Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Grand View Manor Estate

Gorgeous Waterfront Estate--Private Pool and Tennis Court! [#313923] | View Property

Mathews
Estate, 5 Bedrooms, 5 Baths (Sleeps 10-12)
From $2500/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (25)

Sort by:
  • Great gathering

    Great gathering

    • Guest rmkov (Vermilion, Oh)
    • Date of stay 09/29/13
    • Review Submitted 10/11/13
    Six of my long time school friends and I gathered at Grandview Manor for our annual reunion and had a ball. The house and land is big enough for 7 women to have their own space. The owner and caretaker were very helpful in getting us directions from the airport and advice on a river boat cruise. The estate is close to major tourist attractions such as Jamestown and Colonial Williamsburg and Williamsburg outlet malls. Nearby are the interesting small towns of Mathews and Gloucester. We were so busy we didn't do all we wanted, like swim in the pool. The pier is great for a morning cup of tea. The kitchen is fully stocked with anything you would need to cook with. The nearly mile long driveway means you have privacy (along with a dusty car.) i would go back anytime.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful setting

    Beautiful setting

    • Guest adri p. (auburn, mass)
    • Date of stay 09/07/13
    • Review Submitted 09/25/13
    My large family stayed here, was one of our loveliest time! Beautiful grounds to enjoy... Right on the water, enjoyed the back porch very much! The house may need some minor updates, but definitely worth the stay, and we have rented from many places all over the eastern seaboard. This was a favorite, for sure! Not far to drive to Williamsburg, Yorktown, even Virginia beach.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful spacious home; ideal for large families!

    Beautiful spacious home; ideal for large families!

    • Guest Donna (new jersey)
    • Date of stay 08/03/13
    • Review Submitted 08/05/13
    The home was lovely and very spacious and it more than accommodated our large family of 12 with the extra large bedrooms and many bathrooms. The kids enjoyed swimming in the pool and playing tennis and using the dock to crab and fish. Everyone felt comfortable. We would highly recommend this lovely home with so many amenities!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • July 4th at the Manor

    July 4th at the Manor

    • Guest HM in Richmond (Richmond, VA)
    • Date of stay 07/03/13
    • Review Submitted 07/09/13
    Another great trip to Grand View Manor. This is our second stay and won't be our last. Time at the pool, at the dock, and on the back porch made many special memories with our friends.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Time!

    Wonderful Time!

    • Guest sljflower (Delaware)
    • Date of stay 06/07/13
    • Review Submitted 06/10/13
    My girlfriends and I stayed at your property and it was wonderful! Drinking coffee on the back porch and enjoying the scenery was the best part. We enjoyed the pool and the spacious accommodations were perfect.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for your kind words. You certainly can't beat the relaxation that comes along with the view from our huge back porch! It certainly makes you forget the hustle and bustle of today's fast paced lifestyle. Glad you had an enjoyable time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family Reuion - Labor Day Weekend!

    Family Reuion - Labor Day Weekend!

    • Guest Rebecca (Charlotte, North Carolina)
    • Date of stay 08/31/12
    • Review Submitted 09/10/12
    Loved our visit and we have always loved this area!! The house and grounds are just beautiful and very comfortable. One suggestion would be to check out the well area, because the water had a very stong sulfur smell but maybe just needs a filtering system for the water. The water smelled so strong that it did not seem normal, even for the Chesapeake Bay area.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for the notification on the sulfur smell. We had a new hot water heater installed a few months ago and apparently the annode in the unit can interact with well water causing an odor. Anyway, a quick fix by removing the anode and no more smell! Glad you were able to move through the house ok with the wheelchair. Hope you will visit with us again..

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Vacation Paradise

    Vacation Paradise

    • Guest Cat (Virginia)
    • Date of stay 08/18/12
    • Review Submitted 08/14/13
    A few weeks ago, my family and I stayed at Leitz's home during a family vacation along with my parents and brothers and sisters. Nestled in the woods along the beautiful East River, the residence was picturesque and furnished with extras like an eat-in kitchen with fireplace, a living room, dining room, porches and decks, a deep water dock and private fishing pier, a private swimming pool and pool house, tennis courts and a garage. I was thrilled to find the house was equipped with the conveniences of home, such as bed and bath linen, central AC and heat, a washer and dryer, a fully-equipped kitchen, cable TV, VCR and DVD, internet, telephone, a gas grill, fishing and crabbing gear and board, table and yard games. As a mother of three small children, vacationing can sometimes be tricky, especially when it comes to finding activities to please everyone. The convenience of all of the amenities on-site gave us all the opportunity to enjoy ourselves without the normal crowd you have to worry about at a touristy vacation. My husband could enjoy fishing and crabbing on the pier with our sons, while I sunbathed in the pool and hit some balls on the tennis courts with my sisters. There were no worries about beating the gawking crowd at the pool, or waiting our turn at the tennis courts. The atmosphere was tranquil and peaceful, and the perfect place to lay back in a hammock and enjoy the quiet. Beautifully kept grounds and acres of endless lawn provided the perfect location for my little ones to run to their hearts content without the concern of a busy road or traffic. It truly was the perfect getaway, and it seemed like for a few days, we had our own little piece of paradise. (From article written by Rebekah Carter in The News Leader - Staunton, Va. August, 2012)

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Family Vacation

    Family Vacation

    • Guest Terry (Staunton, VA Shenandoah Valley)
    • Date of stay 07/16/12
    • Review Submitted 07/24/12
    My family wanted a nice private location to retreat. This was perfect! Since we have teenagers, the pool and tennis courts were their favorites. We all tried our hands at crabbing and fishing. I caught my first fish! This trip seemed to bring us closer together as we explored and enjoyed this beautiful house and it's lovely grounds. We also drove about 20 minutes to a nice Seafood restaurant overlooking a Marina. Cathy was great at accomadating us on short notice.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Owner response: Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • April 2012 Wedding

    April 2012 Wedding

    • Guest John&Heidi (Lititz, PA)
    • Date of stay 04/11/12
    • Review Submitted 04/23/12
    Grandview Manor was the PERFECT place for our daughter's wedding! The house, the grounds, the backdrop of the river...what an absolutely special day it was. We moved in on wednesday and stayed untill Monday. Ceremony and reception for 140 guest was held on the grounds and people were just in awe of this hidden Mathews County gem. We missed it as soon as we pulled away and are trying to figure out a way to get back there. Thanks to you and your family for sharing your home our family and friends.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Surprise Bacholorette Weekend

    Surprise Bacholorette Weekend

    • Guest kel (Virginia Beach)
    • Date of stay 03/29/12
    • Review Submitted 04/02/12
    I just wanted to say a huge THANK YOU. The house was absolutely amazing. It was the perfect getaway for our Suprise Bacholorette weekend. The bride-to-be was amazed at the house and the property. We enjoyed cooking together in the big kitchen and having happy hour on the back porch looking at the views of the water. Mathews is a charming small town and we enjoyed the cute shops and friendly people. We went to Haven Beach on Friday which was really nice. On Saturday we had a surprise lunch for our bride-to-be at the White Dog Inn, where 5 surprise guests joined us. Everyone stayed over on Saturday night (9 of us) and there was more than enough room. There are no words that I could possibly say to tell you what a wonderful time we had. We made memories that will last each of us a lifetime! Thank you so very much!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Hidden Gem in Matthews

    Hidden Gem in Matthews

    • Guest HM in Richmond (Richmond, VA)
    • Date of stay 09/02/11
    • Review Submitted 09/06/11
    I rented the house over Labor Day weekend with several couples and we had a blast. The house was as described and had plenty of room for all of us. The grounds were in immaculate condition and we could not have asked for better amenities. We used the fishing poles, the pool and pool house, played tennis and had no problem cooking meals in the expansive kitchen. The house was in a remote location so we were able to play music, laugh, and have a great time without bothering the houses on other parts of the river. We spent plenty of time on dock and watched the boats pass by. Even the grocery store was only 10 minutes away when we needed supplies. I would recommend this place to anyone who asked. In fact, a few friends in nearby river houses didn't even know the place was there and were thoroughly impressed. We plan on renting the property again.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Idyllic Reunion for Three Families

    Idyllic Reunion for Three Families

    • Guest Stephanie (Imperial Beach, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/15/11
    • Review Submitted 08/16/11
    After not having spent time together for over ten years, our three families--three old Navy pilot friends and their families--reunited for a perfect weekend at Grand View Manor. While the pictures are outstanding, they could not do justice to the beauty of this place. Walking into the front door, I immediately opened the doors out to the back porch for an incredible framed view of the water. From the steam rising off of the water in the early morning hours while we kayaked into hidden inlets, to the candlelit dinners on the front porch in the warm evening breeze, we seemed to have the best of everything the Chesapeake Bay had to offer. There was a crab trap off of the dock, which provided endless amusement for our combined seven kids, and a campfire ring where we told ghost stories and listened to the night birds. The huge lawn was perfect for the croquet and cornhole games we'd brought, and the pool/tennis area was in use almost constantly in the daytime heat. One of the best features was the layout of the house, which had more than enough room for all three families to spread out comfortably without ever feeling crowded. The furnishings were lovely and comfortable (although the master suite was quite over the top with excellent water and lawn views!). In short, this visit to Grand View Manor contained just about everything I love about the East Coast, down to fireflies in the evening. Highly recommended!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect for a family gathering

    Perfect for a family gathering

    • Guest Serena (Reston, VA/ Mid Atlantic)
    • Date of stay 06/15/11
    • Review Submitted 06/30/11
    Five families met up from all over the country to stay at this gorgeous estate. All of us, family, but with different tastes, loved the place. It was beautiful, spacious, and provided much needed relaxation. The pictures on the ad do not do this place justice. If you are looking for a place to relax with people, but also have your own private space- this rental is perfect. My family of four stayed in the master suite, and we felt we had so much room- it felt like three rooms, which our daughter absolutely loved. I felt that we had place to be alone and then when we wanted to mingle with our extended family, we went to the kitchen, porch or dock. My husband was able to take a long run through the woods and some of the people that stayed went golfing. We swam with the little ones in the pool, stayed out late at night on the dock, and even had a bonfire. This place is really great, in many ways, has class, and is perfect for having fun.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/01/06
    • Review Submitted 08/30/06
    MAGNIFICENT!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/01/06
    • Review Submitted 05/02/06
    Could not have asked for a better place to be married! Though the weather was horrible, the house was more then able to accomodate the ceremony as well as the reception. Bobbi was so helpful in every aspect of our wedding, reception, and anything else we needed. I could not ask for more, and could not be more pleased! Everthing was so beautiful!!!! Thank You for making our special day so wonderful! I highly reccommend Grandview Manor to anyone having an event or just a get away! A truley amazing place with a wonderful care taker who just makes it better. We will definately be back!!!!! THANK YOU!!!!! Kayte and Rick Ryan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/01/05
    • Review Submitted 09/05/05
    We loved this place! It was perfect for a vacation for four families with small children. The spacious bedrooms made it easier to have our children in the rooms and the private baths and large kitchen were essential. It even had a sunroom joined with the kitchen that made it easy to watch our toddlers while enjoying adult time too. With kayaking, the pool, and swimming pool right there, we never had to leave. I highly recommend it. The pictures don't do it justice. The grounds and views are beautiful! This may become a yearly spot for us!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/01/05
    • Review Submitted 08/11/05
    An oasis in VA! It was the perfect spot for a reunion of longtime friends with celebration on the mind. The stately property was only outdone by the many amenities that were offered. You won't go wrong spending a few days or longer relaxing in this tranquil location. Hats off to Bobbi for creating the setting for us to form so many wonderful memories.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Pam O. (Richmond, VA)
    • Date of stay 08/01/05
    • Review Submitted 08/06/05
    We had our son's wedding celebration at Grandview Manor. It began on July 29th with a Seafood Boil, with a Hawaiian feast on July 30th and family time for a couple days after that. Grandview Manor was more than ideal --- the setting is beautiful. It was like a haven from the world. There were about 45 people who attended (we had other homes to sleep at) and everyone who attended had a wonderful time. We definitely would come back - Bobbi was more than gracious and informative.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/01/05
    • Review Submitted 07/17/05
    + Our Golden wedding anniversary was May 28, 2005, and we decided to treat our four children and five grandchildren to a week-long vacation after the grandchildren had finished school. We had lived in the Tidewater area of Virginia when I was in the Navy, and again after I retired from active duty; and our youngest son and family live in Chesapeake. So we looked for a vacation home to rent in that area. Grandview looked good, but it was beyond our expectations. The view, the grounds and furnishings are truly grand, and it's very peaceful. The town of Mathews is right out of early America, and there are no stoplights in the whole county. Grandview is very well stocked, which makes it very easy to pack for the trip. Bobbi McElroy was there to help if needed. It was a very enjoyable week, and we would definitely return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/01/05
    • Review Submitted 06/02/05
    Grandview is a wonderful place to relax and rejuvenate. Our daughters, their husbands, a mother-in-law, and brother all work very hard, so we love gorgeous places that "force" us to sit back and smell the roses. Grandview is perfect! The grounds are beautiful, and the porches offer views to the water and gardens. Everything you need to have a pleasant, fun, and peaceful visit. Other than food, everything is provided. The kitchen was stocked with all needed items to create gourmet meals. All the rooms are luxuriously appointed, and we felt like royalty. Bobbi is a lovely host, and her added touches of flowers, information, and accessibilty made Grandview a place we love and will definitely return to in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/01/05
    • Review Submitted 04/05/05
    We chose Grandview Manor as the site to host our daughter and her fiance's engagement luncheon. We could not have chosen a more lovely place. The house is well appointed and has every amenity imaginable. We could not have been happier. Although the weather was rainy and cool, our guests had plenty of room to mingle and socialize throughout the spacious house and on the porches. The views are breathtaking, and for guests who'd never visited this area of the country...they vow to return! Thanks to Bobbi, the caretaker of the property, who saw to it that our overnight guests were provided with everything they needed...including the luxury bathrobes! Grandview Manor is a delightful place to entertain. We'll definitely return!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/01/04
    • Review Submitted 10/13/04
    We held our annual family get-together the 1st week of October at Grandview and were extremely happy with the location, the home itself, and the great support from Bobbi, the property manager. Everything we needed was there -- and it was more than spacious enough for all of us. Kayaking, bicyling, swimming, croquet on the lawn and mint juleps on porch....perfect. We would definitely return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/01/04
    • Review Submitted 09/26/04
    We chose to hold our wedding ceremony & reception at Grandview. Although the weather didn't cooperate with our original plans to use the beautiful and spacious lawn with plenty of waterfront views, we were able to comfortably hold the celebrations on the porch and in the house for 65 people. The caretaker, Bobbi, is organized and gracious, and even provided luxurious robes for all of the overnight guests. This house is ideal for spending lazy days gazing at the East River or holding catered events in the evening! What a beautiful spot.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/01/04
    • Review Submitted 09/14/04
    We stayed at Grandview Manor during the last week of August for several days leading up to our wedding (which took place at a friend's house) on August 28. The bedrooms were very comfortable and beautifully decorated. All of us staying in the house spent most of our time at the pool, on the back porch or in the cozy yet roomy kitchen. Some of our guests played tennis on the newly renovated courts and had a great time. We're most definitely planning to return to Grandview for anniversary celebrations!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/01/04
    • Review Submitted 09/12/04
    Grandview Manor is a true dream of a house. The views of the East River are magnificent, as are the lovely and perfectly manicured grounds. The spacious house and grounds have everthing you could possibly wish for ... swimming pool, pool house with bath and kitchen, tennis court, wide covered and screened porches for reading and gazing at the water. The kitchen is stocked with everything you need for serious cooking, and it also has a water view. The house is thoughtfully stocked and decorated down to the smallest essentials. We forgot suntan lotion but it was supplied. Can't think of anyway it could be better.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]