Cabin on Sherman Creek Near Hershey, Lancaster, Gettysburg
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:2 nights
- Pets considered:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Carlisle cabin description
Our elevated, creekfront cabin is rustic and cozy, but also includes some modern amenities like wireless and cable TV. Its creekfront, wooded locale is the perfect writer's or artists retreat, in any season.
Enjoy the creek! We provide some fishing gear (but bring your own if you're serious), and there are some excellent bass and sunfish to be had. The children can wade most times of the year--shallow areas are abundant. Bring an inflatable raft or canoe if you are adventurous. April through June, some people float all the way to the Susquehanna. Be sure someone can pick you up and return you home! During lower water months, it's still fun to splash around on an air mattress.
No hiking trails right there. Hikers or serious walkers will have limited opportunities unless they drive to the trailhead or walk on the roads up above.
Well-behaved doggies (2 yrs old and above) are welcome. There are dog doors in the screen porch and into the cabin itself.
Woods abound with deer, wild turkeys, and raccoons. The creek boasts herons, egrets, eagles, turtles, frogs, and crayfish. The birdfeeders attract feathered friends daily. Keep an eye out for water and land snakes, but all are harmless. Please don't kill any!!
Carlisle, 7 miles over the mountain is excellent for antiquing. It's PA Dutch country and we have Amish and Mennonite neighbors nearby. Hershey Park and ZooAmerica are 30 minutes away, and Gettysburg battlefields are 40 minutes away. If you like to ski or snowboard, play paintball, do climbing or ropes courses, Ski Roundtop Adventure Park is about 30 minutes away. State game lands are also nearby, as well as Little Buffalo State Park, which offers a swimming pool, tennis, basketball, an old mill, hiking, biking and volleyball, and hosts a renowned folk music festival in the fall.
There's a drafting table and lots of things to paint if you are so inclined. The fall leaves are often wonderful.
The lane is gravel and kind of steep. If you come in winter you will need 4 wheel drive.
Keywords: Rustic, Cozy, Wooded, Creekfront, Fishing, Rafting, Kayaking
- 1000 sq. ft.
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
- Pets Considered:
- Non Smoking Only:
- Minimum Age Limit For Renters:
- Long-Term Renters Welcome
- Children Welcome
Bedrooms: 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6, Beds for 4-6
Bathrooms: 1 Bathroom
Kitchen & Dining
- Cooking Utensils:
- Pantry Items:
- Ice Maker
- Coffee Maker
- Dishes & Utensils
- Air Conditioning:
- Wood Fireplace:
- Linens Provided:
- Towels Provided
- Drafting table, firepit.
- Music Library:
- Satellite / Cable:
- Video Game Console
- Broadband Access
- Wireless Internet
- Outdoor Grill
- Wood Deck
- Sports & Activities
- Tourist Attractions
- Away From It All
- Basketball Court
- Cross Country Skiing
- Rock Climbing
- Medical Services
- Fitness Center
- Hunting Big Game
- Freshwater Fishing
- Fly Fishing
- Mountain Climbing
- Ice Skating
- Hunting Small Game
- Mountain Biking
- Autumn Foliage
- Water Parks
- Recreation Center
- Theme Parks
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Live Theater
- Wildlife Viewing
- Sight Seeing
- Horseback Riding
- Outlet Shopping
- Coin Laundry
- Scenic Drives
- Bird Watching
- Winery Tours
- Creek Fishing for Bass & Sunfish, Wading, Birdwatching. The cabin is best for relaxing, enjoying the creek, getting away from it all, and as a base for tourist things nearby. It is not really a place for people who like to hike unless you are willing to drive to the trailheads. (Appalachian Trail is 4 miles from here, so you can definitely drive to it.) Neighboring properties are no trespassing,although there is a creekside easement in PA, where you can go along the creek between low and high water lines. Basically, this is not the place for much hiking or walking right from the cabin. Doggies must be on leashes....moreless
ReviewsWrite a review
Peaceful and Pet Friendly
Peaceful and Pet Friendly
We maneuvered the driveway just fine in our 4x4 vehicle. The cabin was very pet friendly and the water calming. It was very chilly during our stay and the heat worked great. It was nice to have a DVR for watching rental movies after long days of hiking and biking. St. Anthony's Wilderness is an amazing location to hike and bike! We really enjoyed the Diner close by, we ended up eating there a few times and enjoyed the meals. It was great having a grocery store nearby as well. The living room furniture was very comfortable. Internet worked excellent and we were even able to print out a page we needed from the printer. Not like a 5 star hotel or rental, but that is not what we were going for; we were looking for a quaint, peaceful cabin out of the hustle and bustle and that is exactly what we got.
- Guest travenbhappy21 (Harding, PA)
- Date of stay 10/24/13
- Review Submitted 11/02/13
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, pet owners.
Owner response: Thank you for your comments. I hope you can come back again when the weather is a little warmer. We enjoy it very much that other people seem to like it as much as we do.
rustic cabin on a creek
rustic cabin on a creek
according to reviewer "tips & guideline"..... the listing description was accurate regarding the location, down a small dirt road, accessible with an SUV, at the end of a lane, on a gurgling little creek....amazing to find this kind of peaceful setting just a few minutes from bustling cities and highways. The pictures did reflect the cabin's appearance, but internet, television, stove, fridge, air conditioners all in working order, and lots of books and magazines to read. If it had been my property, I would have maintained it somewhat better, as I did not find it the cleanest of places that I have rented. I was also a little surprised to find food in the cupboards and fridge, & clothes in closet and drawers, so I felt a little like an intruder into someone's life. I later realized that the owner spends time at this cabin and does not take personal belongings out. The only questions that I have of the owner is the reliability of a refundable damage deposit. I would recommend this property to people who have a sense of adventure, as the little "goat track" down to the cabin is adventurous in itself, also to people who enjoy a very peaceful, quiet time. There are many activities in the area........Gettysburg, the beautiful mountains, visiting the site of the Johnstown flood were several of the highlights of this trip. The best part was that after a day of sight seeing & traveling busy highways one could retreat to this quiet spot, enjoy nature, a nice home cooked meal, & all the sounds of nature, & a quiet evening.
- Guest Wilhelmina H.
- Date of stay 09/04/13
- Review Submitted 10/06/13
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, sightseeing, pet owners.
Owner response: Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope you did discover that the large bureau in the bedroom is entirely empty, and to be used for guests. The housekeeper normally removes any food from the fridge except condiments. I hope she did not forget to clean out the fridge before you came! But we do also leave food and spices in the cabinets, and guests are free to use all of it if they like. Guests have also been happy that we've left coats there for them to use. Do come again. We're happy to have you any time.
Nice cabin but not nice environment
Nice cabin but not nice environment
This house is really cute and nice. It was comfortable, well built and had everything we needed. The screen porch is nice and I enjoyed my coffee out there every morning. However, the driveway is BAD BAD BAD (she does warn about the driveway, but AFTER you pay)..... the car bottomed out at least 3 times coming down and 2 times going back up.... There are bricks sticking out of the driveway that my car hits.. this is awful... We have tried to ride the ridges and there's just no riding to it on the low VW Passat we are driving (which by the way is a rental) The driveway would probably be perfectly fine if your on an SUV, van, truck or something that sits higher. But it did not work for the VW Passat. At all. So make sure if you do rent this spot you are driving something that sits up high. Also, the house smells like smoke BAD. Perhaps if the ashes were cleaned out of the fireplace the smell would not have been so awful. A light smell would have been OK, but the smell was seriously over bearing. It was obvious the house does not get aired out between guests and the fireplace was not clean. Also, I got the feeling we were not wanted out there by the neighbors. The neighbors were standing outside a few times and as we rode by and we waved and smiled and we just got a look in return. No wave or smile. It was borderline creepy and very uncomfortable. It's amazing how one little gesture can change a whole perspective of something. I can understand them not being neighborly, and I respect that, but a wave does give guests a more comfortable feeling. I know she cannot help how the neighbors are and they are probably great people and would give you the shirts of their backs and I am not the judgmental type of person, but I did kind of feel uncomfortable like they didn't want us out here. I am not sure if I would want strangers out there either if I were them, so I cannot say I blame them. The house itself is cute though. My dog got sick and we planned to leave a day early, even though my dog got better, we still left. I have no intentions of ever staying here again. I would have loved if she offered a partial refund or something, I made her aware of the problems and informed her that she left the driveway part out until AFTER we paid, but I did get my deposit back. I am grateful of that, but its all about the $$$$$$ everywhere you go, so I am not surprised.
- Guest Krbrlee (United States)
- Date of stay 08/07/13
- Review Submitted 08/14/13
Owner response: I am very surprised by your comments, Katie, as we corresponded about them previously, and I had said I would make people more aware of the road conditions. But actually, I'm not sure how much more I can do, as this is what it says in the rental agreement you signed before you paid: "ROAD CONDITIONS -- The access road to the creek is gravel/dirt and rutted. If you have a low-rise car, you are advised to ride the ridges. Corvettes for the Carlisle Corvette Show can be and are taken down this road in the daytime, with appropriate care, but the property owners are not responsible for any damage to vehicles from road conditions, low-hanging branches, falling branches, or any other condition. Roads can be icy in winter. We highly recommend four-wheel drive during the snow months, or you may not be able to climb back up the gravel drive. We do not refund due to road conditions." It is true that the wet summer has caused further deterioration on the road, but they are working on it, and were when you were there. As for the smoke smell, it is a small cabin with a very large fireplace. People often come specifically to enjoy the large fireplace, and I'm not sure that much could be done about the smoke smell. The housekeeper does clean it out. The neighbors are generally very friendly, and it makes me wonder whether they were annoyed by something while you were there. It might be related to the fact that you registered for two people, but you arrived with four, and this may have surprised and annoyed them. (We did not charge you for the extra people.) Or perhaps it was something else. I'll ask them. I do apologize if they seemed unfriendly, but I really can't control their reactions. We're sorry you feel the way you do about your experience, but you seem to be the only one who feels this way. We will make extra efforts to inform people about the road.
The Sherman Creek cabin was perfect for my wife and I and our 2 dogs. The cabin had everything we could want in a vacation rental and more. There were condiments in the cabinets, linens were provided and best of all a nice stack of seasoned firewood(small extra fee) for the fireplace on those chilly nights. We spent a lot of time on the deck reading books, editing photos and listening to music. The wi-fi worked great and I was able to research our Gettysburg excursion and plot our plan of attack. The cable tv was nice for movie night. The sounds of the stream made it nice for naps on the deck or creekside. The owners were very helpful and accommodating. I would definitely come back to this cabin and hope to someday.
- Guest Anonymous
- Date of stay 05/23/13
- Review Submitted 05/31/13
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, adventure seekers, romantic getaway, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing, age 55+, pet owners.
Lovely riverside cabin
Lovely riverside cabin
This is a lovely cabin whose pictures do not do it justice. There is a great upper story deck with firepit that we used during the weekend and sitting out there in the evening you could see stars abound it was very serene. We did not use the indoor fireplace and had a bit of trouble with the cable/internet not working but really didnt mind, we were not there to watch TV. Fred had a wonderful time fishing down by the river but be forewarned, the bank can get quite slippery. The pups were happy to sniff everywhere. Favorite was the outdoor dining area. Weather was beautiful and we lit the candles and had dinner on the porch was perfect.!! Thank you for sharing your homey space.
- Guest Wendy E.
- Date of stay 09/21/12
- Review Submitted 10/29/12
Owner response: Thanks, Wendy, for your kind words. We are sorry about the cable being out--the outside cable connection had worked loose, maybe due to wind? Not really sure why it would do that. But if you hadn't told us, we wouldn't have known to fix it for the next folks. So, thanks for the heads up. We really enjoy the outside screen room too--dining there on summer evenings is really nice. Please come back again--we'll apply a discount for the cable issue from this visit.
Quiet, peaceful location
Quiet, peaceful location
The cabin is in a wonderfully quiet location. I live near a busy road so the silence at night was priceless! The house is neat with everything you need plus some extras in case you forget supplies. The nearest store is 4 miles away which is nice. The 1/2 mile long lane makes you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere even with the two neighbors. 2 of the days we were there it rained so we didn't get to enjoy the deck much. Sharon was quick to answer any of my many questions. The only downside I had was the lack of outside light at night for walking my dogs. Some of the spotlights worked but some did not. Sharon helped me to locate the switches for the working lights which helped. We all came home in 1 piece so it worked out! It is such a nice place my brother-in-law who came to visit wants to rent it! I would recommend this cabin to anyone who wants to get away or at least feel like they are secluded! There are plenty of local attractions especially if you know where to look. Thanks Sharon!
- Guest Crystal J. (null)
- Date of stay 08/19/12
- Review Submitted 08/28/12
Owner response: Thanks, Crystal. We're so glad you enjoyed it! I know you were worried about running into a bear at night, but in truth, I've never seen one here. Others have, but not me. It does feel very isolated, even though it's not, so I understand your concern. Will get those other floodlights working! Thanks for bringing it to my attention. I'm looking forward to hearing from your brother in law. Come back again--hopefully there won't be rain. (Actually, you were lucky, for August. It's typically a very dry month, and the creek is often low, and the vegetation kind of dry. But this year, it's been lush.)
Great Cabin in the Woods
Great Cabin in the Woods
Four of us stayed at the cabin for a weekend and had a great time. Everything we needed was there, the directions, notes and instructions were clear and detailed, and the price was reasonable. We'll almost certainly be back next year.
- Guest Bill (Pittsburgh)
- Date of stay 04/13/12
- Review Submitted 04/22/12
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, romantic getaway, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing, age 55+, pet owners.
Owner response: You guys are welcome back any time. It's a great place to make music and reconnect with old friends. Let me know if there's anything you need to make your trip even more enjoyable! Thanks for your feedback.
Home away from home
Home away from home
What can I say but this cabin was so much better than we expected. The owners Sharon and Dan made sure we had everything we needed for our stay. When you arrive at the cabin you feel like you are deep in the woods away from everything but in reality you are only minutes away from anythin you could need. The cabin's pictures on the website truly do not do it justice it is amazing and you should see it for yourself. We spent many days fishing, lounging by the fire, sitting on the deck watching nature and sightseeing. We caught some bass in the creek which is pretty fast running so we lists couple our lures to the rocks but had a great time doing it. Sharon even sent me a list and websites for some of the fancier restaurants for a birthday celebration and we took her suggestion to go to Piatta and it was fantastic. We enjoyed our time so much that we contacted Sharon to stay an extra night. Thanks Sharon for thinking of everything and sharing your home away from home with us. Your artwork in the cabin is wonderful and we will certainly be back and recommend your cabin to others. Great trip!
- Guest alissa and pat c. (Spring lake nj)
- Date of stay 03/09/12
- Review Submitted 03/18/12
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, adventure seekers, romantic getaway, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing, pet owners.
Owner response: Wow. Fantastic to know that other people love it as much as we do. Goodness. We might have to raise the price. No . . . we like that it's accessible for families and doggies. Do come again, when the leaves and flowers are out. The fireflies, crickets and night birds are also amazing in the spring and summer.
had a wonderful stay!!! beautiful home in a serene setting. cabin was clean and comfortable. Can't wait to go back and have shared info with family and friends. A reasonable price for a much needed country reteat.
- Guest alice n.
- Date of stay 03/05/12
- Review Submitted 03/10/12
Owner response: So glad you enjoyed it. We have made a number of improvements lately, and do try to keep it nice. It's a small cabin, but very cozy. Come again.
Serenity and Tranquility entensified
Serenity and Tranquility entensified
What a marvelous place. The pictures do not do this place justice. If you need to get away from the hussle and bussle of life and center yourself by getting back to nature, this is the place. It was great to watch and listen to the creek by day, and watch the stars and have a fire at night. The deck was spectacular, with the birdfeeder. The little humming birds were amazing. Their wings really make an interesting fluttering sound when they fly by you. Although the place comes with all the needed amenities, I can say for the entire week, We did not watch TV, or listen to the radio. The ecletic selection of music put us in a different place. The books on art and animals was interesting, and refreshing. If you want to get away and paint draw, or read a book you have it here. There's a grocery store, a Dollar General store, Pizza, Chinese, Garden store, Liquor distributor (only sells cases or beer and Malt liquor) as well as diners all within 10 minutes on CR34. Walmart is around 30-40 minutes away in Carlisle. (check to see if there's any events going on because traffic backs up). We will definately be planning another trip here. This place helped calm and clear our minds, and the dogs loved it too.
- Guest Diane (Mays Landing)
- Date of stay 06/02/11
- Review Submitted 06/10/11
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing, pet owners.
Owner response: We love it too. Grocery store and pharmacy are also just a mile away. You are not too far from civilization, but it feels like you are very secluded and far from everything. I'm thinking about making more art supplies available for people to use--acrylics, brushes and tablets of painting paper maybe. They are actually already there, but locked in a cabinet. People do seem to like to make art at the cabin. Come and enjoy again!
|Dates||Nightly||Wknd Night||Weekend||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
Nov 15 - Mar 15, 2014
2 night min stay
|My Standard Rate
2 night min stay
Additional information about rental rates
Base rate is for 4 people. It is $20 extra per night for each additional person over the age of 5. Cancellations due 30 days prior to stay for full refund or a $100 cancellation fee is charged. Cleaning/laundry fee ($100.00) goes to a third party regardless of length of stay, and cannot be waived.
- Pet Fee: $25
- Cleaning/laundry paid to third party: $100
- Refundable Damage Deposit: $100
- Taxes Not included
100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
- Nearest Airport: Harrisburg at 15 Miles
- Nearest Train: Harrisburg at 15 Miles
- Nearest Motorway: I-81 at 5 Miles
- Nearest Barpub: Pandemonium at 2 Miles
- Nearest Ski: Ski Roundtop at 30 Miles
- Nearest Golf: Carlisle at 8 Miles
Year Purchased: 2007
About the owner: Sharon and Dan Richter are a professional couple based in Philadelphia. He's a professor of colonial American history. She's a writer, editor and translator.
Why the Owner Chose Carlisle:
We love the creek and the wildlife. Very relaxing to just sit and enjoy nature. I paint and write, and there is no better place to do it!
The Unique Benefits at this Cabin:
I can sit on the screen porch and get wifi, working while surrounded by cool breezes and chirping birds, with the occasional heron squawking or eagle diving on the creek.
- Primary: +1 2152003782
- Secondary: +1 2154711505
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
View from the Garage
Living Room and Fireplace
Bedroom -- Queen Bed
Screen Room with Candle Sconces for Elegant Outside Dining
Some Guests Enjoying the Creek
Wading and swimming in Sherman Creek, summer 2012.
Fall mouse painted at Sherman Creek cabin 2009. Acrylic.
August blackberries from our cabin on Sherman Creek, 2012.
Early spring 2010 on Sherman Creek. Acrylic.
Spring flowers 2008. Watercolor.
Sherman Creek Right Out Front
Queen Bed in Loft
One and a half pound bass. Fat boy. Summer 2012.
One pound bass. Summer 2012.
Fishing on Sherman Creek 2010.
Ageratum, 2008. Watercolor.
Winter bunny 2010 at Sherman Creek. Acrylic.
We're on the creek (elevated). Generally floods about once a year.
There have been visitors to this page since
the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2010.
Date last modified - Sunday, August 11, 2013
Get a rental quote, then book it!