Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Rock cairns built in front of the barn.

The Barn on Hungry River [#3142] | View Property

Asheville
Barn, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 6)
$1075/wk - $1275/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (33)

Sort by:
  • Fun and Relaxing

    Fun and Relaxing

    • Guest Smoky Mtn girl (Maryville, TN)
    • Date of stay 07/20/13
    • Review Submitted 08/05/13
    Our vacation at The Barn was a fun and relaxing time for our family (parents, adult siblings, grandkid) retreat. The Barn is just as the pictures depict slightly rustic, roomy and comfortable. We loved the spacious porch and rockers. It was a great place to sit and enjoy the sounds of the river, take in the scenery, and play games (plenty of room for bean bag toss). Luckily the temperature was cool enough one evening to use the fire pit and make s'mores. The river is good for fishing (can be quite cold so be prepared) and we were lucky enough to catch some trout for dinner. It is a short drive to both Flat Rock and Hendersonville. I would recommend a visit to both. Downtown Hendersonville is a pretty restored area with nice shops and restaurants. Asheville is only about 25 minutes away and has lots to offer. If you enjoy hiking and outdoor activities Mt Pisgah National Forest and Chimney Rock are easy drives. This is also apple country so if you are visiting at the right time there are plenty of orchards to chose from; unfortunately we were there 2-3 weeks before apple picking begins. My family and I definitely recommend staying at The Barn. The owners are very helpful and have a beautiful, clean, and well stocked place. One of the best things is that there is no cell phone service that really helps you relax.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Charters stay

    Charters stay

    • Guest Don (Greensboro NC)
    • Date of stay 06/22/13
    • Review Submitted 07/01/13
    We had a great time at the barn and enjoyed all of the amenities. There were 8 of us and we were not cramped at all. The river was a great playground for the kids. We went to Hendersonville, Sliding Rock, and Asheville during the week. The outdoor eating on Main Street was great also. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at the Barn. We would recommend this to our friends at any time.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful setting

    Beautiful setting

    • Guest Tough mom (Indian)
    • Date of stay 06/15/13
    • Review Submitted 07/15/13
    I am not sure even where to begin. Almost like a perfect vacation. The barn was very comfortable for the 6 of us, very clean and well kept. We cooked, barbecued, spent endless hours in the river, built camp fire, and spent hours playing board games. All major attractions were within half hour away. We hiked to see numerous waterfalls in the area, drive through Blue Ridge Parkway and visited the beautiful Biltmore. If you have time check out the Hendersonville downtown. You are in for a special little treat.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Bama Family Mountain Escape

    Bama Family Mountain Escape

    • Guest Father of Fly Fisher (Alabama)
    • Date of stay 08/16/12
    • Review Submitted 08/24/12
    The description of the Barn next to a flowing stream was accurate. The photo's of the exterior and interior of the barn were quite accurate. The organic garden, porches, pottery, and rock scultures were as depicted in the photographs The property was exceptionally clean, and obviously well maintained by the owners. The owners visited with us twice and were very helpful in recommending hiking, fishing, dinning, and site seeing places. I would recommend this location readily, we will definitely be returning to this location when we vacation in the area again. We took an hour long hike, and waded in the Hungry River near a bridge and a deam down stream from the barn. My son fly fished the Hungry River all afternoon one day. We drove over to the Dupont Forrest and went on a three hour hike taking in two different beautiful waterfalls. We went to the Hendersonville famer's market early Saturday morning and bought fresh organic vegetables including fresh mushrooms that we cooked at the barn. My wife and daughters visited the antique and gift stores in Flat Rock our last day. We eat out one evening at the Thai restaurant in Hendersonville, and another evening at a restaurant named Mezzanuto (?) the food was great and the beers selection was excellent. A very relaxing setting that is although off the beaten path conveniently located near the activities we wanted to enjoy.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Family with Golden Retriever

    Family with Golden Retriever

    • Guest Michael (Maryland)
    • Date of stay 07/28/12
    • Review Submitted 08/29/12
    We had a fantastic vacation at the Barn on Hungry River! The photos and description of the house and property were accurate and captures the feel of the place. The owners were extremely helpful, but totally respectful of our privacy. The river level is right outside the door so you can always hear the sound of the flowing water, and it makes a nice place to cool off. There's lots to see and do around there - beautiful hikes of all levels of difficulty, the Biltmore Estate, Asheville's Arts district, and some really beautiful, and much lesser known places including a great place to watch expert kayakers navigate through Class IV or V whitewater - it's a pretty serious hike to get there, but the owner will be happy to tell you how to find the very hard to find trail to get you there! We would highly recommend the Barn at Hungry River to anyone who wants a relaxing vacation in Western N.C. Whether you want to explore every day and go out every night, or just hang around the property and take a dip in the river every now and then you'll have a great time - so will your kids and your pets!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • July 2012 vacation of a Florida family

    July 2012 vacation of a Florida family

    • Guest A Florida Family (Boca Raton, Florida)
    • Date of stay 07/20/12
    • Review Submitted 07/30/12
    The renovated barn is probably one of the most comfortable cabins in North Carolina that we have ever stayed in. The creek/river kept my kids (and dog) busy every afternoon while my husband and I could just relax. The close proximity to the many points of interest (Chimney rock, Dupont National Forest, Carl Sandberg's home, tubing, Asheville, Hendersonville...) of the barn is a nice definitely a bonus. The owners of the barn, the Sanders, are wonderful and did everything they could to make our stay comfortable. We are definitely planning a return visit, but next time the kids want to bring their friends!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A little piece of heaven

    A little piece of heaven

    • Guest Kit-Kat (Tallahassee, FL)
    • Date of stay 07/13/12
    • Review Submitted 07/25/12
    Better than the website could show. Wonderful home with the Hungry River at our door. The river was so nice to listen to as we relaxed on the long broard porch in the many rockers. Everything you could want or need inside the home is there. The flower gardens we a real treat. To take your cup of coffee and roam through as you listened to the birds and the river was perfect. A fire pit in another part of the garden was delightful in the evening. Our hosts were fasciniating people and great hosts. The site was an easy half hour drive to Asheville and ten minutes to Hnerdersonville or Flat Rock. WQe will go back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Family of six

    Family of six

    • Guest Family of six (Curacao)
    • Date of stay 06/30/12
    • Review Submitted 07/16/12
    If you want to have a relaxed, laid back holiday with children, this spot is definetely worth checking out. We loved the settings; the barn was neat, comfortable and child friendly. The garden with its gentle flowing river (in summertime) was a great play area for our young children, who could explore and enjoy to the fullest! From small bugs and butterflies to full size deer, its all there. Many nice activities are just 30 minutes away. The area is beautifull with its many orchards and the Blue Ridge Parkway basically around the corner. We very much enjoyed the great hospitality of the owners, who vere helpful when needed. All in all we had a great holiday in gorgeous settings!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Family with young kids.

    Family with young kids.

    • Guest Mountaineers (Clearwater FL)
    • Date of stay 06/09/12
    • Review Submitted 06/18/12
    We have been traveling to the Asheville/Hendersonville area for many years now and have enjoyed the beauty of the mountains! We spent a whole week at the Barn on Hungry River and had a wonderful time! We spent our days playing in the creek with the kids or taking short trips to area hiking/attractions. Our evenings were spent around the fire pit or sitting on the large porch listening to the river. The house is very comfortable and has all the kitchen amenities of home. Our kids had a great time and are talking about next year's trip!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • An incredibly restful, comfortable, rejuvenating slice of heaven

    An incredibly restful, comfortable, rejuvenating slice of heaven

    • Guest ZA-abroad (Baltimore, MD)
    • Date of stay 05/25/12
    • Review Submitted 06/04/12
    The Barn on Hungry River is an absolutely magical place. The setting is exquisite- a beautiful stream, a lush and inviting garden, both vegetable/herb and ornamental, the quiet of the country, the forest behind and around. The Barn itself is very, very comfortable, clean and cozy, and had quite enough space for our party of eight. The long front porch is an amazing place to sit and think, or just sit. There are half a dozen comfortable nooks around the property. The rooms are all you'd need. We had no complaints at all, and were loath to leave after our week. The listing information is quite accurate, and the photos, if anything, under-represent how nice the place is. In particular, the river, at least in late May/early June, was bigger and more interesting than the photo suggests; and the fishing is quite a lot better than the mere mention of it would suggest- my brother and I are both very keen fly-fishermen, and had an absolute blast on the river (mostly downstream from the Barn). There are some surprisingly large fish in it (rainbows to 14-16 inches), and it has real character. The water is very clear, and the fish are spooky, so the fishing isn't easy, but it's very rewarding. The fish were not great risers, and nymphing was only marginally successful, but they really went for small streamers. The owners, Phyllis and Palmer are genial and welcoming, but never intrusive. We had a bit of a mix-up on our end with arrival dates, and needed to arrive a day early, and Phyllis had no problem with the change in arrangements. The area is wonderful as well. We spent most of our time at the Barn, but Asheville is close, and seems like a rewarding place to explore (Tupelo Honey Cafe is great). The countryside is marvelous- streams and rivers at every turn, and as much great hiking as you could want (though this is not a secret, and some sites/trails can be crowded). All in all, a wonderful place, and we are very keen to return.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Wow! What a great description of our property. Thank you all.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Renter

    Renter

    • Guest TerryB..... (Tallahassee, Flordia)
    • Date of stay 05/17/12
    • Review Submitted 05/24/12
    The property was everything we expected and more. The Sanders were MORE than cordial and offered very useful suggestions on things to do and see. Even though they live in a house on the property we NEVER knew they were around. The "BARN" was clean and neat. Everything worked and Palmer even brought us a booster so that we could use the internet. The one GOOD thing that I liked was the fact that the barn is out of cell phone range. The only noise we had was the Hungry River. WOW!!!!! We are already talking about coming back next year in the fall to enjoy the colors. It was so restful laying in bed listening to the river roll on by. The covered porch facing the river has several rocking chairs that were the place to be with a good cold glass of iced tea and a good book.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It's always nice to meet happy, enthusiatic people such as your group. I'm glad that the Barn met all of your needs. Isn't that some awesome river sounds! It makes for some really relaxing time. Our property is a nice place to get away from cell phones & texting. It'll be great to see you back for a fall visit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Holiday Getaway

    Holiday Getaway

    • Guest Bill (Cary, NC)
    • Date of stay 12/27/11
    • Review Submitted 01/03/12
    If you are looking for a very comfortable, scenic, and peaceful place to spend with the family that is close to many activities, then this is the place you want to be. The owners are wonderful and very helpful with your visit. The creek running past the barn is music to the outdoors. I would highly recommend renting this location to anyone.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Excellent, cozy, plenty of space

    Excellent, cozy, plenty of space

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/22/11
    • Review Submitted 01/02/12
    We loved this place! 4 bedrooms, 2 upstairs and 2 downstairs. The beds were great, the kitchen was fully stocked. The property is so beautiful, right next to the stream. We'll have to plan a trip back during warm weather when we can sit on the porch and enjoy it more. I found it very convenient to Asheville and Brevard. No cell service, but the WiFi kept us connected.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely Secluded Getaway

    Lovely Secluded Getaway

    • Guest Anonymous (Raleigh, NC)
    • Date of stay 11/24/11
    • Review Submitted 12/01/11
    The Barn was more than we had hoped for. Thanks for a wonderful time. With 3 kids, 4 adults, and a dog it was comfortable (note the bunk beds were replaced with a double) and there were many things to do on the property, from stacking rocks, playing in the creek or leaf piles, rocking on the huge porch, and having a campfire. Hospitality was excellent and we would definitely recommend our friends and would visit again! They also make their own pottery, which is one of the best hand-made pottery I have ever seen (and probably sell it too).

    Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I am so glad that your family enjoyed your time on the Hungry River. I'll update my internet pictures and take out the bunk beds. Thanks again, Phyllis & Palmer

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely, relaxing vacation home

    Lovely, relaxing vacation home

    • Guest Denise (Atlanta GA)
    • Date of stay 08/13/11
    • Review Submitted 08/21/11
    My husband, 2 dogs, & I had a great week's stay at the Barn. We loved the private, valley setting and the cozy front porch facing the running river. The Barn was well stocked, very comfortable & charming. We are cyclists and enjoyed riding the beautiful country roads & visiting the near by towns of Flat Rock, Hendersonville & Asheville. Phyllis was great to work with and the whole experience exceeded our expectations. We plan to return to the Barn.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Truly Unique Place to Relax

    A Truly Unique Place to Relax

    • Guest Greg (Bogota, Colombia)
    • Date of stay 08/06/11
    • Review Submitted 08/24/11
    My wife, sister, brother-in-law, and two friends, visited the Barn on Hungry River in mid-August 2011. We had an outstanding time. The place has all the comforts of suburbia but is nestled in the most tranquil, peace-inducing location you could imagine. Our two dogs had a blast splashing in the river each day. Phyllis and her husband were great hosts and we'd love to vacation there again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Family Place

    Great Family Place

    • Guest Rene (Gainesville FL)
    • Date of stay 07/01/11
    • Review Submitted 07/14/11
    Thebarn wa sloads of fun. We enjoyed playing in the river, rocking on th ehuge porch, and walking through the garden stocked with vegetables and beautiful flowers. Close proximity to Asheville attractions and owners live close enough where if you need something they can help you out. Overall it was a great family vacation. Thanks!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great time!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great time!

    • Guest Daniele
    • Date of stay 10/07/10
    • Review Submitted 11/13/11
    Hi, we had a great time with our family.The site was georgious and relaxing.What a great break it was for everyone.We did not intend to leave the green tub behind,but you can have it for you or guests to use it.I guess we had to leave a souvenir behind!!!. Our path may cross again. Even the dogs loved it !!!! AU REVOIR. Daniele,George and family.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/01/08
    • Review Submitted 12/05/08
    Six of us spent Thanksgiving weekend at "The Barn" and had an amazing time. The minute you walk on to the property, your heart rate will drop, the tension will ease up and the sound of the Hungry river will wash away all that stress. It was hard to leave to visit the surrounding area but we ventured out to Dupont State Forest (great hikes, waterfalls) and to Asheville for a couple of concerts. But far and away, just sitting around the fire and soaking up the beauty that Phyllis and Palmer have created was the highlight of the trip. This place is set up for both adventerous and relaxing fun. . .take your pick. We'll be back, for sure!! I can't wait to see the gardens in Summer. Cool-Funky-Natural-Homey- Cozy--the Barn has it all!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/01/08
    • Review Submitted 10/22/08
    Had a quick weekend trip to the barn, which was quite lovely, peaceful and cozy. Lots of room with a central gathering place for everyone. Wished that we had been able to stay longer. Look forward to doing just that at a future visit! Thanks for a great stay!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/01/08
    • Review Submitted 01/28/08
    Beautiful location and wonderful barn! Lots of room for everyone. We loved every minute of our stay. Can't wait to come again when it's warm enough to wade in the river.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/01/08
    • Review Submitted 01/08/08
    We had a wonderful week-long stay at the Barn on Hungry River. The Barn is spotlessly clean and spacious, with a cozy feel on winter days and evenings. The country setting, by the river, is beautiful, and we enjoyed our daily walks in the peaceful countryside. All in all, a delightful place for a vacation. The Sanders are very accommodating and eager to have their guests enjoy their stay at The Barn.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/01/07
    • Review Submitted 06/18/07
    Our troop has 6 girls and 2 co-leaders and we loved the Barn! Perfect sleeping arrangements with the girls downstairs and the adults upstairs. The girls especially loved playing in the creek. Phyllis & Palmer are very hospitable and accommodating. Be sure to check out Palmer's beautiful pottery!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/01/07
    • Review Submitted 05/23/07
    5/12-5/19/07 There were 8 adults. My contribution to the clan was myself and two dogs. Got to spend time with family that I hadn't seen in a year and spent Mother's Day week with Mom enjoying the Barn, love the porch and the river! We spent a beautiful week sitting on the porch enjoying each other and watching the pups play, they were exhausted at the end of the week. Took in as much local touring and shopping as we could. Hendersonville is a great little town! Blew all my vacation savings at "World of Clothing", Needful Things and downtown Hendersonville antiques. (and Palmerware =0)) If you go to Biltmore(we went 2 days) get the headsets and do the rooftop tour, it's awesome! The Sanders were great hosts, friendly and helpful. I highly recommend a week at the Barn to anyone. It's a quiet, peaceful place.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/01/06
    • Review Submitted 10/23/06
    We enjoyed our week long stay at the Barn vey much.Everything we could possibly need was provided for,we especially liked the comfortable sheets and the bedspread! Got to meet Phyllis and her husband and both were very nice and friendly as well as helpful! Her husband makes beautiful pottery right on their property! We loved listening to the sound of the River rushing by as well as observing the trout.Sitting by the fire at the fire-pit was also wonderful! We certainly would come back another time! Sincerely,Annette Libby.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/01/05
    • Review Submitted 09/06/05
    9/2/05-9/5/05 4 adults & a dog named "Buffy" stayed at the Barn on Hungry River over the Labor Day weekend. What a wonderful way to spend time away from our day to day routine. The 'barn' is wonderfully comfortable. We had such fun watching our dog explore the area. She is used to a fenced in back yard and a leash when out for a walk. Her spirt was set free to run and roam the river with us. She came home a very tired doggy and we came home well rested. We took in the Apple Festival in Hendersonville ( a short 15 min. drive) over the weekend and enjoyed the town. Phyllis was such a sweatheart - we enjoyed the time we had chatting with her. We look forward to returning to stay again and will pass along info on the place to friends and family.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/01/05
    • Review Submitted 07/11/05
    My husband and I love this place. It's tucked away in the valley and it's very beautiful and peaceful-good chi(energy). It's so nice to sit on the porch in the rocking chairs and listen to the river. At night there is a great firepit to sit around and gaze at the fire or up at the stars. We took a really hike nearby to some waterfalls. The accomodations in the "Barn" are very comfortable-has everything you need. Phyllis and Palmer are great folks-perfect hosts. We highly recommend the place!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/01/05
    • Review Submitted 04/05/05
    What a wonderful vacation! The Barn provided us with tranquility, peace, and privacy that we haven't had in many months. Our two teenage boys love to fly fish and were thrilled with the river's access and their success. Phyllis and Palmer are two of the nicest people and have put a lot of love in decorating the Barn and the surrounding grounds. Phyllis has provided every amentity to make you feel at home. We felt like we were staying at our own place. We look forward to coming back again and again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/01/05
    • Review Submitted 02/08/05
    The Barn is a quite a great place to stay. It was very relaxing and the scenery was oustanding. It is clean, nicely furnished and our hosts were very nice. We wanted to escape the Florida heat and the barn is only 5.5 hours away from Miami. We had a great (and so is our labrador) and we have no hesitation to recommend the Barn on Hungry River.

    Owner response: I think it would probably be 15.5 hours from Miami. Phyllis Sanders

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/01/05
    • Review Submitted 02/04/05
    We LOVED the Barn on Hungry River. From the first contact with Phyllis until the last, she was as helpful as a person could be! She spent a lot of time giving us all the details about the property before making the reservation, and then more time once we arrived helping with area sites and places to visit. The location is very serene and the property is beautiful. The Barn is accomadating in every way possible and is beautifully decorated. The kitchen is stocked with every spice, condiment, appliance, and dish needed to make you feel right at home. The grounds are lush and inviting. The herb garden is spectacular!! We are disappointed to see that the week we wanted to return this year is already booked! We will be back at another time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/01/05
    • Review Submitted 02/02/05
    We stayed at the Barn on Hungry River for the second time this past fall. We bring our three children for a wonderful weekend of apple picking, hiking, smores and family time. The house is perfectly equipped with everything you could possibly need for a wonderful stay. It is spotlessly clean and the owners are wonderful to deal with. We will definitely return to this beautiful location!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/01/05
    • Review Submitted 02/01/05
    The Barn on Hungry River, tucked in a narrow valley, with river sounds and fire pit and flowers and herbs outside and fully stocked kitchen and comfortable beds inside, made a lovely, mellow setting for our vacation last summer. Phyllis and Palmer are great hosts and provide both written and oral information about area attractions and restaurants.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/01/05
    • Review Submitted 01/03/05
    The Barn is a WONDERFUL place to visit. It was one of the most relaxing visits I've had to date! The Barn is clean, accomodating, and picturesque. From any room in the barn, one can hear the serene sound of the river. We spent a FANTASTIC New Year's around the firepit and listened to the river and saw beautiful stars in the sky. The Barn COMFORTABLY accomodated 8 adults! We hope to stay there again - so don't book New Year's 2005!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]