Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
The Cottage

Fabulous 1820 Carriage House with Gardens in Historic District [#30351] | View Property

Charleston
House, 2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths (Sleeps 4)
$450/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (20)

Sort by:
  • Charlotte Street Cottage

    Charlotte Street Cottage

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/22/14
    • Review Submitted 03/04/14
    We really enjoyed our week at Charlotte Street Cottage! All of Lisa and Geoff's suggestions were wonderful for exploring Historic Charleston and loved the local restaurants. It was so nice coming back to the beautiful well equipped cottage and could enjoy the lush gardens after our days out. We especially enjoyed visiting historic Mt Pleasant, Sullivan's Island, and Boone Hall Plantation. N's Islanf

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: We are so glad you had a good week of relaxing in the cottage and not in the cold, cold North! We try to make Charlotte Street Cottage a haven to which you can return after a day of exploring and feel at home so we are so pleased with your kind words. Hope you can return another time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect cottage for Historic Charleston

    Perfect cottage for Historic Charleston

    • Guest GORDON A.
    • Date of stay 08/05/13
    • Review Submitted 11/14/13
    Charlotte Street Cottage is the perfect location for a visit to historic Charleston. It is easy to find when you arrive and walking distance from the town center. The fact it has off street parking within the lovely walled garden is a nice bonus. The cottage is great - clean, well maintained and well equipped. The owners made us feel very welcome when we arrived. Little touches like having so many guide books to Charleston made our stay even better. We did not want to leave and hope to go back again some day!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Charleston Carriage House

    Charleston Carriage House

    • Guest Murphman (Vienna, VA)
    • Date of stay 05/23/13
    • Review Submitted 06/01/13
    Fabulous and charming. A real Southern gem!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • A Wonderful Week in Charleston

    A Wonderful Week in Charleston

    • Guest Stephanie G (Ann Arbor, MI)
    • Date of stay 04/13/13
    • Review Submitted 05/12/13
    One week at the Charlotte Street Cottage and we were officially puddles of relaxation! We chose the cottage for its close proximity to all the things we wanted to see in Charleston, but the charm of the home, the lovely gardens and the owners' hospitality made it hard to leave for more than a few hours at a time! The hosts' restaurant recommendations were spot on – I don’t remember when we’ve eaten so well! – and their suggestions for navigating the tourist spots were so helpful. My husband and I can't wait to visit again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • A Fabulous Week at the Charlotte Street Cottage!

    A Fabulous Week at the Charlotte Street Cottage!

    • Guest Stephanie G (Ann Arbor, MI)
    • Date of stay 04/13/13
    • Review Submitted 05/12/13
    One week at the Charlotte Street Cottage and we were officially puddles of relaxation! We chose the cottage for its close proximity to all the things we wanted to see in Charleston, but the charm of the home, your lovely gardens and your hospitality made it hard to leave for more than a few hours at a time! Your restaurant recommendations were spot on – I don’t remember when we’ve eaten so well! – and your suggestions for navigating the tourist spots were so helpful. Thank you for having us, we can’t wait to visit again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wonderful Stay

    Wonderful Stay

    • Guest G & K (Raleigh, NC)
    • Date of stay 11/18/12
    • Review Submitted 11/24/12
    My wife and I just returned from a wonderful 6-night stay in Charlotte Street Cottage. Viewers of this site will know that the previous reviews are loaded with superlatives, and properly so. Believe them. They are all true and richly deserved. Both the cottage and the location are simply ideal, and hosts Lisa and Geoff are there to answer to your every need while being entirely relaxed and genial about it. We parked our car at the cottage and didn't get in it again until we left, making our way about town largely on foot, with the occasional lift on the free trolley. I would have to say that our stay in the cottage itself was as memorable as were all the pleasures of a uniquely beautiful city. We highly recommend it in all of its aspects. We hope to be back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Charming Cottage for Charleston Vacation

    Charming Cottage for Charleston Vacation

    • Guest Janice A.
    • Date of stay 06/23/12
    • Review Submitted 07/08/12
    The Charlotte St. Cottage is the place to stay to experience the true essence of Charleston. Exquisitely decorated and spacious, the cottage is nestled in lush gardens on a beautiful property with patios and lounges. The area is peaceful and quiet, yet walking distance to all the city has to offer. We can't say enough about the gracious hospitality of hosts Lisa and Geoff, who went out of their their way to make our stay wonderful. We highly recommend Charlotte St. Cottage and look forward to returning very soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Wonderful cottage, perfect location

    Wonderful cottage, perfect location

    • Guest E (Upstate New York)
    • Date of stay 05/14/12
    • Review Submitted 05/20/12
    I highly recommend this cottage to anyone visiting Charleston. The cottage itself was as nice or nicer than pictured--very quaint and charming. It was clean, well equipped and larger than I was expecting. The yard and gardens are beautiful. It was within easy walking distance to wonderful restaurants, historic sites, grocery store, Visitor Center, aquarium, etc. There is also a free trolley service with a stop a few blocks away. The trolley can take you all over Charleston if you don't feel like walking. You can arrange transportation to a plantation right at the Visitor Center, so a car is unnecessary. Shuttle service to/from the airport was very reliable. If you are there on a Saturday, be sure to check out the wonderful Farmers Market/Craft Fair! It is held in the park only a few blocks away. Geoff and Lisa were wonderful hosts. They live in the house right on the property and were very happy to recommend restaurants and things to do. The basic staples were there upon our arrival. This was a fantastic spot for our annual "girls" reunion!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Wonderful location in the city

    Wonderful location in the city

    • Guest MTbeach (Huntington Beach)
    • Date of stay 12/27/11
    • Review Submitted 01/26/12
    We loved staying here! It is close to everything you want to see with walking distance. The beds are very comfortable and the kitchen is fully loaded. We had some thoughtful supplies for our first night there. Lisa and Geoff, the property owners, are very nice and Geoff is a really good guitar player. I'm glad I brought my guitar! My wife, daughter, and mother-n-law loved it and we look forward to another visit to Charlotte St and Charleston. Loads to do in Charleston and this is a wonderful location to come home to after a day of site seeing.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Experience a piece of history in the Charlotte Street Cottage!

    Experience a piece of history in the Charlotte Street Cottage!

    • Guest RTM (Maple Shade, NJ)
    • Date of stay 09/22/11
    • Review Submitted 09/30/11
    My husband and I stayed at the cottage for an extended weekend, and we were so happy with our decision to book here. The cottage is the renovated kitchen house for the Wegman-Holmes house in Charleston. It is quite spacious, and beautifully landscaped and private. Lisa was a joy to deal with, and has some great recommendations. The cottage is well equipped, with a nice kitchen, TV, cable, linens, all the comforts of home!! It is located on a beautiful quiet street. You can walk just about anywhere! Why spend money on a hotel room and be cramped when you can enjoy this wonderful cottage and relax in the garden? Our only complaint is that our vacation ended too soon, and we were not ready to return to reality.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 10/10

  • Highly Recommended. Location, Amenities, Professional Attention to Detail

    Highly Recommended. Location, Amenities, Professional Attention to Detail

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/21/11
    • Review Submitted 07/25/11
    Thank you Lisa and Geoff for an amazing couple of days in your lovely Cottage Home. Your attention to detail and concern for comfort has taught me, an well experienced hostess new to VRBO how to do it right and compete in my market in Sarasota, Fl/Franklin, NC and Ocala, FL. Well done! I only hope I can remember everything you had provisioned for me upon my arrival. Oh, I forgot the seedless blackberries and the remainder of the champagne in the refridge. Thank you again, I can not wait to return to the safety and comfort of your amazingly convenient cottage. Why even bother with a car? I would like to remind everyone that a B&B in Charleston for honeymoons is simply a very poor idea. However - the privacy of your own four walls is a far better thought. These are might fine four walls!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/10

  • Excellent! A Home Away From Home

    Excellent! A Home Away From Home

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/06/11
    • Review Submitted 04/11/11
    Here's all the reasons to stay at Charlotte Street Cottage vs. a hotel: 1) Hospitality: Thank you Lisa and Jeff for your warm and generous hospitality. We loved the wine, fresh strawberries, French pastries, snacks, etc. you left for us. We so appreciated Jeff's generous offer to drive us to pick up our rental car, Lisa inviting us into their home to use their computer so we could print out our boarding passes, and all of their helpful recommendations on sights and eats. 2) The cottage is so charming and it felt special to stay somewhere so historical. Immaculate and well appointed with everything you could possibly need: fully stocked kitchen, tv with DVD player (although there's so much to do, you won't have time to watch tv!), interesting reading material, washer/dryer, etc. It's a 2 story home, so you have plenty of room! 3) Location: That was one of the best parts. All the major sights are within walking distance, including a 24 hour grocery store. 4) Value: I researched cost extensively and the cottage is definitely a better deal vs. the high priced downtown hotels. Why pay for a small hotel room when you can stay in a beautiful home with such personal hospitality for less money? We loved it and highly recommend staying at Charlotte Street Cottage!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 11/11

  • Beautiful Cottage

    Beautiful Cottage

    • Guest HER (New York)
    • Date of stay 05/13/10
    • Review Submitted 09/09/10
    The Charlotte Street Cottage is a tranquil little retreat amongst the hustle and bustle of Charleston. It comes complete with it’s own beautiful garden, which whilst we stayed was full of fragrant jasmine. Sitting in the garden was the perfect way to unwind after a days sight-seeing. Geoff & Lisa the owners couldn’t be nicer. They were incredibly helpful when it came to tips on sights and local restaurants, but never intrude on your privacy. They also left us the most thoughtful welcome gift. The house itself is incredibly well set up, it was immaculately clean upon arrival, there was an abundance of bath towels, and the kitchen was extremely well equipped. The location of the property was very convenient for all of the sights, but far enough removed to appreciate the quiet residential area. A lovely holiday home that I would definitely return to.

    Recommended for: Pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 11/11

  • Charlotte Street Cottage is a little bit of Heaven on Earth.

    Charlotte Street Cottage is a little bit of Heaven on Earth.

    • Guest David A. Hughes, NYC (NYC, NY)
    • Date of stay 04/10/10
    • Review Submitted 05/11/10
    What a blessing it was to have discovered Charlotte Street Cottage online before visiting Charleston, S.C. It was a gracious, warm, and inviting home away from home during our stay there. Beautifully and comfortably furnished, filled with light from the many windows that overlooked the glorious gardens, Charlotte street Cottage filled my heart with joy every time I stepped through its doors. After long days of exploring the streets of Charleston, it was such an absolute pleasure to return to this inviting sanctuary. its proprietors, Lisa and Geoff, could not have been more friendly or helpful with their inviting greetings or generous advice on everything from the best restaurants to dine in to the local haunts not to be missed. I can honestly say it was one of my all-time favorite vacation accommodations.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

  • a dream come true

    a dream come true

    • Guest niki r. (san francisco, ca)
    • Date of stay 12/19/09
    • Review Submitted 07/07/10
    i stayed here for 10 days with my husband and 3 month old baby in december. it was wonderful beyond all of my expectations. i arrived alone with the baby at night and was greeted by lisa, who held the baby for me and geoff, who unpacked my car. after a long flight from the west coast and several house of driving, they made me feel at home and like i was an honored guest. the property is even nicer than the pictures, the location is great for walking to sights and restaurants. fig and hominy grill were two of our favorites. the owners have plenty of suggestions and will gladly offer a hand with what ever you might need...they even detailed how to find the whole foods. The garden at the cottage is beautiful and private. The cottage itself is large enough for a long stay and the kitchen was fully stocked. i would love to come back here. it beat staying in a 5 star hotel because of the space and personal attention.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/9

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/27/09
    • Review Submitted 09/27/09
    We stayed at the cottage for five nights over the 2009 Labor Day weekend. This was our first time to this part of the country. We thoroughly enjoyed the cottage in terms of comfort and its location to the historic downtown district. Moreover, Lisa and Jeff were very nice and assisted us in numerous ways. We would highly recommend this cottage for anyone planning a stay in the Charleston area.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

    • Guest Clarets (Bury, Lancashire, UK)
    • Date of stay 06/03/09
    • Review Submitted 06/02/09
    The Watson family stayed at Charlotte Street Cottage for 3 nights in May 2009. The cottage is ideally located in a secluded garden in a beautiful residential area just an easy stroll from the sights of historic Charleston. There are lots of good restaurants nearby. Lisa the owner stocked the kitchen with everything we need for breakfasts (and much more besides). She even phoned before we set off from home to check on our likes and dislikes! During our stay Lisa and Geoff were friendly and very helpful and we have no hesitation in recommending Charlotte Street Cottage as a comfortable and convenient base when visiting Charleston

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • A secluded gem

    A secluded gem

    • Guest Clarets (Bury, Lancashire, UK)
    • Date of stay 05/14/09
    • Review Submitted 06/06/09
    Our small family group stayed for three nights at Charlotte Street Cottage in May 2009. We were visiting Charleston for the first time, en route from Tennessee to Florida. The cottage is in a secluded location in the extensive grounds of the main house. There is secure free car parking in the grounds. The attractions of Historic Charleston are just an easy stroll away, as are many excellent restaurants. The owner, Lisa, stocked the kitchen with an excellent variety of food for breakfasts and suppers; she even phoned us before our visit to check our likes and dislikes! Lisa and Geoff were friendly and helpful, yet unobtrusive. The property was clean, spacious and well-equipped. If we find ourselves near Charleston again we will be sure to head back to Charlotte Street Cottage.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Please note: Stocking the kitchen for breakfast is optional and incurs an additional charge.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 16/16

    • Guest Judith Baker Montano (-)
    • Date of stay 12/15/08
    • Review Submitted 12/15/08
    My daughter Madeleine and I spent four wonderful days at the Charlotte Street Cottage. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to experience the real historical Charleston with all the luxury of modern day conveniences. The gardens are beautiful and the hosts were charming and friendly. They even gave my daughter a beautiful birthday cake when they heard it was her birthday. We plan to return to this beautiful cottage and gardens. A+++++

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • An Amazing Find!!!

    An Amazing Find!!!

    • Guest Amie1 (Chicago, Illinois)
    • Date of stay 09/24/08
    • Review Submitted 09/29/08
    I was referred by a friend. The owners said they don't do a lot of advertising and you can't see the house from the street. It was a wonderful, hidden surprise! The house was immaculate. The grounds were gorgeous and owners couldn't have been nicer. We walked everywhere ...to shops and restaurants...to the farmers market.. to the harbor. We were often torn between going out or staying and enjoying the property. The owners also had some great suggestions for places that the average visitor doesn't know about. *(please note: resending with corrected email below)

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 37/37



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]