Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Rental Suite in Contemporary House in Beautiful James Bay [#306546] | View Property

Victoria
House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-3)
$90-$120/nt - $600-$800/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (18)

Sort by:
  • Great stay in Victoria !

    Great stay in Victoria !

    • Guest Viv (UK)
    • Date of stay 08/11/13
    • Review Submitted 08/27/13
    The suite is well equipment, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The previous review"Happy traveller" explained the lay out so well I feel we are still there. Enjoyed our talks with Tom & Christine and look forward to visiting them again. Lovely garden to relax in and a very nice neighbourhood. Five minutes to Ogden Point and easy walk to Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown. We'll be back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent choice for a couple

    Excellent choice for a couple

    • Guest Happy traveller (Vancouver area)
    • Date of stay 08/08/13
    • Review Submitted 08/12/13
    Upon entering the suite, you see a small sitting room with two chairs. On your right is a dining table. Directly in front is a closet door that opens to a highly usable kitchenette for small meals. There is a movable counter for preparation. To the left of the kitchen closet is a short hallway. On the right is the door to a nice washroom with a very large shower stall and a small sink. On the left side of the hallway is the bedroom. The. Bedroom is fairly large as it contains a queen bed and a sofa facing a small tv. The rental unit is bright, white and clean. You access the unit through the backyard. The owner accepts dogs. The owner also has a dog that would like to meet you and your pet if you have one. This rental is a great alternative to the downtown hotels. The location is two blocks from Ogden point and a pleasant 15 minute walk to the downtown core. If you don't mind being just a little bit away from the downtown core, this place works very well.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great place to stay and experience Victoria

    Great place to stay and experience Victoria

    • Guest Washington Sisters (Washington)
    • Date of stay 07/03/13
    • Review Submitted 07/11/13
    This suite was great and had everything we needed. It is in the back of the house and very quiet. We loved the fenced yard for our dogs, and it was easy to walk our dogs in the neighborhood, to Fisherman’s Wharf, or to the Strait. The owners were helpful but never intrusive. It was the perfect place for my sister and I to stay with our dogs. Great first experience of Victoria BC.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Quiet, Comfortable, Dog friendly and Clean!

    Quiet, Comfortable, Dog friendly and Clean!

    • Guest Mary M. Morris (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 03/22/13
    • Review Submitted 03/27/13
    We've been to Victoria many times and we were so glad we opted for our own little apartment this time instead of a hotel room. The owner, Tom, graciously encouraged us to bring our dog. From this location we walked all over the place. The unit is in the back of the house and very quiet. We loved the design of the space and the clean, modern finishes. Really neat how you open what looks to be a closet door and it's a tiny little kitchen space with sink, coffee/tea facilities, microwave, and toaster oven. The bedroom is generously sized and has a comfy bed. Loved that they use a duvet so that you know it's cleaned between guests. Nice big shower and heated floor tiles in the bathroom. Tom was always available, but never intrusive. In fact, if we hadn't been always on the go we would have enjoyed chatting with him more and meeting his dog, Tia. We hope there will be a next time.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Amazing stay in beautiful James Bay in Victoria BC!

    Amazing stay in beautiful James Bay in Victoria BC!

    • Guest j_dub (Vancouver BC)
    • Date of stay 02/08/13
    • Review Submitted 03/17/13
    I travelled to Victoria for a 5 week work placement and was lucky enough to be able to stay in this beautiful suite in James Bay. Prior to my arrival, Tom was always readily available on email to discuss the rental arrangements, and from the moment of my arrival, Tom and Chris were incredible hosts and made me feel right at home in this exceptionally clean and well-equipped suite. It was a very comfortable home base for working, exploring, cooking, and relaxing! I've lived in Victoria before and knew this location would be perfect - it has great proximity to Fisherman's Wharf for great food, Dallas Road and Ogden Point for running along the water, and the waterfront walk to downtown Victoria and the Inner Harbour. I found this suite to be even better than advertised and it was such a pleasure to stay in the home of such wonderful hosts! I was sad to leave and hope I can stay again soon. I would recommend this suite to anyone hoping to experience Victoria from a perfect location, that is quiet, clean, safe, perfectly equipped, and close to the ocean!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Location

    Great Location

    • Guest Big Red Dog (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 12/24/12
    • Review Submitted 02/09/13
    My husband and I were looking for a private holiday getaway this year, and this was the perfect location. We could easily walk all over the city, along the waterfront, out to restaurants & pubs, grocery store, etc. Tom is a great host, very helpful and accommodating. I would highly recommend this apartment.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • An Oasis of Tranquility

    An Oasis of Tranquility

    • Guest Beagleface (Chemainus, BC)
    • Date of stay 09/09/12
    • Review Submitted 09/11/12
    My husband, small dog and I recently spent two nights at this tiny perfect rental suite. We loved its location, so close to downtown Victoria with its many attractions and great restaurants. We also loved the dog-friendly atmosphere. From the get-go, Tom was very welcoming of us and our four-legged fur-daughter. The dog was thrilled with the fenced back yard and garden area. My husband and I were delighted with the fast WiFi, even from the garden area. The interior space was immaculate. Tom, the host, was friendly and welcoming, not to mention helpful. There were no surprises . . . the photos and description of the place were accurate. The bed was extremely comfy, the closet space, generous. We would have preferred to have the TV in the kitchen/eating area, rather than in the bedroom, but the WiFi worked so well we streamed the news on our computer. The kitchen was small and well equipped - perfect for making simple meals. We ate out for most of our meals, except for breakfast. It was nice to have a BBQ at our disposal . . . next time we'll use it.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great place to stay in Victoria

    Great place to stay in Victoria

    • Guest Tank (Vancouver)
    • Date of stay 06/09/12
    • Review Submitted 06/12/12
    My husband, 10 month old and myself stayed here for 2 nights and were very pleased with our stay. The apartment was very bright, clean, quiet and located perfectly and had everything you needed for a short stay. Our host was wonderful and friendly and easily available for any questions. We would definitely recommended this house and would stay again. Thank you :)

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wonderful suite and hosts

    Wonderful suite and hosts

    • Guest Island Lover (Leduc, AB)
    • Date of stay 05/17/12
    • Review Submitted 05/25/12
    My husband and I stayed at this VRBO for a week. I make 2 trips/yr. to Victoria for pleasure and have stayed at hotels as well as other VRBOs, all very acceptable, but nothing as perfect as this home. The hosts are excellent, easy to reach and always ready with information, but not the least bit intrusive. The location is perfect, with easy walking distance to all areas in Victoria. We had a car this trip, but normally we fly and get around on foot once we land. The location of this suite will makes foot travel easy. The size of the place compared to most hotel rooms is large. Yes, the kitchen is small, but it has EVERYTHING we needed to cook what we needed and it all tucked away to make for a nice sitting area. We didn't get the opportunity to use the outdoor BBQ and garden much because we were traveling back and forth visiting this trip, but those facilities are wonderful and I look forward to taking advantage of them on a future trip. The suite is well appointed, we didn't need anything that wasn't already there. The art work in the suite is wonderful and the entire suite is bathed with light because of all the windows. It's really perfect and we will definitely look this place up again next trip to Victoria.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Lovely hosts and a quiet stay!

    Lovely hosts and a quiet stay!

    • Guest K+W (Nanaimo)
    • Date of stay 04/10/12
    • Review Submitted 04/24/12
    I stayed here with my dog and these hosts are very gracious! Always available by text and have an open door policy! The place is small but all features are modern and the bed is very comfortable. Great location by the water, would stay again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Good Location, Pet-friendly

    Good Location, Pet-friendly

    • Guest Kelly (Grand Forks, BC, Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/28/12
    • Review Submitted 04/06/12
    While MUCH smaller than I anticipated, I found the neighbourhood terrific for dog-walking. Very pet-friendly - parks, seawall, all within a few minutes walk. Very close to many of Victoria's tourist attraction - the Parliament buildings & museum are actually within walking distance, It should be noted, however, that the "full kitchen" is, in actuality, a closet with shelves on either side on which are countertop appliances - a microwave & a toaster oven. The size of the suite would make it difficult to entertain, & the "kitchen" would be virtually impossible to do an actual meal in, but that being said, there's a lovely garden in which there's a patio & BBQ. Nice spring / summer weather would make the garden a lovely area to sit & visit.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Owner response: There are 2 options for the kitchen on the vrbo site, Full kitchen and Shared kitchen, so the Full kitchen applies here. The "toaster" owen is actually a convection owen, large enough for roasting a chicken and has built-in rotisserie. There are also 3 electric hot plates and all cooking supplies. In addition the kitchen has a fridge, sink and counter tops for cooking, so it is a very usable kitchen with BBQ outside the door. And we did have guests who prepared full meals and they stayed 6 weeks and posted a positive review here. Furthermore, we also had guests who were entertaining outside in the garden using the outdoor tables and chairs. An outdoor space heater is available in case it gets a bit cooler outside, since we are 2 blocks away from the ocean. When a guest calls and asks about the size or anything else, I tell them that the kitchen is in the cupboard, you close the door and the kitchen is gone and most like that feature. I also tell them that the bedroom is good size and that they can use the whole garden and they can let the pooches roam around in an enclosed garden. Most people that stay with us are here to do sight seeing or visiting and the size and kitchen are perfectly usable for them.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Suite Perfection

    Suite Perfection

    • Guest Shazza (Saskatchewan)
    • Date of stay 08/07/11
    • Review Submitted 08/23/11
    This suite had everything we needed. It was clean and had just enough space for three of us (husband, dog and me). Although we had our car, we hardly used it, because everything was walking distance. The owners were wonderful and helpful, but never intrusive. And their dog Tia, is a sweetheart. The cost is very reasonable compared to other VRBOs in Victoria, or a hotel.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A perfect little hideaway

    A perfect little hideaway

    • Guest Chad Amanda and Ildi (North America)
    • Date of stay 07/31/11
    • Review Submitted 11/13/11
    Our hosts were incredibly friendly and gracious and the apartment was perfect for a week in Victoria with our dog. At first, we thought the place might be a bit small, but it proved to be so smartly laid out that we felt very much at home and comfortable! The backyard is also well landscaped and beautiful...and felt like a great outdoor extension of the living space. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again when in Victoria and look forward to visiting again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • PERFECT FIND FOR OUR NEEDS

    PERFECT FIND FOR OUR NEEDS

    • Guest MAC (Upstate NY)
    • Date of stay 07/18/11
    • Review Submitted 08/04/11
    The contempory suite was close to all the attractions in beautiful Victoria and yet a quiet place to return to after our days of sightseeing. There was ample space for relaxing both indoors and outdoors. We even invited our daughter and family who were camping nearby over one evening for a barbeque and enjoyed the meal at the picnic table in the lovely gardens outside the suite. The amenities were great and the suite was very clean. My husband and I couldn't have asked for more - so much better than a cramped hotel room. We recommend it highly. Victoria is a beautiful city to explore!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Small but Excellent.

    Small but Excellent.

    • Guest Barry O. (Winnipeg)
    • Date of stay 03/01/11
    • Review Submitted 04/26/11
    My wife and I spent five weeks during spring 2011 - The owners were knowledgeable with respect the cities culture and nightlife and the surrounding countryside's hiking and scenic attributes and they were very helpful in all regards - the property couldn't be better located, the facility provides all amenities and the bed was great.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Awesome stay

    Awesome stay

    • Guest Cole (B.C)
    • Date of stay 09/09/10
    • Review Submitted 05/02/11
    My partner and I had a comfortable, welcoming stay here. The owners are natural hosts, but respected the privacy of the suite. Very clean. A perfect location as you are close enough to all the action, but can return to a friendly neighbourhood and feel at home.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Suited us perfectly!

    Suited us perfectly!

    • Guest carol39 (calgary alberta)
    • Date of stay 09/04/10
    • Review Submitted 09/08/10
    Well appointed, modern design.............we were very pleased. Excellent value. We had a car so appreciated the on street parking. Loved the proximity to the ocean front - and a lengthy walk to the central harbour (which we enjoyed). Would certainly stay here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Perfect Jewel-Box of a Suite!

    A Perfect Jewel-Box of a Suite!

    • Guest Kirsti (Danville, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/01/10
    • Review Submitted 01/22/11
    My husband and I were fortunate to chance upon this lovely suite, loving the modern design and the careful attention to detail. We felt like spoiled guests in our gracious host's home. We couldn't have asked for a better experience and found the location to be ideal for getting to shopping and activities around the Inner Harbor. One of our hosts is an amazing artist, so we had the added pleasure of viewing many of her gorgeous photographs throughout our stay. What a treat!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]