Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Upper Casa and Lower Casita

Luxury Ocean View 3 Bedroom Home with Optional 2 Bedroom Casita Sleeps 6-10 [#308267ha] | View Property

Playa Hermosa
3 BR, 4.5 BA, Sleeps 10 (with Casita)
$271 - $857/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (73)

Sort by:
  • The house and property exceeded our expectations!

    The house and property exceeded our expectations!

    • Guest rick s.
    • Date of stay 01/05/14
    • Review Submitted 01/29/14
    Playa Hermosa was a good location to check out local attractions daily. Our family of 10,that was made made up of 3 generations, had a wonderful stay. The 2 houses gave us all our own rooms and bathrooms. Daily maid service tidied up the houses while we were out- what a treat to return home to that! There was ample room to spread out. The pools and terrace was where we spent our time when at the house. The property is a short walk to the beach which was also fun with 2 young grandchildren. One week definitely not long enough! Would definitely go back

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Magical and Adventurous Vacation

    A Magical and Adventurous Vacation

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/21/13
    • Review Submitted 01/03/14
    The most accurate word to describe our recent visit to Costa Rica was "Magical". It started with our Villa which we reserved through Beachfront Properties ( HomeAway). Perched high above the Pacific Ocean, it affored us a magnificent view which we enjoyed from our porch and swimming pool. Our concierge, Gus, helped us with the local arrangements which included, fishing, sailboating, snorkling, zip-lining as well as a jungle boat tour. The local restaurants ranged from elegant to local color. In all cases the food was wonderful. We grilled the fish we caught, and found the local fruits, vegetables and meats to be excellent. Don't forget to try the Costa Rican coffees which have no equal. This is as good a choice for a family vacation as one could find. Whether reading around the pool or enjoying an adventurous outing there are things for everyone. Just bring shorts and bathing suits and possibly one pair of khakis to be well dressed for this vacation. The Villa we rented was well equiped with all the comforts of home. The Gaynor Family

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Our Family Christmas Get Together

    Our Family Christmas Get Together

    • Guest mary ellen m.
    • Date of stay 12/22/12
    • Review Submitted 02/08/13
    Coming from various parts of Canada we met up with our adult children and their partners at this great place in beautiful Costa Rica. Puesta del Sol house and casita was perfect to allow everyone private space and great family time together. The furnishings and kitchen gadgets were very sufficient but a bit dated. Still the entire place was very clean and well maintained by great staff. We loved the pool area and very comfortable outdoor furnishings. The neighbourhood was well maintained, secure, and private. We liked the little town - good little grocery store, a 10 minute walk to the beach with a couple of great little bar/restaurants to eat at. We walked to the beach to snorkel. It was a short drive to other towns and only 20 minutes to the airport. We had a great time - we'd recommend this property to other families, and we'd go back ourselves.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Puesta del Sol -- My new favorite!!!

    Puesta del Sol -- My new favorite!!!

    • Guest Paige28 (Germantown, TN)
    • Date of stay 10/07/12
    • Review Submitted 11/11/12
    I have stayed in several homes leased by Jeff's company and this is my new favorite. The swim up bar and outdoor kitchen area were great!! It has an outdoor shower and a restroom so you rarely have to go inside for anything. But when you do go inside everything was perfect. This home has all of the entertainment electronics you could ever want, including a land line to the states. I saved hundreds of dollars on my phone bill alone! Once again, thanks for a wonderful vacation! I am already looking at my calendar for the spring. Paige. Germantown, TN.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Spring Break 2012

    Spring Break 2012

    • Guest Maureen L.
    • Date of stay 03/11/12
    • Review Submitted 03/24/12
    We (2 adults and 2 kids ages 10 and 7) rented just the house and it was exactly as described. The owner of the property was very prompt in responding to any questions. He took the time to call and discuss the house, amenities and area activities. The manager/concierge (Guss) was very helpful, professional and always answered his phone if we had any questions. The property itself was meticulously kept. The view from the patio of the sunsets over the ocean were breathtaking (just like the owner said). The pool was perfect. The maid service was excellent and more than expected as she not only cleaned the house and changed out the linens, she laundered our clothes as well. It was so nice to come home and have a clean place and clean clothes. There is a number to call for in home massages. If you stay here, do it! So worth it. Traveling in and around the area was easy. Grocery stores and shopping are close by. The people are very friendly. There is fresh fruit everywhere you look. Buy it. You won't be sorry. We fished at Hermosa catching at least 20 red snapper plus quite a few other fish. The fishing guide, Albany Vallejos, had the best fresh pineapple on board for a snack! For $5 per person the restaurant associated with the fihing guide will clean and cook your catch. We cooked our own at the house where we loved to just chill. We surfed at Tamarindo (a little over an hour away) with Kelly's Surf Shop, four wheeled to Pirates Bay (a gorgeous private beach) with Fourtrax Adventure ATV Tours, and zip lined with Pinilla Canopy Tours. The only thing about this trip was that it was the dry season, so if you want to see an oasis, don't go in March or April. It didn't bother us because everything else was so great. We would recommend this property to anyone, anytime. We intend to go back very soon. Would we rent this house again? Absolutely!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Wow! What a great time in paradise.

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Wow! What a great time in paradise.

    • Guest Jim
    • Date of stay 01/21/12
    • Review Submitted 04/01/12
    Wow! What a great time in paradise. This trip was a Christmas present from my wife and I to my kids and other family members (13 of them) that was truly the gift that kept on giving. We spent (2) exciting weeks of fun and relaxation at the beautiful, comfortable, spacious and secure villa Puesto Del Sol, which also included a separate but equally nice casita that accommodated the overflow of people aged 5 to 89. Great accommodations, terrific pools, (both the main house and the casita had their own), endless activities and stunning views of the ocean from our mountainside perch made this a truly memorable experience. The crew at Beach Front Properties, which included our agent Tim Ellis and concierge Guss really took care of our every need and their advice and assistance was invaluable in making the most of our time there. The property was well maintained and included a generous amount of space for our family to spread out---the daily maid service (Elsey) was a much appreciated bonus. We also hired a local women "Rocio's Kitchen" who prepared (3) different Costa Rican meals for us, each one of them unique, authentic and very tasty. There were also plenty of excellent restaurants in the area we enjoyed. Additionally, we took almost daily advantage of the fantastic array of activities offered through Tico Tours, to explore the area and take advantage of day-trips that included zip-lining, sail boat cruises, beach hopping, horse-back riding, hot springs, ATV ‘ing, snorkeling, river boat excursions, you name it. Our guide, Bernal Mata, the owner of Tico Tours, was without question the most knowledgeable, attentive and fun-to-be-with guide any of us had encountered while on vacation and most of us have traveled the world. His direction, input and adventurous spirit were indispensable for getting the most out of 14 days in paradise. Overall, everything worked out beautifully and I guess the best recommendation we could give is---we'll be back later this year!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Paradise Estate with view of sunset over water

    Paradise Estate with view of sunset over water

    • Guest Brigitte (Cambridge)
    • Date of stay 12/22/10
    • Review Submitted 02/23/11
    The listing description was very accurate, the property was clean and the cleaning personnel was fabulous. I would highly recommend this property to any friends and family members that are interested. We liked that the property was in easy walking distance from the beach and that several different beaches could be easily accessed by car. We especially loved the infinity pool at sunset and the bar that is located inside the pool. We also liked the local restaurants, especially Ginger and Papagallo.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Lovely Home! Would Definitely Stay Here Again!!

    Lovely Home! Would Definitely Stay Here Again!!

    • Guest hearingdoc (San Diego)
    • Date of stay 11/08/10
    • Review Submitted 11/20/10
    We loved and enjoyed our stay. It was probably one of the best vacations we've had with friends. We would definitely stay at this place again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • great place for a relaxing week with the family

    great place for a relaxing week with the family

    • Guest dbfam (bay area, CA)
    • Date of stay 02/13/10
    • Review Submitted 02/21/10
    Casa Puesta del Sol is a beautiful home with a breathtaking view of the Pacific Ocean, especially the sunsets. Our kids loved the pool! We bbq-ed and ate out by the pool and watched the sunsets. Elsie was fantastic. She came and cleaned and washed clothes and did everything so we could just relax. During the day we explored different beaches in the area and then returned to swim or enjoy the lovely air-conditioned and well appointed home. Gus, the concierge, made sure we had everything we needed and we felt we could call on him for anything. We would highly recommend this property if you are visiting the guanacaste region. Playa Hermosa is very quiet with a few great restaurants (try Ginger's), pretty close to the airport, and away from the hustle and bustle of some of the larger villages. We would recommend renting a car if you are staying here.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • "Excellent Outdoor Living Space"

    "Excellent Outdoor Living Space"

    • Guest BCJen (BC, Canada)
    • Date of stay 01/20/10
    • Review Submitted 02/09/10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Puesta del Sol. Gus showed us around when we got there and was there to answer any questions we had after and throughout the week. The maids were very pleasant and stayed out of your way. We didn't spend a whole lot of time inside (except to sleep and some prep work in the kitchen) because the outdoor living space was awesome. We used the pool(s), outdoor bar,the deck and the BBQ daily. The few times we did leave the house for a while, we we glad to get back to our home away from home. We have a three year old daughter and the main pool was great for kids. We preferred being away from the beach (better view) but the beach was only a short walk or a 3 min drive from the house. We would highly recommend the Casa Puesta del Sol to any family

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Honeymoon--No Car Necessary!

    Wonderful Honeymoon--No Car Necessary!

    • Guest Bekah130 (Detroit)
    • Date of stay 12/12/09
    • Review Submitted 01/25/10
    My husband and I stayed at Casa Puesta del Sol for a belated honeymoon this past December. I chose the house because some girlfriends and I had stayed there 4 years ago for spring break and loved it. The trip was absolutely everything we could have hoped for. We initially planned to have a rental car, but when that didn't work out we were so relieved to discover that we absolutely did not need a car anyway. The concierge, Guss, made sure we had a ride anywhere we wanted to go. But almost everything was walking distance anyway--two groceries, restaurants, and even the beach was less than 10 minutes away. The house was pristene, the pool was gorgeous, and the whole week was wonderful. We took one adventure trip to Rincon de la Vieja national park, and Guss organized a ride and a tour guide for us. The rest of our days were spent at the beach and at our own private pool. I would encourage any couple or small group who wants the benefit of total privacy and the convenience of a great location to make a reservation here.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fantastic vacation spot!

    Fantastic vacation spot!

    • Guest LaurenNW (Virginia)
    • Date of stay 04/19/09
    • Review Submitted 05/02/09
    My friends and I spent the week at Casa Puesta del Sol and absolutely fell in love with it. The house was amazing, had the most beautiful view I have ever seen, and was in a quaint beach town with a quiet, secluded beach. The location was perfect, a short walk or drive to the beach, and there was always an extremely helpful concierge available and daily maid service for the house and casita. I look forward to returning soon to watch the amazing view of the sunset from the infinity pool. Absolutely stunning! I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a fun and relaxing vacation!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Our perfect holiday

    Our perfect holiday

    • Guest CR LOVERS (Ontario Canada)
    • Date of stay 01/03/09
    • Review Submitted 02/06/09
    We can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay at Puesta de sol. We come back to Costa Rica every year because of two things----The weather and the people!! The staff at Puesta de Sol is amazing. Gus hands over the keys and is available for any questions you might have.Elsie takes care of the house and is the sweetest lady you would ever want to meet. Her niece Diana sometimes helps out and is a real doll. Cujo, Elsie's husband is there to help with anything you can imagine around the house. He is a real handy man and a great guy. The house itself is so comfortable and great for a small or large group. My husband and I spent a month and did not want to leave. We spent the first few days on our own and it was very relaxing. You can go for a walk to the beach,walk the length of the beach and be back in less than an hour. The view of the ocean is breathtaking. We took many sunset pictures. We had monkeys in the trees near the house and a pair of parrots making a nest in the tree at the pool. The pool and pool bar is were we spent most of our time. It is a perfect outside area with lots of comfortable furniture. Friends and family arrived after a few days and filled the bedrooms and casita,which is a surprizingly large two, bed two bath guest house with it's own little pool and is quite private from the main house. We never felt crowded. It is a perfect location to do many day trips(Zip lining,hot springs,surfing beaches, fishing, snorkling or just relaxing) Thank you Jeff and your amazing staff for a vacation we will never forget. Harold and Debbie Parry Sound Canada

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Casa and Casita Puesta del Sol - Paradise

    Casa and Casita Puesta del Sol - Paradise

    • Guest Jill N from Maryland (Clarksville, Maryland, USA)
    • Date of stay 12/24/08
    • Review Submitted 01/05/09
    We just wanted to let you know what a wonderful time we had in Playa Hermosa over Christmas 2008. Casa (and Casita) Puesta del Sol were amazing, with plenty of room for 4 adults and five teenagers and beautiful views and a great, relaxing environment. Sitting on top of the hill overlooking the cove was the perfect location. It was close to town (we actually walked home from the beach one day) but peaceful, too. I think we could have spent the next 10 months just sitting out by your pool from sunrise to sunset. Playa Hermosa was definitely a good choice for us. There were lots of places to eat -- Ginger, El Velero Hotel, La Finisterra and Villa del Suenos for New Year's Eve was really a great evening. And these were all in Playa Hermosa. Of course, we loved Father Rooster's in Ocotal on the beach and Papagayo seafood in Coco. Don't go to Ocotal Beach Resort for dinner -- YUK!, with racoons on the patio to boot! Guss, our concierge, was so great in helping to set our activities, getting us settled and fixing the very few minor things that we needed. Our housekeepers were also very friendly and it was such a nice luxury to have a spotless house and clean clothes to come home to after a day of fun activities -- there were always plenty of clean towels. Please continue to recommend Rafael at MOA to your other clients, as he was fabulous and made all of our excursions totally enjoyable. We loved the white water rafting, ziplining, trip to Miravelles volcano and the rainforest climb including the swim in the waterfall. The snorkeling/sunset cruise with Tahini tours in Hermosa was also a lot of fun. Marisio at H2O Sports in Playa Panama was very accomodating for our jet ski adventure. This was one of our best vacations ever -- for the teenagers AND the adults. We will definitely recommend visiting Guanacaste and Puesta del Sol to all of our friends. Take care and we hope you and your families have a happy and healthy new year.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • One of the Best Family Vacations!

    One of the Best Family Vacations!

    • Guest elaine4259 (Cleveland, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 07/06/08
    • Review Submitted 07/22/08
    I just want to thank Beachfront Properties and their staff for showing me and my family a fabulous time while staying at the home Casa Puesta Del Sol. It was even more beautiful than the pictures. The house opens up to the backyard and overlooks the ocean. We sat on the veranda and watched the rains come in around 5PM almost every evening. We had a cleaning lady and concierge everyday. While me and my family rented the main house, my brother and his friends rented the casita and it worked out perfectly. We went on several excursions (Uno Mas Adventure Tours)(horsebackriding, fishing, snorkeling) and loved the local guys who took us on them. We became good friends and even had them to dinner!! I hope we can go back next year. We all loved it, Purda Vida! Elaine & Family

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Great Patio. Great Sunsets.

    Great Patio. Great Sunsets.

    • Guest John & Leslie (Delta, B.C., Canada)
    • Date of stay 04/04/08
    • Review Submitted 05/27/08
    We stayed at Puesta del Sol for two weeks. My wife and myself in the Casita and my son,wife,grandson, daughter and husband in the main house. The views from the patio out over Hermosa Bay are fantastic and the sunsets breathtaking. The infinity pool is great. I spent most of my time at the pool's edge soaking in the views. The pictures of this beautiful home don't do it justice. We saw lots of wildlife from the patio. A family of howler monkeys,many different types of birds:Motmots, parrots, orioles, flycatchers, squirrel mockingbirds, magpie-jays and hummingbirds. Gus (the concierge) was very helpful. He met us when we arrived and took us to the house and recommended some great tours: Tahini Tours Snorkeling and Sunset dinner cruise. Congo Trail Canopy Tour was great. Safe with good staff looking after you. The Tempisque River tour by Mountain MOA was fantastic for us and our grandson. Lots of crocodiles, lizards and birds. We pulled into shore and a dozen capuchin monkeys came down to the boat. That made my grandson's trip.One peered over the top of the boat right into his camera. Elsie (the maid) took great care of us. She looked after cleaning the house and doing the laundry. Even washing the dishes if they weren't done yet. We all enjoyed touring around to the different beaches but couldn't wait to get back to the house and pool. We would recommend this home to anyone. Thanks Jeff.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • GREAT vacation

    GREAT vacation

    • Guest Beth and friends (Iowa, USA)
    • Date of stay 01/01/08
    • Review Submitted 03/31/08
    We had a group of 5 couples that stayed at Casa Puesta del Sol and the Casita. It was wonderful… to say the least. The main house and pool were great and had everything we needed. We loved the swim up bar where people could interact in and out of the pool. The new Casita was beautiful as well. We really enjoyed the small pool at the Casita; it was more intimate and relaxing. Both parts of the property were all we needed and then some. It worked perfectly for our group and would work for families traveling with kids too. The daily maid service was so helpful and made it truly a carefree vacation…no dishes or laundry! We took advantage of the grill out side and that was nice. We loved being able to make our own food, drinks, and snacks some of the time. We could just kick back when we wanted to and hang out at the house. Gus was very friendly and helpful. He gave us some good tips on where to eat and things to do. We had the perfect balance between seeing Costa Rica and hanging out by the pool overlooking the Pacific. It was truly a mesmerizing view. And pictures don’t do it justice. As far as activities, we took the sunset tour Gus recommended and loved it. We ended up chartering the Catamaran again later in the week for a whole day out on the water. We also did the Zip line tour at Rincon de la Vieja. WOW… that was a favorite of all of us and we would recommend it to anyone and everyone. The drive was interesting but made it part of the adventure. We also went white water rafting on the Tenorio River. Again, amazing!! Between the zip line and rafting it is hard to say which was more fun and thrilling. The house at Playa Hermosa was perfectly located so that we could get to and from everything we wanted to do easily. The furthest we had to drive was 1 ½ hours which really was not bad and gave us the opportunity to see the Costa Rican country side. Thank you Jeff for a great vacation experience and all the help and advice. We really had a great time and look forward to returning some time…maybe bring the kids when they get a little older. It was also an honor to get to meet you in person!! We will recommend your House and Casita to anyone we know heading to Costa Rica…PURA VIDA!! Warmly, Beth and Crew

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/9

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Katie_HAC120757 (Santa Ana, Costa Rica)
    • Date of stay 01/01/08
    • Review Submitted 01/13/08
    Hi Jeff - Althought we've been back to "reality" for 3 months now, I wanted to take a moment to thank you for a wonderful stay at Casa Puesta del Sol. Although we were in Playa Hermosa during the rainiest time in 15 years (October 2007), your home was a wonderful haven. The view and the black sand beaches were beautiful beyond description. A special thanks to your Costa Rican team for the personalized service...especially for preparing a wonderful dinner of comida tipica. Thans Again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Stephanie_HAC117010 (Calgary, Alberta)
    • Date of stay 12/01/07
    • Review Submitted 12/12/07
    My husband and I, plus 2 other couples stayed at hte Casa Puesta del Sol November 22nd for a week. What a beautiful house....the pictures do not do it justice! Upon arrival, the rental car agency was wonderful and directions provided were perfect...we did not make one wrong turn! The house itself had everything we needed, the outside lounge area/pool is where we spent 90% of our time. The evenings were beautiful, during the days perfect for lounging in the pool and looking at the wonderful view! I would highly recommend this property to anyone! The food was great at all the restauarnts recommended, very reasonable and friendly. We spent a lot of time touring the beach communities, and mingling with the locals..who were very friendly and accomodating! I would have no hesitation going back, and staying at this property. Thank so much!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Dominic & Eileen Fedele (Howell, New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 11/01/07
    • Review Submitted 11/18/07
    Jeff, we just wanted to thank you for letting us stay at Casa Puesta del Sol. The house is beautiful and extremely comfortable in many ways. Thank you for all your recommendations on touring and helping us pull all the details together. We were a family of 6 and we all enjoyed ourselves. We loved waking up in the morning, chilling on the patio or having an early morning dip in the pool. The backyard is truly a dream, early morning, midday or evening sunset. We spent many mornings preparing breakfast and the kitchen was accomodating and made this easy for us. Your concierge (Gus Mora) was extremely helpful and friendly. We always felt safe at your home and enjoyed knowing that we could call Gus for information at anytime. When we went on the Arenal tour with Mountain MOA,Outdoor Adventures, the tour guide Raphael was so informative and fun. We had lots of laughs and learned alot about Arenal and the area. We enjoyed the ride out to Arenal, lunch was delicious and the restaurant was totally enjoyable. We enjoyed the hot springs and swimming in the various pools at Hotel Los Lagos Resort. Dinner was very good and even though it rained in the evening we managed to enjoy the scenery. We totally enjoyed eating at the great restaurants in Playa Hermosa. The fish at Seafood Papagayo was excellent and very reasonable, we ate there twice. Our Tahini Tours snorkeling trip on the 50 ft. catamaran was great. The captain and crew were extremely hospitable and informative about Costa Rica. It was fun learning from natives about the environment and culture. Our zip line ecursion was a blast. We enjoyed the crew at The Congo Trail. We laughed so much and we all concluded that we would definately do it again. Some of us thought that we would not be able to handle the height but, we did it. We were all so happy we took the chance to zip line in Costa Rica. Recommend it for anyone. We will be back some day, for now, thanks for the memories......THE FEDELE'S

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/4

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Schmidt
    • Date of stay 03/13/07
    • Review Submitted 03/12/07
    Hi Jeff, I just wanted to shoot you an e-mail and thank you for letting us stay in your wonderful house. We had a fabulous time and as you can tell from the pictures..... we loved the pool. We traveled to several beaches and had a wonderful sunset sail from Captain Joe on our last night on his beautiful 50ft catamaran. Great place - great time. We compared your place to every other place we saw and decided that "our house" was the best place around by far. We also had a screech owl friend that lived in the tree by the grill that we named "owly" that hung out with us every day. He was a nice pet to have around - don't worry we didn't feed him. Talk to you next year!! Thank you,Susy Schmidt

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Darcy Vanderlan (Eugene OR)
    • Date of stay 03/01/07
    • Review Submitted 03/01/07
    We were lucky enough to stay at Puesta del Sol during the early part of February. It is a beautiful home in a peaceful and relaxing setting. We saw far more birds in the backyard here than we did in the Monte Verde cloud forest. Watching the sunset fade to dusk and then hearing the owls and howler monkeys wake-up became a special nightly ritual. We loved it here and hope to return soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/4

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest lvrn (Potomac Maryland)
    • Date of stay 03/01/07
    • Review Submitted 03/01/07
    We truly enjoyed the week we spent at your beautiful home. We spent most of our time relaxing on the patio and enjoying the pool. The views were amazing, and every night the sunset was a treat! I'm still sorting through my many sunset photos to decide which ones to frame. We also got to see many monkeys in the trees near the house- and beautiful birds. A wonderful experience!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest James Kidd (Llano, Texas USA)
    • Date of stay 02/01/07
    • Review Submitted 02/16/07
    Our stay in late November and early December at Casa Puesta del Sol was a delight. The facilities, the comforts, the view and the personal services were all first class. We could even have managed with no more than one change of clothes since the very nice and efficient maid did our laundry every day. She also ironed and cleaned the house. The terrace was a favorite spot to relax in the cool of the morning and for evening wine sipping and sunset watching. Jeff called us several times to make sure that we were having no problems and he was a great source of information on dining, touring and shopping facilities. We did spend a lot of time using the kitchen and found it to have everything we needed. We are two couples who travel the world together, we from the USA and our friends from England, all retired. We enjoy the full facilities and slow pace of villas and like to do our own cooking as we desire. The Casa Puesta del Sol was perfect for us. Thanks, Jeff, we hope to return someday.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Travis_HAC65364 (Topanga, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/01/06
    • Review Submitted 10/01/06
    Our 2 week honeymoon stay at Casa Puesta Del Sol was spectacular. Besides the great surf at Playa Grande, the mountains of Monte Verde and Lake Arenal, we really enjoyed our time relaxing in Playa Hermosa and watching the spectacular sunsets from Casa Puesta del Sol. Such an amazing view from the pool!!! The house was very clean and well kept - we were extremely please with our choice of honeymoon destination and vacation rental. I wish I was back there right now!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest The Gildea Family (Darien, Connecticut)
    • Date of stay 08/01/06
    • Review Submitted 08/16/06
    Jeff, as we discussed after our trip to Costa Rica we had a great time at Casa Puesta del Sol. We went in late June and the weather was just fine. Your house was great with ample room for a family of four. We did most of our recreational activities (rainforest, waterfall, volcano, hiking, rafting, swinging through the trees) in the Arenal area. Except for snorkeling we spent most of the time in Playa Hermosa relaxing by the pool watching the great sunsets and eating out at the great local restaurants. We ate at Hotel Villa del Sueno, Hotel Valero, La Finestiera, Ginger, Papagayo Seafood and a Peruvian restaurant in Playa Coco that I can't remenber the name. All food was great at reasonable prices. Jeff, we would definately come back to your lovely house.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Mandy_HAC60795 (Independence, VA)
    • Date of stay 08/01/06
    • Review Submitted 08/15/06
    Having lived in many countries, and vacationed around the world, we really expect alot when we choose our vacation home. We could not have been more pleased than we were with Jeff's house. Gorgeous view, beautiful home, great location, very well planned and well equipped. Even loved the CD's that were in the house. Nothing could beat throwing the doors open, listening to the music, grilling, eating, and enjoying the night! We did alot of exploring, found some wonderful beaches with clear water that we had all to ourselves. My husband and I were with our 18 year old son and his girlfriend so we had an actioned packed trip. We spent the last couple of days at Arenal and zip lined and enjoyed Tabacon Springs. It was quite an adventure to get there during the rainy season but well worth it. Seeing the volcano at night was incredible--but I had trouble sleeping wondering if the roads would be passable in the morning to get out for our flight! No one on this sight has done Jeff's house justice- there is no way to- I just would have loved to have had an extra week to recover from a trip with teenagers and never leave the house! I will be happy to email anyone more pictures if you want them. Jeff, all your information was very helpful. The Peruvian restaurant in Coco was great. Thank you again, Mandy

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Jay McGirt (Orlando, Florida)
    • Date of stay 08/01/06
    • Review Submitted 08/14/06
    I would have to say that this was one of the most amazing trips that I have taken in my life! We were immediately thrilled with the house and the spectacular views of paradise from the porch. Each and every sunset, sitting by the gorgeous infinity edge pool, was a memory that my family and I will keep forever! Jeff, you were so unbelievably helpful in guiding us in the right direction for everything, and we are so grateful for the fantastic experience of Casa Puesta Del Sol. The men caught fish on each fishing outing, and we ended up with more than we could cook! We ate in several nights and also had the opportunity to go out to the restaurants in town. La Finesterra, at your recommendation, was one of our favorites. Excellent food and great service made for an unforgettable last night for all of us. The truth is all of our meals were delicious! We especially enjoyed the canopy tour, as well as browsing and shopping in the surrounding villages. We found the resident vendors extremely pleasant and accommodating. We luckily met Mario, a local young man who accompanied us on a tour and assisted us in commissioning a boat and captain for a day of fishing. In addition to all of our fantastic trips and experiences, I believe that one of our favorites was enjoying your beautiful home with its exquisite view of the mountains and the water. We truly savored the taste of Costa Rica! It is our wish to definitely return! Again, we thank you for your hospitality in providing us with the most useful information in regards to our glorious trip! Hopefully until next year, The McGirt Family

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Tom and Ana Leonard (Rockledge, FL)
    • Date of stay 08/01/06
    • Review Submitted 08/13/06
    I would like to start by thanking Jeff for sharing his vast knowledge of the area and all the help he gave us while at his house. He went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable about making the trip and he made sure all was right when we got there. He also followed up with us after we returned to the US to make sure everything went well. Great Job Jeff. Our family was at Jeff's home from July 22 thru July 31. I will say that this was the most relaxing vacation we have ever taken. The house and property were the highlight of the trip. His housekeeper is the nicest person you would want to meet. The area has many very good places to eat and plenty of shopping. If you like to fish or snorkle, you won't be disappointed. The local people are friendly and the beer is cold. I have spent many years overseas in a number of countries and would rank Costa Rica at the top of the list. The weather was great and so many things to see and do close to Jeff's home. We took over 700 photos while we were in Costa Rica and probally could have taken 700 more. Jeff was not kidding about the sunsets. WOW.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Jay Mcgirt (Orlando, Florida)
    • Date of stay 08/01/06
    • Review Submitted 08/13/06
    I would have to say that this was one of the most amazing trips that I have taken in my life! We were immediately thrilled with the house and the spectacular views of paradise from the porch. Each and every sunset, sitting by the gorgeous infinity edge pool, was a memory that my family and I will keep forever! Jeff, you were so unbelievably helpful in guiding us in the right direction for everything, and we are so grateful for the fantastic experience of Casa Puesta Del Sol. The men caught fish on each fishing outing, and we ended up with more than we could cook! We ate in several nights and also had the opportunity to go out to the restaurants in town. La Finesterra, at your recommendation, was one of our favorites. Excellent food and great service made for an unforgettable last night for all of us. The truth is all of our meals were delicious! We especially enjoyed the canopy tour, as well as browsing and shopping in the surrounding villages. We found the resident vendors extremely pleasant and accommodating. We luckily met Mario, a local young man who accompanied us on a tour and assisted us in commissioning a boat and captain for a day of fishing. In addition to all of our fantastic trips and experiences, I believe that one of our favorites was enjoying your beautiful home with its exquisite view of the mountains and the water. We truly savored the taste of Costa Rica! It is our wish to definitely return! Again, we thank you for your hospitality in providing us with the most useful information in regards to our glorious trip! Hopefully until next year, The McGirt Family

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Mr. & Mrs. Melcher (Rancho Murieta, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/01/06
    • Review Submitted 08/13/06
    What can we say when everything we did and saw was so very wonderful and beautiful. There are no words that could explain how much we enjoyed the beautiful home, Casa Puesta del Sol, with a wonderful "Elsie" to clean up and take care of us. The wonderful fireflies gave us a show every night and the Howler Monkeys sounded their joyous sounds to the evening as well as the sound of Geckos. If we could reitre to Costa Rica we would. Especially in the area the Casa Puesta del Sol is in. Our daughter bought a coffee farm and has a beautiful piece of property not far from San Ramon. Even has a view of the ocean.It is hard to stop writing about Costa Rica. Thanks Jeff for a wonderful vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Bill Sparks (Texas)
    • Date of stay 07/01/06
    • Review Submitted 07/04/06
    If you are searching for a great place to stay in Costa Rica, look no further than Jeff Grayson and Casa Puesta del Sol. Casa Puesta del Sol is a true gem and Jeff is by far the most informative and friendly host you will ever encounter. I can assure you that pictures do not do the house or the area justice. You just have to see if for yourself. If you think I'm kidding shoot me an email and I can give you more info. We went at the beginning of the green season (June), and the weather couldn't have been better. It would rain once or twice a day for a short time and then the sun would come out. Sitting on the porch and watching the rain roll in off the coast is so relaxing. If you were to stay in a hotel you would be stuck in your room, but at Jeff's house you can hang out and watch the magic. Then a short time later when the sun comes out you can cruise down to the beach, head over to Coco or ventue off into the canopy. We rented a car (a must), which enabled us to do our own adventuring. We went flyfishing for sails, rode some monster waves for two straight days and spotted a number of troops of monkeys. The food was sublime. Gingers serves up some killer tapas (we had four different plates each) and the ceviche was awesome everywhere we went. We also went to the Super Luperon and scored a case of beer, two bottles of wine, a bottle of rum and an entire cart full of food (we ate in a number of nights cooking up our fish on Jeff's grill) and the total bill was only $100!! We also ate at the Peruvian restaurant in Coco and it was wonderful. Bottom line, you can't go wrong with Jeff, Century 21 and Casa Puesta del Sol. I think the only thing that bummed us out was that we only stayed for a week. Next time we are going for two weeks, no doubt about it. Felices viajes

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Colleen Hazelwood (B.C. Canada)
    • Date of stay 06/01/06
    • Review Submitted 05/31/06
    We are a group of 6, 3 couples, who stayed at this spectacular home May 2006. The pictures really don't do the home justice, and in fact, if you would like more pictures, please feel free to e-mail me. We were so relieved when we walked into Jeffrey's home, as it is beautiful, and the view and pool amazing. When you rent online you are always worried, and it was such a relief when we saw this amazing site. We all had trouble leaving the property to visit other areas and were always glad to come “home.” Jeffrey does an absolute amazing job with making you feel comfortable. He is a wealth of information, and spent countless e-mails, and even called me directly, to answer any questions, as to his home, the surrounding area, and in regards to Costa Rica, in general. He called the first day to see if everything was to our satisfaction and called our last day as well. You get the use of his cell phone also, which is a very nice touch. We loved our stay, would highly recommend this site (can't say the same for the other site we rented...but that's another story). We found it very hard to leave. We spent 5 nights and are disappointed that we didn’t book for longer. Well, maybe next time. Great job Jeffrey, and thanks again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Margaret Young (Not Specified)
    • Date of stay 05/01/06
    • Review Submitted 05/14/06
    Our family of 5 enjoyed 4 nights at Jeff Grayson's house mid-April. The house is really lovely and very comfortable. The kitchen is well-equipped, the bedrooms are good-sized, the beds are comfortable, and bathrooms are nicely done. The pool is very clean, and the view is spectacular. The daily maid service seemed unnecessarily luxurious but Elsie is a lovely person. With 3 kids 13 and under, we ate most meals at home - the SuperLuberon supermarket over in Coco is an excellent market, including fresh meat which was hard to find other places in Costa Rica. You can get fresh fish at a fish processing plant on the road down to the Coco beach, just past the left turn to the beach at Ocotal. We loved eating dinner on the terrace after watching the sunset, and then the kids had another dip in the pool before bed. Our older kids learned to scuba dive with Diving Safaris, which they loved, and we all went deep sea fishing and snorkeling. If you want to go fishing or snorkeling, just walk down to Playa Hermosa and ask around for the local folks that take visitors out - it's an informal arrangement but it definitely works. For us, with younger kids, this was even better than staying in a top notch hotel - the facilities were just as nice, we had lots of room and lots of privacy, and we could eat simply and when we wanted. Would definitely recommend it.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Ben J. (Chilliwack, B. C.)
    • Date of stay 05/01/06
    • Review Submitted 05/09/06
    We enjoyed 8 days at Casa Puests del Sol in January and February 2006. As the "tour co-ordinator" for our group of six, I was well aware that the best planned holiday can be a disaster if the accommodations are inadequate or even if they simply don't meet expectations. What a relief when we walked through the door late that first night. The house was absolutely beautiful. The patio, the pool, the fantastic view, the sunsets.... it goes on and on. And if you have problem, just give Yami a call.I had been to Playa Hermosa before, but this was undoubtedly the best. The 15 minute walk back from the beach after dinner, was the perfect work out. Only gained four pounds! I would not hesitate to reccommend Jeff's house to anyone. This is one time where the real thing is better than the sales pitch. Thank you, Jeff, for a wonderful holiday. Casa Puesta del Sol is high on the list for our next trip. Ben Janzen, Chilliwack, British Columbia.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Susan Whittaker (Indianapolis, IN)
    • Date of stay 04/01/06
    • Review Submitted 04/04/06
    WOW! That word sums up the entire trip to Costa Rica and staying in Jeff's house. I have read all the guest comments and agree completely with everyone on the house, the location, the view, the beach, the recommended restaurants and sightseeing. We did it all! There are not enough good adjectives to describe our experience. We will return!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Bill Elledge (McKenna, WA)
    • Date of stay 03/01/06
    • Review Submitted 03/21/06
    Jeff said it was the best ocean view in Cost Rica, and he wasn't kidding. The sunsets were phenomenal! And the house is really beautiful, with a really nice walk to the beach. No glitzy resort atmosphere here; just relaxed, friendly, and peaceful. Of course, if you want urban beach you can drive a few minutes to Coco: plenty of excitement there!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Peter LaVigna (New York, NY)
    • Date of stay 03/01/06
    • Review Submitted 03/16/06
    Casa Puesta del Sol was everything we expected and more. Beautiful house, beautiful setting, beautiful country. Stories and adventures to retell for years. Wild 4X4 excursions to Arenal, Santa Rosa National Park, great fishing, golfing... even a carnival and bullfight in Liberia. But the best was just enjoying the house and sleepy Playa Hermosa. What a trip! Thanks Jeff for everything. Now about next year...

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Nancy Graeter (Cincinnati, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 02/01/06
    • Review Submitted 02/11/06
    We are back to snowy Cincinnati - with our final thoughts from Jeff's awesome house in Playa Hermosa. The sunsets were spectacular, the pool divine & the service excellent. Thanks for making the end of our two week stay in CR so memorable... even if you couldn't find us!! We did have encounters with Manta Rays & got to see a Sea Horse - both life long dreams!! Pura Vida! The Graeter's and The Agin's

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Jeff Grayson
    • Date of stay 01/22/06
    • Review Submitted 01/21/06
    We thought with the addition of our 30th comment it was time that we said something about our philosophy at Casa Puesta del Sol. First, we would like to thank all of the renters who took their valuable time to add their comments to this page. We feel that everyone who visits the villa is part of our family. You are our guests in our home, not just paying customers. We strive to achieve the best of experiences on your vacation. After all, it is YOUR hard earned money that is paying for your trip, not ours. For many, this maybe your one vacation of the year, or even in many years. It is important to us that it be a positively memorable one for you. The home was designed, decorated, furnished, and supplied with amenities to be OUR HOME. When you arrive it becomes YOUR HOME. We wonder why, after scanning other sites, do these sites fail to update their calendars? Also, why don’t they have guest books? If we are unavailable for your chosen dates, why should we waste your valuable time? Our guest book is here so you can share in others' experiences. This is a wonderful indication of what you can expect from Casa Puesta del Sol. Positve or negative, we will post any and all comments. Fortunately, we haven’t had any negative ones. All problems encountered will be addressed and corrected, therefore future renters won’t incur the same problems. We believe that the comments below and hopefully above, attest to our commitment

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Justin Brizuela (New York, NY)
    • Date of stay 01/01/06
    • Review Submitted 01/25/06
    This comment is long overdue since my friends and I stayed at Casa Puesta del Sol in the summer of 2004, but we are still talking about it till this day so I figured bet late than never. My friends and I were deployed in Afghanistan when we began talking about taking a trip when we returned home. I found the house listed on the internet and was able to make contact with Jeff. He was so helpful and understanding that I only had short periods of time that I could contact him being that I was deployed. He went out of his way to work with us and we are still so gratefull for it. The pictures and descriptions of the house and area don't do it justice. When we first drove up we thought we must be in the wrong house because it was so beautiful, like out of a movie. Then we couldn't stop laughing because who would have thought we would have been in such a paradise when less than a month earlier we were stuck in such a wasteland. Jeff gave us the scoop on all the best bars and restraunts and our only regret was that we didn't have enough time to hit them all. We had come to surf and Playa Hermosa was just a short boat ride to some of the best breaks in Costa Rica. The local town was great, as were the people and the shopping. For what we wanted to do which was relax, surf, and enjoy the local culture, we couldn't have asked for a better location and we couldn't have asked for a better guide/rentor/friend than Jeff. Hope to be back again someday. A belated thank you to you Jeff...Take care --Justin

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Rochelle DeBAun (Charlottesville, VA)
    • Date of stay 01/01/06
    • Review Submitted 01/20/06
    Spectacular! Breathtaking! When we arrived at Casa Puesta del Sol after our drive from La Fortuna and just before sunset we knew that we would hardly ever want to leave the villa! The fine touches and craftsmanship of this home were only overshadowed by the magnificent ocean views. I manage a small travel agency and my family has traveled throughout the world where we often rent villas. Casa Puesta del Sol is hands down, the most sensational villa we have rented. However, it's not just the villa that was remarkable, but my exchanges with Jeff prior to, during and after our trip. I know that he really cares about folks who rent Casa Puesta del Sol and wants to share the home that he also loves. We truly felt spoiled during our entire week. Hermosa and Coco were overflowing with Ticos and tourists during the Christmas and New Years weeks, but it only added to the fun vibe of these small hamlets. We were lucky enough to get into Ginger one night for dinner without reservations and our favorite spot to dine out was Villa del Sueno. With a romantic garden setting, live music every night, terrific service and even better food it was difficult to think about discovering other culinary treats. Other highlights: sunset cruise with John (and Pierre) on Drums of Bora, Llanos de Cortez hidden waterfall (we had to ask for directions 6x before we finally found the place), Rincon de la Vieja for a day of hiking, Colonial Liberia and Calle Real and the deserted black sand beach at Bahia Pez Vela followed by an excellent lunch at Picante. Every morning we'd wake up, make a pot of fabulous Costa Rican, scoot out to the patio to nosh on breakfast, watch the boats come and go out of the bay and the birds sip from the pool. Of course, our favorite thing to do was make sure we were back at Casa Puesta del Sol by sunset. We'd pour a cold Pilsen, take a dip in the extraordinary pool and just watch the sunset unfold before our eyes. It was perfection!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anne_HAC42533 (Alberta Canada)
    • Date of stay 01/01/06
    • Review Submitted 01/09/06
    Hola Jeff. First I want to thank you so very much for the time spent in your beautiful home. Casa Puesta del Sol was a special gift for my whole family, and we all enjoyed every minute. The photographs do not do your home on the hill justice. It was perfect in every way. I would recomend for all who go to get up with the sun so you can sit outside on the patio and hear the howler monkeys and all the species of birds come to life. We were in luck and got to see the howlers twice. I loved Playa Hermosa and the local people. The beach was great, and so much to do in the area. A few of the interesting things we did were the sunset cruise, canopy adventure , a day trip to Lake Arenal. Trips to Playa del Coco, a full service town were loads of fun. Also spent a day in Liberia where we listened to local music and just enjoyed our time. The open-air bars and restaurants all with their own character were a first class experience. If you could please send on my thanks to Yami and Elsie who helped make our vacation relaxing and great. My husband so enjoyed the whole experience of Costa Rica that he is thinking of investing in the Guanacaste area. I have to admit my favorite part was just sitting on the patio looking out at the incrediable view of the bay and ocean. Thanks Jeff for everything. I hope to someday meet you and the best in 2006. Anne

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest KJ Rivas (New York, NY)
    • Date of stay 12/01/05
    • Review Submitted 12/11/05
    I can further attest to the fact that the fotos of the home don't do it justice. The house is breathtaking particularly the pool with the gorgeous view of Playa Hermosa beach. The fotos of the interior of the house make it look dark because of the dark floor tile and predominant use of wood throughout the house. Elsie, the housekeeper, was fabulous and cooked great meals for us during lunchtime. She was such a delight - she even arranged to come to the airport to extend her goodbye to us at 6 a.m. on a Sunday morning. The interior of the villa was very clean and modern with every conceivable appliance and other necessity. We were easily able to cook meals and stocked up on groceries at the supermarket in Playa del Coco - although prices are a little high they have a great selection particularly of American/European products. My chief complaint regarding my vacation in Costa Rica had nothing to do with the home but with the roads. I had planned all sort of day trips from Playa Hermosa but the roads to Playa Grande/Playa Conchal/Tamarindo are so full of potholes (actually more like mini-craters) that a 45 minute trip would easily take 2 1/2 hours. Definitely rent a good SUV and be prepared to leave close to daybreak about 5:30 a.m. in order to get back before nightfall at 5:30 p.m. when you can barely see a thing. Jeff Grayson was an excellent host and called at least twice to make sure we were having a wonderful time. I welcome any calls regarding the villa and my stay in Costa Rica. We stayed one week at Jeff's home and then spent about 5 days along Lake Arenal (in another home that didn't measure up to Casa Puesta del Sol), close to the Arenal Volcano.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest elaine streithof
    • Date of stay 10/17/05
    • Review Submitted 10/16/05
    Hi Jeff-Just wanted to get in touch with you and thank you for letting us use your wonderful house in Costa Rica. I'm not sure how to go about adding comments to your web site, but if you want to add the following, please feel free. Casa Puesta del Sol is such a beautiful place and the views are absolutely breath-taking. My fiance and I spent most of our vacation just sitting by the pool looking at the view - the sunsets are nothing short of spectacular! We had thought of going to a resort, but staying at Casa Puesta del Sol was much more luxurious and far more private than any resort. You have your own pool (with swim up bar), the whole three bedroom house to yourself (or room for friends), the kitchen you can use if you want - and did I mention the fabulous view? The beach at Playa Hermosa is also gorgeous and the closest entrance is not far from the house. Jeff can give you some great restaurant recommendations and is very helpful and gracious. Not to mention the quick, easy drive from the airport in Liberia - and driving around the Costa Rican countryside is a fun experience in itself. Our stay at Casa Puesta del Sol far surpassed our expectations - please don't miss the chance to experience it for yourself! Thanks Jeff! The whole experience was truly inspirational!And thanks for recommending Dan as well - he is helping us out quite a bit with our own real estate endeavors. Sincerely, Elaine and Michael

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Kim Gossage (Charlotte, NC)
    • Date of stay 09/01/05
    • Review Submitted 09/16/05
    We had a great time at Casa Puesta del Sol! Six of us went to celebrate a friend's birthday and there's no doubt that her birthday -- and the entire week -- created one of our favorite trips yet. The house was everything we expected and yes, the photos don't do it justice. I thought everyone who had written comments in this guestbook was exaggerating when they said that, but it's completely true. We loved the restaurants we tried (Ginger's, Monkey Bar, Mary's place and Vida in Coco) but fell in love with Aqua Sport. We thought the food there was the best and we just about convinced the waiter to tell us the secret of the green sauce. That sauce alone, with warm bread and a cold Imperial, is worth the trip. We did day trips to Coco, Rincon and Tamarindo (which was a dive) but found we were just as happy hanging out at the pool. We would definitely recommend The Amazon Zip Line -- be prepared to go upside-down -- and the monkey rehabilitation place on the way to Tamarindo. Marcos at Aqua Sport was a GREAT boat captain if you're looking for an inexpensive day on the water. We all agree that we would stay at Casa Puesta del Sol again. We had some problems with the responsiveness of the Century 21 folks when our coffee maker broke and our water was cut off. I'm not sure which was more traumatic, but we still had a ball. Stay at Jeff's house. You'll be glad you did.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Liliana Hendricks (Braintree, MA)
    • Date of stay 09/01/05
    • Review Submitted 09/02/05
    Casa Puesta Del Sol. Wow! I guess everyone who has visited feels the same about the photos not doing it justice. The house is unbelievable! It's spectacular views, airy feel and warm ambience really don't make you feel at home. If you know what I mean! We spent 8 days in the home without leaving too often. I went with my family to relax and that's what we got. Relaxation! When I rent a home I'm always weary about the house being child friendly...and it was great. My kids 3 and 7 had a blast. They had their own room with a DVD player that kept them well entertained. They spent every morning from 7am to 2pm in the pool with daddy while mommy and grandma became sun worshippers. We cooked every day: breakfast, lunch and dinner. We even baked a birthday cake for my daughter. Jeff really has this kitchen supplied with EVERYTHING you could possibly need. The grill outside also was great for BBQing. The grocery store is not too far in COCO and if you need last minute stuff AQUASPORT is good. The sunset was so spectacular every night. It really made sitting on the patio reading a book so desirable. As I told Jeff my mom is Costa Rican and we go every year to visit all our family-they live in the San Jose. I shall be back next year and so on, as this is a perfect place to stay and get away from the city.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Bill B. (Mid- Hudson region, NY, USA)
    • Date of stay 08/01/05
    • Review Submitted 08/21/05
    It has been a long time since we can recall having had such a completely wonderful 11 days away from the hectic pace of everyday life in the US. The Grayson's house is perfect in so many ways. If you look at the on-site photographs and say WOW to yourself, wait until you get there!! The woodworking detail and quality of workmanship is remarkable. Our stay was puntuated with trips to Ricon and Arenal volcano, Tabicon Springs, fishing with Freddie ( I caught a dolphin which we ate for dinner....mahi mahi ), snorkeling, hiking, canopy tours with spectacular zip line runs through the forest, and of course, lounging around the pool with more than a few Imperials and Pilzens. The views from the veranda and pool were "pinch me, am I really here" in nature and falling off a bar stool in a pool was a first. The restaurants nearby were excellent, easy to find and pleased our pocket books. We cooked one night out of eleven. The folks at the Century 21 office, Yami and Mario, were very helpful and ready with answers to all of our questions. This is a vacation worth repeating and we are saving up and plan to come back within the next year or two. You will not be disappointed with any aspect of your stay at Casa Puesta del Sol and will wonder why you never thought of coming to Costa Rica before.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Jan Rabern (Denver, CO)
    • Date of stay 08/01/05
    • Review Submitted 08/21/05
    Casa Puesta Del Sol is absolutely gorgeous! The view, (eating breakfast on the patio gazing over the ocean, interior (wood, granite counter tops, bedrooms are fabulous), Jeff (the owner is great, giving great recommendations of Costa, air conditioning (excellent since we were there in JULY!), infinity pool (also key in that heat), ranchero bar (unbeatable for the three couples who went), fabulous sunsets (visit the beach!) - just to mention a few were fantastic! I highly recommend Casa Puesta Del Sol!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Greg & Ildi (New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 07/01/05
    • Review Submitted 07/04/05
    We stayed at Casa Puesta Del Sol for our honeymoon which, unforunately, was only a week long. Both words and pictures are simply insufficient to describe the residence. When we began our search for places to stay, we wanted privacy but still wanted to be in proximity to activities and a good atmosphere and Casa Puesta del Sol was absolutely perfect. There is simply nothing better than waking up in the morning and taking a swim in the infinity pool while looking out at the Pacific Ocean or sitting out on the amazing patio watching the sun set over the Pacific. The amenities and decor of the house are undoubtedly five star accomodations and Jeff, the owner, was exceptionally kind in making sure we enjoyed our stay there by giving us contact numbers for activities and answering any question we had. We highly recommend Puesta del Sol either for a family or for a couple looking for a nice get away. There is no question in our minds that we would certainly return for a visit there.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next