Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Spacious Deck area with views to the hills & valley surrounding Cambria.

Serene Zen Retreat in Beautiful Cambria by the Sea [#316771] | View Property

Cambria
House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 3)
From $125/nt
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (14)

Sort by:
  • Absolutely Perfect

    Absolutely Perfect

    • Guest Susan (Lynnwood,WA)
    • Date of stay 10/13/13
    • Review Submitted 10/22/13
    My husband and I were on a three week trip staying at several different places. This house was by far the nicest, most convenient, stocked perfectly on any etc. etc. etc. It was so quiet and peaceful and we saw deer, hummingbirds and Monarch butterflies every day. The only fault I could possibly find is that it is so well thought out, it made me feel I needed to re-organize our home. I really can't say enough good things about this house. Thanks to the owners for sharing.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Lovely & peaceful spot

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Lovely & peaceful spot

    • Guest Megan & Wade, Los Angeles, CA
    • Date of stay 01/23/13
    • Review Submitted 02/11/13
    This is our third stay here...we added a extra day & it still wasn't long enough! Love sitting out on the patio as the sun sets. Thanks as always for sharing your beautiful home. Already planning our next trip.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Central Coast Gem

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Central Coast Gem

    • Guest Matthew San Diego CA
    • Date of stay 12/28/12
    • Review Submitted 02/11/13
    We loved this spacious Zen Cottage! The fireplace was a favorite...with just a flick of the switch, warmth & ambiance. Walking around the neighborhood we discovered Strawberry Canyon which provided a peaceful walk in the woodland where we encountered a herd of deer, mostly bucks. Fiscalini Ranch is a calming place to hike...we saw many hawks and in addition, the Harmony Headlands hike is about 2 miles and connects to a fantastic coastal trail. This place was wonderful & we definitely plan to return to Zen Cottage.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Cambria Retreat

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Cambria Retreat

    • Guest Debra Reed Ojai CA
    • Date of stay 12/08/12
    • Review Submitted 02/11/13
    Second time here @ Zen Retreat. First time with niece and second time wit hubby. What a wonderful escape you've created. We owned a home in Cambria for 9 years which we sold a year ago. I really miss Cambria and appreciate your retreat. It's the essence of Cambria. You've done a great job throughout. Thank you...I hope to return in the Spring.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Peaceful stay

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Peaceful stay

    • Guest Lisa, Dave & Ev So-Cal
    • Date of stay 11/24/12
    • Review Submitted 02/11/13
    An attitude adjustment occurs just entering your Zen casita. Our favorite place to stay in Cambria, with sounds of birds, wind chimes and inner voice in symphonic resonance. Visually, the light rooms and feng shui just right...design & decor help the nervous system settle to a soft purr. All is calm, all is bright. Thank you for providing us a lovely stay!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful & Peaceful Retreat

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Beautiful & Peaceful Retreat

    • Guest Deb & Tom Gig Harbor WA
    • Date of stay 11/06/12
    • Review Submitted 02/11/13
    Sun, Moon, Stars, quiet, warmth, love, joy. All these things depict our time i in Cambria. It's wonderful when the place you stay is part of your soul as well. We have enjoyed our short stay here. Like others have mentioned, your little cottage has been a peaceful retreat. We appreciate all that you have done to this beautiful place and thank you for sharing your little piece of heaven with us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Honeymoon stay

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Honeymoon stay

    • Guest Meggie & Micah Santa Monica CA
    • Date of stay 09/29/12
    • Review Submitted 02/11/13
    Thank you for sharing this wonderful home with us. It was the perfect place for us to spend our honeymoon! A nice cozy place to come back to after wine tasting, exploring tide pools, etc. We loved it!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Enjoyed our stay

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Enjoyed our stay

    • Guest Celeste & Benny Modesto CA
    • Date of stay 09/12/12
    • Review Submitted 02/11/13
    Thank you for sharing your beautiful home! Great craftsmanship & attention to detail. We loved "coming home" after a fun day exploring the area. We'll be back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • SOL -colorado

    SOL -colorado

    • Guest SOL (Colorado)
    • Date of stay 07/18/12
    • Review Submitted 07/24/12
    I spent a four nights in this beautiful home and found it to be a perfect home away from home. I was pleasantly pleased with the beautiful decor as well as the peaceful surroundings. I couldn't have been more impressed with all the necessities available. It was very close to the local beaches as well as downtown Cambria. I would definitely return to this lovely home in Cambria and would reccommend it to those looking for a peaceful getaway.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Peaceful retreat

    Perfect Peaceful retreat

    • Guest DJR (Ojai, CA)
    • Date of stay 01/27/12
    • Review Submitted 01/31/12
    Everything was perfect.....could not have asked for a better retreat. So quiet. Lovely zen decor. Great mountain view. Supplies all first class. It truly surpassed our expectations. Can't wait to return. Would definitely recommend to family and friends.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • This Zen is a gem!

    This Zen is a gem!

    • Guest MimiiM (Central Valley, CA)
    • Date of stay 01/02/12
    • Review Submitted 01/05/12
    This beautifully designed and decorated home is a true retreat. We wanted a place that was relaxing and cozy for our getaway, and we reviewed many homes in various areas. This was our third visit to Cambria - all of which have been wonderful, because there are just so many interesting options here. One of them is relaxing at home, of course. Since you can appreciate all that this coastal destination has to offer no matter which rental you choose, I'm going to focus on what makes this one so special. The home feels like it was just built, with modern features and fresh appointments. The "Zen" decor shows an intense attention to detail: everything in every room complements the serene yet cozy ambiance. The lighting, decorations, furniture and artwork all breathe relaxation and beauty. The home is not large, yet careful design makes it feel very roomy, with all you could need to spend lots of time here. We found the kitchen had all the things we needed to make most meals at home, with large modern appliances, nice cookware and Asian themed tableware. The living room has various entertainment selections, and there is a library with novels, guidebooks about the area, and best of all, books on various aspects of home design and decor which suggest how the owners may have created this wonderful retreat for relaxation and comfort. The bathrooms are simply beautiful, with unique tile and vanities, and comfy accessories. There are plenty of high quality linens and towels, various modes of storage for everything you bring, and beautiful bamboo floors. I always spend a lot of time researching for our rentals, so description, photos and other reviews are important. These are the reasons we chose this rental. Even so, I feel that the photos posted here, although completely accurate depictions of the home, cannot convey the warmth and beauty that you feel when you are here. (I'm writing from the home right now!) Finally, the owners have left a helpful binder of information, with friendly and helpful advice about the home. They have brochures on many things you can do in and around Cambria, and from reading these and the books in the library, we discovered things we had not seen or done before. This has been a memorable stay, and we hope we have the good fortune to return here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/6

  • Amazing place, amazing price!

    Amazing place, amazing price!

    • Guest Peggy McIntyre (Sacramento, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/17/11
    • Review Submitted 07/28/11
    My husband and I just spent a week at this wonderful home. It was perfect. Spotlessly clean and wonderfully outfitted. I loved the location, close to the beach, but up high with lovely valley views. And the price was extremely reasonable. Great high-end appliances in the kitchen. The deck was such a relaxing spot! Before leaving home (Sacramento) we had made plans for each day, but ended up spending most of the time cooking and reading our Kindles on the deck. I always rent from VRBO for our vacations and this was probably the nicest rental we have ever stayed at. Usually we pay at least twice as much and, although I have never been disappointed in any of the VRBO rentals, this place really outshone the rest.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • A BIT OF HEAVEN

    A BIT OF HEAVEN

    • Guest Kasha (Los Angeles)
    • Date of stay 05/20/11
    • Review Submitted 06/10/11
    We would like to recommend this beautiful retreat to everyone looking for a romantic and peaceful time…you will not be disappointed no matter how long you stay. The house is fully and tastefully equipped, clean and located in a nice and quiet neighborhood. Personally we have experienced an unforgettable time ….and we know now that the house and its own spirit played a huge role in our wonderful experience. Katarina and Krzysztof

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Gorgeous vacation getaway!

    Gorgeous vacation getaway!

    • Guest alazymoon (Whittier, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/11/10
    • Review Submitted 10/24/10
    My husband and I stayed here October 11-15, 2010. We found this home to be absolutely BEAUTIFUL! Everything was so luxurious, from the deep soaking tub in the master bathroom, to the stainless steel appliances in the kitchen. Yet it also felt very cozy and homey at the same time. You can tell the owner, Debbie, put a lot of thought and effort into creating this retreat, everything is top of the line and well maintained. Speaking of Debbie she is very nice and responsive, and easily reachable. This home is up in the hilly, residential area of Cambria, which was fun, we felt like we were in a tree house, and got to see some wildlife (a deer and some turkeys (!) ) And it's just a couple minutes away from Cambria's main street with all the shops and restaurants, and only seven miles from Hearst Castle and the elephant seals (both must sees!). Our favorite dining locations were the Sow's Ear for the delicious food and super friendly staff, and Linn's for the ollalieberry muffins. Be aware all restaurants close between 8-9 pm, but there is also a Cookie Crock market along the main drag where you can get provisions. Would definitely recommend this home!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/8



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]