Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Sunset Photo - courtesy of a guest!

Makena Bay House - Beautiful Views, Oceanfront! [#304920] | View Property

Makena
House, 1 Bedroom, 2 Baths (Sleeps 2)
$500/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (23)

Sort by:
  • Best value on South Maui

    Best value on South Maui

    • Guest R&C (Vancouver island)
    • Date of stay 10/30/12
    • Review Submitted 11/19/12
    Most idyllic location in Maui: away from the busier centres of Kihei and Lahaina, located in Makena Landing. Small beach located a stones throw North of the cottage(1 minute walk), which is a great place to launch your paddle boards or kayaks. Great snorkeling on both the South side of the bay(shallower and easier for the beginner to intermediate snorkeler) or the North side of the Bay(the 5 graves/caves side. The latter is deeper and a longer swim out, but this can be reduced if u take a kayak/paddle board out and tie up to one of the buoys out there. If you are a real keen snorkeler this is a great spot to call your vacation home. We went out every morning before the winds and the guide boats showed up. Less bodies equals less spooked sea life. We encountered a resting white tip reef shark(in one of the 'caves'), spotted eagle rays, a seal, eels, copious amounts of turtles, all the traditional Hawaiian reef fish and the very well camouflaged frog fish. Back to the hot tub for a longboard lager by 10am. Ya 'hot tub' ! I never thought I would be in a hot tub in Hawaii...the thought is almost laughable, but it was fantastic after a few hours in the water. The outdoor shower was awesome...I don't think I ever showed in-doors. The house is very nicely appointed and has all the amenities one could require. Great communication on behalf of the owners. Definitely recommend!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Perfect!

    Perfect!

    • Guest Lauren (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 09/17/12
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    We just spent our honeymoon at the Makena Bay House, and it was nothing short of spectacular! It's almost surreal how beautiful the views are from this home. !e can't wait to come back to Maui! Thank you for making our honeymoon so special!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Spectacular stay at this home

    Spectacular stay at this home

    • Guest Bob (Champaign, IL )
    • Date of stay 04/19/12
    • Review Submitted 10/16/12
    First of all let me say that it is often difficult to find a) a place for just one couple, and b) a truly spectacular view that also affords you some privacy. We loved our stay in this home so much that we actually ended up cooking at home half the nights as there was no restaurant that could give us a better table to watch the sunset. Further, where else can you relax and watch the sea turtles come up an play right at your shore? We used the kayak kept at the house to go out 3 or 4 different times during our stay. So yes it is exactly as advertised..............everything was well maintained, the hot tub & outdoor shower expecially nice.......... really just for a couple or for a family of four........we would definitely stay here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Didn't want to leave

    Didn't want to leave

    • Guest Ed (Seal Beach, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/03/11
    • Review Submitted 06/27/11
    Our trip into Maui, although a direct flight, was tiring. After driving down to South Maui using the excellent directions given to us by the proprietor, we reached Makena Landing. The first impression is deceptive. There is actually an enclave of 4-5 cottages nestled together. Makena Bay House is tucked slightly back and to the left. First look through the house shows that the space is used very efficiently; you have everything you need but not a lot of extra space. Couch facing the lanai that has a wonderful view of the ocean, waves washing over the lava rocks. Very workable kitchen. Bedroom off the living area with just enough room. I like the Foodland in Kihie; we got food and drink. Get the Hamakua tomatoes. Back at the cottage, lunch and a beer in my belly, feeling better, it's time for a snorkel. Off the beach to the right of the house we head in and around the rocks. Oh, my God, is that a VW bug? No, it's a turtle! Huge! Damn, there's her bigger buddy! 6 feet long! And lots of fishies swimming around; yellow ones, blue ones (haven't a clue what kind they are). Finish the swim and it's time to rinse off in the outdoor hot-water shower. Dry on the chaise lounge chairs by the water. By now the sun is getting lower and it's obviously time to get some serious pu pu's together for cocktail hour. Blue cheese, salami, goat cheese, bread and yes, the Hamakua tomatoes sliced in half with Lawry's Salt sprinkled liberally. Bushmills and water for me, Kettle One in a stemmed wine glass (ice with 3 olives) for the bride of 25 years. I'm starting to get it. Food, dirink and the setting sun. Superb. Followed by 6 more days and nights of the same. The Wailea Gold and Emerald (resort-type) courses nearby; we played them both. Saw Warren and Annabelle in Lahaina (a highlight!) and bought a cheap Fuji underwater camera (forgot ours) at Costco to take pictures of said Turtles. Met the neighbors. Cocktails with same. Walked to Makena Beach and on to the Black sand beach further down. La Perouse Bay (get there by 7:00 a.m to beat the wind). Started to hate myself for not having the many millions of dollars necessary to buy one of the homes being built on the point above. One week is not enough time at this oasis. Yes, I really get this place now. We have been to a lot of beach vacations; this place is worth the money. If it was mine I'd never give a discount. But, damn, after tomorrow it's not mine. It's back to reality. Ugh.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Sheri and Bob (Oregon)
    • Date of stay 04/22/11
    • Review Submitted 04/22/11
    Thank you, our vacation was truly wonderful. It was so nice staying in Makena and being close to golfing and beautiful beaches. We plan to get back very soon. The house is perfect and we enjoyed our stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Garth and Shelley (Canada)
    • Date of stay 04/22/11
    • Review Submitted 04/22/11
    Good Times!! Some highlights of our stay we will fondly remember: - Snorkeling in front of house - Outstanding view and sunsets - Sounds of waves while you drift off to sleep - Peace and quiet - Outdoor shower We found the house to be well thought out and well equipped and loved the "outdoor living space". We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return soon. We love the Makena area the best. Truly loved your piece of paradise and thank you for having us. Mahalo!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Peter (Florida)
    • Date of stay 04/05/11
    • Review Submitted 04/05/11
    All was so wonderful, life was fabulous in your Makena home. I hope to be back. Thanks for keeping a beautiful place......

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Ed and Shelly (California)
    • Date of stay 04/05/11
    • Review Submitted 04/05/11
    We are regular visitors on the islands. It is nice to stay at a new place each vacation. This location was nice with a short walk to the beach. Turtles were visible from the upper deck. We snorkeled most every day. Spotted whales everyday using binoculars and home cooking was better than going out. Enjoyed staying in a clean, well kept home and surrounding property. Mahalo!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Experience

    Great Experience

    • Guest Tom (Indiana)
    • Date of stay 03/26/11
    • Review Submitted 04/04/11
    I did not want to leave! This was an excellent place to stay and I found it "as advertised." The owners (Lisa) are great communicators. After the March 2011 Tsunami scare Lisa, anticipating my concern, sent an unsolicited email specific to me updating me on the situation in Maui. She additionally checked in with me several times during my stay by email offering to assist with any needs. The house is great and I spent most of my time in the lower level cabana and on the grassy bluff reading a book or watching the sea turtles just feet away. My experience offered quiet seclusion. The location is prime just 2 miles from Wailea shops and resorts and just a little bit further to a bevy of shops and restaurants in Kehei. My experience was outstanding!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Al and Grace (Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/06/11
    • Review Submitted 05/02/11
    Lovely, lovely, lovely. The longer we stayed the more we fell in love with the place and surroundings. We wanted a getaway spot to celebrate Grace's 50th birthday and this was it. We took a trip into busy Kihei to really appreciate the calm, the view, and the privacy. Your home has all the amenities We found whale watching best between 4:30-6:00pm. You have some great beaches nearby but we enjoyed the bluff and the deck more. Thank you so much.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • February 2011

    February 2011

    • Guest Oregon Couple (North Plains, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 01/29/11
    • Review Submitted 03/01/11
    The location is accurate. “The Makena Bay House is a private, two-story, oceanfront house,” is not fully accurate. The structure is not truly oceanfront and does not have direct water access. Another single story cottage sits in front of MBH. The view from the upstairs living area is a comp shingle roof, tall shrubs and palms, and peek-a-boo ocean views at best. The ground level view is a rock wall, the back of a house, and the lawn chair photo. The white lawn chairs have an oceanfront view, but are in the yard of the south cottage next door that is connected by breezeway. Private? No. The visitors in the front cottage could see into the MBH living area - and spent way too much time doing so. Full blinds do cover all sets of sliding glass doors upstairs. The photos are well done but MBH appears larger in the photos than in reality. Updated since our stay, the website says “500 sq ft of upstairs living area” which is accurate. It has a “studio apartment" feel. The kitchen/living room is about 12 feet by 24 feet - airy with blinds open, whats-the-point with them closed. The only bedroom is about 12 by 14 feet and has a Japanese Style bed - a wood frame with single foam mattress. Extremely firm but uncomfortable for us. Futon same. Money spent on granite would have been better spent on a comfortable bed. On vacation, people spend more time sleeping than cooking? Changes since the photos were taken include prolific plant growth which blocks the view, new hammock (too long), and the hot tub had black mold growing inside so we didn’t use. The house was "clean" except for insects. In the bedroom - an active sugar ants nest, dead bugs under the bed (moved to clean remove the ant nest), and a dead spider (ceiling) the ants were trailing to and eating. The outside patio area and the upper decks had several large webs with St. Andrews Cross spiders. The gutter was plugged. Mosquitoes were hatching (and biting) which prevented us from using the outside upper decks. We ran out of toilet paper and propane. The owner replied via email that we were responsible for purchasing any additional tp supplies. Based on the rental price, purchasing toilet paper seemed...? The housekeeper from next door came through for us, however. The owner was very prompt in returning our cleaning/security deposit. We returned home on a Saturday and the funds were credited to our credit card on the following Monday. Kioso Sushi in Kihei is the best sushi we have ever eaten.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers

    Owner response: We are sorry this guest did not enjoy her stay at our property. We take pride in our property and in providing a house that is clean and comfortable. Aside from this one guest, all other guests’ feedback has been extremely positive! Our partner in Makena Bay House also owns the property next door and in 10 years of renting, they have never had a single dissatisfied customer. We hope our response lends balance to the guest's review. We think our other reviews and photos speak volumes about the type of vacation rental experience we provide. -Contrary to the guest's comments, the property is oceanfront. Part of our oceanfront is a grassy bluff with white lawn chairs available for the exclusive use of our guests. This guest was informed that the bluff and lawn chairs are part of our property. -From the upstairs living area you can clearly see the ocean, sunsets, and neighboring islands. Please view pictures on VRBO and our Makena Bay House website and judge for yourself. -Bugs are typically found in all tropical locations, including Hawaii. We do not have a bug problem. Our house is sprayed for bugs on a regular basis by a licensed company, our hot tub is serviced on a weekly basis, and our yard is maintained on a weekly basis. -It is important for us to have prospective guests know we made repeated attempts to reach out and assist this guest. She declined our offer to send someone to help with the sugar ants, we sent a bug man to spray the spiders (not the dangerous type…the same type you see on the grounds at any 5 star resort on Maui!). She did not answer our offer to clean the rain gutters, which have since been cleaned. We didn’t want to send in a maintenance man during her stay w/o her permission. -The propane tank running out was unfortunate. All of Maui experienced a propane shortage. This was communicated to the guest. We had a propane tank delivered as soon as it was available. We are sorry they were without the use of the BBQ for a short period. In our situation it was just the BBQ that couldn’t function…many residences were unable to use their stoves and other gas appliances! -The property has a very private setting. Unfortunately the guest did not notify us of her concern in time for us to contact our neighbor about his renter and rectify the problem. - Since this guests' stay we have purchased a new bed. - Due to VRBO contraints, our response is limited. Please don't hesitate to contact us with any questions or concerns. Mahalo!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Jana and David (Vancouver, Canada)
    • Date of stay 11/27/10
    • Review Submitted 03/24/11
    It is difficult to tear ourselves away! Your house was extremely comfortable and everything was convenient and clean and in great shape and we found ourselves preferring to eat "at home" rather than going out. It was our first trip to Maui, but it won't be our last. Thanks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Doug and Rose (San Jose, CA)
    • Date of stay 11/20/10
    • Review Submitted 03/24/11
    We had a lovely time - loved the quiet and the sound of the ocean. We barbequed almost every night. Very peaceful spot.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Nancy and Allan B.
    • Date of stay 11/09/10
    • Review Submitted 11/22/10
    Thank you so much for the use of your awesome home! It was the perfect location for a perfect vacation! Your house had everything we needed from kitchen to laundry. We prepared most of our meals in because you could not beat the view and sunsets! Turtles played in the backyard near the shoreline. The beaches nearby were easy to get to for snorkeling & swimming. Having internet and phone access kept us in touch with "reality" when we wanted. We have been to Maui many times and this home was incredible and will rent it again when we return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Philippe and Corine (Mill Valley, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/25/10
    • Review Submitted 03/16/11
    We had a wonderful time and cannot think of anything that was not perfect. We made it back home, with great memories of our week on Maui. We loved the house, and the location, and appreciated to be able to use the kayak and snorkeling gear. We will keep fond memories of the sunsets in Makena. Thank you again for allowing us to use your house. We will most certainly be back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Chris and Linda S.
    • Date of stay 09/10/10
    • Review Submitted 03/15/11
    I cannot begin to tell you what a wonderful trip we had. The Makena house is exceptional! I seriously felt this could have been our own home. It was paradise each and every day of our vacation! Thank you for sharing your home!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • JUST WHAT WE NEEDED! RELAXING, GREAT LOCATION, BEACH ACCESS, SNORKELING, KAYAKING, FUN, & PRIVACY!

    JUST WHAT WE NEEDED! RELAXING, GREAT LOCATION, BEACH ACCESS, SNORKELING, KAYAKING, FUN, & PRIVACY!

    • Guest Sam K. (Los Alamos, NM, USA)
    • Date of stay 09/01/10
    • Review Submitted 09/08/10
    I am writing this review as I sit on the lower covered patio watching the palm trees sway and listening to the waves on the shoreline on a beautiful Maui afternoon. We leave tomorrow and will be miss our stay here. Let me say up front that we plan on staying here again. We can truly say that we had as much fun just relaxing at the home as we did on some of our day trips around the island. The owners have been very responsive and helpful before and during our stay. The house is just as described and offered us a relaxing and flexible living arrangement while we were here. The home is in excellent condition and feels tropical and relaxing without being over the top. It is probably best suited for a single couple or small family. The kitchen is laid out well and had everything we needed. Living room with large lanai offers great relaxing and eating options. The lower level offers an awesome covered outdoor kitchen and living space that overlooks the ocean. It offers great privacy and some nice shelter when the wind is up. The features throughout the home have been excellent and helpful. From easy to access wireless, to laundry on site, etc. we had everything we needed and more. Also, the snorkeling located directly behind the home and to either direction is excellent. We saw turtles every single time we were out and at times there were literally a dozen or more feeding right behind the home. Other things we saw were a resting white tip reef shark located about 30 yards offshore and about 50 yards down the shoreline to the south, zebra eels, a small eagle ray and tons of reef fish. Visibility was excellent in the mornings when the wind was down. We were also within walking distance and short drives to several other awesome snorkeling locations. Also, this area offers excellent kayaking and stand up paddle board access. Easy proximity to restaurants and shopping via a short drive up to Wailea or Kihei. I stayed at Wailea on business for several days before coming down to Makena for our vacation. I much preferred our time here. The rental offers real value for the price! You won't be disappointed. Thanks again to our hosts! We look forward to coming again soon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Will and Rebecca U.
    • Date of stay 08/14/10
    • Review Submitted 08/20/10
    Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home. The view is absolutely gorgeous. We could not ask for a better location. It made our 1st visit to Maui memorable. We look forward to visiting again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest January and Travis M.
    • Date of stay 06/13/10
    • Review Submitted 08/20/10
    Thank you for making our honeymoon stay one to remember. The views off the balcony, stars at night, ocean waves hitting the rock walls made it the best honeymoon we could ever want. We hope someday to bring our kids here and share our memories with them.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Juergen R.
    • Date of stay 06/01/10
    • Review Submitted 06/01/10
    This is a wonderful place in a wonderful location. The house's unusual design makes it a much more interesting place than many other vacation rentals. We hope to be able to stay there again next year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Erica S.
    • Date of stay 06/01/10
    • Review Submitted 06/01/10
    The house is great. We had an excellent time. The views are amazing and the amenities were really nice. The hot tub has a really nice view of the ocean. We saw whales off the coast from the backyard. One of the best areas to stay in Maui. There's great beaches within a 5 minute walk or just a few minutes by car and you can launch a kayak right near the house.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Maria G.
    • Date of stay 06/01/10
    • Review Submitted 06/01/10
    Impressively well-thought-out rental property. Beautiful sunsets in a peaceful out-of-the-way setting. We spent our honeymoon here and LOVED it.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Craig B.
    • Date of stay 06/01/10
    • Review Submitted 06/01/10
    Great place. Really enjoyed our time there. Well equipped!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]