Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Our Lanai view.

Location Location! Updated Ground-Floor Inner Courtyard! [#312206] | View Property

Kamaole Sands
Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 4)
$145 - $199/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (17)

Sort by:
  • paradise

    paradise

    • Guest Alaskanguests (Soldotna Alaska)
    • Date of stay 01/29/14
    • Review Submitted 02/08/14
    We spent 9 wonderful days here. Everything was just as was advertised so there were no surprises. We rated this five stars because it was perfect for us. Birds. We loved the birds. They roosted at night right next to our condo. You can set your clock be there arrival and departure, 6am and 6pm. Not a problem for us but others may not enjoy them as we did. Clean, secure, and great location. Only two things were missing from the checking in info. 1. Outdated info on setting up wifi, and the info on places to eat was missing. These were not even an issue for us but wanted to mention that this would be beneficial to future guests. 5 stars from us.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Renae

    Renae

    • Guest Renae I.
    • Date of stay 01/17/14
    • Review Submitted 02/04/14
    We love Maui! We have stayed at Kamole Sands a few times and this unit was the nicest and cleanest so far. We loved how close the pool and BBQ's were to the unit. It was really quiet and equipped with towels, chairs and boogy boards. We would definitely stay here again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Bride

    Bride

    • Guest Kleck (Portland)
    • Date of stay 07/21/13
    • Review Submitted 08/04/13
    We were there for a week before our wedding. My entire family had condos at kamaole sands. This condo was great. It was clean and comfortable. They supplies several boogie boards and plenty of beach towels. There were plenty of plates and cooking supplies to use for the BBQs. We would definitely stay there again. Check in and check out was easy! We had a great stay!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Maui Paradise

    Maui Paradise

    • Guest Randy (Washington, USA)
    • Date of stay 07/01/13
    • Review Submitted 07/15/13
    This was our 4th time staying at Kamaole Sands, great resort for families with kids. The location of this unit is great, there are 2 bbq areas a very short stroll off of the lanai, and being centrally located it is also a quick trip to either the pool or the beach. Having access to the closet with boogie boards, beach chairs, sand chairs, and umbrellas was a bonus because the previous units we stayed at didn't provide these so we had to rent.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A wonderful welcome to Maui!

    A wonderful welcome to Maui!

    • Guest jo (Maple Creek, Saskatchewan, CANADA)
    • Date of stay 02/13/13
    • Review Submitted 02/19/13
    Excellent unit. Very quiet...a wonderful welcome to Maui! Kamaole Sands has the most beautiful grounds!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Edmonton Alberta Canada

    Edmonton Alberta Canada

    • Guest Shirley (Edmonton Alberta)
    • Date of stay 01/30/13
    • Review Submitted 02/18/13
    We enjoyed our stay in Maui. The condos location for us was wonderful. John is the greatest person to deal with. We had some issues with the condo but he dealt with them. He was very concerned that we would enjoy our stay in his condo. Thanks John and we will be back!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Christmas in Maui - Kamaole Sands, Unit 7-110

    Christmas in Maui - Kamaole Sands, Unit 7-110

    • Guest UV CHASER (Kelowna, BC, Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/18/12
    • Review Submitted 01/10/13
    If you're wondering how Christmas in Maui could actually 'feel' like Christmas, wonder no more. I'm here to tell you that it's awesome! Spent 16-nights over Christmas and New Years at Kamaole Sands with my wife and two young boys (3-1/2 and 7) and we have nothing to complain about. We had been to Maui once before and had visited friends at Kam Sands at that time, but this was our first stay. We were familiar with the grounds, which are amazing - especially if you have younger kids. The ground floor is the way to go, in our opinion. This unit was great. It had everything our family of four needed for a winter break in Maui. Boogie boards, sand toys, beach chairs. It's all there. The kitchen was stocked to our liking and the unit itself was nicely appointed. The king bed in the master is a nice touch, and we brought the mattress from the pull-out couch in there for the kids so we'd all be together. I'm not one for pull-out mattresses, but the kids didn't complain about it. The unit was clean when we arrived and we kept it clean for ourselves while we were there. The facility does offer a cleaning service for a small fee - if you're not into doing it yourself. The owner, John, was great to work with too. The location of Kamaole Sands is ideal, and everything you'd need is just a short walk away. A little longer walk if you have to do a big grocery shop, but still walkable. There's even a skate/scooter park just 20-min (by foot) that my 7 year old enjoyed. The pool area at Kam sands is also great if you need a break from the sand and surf. There's a large main pool, a 2' deep mini-pool, and two hot tubs - one for adults and one for the kids. Overall, a great time at a great locale. On a side note, while we were there we learned that the island's tsunami warning (siren) system is tested at the start of each month. You'll have no problem hearing it from your spot at Kam Sands. Rule of thumb: if you see the locals run, you run too! Otherwise, sit tight and enjoy your mai tai.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Kamaole Sands #7-110 in Kihei, South Maui

    Kamaole Sands #7-110 in Kihei, South Maui

    • Guest 1traveller (Fresno, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/10/12
    • Review Submitted 10/01/12
    The grounds of the Kamaole Sands are dated, but well maintained. The unit we stayed in was large for a 1BR, but the furnishings are in need of updating. The LR furniture was not comfortable- the cushions on the chairs were thin and lacked support. The dining table was not practical- the chair cushions were thin so we sat low at the table, the center table leg was too big so one could not pull up to the table, and the carpet floors made it impossible to slide the chairs to the table. The sofa bed was very uncomfortable. The kitchen was poorly equipped- there were not enough coffee mugs, there was no salad spinner, not enough basic utensils. The appliances were very loud- dishwasher & clothes washer. The bedroom furniture was poorly organized- the dresser is so close to the bed that we hit our knees against the corners of the bed constantly, especially at night. Carpeting is a poor choice for a rental. The curtains are old and discolored and need to be updated. The plumbing in the building is audible- the occupant of the unit above us showered every morning around 2:00 am, waking us almost every night we were there, as we could hear the shower running. I would not recommend this unit.

    Owner response: Hello Mariette, We are very sorry you had a less than satisfactory experience staying at our condo. We really do strive to keep our guests happy and work at keeping the condo maintained and updated and never like to hear we left you disappointed. In the last year or so we've purchased all new bedroom furniture, a new sofa, a new entertainment center, new TV, DVD player, iPod stereo, coffee maker, all new pots and pans, glassware, knives, boogie boards, beach chairs, towels, and several other items. Though you've pointed out a few items we're missing so we'll be sure to put them on the list and take care of them asap. We're sorry the sofa bed was not comfortable for you. We purchased the most comfortable mattress for it we could find on the island but admit it still can't quite compare to the pillow-top king mattress in the bedroom. We do provide extra blankets to make it a bit more comfortable. We will look into alternate solutions. Sorry the furniture in the bedroom had been moved. The dresser is typically near the window which is where we prefer it as well. However, guests sometimes move it to make more room for their luggage. Had I known I would have had the staff at the resort rearrange it for you. We could have had them bring you more coffee mugs as well. We're also sorry you did not like the carpet. In the future we will make a better attempt to inform our guests that there is carpeting in the bedroom and living room while the rest of the unit is tiled, so that guests who have preferences either way can better choose. We will also have someone look into the noise from the plumbing to ensure there isn't a problem that is making it more audible than normal. Again, our apologies for not meeting your expectations. Thanks for your feedback - we take it seriously and will actively work on getting the issues resolved. Mahalo, -John

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family Vacation in Maui!

    Family Vacation in Maui!

    • Guest Karen (Calgary, Alberta, Canada)
    • Date of stay 07/31/12
    • Review Submitted 08/20/12
    Our family of four had an excellent time staying at the condo. The listing / pictures on the site are accurate and we loved the first floor location. The kids were able to run and play on the grounds while we sat on the lanai and sipped coffee. The proximity of the unit to the pool and BBQs was great. We loved the stocked beach cupboard; there was lots of stuff for the kids to play with as well as chairs, umbrellas, etc for the adults. The kitchen was adequately stocked and the blender and all the BBQ tools were great. The restaurant guide available in the condo proved indispensable. We found the A/C in the bedroom very helpful. The owners were a pleasure to deal with and very accommodating. We will definitely stay here again on return trips to Maui. Thanks for a great vacation!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful location, lovely people!!

    Wonderful location, lovely people!!

    • Guest Serena (California, San Francisco Bay Area)
    • Date of stay 05/25/12
    • Review Submitted 06/14/12
    Aloha! We are mother & daughter taking a break from our busy schedules to enjoy Maui for 10 days. We stayed at John's place. Our stay was very enjoyable indeed. We loved the condo and the surroundings. Our location in building seven was just perfect! This is one of the best resorts in the area in my opinion. John's place is comfortable. We cooked a few meals in the updated kitchen. People were very friendly and we found there to be plenty of seating around the pool or picnic areas. We even bar-b-cued at the outdoor grills. The whole place is well maintained and beautifully landscaped. The beach was just across the street, with shops and restaurants a short walk away. We walked to the Kam 1 & II beaches and watched the sunset each night from a different beach. John was very helpful and made sure everything went smoothly for us. We hope to visit again and we will recommend this unit to our friends & family. Mahalo!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • HAC128466

    HAC128466

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/15/12
    • Review Submitted 01/28/12
    Our stay on January 15-26 was great. The unit was clean and nicely equipped, super nice beach chairs, beach towels, boogie board and kitchen ware. Loved the first floor garden view, close to pool and bar-b-que grills. The grounds are kept up well, they were working on them everyday. A nice flat screen TV in livingroom and a free standing air conditioner in bedroom, lots of units at the Sands do not have air in the bedroom. We did not have to use it much as the breezes come right through this unit. The beach is right across the street and it has a huge grassy area (Park) so you don't have to be in the sand on the beach but still have great views of the ocean. A great thing about the Sands is that you only pay a one time resort fee of $25 per stay. Some resorts you pay a fee per day, check that out before you rent elsewhere. Lots of eating places in the area and pick up brochures and magazines at airport when you arrive, they have lots of coupons and discounts in them. There is a Denny's right down road from resort that is open 24 hrs. a day, when we were there they had specials from 2pm-5pm, $2-$8. I got 2 eggs, 2 pancakes, 2 bacon for only $4. There is also a McDonalds and the local grocery stores have some pretty nice hot and cold deli's if you want to keep on a budget. Food is much pricier in the grocery stores but they do have specials and you can sign up for discount cards to use at them to get items cheaper. The Sands has a discount card on your room key for Foodland which is down the road from the resort. They also have a SafeWay and Times supermarket. We rented a kayak at Maui Wave Riders which is located on Kihie Road and took it out on the ocean, $35 for 2 hrs. or $50 for all day. If location is everything then staying at the Sands is the place to be, walking distance to beach, restaurants, and stores. I highly recomment this unit and would stay here again. John is great to work with and we thank him for sharing his unit with us.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Maui in May

    Maui in May

    • Guest JohnM (Richmond, BC, Canada)
    • Date of stay 05/08/11
    • Review Submitted 07/18/11
    First time in Hawaii and could not have picked a better place to stay. Stayed here for 10 days with my wife and 2 1/2 year old and had a blast. The unit could not have been in a better spot - right near the pool, the BBQ's and of course the beach. Having the lanai right on the courtyard level was great as our daughter could run around in the grass while we watched from the deck chairs - drink in hand. Real family friendly complex and great staff (do they ever stop gardening??!). The unit itself has everything you need and was nicely updated and the bed was super comfy. Already planning to go back next year and this will be the unit for us again. Thanks so much! Mahalo!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A home away from home in Paradise!

    A home away from home in Paradise!

    • Guest mthartt (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada)
    • Date of stay 04/22/11
    • Review Submitted 09/13/11
    This was our 5th stay at the Kamaole Sands. We absolutely love this complex. Such a nice garden area in the center, with breathtaking views. It's just a short walk to the Kamaole III beach which is also a wonderful beach. This complex is very family friendly. This was our first trip to Maui without our young children so this trip was quite a treat. Our kids ask us on a regular basis when we are going to Maui again, they too love it there! Thank you John for our wonderful stay, your unit is also wonderful. Beautifully decorated and stocked with everything you need! Being on the ground was great too as we walked straight out to the barbeques and pool. We would recommend this unit to anyone looking to stay at the Kamaole Sands!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fabulous Condo

    Fabulous Condo

    • Guest Jean & Chris (Calgary)
    • Date of stay 03/24/11
    • Review Submitted 08/31/11
    Thank you for sharing your wonderful condo with us, John! This was our fourth stay at Kamaole Sands, and your unit is one of the nicest we've stayed at. So comfortable for the four of us (with the two boys sleeping on the hide-a-bed), and so very clean and modern. We appreciated the beach and pool toys and accessories hiding in the closet and took advantage of them daily. We love Kam Sands, the family friendly atmosphere with lots of friends for the kids to play with, Mai Tai Wednesdays at the pool, socializing at the BBQs, and the open green spaces to toss a frisbee or chase frogs at dusk. And the sunset across the road just can't be beat. There is one thing that stands out about this unit above all others, and that is how personal and communicative you were during the rental process, John. It was really a pleasure doing business with you. We will definately be back - hopefully in 2012! Mahalo.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for your kind review Jean! We certainly strive to make the whole experience as easy and enjoyable as possible. And hearing how much you enjoyed your stay is what makes sharing our home away from home so rewarding. Looking forward to having you back in 2012! Till then, Mahalo! -John

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Jeff and Soon

    Jeff and Soon

    • Guest Jeff (White Rock, BC Canada)
    • Date of stay 01/09/11
    • Review Submitted 01/25/11
    January 9th to January 18th, 2011. We had a great time! The unit is clean and well located. Very quiet and updates are nice. The complex itself is very well maintained. I would definitely come back again. Thanks for a great holiday! Jeff

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Super Unit - soft wedge to the beach

    Super Unit - soft wedge to the beach

    • Guest Sonny (Edmonton, Alberta Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/01/10
    • Review Submitted 12/27/10
    Very well located and nice clean unit to boot. Great beaches 2-3 minute walk across street an others a 10 minute car ride. Extremely nice garden and grounds, all very handy to ample BBQ's in the project. Comfortable unit in modern decore with a super "evening" lanai to cool of and just enjoy the grounds.

    Recommended for: Age 55+

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Maui Nov 2010 was a BLAST!!

    Maui Nov 2010 was a BLAST!!

    • Guest Gina (Vancouver, BC Canada)
    • Date of stay 11/04/10
    • Review Submitted 11/21/10
    Hello! This unit is marvelous! It will take all the worry out of your stay as the owner, staff and neighbours are always smiling, friendly and helpful. This unit is spacious with all your kitchen needs met, a HUGE new clean kind bed and comfy pull out that will easily sleep 2 happy campers. 2 TVs (in case you are tired after a great day at Maui and need to chill) and 2 bathrooms-clean and new. The unit stays cool so no need for AC but it has it if you want! Close to the pool where Expedia offers the cheapest tours on the island and tonnes of info. Free Mai Tais on Wednesdays with Music too! Gorgeous Lanai (patio) onto the main courtyard. So quiet and family oriented. This place is perfect. The chirping birds wake you up at sunrise so you can get on your day. Maui has an early sunset (and gorgeous) so use all the daylight you got. This unit is so close to great beaches and a quick walk to shopping. The assigned parking is in the shade--HUGE BONUS--and free wifi. Staying here made my stay. I had a clean, safe place to come home to and could walk 4 minutes to watch one of the best sunsets on this planet at one of the best beaches in Maui. Renting this place is a good choice. I will return and am telling all my friends to go too!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]