Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Living Room View

Ocean View Spectacular in Tavernier Mm 92.5 [#302608] | View Property

Tavernier
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 6)
$2,800/mo US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (20)

Sort by:
  • Everything We Expected and More

    Everything We Expected and More

    • Guest Jim
    • Date of stay 03/29/14
    • Review Submitted 04/06/14
    This property was the lynchpin in a perfect getaway for two couples. The house was clean, spacious, and nicely furnished inside, in great working order, with two master suites, laundry facilities, full kitchen with granite countertops and plenty of kitchen tools and dishes, satellite TV, and high-speed internet. The two best features, however, are outside: a screened porch with a spectacular view of the ocean, perfect for morning coffee or relaxing in the evening, and a separate tiki area with outdoor kitchen (including gas grill), covered dining area, and a large hot tub, all surrounded by a 6-foot privacy fence. In fact, the hot tub was our favorite destination every evening and the best part of a trip that would have been fantastic even without it. The property is ideally located in the Keys as well--close to shops, local restaurants, and grocery stores on Key Largo, close enough to Miami for a day trip if you like, and only a couple of hours from Key West. Key Largo is definitely more low-key (pardon the pun) than Key West. The neighborhood was quiet for our stay, but Harry Harris Park is in easy walking distance (literally across the street) for shelling, sunbathing, or a dip in the lagoon. Although there is some sand in the lagoon area, as with almost everywhere in the Keys, don't expect a traditional sandy beach--if that's your goal, look elsewhere in Florida--but there are lots of nature-oriented things to do in the immediate area. The park's boat ramp, which is dead ahead of this property, provided lots of entertainment as drivers of various skill levels attempted to back their boat trailers down the ramp. Do try some of the local restaurants on the island. We enjoyed Harriette's (breakfast and lunch--try the muffins) and Tower of Pizza while we were there. For sweet treats, we enjoyed Key Largo Chocolates and Ice Cream. The owner was extremely helpful with our booking. All our pre-booking questions were answered promptly. Although our stay was entirely drama-free, we got the impression that the owner would have been responsive to any concerns. This property is definitely at the top of our list for a return trip.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Great Place!!!

    Great Place!!!

    • Guest packerchick39
    • Date of stay 03/22/14
    • Review Submitted 03/22/14
    Beautiful home, awesome views, very clean and comfortable......great price...far better than any hotel any day! close to many attractions ...fishing, snorkeling, Key West, Key Largo, wonderful hot tub, loved walking on the beach...great area!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Nice, clean rental!

    Nice, clean rental!

    • Guest Molly W.
    • Date of stay 02/08/14
    • Review Submitted 02/19/14
    Our family of five (kids ages 15, 13, & 6) enjoyed our stay at this nice, clean rental. Everything was in great condition. The bed in the master suite was very comfortable! The outside was actually nicer than the photos on this site. The beach across the street was very nice. The snorkeling off the fishing pier was great! (Go just before sunset!). We saw lobsters, shrimp, sting rays, horseshoe crab, tons of fish, etc. Bring water shoes if you plan to snorkel here! Overall, a great place to stay!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you so much, so happy you enjoyed your stay

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Wonderful Home Away From Home!

    Wonderful Home Away From Home!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 11/23/13
    • Review Submitted 12/12/13
    Since we travel to Key Largo a few times a year for scuba diving, we recently decided that a vacation rental would be much more comfortable than a hotel room for a week's stay. After doing my research on VRBO, I was fortunate to find this amazing rental...it was just perfect for us! This trip we traveled with another couple for a week of diving. The layout of this home was ideal for two couples. There were two bedrooms with a king sized bed in each, and each had its own attached bathroom - just what we needed! The home was well furnished and we found everything we could possibly need in the kitchen. We enjoyed the comfortable living room with satellite TV and the spacious screened in balcony with an AMAZING view of the ocean! There is a privacy fenced area outside surrounding the hot tub, BBQ grill and patio table. The guys discovered the music controls under the gazebo and we had some fun times out there! The only complaint I have is that Dairy Queen is located right down the street...after our daily stops for a "Blizzard" after our scuba diving outings, my cholesterol level is through the roof :-) Dottie was so helpful with any questions I had. She answered all e-mails promptly and could not have made the experience any easier. Our deposit was mailed back to us just a few days after we departed! I would highly recommend this vacation rental for a visit to the Keys!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • Watch the boats come and go from a beautiful screen porch!

    Watch the boats come and go from a beautiful screen porch!

    • Guest Linda and Greg (Virginia Beach, Virginia)
    • Date of stay 08/26/13
    • Review Submitted 10/01/13
    We loved staying here. The home has many amenities: two, very comfortable, king size beds, granite countertops, walk in shower, new appliances, outdoor kitchen, hot tub, large parking area for cars and boats, and a large screen porch that extends across the entire front of the house. Every morning we woke up to a beautiful view of the ocean and the park across the street. The owners were very helpful and thoughtful and prompt in answering questions.

    Recommended for: Age 55+

    Owner response: We are always so pleased to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay in our home. It is so relaxing to watch the sun rise over the ocean every morning and very entertaining to watch the boats come and go. Thank you for your review we hope you will visit us again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • Wonderful Home!

    Wonderful Home!

    • Guest Stephanie (Cleveland)
    • Date of stay 03/30/13
    • Review Submitted 04/11/13
    This house was perfect. It was exactly like the photos, very clean and well stocked. We enjoyed our week here and would definately return. The kids enjoyed feeding the fish at Robbies, snorkeling at the state park, and of course hanging out at the beach. Dorothy was wonderful to work with and gave us great suggestions for family activites and restaurants.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • Elaine

    Elaine

    • Guest Elaine (New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 12/22/12
    • Review Submitted 01/08/13
    Great. Sit and watch water, boats, B/L/D on enclosed porch. Clean and up to date. Owners could not have been more helpful.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • Once again, a wonderful place to stay!!

    Once again, a wonderful place to stay!!

    • Guest Judy (Evansville, WI)
    • Date of stay 11/15/12
    • Review Submitted 12/03/12
    After staying at Dorothy's house in 2010, we knew that we could not go wrong in deciding to return this year. The location is perfect whether you want spend time in Southern Florida, drive to Key West, or even stay right at the house all the time. The house is immaculate, and has everything you need to feel right at home. I especially enjoyed getting up early every morning to sit on the front porch and watch the sunrise over the ocean. It just does not get any better!! I highly recommend this property for a couple, family, or even a "friends getaway".

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much Judy. We are so pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your visit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • An Amazing Stay!!!

    An Amazing Stay!!!

    • Guest MImomof2 (Canton, MI)
    • Date of stay 05/05/12
    • Review Submitted 05/16/12
    The pictures for this do NOT do it justice. It was absolutely beautiful. There is everything that you would need in the fully stocked kitchen. The view of the ocean was great and we loved watching the lizards run around the hot tub. The screened in porch was wonderful for relaxing and watching the ocean. There are not enough words to explain what a wonderful time we had and how beautiful the house was. We would definitely stay here again in the future.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Pictures don't do it justice

    Pictures don't do it justice

    • Guest guest (Lexington, KY)
    • Date of stay 11/19/11
    • Review Submitted 12/07/11
    My husband and I stayed at this beautiful property the week of Thanksgiving and absolutely loved it. The kitchen and both bathrooms have been recently updated and they are very nice. My husband went diving with Conch Republic and it was only a few miles away. The screened in balcony is wonderful and we took full advantage of it every day. The bedrooms are huge and there is plenty of storage. It was just the two of us but there would be more than enough room for a family of four or two couples. It was conveniently located near all kinds of fabulous restaurants and we certainly took full advantage. The owner was great to work with and always quick to respond to any questions I had. We both really enjoyed Key Largo and plan to go again. There's no question as to where we will be staying.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you, and thank you for being such wonderful guest

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Great Place!

    Great Place!

    • Guest elund457 (Fort Collins, CO)
    • Date of stay 08/06/11
    • Review Submitted 09/25/11
    My family and I stayed at this location and absolutely loved it! Close to many things to do. The home is very well furnished and nicely remodeled. The outdoor BBQ area wa great for relaxation. i would highly reccomend this location. My son 13 loved the place as well as my 2 year old daughter. Park across the street was nice for the kids.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Tavernier/Islamorada

    Tavernier/Islamorada

    • Guest Mrs. B (Harrison, OH)
    • Date of stay 06/08/11
    • Review Submitted 06/20/11
    Our stay at this property was wonderful. The house is very nice w/nautical decor. A well equipped kitchen. Area outside around the hot tub is very tropical. A lanai across the front of house is nice to sit & watch the sunrise over the ocean. Across the street is a nice park with beach/swimming area. There are many good restaurants within 20 miles. A Winn Dixie is just 5 minutes south. Was a very enjoyable stay.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Better than expected!

    Better than expected!

    • Guest Ken (Andover, MA)
    • Date of stay 04/16/11
    • Review Submitted 07/08/11
    My family of 5 (kids ages 11-17) travel quite a bit and usually stay in hotels where we either need a suite or 2 rooms. This trip I decided to use VRBO and rent a home. Good decision. Each day we had some activity whether it was fishing, snorkeling (twice), day trip up to South Beach, etc., and it was soooo nice to come back to this house and relax in the jacuzzi/tiki bar area. My kids plugged their ipods into the sound system, I opened a cold beer and we talked about the day we had. A little while later we made a short drive to a great restaurant. The pictures in the listing are accurate, but do not do the place justice. The park across the street also has a boat ramp. One day we arranged for a private fishing trip and the guy picked us up at the park across the street! Thank you for listing your home, and good idea leaving brochures of the local places which you recommend. All the local attractions are nearby, but you need a vehicle. I highly recommend this rental!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Wonderful stay!!

    Wonderful stay!!

    • Guest Chris (Illinois)
    • Date of stay 03/01/11
    • Review Submitted 04/04/11
    We truly loved our stay at this perfect vacation home. It was very clean and well maintained. The photos were accurate and what you see is what you get. A warm, relaxing home away from home. It is very close to everything you'll need. Wonderful restaurants, close to attractions, and our favorite thing, the jacuzzi and outside Tiki Bar area. Grilling steaks and barbecue with family was awesome. The park is directly across the street. We enjoyed the screened in porch every morning and evening. The only bad thing I can say is that even after a month we weren't ready to leave and are looking forward to returning next year. The owners are great to work with and are quick to answer all your questions. I'll say it again, perfect vacation home!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • Relaxing, Relaxing, Relaxing...........

    Relaxing, Relaxing, Relaxing...........

    • Guest Maryland Snowbirds (Elkton, Maryland)
    • Date of stay 02/01/11
    • Review Submitted 04/11/11
    We stayed for a month and I am usualy home sick the first week. I was never home sick but was rather the most relaxed I have ever been on a vacation. This home is perfect. The extra outdoor space & amentities are outstanding. This is the most immaculate, welcoming home we have ever stayed in. We were entertained and mezmerized by the view of the park, the boat ramps, and the ocean. I was looking forward to watching the "Today Show" every morning on vacation while sipping my coffee. I think I watched it once, as we were always outside on the screened porch relaxing with our coffee. Great location, great restaurants, and lots of fun shops. The owners are a gem and are dedicated to making sure your stay is nothing less than satisfactory. I would highly recommend this home for a small family or two couples. Thank you so much for sharing your home. We will be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your wonderful review

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Very Clean Home well located in the Keys

    Very Clean Home well located in the Keys

    • Guest Mitch (Nova Scotia)
    • Date of stay 12/24/10
    • Review Submitted 01/04/11
    We arrived on Christmas Eve to find the house immaculate. The house is well located to explore the Keys, or if you have a boat, it is a perfect location. Even with the cool weather, we very much enjoyed sitting out to watch beautiful sun rises, and also to spend quiet evenings listening to the ocean. Due to the cool weather, we did not get to enjoy the beautiful hot tub and BBQ area.as much as we would have liked. I would recommend this house to anyone looking for a quiet area.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Clean, Beautiful home!! Great place to just sit back and relax.

    Clean, Beautiful home!! Great place to just sit back and relax.

    • Guest karina d. (Miami, FL)
    • Date of stay 07/31/10
    • Review Submitted 08/18/10
    Since day one we found everything clean arranged and very welcoming. Also , having the beach in front was a big help with our kids, seeing the ocean every morning and the decoration of the house was very relaxing. The house is very comfortable, the rooms are very spacious, the kitchen is beautiful and the laundry room was a big help. And of course the Tiki Hut with the jacuzzi and the BBQ was just excellent, the kids enjoyed the jacuzzi very much ( we all did). As a matter of fact it is the first time we go away for more than 5 days that we did not miss home at all. I would recommend this home to any family that wants to get away but still have all the comforts of home. Dorothy was very pleasant and and easy to work with. Great vacation rental!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Beautiful imaculate home with plenty of extras

    Beautiful imaculate home with plenty of extras

    • Guest Orlando (Miramar, FL USA)
    • Date of stay 07/02/10
    • Review Submitted 07/27/10
    My family and I stayed in this house over the July 4th weekend. We had another family with us and there was plenty of space. The house is extremely clean, marble tiles, granite kitchen counters, wine chiller... everything you would want in your own house. My favorite part of the house was the Jacuzzi area. It's a high end Jacuzzi with dozens of jets and multiple settings, next to a Tiki hut in a privately fenced in area. There's a sound system and a bar to help you relax or get crazy... your choice!! Harry Harris Park is right across the street with a place to put your boat in. The sand bars are just a minute away and the view of the ocean is unobstructed. Love this place!! Highly recommended.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Ocean View

    Ocean View

    • Guest Paulita (Coral Springs, FL)
    • Date of stay 06/12/10
    • Review Submitted 07/18/10
    We stayed at this lovely home in June 2010 and we loved it so much we are going back in August! This is a very comfortable home that faces the Atlantic Ocean which we loved. The bedrooms and bathrooms are huge and all updated. The kitchen is all new too! It has a great full length porch with plenty of chairs and tables for your family to enjoy breakfast and dinners outside and look out at the beautiful ocean. There is also an outside oasis area which has the hot tub, which we enjoyed after being out in the boat all day--very refreshing! There is plenty of space to put your trailer and for parking, Harry Harris park is right across the street where you can launch your boat. We highly recommend staying here!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • weekend getaway

    weekend getaway

    • Guest rich (miami, fl)
    • Date of stay 06/06/08
    • Review Submitted 07/14/10
    My wife and I stayed here for a romantic weekend get away and had a very nice time the view is awesome, the beach is steps away and the house was conviently located to restaurants and shopping and was very very clean.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your review we hope you will visit again

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]