Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Dock View

Ocean Views Views Views! Crystal Clear Waters Home in Key Largo [#304813] | View Property

Lime Grove Estates
3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
$1,995 - $2,345/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (17)

Sort by:
  • What a wonderful week!

    What a wonderful week!

    • Guest Jim S.
    • Date of stay 02/22/14
    • Review Submitted 03/02/14
    I really can't say much that hasn't already been said. the house was wonderful for 2 couples and the pictures do not do it justice. We have already made a request to go back next year. We used a lot of the equipment, the kayaks, hot tub, and a great gas grill! We took bicycles with us (though some were there) and this made a great base for rides through the keys, over 7 mile bridge, and to key west. I'd also like to thank the other people who commented on this site. Thanks to them, we snorkeled and swam in the canal, and kayaked to Snappers, also Dove Key and Rodrigeuz Key are great kayak paddles away. Thanks to the owners for answering all our questions very quickly. We have rented several places through VRBO in different locations, and this is our favorite!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for posting this wonderful review. Hope to see you again next year!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The perfect getaway

    The perfect getaway

    • Guest Margaret E.
    • Date of stay 02/01/14
    • Review Submitted 03/05/14
    We spent a week in this lovely house. It is very clean, quiet, and comfortable. On the ground level is a covered patio overlooking a canal and the ocean. There is a hot tub, lounge chairs, four bicycles, and barbecue grill. The living area is on the second level and has large windows with ocean views. There is one house in front of this one on the ocean, but there is a neighborhood park next to that house, so there are open views. There is a large upstairs balcony also. The kitchen is large and modern as are the two bathrooms. There is a king bed in the master, a queen in the second bedroom and a trundle in the third bedroom. The living room is long and narrow but comfortable. There are two great aspects of this place that the photos don't show. First, the owner is very nice and wonderful to work with. The second great thing is the location. The street is quiet and well kept and the area is close to restaurants, shops and parks. There are endless things to do and see, and the owner has information on many of them in a three-ring binder. We had great weather and a wonderful time! An ideal place for one or two couples or a family of five.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our place and the Florida Keys! See you next year !

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Everything We Hoped For and MORE!

    Everything We Hoped For and MORE!

    • Guest samantha w.
    • Date of stay 06/02/13
    • Review Submitted 06/15/13
    This was our second visit to this gorgeous home in Key Largo and this trip was even more amazing than our last. Like many other reviews have stated, the photos do not do this home justice. The views from every room are spectacular! The home is immaculate from the décor to the level of cleanliness. We found it welcoming and comfortable. I cannot say enough good things about the owners of this home. They were friendly and beyond helpful with all aspects of our vacation. We enjoyed having dinners on the outdoor patio and swimming in the canal. There are numerous options for kayaking in the area. We enjoyed a trip to Snapper’s restaurant, which is just a short kayak ride away. While there we enjoyed a few refreshing Pina Coladas. In addition, the area is great for leisurely bike rides. It makes for such a peaceful afternoon cruising around the neighborhood. This will always be our go to home in Key Largo. We cherish the memories we've made while staying in this marvelous home and in our minds it will always be our little piece of paradise.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review! Please come back again and again.....

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Heaven!

    Heaven!

    • Guest Anij I.
    • Date of stay 03/01/13
    • Review Submitted 04/17/13
    We just got back from our second annual trip to Key Largo, driving all the way from Casper, Wyoming, and I have to say this vacation was too fabulous for words! The year before we rented a place on the bayside on a canal, and had no views and an insight into fighting neighbors! This year, I was lucky enough to connect with Vivian and Henry last summer and fell in love with not only their home, but the fantastic views and location. They already had February booked, so we decided to delay our trip one month just to rent this home! This is not your typical rental!!!!! They have extensively updated this home and went first class with everything from kitchen supplies, granite countertops, top of the line sheets.....you name it! They met us at the property on the first night, and went over everything we might need, leaving us phone numbers for anything they might have missed. They had an extensive brochure on local restaurants and things to do locally, as well as other interesting tidbits about the property and area. My hubby is on oxygen, and this house layout was ideal for him getting around easily (lower altitude helped as well!). ......hot tub was a dream! I'm not usually an early riser, but had to get up most mornings to see the spectacular sunrises. The kayaks were such a joy to use, and the neighbor quite charming.....end of the road privacy with a super location half way between Key Largo and Tavernier. Mid way through our vacation we decided we had to do this again next year, and were lucky enough to have Vivian and Henry agree to rent to us again. This is their personal home, and it shows - not just created to use as a rental - and I, myself, would be remiss to rent such a gorgeous place to strangers. I can only say that I am so very grateful to have found such a charming, fabulous place to stay for whatever time hubby and I can make it down each year. It's such a relief to have found the very best at such a reasonable price, and know I don't have to shop around for another rental this summer. It was pure joy!!!! Thank you again Vivian and Henry, and know we look forward to seeing you again next year and trying out more restaurants, seeing more sights, and hopefully making it up to Miami to take you out to dinner there. You two are the best! Anij and Albert Jordan

    Owner response: If there was a way to review a guest, I would give this couple five stars! It was wonderful to meet these great people and share our home with them. It is very rewarding when our guests appreciate what we do; our goal is to always exceed the expectations of our visitors with our service and attention to detail. Thank you very much for this spectacular review. See you next year!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • I Can't Believe My Eyes!

    I Can't Believe My Eyes!

    • Guest reggie s.
    • Date of stay 12/23/12
    • Review Submitted 01/06/13
    The pictures do not do the home and location justice, like a picture of the Grand Canyon and being there. My family likes to travel for our vacations. We have stayed in high end hotels and traveled by boat, train, plane and automobile to our destinations. This is the first time we have rented a home and used Home Away. We did not know what to expect. 1. The website provides an extensive selection and information. Every home owner I emailed from the site(10), all sent return emails. One owner was so nice as to send us additional recommendations. 2. Vivian and Henry answered any questions we had by email that same day. We were also given a phone number contact to use anytime. We gave flight information because we were flying to Ft. Lauderdale and had to drive to the Keys. Vivian and Henry had a Christmas party to attend, but left instructions on how to get the key for the home and of course to call them if we had any issues. Also, they adjusted their lease to accomodate our families vacation dates. Our deposit was in the mail within 2 days of our leaving. It would have probably been sooner, but it was the New Year. There professionalism and care was outstanding. 3. Everything listed on Home Away was available. 4. The owners let us use whatever was on the property including bikes and watercraft. 5. There are so many things to do within 5 miles of the property (Pennecamp is a must see). The weather, the weather and the weather!!!! The bottom line is that we would definately rent again from Vivian, Henry and use Home Away. RS from the cold midwest.

    Owner response: We are very pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay at our home in Key Largo. We greatly appreciate it when our guests take note of the hard work and attention we provide to ensure the best experience possible. Come back any time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wonderful and Relaxing!

    Wonderful and Relaxing!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/12/12
    • Review Submitted 05/21/12
    My family just returned from a week a this wonderful home. The descriptions and photos were very accurate - it really is that clean and nice! We spent most of our time outdoors on the amazing deck area and covered, shaded seating, where it was great to enjoy the breezes off the ocean. Our best fishing was in the canal which was loaded with Mangrove Snapper! My entire family swam and snorkeled in the canal everyday and always saw something new ... from Blue Angelfish to huge Tarpon, even a large Gag Grouper! Short run by boat to Pickles Reef and vicinity. The house was a joy to return too - completely remodeled with very comfortable sleeping. This oceanside home was perfect for our family of 4. Vivian and Henry were very pleasant hosts and easy to deal with, even went out of their way to replace a TV that wasn't performing (but a TV is the last thing you'll need here! Too much beauty outdoors!). Although we mostly dined in on fresh caugh snapper, we did enjoy Mrs. Mac's for very good and reasonable meals. Hope to return in the future! Thanks for a week of good memories!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Beautiful Sunrises!

    Beautiful Sunrises!

    • Guest Melanie D.
    • Date of stay 04/07/12
    • Review Submitted 04/27/12
    We had an incredible stay at your home in Key Largo! The views were great and the sunrises were really special! The home is very nicely decorated and the beds very comfortable. The kitchen is nicely appointed with everything you need if you want to stay in and cook . I do think the area we all enjoyed the most was the covered patio area with the seating, and the area beside the dock. We saw the most amazing sea life right in the canal. Anyone ever seen a sea hare, a huge puffer fish, and a ray? We enjoyed walks in the quiet neighborhood, and there are lots of great restaurants in the area. This was a great experience and we hope to stay again next time we are in Key Largo.

    Owner response: Thank you very much for your amazing review. Please come back to visit again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Just perfect

    Just perfect

    • Guest Elizabeth T.
    • Date of stay 12/22/11
    • Review Submitted 01/05/12
    Perfect house, perfect location can only lead to perfect vacation. The house is a real gem. We stayed over Christmas and had a wonderful time. House is decorated very tastefully and has everything you may need. The view is wonderful and the neighborhood is very private and quiet. So much to do in the area. The owners were great to work with and went out of their way to ensure that we had such a fantastic time. Hope to be back some day to spend more time in paradise!

    Owner response: Thank you for such a lovely review. It is very rewarding when our hard work pays off and our guests enjoy their stay at our house. You and your family are welcome back any time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Best Keys trip yet!

    Best Keys trip yet!

    • Guest Cristina S. (Dallas)
    • Date of stay 08/18/11
    • Review Submitted 08/30/11
    Phenomenal views from a beautiful home! We rented a boat for a week which enabled us to take advantage of the easy ocean access that this home provides. The owners were friendly and helpful hosts. We had a week in paradise and it ended too soon!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are delighted you and your family enjoyed our beautiful home. Please come back again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Natalie

    Natalie

    • Guest Natalie
    • Date of stay 07/24/11
    • Review Submitted 08/03/11
    We stayed in this house during the week of mini lobster season and everything about the place was great!! This house is one lot in from the Atlantic side and the views and breeze were wonderful! The guys loved the convenient access by boat to quick fishing. The house was extremely clean and the furniture, kitchen, and bathrooms are all in great condition. You can tell the owners put a lot of work into the upgrades. We had an issue with the downstairs bathroom the second night and we called the owners Sunday night at 9 PM and they were out first thing Monday morning and had it fixed before 9 AM. Extremely responsive and went above and beyond to make our vacation a memorable one. Will definitely be back next year!

    Owner response: Thank you! It was a pleasure to have you and your family at our place. It is always nice to have renters that appreciate and take care of our beautiful home! You are always welcome back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Excellent!

    Excellent!

    • Guest Karmen (Atlanta)
    • Date of stay 07/10/11
    • Review Submitted 07/25/11
    The place was wonderful and the property owners are hands-down the best I've ever rented from. Extremely helpful and answered all of our questions. Some of the best snorkeling is in the canal right in the back yard. We had a wonderful time and can;t wait to come back!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks for the great review. You guys were wonderful. I'm so glad to hear you had a nice vacation! Please come back anytime!!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Paradise Gone Wrong

    Paradise Gone Wrong

    • Guest Jaime R.
    • Date of stay 05/26/11
    • Review Submitted 07/07/11
    The rental process was sweet and simple, not even a contract had to be signed. Upon our arrival it was beautiful and peaceful, just what our family need for the next 5 weeks (or so we thought). The first day two of the three toilets were leaking water and broken. I immediately called the owner to inform her of such. She told me that she had to order the parts and it would be about a week and a half. Then the first day we used the jacuzzi, after about 20 minutes it broke down. Again we had to call the owner and she informed me that she would come by with her husband to see if they can fix it. They spent an entire saturday on the property and in the end we were told they had to call a mechanic from Miami to come down to the keys to check it out. For the 5 weeks were were ther, NO ONE came to fix the jacuzzi. As soon as we left she told us the mechanic said it was water damage caused by us. How could there be water damage caused by us? This is a jacuzzi that is outside with no roof over it under the heat of the sun, rain, hurricanes and so forth. That is ridiculous. We took very good care of this property, we didnt even cook inside so that there would beno greasy, smelly mess. The kids were not even allowed inside the house with wet bathing suits or sand on thier feet. We have also been told that our deposit would not be returned because of these things. All this damage is regular wear and tear of a RENTAL PROPERTY. YOu know how many people use the home? Anyway, please keep in mind that if you decided to rent this house you go through every inch of the house inside and out and anything that is not in working condition should be written down and noted by both parties. These people will apparently use any excuse to keep your deposit money.

    Owner response: We truly regret that 5 weeks of nothing but praise and positive remarks about our property changed so drastically after departure only because the cost of repairing the spa needed to be taken out of the security deposit. The spa is designed to be outdoors and bear all weather conditions. Unfortunately, when the spa is in use and all the electrical components are on, if overflowed or if otherwise excessively wet, a shortage may occur. The overflow was caused because the Tenant emptied and then over filled the spa. We do appreciate how this family kept our house and furniture clean. In reference to the toilets, it is not uncommon for issues to arise with the flushing systems. One toilet was fixed the very same day. The other required a specially ordered part from the factory, which was covered under warranty. Within a week of notification, the part had arrived and been installed. We now have a spare part just in case it happens again; there would be no need to wait. We make a big effort to make sure everything in our newly remodeled house is kept in working order, and pride ourselves on providing a fantastic environment for our tenants to enjoy while on vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/4

  • Awesome Location and the views are as advertised

    Awesome Location and the views are as advertised

    • Guest Phill B (Calgary)
    • Date of stay 04/23/11
    • Review Submitted 05/02/11
    The description of this location is not accurate, its 10 times better then advertised. The photo's are not accurate, the views are not great they were spectacular, I already miss sitting on the deck with my coffee every morning and watching the sunrise, very relaxing location. The house and grounds were spotless and decorated with the theme of the Keys, lots of nauticle decorations. Sitting in the breezeway, that is decorated with wicker furniture, to get relief from the sun or relax in the evening was fantastic. The fish, lobster and other assorted sea creatures in the canal and ocean made this an ideal snorkeling location. The snorkelling in Key West and the John Pennecamp State Park (In Key Largo) was also great. The local eateries were also as advertised, we really liked the Fish House, great service and seafood. If your looking for a good authentic local bar try Gilbert's in the business district before you head over the bridge going into Key Largo. Great location to watch the sunset, good food, music and very cheap beer ($3/bottle). The owners met us at the house upon arrival and made sure we were aware of all the ammenities. I have to thank them and their son immensly for getting my friends, who arrived in Miami late, from the airport to the house, above and beyond the call of duty. I know I can speak for all of us in saying thanks for the use of your great house, we travel together once a year for the past six or seven years and we all say this was our best experience to date.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your awesome review. We really appreciate your positive comments! We were very happy to meet you all. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at our house. It is very rewarding seeing our visitors have a great time. Please come back again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

  • Great in every way!

    Great in every way!

    • Guest samantha w.
    • Date of stay 01/19/11
    • Review Submitted 07/16/11
    What a wonderful place to stay. It’s a beautiful home, in a private neighborhood, with even more spectacular views. The house has everything we needed to make our week stay in Key Largo perfect. It was better than we could have hoped for. The decorations set the mood for a relaxing and peaceful home away from home. The owner was very accommodating and informational. She told us about all the great places to eat and activities to do. We would love to go back any time we can. Definitely recommend this home for anyone who’d like to spend their vacation in the beautiful Florida Keys.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you both for your great review! We are happy to hear you guys had a great time. Hope you can come back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Great in every way!

    Great in every way!

    • Guest samantha w.
    • Date of stay 01/19/11
    • Review Submitted 07/16/11
    What a wonderful place to stay. It’s a beautiful home, in a private neighborhood, with even more spectacular views. The house has everything we needed to make our week stay in Key Largo perfect. It was better than we could have hoped for. The decorations set the mood for a relaxing and peaceful home away from home. The owner was very accommodating and informational. She told us about all the great places to eat and activities to do. We would love to go back any time we can. Definitely recommend this home for anyone who’d like to spend their vacation in the beautiful Florida Keys.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you both for your great review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our home, the beautiful views and everything this property has to offer. You guys are welcome back any time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great Location

    Great Location

    • Guest Mike (Cape Canaveral, Florida)
    • Date of stay 12/25/10
    • Review Submitted 01/11/11
    My family and I were looking for something different to do this Christmas (2010) so we decided to find a place in the Keys where we could take our 16 foot boat and leave it in the water for a week. We have been to the Keys several times and stayed on the Gulf side but wanted to stay on the ocean this time. This house was perfect! It is the second house from the ocean on a canal with a beautiful uninterrupted view of two mangrove keys. It is also a five minute boat ride to John Pennekamp Park. We were met by the owners on Christmas day. They were very helpful getting us acquainted with the property and surrounding area. They helped us get our boat in the water at the small boat ramp across the street and tie it up at the home's dock and also gave us lots of local boating knowledge which was very helpful. This is a prime location for diving, fishing, and restaurants. Even snorkeling in the canal was great. We did call the owners twice during the week and they readily answered our calls. The house came with everything but groceries! Nothing else was needed. We highly recommend this beautiful home.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We really enjoyed renting our home to your lovely family, looking forward to having you back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/10

  • Beautiful Home

    Beautiful Home

    • Guest Liz (Illinois)
    • Date of stay 12/17/10
    • Review Submitted 12/28/10
    We have rented many vacation homes in different locations over the years and this is by far the nicest property we have ever rented. The home was immaculate and the owner was very accommodating and pleasant to work with. She answered all of our questions by email in a timely fashion prior to our arrival. I am sorry we did not get to meet her in person! The linens and towels provided were plentiful and of good quality. The kitchen was beautiful and stocked with nice dishes and glassware (unlike many properties that seem to have old junk that couldn't be given away at a yard sale!) The owner was generous with providing toilet paper, cleaning supplies, hand soap, paper napkins. The gas grill was a plus for grilling fresh fish from nearby shops. The home was close to many amenities in the area, and situated such that day trips to both the Everglades and Key West were possible. The water views were fabulous and we had a very relaxing stay. My one caution would be to families with toddlers - because the home and the associated decking/relaxing areas are right on the water, parents should be prepared to provide close supervision to children. But with that said, I would recommend this home to anyone looking for a rental property in the Keys and I am sure we will be back another time. Thanks for a great vacation.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your great review. I am glad you and your family had a fabulous time in our home. The cleaners loved how well you left it! We welcome you back any time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 10/10



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]