Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Tasteful mix of new and vintage furnishings

Delightful Furnished Apartment in Historic Columbia City [#306362] | View Property

Columbia City
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2-3

Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (12)

Sort by:
  • Gem of a hotel!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Gem of a hotel!

    • Guest Jeanine
    • Date of stay 08/13/13
    • Review Submitted 08/15/13
    "We had the best time staying at your gem of a hotel! Thanks sooooo much Rob! We have done nothing but rave about you to everyone who will listen!"

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Perfect

    • Guest Dee
    • Date of stay 07/10/13
    • Review Submitted 07/11/13
    Everything is perfect. I love it!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Location

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Perfect Location

    • Guest Megan, professional soccer player
    • Date of stay 07/08/12
    • Review Submitted 07/10/12
    I could not speak more highly of the at-home feeling I had during my one-month stay at the Shirley Marvin. Complete comfort, privacy, and all the essentials to make this a home-away-from-home. I found the apartment very spacious and able to accommodate more than one guest. With free parking and a 5-minute walk to the light rail, Columbia City is the perfect location to stay with easy acces to all the great attractions Seattle has to offer. Plus, the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept on! Rob, thanks for providing such a comfortable and accommodating stay. It was a month of pure bliss for me.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Beautiful Apartment

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Beautiful Apartment

    • Guest Harold and Connie
    • Date of stay 06/27/12
    • Review Submitted 07/10/12
    Thank you, Rob, for the beautiful apartment. We appreciated how clean and organized it was. The location was perfect; we could visit our son, shop, and enjoy many good restaurants. We were glad that nearby Columbia City Fitness was available. And, thanks for the use of the bike. We hope to visit again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A Wonderful Month

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A Wonderful Month

    • Guest Hali and Gerry
    • Date of stay 04/01/12
    • Review Submitted 05/02/12
    Thank you for a wonderful month here... we were very comfortable, this is a great place, and the location can't be beat! We hope to be back in the Fall.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Everything better than advertised.

    Everything better than advertised.

    • Guest Marcos (Austin, TX)
    • Date of stay 08/01/11
    • Review Submitted 09/20/11
    My wife and I spent all of August, 2011, at the Marvin, wanting a base to explore, hike, and bicycle all of Washington, and to a lesser extent, Seattle. The property exceeded our expectations in every way. We hardly ever left the neighborhood for dinner, as there were so many restaurants within a 3-minute walk. The diverse population of the area was a real plus for us, so many interesting cultures and peoples interacting peacefully. The location is ideal for getting out of the city quickly to the south, west, and east...north, not so much, but that's the fault of I-5. Downtown was a snap on the new light rail, just a few-blocks walk to the station. Laundry facilities in the basement, with room to store bicycles securely was a decided advantage over many places. Columbia City is really a very small area, "gentrifying" quickly, with many young families mixing easily with the other residents of the area. We never felt unsafe, threatened, etc, the entire time we were there. Perhaps one of the best things about the Marvin is the owner, who is always available, friendly, helpful, etc. I'll close by saying I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Seattle.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Lena and Ed
    • Date of stay 01/05/11
    • Review Submitted 02/07/11
    It was a pleasure spending our time in Seattle in the Shirley Marvin apartment. Very nostalgic. Not only was it comfortable and beautifully decorated, it was ideally located. We walked to all the great businesses in Columbia City and to the Light Rail for transportation into Seattle for a Christmas play, lunches downtown and after-Christmas shopping. Fantastic! See you next year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great Stay at Shirley Marvin!

    Great Stay at Shirley Marvin!

    • Guest Truckies (Austin, TX)
    • Date of stay 07/30/10
    • Review Submitted 08/08/10
    This property was chosen to hose the HomeAway.com Truckster and their guest blogger on its national road trip around the country. We had an excellent stay here! Everything was very clean and well furnished. The owners are very friendly and will tell you about the area including the best coffee shops, restaurants, and historical information on the town and its businesses. The location couldn't be better either! For example, we woke up everyday and got coffee at a shop right next door to the Shirley Marvin and ate dinner at great restaurants within a block or two of the property. It's right off the main street in Columbia City and is a 5 minute walk to the Light Rail that takes you in to Seattle or to the airport. You would not need a car if you stayed here and could enjoy both Columbia City and downtown Seattle with ease.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A Great Value--Highly Recommended!

    A Great Value--Highly Recommended!

    • Guest Robbi (Kansas City metro area)
    • Date of stay 07/28/10
    • Review Submitted 08/08/10
    We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Shirley Marvin. Our apartment was just as charming as the listing photos and description suggested. It was also very clean, well-equipped, and comfortable. We had brought a laptop, so we really appreciated the Wi-Fi connection. In addition, there was a lovely courtyard with beautiful flowers. Rob, the owner, was extremely helpful in answering questions about the area and assisted us by preparing the bikes for a ride to and around nearby Seward Park on Lake Washington, which is gorgeous. One of the great things about the Shirley Marvin is the location. It is just a few blocks from the new light rail line which took us to and from the airport in less than 20 minutes as well as to most of the attractions of downtown Seattle in about the same amount of time. We wound up only renting a car for a couple of day-trips to the wineries of Woodinville (about 30 minutes away and highly recommended for wine-lovers) and to the Olympic peninsula for some hiking and lunch at Port Townsend (also recommended, though further away and complicated by ferry schedules). We also spent a couple of days just relaxing in Columbia City which we loved. When we arrived on Wednesday afternoon, the superb neighborhood farmer's market was in full-swing just a couple blocks from the Shirley Marvin, allowing us to easily do much of our grocery shopping for the week. Rob and his wife had also prepared a great welcome package of discount coupons for many of the local businesses. This provided an extra incentive to explore the many terrific shops and restaurants in Columbia City--all within easy walking distance and all combining the friendly charm of a small, historic town with the sophistication and multiculturalism of a large metropolitan area. Although too numerous to mention all of them, we especially enjoyed Verve (a wine bar and restaurant), Empire Espresso, the Bookworm Exchange, Columbia Bakery, and Tutta Bella (a Neapolitan pizzeria). We only wish we had had more time to check out other shops, restaurants, the ale house, and the public library nearby. We would definitely like to return to the Shirley Marvin in the future and highly recommend it as a place to stay in the Seattle area!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Quaint with modern touches in a good location

    Quaint with modern touches in a good location

    • Guest ChuckOp (Seattle, Washington)
    • Date of stay 07/06/10
    • Review Submitted 08/06/10
    The Shirley Marvin is a set of 4 apartments in a 1930's era brick building. I stayed in one of the upper apartments. While the building is historic, it's been completely refurbished recently, with up-to-date fixtures and appliances that fit the theme perfectly. There is Wi-Fi internet and a flat-panel LCD TV in the living room, and another smaller one in the bedroom. Both have basic cable access with additional sports channels. The owners are very attentive and friendly. I thought the overall value was excellent. There are numerous shops nearby, including a well-stocked used book store, a convenience store across the street, two coffee shops within 50 yards and a movie theater just around the corner. Plenty of eateries nearby as well. There is excellent bus service with a stop on the corner and the new Link light-rail station is a third-of-a-mile walk. The light rail system makes it easy to get to either the airport or anyplace in downtown Seattle easily. My only complaint is that my particular unit was exposed to the summer heat the most, which made it uncomfortably warm on a few evenings. There is a fan, and the owners gave me some tips on how to best manage it. This would only be a issue only in the upper, west apartment and only in late July and August when I was there. A particularly nice touch in my apartment was a number of books, many of them political biographies which are a favorite of mine. I would highly recommend the Shirley Marvin to anyone!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • "Terrific Week at The Shirley Marvin"

    Guest comment entered by owner

    "Terrific Week at The Shirley Marvin"

    • Guest Marc and Dorie Blesoff
    • Date of stay 06/22/10
    • Review Submitted 06/25/10
    We just spent a terrific week at The Shirley Marvin. It was comfortable, clean and convenient. It combines the best of vintage and modern living. The Shirley Marvin met our needs perfectly and helped us celebrate our daughter's graduation! Thank you again. Marc and Dorie

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Shirley Marvin Apartment

    Shirley Marvin Apartment

    • Guest Alan & Elaine (UK)
    • Date of stay 07/30/09
    • Review Submitted 07/15/10
    We travel twice a year from the UK to visit our son and family and the Shirley Marvin apartments provide luxorious, comfortable and impeccably clean accommodation. The apartments have been stylishly refurbished and whilst retaining a 30's character they offer modern conveniences.There is emphasis on detail and it is so nice on arrival, particularly from another country, to find some basic provisions and soap and shampoo.The apartments are very close to trolley and transit services to the city centre. Complementary Wi Fi is available and Columbia City has real character with coffee shops and restaurants. We love visiting and it really is like home from home.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]