Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Some of the most spectacular ocean views in town

Spacious 3 Bedrooms Home with Most Spectacular Views in Tamarindo! [#303527] | View Property

Tamarindo
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s) + Bedroom 5, 2 Baths (Sleeps 8-10)
From $325/nt - $2120/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (13)

Sort by:
  • INCREDIBLE HOME WITH GORGEOUS PANORAMIC OCEAN VIEWS

    INCREDIBLE HOME WITH GORGEOUS PANORAMIC OCEAN VIEWS

    • Guest Houston Mom (Houston)
    • Date of stay 03/12/14
    • Review Submitted 03/17/14
    My family (parents and 4 older teens) had a wonderful experience in Costa Rica and our stay at Casa Catalina made it that much more special for our vacation. The home was beautiful!!! The rooms were very clean and spacious. The pool area was where we spent most of our time each morning and evening. The panoramic ocean views from the infinity was breathtaking. With the large kitchen and all it's cookware, we ate in most nights and the Auto Mercado down the street had great food and wine selections. Miguel (the groundskeeper) always had a smile on his face when he showed up to say hello and to see if we needed anything. Mayella (his wife) was very quiet, but kept the house clean and cooked us a wonderful breakfast on our first day. Lacey (the dog) was a very nice touch, we loved having her around us. She's a great companion and doesn't ask for much. The town and beach are just down the steep hill, it was easy to walk down to, saw monkeys on our way downhill, but took a bit of an effort to walk back up. With that said, we rented a 4 WD in town, which was handy to get us around town and to the grocery store. I hired a driver to take us to and from the Liberia Airport (more on this later) and to the Zip Line Tour, which I recommend if you are going up into the mountains for this tour. The roads are rocky and treacherous and we would have been lost if driving on our own. The catamaran sunset sailing trip was well worth it. Hans (the management company) was there to greet us when we arrived and to make sure we were comfortable and arrived at the end of our trip to make sure we enjoyed our stay. He was a miracle worker really!!!! Our one hiccup, and a serious one.....the driver I hired, who was taking us back to the airport didn't show up (he thought we were departing the next day????), we got very worried as precious time was passing by, so we called Hans for HELP, who within 15 minutes had a driver at the house to take us to the airport. Problem solved!!! I can't say enough goodness about this home AND the staff, which made for a perfect family vacation!! You won't be disappointed.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: In the name of the Owner and the Staff, I thank you very much for your nice words. We hope to have you as our guess again in the future! Hans.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Stunning Home!

    Stunning Home!

    • Guest Millie O.
    • Date of stay 01/04/13
    • Review Submitted 01/13/13
    Casa Catalina was perfect! Magnificent views can be seen from every room. My family & I are very well traveled and typically stay in 5-star resorts. This property represents tremendous value. The view from the patio and infinity pool are not to be believed...fabulous! After a day out at the beaches we would come "home" and cool off by the pool. High ceilings, terra cotta floors and beautiful furnishings make this home so complete. Every amenity was there for us; kitchen was very well equipped, laundry room easily accessible off the kitchen, loads of good towels, beautifully furnished...etc. Caretaker Miguel is awesome! Super friendly and yet very professional. He took very good care of us. My family & I are big animal lovers and when we travel we miss our pets. Lacy, the owners dog, filled in that gap for us. She is a love! My son & daughter even took Lacy to the beach one day. Honestly, I can't say enough good things about this home. We loved it :) Pura Vida!

    Manager response: Thank you so much, Millie, for taking the time to write a review of our home. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Casa Catalina. Your note is making us miss our home and Lacey. Thanks again, Jim and Melissa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Every Room With A View

    Every Room With A View

    • Guest Sean (Colorado)
    • Date of stay 12/25/12
    • Review Submitted 01/07/13
    This is a house with a gorgeous view! The infinity pool is spectacular and a fantastic view to wake up to in the morning. The pool is cool as it is shaded most of the day but after a day of ATV’s, Zip Line, Hiking it is a refreshing place to begin or end the day! Miguel, Mirella, and Lacey are great. If you engage Miguel with a simple Buenos Dias he will try to communicate trust me my Spanish is very poor but I am willing to listen and try to understand and enjoyed our conversations-- what better way to share a cerveza and learn Spanish. Miguel is a very happy person who enjoys life he is helpful and friendly. Sitting on the deck the view is great expect a nice breeze and you will hear howler monkeys, we saw some across from the property on the front side of the house but heard them almost every night. If you do not like to walk up steep hills or have any walking issues or balance issues get a car and drive the road is very rough so go with a 4X4 but also know not a good idea to drive down and drink a beer there are few sidewalks so there is a lot of pedestrian traffic along with very narrow streets makes it a defensive driving challenge. I drove to Congo Trail and Liberia and the signage was fine might have to turn around once or twice but that would be true of anyplace you are not familiar with the surroundings. Places I tried that were very good were Langosta Beach Club Dinner and Service was excellent, Coconuts also very good food we were there for New Years Eve but service was only good since they were slammed. BTW fly into Liberia or small plane directly into Tamarindo the San Jose drive is a long one and all 2 lane roads if you do it plan on 5 hours in a car. I recommend a tour company to drive you Tamarindo Shuttle was great for us.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best Trip with Amazing Views!

    Best Trip with Amazing Views!

    • Guest JennieJ (Houston, TX)
    • Date of stay 11/05/12
    • Review Submitted 11/26/12
    We booked our trip with another couple and had the time of our life! The house is absolutely gorgeous and the views are breathtaking. Miguel, Mayella and Layce were all an absolute treat to have onsite with us. Everything was kept in tip-top shape and we were well-cared for by them. The house is located on a hill, you can walk up and down the hill and it is maybe a 10 min walk, but it puts you right into town and at the beach. I felt that it was well worth the hill to have such stunning views and privacy. I recommend this house and I am excited to go back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • EXCELLENT!

    EXCELLENT!

    • Guest Nick B.
    • Date of stay 08/13/12
    • Review Submitted 08/24/12
    Came for a week in August. Although it is the rainy season, the weather was outstanding. Stayed at Casa Catalina - 2 adults and 3 adult children. The villa is well-kept, and appropriately furnished. Pool is great. Views are stunning. Miguel, the security guard/poolboy/gardener is very pleasant and responsible. No complaints whatsoever! Would definitely stay here again and I recommend Casa Catalina to anyone looking for a private, hassle-free vacation. 2 minutes drive to town, though the road up to the villa is not great, with a 4-wheel drive, it's a bit of off-road fun. Monkeys and iguanas are not uncommon and add to the experience of the location. Sitting by the pool watching the vultures soar around and the surf breaking below never gets boring. Just read the other reviews - it's all good!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Amazing View!

    Amazing View!

    • Guest Michael N.
    • Date of stay 01/26/12
    • Review Submitted 02/07/12
    I stayed in Casa Catalina for 4 nights in January. The weather in Costa Rica that time of year is fantastic, and Jim and Hans of Casa Catalina worked with me closely to ensure that my trip went smoothly. All parts of the house are even better than advertised - the pictures of the infinity pool can barely do the view justice. We had 8 people, and found that we had plenty of space the entire time. While the walk up the hill can be a little steep, it is no issue to walk down and you can easily find a cab up to the house from the town of Tamarindo. All restaurants, bars, and beaches are walk-able from Casa Catalina. The gates, Miguel the security guard, and Lucy the (extremely well behaved and friendly) dog had our group feeling very safe. Highly recommended! Mike

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Stunning Views, Amazing House

    Stunning Views, Amazing House

    • Guest 99 (Colorado)
    • Date of stay 09/05/11
    • Review Submitted 09/12/11
    Just had the best vacation of my life at Casa Catalina. The house is gorgeous (nicer than the pictures) views are amazing! We had a fantastic time. I wanted to take Miguel (groundskeeper) and Lacey (the dog) home in my suitcase - they are both totally lovable and make you feel right at home. Once the housekeeper, Mayella gets past her shyness she is very sweet and it really makes you feel spoiled to have someone do the laundry, dishes, etc. Really cannot say enough nice things about the house - it has everything we wanted in a vacation rental property and then some. Only a few things I would say to be prepared for 1) the road to the house during rainy season requires a four wheel drive, but then if you have come to Costa Rica at that time of year you are probably going to find that in a lot of places 2) Miguel and Mayella don't speak a word of english, so practice, practice your Spanish! You will need it to communicate with these dear people. 3) Get ready for an absolutely wonderful time and to fall in love with Costa Rica. Pura Vida Casa Catalina!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Wonderful week at Casa Catalina

    Wonderful week at Casa Catalina

    • Guest Jeff L. (Tallahassee, Florida)
    • Date of stay 06/25/11
    • Review Submitted 07/05/11
    Just spent a week at Casa Catalina with my family.Two adults and 3 older teens.We had a fantastic vacation.The pictures of the house are nice but don't do justice to how beautiful the house truly is in person.The views of the Pacific ocean and jungle are breathtaking.The staff are helpful and friendly,Lacy the dog was a big hit with my kids.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Vista Espectacular

    Vista Espectacular

    • Guest ATX (Austin, Texas, USA)
    • Date of stay 02/18/11
    • Review Submitted 02/26/11
    The description and photos were dead on. This may have been the best view I have had from a vacation property. The property was very pretty, well-appointed, clean and well-maintained. Each in us enjoyed a rest in the peaceful hammock. The timing of the maid service was unfortunate for us. Our stay fell between cleaning days. This didn't seem abundantly clear from the advertisement. The owner/manager was extremely responsive to email. However, it was an inconvenience to have to return the property keys to their offices which took us an hour out of our way. Lacey the dog was great and friendly. Miguel the caretaker was also very nice. The directions to the property were a bit suspect. We had to find it at night and I would not recommend this. Overall, I would definitely recommend this property to a friend. The drawbacks were relatively minor. The view from the infinity pool made it all worthwhile. I would highly recommend that during your stay, you hire Juan (Let Me Cook for You) to prepare you a dinner. He is very talented and his wife Luisa is a wonderful host. His meal was probably the best we had on our trip. This chef service was arranged through the owner/manager. Pura Vida.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: I am glad your group enjoyed your stay and Juan with Let me Cook for you. Maid service is posted on the website as complimentary Monday/Wednesday/Friday. Those who only stay through a weekend can arrange additional maid service if requested. Our office is actually directly out of town in Huacas, only 12 minutes outside of Tamarindo, but you could have left the keys at the property without issue. We hope to see you in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Breathtaking home!

    Breathtaking home!

    • Guest Jill (Denver)
    • Date of stay 02/05/11
    • Review Submitted 02/21/11
    We stayed at Casa Catalina with two other couples in early February. We were blown a way with the beauty of the home and its views! We also loved having Lacey around as guard dog and reminder of our four-legged friends at home. Wonderful caretakers were also friendly and helpful. Very easy access to town/activities but a quiet retreat. We actually enjoyed cooking at home with local ingredients rather than eating out. Thank you for a lovely place for us to relax in a beautiful country.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • SUPERB views (from several directions!)

    SUPERB views (from several directions!)

    • Guest Ted (DC area)
    • Date of stay 12/26/10
    • Review Submitted 01/06/11
    We really enjoyed our stay at Casa Catalina. The view of Playa Grande was literally magnificent. Watching sunset from one of the bedroom patios was a daily (mandatory) occurrence. The help staff on site were very nice. Overall, a great stay!

    Manager response: We hope to see your family again next year at Casa Catalina!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Casa Catalina was amazing!

    Casa Catalina was amazing!

    • Guest Jo (Tampa, FL)
    • Date of stay 06/26/10
    • Review Submitted 07/11/10
    We stayed at this house for a week with another couple and it was perfect! It was close to town (Tamarindo) and the view was just breath-taking! The kitchen came in handy almost every day and with the grocery just 5 min away we saved a lot of money!! The guard (Miguel) was so sweet and very helpful! Even the house dog Lacey was a sweetheart! I would recommend renting a 4x4 as the hill up to the house is very steep. We actually walked it a few times just for fun...so it's doable...but not with luggage or bags. Overall, I would definitely recommend this house to friends/family - it is very well kept and very clean. The washer and dryer came was very handy too and the house maid is willing to do your laundry/dishes for you as well. Quite the treat! Also, Blue Water was very accommodating and helped us out quite a bit with our questions (thank you Heiner, Yira and Becky!)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Casa Catalina in Tamarindo

    Casa Catalina in Tamarindo

    • Guest Tomas (Round Rock, Texas USA)
    • Date of stay 06/10/10
    • Review Submitted 06/20/10
    This property was amazing and the views are just as the pics show. It was a great experience with great ammenities. Would love to go back and spend much more time there.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]