Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Eco-friendly studio w/ Queen bed & fold-out sofa

Lovely Flat, Available June 2014 - Noe Valley Garden W/D Kitchen Wi-Fi Printer [#305990] | View Property

Noe Valley
Apartment, Studio + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)
$100 - $250/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (31)

Sort by:
  • Jeanine et Jean-Paul

    Jeanine et Jean-Paul

    • Guest jeep (Belgium)
    • Date of stay 04/23/13
    • Review Submitted 06/29/13
    J'ai passé plus de 7 semaines ( 23/04/13 au 15/06/13) dans cet appartement et je suis très enthousiaste. Cet appartement, situé dans un quartier très chouette, outre le fait qu'il est très propre - femme d'ouvrage tous les 15 jours - est super équipé. J'ai trouvé tout ce dont j'avais besoin : des épices, le gel pour les cheveux, le sparadrap, le tourne vis, la machine à lessiver, le séchoir, plein d'espace de rangement, un super jardinet ,...Rachel et Jeff sont sympathiques. Je garde un merveilleux souvenir de mon séjour à San Francisco. Les 7 semaines se sont envolées à la vitesse de l'éclair : l'appartement, le ciel bleu, le soleil, l'océan, les restaurants, tout s'est conjugué pour faire de ce séjour un moment formidable.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great

    Great

    • Guest Colin M.
    • Date of stay 11/10/12
    • Review Submitted 12/19/12
    Great apartment, nice neighborhood, & gracious hosts.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi Colin, thanks for the review! So glad you enjoyed our apartment as a "first landing place," during your transition from across the country to a new job in the SF Bay Area. Most of our guests stay for one month or more (like you did), but if you'd like to come back for a shorter stay, let us know, as we are sometimes able to accommodate. Good luck at the new job, and best wishes in the new year. Warmly, Rachel and Jeff

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Feels just like home!

    Feels just like home!

    • Guest Domingo (Caracas, Venezuela)
    • Date of stay 09/01/12
    • Review Submitted 10/04/12
    Rachel and Jeff have a beautiful place, a quiet and cozy nest to stay in one od the best neighborhoosds in San Francisco. Everything in the apartment is useful and full of joy! The place is packed with everything you need for a vacation: they even have razors in case you forgot yours! The kitchen is fully equipped, and very generous. Everything they offer on the web page is provided, and more! It is a nice touch to arrive so late at night and find flowers, fruits, cereal, bread, and more food in the refrigerator: your first breakfast is ready! There is so much storage space, and the laundry works perfect. We walked through the neighborhood to find groceries, cafés, restaurants, bike shops, pilates, you name it! Rachel and Jeff are ALWAYS available to answer your requests (if there is any!). My wife and I found that we now have the perfect place to stay in the perfect city. Thank you very much Rachel and Jeff, for having created such a wonderful place, and for being such excelent hosts!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A great place for a real San Francisco experience!

    A great place for a real San Francisco experience!

    • Guest Caterine E.
    • Date of stay 05/17/12
    • Review Submitted 07/11/12
    I stayed for 6 weeks in this quiet, clean and excellently located studio. If you want to have the real San Francisco experience - meaning living like the locals - this is the right place. The renting procedure was easy and fast, the owners responded always immediately to my questions. The owners are very correct and extremely helpful. When I arrived, Rachel provided me with lots of books, maps and DVDs of films made in San Francisco! What is really excellent is that you are provided with a free transit pass so that you can use all public transport means in San Francisco. The studio is located in Noe Valley, a beautiful neighborhood with beautiful houses, which might seem for a tourist a bit far in the south of the city. However, with public transport, one is easily in 15-20 minutes in the city center (the studio is in walking distance to the airport BART!). As mentioned in the ad, the studio has wifi, a laptop and even a printer, which simplified my life enormously (I studied in San Francisco). One has direct access from the studio into a beautiful sunny garden. During my stay, the owners purchased a table and chairs so that I had my own, semi-private place in the garden. Thank you very much, Rachel and Jeff, I really enjoyed staying at your place!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Another great stay at the SF Vacation Hut!

    Another great stay at the SF Vacation Hut!

    • Guest liljet (Mandeville, LA)
    • Date of stay 10/26/11
    • Review Submitted 10/30/11
    This was the second time I've stayed at this apartment and I can honestly say the experience was even better than the first time which I didn't think was possible. The apartment has every amenity you can think of including a washer/dryer, a fully equipped kitchen, a safe and even a laptop with WiFi Internet access, printer, and camera so you can Skype. There's a wide selection of movies including many filmed in San Francisco as well as lots of books, travel guides and maps. The bed is incredibly comfortable and I always get the best sleep while I'm here. The location is excellent if you want to be in a more residential area as opposed to a downtown location. Noe Valley is vibrant and hip with lots of independently owned-coffee shops, stores, markets, etc. I like it because as a woman traveling alone I feel extremely safe. Rachel and Jeff are the owners and are hands down the factor that makes this such a wonderful rental. They go out of their way to make everything comfortable and inviting like having fresh-cut flowers inside when you arrive. Jeff even made a special trip to pick up a box I shipped out beforehand that contained some dietary items that I didn't want to haul on the plane. They are friendly and available to answer questions but aren't overly instrusive. Did I mention the Clipper pass? They even provide a pre-paid card that allows you to ride the buses, light-rail, and cable cars at no expense to you. Out back is a lovely garden with benches, chairs, lovely plants and flowers. It's like being in your own little secret garden. Very charming and comfortable. My only reservation about writing such an honestly glowing review is that the apartment won't be available next time I come! My husband and I have traveled all over the world and stayed in many rental apartments, condos, and houses. This is one of the best and I give it my highest recommendation. Thanks Rachel and Jeff for another great stay!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Exactly what you see, better than what you thought

    Exactly what you see, better than what you thought

    • Guest stardi Y.
    • Date of stay 08/16/11
    • Review Submitted 09/04/11
    Rachel is such a considerate host. We arrived in late evening but she arrange so well that we have no problem in entering into the house. The whole place is equipped with everything needed for normal daily life of a small family. There's even a girl's robe for our 7-year-old daughter. We enjoyed the books there. The only part we feel not satisfied is the stay is too short to us.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful place to stay in Noe Valley

    Wonderful place to stay in Noe Valley

    • Guest Freak55Fan (Talbott, TN)
    • Date of stay 07/31/11
    • Review Submitted 08/10/11
    My sister and I recently enjoyed a stay at the Vacation Hut. The apartment is better than advertised and the neighborhood is wonderful. Jeff and Rachel pay meticulous attention to detail, from providing wonderful snacks and food for us to a plethora of books, maps and helpful tips to San Francisco. Transportation into downtown was just steps away and it was a pleasure to roam the neighborhood with all the shops and restaurants. The local folks are extremely helpful and very friendly. We hated to come home as we wanted to keep on California Dreaming!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Everything was great and as described but...

    Everything was great and as described but...

    • Guest Mousk (Montreal, Canada)
    • Date of stay 06/22/11
    • Review Submitted 02/03/12
    The appartment is great and very well appointed. We were very happy with our choice and were impressed with the owner's attention to details. After we left, we were waiting for the reimbursement of our security deposit. I contacted Rachel because I thought it would have been done right away. She didn't reply immediately because she was busy/away with family matters (which I completely understood once I knew). Because she had been so ''hands on'' since the beginning, I began to feel a little worried if I would get my money back (being thousands of miles away...). Anyway, it was all a misunderstanding and I finally got my security deposit back in a timely manner, but through all of this I was disappointed with Rachel's reaction to my worries. She was really offended that I even considered I could lose my money. She was very defensive in her emails and pushy... I finally just asked her to not write to me anymore (which she respected). I was hoping she would have been more considerate... I waited a long time before writing this review because I don't want her to lose any renters... but in the end I felt it was important to share this experience. Again, the appartment is great, the location is good, Rachel was very helpful. Thank you.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I am very pleased to see the wonderful 4-star review of our guest apartment from Kathy. In addition, I'm surprised to see that Kathy is still upset about a security deposit that I refunded IN FULL, only 7 days after her departure, nearly 8 months ago. As we say at SF Vacation Hut, "If it's important to you, it's important to us!" So ... I will respond. First, I would like to clear up exactly what happened here. Upon receipt of Kathy's initial message regarding the status of her security deposit, I responded immediately, cordially reassuring her that I was away on vacation and would return her deposit as soon as I got back. Luckily, that very same day I spied a "common use" computer in Yosemite and was able to process her deposit refund right away (a few days EARLIER than promised). Unfortunately, after my cordial message, Kathy began writing to me in a threatening tone. When I got back from vacation, I explained the situation and asked Kathy to apologize for her suspicious and threatening tone, especially given that I had already returned the deposit a few days prior. Not only did Kathy refuse to apologize, she asked that I never respond again, and I gladly obliged. :) Sadly, upon reading Kathy’s review, I see that she never understood what was wrong. She wrote here (about me) "She was really offended that I even considered I could lose my money." This underscores how completely Kathy misunderstood. In fact, I was not offended AT ALL when Kathy asked about the status of her deposit. I only became offended when Kathy began using a suspicious and threatening tone, AFTER I had assured her, in writing, that indeed she would be getting a full refund. Despite all of that, I do love that Kathy gave such a glowing review of the apartment, and my helpfulness and responsiveness throughout most of the process. Jeff and I enjoy creating a wonderful stay for our guests, from beginning to end, and we were sad to see the misunderstanding arise. After the incident with Kathy, we added the following to our guest rules: "The funds remaining in your security deposit will be refunded after your check-out and final cleaning, as soon as your hosts may conveniently do so, and no more than 21 days after your departure, per California state law." The prior wording was "as soon as possible after departure," and I realize this can mean different things to different people. :) We hope this clears things up for all future guests!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • What a gem!

    What a gem!

    • Guest Yoli (Austin, TX)
    • Date of stay 05/13/11
    • Review Submitted 05/23/11
    Absolutely loved SF Vacation Hut. My husband and I spent a week here (mid May 2011) We came to SF to celebrate our 38th anniversay. I cannot stress enough how perfect this place is. With airline travel being what it is now, here are all things you don’t need to pack because Rachel and Jeff provide them, they really care about their guests you can see it in their attention to all the details. Thank you guys!!! Body wash, shampoo, conditioner, hair dryer, laundry detergent/softener yes they have a washer and dryer (how great is that?) don’t need to bring the laptop they have that too, coffee, tea, juice, fresh fruit, breakfast items. Another thing you DO NOT need is a rental car. You came here to relax, who needs the extra expense of a rental car, gas, parking and the added stress of driving around in a city you don’t know? Arguing with your spouse about which way to go?? Forget it, this is one city where public transit is so good it will take you anywhere you want to go, and all you have to do is walk a couple of blocks in any direction and catch a train. So Awesome! After you’ve unpacked and get a feel for your surroundings you will start to see that you made the right choice by selecting this place. A couple of block in either direction you can catch either the MUNI or street car J-Church will take you all the way downtown within walking distance of everything you want to see, it is a bit of walking but it’s ok, you’ll be glad to be walking since there is so much great food and you don’t want to deprive yourself of anything, the great sourdough bread the cheeses the wine, I could go on and on.. Once you’re downtown from there you can take any number of street cars to get to everything, we took them to get to Fisherman’s Wharf, Chinatown, The Presidio, Ghirardelli Sq. We also took a day trip to Napa Valley booked through Napa Experience Tour with Ferry Cruise highly recommend this one. From SF vacation hut we walked to the Castro neighborhood is a good walk uphill, downhill but there’s so much to see along the way it does not disappoint. Like I said before the vacation hut has everything you need including pots/pans utensils coffee maker, toaster microwave, we chose not to cook so that we could sample all the great restaurants and cafes in the area, so glad we did what a treat! This is another good reason to walk whenever you can, if you know what I mean?

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • BEST Place I've Stayed—SF or Elsewhere!

    BEST Place I've Stayed—SF or Elsewhere!

    • Guest Michaela R. (Nashville, TN)
    • Date of stay 04/21/11
    • Review Submitted 05/03/11
    Four vases of flowers. Our names welcoming us on the whiteboard. A note by the door. A basket of insanely delicious treats—chocolate, crumpets, local jam, artichoke pesto, macaroons. And, yes, even toilet paper tied like a rose. Rachel's hospitality is incredible. That alone makes the SF Vacation Hut the BEST place I've ever stayed. From the moment we booked, Rachel became our unofficial travel planner for San Francisco. Restaurants, grocery stores, evening entertainment, local treasures, hiking spots—she sent us plenty of options, all with our schedule and interests in mind. She even created an "itinerary" for one day, complete with a Google map plotting each destination. My husband and I are both vegans, which can make meals on vacation ... challenging. Not so with Rachel: She sent detailed descriptions of the best vegan eats in town, including their proximity to the apartment. Chinatown? Breakfast diner? Donuts? Mexican? She has every craving covered. And, of course, everything in our gift basket was vegan. The apartment was gorgeous, roomy, clean, and designed very intentionally. Don't worry about luggage or kids—there's plenty of space. The bed is unbelievably comfortable. The kitchen has everything you'd need, from a coffee grinder and pots to rarer items like a juicer, garlic press, and pretty drink glasses. As another reviewer mentioned, Rachel also stocks the apartment with thoughtful touches like umbrellas, robes, a sewing kit, DVDs, tour books, and maps that have nearby restaurants and attractions marked. The laptop is wonderful too; it's already hooked up to wireless and a printer. We didn't even bring ours on the trip! Finally, if the hospitality and apartment aren't enough, the location is excellent. It's quiet, safe, and close to both public transportation and awesome shops. You definitely feel like you're staying in the *real* San Francisco there! If you're visiting the area soon, don't hesitate to book the SF Vacation Hut. Hands down, it was the best decision we made for our vacation!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • in the heart of noe valley charm, san francisco excitement so accessible!

    in the heart of noe valley charm, san francisco excitement so accessible!

    • Guest jeanine and eli (estero, florida)
    • Date of stay 12/23/10
    • Review Submitted 01/14/11
    my husband and i spent the holiday week in san francisco. we chose this property because of its close proximity to our son's home. this was our first experience using vrbo and we were a little concerned about what we might find. what a great decision to stay here! the apartment is a studio but has a large bathroom, full kitchen and laundry room, all well stocked. there is plenty of storage for getting suitcases and travel gear out of the way so the suite feels roomy. it is comfortably furnished and immaculately clean. the location is a wonderful place to experience and enjoy all of san francisco. the j church train is a few blocks from the suite - a 15 minute ride into the heart of san francisco. fare is $2.00, $.75 for seniors so seeing all the downtown tourist sites is doable without a car. there are other trains going out to golden gate park where the academy of science and tea garden are a short walk from the bus stop. but spending time in noe valley is a must! this quaint neighborhood is one of the warmer, sunnier locations in the city, filled with restored homes and gardens that you can only find in san francisco. wonderful restaurants, parks, playgrounds, coffee shops and shops of all descriptions are nearby. both church and 24th street, an easy, flat walk from the suite, are filled with small shops of all descriptions- cheese shops, toy shops, jewelry - so many boutiques with one of a kind gems. on the other end of the shopping spectrum large grocery stores and a chain drugstore are a short walk from the suite so dining in is easy. dining out in noe valley is amazing- so many choices, so many cuisines, all so accessible. don't miss the ice cream shop for dessert! parts of noe valley valley are VERY hilly- steep grades that are a workout just getting in and out of the apartment. this suite is very user friendly- located on a flat street, adjacent to flat streets that make walking the neighborhoods very doable. rachel's hospitality is incredible, better than the best hotels we have ever stayed at. the suite has so many extras to make your stay comfortable, she has thought of everything. she is available if you need something but invisible if you prefer privacy. we have visited san francisco/noe vally many times. this visit was especially wonderful and our accommodations made all the difference.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Beautiful!

    Beautiful!

    • Guest f & fam (San Diego California)
    • Date of stay 12/12/10
    • Review Submitted 12/30/10
    We can't stop listing the things that make SF vacation hut the perfect place to stay - a lovely and quiet neighbourhood with shops, cafés, restaurants, grocery stores (like whole foods) and public transport within walking distance, a lovely apartment that easily holds and very comfortably sleeps two adults and two little kids, with all the amenities needed for the kids, and for their parents; from bathrobes and crayons to flowers and chocolate to maps and guidebooks to driveway parking (that even fits a chrysler town & country). And Rachel and Jeff are so helpful! We will definitely be back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • FABULOUS place, especially is traveling alone and concerned about safety. STORNGLY recommend!!

    FABULOUS place, especially is traveling alone and concerned about safety. STORNGLY recommend!!

    • Guest liljet (Mandeville, LA)
    • Date of stay 12/05/10
    • Review Submitted 12/29/10
    The apartment exceeded my expectations! My friend who lives in SF suggested I stay in Noe Valley because I (a female) would be staying alone and felt it was safe. Details: -Rachel and Jeff are the owners and very friendly, helpful, and available but were also respectful of my privacy. They live upstairs which also made me feel more safe staying there alone. -They have dedicated this apartment as a VRBO rental and have decorated and outfitted it accordingly. Has a wonderful modern, elegant, and uncluttered feel to it. Many VRBOs have the owners' personal belongings everywhere. This place did not yet it had all the amenities and comforts of a nice home. On a quiet residential street. -Excellent communication from the moment I sent an inquiry (received a call from Rachel within a couple of hours) until after I got my deposit back. -The bed was *incredibly* comfortable. I would stay there again if for nothing else than to sleep in that bed again. -Nice large closet with lots of hanging space and built-in drawers. -Fresh flowers, fruit, and a bottle of my favorite beverage in the fridge upon my arrival. -LOTS of info in a book Rachel has put together filled with maps, recommendations for places to eat, shop, visit, etc. Also it has lots of Rachel's personalized notes, things you won't find in a travel guide. She's got lots of info about restaurants with good vegetarian options if you are into that. -Don't miss the to-die-for coffee shop just down the street. Go out the door, make a left and you're there in 1-2 minutes. Called Martha & Bros. No tourists, as local as it gets. -Walking distance to 24th St. which has lots of restaurants, retail shops, etc. - Even though I took a lot of cabs (for safety and convenience) Rachel has lots of info in the book about bus lines. -My SF friend who works for a major hotel chain and used to do furnished corporate rentals was extremely impressed with the place. -Door lock has your own personalized electronic code to get in, not a key that a prior VRBO-person could copy. Again, a safety plus. -In SF they take their recycling very seriously. In the apt. there are bins for recyclables, non-recyclables, and compost. Rachel has info explaining it but if you're not used to recycling it takes some getting used to. -Would say more +s but no more space left! It's definitely worth the price and I was extremely pleased and recommend it to others. Enjoy!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Hands down, the best!

    Hands down, the best!

    • Guest Sarah B. (Fargo, ND)
    • Date of stay 11/16/10
    • Review Submitted 12/31/10
    My husband and I have traveled through Europe, Asia, South America, and Australia, and this VRBO is hands down the best we have encountered. Rachel (the owner) has literally thought of everything you could possibly need (umbrellas, extensive take-out menus with to-the-minute walk times, robes, maps, blenders, sewing kit, tool kit...literally everything). The apartment was very spacious and incredibly comfortable. If you are traveling with a baby, you will not find a more 'baby friendly' rental than this one....she has a crib, playpen, organic baby robes, books, toys, bath tub, tub toys, organic baby sheets...everything but the baby! The location is fantastic as well. We felt like we were staying in 'real San Fran' instead of some tourist version of San Fran. The walk to the BART is an easy one and there are so many restaurant options in the area you will surely never be hungry. If you find yourself in San Fran, find your way to this VRBO!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • This is the place to stay

    This is the place to stay

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/23/10
    • Review Submitted 11/14/10
    I have been renting places on VRBO for over a year and SF Vacation Hut is in a class by itself. The owners go the extra mile in everything from their communication regarding the rental down to the Organic Bath Robes. This studio is a large, clean, comfortable and functional space designed to provide you with a home away from home. There are a lot of choices on VRBO, but this space is the one for you if you are looking for something above and beyond. One of the special touches worth noting: a welcome package with pages of information about local attractions and "goodies" for your enjoyment. The owners even went out (in a rain storm) to get me special treats when I told them my dietary restrictions. I can't say enough about SF Vacation Hut. You must try it for yourself! Thank you so much, Rachel and Jeff, for your special touches!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Jim & Rosemarie (Clonakilty, Ireland)
    • Date of stay 10/23/10
    • Review Submitted 10/29/10
    We were here to visit our son and see San Francisco. We did all the touristy things ... Golden Gate Bridge, the Park, etc. We loved the cruise under the bridge and around Alcatraz and also the visit to Sausalito. We had mostly good weather, and some rain. The apartment is lovely. It is stocked with great thought by Jeff & Rachel. All the information is really helpful. Flowers and chocolate are really nice touches. We were very comfortable and felt very safe here. Would highly recommend this apartment in lovely area. Thanks so much. J&R

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful and Clean Studio!

    Beautiful and Clean Studio!

    • Guest Shelly (Sacramento, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/14/10
    • Review Submitted 10/18/10
    This is a wonderful, clean, and spacious studio that I will definitely stay at again. They were able to accommodate my need for a shorter 2 night stay while I was there for a conference at UCSF. Having lived in the city before, I was looking for a place that felt like "home" again. The garden, complimentary chocolates, and wine - oh, and off street parking! - were a truly special touch.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely quiet appartment in a great neighbourhood

    Lovely quiet appartment in a great neighbourhood

    • Guest M&J (Theydon Bois, Essex UK)
    • Date of stay 10/08/10
    • Review Submitted 10/23/10
    My wife and I wanted to stay near to our son and daughter-in-law who live nearby. The appartment fully met our expectations, was vey clean and the kitchen was better fitted out than at home. There are great restaurants within walking distance (Firefly, Alice's, Dosa and Foreign Cinema). We also met some friends and went out on their boat over Fleet Weekend to see the Blue Angels - a truly magnificent experience (including the noise!). We'll be back. Malcolm & Jenny

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great place to stay in Noe Valley

    Great place to stay in Noe Valley

    • Guest Marjory (Missoula, MT)
    • Date of stay 09/30/10
    • Review Submitted 10/05/10
    The listing description is accurate, but the location, on a quiet, residential side street, was nicer than we expected. The apartment was very clean, well equipped, and well maintained. As stated, it is a studio apartment that seems ideally suited for a couple, and maybe one small child. The owners live upstairs and were helpful without being intrusive. We would not hesitate to stay there again, or recommend it to friends and relatives.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car.

    Owner response: Jeff and I were happy to have you as our guests; hope you enjoyed the wedding. I wanted to thank you for your idea (in our guest book) about providing a bath robe ... we now have organic bath robes in 4 sizes ... adult small, medium, and large, and a "baby size." Also thanks for your comments about the "soothing paint color" and "great attention to detail" in our guest book. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you back in San Francisco one day soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Karen & Dave (Winona, MN)
    • Date of stay 09/28/10
    • Review Submitted 10/29/10
    This is our 3rd trip to SF (we are visiting our son) and we always enjoy finding new things to do. We did lots of city exploring on foot and found plenty of good eats; went hiking above Stinson Beach, saw Point Reyes, Academy of Science. The weather was deliciously warm; nicest weather all month, we are told. This is the first time we have stayed in the city and this little studio is a gem of a find. Close to our son and *very comfortable.* We would definitely recommend this place to others. The chocolate & fresh flowers were a very classy touch!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Laura & Kurt (Syndey, NS, Canada)
    • Date of stay 09/16/10
    • Review Submitted 09/21/10
    Thanks Rachel & Jeff for everything! Your place was lovely and just what we needed during our visit to SF. Thank again, L & K.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Yan & Steve (Vancouver BC, Canada)
    • Date of stay 09/05/10
    • Review Submitted 09/21/10
    We were in town to visit our grandchildren. The weather was good, sunny & warm most of the time with a couple of cold and windy days. This is not our 1st trip to San Francisco, and we spent all our time with the grandchildren doing kid's stuff. This is an ideal "home away from home." Rachel & Jeff are welcoming and friendly. They thought of most of the things people would need to make their stay comfortable. We particularly like the idea of the laundry baskets. The location is good -- close to many shops, restaurants, playgrounds & public transportation. We definitely enjoyed our stay here & will be back next time we visit the family. Also thanks for the chocolate. It was delicious!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Excellent location for parents to stay while visiting family in Noe Valley

    Excellent location for parents to stay while visiting family in Noe Valley

    • Guest derek (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/03/10
    • Review Submitted 10/06/10
    My parents had an excellent stay at this studio apt while visiting me here in Noe. I was looking for a place that was convenient for my parents to visit us at our place and this definitely fit the bill. The owners were very friendly and helpful in answering all my questions. They were very child friendly. For example, they were willing to set up a crib/pack and play in case our daughter wanted to stay over. Overall an excellent experience and I would gladly recommend them to anyone.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Bobbie & Mike, from Illinois
    • Date of stay 08/26/10
    • Review Submitted 09/21/10
    We arrived in time our 2-year old grandson's birthday. Wonderful apartment - convenient, well-appointed, well stocked. Rachel and Jeff thought of everything! We'll be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Had a great 2 week stay with my 2 kids (10 months and 2,5 years old)

    Had a great 2 week stay with my 2 kids (10 months and 2,5 years old)

    • Guest Alex (Shanghai, China)
    • Date of stay 08/14/10
    • Review Submitted 12/27/10
    I had a really great experience staying here by myself (my husband was unable to join us until our last day in San Francisco) for 2 weeks in August with our 2 daughters (10 months and 2,5 years old). Rachel and Jeff went out of their way to make our stay at the SF Vacation Hut was as comfortable and baby/kid friendly as possible. The SF Vacation Hut is beautifully decorated and fully equipped for babies and kids. To name a just few items that are "essential" and others that are just pure luxury for babies: baby crib, high chair, sleeping bags, bibs, hooded towels, play pen, (bath) toys, blankets, bowls and containers, wet wipes and more. My toddler loved the childrens' books, dvds, crayons and color book, step stool etc to go to the toilet by herself, cute plates and dinner tray. I am sure I have left out things, but everything I could think of was there. My stay was super comfortable. The playpen was great so my little one could enjoy hanging out in the garden with us (since she wasn't walking yet). Washer and dryer are invaluable when traveling with kids, dish washer was luxury for me! Everything Rachel and Jeff bought to make their studio child friendly was high quality and no costs were spared to cater to families with kids. I will definitely stay there again, since it was so much more comfortable and convenient than any hotel I've ever stayed at. Supermarket and other stores/eateries are walking distance and I had no trouble getting around with my double (side by side) stroller. Highly recommend this for families! Thanks so much for your hospitality, Rachel and Jeff. It's very much appreciated. See you again.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • So much more!

    So much more!

    • Guest courtaz (Mckinney, TX)
    • Date of stay 08/07/10
    • Review Submitted 08/14/10
    The photos and the description were accurate but the studio was SO MUCH more than listed!! The place was immaculate and Rachel has thought of all the extra touches you could possibly dream of. Both Jeff and Rachel were so friendly and very accommodating. There wasn't a thing that I wanted for in the studio (well, if there was a chef delivering meals I would had a slice of heaven). and speaking of a slice of heaven pie - be sure to experince the courtyard in the back. I drove to San Francisco and had my beast of an SUV with me but was able to park it in the driveway with no problems. From the location there are several places to enjoy. Safeway is only 3 blocks over, and Mitchell's Ice Cream is two blocks up the road (I highly recommend this as is must stop). Over on Church St we enyoyed eating sushi. Say hello to Alex at the Other Alex Cafe. Great coffee and sandwiches. My hightlights were SF Movie Tour, seeing Sausilito and walking the little one to her first semester of law school. I've already recommended it to family when they come in to visit but I want to be selfish about it so I get to enjoy it all the time. Rachel and Jeff, I thank you for lettng me staying in your home and I look forward to coming back to your home as it will not be my laat visit to the area. I wish you well

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest John & Sue S., from Rhode Island
    • Date of stay 07/14/10
    • Review Submitted 09/21/10
    We came for vacation to visit our daughter Katie. The weather was perfect, low 70s. We went to the Presidio to see the Walt Disney Museum, Farmer's Market at the Ferry Building, San Francisco Symphony; Marin County, and we drove to Carmel, Big Sur, and the Monterey Aquarium. We recommend Martha & Brothers (2 blocks away) for morning coffee. Jeff & Rachel were perfect hosts; our stay was most comfortable & exceptionally clean. We would recommend this to our visitors and would come again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Connie & Joe L., from Pennsylvania
    • Date of stay 07/02/10
    • Review Submitted 09/21/10
    We arrived in town to visit our daughter and son-in-law and 1st grandchild. The weather started off great, low 70s, sunny, but later got a little chilly at times. We went to Fisherman's Wharf, city sites, Union Square, and did a bus tour of the city. We recommend Alex's for coffee & bagels (1 block). Our stay was very comfortable; much more comfortable than a hotel. It was so nice to have kitchen facilities available to us. I would highly recommend this to P's other visitors. We absolutely loved staying here. The apt. is decorated so beautifully and we loved not having to find the key to open the door. We also enjoyed having a washer and dryer in the apt. It made everything so easy.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Delightful...

    Delightful...

    • Guest Ms. Annie (Salem, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 06/19/10
    • Review Submitted 08/19/10
    "Delightful" best describes our stay at the SF Vacation Hut! We stayed a week at the end of June visiting our son who lives in the city. The location was perfect...close to transit. We left our car parked most of the week and managed to visit sites all over the city. The apartment was spacious and well equipped which enabled us to prepare most of our meals in the cute kitchen. There is a delightful garden and patio area behind the apartment. Had the weather cooperated, we would have enjoyed spending more time there. Read the fun things Rachel (the owner) wrote about the neighborhood in the Owner's Profile...it is ALL true and more! She spent a couple of hours walking us to the top of Bernal Heights and touring us through the neighborhood. The view is spectacular and it was interesting to hear about the neighborhood from someone who actually lives there. Rachel and Jeff have done a great job of making their rental an enjoyable, relaxing home away from home!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • quiet location, a little removed

    quiet location, a little removed

    • Guest Walked A Lot & Felt At Home (WA)
    • Date of stay 06/18/10
    • Review Submitted 10/06/10
    I stayed here for over a week; I enjoyed the backyard and the apartment itself is very well-appointed and quiet. This location is definitely in-between neighborhoods and feels on the edges, rather than in the heart, of something. If you want to be someplace with something going on, you have a bit of a walk (though the bus and BART are nearby). Nice walks 15 min. or so to Dolores and Bernal Heights parks. Just enough to walk off the yummy pastries you'll get at Tartine. Safeway is nearby, as well as an excellent little health food store and assorted bodegas and taquerias (on Mission). And, when in season, there's the neighbor's plum trees. The owners are very nice and accommodating (they invited me to a cook-out) and definitely add warmth to the feel of the place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks for your review, and thank you for being one of our very first guests. I'm so glad you made it up to the top of Bernal Heights, as well as Dolores Park, for the fantastic views. Since your visit, we have added a big binder full of menus and delivery / contact info for dozens of cafes and restaurants within a 5 to 10 minute walk from our guest apartment, as well as transit and bike maps, tourism brochures for bay cruises, bike rentals, hop-on hop-off shuttles, winery tours, and much more. We recently added shopping bags and a foldable shopping cart to help guests bring home their groceries. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope too see you again one day soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Heavenly bed

    Heavenly bed

    • Guest Orecore (Oregon)
    • Date of stay 06/04/10
    • Review Submitted 06/10/10
    Great place to crash in the city, within walking distannce to all kinds of shops, restaurants and parks. Easy to get in and out of and driveway parking! Very comfortable and clean, all the conveniences and amenities you could need are included with the apartment. The bed is fabulous and 'oops slept til noon' comfortable. Definitely a great value.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]