Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
View of the complex from the nearby mountain.

Beachfront Beautiful Condo Next to the Wyndham Rio Mar Resort [#305717] | View Property

Rio Grande
Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 6)
$150 - $175/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (17)

Sort by:
  • Great base for exploring Puerto Rico!

    Great base for exploring Puerto Rico!

    • Guest Kevin
    • Date of stay 03/21/14
    • Review Submitted 03/31/14
    Our family - husband, wife, daughter (14 yrs.), son (11 yrs.) - recently spent 6 nights at this condo. We had a great stay! The location was perfect for us...close enough that we could drive to the attractions we wanted to visit yet secluded enough that we felt we were truly getting away. The condo and grounds are very well maintained, and the gated access to the complex (with security guards) provided a nice sense of security. We had a rental car, so we made day trips to the sites we wanted to visit: Toro Verde Adventure Park (~1.5 hours), El Yunque Rain Forest (10 minutes), Luquillo Beach and Kiosks (10 minutes), Old San Juan (~30 minutes), Laguna Grande (~30 minutes). Mari was great before the trip. She answered all of my questions and was very responsive to my emails and phone calls. She even mailed us tourism booklets and provided directions to the condo from the airport along with recommendations for restaurants and local grocery stores. The condo itself was very clean and is stocked with pretty much everything you need - pots/pans, beach toys and chairs, towels, and even detergent for the washing machine. Our kids especially loved using the boogie boards at the beach. Overall, this place was even better than advertised. A definite thumbs up!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Kevin! I am so glad you enjoyed our vacation home! Great base to explore PR, I love that! That is exactly how we feel when we go. We get to chill out and do day trips everywhere when we feel like it. Hope you will consider us for future travels again, Mari

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Winterbreak Holiday

    Great Winterbreak Holiday

    • Guest The Georgia Crew
    • Date of stay 02/15/14
    • Review Submitted 03/04/14
    The condo was perfect! It was in a great location close to everything that we wanted to see and do. We went to Old San Juan, Luquillo, Fajardo, the Rain Forest, and went on a catamaran trip. The condo was close to good restaurants, shopping, and grocery stores to cook in. It was on a beautiful beach and the beach chairs, coolers, umbrella and beach toys were perfect for a day at the beach. Mari was a great host and provided tourist information prior to our stay. We will definitely come back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It is great to hear you had a great time! Come and visit us again soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful stay

    Wonderful stay

    • Guest boston bubbles (Sharon, MA)
    • Date of stay 01/02/14
    • Review Submitted 01/13/14
    This condo was exactly what we needed. We traveled with our children 19 and 22. All was very clean, extra large beach towels and essentially everything one could want. If you forgot your toothpaste there was even a backup! A/C is only in the bedrooms, but there was one standing fan we moved into the living room which was fine for us. The kids bedroom with two bunk beds is small. The only thing to be aware there is that there is also a ceiling fan which could pose a danger if the top bunk sleepers are not careful. The owner was so helpful she even sent tourist material via express snail mail so we had something to look at before we came. The grounds around the condo were very clean, as was the pool and sandy beach area. The condo was close to everything we wanted to see but beware, one must rent a car.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • great stay

    great stay

    • Guest boston bubbles (Sharon, MA)
    • Date of stay 01/02/14
    • Review Submitted 01/13/14
    This was a wonderful stay. We went with our two children, 19 and 22. The two bedroom two bath was just what we needed. The kitchen is very well stocked with utensils and appliances. The apartment itself was very clean. In fact, the abundance of large towels was a dream, not to mention the extras in case you forgot your toothpaste, Q-tips etc. was an added bonus. The only thing of which to be aware is that there is a/c only in the two bedrooms. There is a standing floor fan which did the trick for us in the living room area, but may not be enough for everyone. All in all the location and unit were exactly what we were looking for. Thank you!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Absolutely Perfect!

    Absolutely Perfect!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/26/13
    • Review Submitted 07/26/13
    My family of 5 had a fabulous time in PR and this condo is just perfect...very clean and fully stocked with lots of unexpected extras...beach toys, boogie boards, beach chairs, etc. In addition, Mari is incredibly nice and very responsive...thanks so much! The location is great! We went to the rainforest, which is about 10 minutes away and some nearby shops after the rainforest. We also visited the nearby Luquillo kiosks, did a biobay tour with Kayaking Puerto Rico in Farjardo, visited El Moro & San Cristobal in San Juan, the Barcardi Factory in Catano, and finally the Rio Camuy Cave Park in Camuy, as well as the Arecibo Lighthouse...ending with dinner at Mi Casita Seafood in Loiza. Most locations are a 10-30 minute drive. The cave and Arecibo are about an 1 1/2 drive. Aside from all the traveling we made sure to enjoy the beach at the condo...not crowded at all. The condo community is very well maintained and has 24-hour security. We highly recommend this condo to others and plan to use again for a future trip to PR.

    Owner response: We are glad to hear you had a great time! Will love to see you again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great location!

    Great location!

    • Guest Minnesotavacationlover (Minnesota, USA)
    • Date of stay 06/22/13
    • Review Submitted 06/29/13
    We couldn't be more happy with our stay. The location was perfect for everything we wanted to do. The beach at the condo is wonderful. We went to the rainforest, Luquillo and Farjado. We took many of Mari's suggestions for restaurants and they were fantastic. She answered all of my questions before our trip and was very helpful. The condo is well-equipped and comfortable. We appreciated all of the extras like coolers to take for day trips and a moveable floor fan. We hope to go back again someday.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great beach, pool, condo

    Great beach, pool, condo

    • Guest Family from Minnesota (Minneapolis, MN )
    • Date of stay 03/24/13
    • Review Submitted 04/06/13
    The condo worked well for my family of 5 on spring break last week. Everything went smoothly in reserving the condo and arrival. Loved the beach - lots of fun in the big waves right in front of the property. Long beach walks next to beautiful blue waters. Pool and grounds were well kept. We used the tennis courts, too. Loved El Jefe Burger Shack at Luquillo, Guava's, and Lluvia. The view from Ritchie's was great - go for a drink during the daytime, but we didn't enjoy our appetizers. Go to the Econo grocery store in Luquillo for larger selection and decent prices, rather than Amigos. Walmart is there, too, but somewhat limited in groceries. Easy access to rainforest - La Mina waterfall hike was very fun - wear real shoes. Hired Erin Bo Braugh/Tanto Amor sailboat for a day of sailing -- excellent outing and service. My teen boys loved the forts in Old San Juan - well worth visiting. For condo, would have liked recycling option and box fan to circulate air, but really no other needs. Note condo is upstairs on second floor - fine for us, but good to know in advance. Left a corkscrew for future guests to enjoy!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Mid-March in Rio Grande

    Mid-March in Rio Grande

    • Guest KC (Hinsdale, NY USA)
    • Date of stay 03/14/13
    • Review Submitted 03/28/13
    This VRBO is clean, affordable, extremely convenient, has a well-equipped kitchen, and was "just the thing" when my husband and I decided at the last minute that we needed an escape from the snow and cold. Don't miss Richie's, the restaurant up the hill about 1/4 of a mile--the mahi-mahi appetizer and the views of the bay are both extraordinary. Slight disappointment: by late March, a lot of the tourist shops are closed. The mosquitoes are out and they're hungry. The bed was pretty hard. (Some might think that's a plus.) There were plenty of towels and the pool was lovely. The condo is quite adequate but not luxurious.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great stay!!!

    Great stay!!!

    • Guest Mona (Kalispell, Montana)
    • Date of stay 02/05/13
    • Review Submitted 02/12/13
    We stayed at this condo when down in PR for a conference at the Rio Mar. The booking process was professional and timely. Mari is very quick to get back to you; answered all our questions regarding her place. The condo was just as advertised and was perfect for our family. It was clean, well-decorated and had every amenity that you would possibly need! The beach equiptment with sand toys and boogie boards were popular with the kids (and adults!). The complex felt secure and was very quiet when we were there; got a little busier on the weekend. The pool and beach were so close and easy. Easy place to do day trips to El Yunque, to old San Juan (we loved this!) and to the bioluminescent lagoon. It was a great family trip to Puerto Rico!! Thank you, Mari!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Owner response: Dear Mona and family, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! I am glad you had a wonderful time! Mari

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Property 305717

    Property 305717

    • Guest Tony (Liberty, Missouri)
    • Date of stay 07/22/12
    • Review Submitted 08/09/12
    Pictures are accurate and the condo was very clean and organized. Well stocked kitchen with everything you would need to cook and live at home. The "beach equipment" was a nice surprise, chairs, umbrellas, and especially the bogie boards (kids loved them) that were in the condo. The ocean was a short walk away (100 yards or less). Just a 5 minute drive and you are in the rain forest. Tip: If you are using a GPS (Hertz Never Lost) just search for the Rio Mar Wyndham, it will get you 95% of the way there from the airport. The A/C units worked very well in the bedrooms. Our only complaint (very minor) for us was the Living room would get a little warm. A box fan to move some of the cold air from the bedroom into the Living room would take care of this. This was the only issue with this rental and does not detract from the excellent rating.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Very nice apartment right on the beach!

    Very nice apartment right on the beach!

    • Guest Jags (Atlanta)
    • Date of stay 07/09/12
    • Review Submitted 07/25/12
    I have never booked and stayed in a VRBO property before and I was pleasantly surprised as to how things shaped up after our last minute reservation at Mari's VRBO property! We had initially booked in a 5* hotel in San Juan and due to food restrictions on our end (we are vegetarians), we decided to explore the VRBO properties at the 11th hour. We stumbled on this property and quickly things started to fall in place. This property is quite spacious with 2 bedrooms, with the master bedroom which has a king size bed and the other bedroom has 2X2 bunker beds. The unit has 2 bathrooms and is equipped with a washer / dryer in the apartment. Other than this, you have a kitchen (fridge, microwave, stove, coffee maker included) with necessary utensils you need to cook. It is 5-10 minutes away from the entrance to the rain-forest and about 30 minutes away from Fajardo. The kiosks in Luquiollo are about 5-10 minutes drive away from this apartment! The apartment is well maintained and Mari is very reachable via phone and email. The beach is less than a minute walk from this unit and the complex has a security guard 24X7. Grocery shops are close by. If staying here, I would rent a car since cabs are a tad expensive in PR. I would highly recommend this for a family and would love to head back to this apartment soon, given the opportunity! All in all, it is exactly what is describe on the VRBO site.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The Right choice

    The Right choice

    • Guest Linda D. (East Brunswick, New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 02/07/12
    • Review Submitted 03/01/12
    We stayed at this beautiful condo for three weeks in Feb... and we could not have been happier. The condo was great, had everything we needed .to relax and enjoy our surroundings. Breakfast on the terrace, overlooking the pool was so peaceful. The beach is a short walk and it was a fantastic beach....at times the water was calm, other times waves..... water temp was warm/comfortable -it was easy to spend the whole day on the beach..... beach chairs/towels were provided, which was greatly appreciated. The pool also was fantastic. It was never crowded, many times we had the pool and/or the beach to ourselves...The security staff and maintence workers were friendly and helpful. The grounds are well maintained, as is the condo itself. We did some day trips, but it was so wonderful at the condo, we really enjoyed just being there. We loved it - loved the condo, loved the beach, loved the pool - loved the area. We would not hesitate to recommend this condo, and we plan a return trip,. Thank you Mari and Carmen - it was wonderful!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great location for our needs

    Great location for our needs

    • Guest Sue (International Falls, MN)
    • Date of stay 01/03/12
    • Review Submitted 01/10/12
    This was our first experience with a VRBO rental and it worked out great for us. It was located right next to the Rio Mar Resort which was the area we wanted. The description of the property was very accurate. The owners were helpful and quick to respond as we planned our trip, and vacation guides were mailed to us. Mari even checked with our car rental place about tolls on 66! It was myself, husband and adult daughter so the accommodations worked. There are bunkbeds in the second bedroom but that is clearly stated on the description. And the beach is right outside the property. It was clean and ready for us. Thank you!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Stay at Beachfront, Rio Grande

    Stay at Beachfront, Rio Grande

    • Guest Lello (Lutherville, Maryland)
    • Date of stay 03/12/11
    • Review Submitted 03/29/11
    We had a great time. The property was clean and the beach was great. We recommend it without any hesitation. The owners were very helpful and responsive.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • great value

    great value

    • Guest fun in the sun (Ely, MN)
    • Date of stay 02/22/11
    • Review Submitted 03/04/11
    Mari was very helpful in planning our trip. We used the condo as a "base camp" to circumnavigate the entire island, as well as an overnight trip to Culebra (a must do). Condo was very clean, completely stocked upon arrival and is described accurately. The condo will indeed sleep 7 comfortably as long as you don't mind sleeping in bunk beds in one of the bedrooms. Bosque del mar is nice gated community and quiet for the most part. Onsite beach is peacefull, but would highly recommend a short 5-10 min drive to Luquillo for better beach action. Unit is close to Wydham Rio Mar for some nightlife. Highly recommend condo for price, location, value, and overall owner help. Thanks again Mari, we highly recommend your unit. Jason, Wendy, Lori, Chris, Lexi, and Michelle...Ely, MN

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Very Nice Condo

    Very Nice Condo

    • Guest Ben (Delaware)
    • Date of stay 12/25/10
    • Review Submitted 01/07/11
    The condo was very nice and located right at the beach. The kitchen was well equipped if you want to eat in. It was a 5 minute drive to the rain forest and there were several good restaurants nearby. San Juan was an easy 35 minute drive. The owner was very helpful in providing tourism information.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A wonderful place to stay!

    A wonderful place to stay!

    • Guest Marissa (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 10/08/10
    • Review Submitted 11/30/10
    I have stayed at this condo twice and it is the ideal place! Plenty of room for a family of 6+ yet cozy enough for a romantic getaway for two. The location is perfect - especially if you plan to explore the rainforest - a must see! Private pool, private beach and still minutes away from San Juan and other local public beaches. Everything you need for day trips to the beach can be found in the condo, plus a fully stocked kitchen makes staying in easy as well. We loved it!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]