Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Ocean View

Aloha Spirit! Peaceful+ Beautiful Small Farm in Primo Location [#306573] | View Property

Kealakekua Bay
Guest House, Studio, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)
$135/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (40)

Sort by:
  • Magical Island Getaway!

    Magical Island Getaway!

    • Guest speedy (Pacific Grove, California)
    • Date of stay 03/04/14
    • Review Submitted 03/15/14
    We had everything we needed and more in this magical garden spot! This gem of a place is nestled in-between coffee and fruit farms so there is no lack of delicious local fare to eat and drink. Stacey and Tony paid careful attention to stocking the guest house with all the necessary items to make you feel right at home. It's a lovely space inside and out. (If you want to feel like part of nature, make sure to utilize the outdoor shower!) We wanted a private space in the heart of the island and that's exactly what this is. You are close enough to Hwy 11 which allows you to access other areas of the island with ease and you can also get to all the bays in the area in a short amount of time. Stacey and Tony are great about giving you as much attention and information as you want. They are also a great resource for all the wonderful places there are to visit in the area! We are so grateful to have found this special place on the Big Island. We highly recommend it to anyone looking for a unique place to stay. Mahalo Stacey & Tony

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Piece of Paradise on the Kona Coast!

    A Piece of Paradise on the Kona Coast!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/30/14
    • Review Submitted 02/19/14
    We loved our stay here! It is everything advertised and more. The studio apartment is roomy, nicely decorated, spotlessly clean, has a beautiful, well-equipped kitchen and bath and overlooks the hillside down to the coast. We were treated to fresh fruit, vegetables and nuts each day and we happily discovered yummy tamarillos. The beach equipment was thorough and in great condition. A real treat is an outdoor hot water shower. Stacey and Tony are terrific hosts who are interesting, friendly, available and yet emphasize their guests' privacy. Great Place.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • PERFECT!

    PERFECT!

    • Guest Thom S.
    • Date of stay 01/17/14
    • Review Submitted 01/28/14
    We usually try and stay close to the water whenever possible, but took a "chance" because the description of the place was so intriguing. The "chance" turned into perfect! Very quiet, beautiful grounds, friendly cats and Tony and Stacey are great hosts.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • If there were more stars, we would have rated this place higher.

    If there were more stars, we would have rated this place higher.

    • Guest Ron & Ann S.
    • Date of stay 10/21/13
    • Review Submitted 11/17/13
    We spent two weeks on the Big Island and one on Kauai. Of the three rentals by owner, this was by far our favorite. We were welcomed as if we were family and treated with the care and attention that far exceeded our expectations. The apartment was meticulous, beautifully decorated, comfortable and provided everything we needed and more. From my favorite sandalwood soap to a live orchid to fresh fruits and nuts, we were spoiled. Our host embodied the Aloha spirit more than anyone we met in our three weeks in Hawaii. We prepared most of our meals and found the kitchen had everything we needed. We loved picking fresh fruits and vegetables for our meals and snacks. The beauty of the property with the view of the ocean is not adequately portrayed in the photos. Our host was so accommodating with recommendations for adventures and places to see and with equipment for the beach and snorkeling gear. We enjoyed every moment of our time. This location provides easy and quick access to anything you would wish to do. We highly recommend this place to anyone. We are already planning a trip back. A week was not enough. The Kona side of the island has so much to offer from extraordinary views to as much adventure as you want.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • fabulous

    fabulous

    • Guest Lorrie (Vancouver WA)
    • Date of stay 09/04/13
    • Review Submitted 09/12/13
    What a wonderful piece of paradise! We loved everything about our stay except that it was too short. Tony and Stacey were wonderful hosts. The guest house was set in beautiful surroundings. So peaceful and private. They had everything we needed to make our meals and shared delicious fruit from their garden with us. They had snorkel gear and good suggestions of where to go. As we had not snorkeled before we were thrilled with how easy and wonderful the experience was. The sunsets were out of this world and we are so glad that we chose to stay there instead of in a resort in Kona. The Choice Market in nearby Captain Cook had wonderful selection of fresh fish and meat to bbq. We definitely will be back to stay again the next time on the big island. Thanks again for sharing your paradise with us.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful Garden Oasis

    Beautiful Garden Oasis

    • Guest Aloha (Oakland CA)
    • Date of stay 08/31/13
    • Review Submitted 09/06/13
    My stay here was very relaxing and comfortable. I found the owners to be sweet, generous and thoughtful. The place was tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. I would highly recommend this place and would come back myself if I'm ever lucky enough to visit the big island.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Delightful home base for travel

    Delightful home base for travel

    • Guest S S (San Francisco, CA USA)
    • Date of stay 08/25/13
    • Review Submitted 09/05/13
    It was obvious right away that the place was nice overall. But over the course of the stay we were also continually surprised at all the small details that Stacey and Tony had thought of that made the space feel like we had created it ourselves to suit our own preferences. Highlights: good recommendations for real food (hawaiian plate-lunch is fine, but I don't want to eat it for every meal), a view into the garden from bed, and my favorite -- fresh fruit from the trees on the property.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The perfect introduction to Hawaii

    The perfect introduction to Hawaii

    • Guest travel_cat (NY, NY)
    • Date of stay 07/21/13
    • Review Submitted 08/07/13
    We had a wonderful time exploring Kona from our home base with Stacey and Tony. The apartment was spacious, clean, had a fully equipped kitchen, and a pretty fantastic mattress for two people that generally have a hard time sleeping well. We loved the open yet completely private accommodations, and were completely enamored by all the beautiful flowers and fruits on the property, some which we had never seen before, and all of which tasted better than any we had had previously! Stacey and Tony were very friendly and welcoming, and once they saw our interest in food and plants, took us on a detailed tour of the property and left us ripe produce each day (and then some to take with us when our stay ended!). They also helped us find great beaches, restaurants, and live music that we would have otherwise missed just traveling off our Lonely Planet guidebook. It is a beautiful, serene, romantic spot, kept with love by two fantastic people, that I would recommend to anyone traveling to Kona.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect peaceful getaway

    Perfect peaceful getaway

    • Guest Kali (Menlo Park, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/30/13
    • Review Submitted 07/10/13
    Very private, very peaceful, with beautiful gardens and gracious hosts. We loved waking up to the bird songs in the morning and watching the ocean slowly turn blue. Everything is new and clean, and the bed is extremely comfortable. Another joy was the outdoor shower. There's a botanical garden a short walk away, and great snorkeling just down the hill. We ended up mostly just hanging out and relaxing without even leaving. We did a lot of cooking there, but there are plenty of places within a few minutes drive to eat. Definitely will be returning to this wonderful place.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Best vacation stay ever

    Best vacation stay ever

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/18/13
    • Review Submitted 04/28/13
    Mahalo Tony & Stacey! We had high expectations after reading other reviews, but even those high expectations were surpassed by the beauty and tranquility of the setting, as well as the kindness and consideration of the owners. We had tried to book a beachside condo for our 25th anniversary vacation, and so glad to have found Pukalani Ohana when the condo owner never responded. Eating on the lanai while watching the sun set on the ocean behind that stately century-old Monkey Pod tree (Rain tree, Parasol tree) is a scene that will ever be etched into our memories. Even the wild turkey and her chicks brought aloha with them strolling peacefully past us. And the variety of home-grown fruits that Tony so kindly brought to us were the best we ever tasted. The location in the south Kona countryside was a perfect setting, quiet, peaceful, and convenient to the very best snorkeling on the island, and for touring the real Hawai'i. Tony and Stacey are such wonderful people that we would have loved to have spent more time just visiting with them, but they allowed us the complete privacy and independence vacationers cherish, yet were always available to answer any questions we had. This was truly the best stay we ever experienced. Mahalo!

    Recommended for: Age 55+

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wrapped in tranquility

    Wrapped in tranquility

    • Guest Kathy and Merv (Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/10/13
    • Review Submitted 03/30/13
    My husband and I had a most wonderful and relaxing 12 nights at Pukalani. The tropical gardens surrounding the ohana were amazing. Tony and Stacey kept us well supplied with a variety of fruits from their very diverse 2 acres, including fruit from a Jaboticaba tree, something I had never seen before. A stroll at dusk among the blooming avocados with their wonderful scent bathing the warm air was unforgetable. The neighbouring properties were planted in coffee, with no houses to be seen, so privacy was assured. We enjoyed the outdoor shower daily, set amidst ferns and Ti plants. We woke up every morning to the sound of many birds. Occasionally a wild turkey would stroll across the lawn. The property is set back from the road, so the tranquility is not broken by man-made noises. Every morning we went snorkelling at 2-step ( next to the City of Refuge) and then had our coffee (organic Kona from a nearby farm) on the beach at Pu'uhonua O Honaunau National Park. We did force ourselves to leave once in a while, and did take an easy drive (less than 2 hours) to Volcanoes National Park, as well as visiting the nearby beaches and gardens. Tony and Stacey are very unobtrusive yet attentive hosts, and are happy to share their garden paradise with their guests. The ohana is spacious and airy, spotless and with a very comfortable king-size bed. Cheery tropical colours accent the kitchen. With it's full size fridge and stove, washer and dryer we could easily have stayed for months! K and M, Victoria BC Canada

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • a week in paradise

    a week in paradise

    • Guest coming in from the cold (Saskatchewan)
    • Date of stay 02/16/13
    • Review Submitted 02/26/13
    I had never stayed at a VRBO before, and I had never travelled on my own before, but I decided to escape the cold and I am so glad I did. The setting is gorgeous and peaceful, birds singing and flowers blooming, fresh fruit to eat from the gardens on the property, lovely hosts, blue skies ... it was truly perfect. From the start, Stacey answered every email promptly and invited me to call if I had questions as well. She was thoughtful and patient as I tried to book flights and get organized. The studio was spotless and comfortable, from the lounge chairs outside to the comfy bed. It had everything I needed: snorkel equipment, coolers,beach towels,a coffee grinder, a juicer and a big bowl of oranges. Tony's artwork made the studio feel special. I used the clothesline and the superb outdoor shower every day after the beach. The wireless was fast and always worked well. There is a marvellous farmers' market nearby where I got bread, fruit, vegetables, coffee, and baking. Choicemart is near for the rest. I would not have had to go more than 5 miles or so to get everything I needed or wanted. I did not want to go far anyway, I spent lots of time just relaxing in my beautiful surroundings. Life is simple on the big island. I never heard any noise from the surroundings, certainly no cars or city noise like I experienced in Kona last year. My view was flowers, trees, and the ocean. It was so peaceful. Stacey sent very clear directions so I had no problem finding the place, and from that location you can go anywhere you like on the island in a day. She also sent helpful shopping instructions, and had suggestions during the week when I wondered what to do or where to find things. This studio and surroundings felt like home from the moment I arrived. Stacey and Tony made me feel welcome without feeling like I was living in someone else's house. I had all the privacy I wanted, but if I had questions they were nearby. I liked having them there to greet me when I arrived and show me around. They are thoughtful and warm people who genuinely welcomed me. I felt like family by the time I left. When I read other reviews it seems like we all feel this way, which tells you a lot about Tony and Stacey as hosts. Staying with people who live on the island is a great way to find out what island life is really like. You can meet the local characters, find the best places to snorkel or eat or shop, and feel at home. I can't wait to go back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The most peaceful home on the island.

    The most peaceful home on the island.

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/28/13
    • Review Submitted 02/08/13
    We originally choose this vacation rental based on it's amazing five star reviews. When we first arrived Stacy & Tony were there to meet us and show us our lovely home away from home. This was our seventh visit to the islands and this was by far the most wonderful place we have stayed. From the moment that you arrive on the property the small farm radiates peace and tranquility. Stacy and Tony are amazing hosts. It is evident that they genuinely love the islands. By the end of our stay we felt as if we were staying with family The home is minutes away from the premier snorkling location on the island where dolphins come to frolic. Our kind hosts allowed us to stoll the grounds of their beautiful farm We really enjoyed the care packages of oranges, bananas, avocados and macadamias. We woke up every morning to the sounds of bird song feeling complete contentment and peace. We stayed for eleven nights but we could have stayed forever.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Return Visitors to Pukalani

    Return Visitors to Pukalani

    • Guest Heather & Darcy (Edmonton, AB, Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/30/12
    • Review Submitted 01/03/13
    My husband and I had the great pleasure of recently spending two weeks over Christmas and New Year's at Tony and Stacey's Pukalani. This is a return visit for us having spent the same two weeks here last year. We loved our time here both times and didn't want to leave. From the beginning, Tony and Stacey were so welcoming starting with friendly and informative emails before our journey began to our arrival and the frequent care packages of organic fruit from their farm. We have enjoyed: papayas, tangelos, tangerines, avocados, mangoes, bananas, grapefruits, starfruit, lemons and limes. The house is perfectly situated between our favorite beach Two-Step and our new favorite - Ke'e. The house has everything you could possibly need such as a cooler, beach mats, juice press for freshly squeezed tangelos and a blender for making morning fruit smoothies. Each morning we would awake to the sounds of nature: roosters and birds. Stacey and Tony ensure your privacy which we greatly valued. We slept with the blinds and patio door all open and still felt private and safe. They were genuinely excited to hear our daily exploits including dolphin and whale sightings. They were very approachable to answer questions and make suggestions. The house is in pristine condition, exceptionally clean with lush landscaping in a well-cared for property. Stacey and Tony are wonderful ambassadors for the Big Island of Hawaii and stewards of the land and ocean. We have rented a number of places on the Big Island in the past, and this has been, by far, our favorite home away from home.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guaranteed Serenity

    Guaranteed Serenity

    • Guest Patr M.
    • Date of stay 10/16/12
    • Review Submitted 11/29/12
    Starting with wonderful communications before our arrival, our contact with these property owners and our overall stay at the property couldn't have been a better experience. Tony and Stacey were very kind, hospitable, and informative, making our three days there as enjoyable as we could have imagined. The apartment was very spacious, clean, private, and was equipped with anything we could have needed. The apartment had a notebook filled with information and maps that helped us to navigate the area to find shopping, snorkeling, and sightseeing with ease. The grounds were well groomed and an absolute delight for taking a stroll. We totally loved our time there and hope to return.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Hawaiian beauty

    Hawaiian beauty

    • Guest Katherine (New York)
    • Date of stay 09/15/12
    • Review Submitted 10/08/12
    The location is a quiet setting in a lush, green portion of the island. The house is beautiful. The apartment is a private area set at the back of the house, facing the orchard and the coastline. The cleanliness and comfort of this space were rivaled only by the fantastic fruit Tony shared with us, as well as the scents of the flowers all along the house (and some of the kindest hosts you can imagine). When I think back to our time there, I recall that there was a real lack of ambient noise – no television buzz, or ticking clock, or road noise - and the effect is such serenity. There is a well-arranged binder for you with a good deal of information on the area. While my Lonely Planet guidebook was very good, It helped to know the restaurants the owners like, which beaches are good for which activities, and where to buy a fresh catch for dinner. The kitchen is well-stocked for cooking and we did one load of laundry. Everything was just so easy. If you are planning on staying in this area, this is a great place to stay. If you don't know where to stay, stay here! The Big Island has so much to offer from natural beauty to culture and this location made it very easy for us to access it all. The kindness of all the people we encountered on the island will keep us coming, especially the kindness and hospitality offered here.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing!

    Amazing!

    • Guest mango lover (Los Angeles)
    • Date of stay 08/03/12
    • Review Submitted 08/15/12
    "Amazing" is the word I kept hearing myself say over and over again when I had the pleasure of staying for a week with my daughter at this peaceful ohana above the ocean! Our whole "amazing" island experience was anchored by the beautiful, spotlessly clean, and comfortable accommodations and green and lush surroundings of our home away from home. Stacey and Tony were "amazing" hosts, warm and welcoming with helpful suggestions, answers to our questions, and gifts of "amazing" sweet and juicy fruit. The location of the ohana is perfect. With snorkeling and swimming just minutes from here, it was a perfect home base from which to take our daily adventures, and having a rent-a-car made it easy to experience much of the sites and activities of the Big Island in our week's stay. I concur with all of the previous reviews of this "amazing" vacation spot. It is truly a treasure to be experienced again and again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Do it NOW, its gorgeous

    Do it NOW, its gorgeous

    • Guest Robyn T.
    • Date of stay 07/27/12
    • Review Submitted 08/14/12
    We loved staying here! From the start the booking process was easy, Stacey was really helpful, also provided us with directions to get there and a list of nearby eateries and a shopping guide. The studio is wonderful, right from the outset you can see that Stacey and Tony take pride in their property, it is spotless, very well appointed, a great size, very comfortable and private. What you see in the photos is spot on, it is even better in reality actually! The outdoor shower is a beautiful reminder that you're in the tropics and we used it every day. It is also well located to restaurants, snorkelling and sight seeing. We did day trips to Volcanoes National Park and Hilo from here. The gardens are gorgeous with fruit trees and tropical plants all round the property, we were lucky to be there during mango season and the mangoes were the best we've ever had! It was really lovely to come back after a day exploring and find a gift of tropical fruit waiting for us. We were made to feel very welcome during our stay and were quite sad to leave, we have no hesitation in highly recommending Stacey and Tony's to any couple, and certainly hope to return someday. If this property has caught your eye and you are contemplating a visit, do yourself a favour, book it now !

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • 60th Birthday Trip in Paradise

    60th Birthday Trip in Paradise

    • Guest Barbara & Dallas (San Diego, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/06/12
    • Review Submitted 07/07/12
    We would highly recommend this location. The hosts, Stacey & Tony, made us feel very welcome and gave us locally grown avocados and fruit to enjoy. We found the studio/apartment to be very clean and decorated with comfortable and lovely furniture. The surrounding property is very lush. You feel like a "local" and not a tourist. We did not turn on the tv until our last night. We stayed 6 nights. The country sounds of the birds were very relaxing to us. There are nearby good restaurants and great snorkling areas. It is well located if you don't want to drive too much. We would describe it as a relaxing, peaceful and lovely vacation rental. It was a fantastic way to spend my big birthday! We would go there again and will recommend it to our friends and family. Thanks to our hosts, Stacey & Tony.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • beautiful setting, warm hospitality, and delicious fruit to boot!

    beautiful setting, warm hospitality, and delicious fruit to boot!

    • Guest Carolyn (Oakland, CA)
    • Date of stay 04/13/12
    • Review Submitted 05/04/12
    Even prior to our arrival, Stacey was so helpful, providing suggestions for a lunch time spot on the way from the airport (we ended up at Holuakoa Cafe in Holualoa, yum!), and giving us a gentle nudge to make sure that we had rented a car (we were arriving during the Merrie Monarch Hula Festival, and rentals can be scarce). Sadly, we did not actually get to meet Stacey during our stay as she was on Oahu meeting the Dalai Lama! However, Tony was a lovely and gracious host and took excellent care of us during our 3-day stay. Though the ohana was stocked with ample fruit upon our arrival (avocados, mangoes, oranges), we would come back from a day's activities to find a couple guavas or avocado sitting on our doorstep, and having expressed our partiality for avocado, left with enough to power us through the rest of our week on the island (granted, it was the end of the season and the trees were overflowing). Tony was also a fine guide, showing off his vanilla bean plants, and other tropical plantings. And when we managed to carelessly snap a component of one of the fins provided (along with snorkels and masks), he would not let us take care of it, and quickly provided a replacement. The ohana itself was great--very clean (both in terms of design and cleanliness) and functional. We did not want to leave! I highly recommend taking advantage of the outdoor shower too. In closing, even though it was just the beginning of the mango season, the two that Tony gave us were the sweetest that we had on the entire island during our stay. We have made a note to plan future visits in May so that we can enjoy even more!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • 'A le' ale' a

    'A le' ale' a

    • Guest Michael & Linda (Azalea, OR)
    • Date of stay 02/29/12
    • Review Submitted 03/16/12
    The Honaunau community is a wonderful mix of Hawaiian rural culture and the water activities from Kealakekua Bay to Honaunau Bay. Your description and pictures on VRBO.com accurately depict the ohana at Pukalani. It is exceptionally clean, spacious, comfortable, and peaceful. “Looking forward to sunrise” was never part of my vocabulary before our trip, but that short drive for a morning swim at Two Step was a wonderful start to each day. The day only got better with the return to the ohana to enjoy your fresh organic fruit for breakfast on our private lanai. The sights and sounds of the songbirds in that majestic Monkey Pod tree really enhanced downtime at the ohana. There is such a feeling of serenity that encompasses your property. That special energy made our two week stay, seem timeless. Mahalo Stacey and Tony, for creating a wonderful heart space on the Big Island and taking the time to share Aloha Spirit.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Finding bliss on the Big Island

    Finding bliss on the Big Island

    • Guest Janice and Paul (Corvallis, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 02/25/12
    • Review Submitted 03/22/12
    My husband and I had only 5 days to spend on the Big Island, so we wanted to find a place where we could dive right in to our vacation. We couldn't possibly have found a better place to stay than here with Stacey and Tony. Only half an hour from the airport but far from the noise and bustle of Kona, their peaceful retreat was an easy 10 minute drive to the most amazing places to snorkle, swim with dolphins, kayak, and hike. The ohana itself is spotless, decorated with Tony's sublime artwork, and complete with everything we needed for our stay (including a super-comfy bed!) The grounds are lush, the outdoor shower divine, and the tropical fruits and mac nuts that Stacey and Tony shared with us delicious. (Especially the first ripe mango of the season! Thank you, Tony!) We loved waking early to soft breezes and birdsong coming in through the open door. The views of the ocean and the monkey tree were magical. I loved picking fresh greens in the sweet garden, and Paul could have spent all day cracking and eating mac nuts on the lanai. But it was the feeling of calmness and relaxation that came over us as soon as we arrived that was the best part of our stay. Stacey and Tony are the most gracious and generous hosts one could ask for. They made us feel like we were home. Mahalo for your kindness and your friendship. We can't wait to return!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Peaceful Retreat

    Peaceful Retreat

    • Guest Conscious Completion (Renton, WA)
    • Date of stay 01/24/12
    • Review Submitted 02/13/12
    Thoughtful, caring caretakers have made this place a beautiful retreat with great attention to detail and energy within and around the rental. The fruit is some of the best I have ever tasted and the place is one of the best I have stayed at. I have already recommended this place to many of my clients who need a vacation retreat to heal, relax and be in peace in.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Aloha Spirit

    Aloha Spirit

    • Guest Rebecca (Santa Cruz, Ca.)
    • Date of stay 01/06/12
    • Review Submitted 01/24/12
    We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful studio. Stacey and Tony were the most welcoming hosts that any visitor could hope for. They shared their tasty avacados and papayas with us as well as their aloha spirit and information about the island. The studio was comfortable and large, with all of the necessities, including beach chairs, umbrella and snorkel gear. The view was fantastic, especially for sunsets. The location was near Two Step, the best snorkle spot on the island and Kealakekua Bay, where we swam with dolphins! I took a couple of yoga classes at a beautiful pavillion and retreat center just a half mile walk from the property with a lovely teacher, Hooda. We stayed 12 days and look forward to our next visit to the Big Island and our next stay with Stacey and Tony!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Perfect Retreat

    A Perfect Retreat

    • Guest Stuart & Monique (Edmonton, Canada)
    • Date of stay 11/06/11
    • Review Submitted 11/13/11
    My husband and I arrived to the property late at night after a long day of travel. Even with the late hour Tony gave us a warm welcome and helped us settle in. Stacey made sure we had enough food in the ohana to start our first day with a smile. The fruit was unbelievably fresh and juicy. The ohana was spotless and exactly as pictured/described. What I can't describe is the utter serenity and beauty that wrapped around us just sitting on the lanai. The advantage of the country setting was waking to the relaxing yet rejuvenating sounds of nature instead of the sounds of traffic. We also avoided the daily Kona traffic jam. Our routine became waking up with a delicious cup of Kona coffee, a quick and scenic drive to the best snorkeling I have ever experienced, a leisurely lunch on the lanai and assorted afternoon adventures. There is a lovely yoga class at the Peace Sanctuary, which is walking distance from the ohana. Wonderful kayaking is only a quick drive to Kealakekua Bay. We rented a kayak from Dexter at Maile's; he was super friendly. We ate at restaurants each night and there were many delicious local options close by. Stacey and Tony are such welcoming and generous people; they really made our stay perfect. They answered all our questions and even some we didn't know we had yet. :-) We started planning our next trip back on the plane home.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • I LOVE THIS PLACE!

    I LOVE THIS PLACE!

    • Guest Greenbabe (Sheffield, Massachusetts)
    • Date of stay 10/04/11
    • Review Submitted 10/26/11
    I'm fully convinced that if God has an earthly home, it's in Hawaii. And if God wanted to re-create the Garden of Eden for mortals to enjoy once more, it would be at Stacey and Tony's astonishingly beautiful, welcoming home on the South Kona coast of the Big Island. As a base of operations, it can't be beat. Within easy driving distance of all the attractions on the West side from The Place of Refuge to the great shopping in Kailua Kona, this most special ohana will seduce you with the spirit of Aloha and make you never want to leave. Others have spoken about their experiences at Pukalani, and I won't try to compete with their eloquent and glowing reviews. All I can say is that these incredible people provided me with a haven to recharge and recuperate from a difficult time in my life, guided and assisted me to make sure I found my way to the best and most interesting places to sight-see, and were tirelessly helpful and friendly. There aren't words to adequately describe my gratitude and pleasure in having been their guest. All I can say is thanks, my dear friends, for having exceeded my every expectation. I can hardly wait to return and stay at Pukalani again. Mahalo.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Retreat From The Ordinary

    A Retreat From The Ordinary

    • Guest Stephen
    • Date of stay 09/17/11
    • Review Submitted 10/10/11
    Stacey and Tony, We chose to stay at your lovely ohana because we were seeking something  unique, something different than what we have experienced on previous vacations to Hawaii. We were rewarded beyond our greatest hopes or expectations. The moment we turned down your driveway and saw your amazing home and grounds, the stress of our ordinary mainland lives immediately began to melt away. Your friendly, low-key welcome made us feel as if we were being greeted by old and valued friends. With all of the special and very personal preparations you had made for us, we felt completely at home -- as if we belonged there all along -- as if we were returning home, rather than escaping from it.  The first evening, Nancy and I watched the setting sun dip below the graceful, sprawling canopy of the immense and stately Monkey Pod tree that anchors the grounds to the earth and sky. Like Narcissus, the sun fell in love with its own reflection as it dipped into the ocean, tinting the sky subtle hues of pink and orange in the fleeting light. The afternoons brought the exotic sounds of a tropical island, which as evening approached, gradually and imperceptibly faded into a silence and darkness of night that is unknown to city dwellers. We awoke early to the now-familiar stirrings of the neighboring farms, urging us to make the most of our day and experience. Each morning provided us with fresh opportunities for unique adventures: Snorkeling with Spinner Dolphins at Pu'uhonua O Honanunau; or body-surfing at Hookena Beach. Initially keen to visit all of the local attractions, we eventually rediscovered the simple joy of  "being" -- just relaxing and enjoying the restful environment that surrounded us at our new "home". The greatest gift in celebrating twenty-five years of marriage was rediscovering each other -- reminding both of us of the qualities and attractions that had first brought us together. Your property was the perfect setting and catalyst for that rediscovery, and the memories formed there will last us for the next twenty-five years. While possessed of a vivid imagination, I can't imagine a more vividly memorable vacation. Your property is not one to be visited, but one to be experienced, and treasured. Stephen and Nancy Steward Santa Cruz, California

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Absolutely perfect

    Absolutely perfect

    • Guest John & Di (AZ)
    • Date of stay 09/10/11
    • Review Submitted 10/16/11
    If you are anything like us, you don't like staying in a hotel on your vacation. We've stayed at numerous rentals over the years & we have to say that this vacation rental was by far the best. We looked at several different locations on the Big Island but chose this one because of its proximity to Captain Cook Bay & Kona Town. The reviews did nothing to prepare us for how peaceful and beautiful the homestead was. The owners Stacey and Tony were wonderful hosts - very pleasant & always available to answer our questions about the local sites. Their prime suggestion was an early morning visit to Capt. Cook Bay to swim with the dolphins. A once in a lifetime experience for us! (Ask them about our particular day in the bay....) The apartment was exactly as described & pictured in the rental listing. Unlike many rental listings that neglect to tell the whole truth about their rental - location, amenities & such, this rental far exceeded our expectations. It was well organized, very clean & in a quiet neighborhood. We had a fresh fruit (picked from the trees outside our unit) waiting for us when we arrived - avocado, bananas, & papayas. The grounds where beautiful! Macadamia trees, pineapple plants and those HUGE avocado trees! And at this elevation there was no need for A/C - both the days & evenings were pleasant. Because of the largeness of the Island, we thought we needed to move on to another rental to get a good taste of the Hilo side. None of the other rentals we booked even came close to Stacy's & Tony's. In hindsight we should have booked this rental for our full 9 day stay & spent all of our time on the Kona side with daily excursions to the other parts of the island. John & Diane H.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The true aloha spirit lives here.

    The true aloha spirit lives here.

    • Guest Amber C.
    • Date of stay 07/22/11
    • Review Submitted 08/04/11
    I can only sing the same praises as the other reviews. This place is truely the place to set the tone for a peaceful, rejuvinating, loving vacation with the person you cherish. Stacey and Tony surround you with goodness and the aloha spirit. They are very giving and sharing with information and lovely farm goods, but at the same time give you the space you need to have a relaxing time. We enjoyed the location of the property. It was perfect to go snorkeling or kayaking at two-step (amazing to swim with dolphins and turtles) or Captain Cook and then return to the property to take an outdoor shower. We were able to explore the Kona side of the island no problem. Stacey and Tony provided us with wonderful fruit and veggies from their garden. We were able to make smoothies (blender provided) in the morning and look at the amazing view of the ocean and surroundings from the bedroom. It was a pleasure meeting Stacey and Tony and staying at their beautiful place. After staying five days I was not ready to leave and wished to stay longer had I known what a lovely place it would be. I wish to go back some day and I would highly recommend this place. Aloha!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A Gem

    A Gem

    • Guest Rainbows (Santa Fe, NM)
    • Date of stay 05/13/11
    • Review Submitted 06/10/11
    We could not have picked a better place to stay! The Aloha spirit of the land and of the owners who offered us fruit & flowers, recommendations for activities & their kind smiles, added so much to this already beautiful & clean space to stay in. We were quite comfortable & supplied with everything we needed (we love to cook), right down to snorkeling gear! The area is lush and a private location with an ocean view. We were tired after travel and leaving our busy lives behind only to leave there feeling relaxed and refreshed. Mahalo! We are looking forward to returning already.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The Perfect Holiday

    The Perfect Holiday

    • Guest Beth & Jack (Seattle WA)
    • Date of stay 03/21/11
    • Review Submitted 04/02/11
    The comfortably classy ohana at Stacey and Tony's farm is the best place we've found for true relaxation on the Big Island. We so enjoyed just hanging out, listening to the birdsong and enjoying the view that it was sometimes a bit of an effort to leave. We found ourselves rising early for Kona coffee and fresh fruit, and still having plenty of time to reach the beach (Two-Step and Ho'okena were our favorites). The snorkeling was first class (fish, turtles, spinner dolphins, warm water), and we enjoyed poking around nearby botanical gardens, coffee and nut plantations and the Place of Refuge. Then back to the ohana for lunch before we ran off to explore another facet of Hawai'ian culture. It was perfect in every way! Previous reviews have described Stacey and Tony's warm hospitality, and we add our enthusiasm wholeheartedly.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • This is what VACATION is all about!

    This is what VACATION is all about!

    • Guest Steph and Jay (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 03/09/11
    • Review Submitted 03/30/11
    Reading the other reviews, I don't know that I can say it any better, but will give it a shot. Day one in the ohana I woke to a cacophony of birds that could be described no other way than as magical. A smoothie breakfast with local fruit followed by a warm, welcoming chat in the garden with our warm and hospitable hosts, made for a great start of a vacation. As the week rolled by I lost the watch, wore less clothes, smiled a lot, turned off my cell phone, ignored the internet, enjoyed quality time with my partner, sang out loud, and truly had an amazing, relaxing, vacation. Stacey and Tony were generous, thoughtful, gracious with their garden bounty, and gave great advice regarding restaurants, beaches and other activities. They respected our privacy, yet were always available if we needed anything. The ohana was cozy and welcoming and the outdoor shower a highlight everyday - a shower outside among the birds, sunshine and beautiful foliage…it doesn't get better than that! I agree with all the wonderful things that the other guests have posted. For us, we would simply like to add that this ohana is the perfect place to melt away from the hustle and bustle of life.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Tropical garden setting

    Tropical garden setting

    • Guest Milan & Zdenka (Oregon)
    • Date of stay 02/24/11
    • Review Submitted 03/29/11
    We spent 12 days/nights at the ohana in February/March 2011 and had a fabulous time. The ohana is very private, surrounded by a tropical garden full of ornamental plants and trees and also many fruit bearing trees with a beautiful view of the ocean. In the morning you will awaken to a symphony of bird songs. The owners are two of the nicest people you will ever meet and they like to share the fruits of the garden with their guests. The ohana is located only minutes from two of the best snorkeling places on the island. Also Volcanoes National Park is less than 2 hours drive. We hope to return again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Pukalani (Heavenly Gate) is a fitting name

    Pukalani (Heavenly Gate) is a fitting name

    • Guest Diana & Karl (Sebastopol, CA)
    • Date of stay 01/23/11
    • Review Submitted 02/02/11
    We stayed nine days/nights and we so wanted to stay longer. The owners were very gracious and they live in the Aloha spirit. Everything was clean and inviting and very well maintained. The owners are respectful of privacy and very helpful about where to go locally for snorkeling, food, sightseeing, etc. They also provided snorkel gear, beach chairs and mats, which we very much appreciated having available. We had fresh citrus juice every day from their fruit trees and they also shared veggies from their garden. And the sunsets with the monkey pod tree in the foreground were incredible. This was a home away from home and we could have stayed right there for most of the vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • We'll be back!

    We'll be back!

    • Guest skylort (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 01/19/11
    • Review Submitted 01/28/11
    My husband and I stayed four nights, and that wasn't nearly long enough. The location is perfect; I love this part of the island for relaxing, sunsets, the Place of Refuge, birdwatching, coffee drinking, hiking, and especially snorkeling. The property is very close to the best snorkeling we've ever encountered. And we got lucky and swam with dolphins there! The ohana is wonderful. It's so bright, clean, and comfortable that it was hard to drag ourselves out of it in the morning to go exploring. It has everything you'll need if you want to cook, and the enormous bed is heavenly. The owners have done a beautiful job decorating and outfitting this space. The owners! You won't meet a more warm and respectful couple. They are absolute gems! We recommend this rental wholeheartedly and without any hesitation.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Charming location

    Charming location

    • Guest Peggy (portland)
    • Date of stay 01/07/11
    • Review Submitted 01/13/11
    My husband and I had a wonderful stay at this lovely and comfortable apartment. The studio was immaculate, spacious and well equipped. Our hosts were very gracious, doing whatever they could to make our stay memorable. They provided delicious fresh fruits and veggies from their garden, created a handy, detailed book with local maps and restaurants, and guided us to the best snorkeling spots. The apartment has a beautiful view of the ocean and the grounds are lush. There are yoga classes within walking distance and great Kona coffee everywhere. We loved the outdoor shower and preferred it over the indoor one because of its novelty. This place truly provides travelers with the Aloha spirit.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Big Island Perfection

    Big Island Perfection

    • Guest Kase (Maui)
    • Date of stay 01/02/11
    • Review Submitted 01/19/11
    Drinking freshly squeezed juice from the citrus farm, strolling through the lush green grounds and attending yoga class with Stacey (one of the owners) were just a few of the highlights during our stay. This area of the island is truly paradise and staying in this impeccably clean and well appointed space made the time all the better. Stay here, I promise you'll love it!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxation in Beauty

    Relaxation in Beauty

    • Guest Rob (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 01/02/11
    • Review Submitted 01/17/11
    We were more than happy with our stay at this quaint and elegant studio. The surroundings were spectacular, especially the spacious and all inspiring Monkey Pod Tree that greeted us every morning along with the pleasant sounds of nature. The hosts are amazing people, salt of the earth, with local knowledge to share on yoga, snorkeling, sights, and when/where to swim with the dolphins. This was a great way to start our journey around The Big Island.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Exceptional Setting and Accommodation! E.B. San Diego, CA

    Exceptional Setting and Accommodation! E.B. San Diego, CA

    • Guest EB (San Diego, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/30/10
    • Review Submitted 10/17/10
    Our experience staying at this beautiful property was truly wonderful. The simple luxury of the ohana along with the lush natural surroundings provided a lovely and serene retreat.We had everything we could ask for in comfort and ammenities and felt at home in the ohana. The owners are warm, friendly and devoted to caring for the property, with a deep respect for the Hawaiian spirit.When at Pukalani we had a peaceful sense of seclusion, while activities, shopping and amazing swimming and snorkeling spots were just minutes away. We definitely hope to return to stay here again in the near future.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Place!

    Great Place!

    • Guest EJ (Los Angeles, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/18/10
    • Review Submitted 07/21/10
    I can not say enough good things about this property and the owners. The rental was immaculate and had all the amenities to make our vacation comfortable. The bed was fabulous. The owners were quite helpful in providing information regarding great swim and snorkeling spots and other activities in and around Kona.I would highly recommend this property and will definitely make a return visit!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]