Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Living Room Seating Area

Classic Parisian Apartment [#306614] | View Property

Paris Arrondissement 5
Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)
$ 1,200-1,600/wk, $ 175-230/night
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (26)

Sort by:
  • Mature traveler with young niece

    Mature traveler with young niece

    • Guest Hilary M.
    • Date of stay 03/23/14
    • Review Submitted 04/01/14
    The apartment was ideal for us and met all our expectations. It was warm, cosy and clean and had all the essentials. The location was perfect with everything within walking distance. The apartment has an English speaking Manager which was most useful. The Owner of the apartment has created an ideal space for a wonderful vacation in Paris. I would definitely recommend this apartment.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely quiet flat

    Lovely quiet flat

    • Guest Suzanne S.
    • Date of stay 03/11/14
    • Review Submitted 04/06/14
    We (4 adults) enjoyed four nights in this lovely flat. We've all travelled extensively and rented flats in England, France and Italy. Fran's place is one of the most comfortable, quiet and well-appointed places we've stayed: spotlessly clean, lovely hardwood floors, and elegant furnishings. The metro is close by, as are great streets to explore and places to eat. And her supply of books on Paris will help you plan wonderful daily excursions. We'd be happy to stay here on a return trip. Highly recommended.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Paris Apartment

    Wonderful Paris Apartment

    • Guest Anita (Corvallis, Oregon, USA)
    • Date of stay 10/21/13
    • Review Submitted 11/17/13
    My husband and I spent 6 nights here in October. It was a wonderful location in Paris. Close enough to many sites like Luxembourg Gardens, the Pantheon, rue Mouffetard, Jardin des Plantes, and 2 blocks from the metro to take you anywhere else in the city. The apartment in compact, but has everything you could want, from kitchen items to a washing machine and dryer. It is tastefully decorated and comfortable. And what I liked best, the real feel of Paris, because the other people there are residents, not tourists. It is also quiet, because it faces an inner courtyard. Fran, the owner, is very helpful and easy to communicate with, and provides much useful information for first time Paris visitors, like us.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Location

    Great Location

    • Guest Gillian C.
    • Date of stay 10/14/13
    • Review Submitted 11/08/13
    We spent a week in the apartment in Ocotber. It is located in a great area with lots of restaurants within walking distance. The apartment is fully equipped with everything!! We made good use of all the Paris guide books especially the Walking Tours. Fran provided a very extensive information package about the apartment, local area and restaurants which was very useful. A great place to stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Parisian Apartment

    Great Parisian Apartment

    • Guest Ginny (Destin, FL)
    • Date of stay 08/26/13
    • Review Submitted 09/24/13
    I recently stayed in this apartment for 2 wonderful weeks. It is the first time I have not stayed in a hotel for my visits to Paris. I fell in love with the neighborhood, the location is perfect. Beautiful park across the street, super restaurants, convenient metro stations, grocery stores, and of course the incredible bakeries. .The apartment was very clean and comfortable and the concierge and manager were very helpful and friendly.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Classic Parisian Apartment

    Classic Parisian Apartment

    • Guest M_B (Plano, TX)
    • Date of stay 06/27/13
    • Review Submitted 07/05/13
    This apartment was excellent for my family of four: my wife and I, one teenager, and a tweener. It was very quiet and comfortable, and just as it appeared in the listing. The apartment was impeccably clean and well maintained, with the charm of an old building. The owner provided a ton of excellent and helpful information on the apartment and the surrounding area, and traveling to Paris in general. She is very well organized and a pleasure to deal with. The apartment was recommended to us by a friend who stayed there twice, and we would definitely recommend it to a friend or relative as well. The apartment is in an excellent location in the Fifth Arrandissement, with maybe a five minute walk to the nearest Metro station, Jussieu. From there Paris is at your command, but even on foot we easily walked to Notre Dame, Sainte Chappelle, Luxembourg Gardens, the Pantheon, excellent cafes, markets, bakeries. It was fantastic.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A Perfect Parisian Home Away from Home

    A Perfect Parisian Home Away from Home

    • Guest Abbie G. (Norwalk, Ct)
    • Date of stay 04/26/13
    • Review Submitted 05/11/13
    My friend and I stayed here for our long-planned girl's getaway to Paris, and this apartment was perfect. Fran provided a ton of very helpful information with the keys, including traveling tips, restaurant recommendations and sightseeing to-dos. My friend and I were both delighted when we arrived: the apartment is perfectly situated in an authentic Parisian neighborhood, close to public transportation and very comfortably decorated. The cabinets hold everything you might need from umbrellas to gloves, lotion to hairspray, to spices and wine openers. The kitchen was a lovely place to start the day with a homemade breakfast before leaving for a full day of exploration, and the living room was a welcome retreat after a full day of walking. The neighborhood feels truly authentic without the annoying hustle bustle of the heavy tourist areas, but it's perfectly located to the metro and velib bike stations if you want to brave the crowds. The markets on Place Monge and Rue Mouffetard were magical, and provided lots of gorgeous produce for the week (just make sure to tell the seller when to stop filling your sac-- we ended up with a kilo of tomatoes because we weren't paying attention!). Overall, we loved this apartment, and it was hard to leave! I would definitely recommend Fran's lovely Paris haven to friends, family and Paris lovers.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Neighborhood Feel

    Great Neighborhood Feel

    • Guest Sarah H.
    • Date of stay 04/10/13
    • Review Submitted 04/19/13
    The apartment is situated in a great neighborhood with lots to offer. We greatly enjoyed our stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent, central Paris apartment

    Excellent, central Paris apartment

    • Guest Carl (Kingston, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/31/13
    • Review Submitted 05/19/13
    This apartment is large, and very quiet, in a central location in the 5th Arr. It was in very clean condition for our arrival for a 10-day stay in the first part of April, 2013. Everything was as advertised; the kitchen is well-equiped with all necessary items; furnishings are very comfortable; bathroom facilities - shower, tub, etc., are all in excellent condition; the washer/dryer are very convenient and useful. My wife and I have rented apartments in Paris on different occasions over the past 10 years. This one easily ranks as the best in all respects.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Very well equipped and comfortable apartment.

    Very well equipped and comfortable apartment.

    • Guest Susan (Oak View, California, USA)
    • Date of stay 11/05/12
    • Review Submitted 12/06/12
    My husband and I stayed here with my daughter and her husband. We slept on the sofa bed and it was very comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed: spices, teas, utensils, dishes and cookware. We made breakfast and had appetizers in the afternoon before we went out, very convenient. We were sent very thorough instructions for the apartment, and for dining, shopping, and entertainment, and many good tips about staying in Paris. It was great to have a washer/drier. And the bathroom was split, show/sink/bidet off the bedroom and toilet/sink on the other side of the apartment away from the living area, gives you a sense of privacy. I would love to stay here again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Home sweet home in Paris!

    Home sweet home in Paris!

    • Guest C&L (Denver, CO)
    • Date of stay 10/30/12
    • Review Submitted 11/20/12
    This was our first trip to Paris and also our first try at renting through VRBO, so I was aprehensive on both counts. Things could not have gone smoother! Fran armed us with a tremendous amount of information, starting with how to say the address in French for the cab driver and including a great list of nearby restaurants, markets, places of interest, etc. The apartment is charming and immaculate. The photos do a pretty good job, but it is truly wonderful in person. Everything you could want is available- from the Navigo (subway) cards to shampoo, hair dryer, coffee, tea, etc. Our college-age son joined us for a few nights and the pull out sofa in the living room was perfect for him. The neighborhood is quiet and feels very safe. It's an easy two blocks from the subway station, and also a great location to just walk to a lot of nearby attractions around the Latin Quarter. We wish we could have taken advantage of the nearby markets and the apartment kitchen, but our schedule was packed too full of sight seeing. We ate almost every night at a restaurant either recommended by Fran or by one of the previous guests from the guest book and had good meals at all of them. Also discovered a favorite bakery just a block away. We hope to return again someday and would definitiely try to rent this apartment again. In the meantime, we will recommend this to friends who are traveling to Paris. Being able to come home to our own apartment instead of a hotel room at the end of a long day really added a lot to a fantastic trip.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Former student in Paris, familiar with Latin Quarter, French speaker

    Former student in Paris, familiar with Latin Quarter, French speaker

    • Guest PB (Leonardtown, Maryland, USof A)
    • Date of stay 10/16/12
    • Review Submitted 10/25/12
    I have stayed at other VRBO rentals in Paris before. This apartment is by far the best. It is larger than most, well furnished, clean with a nice bath and soft towels. Its location is a big draw, near the Jussieu Metro and within 5 minuntes walk to Rue Moufftard, where you can buy fresh foods to cook and eat at great, inexpensive restaurants. Equally important, it has a washer/dryer - you don't want to lug your laundry to french laundromats ! If there is one negative is the lack of direct sunlight, being on the 2nd of an 8 floor building. Otherwise, it is a pleasant place and I would certainly rent it again next time in Paris.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Perfect Spot

    Perfect Spot

    • Guest Paula B.
    • Date of stay 09/17/12
    • Review Submitted 08/16/13
    I stayed here with my mother while we visited Paris. It was a lovely apartment, very spacious. The location was perfect. We walked to Rue Mouffetard almost every night for dinner and went to a different restaurant every time. We loved the neighborhood and walked through the park almost every day. This apartment was very clean and in a very charming quiet building. I would stay here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Paris apartment

    Paris apartment

    • Guest suzette (Somerville, MA)
    • Date of stay 08/23/12
    • Review Submitted 09/02/12
    I have stayed in this apartment for the past 2 years in August with 2 friends and have enjoyed every moment. The location is EXCELLENT for walking, eating and anything else you might want to do in Paris. I appreciate the detailed recommendations for guests, the friendliness of the owner and the comfort of the beds. We especially enjoyed the restaurants nearby and the Market at Place du Monge where we bought all the delicious organic ingredients for a "pique-nique" beside the Seine one evening. Fantastique!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Right at home

    Right at home

    • Guest Alec (Concord MA USA)
    • Date of stay 08/06/12
    • Review Submitted 09/07/12
    This was an easy and comfortable stay. A short walk to the lively Rue Mouffetard and the Luxembourg Gardens beyond. The Metro went either directly or with an easy connection to most places we wanted to visit. The apartment itself is scrupulously clean, plenty large enough (we were a couple) and well appointed. It comes with a heavenly, detailed fact sheet that leaves nothing to chance. For nights when you want to stay home, there are several grocery stores nearby, plenty of meal and service plates, WiFi and a big TV.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Apartment

    Perfect Apartment

    • Guest Ruth (Indiana)
    • Date of stay 07/02/12
    • Review Submitted 07/19/12
    I traveled to Paris for the first time with my 70 year old mother and my 15 year old daughter. After looking at many hotels, we decided to explore renting an apartment. I don't regret that decision at all. What a wonderful apartment. The owner has thought of everything! She has guide books, maps, and a file of her suggested places to visit. The apartment is comfortable and conveniently located close to many of the sites. We loved shopping early every morning for our dinner on Rue Muffetard and returning at night to relax and enjoy a dinner at the apartment. The local manager was very helpful and even arranged for a taxi to take us to airport on the day of our departure. Overall, it was a five star stay!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Delightful Apartment

    Delightful Apartment

    • Guest Mo (Sonoma, California)
    • Date of stay 06/13/12
    • Review Submitted 07/07/12
    My pal and I had such a wonderful holiday in Paris at this delightful apartment. The owner has taken time to write invaluable guides for guests, not only for the apartment and the neighborhood, but for transportation, cafes, restaurants, shopping, etc. We ate at several of the restaurants on Mouffetard and enjoyed shopping on Monge on market days. I would not hesitate in recommending this quiet and oh so comfortable apartment to anyone who is looking for a home away from home in an area that is convenient to all the sights of this beautiful city.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Hope To Return

    Hope To Return

    • Guest Andrew (Penicuik, UK)
    • Date of stay 03/03/12
    • Review Submitted 03/13/12
    Been to Paris a few times, but first time we've used a rental rather than a hotel. Excellent apartment in a wonderful area. Short walk from Metro stations for easy access to all of Paris. Jardin des Plantes across the road for relaxing, and the apartment fantastic to return to after a day seeing the sights. Good local markets and shops, and lots of cafes and bars. Nice to have a seperate bedroom rather than a studio set up, and lack of street view didn't spoil our break. Very responsive owner and local contact if anything goes wrong, and some of the neighbours even spoke to us. Highly recomend this apartment.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thank you. It was a pleasure to have you at the apartment. I'm glad you enjoyed the separate bedroom, the locality and my friendly neighbors! Regarding the lack of street view, I agree this a personal choice for renters, the quiet Parisian-style courtyard vs. noisier streetside locations.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Charming, well appointed and a brilliant location

    Charming, well appointed and a brilliant location

    • Guest amanda (Perth, Western Australia)
    • Date of stay 01/26/12
    • Review Submitted 02/14/12
    We absolutely loved this beautiful apartment and the whole experience of living in a quiet residential area that was also close to wonderful markets, bistros, cafes and shops in Place Monge and Rue Mouffetard. It was an easy walk to the Latin Quarter, Ile St Louis and Ile de la Cite, the Marais, the Louvre, and many other places, and three metro stations are close by, for areas a little further afield. My sister and I shared the apartment, and found it comfortable (and that applies to the convertible sofa, which I slept on!), elegant, and well planned and furnished. The owner has thought of everything — even Navigo cards (for the metro/buses) that just need to be charged weekly at any station, maps and books, and a shopping trolley for marketing! I have already recommended the apartment to friends.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Home sweet home-away from home!

    Home sweet home-away from home!

    • Guest Paris lovers from Plano (Plano, TX)
    • Date of stay 12/18/11
    • Review Submitted 02/08/12
    We loved our first stay here so much, we came back and stayed in the same great apartment! Fran, thanks so much for your gracious hospitality, we really feel so comfortable in your flat. The location is perfect, as we really love walking in the Latin Quarter, and it's amazing how close your apartment is to the Notre Dame cathedral, Saint Michel, and the best parts of Paris. We always feel safe coming and going from your flat, and it is nice and quiet, providing a great place to rest, rejuvenate, and get ready for the next day. Your flat has everything we need. Please save a spot for us on your calendar, because we are already planning the next trip.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Perfect Paris retreat

    Perfect Paris retreat

    • Guest Barb (Toronto, Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/03/11
    • Review Submitted 12/17/11
    My husband and I had rented a flat in the area two years ago and were familiar with the charms and appeals of the neighborhood. Fran's beautiful flat was the perfect location, so well equipped, efficient and comfortable and a heaven sent home away from home when we ran into some problems with delayed luggage and a brief illness. The apartment was clean, efficient, quiet and well-provisioned with more than the essentials. Fran provided extensive information on shops, restaurants, markets and her favorite local attractions which were spot on. There is so much within walking distance and the metro stations are just steps away - the ideal Paris location in my opinion and I can't wait to go back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great stay.

    Great stay.

    • Guest Rosemarie E.
    • Date of stay 06/14/11
    • Review Submitted 08/11/11
    I spent eight nights in Fran's Paris apartment with my two teenage children (ages 16 and 17). I found the apartment's Left Bank location family-friendly. Nearby were two Metros; two grocery stores; laundromat; a fun park; and areas with interesting, enjoyable evening strolls. Lots of small eateries. Fran's apartment was comfortable for our needs. The kitchen is cozy and well-equipped. We slept well because of the building's "quiet code." The bathroom was generously stocked with non-fragrant products. I didn't find bath soap, so bring your own, and I thought it was easier and faster to use the local laundromat rather than the apartment's washing machine. The books and maps she had in the apartment were very helpful. I appreciated Fran's quick, helpful responses to my emails when I had questions. Her guest guides were thorough, informative, and easy to read. Her detailed directions from the airport to the apartment made the trip very easy after the long flight. Overall, a great stay. Fantastic memories of "living" in Paris.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Happy Guests

    Happy Guests

    • Guest Maia (Concord, MA)
    • Date of stay 04/15/11
    • Review Submitted 04/27/11
    This is a fantastic place to stay! We loved the location (very near a good Metro stop and a Seine River boat stop), the rue Moufftard area is wonderful, and at night it is very quite for good sleeping (no loud city noises). The apartment is thoroughly furnished & equipped with whatever you might need. Ample space in the apartment too. Pull-out couch is actually very comfortable for sleeping (clever design, there is not bar across your back to make sleeping uncomfortable). We are very happy guests and will happily return to this apartment!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect!

    Perfect!

    • Guest Jamie (San Diego, CA)
    • Date of stay 04/08/11
    • Review Submitted 04/29/11
    My husband and I stayed here for only 2 night in April but I wish it was longer. The location in the Latin Quarter was wonderful and very safe. We walked around late every night, home from Notre Dame down St.Germaine. The bakery on the corner of Monge was AMAZING. I think we tried everything there visiting multiple times a day. She recently added a laptop which was excellent for planning and touching base with friends at home. We were SO comfortable in this home away from home. Laundry and internet facilities were necesary extras for us. We were in Europe for 4 weeks and this was our favorite place by far! We appreciated the extra information about restaurants, shopping, etc.... Thank you Fran!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Cozy, quiet flat in great location

    Cozy, quiet flat in great location

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/19/10
    • Review Submitted 04/25/11
    We had a wonderful time in Paris, and your flat was the perfect home away from home for us. We all really enjoyed walking the streets and soaking up the atmosphere, especially in the Latin quarter. > > The boulangerie down the street (at 28 rue Geoffroy St Hilaire) was our favorite. Their "traditional" bread was always scrumptious and warm -- we frequently bought out their supply. We bought some to take with us for the day and some for dinner each night. We also bought plenty of their desserts. > > The 8 A Huit market just a bit further down from there was perfect for us. We found most every thing there that we needed to make everything comfortable for our family. > > We loved it all so much, we are planning to return very soon, and hope we can stay in your flat again. Thanks!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Classic charm + modern convenience

    Classic charm + modern convenience

    • Guest Cindy (Durham, NC, USA)
    • Date of stay 06/20/10
    • Review Submitted 07/22/10
    This apartment is a comfortable, quiet home-away-from-home for a short stay or an extended visit. From laundry facilities to a lending library, this homeowner has provided some thoughtful extras. A new kitchen, renovated decor, wi-fi and plenty of storage make this a hidden treasure -- all within just several Metro or bus stops from the center of Paris!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]