Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Sunset  Deck with Rocking Chairs

Couples• Honeymooners• Friends• Round Hilltop Home with Endless Water Views [#304811ha] | View Property

Culebra
1 bedroom, 1bath, sleeps 3, 900 sq.ft., close to beach, dvd, tv, Internet
$150/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (16)

Sort by:
  • Paradise

    Paradise

    • Guest Bryonne J.
    • Date of stay 02/02/14
    • Review Submitted 02/12/14
    My husband and I and our 4.5 year old son just returned from a trip to Culebra and stayed at Ann's rental house for 5 nights. We could not have been more happy with the general location, amenities and hospitality of Ann and Francie. We were three minutes out of town, heard no neighbors, and the house sat on top of a hill with little to no view obstruction. These views were perfect during both the days looking at the gorgeous aqua water bays and at night looking out our windows with the stars shinning bright. Overall we could not have had a better time and this location and house were perfect for us. The beaches are gorgeous and the people of Culebra are great. Francie was always available to answer questions and gave us recommendations on where to snorkel and eat. The only downside is that we could not stay longer!! We hope to return in years to come and I would highly recommend this house to anyone who wants to be a little more secluded and removed from it all. This house and the island are truly a gem we hope that it does not change.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Our second stay.

    Our second stay.

    • Guest Avram P.
    • Date of stay 12/08/13
    • Review Submitted 12/25/13
    We loved this place a year ago so when we were thinking about winter vacation last summer, we just looked to see if it was available when we were. Done!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Top of the world!

    Top of the world!

    • Guest William H.
    • Date of stay 03/31/13
    • Review Submitted 11/13/13
    Me and my lady have been to Culebra multiple times... this time we decided to stay at this BEAUTIFUL hilltop home. The views are gorgeous -- it really is amazing. The room is perfect for a couple -- it's amazing to wake up and be surrounded 360 by the amazing view and beautiful oceans -- it's hard to leave sometimes! You most definitely need a jeep to get up to the property, but that is part of the fun... trust me. You aren't going to go wrong with this place -- next time I'm going to Culebra with just us two, there is no other option where we would stay. The owner couldn't be nicer and more accommodating.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • It's our secret!

    It's our secret!

    • Guest Russ P. (Saint Cloud, Minnesota)
    • Date of stay 03/13/13
    • Review Submitted 04/07/13
    Shhhhhh..... Don't tell anyone, Casa Cima del Mundo can be our little secret! That's the feeling we still have ten days after our second stay at the "Top of the World" home owned by Anne Keegan. Our first stay was last year for eight days and this year was ten days and still too short! Both times we spent the weeks before we traveled anticipating the simplicity of our stay on Culebra in this great, no frills little round house with the most blessed views we have seen! (The rainbows are real, we enjoyed 4!) Having sailed these islands for almost 20 years on our sailboat and on chartered boats we are thrilled with the simple basics provided by Anne in this well priced rental home including a dishwasher to help with water conservation. As sailors we understand the challenge fresh water is to all of the island dwellers and vacation property owners. On this visit we found Anne had put in another fresh water tank due to the worry of the recent draught in this region. As we have always done in our travels outside the US proper we purchase bottled water for drinking and cook with boiled cistern water. This visit as well as our last we found the Wi-Fi worked well to get us our Sunday Mass from our home diocese and as usual we didn't try the TV as we enjoy our time away from it and our phones. Who needs media in a place like Culebra with the wonderful beaches? Each day we raced "home" from one of 5 different beaches to catch the incredible sunsets from this special perch on top of the world! Thanks Anne for sharing your home with us, God willing we will see you next year. And to the rest of you.... Shhhhhhh.........

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Honeymoon Spot

    Great Honeymoon Spot

    • Guest Chris K.
    • Date of stay 01/28/13
    • Review Submitted 02/04/13
    Everything just as described, but better in person. Stayed here with my wife this week and had an absolutely amazing time. Can't ask for better views from the deck (and from bed when you wake up in the a.m.), and with screened windows all around there's always a lovely sea breeze blowing through the house. Nice and secluded too--very quiet whatever time of day. It's tempting to skip the beach and just hang out on the deck, from which you can see both the sunrise over the ocean and the sunset over Puerto Rico. Kitchen is well equipped, too, if you want to stay in, or call Ann and ask for a restaurant tip--she's more than happy to help with anything that might make your stay as pleasant as possible. I'd certainly recommend this place to any couple looking for a beautiful place to get away to.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • A Little Piece of Heaven

    A Little Piece of Heaven

    • Guest Sally B.
    • Date of stay 01/07/13
    • Review Submitted 01/21/13
    My husband and I just returned from our second stay at Casa Cima del Mundo and we couldn't be happier. The open design of the place makes the experience like no other with the ocean breeze running throughout, the view of the water and various islands always in sight and the breath taking sunsets illuminating the house every evening. Although the beach is nearby, as are a number of great little restaurants, we found ourselves spending a lot of time parked in the comfy chairs on the wrap-around porch this year. We just couldn't pull ourselves away from this place it is so relaxing. Really, if we had known about this place when we got married, we would have honeymooned here! Ann is a great hostess and keeps the house stocked and clean. She will make sure your stay is everything you hope for and more. We are already discussing which week we'll be back at Casa Cima del Mundo next January. We can't wait to sip a cocktail at her outdoor bar and be one with the world again. It is the top - and the best - of the world!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wonderful, wonderful place!

    Wonderful, wonderful place!

    • Guest Polly N.
    • Date of stay 12/17/12
    • Review Submitted 01/12/13
    I stayed at Ann's beautiful place for ten days in December 2012, including through Christmas. I chose my place to stay especially thoughtfully this year because I was spending Christmas without my family....I have only done this twice in 44 years. I had a wonderful, wonderful time. The stars at night were so bright and plentiful that I frequently went out on the deck just to see them and relax in the moonlight in the evening. There was an abundance of quiet, gentle breezes coming through the gorgeous, large screened windows including at night, and the sound of birds singing throughout the day. I liked that I had the option of shuttering the windows if it rained. Generally, as is obvious, there isn't much rain on Culebra! The house is spacious and homey and very straightforward. There is beautiful, sea-themed art on the walls. Ann couldn't have been a more generous, attentive yet laid back host. I read a recent review for this house that surprised me and want to let any potential renters know that the furnishings were totally ample, taken care of, in good condition with nothing torn or broken, the bed was very comfortable and there was a dining table and chairs as well as two arm chairs and more, there were no leaking pipes or infestation of insects, the wifi worked and I used it almost daily, the frig was not moldy, there was a small safe if I wanted to lock valuables (although I didn't use it because the island has virtually no crime- I felt very safe in every way) and the water was the absolute norm on small islands- I have traveled to them all over the world- you have to conserve within normal limits and you buy bottled water even though the residents drink it. I never stay in a place with ac and the temperature in the house was great all of the time due to being on the hill- I wasn't hot once. I don't watch tv when traveling but there was an ipod dock and a library of good dvd's which was fun! As you can see, I highly recommend this place and intend to return again this year!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • "As advertised!"

    "As advertised!"

    • Guest Avram P.
    • Date of stay 11/30/12
    • Review Submitted 12/10/12
    Yes it's spectacular up there. Every sunset is different and so are the sunrises! The place is fully equipped, very nice kitchen. We typically have breakfast there, pack lunch for the beach and eat out for supper. This time we cooked supper a few nights too because... well we didn't feel like having to leave there every night. We have been to Culebra 7 times but this was our first stay here and we'll be back. It is a very steep drive to get up there and you do need a 4WD. We had a great time doing not much! That's why we love Culebra!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Very Disappointed-Home and Furnishing Need Repair

    Very Disappointed-Home and Furnishing Need Repair

    • Guest Linda J.
    • Date of stay 11/15/12
    • Review Submitted 12/08/12
    We stayed here for four nights in November 2012. We considered leaving after the first night as we were both unhappy; we saved money by sticking it out, but there were definitely regrets. Pros: The view is truly incredible, Ann is very nice, and her recommendations for restaurants and beaches were good - this makes it hard to say what needs to be said, but for the sake of those considering this home we feel a strong need to speak up. Cons: house and furnishings are in very poor repair. We have rented homes all over through a variety of services and this is the first time that we felt the home did not present as advertised. This was more like camping in a musty tent/cabin than renting a house. The refrigerator/freezer doors were covered with mold. There was a bowl under the bathroom sink to catch the water that leaked from the pipe under the sink. The drain in the bathtub was extremely slow and backed up ankle deep as you showered. The water is stored rainwater in a cistern that serves the whole house. It has a 'pondy' odor, so we would not recommend drink it - we picked up bottled water. You are asked to limit your water use; difficult when you spend the day at the beach, use sunscreen and bug repellant, and have no air conditioning unlike most other options in this price range. Lots of junk is stored underneath the home and some stuff stored on the deck that blocks some of the view. The screens are torn and let in a lot of bugs. The house was also infested with very small bugs crawling across the floor. Unless you fold up the futon/bed on a daily basis there is no comfortable/clean place to sit in the house. The 'second' bed is raw foam covered with bed sheets. The upholstery on the chairs is ripped. The advertised wi-fi doesn't work - this may be an island issue as it is reportedly like that elsewhere, but then this issue should be mentioned up front. The TV gets 1 English-speaking channel -TV should not be identified as a feature. This house cannot be secured - there is no way to secure your valuables. Residents of the island may feel comfortable with this, but we were reluctant to leave anything while we were out and about. Time and neglect have definitely taken a toll on this property. We are sorry, but we cannot recommend this location. We loved Culebra and hope to return there, but we will not return to this property. Upon return, we thought that the previous reviews that are so positive they are suspect caveat emptor.

    Owner response: I apologize for any inconveniences experienced by this person. My objective, which I diligently strive to achieve, is to provide each renter with a vacation home that is clean, well managed, and up lifting.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/8

  • Very peaceful, Great owner

    Very peaceful, Great owner

    • Guest clint b. (St Cloud, Minnesota)
    • Date of stay 05/18/12
    • Review Submitted 05/22/12
    Our entire experience from beginning to end was wonderful. Ann was great to work with and really made us feel at home. The house was clean, well stocked, and offered amenities for our use at the beach. The only thing that would have made our vacation better would have been more time. Highly recommend Ann's house to anyone seeking great views in paradise.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Relaxing and beautiful

    Relaxing and beautiful

    • Guest Shelley S. (Flagstaff, Arizona)
    • Date of stay 12/15/11
    • Review Submitted 02/18/12
    We were looking for a relaxing and romantic getaway in Culebra, and found Anne's place to be exactly what we needed. We loved the views and privacy. The nights were particularly lovely, with breezes gently cooling us and stars galore. A nighttime shower on the deck from the solar shower was invigorating. We loved the simplicity of one large room with windows on all sides. The futon was very comfortable. If you're looking for a peaceful spot and don't need luxury amenities, we highly recommend this place. We did enjoy walking to Punta Soldado beach (perhaps 35-45 minutes), but found it was important to have a jeep to get to other beaches. Culebra has beautiful beaches, some perfect for snorkeling with turtles, tropical fish, and amongst colorful corals, and some where we would find no one else on an entire wild coast. There's not much else to do in Culebra but enjoy quiet and solitude, and go to the beach, so this may not be the place for everyone. If you're looking for quiet time together or just some solitude, we think Anne's place is an ideal spot. Anne was very helpful and available, but not in any way intrusive. In fact, our jeep got stuck on our last day on the way to the airport, and she came out to pick us up when I gave her a panicked call in fear that we would miss our flight. Thank you, Anne!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • You will not be dissapointed

    You will not be dissapointed

    • Guest Thomas W.
    • Date of stay 08/01/11
    • Review Submitted 08/23/11
    My new wife and I honeymooned at Ann's house in Culebra and it was magical. The house was the perfect getaway we were looking for. The house is situated at the top of an island peak with spectacular views. It is also relatively close to town to go shopping, eating, or catching a nice mid-afternoon cocktail. Best of all Ann is a great host and was very friendly and able to answer all of questions before and during our vacation. This really is the perfect vacation getaway. We will be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • One of a kind beauty

    One of a kind beauty

    • Guest Elizabeth (Atlantic Beach, FL)
    • Date of stay 07/04/10
    • Review Submitted 09/21/10
    My husband and I stayed at Ann's place for our honeymoon in July 2010. It was incredible. The house is amazing and Ann was so accomodating and helpful. The house is beautiful, comfortable and convenient. The driveway is a fun adventure too. Everything you need is nearby- snorkeling, beaching, grocery, and dining out. We loved the views, the open floor plan, the wrap around deck and the stars. The birdsongs were incredible too. We are counting down the days until we can come back to Culebra and this wonderful house on the hill.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Most Beatiful Place in the World

    Most Beatiful Place in the World

    • Guest Holly (Newport, Rhode Island)
    • Date of stay 03/22/10
    • Review Submitted 08/09/10
    During our third trip to Culebra we stayed at this exquisite home where the views were endless, the breeze refreshing, and serenity was easily achieved. We spent many hours reading and napping on the porch, picking out different constellations at night, and just admiring the natural beauty surrounding the property. With easy access to town we would drive down the hill and venture out for a snorkel, get a fabulous lunch in town, and be back for an afternoon siesta. For those, like us, with friends in town, this is also the perfect house for entertaining. The open floor plan, many windows, and bar that overlooks the kitchen, helped us throw a great Caribbean party! Our friends were shocked at the incredible view that this house had to offer and couldn't believe what a gem we had found. On quiet nights we enjoyed cocktails on the porch and actually ended up sleeping out there one night. Let me tell you, waking up to millions of stars right overhead was an amazing experience. If you are looking for a relaxing environment, breath-taking views, and staying in a truly Caribbean home, this is the place for you!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • What an amazing house

    What an amazing house

    • Guest KB (USA)
    • Date of stay 03/15/10
    • Review Submitted 08/09/10
    This house is truly one of a kind. Its character reflects the Culebra's unique Island attitude. With an ocean view of 270 degrees our stay couldn't have been more perfect. The word Custom doesn't even begin to describe Casa Cima del Mundo. The view is breath taking. Our adventure and the memories were all truly enhanced by our lodging choice. I highly recommend that you give Ann a call. Ann was a fantastic hostess. She gave us all the local knowledge we needed. She really was responsible for helping build the vacation of our lives. I swear she knows the entire island's inhabitants human and otherwise by first name. We will most certainly be back. We have marked our calendars and are counting down the days until we are back on top of "our" little mountain and can fall asleep with the light Culebra tropical breeze flowing over us once again. The facts: Great house with awesome view. It is atop a mountain so you need to actually get up and down the mountain each day. The driveway is a ton of fun. The place was clean and clearly well cared for. Ann was awesome. I would recommend this property to anyone. We are already coming back next year! Snorkling and Scuba diving was awesome. Tried bone fishing. We hiked and visited all the local watering holes. Mamacita's and the dinghy dock where the favorite restaurants but there was a surprisingly large selection. Just ask Ann! We can't say it enough... give this place a try you will be glad you did!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Makes me Smile

    Makes me Smile

    • Guest Dave (Chicago, Illinois)
    • Date of stay 01/10/10
    • Review Submitted 08/13/10
    Casa Cima del Mundo is an astounding property; a real vacation house. For those of us usually surrounded by buildings, the architecture of this place invites you to sit down, relax and reconnect with sky, sea and clear horizons. Just being here will drop your blood pressure. The views stretch from St. Thomas to Vieques. Be sure to try the tub and local Rum. (Maybe at the same time). Ann can direct you to beaches, Caribbean dining or local watering holes. Check out some of the more remote beaches where you will have miles of sand all to yourself. We liked dining at Tamarindo where you can eat at tables just a few feet from the beach and going to the Dinghy Dock for breakfast. However, the best meals we had were sitting at the “Top of the World” looking out over the Caribbean. This is the place to have cocktails stretch into sunset stretch into dinner stretch into a moonlit star filled night stretch into a warm Caribbean memory. Just remembering makes me smile.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/9



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]