Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Comfortable and cozy as a cabin

The Yurt - Camping Without the Dirt! [#302956] | View Property

Spearfish
Bungalow, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath (Sleeps 6-12)
$100/nt
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (30)

Sort by:
  • We had a great time

    We had a great time

    • Guest Steve (Grayslake,IL)
    • Date of stay 09/15/13
    • Review Submitted 09/26/13
    My wife and I drove from Chicago to Spearfish on Sept 15th. We had a great stay at the Yurt. All bedding and towels were clean. The kitchen had everything you need to be able to cook your meals. The pull out sofa the mattress saged big time. We took one of the Futon mattress and put it on the sofa bed and it worked out just fine. We did use the fire pit every night which also made for some great star watching. I would recommend the Yurt if going to be in the area. Everything you would want to see is about a hour drive away.Spearfish is a great little town. Please remember that this is not a 5 Star hotel room. For what you get "Camping without the dirt". It is well worth the money. If we ever get back to the area we will for sure stay at the Yurt

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Can't wait to come back!!

    Can't wait to come back!!

    • Guest Yurts Rock
    • Date of stay 07/03/13
    • Review Submitted 08/26/13
    My husband, myself and two daughters spend 5 wonderful nights at the Yurt over the 4th of July holiday. What a refreshing change of pace for us. We found everything to be quite comfortable and had everything we could possibly need. Roger stopped by to meet us and we really appreciated that he would take the time to make sure everything was alright. Yes, the shower had almost too much pressure but my hubby, who is pretty handy, turned down the pressure by partly closing the water valve by the water heater. Greatly helped out. Roger was so great to answer any questions we had prior to our vacation about the Yurt in general and the Spearfish and surrounding area. The scenery around the Yurt was so beautiful and the kids loved playing the ladder ball game. The fire pit was well used by us and just sitting out relaxing each evening was so perfect. I almost hate to tell everyone how nice it really was for fear that the time we want to spend there next summer will be taken by someone else. Gets pretty hot in there during the day, but if you are like most people, you would probably be out and about anyway. Pleasantly cool and very comfortable during the evening and overnight. Absolutely can not wait to come back again next year. Thanks again Roger for the great experience!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nice scenery but bring your own EVERYTHING

    Nice scenery but bring your own EVERYTHING

    • Guest Sasha A. (Hanover, IL )
    • Date of stay 07/01/13
    • Review Submitted 07/15/13
    I will start by listing the properties only positive quality- The scenery. Unfortunately most every other aspect of the property was something left to be desired. Before I continue I must say my husband and I are farm owners. We are used to and enjoy very much a rural, rustic way of life. First off the owner should have stated in the listing or in a private email to us the extreme dip in the driveway leading to the yurt. It would have been nice to be warned or prepared as even though we were driving slowly and cautiously the rocky dip caused the under carriage of our vehicle to get scrapped up. Smaller vehicles with a lower clearance surely wouldn't have made it. Or if they did make it the vehicle would most likely be damaged. 2. The owner showed up unannounced very shortly after we arrived which was not appreciated at all. After we expressed some concerns he was rather disinterested and offered no solutions. 3. Only one side of the staircase leading up to the yurt had a railing (the drop down is at least 4 feet) VERY dangerous for children, Pets & elderly people. 4.The hand towels and bath towels were absolutely disgusting. They wreaked of mold and literally had mud, dirt and paint on them. SO strange! After you take a shower there you will promptly want to go take a shower else where. 5. On to the shower...The shower curtain was moldy and hadn't been changed in god knows how long. There was long black hair at the floor of the shower that was obviously left from who knows how many guests before us. The shower head was clogged up and filled with mineral deposits it was painful to take a shower as it felt like you were being stabbed by the water. 6. The sleeping furniture was made up of 2 dirty futons that weren't made up. The sheets that were available seemed to have been washed however the stack of blankets that were there for us to use must have been 20 years old plus and probably hadn't been washed in that long either. The owner actually admitted they didn't wash the blankets. SO GROSS!!! Honestly I could keep going on and on about all of the unpleasantries of this yurt but I think you get the point. Thank god we were only there for two night on our way to Montana.

    Owner response: Sasha, I believe most people appreciate the fact I try to stop in to see if things are alright. In 4 years in fact, you're the only one who's ever mentioned this. You're also the first one to say anything about moldy towels (simply not true). You're also the first one who's husband, or travelling partner didn't come out and say hi. I'm sorry you are so unhappy. Life at the yurt is supposed to be happy! As far as the blankets. When I walked up to see how you were doing you said they were gross. I said we had just washed them in the last week. The towels and sheets of course are always washed each time. Moldy?? You are right about the dip. We had a flood this spring which made it a little rocky. Future guests who may be reading this. Some of the guests park on the other side and walk over. It's about a 50' walk. Sasha, I'm sorry to have to say this, but based on your comments I find you are un-Yurt worthy and will have to ban you from ever visiting the yurt again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/7

  • Motorcycle Stop

    Motorcycle Stop

    • Guest Mike (St Paul)
    • Date of stay 06/30/13
    • Review Submitted 07/08/13
    Great Stay. All the amenities you wouldn't expect in a Yurt. Made a short 1 night stop on a motorcycle trip from St. Paul to Colorado. After hauling it 600 miles the first day, this was a welcomed rest. Used the grill for some steaks, had some beers by the campfire, played some ladderball (polish horseshoes?), did some exploring, etc.. Thanks Roger! Only improvement would be to adjust the pressure a bit on the shower. Might have lost a few layers of skin, but was pleasantly surprised either way that there was a shower after all that riding!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks guys! Stop in anytime.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • 3 people, 4 nights at the yurt!

    3 people, 4 nights at the yurt!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/23/13
    • Review Submitted 06/30/13
    The yurt is in a beautiful, secluded location, but less than 10 minutes from the interstate; that was fantastic. We used the yurt as a home base for 3 day outings in the Black Hills region including Mt. Rushmore, Devils Tower and more. Our vehicle was unable to traverse the creek-bed crossing at the yurt, so we had to carry our "stuff" in. (That was not a big deal at all, but if the creek had been running, could have been a bit of a wet deal.) The large deck was wonderful for coffee and Kahlua in the mornings and wine in the evenings while we read or played yard games We really enjoyed playing Blongo-Ball in the yard; such a hit in fact that we are getting one for our yard. No mosquitos, a few buzzing flies, and several buzzing things typical of the woods. We forgot bugspray, but managed without incident. Caution with the frig: we realized only when we were packing up that the back of the frig froze some things like milk, etc. Caution in the shower: very high pressure, so position yourself accordingly! The yurt is not luxury, but it is a very comfortable getaway that is close to town but away from everything. Very quiet, very peaceful, very unplugged. If you want something comfortable but unique to the experience in the Black Hills, I would highly recommend the yurt.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Jill, I'll have my plumber check out the shower pressure.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Had a fabulous time here - highly, highly recommended!

    Had a fabulous time here - highly, highly recommended!

    • Guest MAandJ (Winnipeg, Manitoba/Canada)
    • Date of stay 08/10/12
    • Review Submitted 09/03/12
    Can't recommend "the yurt" highly enough - we had a great time here! Two of us stayed in mid-August, and found the yurt comfortable and very relaxing. Plenty of space - could easily sleep a large family, or two or three couples, in here. Very well furnished - comfortable couches, full kitchen, gas grill on the deck. Hot and cold running water, electricity - certainly not "roughing it." No Internet access, and we couldn't get much for radio reception - but we were quite glad to be a bit removed from everything, given how relaxing and serene the surroundings were. Very private, on a beautiful lot. Got great suggestions for what to do in the area from the guestbook, which was filled with comments from other people who obviously had wonderful visits (we did day trips to Deadwood, Devils Tower, and hikes around Spearfish from here). This is absolutely the place to stay for a Black Hills visit - we'd do it again in a heartbeat.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Mary, Hope to see you all again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • My stay

    My stay

    • Guest JMB (Omaha, NE)
    • Date of stay 07/17/12
    • Review Submitted 08/10/12
    The visit would of been better if the horse tank was cleaned. In addition to that the refrigerator stopped working and I had to defrost it. The propane Grill was'nt working properly either. There was a TV, but no DVD player. I imagine the owners may have depended on a younger relative to make sure everything was in order.

    Recommended for: Pet owners

    Owner response: Yurt guests, if there is something that is not working please call me right away so I can get it fixed. I live 10 minutes away and can usually take care of it right away. A later guest said the grill wasn't working and I had a new one out there in less then 2 hours. Most people at the yurt enjoy getting away from the city life, but getting a dvd - I can do that. Horse tank. It's a horse tank. Actually put it out there to help the deer. A few enterprising guests have used it to cool off in, but no, I don't clean it.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Closely Distant

    Closely Distant

    • Guest Courtney (Sheridan, Wyoming)
    • Date of stay 06/22/12
    • Review Submitted 07/05/12
    Ahh.... The Yurt. The location was perfect! Not only were we far enough away from civilization to say goodbye to noisey cell phone rings, and messages, we were still CLOSE enough to run to the store for bread if needed! The nights were cool, and the days were hot! The cow tank and hose gave us much reprieve on the hot 90 degree days that we experienced. Thank you Roger, for a wonderful stay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Tyler wants to thank you...

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Tyler wants to thank you...

    • Guest Erin and Tyler
    • Date of stay 09/26/11
    • Review Submitted 12/14/11
    for the old school hospitality. This was a great way to start my first trip to the Hills. It is really beautiful here. Thanks to much.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Thanks, Roger for a great place to stay.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thanks, Roger for a great place to stay.

    • Guest Rob H, Chicago IL
    • Date of stay 09/24/11
    • Review Submitted 12/14/11
    It was neat getting up one morning to the turkeys going through the yard.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Thanks for everything Roger

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thanks for everything Roger

    • Guest Chris S--
    • Date of stay 09/24/11
    • Review Submitted 12/14/11
    The Yurt and South Dalota are fantastic. Nice to meet your family.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We will try to get out again next year...

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We will try to get out again next year...

    • Guest RH
    • Date of stay 09/24/11
    • Review Submitted 12/14/11
    Thanks for showing us how great South Dakota people are.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Thank you for wonderful week!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thank you for wonderful week!

    • Guest DH
    • Date of stay 09/24/11
    • Review Submitted 12/14/11
    It was well worth the 16 hour drive from Chicago. Hopefully we will see you next season.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • To the Yurt People and Winnie....

    Guest comment entered by owner

    To the Yurt People and Winnie....

    • Guest GR and AR + Bailey the dog
    • Date of stay 09/16/11
    • Review Submitted 12/14/11
    Thanks so much for letting us stay in your Yurt! We had a Yurtastic Time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • What an amazing experience!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    What an amazing experience!

    • Guest Tom and Rita J
    • Date of stay 07/30/11
    • Review Submitted 12/14/11
    We would love to thank you for sharing your Yurt. It was so relaxing, I just don't think I could explain the comfy of it all.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Thanks for the hospitality!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thanks for the hospitality!

    • Guest S-- Family, Madison WI
    • Date of stay 07/06/11
    • Review Submitted 12/14/11
    I think your dad's tour and the dino bones will be the highlight for eyeryone!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Thank you so much Roger!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thank you so much Roger!

    • Guest The D---- Family from OR
    • Date of stay 07/04/11
    • Review Submitted 12/14/11
    We enjoyed our stay here a lot this year! I can't wait for next summer. Our time here was great! WE LOVE THE YURT!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Erin, DD, & Bridget
    • Date of stay 07/02/11
    • Review Submitted 07/22/11
    Thanks for the great stay. we had a blast. St Paul, MN

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The K's.. & K's..
    • Date of stay 06/29/11
    • Review Submitted 07/22/11
    Had a great time. Already planning our next yurt get away!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Kinda like my bachelor brothers cabin!

    Kinda like my bachelor brothers cabin!

    • Guest Resilient Traveler (Washington DC)
    • Date of stay 06/26/11
    • Review Submitted 07/10/11
    All in all, this location and shelter served its purpose very well for us and we don't have any bad feelings about the place, however, you might want to know a few things. The Good: Private, intimate, great rock hunting in nearby dry riverbed, nestled in beautiful natural surroundings replete with wild flowers, running water, working toilet/kitchen and nice skylight. The Bad: Bathroom sink had toothpaste and soapscum from previous guest. Mouse feces evident on carpet in loft area and top of kitchen cupboards. Crumbs on kitchen counter. Electric stove oven was on when we arrived. Couch futon comforter (used as a cover) was soiled. Pier 1 sisal rug heavily soiled and in need of disposal or professional cleaning. Various personal items of owner stored there as well, for example, including but not limited to a Bowflex-style exercise machine, small kids folding chair, large item of unknown purpose, old tv behind couch kept company single dirty sock and old food in the 'fridge. Parking in front of yurt requires traversing a dried riverbed, almost no clearance for the average car. Owner does not answer phone calls to provide better directions to place so have fun finding at night (because you won't).

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers

    Owner response: Wow, in my 2 years of renting out the yurt I've never had a response like this, although I'm not entirely surprised. When I called this couple and asked them how they destroyed one of my chairs and lost 2 of my plastic window coverings his response was to call his attorney. This was total unyurt-like behavior. I really hope this couple can find happiness in their lives. I do appreciate them giving the yurt a 3 star even with their issues. The yurt is well, a yurt. It is in the country and we do have an ocassional mouse wander thru (2 reports in the last 2 years), and I do appreciate these folks going to the effort of standing on top of the counter in order to see a mouse dropping on top of a cabinet (which has since been removed). In all fairness, it is possible this couple had some legitimate complaints as I was out of town and unable to inspect the yurt, which I normally do, and I will address their issues. I wish this couple could have enjoyed the yurt as much as the many guests I've had the opportunity to meet, or have posted positive comments in our guest book.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The P's...
    • Date of stay 06/20/11
    • Review Submitted 07/22/11
    We had a great time here at the yurt!! Thanks for allowing us to try something new!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest M & G, Denver, Co
    • Date of stay 05/16/11
    • Review Submitted 07/22/11
    Yurt's Rule, Roger's cool At first I thought "Needs a woman's touch", but then the yurt lifestyle grew on me. Thanks..

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The S.. family from York, NE
    • Date of stay 05/10/11
    • Review Submitted 07/22/11
    Thank you so much for providing a small taste of a lifestyle I/we could very quickly become accustomed. The yurt was easy to get to yet hard to leave! Thank you for yurtiness!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • first of season

    first of season

    • Guest Geocachers (Wyoming)
    • Date of stay 04/25/11
    • Review Submitted 05/02/11
    It was a very peaceful nice place to stay. Enjoyed the yurt... a new camping experience. Stayed dry-- despite the rain! Proximity to Crow Peak was a bonus and was a great hike with the yurt a perfect place to recover.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Bonnie. I'm glad you enjoyed the yurt. It was a pleasure having you. Roger

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Glen and the Leadership Team
    • Date of stay 10/15/10
    • Review Submitted 03/15/11
    Thank you so much for the use of the Yurt for our event. It was very festive and fun with games going on and the fire outside....perfect.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Amy and Riston
    • Date of stay 10/03/10
    • Review Submitted 03/15/11
    Thank you so much for our night @ the Yurt. I've always wanted to live in a yurt and this experience confirms that! I'm off to California and this was a perfect way to say goodbye to the lovely Black Hills. My boyfriend and I will stay next time we come back to the Hills.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Chris and Carmen
    • Date of stay 10/02/10
    • Review Submitted 03/15/11
    Beautiful fall colors here! So nice and peaceful. Thank you so much "Uncle" Roger!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Darby, Sara, Will, Ben, Tommy, Donna, and Chuck
    • Date of stay 09/11/10
    • Review Submitted 03/15/11
    Wonderful family vacation spot! It was a great experience staying in the Yurt. Thanks for everything.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The ... Family
    • Date of stay 08/26/10
    • Review Submitted 03/15/11
    A great place to stay while we moved our daughter into BHSU! It was a great time, beautiful scenery. Thank you, hope to visit again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The H... Clan
    • Date of stay 07/14/10
    • Review Submitted 07/22/11
    We are glad we tried the yurt. It's definitely not a cabin and definitely not a tent, yet it's camping without the dirt! Our kids really enjoyed the experience. Happy Trails!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]