    • Date of stay 06/20/12
    • Review Submitted 07/02/12
    A perfect place to just enjoy your free time. It is like staying @ a good friends home. The day I arrive Rhonda had left fresh fruit in the kitchen. A wonderful touch. Meeting Rhonda for the first time was like meeting an old friend. This is a great find, you are close enough to the attractions of the area, but far enough away, to have peace & quiet. To say this is by far the best property I have rented to date is really an understatement. And I have been using this service for appx 10 years.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Girl's Weekend at The Yellow Cottage

    Girl's Weekend at The Yellow Cottage

    • Guest Kathy KS (Cleveland, OH)
    • Date of stay 06/08/12
    • Review Submitted 06/13/12
    2 girlfriends and I spent a wonderful weekend at this lovely place. It's not too far from downtown Annapolis, yet just far enough away that we had some peace and quiet away from any crowds. Rhonda was awesome, making sure we had maps of the area and a variety of little things, including bug spray. The backyard is small, but beautiful, and the cottage is just right for 3-4 people. Would definitely stay again the next time we are in the area!!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Yellow Cottage Terrific

    Yellow Cottage Terrific

    • Guest Buckeye (Worthington, OH 43085)
    • Date of stay 06/04/12
    • Review Submitted 06/12/12
    This is a charming rental in a very nice area on the water and close to every thing. The owners could not have been nicer or more helpful. Enjoy.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Retreat minutes from the USNA Yard

    Retreat minutes from the USNA Yard

    • Guest CindyB (Zionsville, Indiana, USA)
    • Date of stay 05/18/12
    • Review Submitted 05/25/12
    We only had a few days to visit Annapolis with the primary goal of spending time with our son, a midshipman at the USNA--every bit of our free time, we kept coming back to the Yellow Cottage to rest, relax, eat and enjoy the beautiful view of Harness Creek! The weather was perfect, we awoke to the sounds of birds each morning and the evening breezes from open screened windows (air conditioning is available)made for perfect sleeping weather! The cottage is spotless and has every single amenity of a well-organized home; we hosted a small get together with friends and created precious memories that we will cherish forever. The owners are delightful people -- you will want to come back again for sure!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful Home Away From Home

    Beautiful Home Away From Home

    • Guest Graduation Visitors (Fort Lauderdale, Flodida)
    • Date of stay 05/12/12
    • Review Submitted 05/15/12
    Lovely cottage with every amenity for families and others. Convenient location but seems like your own private hide away.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Peaceful Stay

    Peaceful Stay

    • Guest Janhanreg (Santa Rosa CA)
    • Date of stay 02/17/12
    • Review Submitted 02/23/12
    This is our family's second time staying at the cottage. It is an amazingly quiet place to stay. The owner is very friendly and takes the time to add a few touches that make you feel like her personal guest. (A bowl of fresh fruit goes a long way) She also provided freshly ground coffee that was so delicious we went in search to buy the exact kind to bring home. We were able to cook a traditional Mexican meal and did not lack for any cooking utensils. The kitchen was small but set up perfectly. I actually had fun doing dishes at the vintage sink! I especially appreciated the two dining tables - one to use as buffet and one to eat. The view out the back windows is a treat to wake up to. The beds, pillows and furniture were all comfortable and super cozy. The first time my husband, daughter and family friend stayed. They raved about it. The second time, I went back with my mother, three daughters and friend. No one wanted to leave. We will definitely rent here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Holiday with the Family

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Holiday with the Family

    • Guest Brian
    • Date of stay 12/25/11
    • Review Submitted 01/18/12
    This was the most wonderful place for us to enjoy Christmas. Santa even found us! The cottage is a delight to stay in and one day we will be back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Family Time

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Family Time

    • Guest Debbie
    • Date of stay 11/12/11
    • Review Submitted 01/18/12
    What a perfect backdrop for our family to be together. The view of the fall leaves is beautiful and the cottage is so cozy and comfortable. We had a wonderful time with our daughter and daughter-in-law who drove over from D.C. for a lovely family dinner. It was the first time in a year our entire family was able to be in the same place at the same time! Thank you for providing such a warm and inviting cottage. We love all of your welcoming touches in every room.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A great find located close enough to town yet far enough for quiet when you need it

    A great find located close enough to town yet far enough for quiet when you need it

    • Guest Travelers (Seattle WA)
    • Date of stay 10/26/11
    • Review Submitted 11/07/11
    The little yellow cottage has every little detail covered! Beautiful, clean and quiet you are right at home the minute you walk in the door. Annapolis is a great little town to explore with plenty of good food and fun activities for all ages from museums to sail boat tours. The Naval Academy is a must see!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Perfect Retreat

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A Perfect Retreat

    • Guest The Writers
    • Date of stay 10/16/11
    • Review Submitted 01/18/12
    The Yellow Cottage: Where inspiration happens! We enjoyed our stay. We're leaving with fresh ideas and a renewed purpose for the art and craft of writing. We hope to return again! God really met us here!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Lovely home

    Lovely home

    • Guest Mom (Maryland)
    • Date of stay 07/16/11
    • Review Submitted 05/07/12
    We stayed at this lovely home in July and rented it primarily to have a place with a waterview for a bridal shower. Rhonda was wonderful to work with and went out of her way to help make our event special. The weather was delightful - especially for July in the Washington area. We were able to have the entire shower outside and got so many compliments on the home and the view. I would highly recommend this home.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The Yellow Cottage

    The Yellow Cottage

    • Guest sheryl (Jackson, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 06/17/11
    • Review Submitted 06/26/11
    Our recent stay at "The Yellow Cottage" was an awesome experience. We spent a week there while our son was at the Navy Academy. Surprisingly bigger than the photos show. Very homey and the decor was very tastefully done, bright colors and cheerful. We arrived to fresh cut flowers on the table and a fresh fruit bowl on the kitchen table. We really enjoyed all the flowers around the grounds and the dock at the creek. Had my morning Coffee outside on the dock and enjoyed evenings sitting by the water. It was serene and peaceful. Downtown and the Naval Academy is only minutes away and Rhonda was so helpful planning our trips. She was always available for any questions or a friendly chat. There were Kayaks available to us and you can Fish off the dock. After sightseeing busy Washington D.C. for the day coming back to the cottage to its beauty and peacefulness was very welcoming and relaxing! We will definitely return to this place and we highly recommend it to anyone. Definitely 5 stars........

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful Cottage, exceeded well beyond our expectations

    Beautiful Cottage, exceeded well beyond our expectations

    • Guest Joe and Carla (Kailua, Hawaii)
    • Date of stay 06/05/11
    • Review Submitted 06/28/11
    We came from Hawaii for our son to attend the US Naval Academy Swim Camp and needed a place to stay near the Academy. The cottage is in beautiful setting with the waterfront just steps from our backdoor. Kayaks are provided by the owner and we used them almost everyday. Harness Creek feels very rural, but is literally only 10 minutes away from Historic Annapolis and the Naval Academy. Since we had 5 days to kill while in Annapolis, we were planning to do day trips to Washington DC and Baltimore, but that never happened. We just couldn't tear ourself away from the cottage. It was one of the most relaxing vacations we experienced. Rhonda, the owner and her husband were kind and extremely helpful. She provided information on great places to eat, where to buy great wine and great shopping. Our flight out of BWI was cancelled and Rhonda was gracious enough to let us stay an extra night on very short notice.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Michael
    • Date of stay 05/05/11
    • Review Submitted 06/03/11
    Totally delightful and a very pleasant surprise. We have stayed in a great many weekend rentals but never one so nice. Everything was first class all the way, it could not have been better. We will be back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful, peaceful and clean cottage

    Beautiful, peaceful and clean cottage

    • Guest Stephanie (Wayne, PA)
    • Date of stay 04/28/11
    • Review Submitted 05/04/11
    We (four adults and one baby) just LOVED every minute of our stay at the Yellow Cottage. The place is beautifully situated (ten to fifteen minutes from downtown Annapolis) and has an amazing, peaceful view over the water. The cottage itself is very well maintained, nicely decorated and well stocked. Rhonda, the owner, clearly put a lot of care and love into creating the house. Moreover, from the moment we first contacted her, her hospitality has been amazing. She was very accommodating, and answered all our questions without delay. The cottage is very clean. Without any hesitation we let our son, who is ten months old, crawl and explore the entire place. The cottage is big enough to accommodate four adults easily. The two bedrooms are comfortable, and the living area is bright and feels spacious. I would definitely recommend the cottage to friends and relatives.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Susan, Ernie and Eliza

    Susan, Ernie and Eliza

    • Guest Susan (Hamilton, NY)
    • Date of stay 04/02/11
    • Review Submitted 04/30/11
    We stayed at the Yellow Cottage for over a week while in Annapolis during a family health crisis. The cottage worked out just perfectly for us, giving us a peaceful retreat after some difficult days. It is located on a beautiful, quiet road, perfect for taking walks, and the lovely landscaping and water views were all very therapeutic. Rhonda was very accommodating in allowing us to stay a few days longer than originally planned. The cottage is very comfortable, beautifully decorated, and well-equipped. It was also great that when my two older children arrived for the memorial service, using the couch, everyone had a place to sleep. I would recommend this cottage to others and book it again for myself.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Beverly
    • Date of stay 02/11/11
    • Review Submitted 06/03/11
    Thank you so much for everything! We had a wonderful time and will definitely be back. We spent more time at the little yellow cottage than we had planned to. By far the best vacation rental we have ever stayed at. See you again soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Cozy, retreat with friends

    Cozy, retreat with friends

    • Guest Nicole (wilmington, delaware)
    • Date of stay 01/28/11
    • Review Submitted 02/07/11
    Three of us recently stayed at the Yellow Cottage while attending a conference in Annapolis. The cottage was so warm and inviting that we couldn't wait to get back each afternoon to hang out and unwind with a glass of wine watching the sunset over the creek. The owner made sure that we were comfortable and gave us great tips on where to eat and shop for groceries. Rhonda went far beyond what we would have expected. We all slept great with our down comforters and soft sheets. The cottage was spotless and the decor was amazing. We can't wait to come back in the summer to see the garden and the creek come alive. I would highly recommend this cottage to all and especially the most hospitable hosts, Rhonda and Geoff. Thanks for a wonderful weekend!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Jackie
    • Date of stay 09/12/10
    • Review Submitted 06/03/11
    What a great week we had at the cottage. You truly made our visit feel like home. It started every morning with coffee and the views, which were great! Being able to relax here after long days was wonderful. The cottage is so close to everything, even drove to Philli for the day. Thanks for making us so "comfy" and "welcomed"! Will be back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wonderful Labor Day weekend at The Yellow Cottage

    Wonderful Labor Day weekend at The Yellow Cottage

    • Guest CZ (Texas)
    • Date of stay 09/03/10
    • Review Submitted 09/06/10
    We went to visit our son who attends the Navel Academy Labor Day weekend 2010. We had a great time cooking and playing cards just like being at home, but with a beautiful waterfront view and amazing weather. We crabbed on the pier, kayaked down the creek and read over looking the beautiful gardens and water. The owner was amazing so helpful and kind. We will be recommending this cottage to other parents and will be back next year. Thanks for the wonderully peacful weekend. GO NAVY

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Charming Cottage

    Charming Cottage

    • Guest Barb &Chuck (Philadelphia,Pa)
    • Date of stay 05/07/10
    • Review Submitted 05/21/10
    My husband and I stayed at the Yellow Cottage over Mother's Day weekend and just like the description said, we felt like we had gotten away from it all. The cottage was just charming in every way. It had so many wonderful spots to sit and read and unwind. Waking up each morning and seeing the water from our bed was a treat.I particuarly liked the rooster inspired kitchen and the freshly baked cookies that our host had for us upon our arrival. Thanks Rhonda and Geoff for a great stay. We WILL be back!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]