August Dates Still Available!!!!!!!!!
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:Contact owner
- Pets considered:No
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Dauphin Island house description
Dauphin Island is a very cute & quaint island, it is almost undiscovered.
Our house sits on a deep water canal across the street from the Mississippi Sound, which is great for swimming. We have a view of the gulf which has an easy access walk. You can bring your boat and dock it behind the house. Oh! by the way, don't forget your fishing pole. You can fish from the crabbing deck out back, on the gulf side, or in the bay on the sound side.
We have all the comforts of home. Our living room & dining areas are very opened and airy. The most beautiful sunsets are seen from our front porch. The back deck always offers a cool breeze for gathering and grilling in the afternoon. We provide a fully stocked kitchen, linens, and a charcoal grill. We also have beach chairs & books for our guest to enjoy! On days you just want to relax we have a big screen TV, satellite, and a nice collection of DVD's. The island has great restaurants, parks, and a lot of history to see....
So, pack your bags and come on down!
Keywords: Beach House
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
- Non Smoking Only
- Children Welcome
- Minimum Age Limit For Renters
- Pets Not Allowed
Bedrooms: 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10, Beds for 8-10
Bathrooms: 2 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bathroom
Kitchen & Dining
- Cooking Utensils
- Ice Maker
- Air Conditioning
- Covered Parking
- Parking Off Street
- Clothes Dryer
- Washing Machine
- Linens Provided
- DVD Player
- Satellite / Cable
- CD Player
- Video Library
- Outdoor Grill
- Deck / Patio
Location & View
- Beach View
- Water View
- Pier Fishing
- Scuba Diving Or Snorkeling
- Deepsea Fishing
- Sound/Bay Fishing
- Jet Skiing
- Surf Fishing
- Sight Seeing
- Bird Watching
- Eco Tourism
- Scenic Drives
ReviewsWrite a review
My wife and I recently stayed at this property as a last minute getaway. We met with the owners and assumed everything was fine and ready. The property is beautiful and the island beyond our expectations. The problem was all in contacting the owners with questions or problems. We are extremely low maintenance people, but do expect certain things to actually work when you pay for them. This is actually the first negative review I have "ever" written. I'll be brief. The hot water heater did not work for our entire stay. We had to flip the breaker, as told by the owners, which was outside under the house. It would fill up, stay hot then short out. We took many cold showers. We called and texted the owners, but no reply. They have wifi, but you can't use it, I guess. We wanted to stay another night, because the house was open, but the owners didn't even respond to us. Our last night there ended with a cold shower, while waiting for a response from the owners, which didn't come till 2 hours before check out. It was too late by then, because we had already packed up. You pay a hefty cleaning fee and expect it to be clean. There were dirty dishes and flatware. There was molded food in the cabinets. We were told not to eat in the master bedroom, but found and empty potato chip bag under the master bed. Our biggest problem was the care "less" attitude by the owner. We talked to her about our concerns upon checking out, but she seemed like we were wasting her time. I guess in conclusion, we are glad there are other properties on the island to choose from in the future.
- Guest Tonya E.
- Date of stay 10/10/13
- Review Submitted 11/13/13
Owner response: My husband & I have been business owners since 1996 and have owned vacation rental property since 2005. We know that the key to a successful business is great customer service. We manage our own properties because we want to know that everything is taken care of correctly & in a timely manner. We have never had a negative review until now. We own three vacation properties and we have never had a review less that 5 out of 5 stars. These guest forgot to mention the fact that on the morning of their 2nd day of stay that they text me @ 7:00 am and said the hot water heater was not working. I called them back immediately to let them know that my husband was on his way to take care of it. He arrived @ the house in less than an hour to take care of the problem. All he found at the time was a tripped breaker. The hot water heater was working when he left. He told them to call him if they had any other problems. We did not hear from them again until the night before they were going to check-out. I had been sick so I put my phone on charge @ 6:00 pm & went upstairs for bed by 6:30 pm. Keep in mind that this couple received a copy of their contract the day of check-in, for I met w/them personally. Both Ronnie, my husband, and I provide our cell phone #'s in the contract so that our guest may reach at least one of us at any time. The next morning I realized I had a missed a call from our renters. The call came in after I went to bed. I called Tonya right away and apologized. I was really shocked that their review indicated that I was not concerned because that was not the case at all. I checked Ronnie's phone for any missed calls and there were not any. I wished they had called Ronnie for he would have handled it right away. I really feel like this situation was over exaggerated because there were only two times that they tried to contact me and both of those I have already mentioned. The other complaints about the internet & food were never mentioned to me in any of our phone conversations. I know for a fact that the internet works, they may have not used the password correctly. I feel in regards to the food they were just grabbing @ straws. The lady that cleans our properties also cleans our personal home. I have been using her for several years and she does I really great job. To our future renters I encourage you to read all of our reviews before making you decision on one bad review.
Love this property!
Love this property!
We have stayed here three years in a row now, we are hooked! Perfect location! We can play at the bay, or the ocean, or fish off the back deck. This house has everything you need, plenty of room and always VERY clean. Paulette is always wonderful to work with. She has always been amazing and gone above and beyond. The island is great without all of the crowds of other beaches. Plenty to do and a short boat ride to Gulf Shores. We love it and will continue our yearly trip! Thanks Paulette!
- Guest Mommyof2 (United States)
- Date of stay 07/27/13
- Review Submitted 08/03/13
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, sightseeing, families with young children, girls getaway, age 55+, adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.
A home away from home, I loved this house!!!! My brother, sister in law and 18 month old nephew flew out from England to join us for a family vacation. We have two teenage girls and had plenty of room. Everyone had a wonderful time. It was so relaxing, after a day in the sun to just sit on the patio with a glass of wine. The house is just as it is pictured. You will not be disapointed!!!
- Guest Jayne (New Braunfels, TX)
- Date of stay 06/23/12
- Review Submitted 09/11/12
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, adventure seekers, tourists without a car.
Best vacation yet!!
Best vacation yet!!
I did a lot of research of rental homes on Dauphin Island before I decided to drive 1,100 miles one way. I came across this gem of a home, which was spacious, clean and most of all more than affordable. Why spend the same or more money on a condo with neighbors on the other side of the wall! The Mississippi Sound is literally a stone throw away. My son and I fished there every morning & evening and caught a variety of different fish, along with missing something big! The Gulf of Mexico you can see while looking between the other homes in the area. Which means that was also close! The locals are more than friendly and will guide you on whatever you want. Whether its how to fish to where you can park to go to the beach for free. The canal out back we saw crabs and caught some hermit crabs also. We vacationed for a week but that was not nearly enough time. I hate to say too many good things because it will make it more difficult for me to schedule in the future :) All in all there were 4 adults and 2 - 10yr old kids who usually like their TV but would rather be outside doing something. That should impress! Paulette the owner answered all of my questions and kept me well informed of what her process is as far as renting and what is expected of you. Definitely the most fun we had on vacation plus the thought of going back to such a nice home either at lunchtime or at the end of the day made it that much more special, Photos of the home do not do it justice, trust me! The photos are nice but you gotta see this in person all 6 of us were very pleasently surprised. The island is quiet and some say that there isn't much to do? We seemed to find plenty of things to do on the island. From the fort, talking to the local people, exploring the island, watching dolphins, and going on a small fishing excursion. One day we even drove to New Orleans since we were so close. So if you are considering renting a home on Dauphin Island for 10 or fewer people, I would not look past this up. Consider the location, granted you are on an island, but you have water right outside the front and back doors. Believe me there are a lot of homes in the middle of the island with nothing but sand around them. Compare prices and you will not even come close for what you get. If this property would ever come up for sale, I would consider selling everything I own and this Yankee would have to practice on my southern drawl :) Thanks again Paulette.
- Guest Rich (Newport, Pennsylvania)
- Date of stay 08/11/12
- Review Submitted 08/20/12
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, sightseeing, families with young children, girls getaway, age 55+, romantic getaway.
Owner response: Thanks so much for such a wonderful review. It really makes me feel good to know that you enjoyed our home along w/ the island. It is so nice having great renters like yourselves. We hope you return very soon! Paulette
Spacious, very clean, attractively decorated house, with lots of extras
Spacious, very clean, attractively decorated house, with lots of extras
This was the perfect house for my family. The house was spacious, very clean, attractively decorated, with lots of extras. There were 7 of us, and we had plenty of room, and with teenage girls, there were enough bathrooms to go around. We loved there were TWO refrigerators and a deep freezer. It was very handy. We could walk to two different beaches - One was the bay side (for nice waves) and the sound side (calm and relaxing waters). Dauphin island was very quiet and relaxing. There were a couple minor things which were bothersome. The house has NO internet connection - we had to go to the coffee shop to check emails. Also, the city sprayed for mosquitoes a couple times, and we're a little paranoid about that. Lastly, there was a wooden step which was loose and needed to be repaired. We had to watch out for it. Overall we just loved the house and we hope to return soon!!
- Guest Andy (Kansas City)
- Date of stay 07/21/12
- Review Submitted 08/16/12
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.
Owner response: This is a wonderful review, unfortunately living in the south we have to deal w/ mosquitoes. The real problem would come into play if they did not spray. I was not aware that the step was loose @ the time, it has now been repaired. As far as the internet goes our previous carrier went out of business and we are currently looking into another one.
My family stayed at this GREAT house in June of 2012 and had an incredible time! We brought our two seniors and our 7 year old and our boat. The house had plenty of room for everyone and we cooked out almost every night. We kept the boat tied up in the back yard and did lots of fishing. We caught plenty of fish (Bull Reds, Trout, and lots of Black Tip sharks) We are already planning our next trip to the island. We loved that the island wasn't commercialized like Gulf Shores. The house was a great get a way and we hated to leave.
- Guest Dave (Mountain Home, Arkansas)
- Date of stay 06/16/12
- Review Submitted 07/21/12
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.
Nice house; great spot
Nice house; great spot
Stayed here for a week with my husband, 3 teenagers, and a toddler. We were very comfortable in this nice and roomy house. We especially enjoyed the space underneath the house. It is paved with swings, a picnic table, a BBQ pit and offers lots of shade. There is always a cool breeze blowing under there and is just a great spot to hang out. The owner answered all my questions and was very helpful and very nice. We caught some crabs off the back deck and caught some fish but they were too small to keep. We did see some HUGE fish swimming in the canal off the back deck but just couldn't catch them! The beach on the Mississippi Sound side is a very short walk across the street and there were lots of shells to gather and beautiful sunsets to enjoy. The beach on the Gulf side is a longer walk down the street or a quick drive but not much parking space and we saw people get tickets for parking on the wrong side. We went early before the crowds so we could park. It's an easy walk, though, if you don't have much to carry. Businesses close early on the island so if you're looking for a nightlife, you won't find it here, but you will find a slow, easy pace and a great place to relax and unwind in peace and quiet.
- Guest Carrie (Louisiana)
- Date of stay 06/09/12
- Review Submitted 06/18/12
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, sightseeing, families with young children, girls getaway, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.
We enjoyed our vacation the last week of July. The house has everything that you need. The owner was very nice and answered all our questions prior to our stay. The house is much larger then it appears in the photos and it's really quite nice. I called the owner the last day after we left to tell her what a nice time we had. Wish we could have stayed longer.
- Guest Carol (Daphne, AL)
- Date of stay 07/23/11
- Review Submitted 09/07/11
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, sightseeing, families with young children, girls getaway, age 55+, adventure seekers, romantic getaway.
Perfect place to stay
Perfect place to stay
We JUST returned from our vacation here and found it to be THE perfect place to stay on Dauphin Island. We fished in the canal at the back of the house,...walked in the bay (across from the front of the house) at low tide where we saw many interesting shells and hermit crabs and it was a short walk to the beautiful Gulf beach. The house was bigger than expected and had everything we needed. There seemed to be a continuous breeze off of the canal that we enjoyed from the swings under the house!! I would highly recommend this vacation home.
- Guest happyvacationer (Tennessee)
- Date of stay 06/11/11
- Review Submitted 06/18/11
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, adventure seekers, tourists without a car.
Perfect Spring break!!!!
Perfect Spring break!!!!
This was a wonderful place to spend our spring break. The beach house is beautiful, and very well kept. We will definitely stay here again.
- Guest Monica (Mobile, al)
- Date of stay 04/27/11
- Review Submitted 05/07/11
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, age 55+, romantic getaway.
May 18-Aug 17 weeek min.($1350.00 per wk.) August 18 - Sept-10 $1,200.00 (weekly rental only) Sept. 11th-Nov. 30th $145.00 (4nt. min.) Dec. 1st-Feb. 29th $99.00 (3nt. min.) Christmas & New years 1 week min. March 1st-May 18th $165.00 (4nt. min.) All holidays w/1 wk. min. available monthly Dec.-Feb. $1,500.00 (2 mo. min) $125.00-$150.00 cleaning fee & 11% tax / $250.00 refundable deposit 4th of July,fishing rodeo & $1,450.00 weekly (Labor day week 1.350.00)
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
This owner accepts: Credit cards.
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Sorry this information is not available. Please contact the owner for more information.
Year Purchased: 2010
Why the Owner Chose Dauphin Island:
I grew up on the island and have always loved it.
The Unique Benefits at this House:
Fishing, biking & swimming and most of all relaxing.
- Primary: (251) 776-2642 (Alabama, USA)
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
Beautiful Airy Kitchen
The Queen's Room
View of Canal Off Back Deck
Another View of Double Bedroom
Large Open Living Room
The Twin Room
Jack & Jill Bath
Hall Half Bathroom
Sunset Off of Front Porch
Another View of Twin Room
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2010.
Date last modified - Friday, August 30, 2013
4 Bedroom / 2.5 Bathroom
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.