Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Private Vacation House in the Woods [#313900] | View Property

Scaly Mountain
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 4-6)
$90 - $115/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (35)

Sort by:
  • Wonderful Rental

    Wonderful Rental

    • Guest Teresa G.
    • Date of stay 02/27/14
    • Review Submitted 03/03/14
    This rental is absolutely lovely. Everything beautifully furnished and then some. We so enjoyed our stay here. The owner is delightful and goes above and beyond to insure your stay is pleasant. We will definitely come again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A hidden gem just outside of Highlands

    A hidden gem just outside of Highlands

    • Guest Atlanta Mom
    • Date of stay 01/03/14
    • Review Submitted 01/14/14
    My husband and I were looking for a quiet weekend getaway with our two teenagers. When I read all of the positive reviews on this site, I was encouraged and contacted the owner. Joe was responsive and absolutely delightful to work with. He was generous with check-in and check-out times, everything we could have wanted was provided, and he happened to be staying next door at his vacation home and invited us to see the lovely sunset from his expansive deck. The rental property was even better than presented online. The fireplace was a perfect feature to have during the cold spell we hit that weekend, and the accommodations were lovely and comfortable. We did the snow tubing nearby and spent some time in Highlands, but for the most part we were looking to just relax in the cabin and spend family time together, unwinding. I'm sure in the summer there are many more local options (including hiking and fishing) to partake in. If you're looking to stay in the Scaly Mountain area, this is a reasonable and wonderful option you will enjoy!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Above & beyond!

    Above & beyond!

    • Guest Marlys T.
    • Date of stay 11/22/13
    • Review Submitted 12/03/13
    We spent 10 days in Scaly Mountain to be with family over Thanksgiving. This beautiful home was the perfect spot for relaxing. Games to play with the grandchildren, well stocked kitchen, plenty of quality bedding & towels. Very friendly & helpful owner! Would definitely return and gladly recommend this rental!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Southern Hospitality

    Southern Hospitality

    • Guest JT (Fullerton, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/13/13
    • Review Submitted 11/01/13
    The owner was easy to deal with prior to our stay, and was at the top of the driveway to meet us as we arrived. Gave us a tour of the property, and as he was not staying in his neighboring home, invited us to use his balcony to enjoy the views whenever we pleased. The next evening a friendly neighbor even came by to give us his phone number, in case we needed any assistance. Very accommodating! The property is beautiful. The drive is not long to reach the two local towns, but the location seems remote enough to enjoy peace and quiet. The cottage was clean, had everything we needed, and matched the photographs provided. I would encourage the owner to add photographs of the bathroom and second bedroom, as they are beautifully furnished also. I plan to return during a different part of the year, to enjoy the changing panoply and vistas. Highly recommend this rental!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The best rental!

    The best rental!

    • Guest Claire O.
    • Date of stay 10/11/13
    • Review Submitted 10/16/13
    This was by far the best VBRO rental that I have ever experienced! Beautiful home, generous homeowners and close to many local attractions! There was complimentary wine, an extra night thrown in the rental...the homeowners could not have been more generous and full of hospitality! We can't wait to go back and visit soon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful!

    Wonderful!

    • Guest linda b.
    • Date of stay 09/19/13
    • Review Submitted 09/25/13
    We were looking for a place outside of Highlands that was peaceful and quiet and we found it here. We were there for a wedding weekend and couldn't have been more comfortable or relaxed. The kitchen has everything you need and more, including a bottle of wine and even a six pack of beer. It's close enough to town (20 mins) yet felt secluded. The owner Joe, went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and comfortable and provided us with dining recommendations as well as sightseeing. Our only regret was we did not have enough time there! We will definitely stay here again when in the area and we highly recommend this cabin.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Just what the doctor ordered!

    Just what the doctor ordered!

    • Guest mark m.
    • Date of stay 08/29/13
    • Review Submitted 09/09/13
    My wife to be and I needed a weekend away from the wedding stress and this was the perfect place! Away from the hustle and bustle and yet a short drive in to Highlands. The accommodations we comfortable and clean, we could not have asked for more!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Mountain beauty and rest

    Mountain beauty and rest

    • Guest Michael C.
    • Date of stay 07/31/13
    • Review Submitted 08/22/13
    My wife and I had a great time at Scaly Mountain. Joe (the owner) was there when we needed him and not around when we did not! The cottage is beautifully decorated and has all the amenities. It exudes hospitality. The setting is in the quiet mountain forest with beautiful vistas around the corner. We spent three weeks decompressing from the "flatlands race." Lots to do and see in the area -- as much or as little as you want.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • GREAT PLACE

    GREAT PLACE

    • Guest TRAVELER (RIVERVIEW , FL)
    • Date of stay 07/20/13
    • Review Submitted 07/31/13
    THIS WAS A TRIP FOR ME MY WIFE AND 9 YEAR OLD SON. WE HAD A BLAST. THE LOCATION WAS GREAT. THE OWNERS BENT OVER BACKWARDS TO HELP US WITH THINGS TO DO. WE WILL GO BACK AGAIN. MY SON LOVED HAVING TRAILS RIGHT BY THE CABIN. WE GOT TO GO TO THE GREAT SMOKY MOUNTAINS AND SAW ELK.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • great cabin and owners

    great cabin and owners

    • Guest frog (atlanta GA)
    • Date of stay 06/21/13
    • Review Submitted 06/25/13
    Very much enjoyed my brief stay in this very nice and well maintained cabin. It exceeded my expectations in every way. The owners live next door and were incredibly accommodating and helpful. They were eager to share information about the area. Providing coffee and a complimentary bottle of wine was a very nice and welcoming touch. The remoteness of the Scaly Mountain area is a welcome contrast to the more heavily developed Highlands area.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What a great place!

    What a great place!

    • Guest Mary Morgan T. (NC)
    • Date of stay 06/09/13
    • Review Submitted 06/18/13
    This is a great, beautiful place to stay in the mountains, away from it all! The wonderful owner, Joe, went out of his way to make our stay as comfortable and as memorable as possible. The cabin is beautifully yet comfortably decorated, including all the amenities you may need, and was spotlessly clean. The beds are also very comfortable, the kitchen large and very well appointed. You are definitely up on a mountain and it is very quiet...abundant birds! While it only takes minutes to get to Highlands, once you get up here, you are removed from any sign of hectic life! We cannot speak highly enough of "Joe and Sam's place" and we look forward to returning as often as possible! We have already highly recommended this property to others!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Amazing!

    Amazing!

    • Guest John (Orlando, Florida)
    • Date of stay 03/06/13
    • Review Submitted 03/19/13
    We were welcomed with open arms as soon as we arrived. The place was beautiful and the owner was awesome. He greeted us at the front door and made sure we were stocked with everything we needed, even wine! I have rented many homes for vacation and have never had an owner take such good care of us. He really went above and beyond. The place was very nice, very clean and very warm. We definitely plan on returning!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Just do it!!!

    Just do it!!!

    • Guest jude (summerville sc)
    • Date of stay 02/22/13
    • Review Submitted 03/01/13
    This is our fourth stay since Sept 2012. I absolutely love it (the cabin)! If you want to get away from it all, this is the place to do it. You have everything you need, just jump in your car with a toothbrush, grab some groceries and you’ll have it made, because Joe and Sam have seen to it that you have everything else. It’s wonderful to be surrounded by God’s handiwork. There’s nature all around. There’s nothing to get in your way, no excuses, no sounds that will interrupt your thoughts. Just relax, and breathe. The cabin is just what you think it will be and more. The owners have thought of everything. And if you have a question about the area, Joe has the answer. This is a must! Enough said, just do it!!!!!!! (you’ll be so glad you did)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome place to stay

    Awesome place to stay

    • Guest Andy (Wilmington, NC)
    • Date of stay 12/27/12
    • Review Submitted 01/02/13
    My wife and 3 kids (ages 7-17) stayed here for 2 nights. We all wanted to stay longer. It was very peaceful and relaxing. The house was very nice and had TV and wifi. The owner was ver accomodating to our schedule (time check in and out). So much to do in the area from hiking, ice skating, snow tubing, zip line, and shopping in near-by Highlands, NC. We will definately come back at different times of the year.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Top of the Line and Great Value

    Top of the Line and Great Value

    • Guest ebonn (Columbia, SC)
    • Date of stay 10/26/12
    • Review Submitted 10/30/12
    My boyfriend and I shared this bungalow with my parents and family friends for a "working vacation." All amenities were provided and then some. The decor was delightful, it was super clean and was just what we needed. My boyfriend and I slept on the pull out couch and it was better than an air mattress! We enjoyed the fireplace, the firepit and the conveniences of the kitchen. Will visit again as the value for what you get is right on target for what we are ALWAYS looking for. Kudos to Joe and his wife for creating such a wonderful retreat. Perfect for families or couples. Would highly recommend to others.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A weekend stay

    A weekend stay

    • Guest jude (summerville sc)
    • Date of stay 10/25/12
    • Review Submitted 10/29/12
    I have one word to say about this rental……. “WOW!” My husband and I travel to the NC Mountains four to five times a year, which means we have visited many rental cabins/cottage of every shape and form. Some have been really nice and some I would never think of returning to. You can be let down, even if you looked at every picture posted on the site and done your research to the fullest. I can truthfully say this is the best yet! I have never stayed at a cabin that is more charming and thoughtfully put together for a guest than this one. Joe sees to it that you have everything and anything you need. The cabin is decorated with eye appeal and comfort; you just never want to leave! From the moment I contacted Joe about reserving the cabin, I knew that I wouldn’t be disappointed, and I wasn’t. He greeted us with a friendly hello, and two bottles of wine were waiting for us in the kitchen. Friends were coming in an hour behind us, but with the cells phone service not always dependable in the mountains, I was afraid that they would not reach us and get lost. Joe offered his land line to make sure we could communicate. Our daughter and her husband were coming in the next day, and when they arrived, she said “I want to move in, this is lovely”. I have a few pet peeves about the places I stay. One is towels. Most places never have enough, or they are so thin you could read a newspaper though them. NOT here, plenty and thick. Another is bed linens, I hate to sleep on sheets that have little nubs on them or they aren’t crisp. NOT here, wonderful linens, a delight to climb into bed at night! And they had heating blankets! They even had a full bar of shower soap, a hand held shower high on the wall for my very tall husband, yet removable for me (I’m short and don’t like water in my face, now how did they know that!!!) I have never been to a place that provided that. The kitchen had everything we needed to make what we had planed. I couldn’t have asked for more. I’m telling you that if you decide to book this cabin, you will NOT be disappointed at all. We WILL be booking again!!!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • jack & Laura, Dallas Tx

    jack & Laura, Dallas Tx

    • Guest J& L (Red Oak Tx)
    • Date of stay 10/18/12
    • Review Submitted 10/31/12
    We have stayed in many condos and cabins over the last 30 years. This mountain getaway is by far the best place we have ever stayed!! We loved the cabin and surrounding area. Beautiful!!Joe and his wife Sam have thought of everything!! From coffee, wine, paper towels, toilet paper, dish soap, laundry detergent with a nice new washer & dryer.Plenty of firewood. We enjoyed nightly fires which kept our cabin toasty warm.The beds very comfy and as previously noted the twin beds had electric blankets. We enloyed day trips to Highlands, Cashiers and Dillard. Favorite places to eat were Cupboard Cafe in dillard and Fresh Market in Highlands. Coffee was good at Bucks in Cashiers and Highlands. We toured all the waterfalls. The most difficult we did first. That was Glenn Falls going into Highlands. Our favorite was Dry Falls. Joe and Sam were the perfect hosts and made us feel right at home! Thanks so much for the tour of your beautiful home. What a perfect weekend to come to the mountains. Beautiful views at the peak of the season. A very relaxing, refreshing time. We will certainly return.We also loved the fact that this cabin is off the beaten path and as stated, very close to a national park and walking trails. Don't wait too long! Book this cabin soon and experience the perfect refreshing , relaxing time.Thanks again for your southern hospitality!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • bill buss

    bill buss

    • Guest bill buss (marietta georgia)
    • Date of stay 09/09/12
    • Review Submitted 09/18/12
    5 star, cozy designer decor, fully equirted kitchen, coffee, condiments, measuring cups, cassarole dishes. best value in the highlands area. 535 bob long drive

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • great spot- lovely hosts

    great spot- lovely hosts

    • Guest Ellen (United States)
    • Date of stay 08/03/12
    • Review Submitted 08/07/12
    We were delighted with our accomodations. It was quiet and the front porch was great for breakfast, napping, or a drink before dinner. The kitchen was well stocked and the king bed was very comfortable. Our hosts were friendly, yet not obtrusive. They made us feel right at home and we had a great time getting to know them. The grounds are lovely with lots of flowers and birds. We highly recommend this spot.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • vacation house in the woods

    vacation house in the woods

    • Guest Sue Z (Finleyville, PA)
    • Date of stay 06/10/12
    • Review Submitted 06/22/12
    The listing description and reviews were accurate for this property. The house was immaculate with everything you could want provided. The owners were great and I would recommend this place to anyone. We enjoyed numerous state parks in the area (mostly in GA) and hiking. It was nice to come back to such a comfortable home. My husband and I liked The Dillard House, the Cupboard Cafe and the Chop House on Lake Burton. It will be difficult to get a reservation once the secret is out about this reasonable, awesome place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Second time

    Second time

    • Guest Scottsgirl (Birmingham)
    • Date of stay 03/19/12
    • Review Submitted 03/20/12
    This has become our #1 place when we visit the area, which we have been doing for years. We come to the mountains for peace and quiet and prefer not to be in walking distance of restaurants, stores etc. This is a lovely place to stay. I almost hesitate to write a nice review because my husband and I would like to keep it a secret so that is available whenever we want it!! You couldn't ask for better owners, either.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Scaly Mountain Charm and Magnificence

    Scaly Mountain Charm and Magnificence

    • Guest Chan & Joyce (Covington, GA)
    • Date of stay 03/10/12
    • Review Submitted 03/19/12
    Staying here for the week was an absolute delight! Answering the basic questions first, the property listing was accurate, the photos accurately reflected the property's appearance, the amenities were as described, the property was very clean and well-maintained, and we would highly recommend this property to our friends and relatives. Beyond these basics, the listing and photos cannot accurately and fully describe the spaciousness and beautifully appointed interior of the cottage. We thought that it had been decorated by an interior decorator, but later leaned it was done by the owners. Everything was immaculate: the cottage was extremely clean and well stocked with necessities, firewood was provided, and a bottle of wine was there upon our arrival. We spent some very relaxing time in front of the cottage fireplace. The kitchen was well supplied with dishes, glassware, and cooking utensils, and other necessities. Outside, we enjoyed sitting on the porch and strolling around the grounds. There was a wonderful fire pit available, which we did not use, but we did do some hiking in the area, going down to the Bartram Trail, and elsewhere. We also ventured into Highlands and Franklin and generally explored the area in and around Scaly Mountain. This cottage is situated near the owners' home on the property, but is still secluded and private. We were fortunate to meet the owners, who showed us a warm and welcoming hospitality, and even entertained us in their home one evening. They are truly indicative of the warm, friendly, southern hospitality I remember as a child. We will definitely be back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent Getaway

    Excellent Getaway

    • Guest Family (Toccoa, GA )
    • Date of stay 02/17/12
    • Review Submitted 02/20/12
    Our family of five stayed in this getaway home for two nights over the long weekend. We had such a great time simply spending time together. The house has all of the amenities you would expect and then some. Little extra things like laundry detergent in the laundry room goes a LONG way when you have three children. It is beautifully decorated, yet welcoming and family friendly. Our family specifically enjoyed snow tubing that is close by and walking/hiking on the forest service road that is literally just outside. We would certainly return for another family getaway and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for lodging in this area.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great stay!!!!!!!

    Great stay!!!!!!!

    • Guest Paula (North Florida) (US)
    • Date of stay 01/04/12
    • Review Submitted 01/18/12
    Been traveling to the Smokies for over 25 years and this, by far, is the best deal yet! Cabin is very clean, tastefully decorated and well equipped. Big thanks to Joe for being so gracious and welcoming! Only ask is to save room on the calendar, we will be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place !

    Great place !

    • Guest Andy S. (Franklin, TN)
    • Date of stay 12/30/11
    • Review Submitted 01/24/12
    Great nature, great home and lovely people ! My family and I spent New Year holidays there and enjoyed it very much. House is very clean, spacious and well-maintained. There are a lot of beautiful views to see not far a way around. We'll definitely visit this place again. Thanks Joe!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Delightful Stay Over Thanksgiving

    Delightful Stay Over Thanksgiving

    • Guest Dee (Outside Philadelphia)
    • Date of stay 11/21/11
    • Review Submitted 11/30/11
    My husband and I and two of our children stayed at the Scaly Mountain house over Thanksgiving. The property was wonderful: very clean, warm, well-equipped and felt spacious. We loved the kitchen/dining area which allowed us to cook and eat in whenever we wanted. We enjoyed the hardwood floors and the woodburning fire (wood provided). Everything seemed better than described in the information. It is way up the mountain and the owner's directions should be followed to get to the property. There are other houses around including the owners' house next door. The owners were very welcoming, answered all our questions, left wine and other necessities for us on our arrival, and invited us over to their home one evening. They are very hospitable and we enjoyed meeting them. While the house does not have panoramic views it is located close to wonderful views and a forest hike which begins close to the house. We hiked every day and would recommend Whiteside, Jones Gap to Whiterock, Glen Falls and Scaly Mountain. All except Glen Falls have panoramic views. Glen Falls is a beautiful hike in the woods to a waterfall. There are many more hikes that we could have done and the owners are a mine of information on these. We also enjoyed a visit into Highlands - about 25 minutes away. Here there are many restaurants and specialty shops (pricy ones!). We purchased food at the Ingles market in Cashiers - about 35 minutes from the house. There is a food market in Highlands. The internet worked well as did the TV, phone service was occasionally spotty. We would definitely return given the opportunity. I would recommend the property to those who like peace and quiet and who enjoy hiking and exploring mountain areas.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Home!!! Great Value!!!

    Beautiful Home!!! Great Value!!!

    • Guest Kim (Atoka Tennessee)
    • Date of stay 11/03/11
    • Review Submitted 11/25/11
    Beautiful home and fantastic value!! This HAS to be the best deal in the whole area!! Thank You Joe, for being such a great host and providing us with an endless supply of firewood...I think my husband and I most enjoyed sitting by your fabulous fireplace every evening, relaxing and watching TV....something we don't get to do at home!! We had such a great time and hated to leave....can't wait to return!!! Thanks again for all of your kindness!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Home!!! Great Value!!!

    Beautiful Home!!! Great Value!!!

    • Guest Kim (Atoka Tennessee)
    • Date of stay 11/03/11
    • Review Submitted 11/25/11
    Beautiful home and fantastic value!! This HAS to be the best deal in the whole area!! Thank You Joe, for being such a great host and providing us with an endless supply of firewood...I think my husband and I most enjoyed sitting by your fabulous fireplace every evening, relaxing and watching TV....something we don't get to do at home!! We had such a great time and hated to leave....can't wait to return!!! Thanks again for all of your kindness!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • WHAT A GREAT PLACE!

    WHAT A GREAT PLACE!

    • Guest Kate (Birmingham, AL)
    • Date of stay 10/20/11
    • Review Submitted 11/07/11
    The place was everything the owner said and more! You will not find anything anywhere close to this for this price! And such a beautiful area.Clean and well maintained. We enjoyed seeing the deer and turkey every day. And the place was fully stocked of all necessities including the fridge and Wine. The owners are GREAT. They invited us over to watch the wonderful sunset and have drinks.And we loved all the mountains had to offer especially the ride from Highland to Franklin and the wonderful shopping in Highlands. Also not far from Cashier NC and Dillard Ga. And the Foliage was AWESOME! Don't overlook this place. We can not say enough about it! Fun year round for everyone!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED

    YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED

    • Guest D & E (Acworth, GA)
    • Date of stay 09/09/11
    • Review Submitted 09/25/11
    Our only regret was that we wished we could have stayed longer. This is a beautiful, lovely decorated home with spectacular views. We enjoyed a much needed relaxed weekend with all of the amenities of home. There are many things to do for your enjoyment and wonderful restaurants in the surrounding area.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Southern Hospitality

    Southern Hospitality

    • Guest Salette & Danny (IOP, SC)
    • Date of stay 05/26/11
    • Review Submitted 08/06/11
    My husband & I are from the Charleston, SC area, the home of Southern Hospitality. So, I can say with certainty the owners of this wonderfu mountain cottage are very responsive to their guests needs. They could not have been more accommodating. We had a late arrival due to a thunder storm & we were very lost. The husband got us to Scaly & then offered to cook us dinner at a late hour. A welcome package awaited us--- snacks, mineral water, beer & wine. The peace and tranquility was "just what the doctor ordered"! The view from the property is mesmerizing. We fell in love with Scaly Mountain & cannot stay away! Salette & Danny IOP, SC

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great house - Pictures do not do this home justice!!!

    Great house - Pictures do not do this home justice!!!

    • Guest RAC (Gainesville, GA)
    • Date of stay 12/28/10
    • Review Submitted 01/05/11
    I stayed at this property over the Christmas holiday and could not have been more pleased. The home, location and property owners FAR, FAR exceeded my expectations. The pictures simply dont capture how nice this home is. It is rather unassuming from the outside (although the setting and views are incredible) this inside is really great and every detail is handled (down to the spa slippers in the bathroom closet) You will LOVE staying here!! I plan on coming back mulitple times in 2011.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Can't Wait to Go Back!

    Can't Wait to Go Back!

    • Guest Danielle (Ocala, Florida)
    • Date of stay 11/18/10
    • Review Submitted 12/03/10
    Me, my husband and our two young daughters stayed in this lovely cabin for the Thanksgiving holiday. The pictures online do not do this place justice...is it absolutely beautiful! The bedrooms are good size, the kitchen was great and the fireplace kept us warm on the cold nights! The owners are very friendly and made us feel right at home! I have been visiting Scaly Mountain since I was a small child, and I think it is a great place to stay! Plus our daughters were able to go tubing and ice skating at the local lodge not even 2 miles from the house! We can't wait to go back and stay again...maybe in warmer weather though!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful Home

    Beautiful Home

    • Guest Mountain Lover (Atlanta)
    • Date of stay 11/09/10
    • Review Submitted 11/18/10
    I spent 4 days in this beautiful home with my mother and 2 sisters. The accommodations were perfect for us. It's a very cozy place with comfortable furniture and the beds are great. The kitchen has everything you need if you want to cook for yourselves and we enjoyed the complimentary wine left by the owners! The location is wonderful with so many beautiful views and it's such a quick drive to Highlands for shopping and good restaurants. Can't wait to go back and see it in the winter with snow everywhere!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Lovely Cabin / Friendly Owners

    Lovely Cabin / Friendly Owners

    • Guest PeterT (Scotland, UK)
    • Date of stay 09/26/10
    • Review Submitted 10/31/10
    Really enjoyed our too brief stay in this cabin. Comfortable living area, good-size, well equipped kitchen, two fine bedrooms - all we needed and more. The weather wasn't kind to us on our arrivel, but the Bartenfeld's were, as was the neighbour who delivered us an evening meal due to the lateness of the hour (probably not a standard feature of the package, but a kind act to strangers !). Two words of advice to future visitors: - Get there early - the local restaurants don't stay open late. - Stay there a day or two more than you would initially plan for and use the time to relax.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]