Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Kitchen opens to balcony overlooking Queen Anne Hill and Fremont Neighborhood

Restful in-City Retreat or Ideal Location to Explore Fremont! [#317116] | View Property

Fremont
1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, sleeps 3
$125 - $150/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (45)

Sort by:
  • a place to call home

    a place to call home

    • Guest yve (Oakland, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/31/13
    • Review Submitted 09/09/13
    My sister and I stayed here Labor Day week and were totally happy with the place. The gift basket was awesome, the location could not have been better for walking to check out Fremont and for day trips to Seattle and other locations. My sister loved the bathtub and I loved the shower and the quiet hairdryer that was provided.The library is wonderful for obtaining information as we had problems accessing the internet but that was a very minor glitch. The waiters, waitresses and restaurant owners were so warm and gracious at all the locations we dined at in Fremont and the food could not have been better (Hunger, Chiso's , Roxie Diner, Revel to name a few). Thank you Joanna and John for everything and all the recommendations. It was great to have a nice quiet home away from home. We hope to come back again. yve

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing location and comfortable home away from home!

    Amazing location and comfortable home away from home!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/10/13
    • Review Submitted 07/19/13
    We loved our time in this sweet and unique vacation rental. The location was so convenient to walk everywhere we wanted to go in the Fremont area. The owners were extremely responsive and helpful. We appreciated all the hospitality details and care they put into our stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beyond our Expectations

    Beyond our Expectations

    • Guest Chris (Dallas, TX)
    • Date of stay 06/19/13
    • Review Submitted 06/27/13
    We came out from Dallas to visit some friends, check out Seattle, and to see the Freemont Solstice parade. We were completely surprised at the proximity of this house to everything. This is a beautiful old (but updated!) house right smack dab in the middle of Freemont. My very pregnant wife and I were able to walk to just about everything in the Freemont area (although the hill leading back up to the house from Freemont was steep for her). It's also just off highway 99, which makes travel to Downtown and north to the peninsula very easy as well. Our friends who visited even wanted to rent it permanently! We would stay here again in a heartbeat. JoAnna and her husband are incredibly accommodating, and just good people.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: To our guests from Dallas - thank you so much for being such great guests to work with! We appreciate you taking time to post a review and love knowing you enjoyed your stay and that you spent time exploring the neighborhood and beyond! I am glad it was possible to meet and we wish you all the best and hope you can be returning guests! John and JoAnna

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely Linden Getaway

    Lovely Linden Getaway

    • Guest David (Nashville Area, Tennessee)
    • Date of stay 04/07/13
    • Review Submitted 04/17/13
    Just simply Wonderful! Everything just as the description says. Beauty and Grace dwell within these walls, The Love and Caring flows and shows in all the personal touches of the owners. This is a must return home away from home!! Thank you for sharing this sanctuary!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Dear Guest from Tennessee, Thank you for your kind words and taking time to post regarding your stay - always much appreciated! We look forward to when you can return. John and JoAnna

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • WOW!!!!

    WOW!!!!

    • Guest Bryan B.
    • Date of stay 03/22/13
    • Review Submitted 04/05/13
    Having stayed in dozens and dozens of vacation rentals around the world over the years, we can honestly say this is one of THE BEST we've ever stayed in. John and JoAnna have done an amazing job of providing comfort, convenience, and charm with this super-cute condo. From the amenities in the kitchen and the bathroom (pretty rare in most vacation rentals but plentiful here) to the great recommendations on local attractions to the spotless condition of the property, everything was TOP NOTCH. Wireless internet? Check. Hairdryer? Check. Free laundry? Check. Walk-able neighborhood? Check. Comfortable and up-to-date furniture? Yup! Really want to stay in a boring hotel room vs. this charming condo? No way! Like staying outside the city and driving everywhere/all the time or want an in-city retreat where you can walk to local bars, restaurants, shops, and cafes?? Bingo!! This property has it all!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your kind words and taking time to post a review of your stay! Always much appreciated! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope you find your way back again to Linden! Kind regards, John and JoAnna

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A wonderful introduction to Fremont!

    A wonderful introduction to Fremont!

    • Guest Marty (Alaska)
    • Date of stay 11/18/12
    • Review Submitted 11/29/12
    The listing description of this property was very accurate, and the photos completely reflected the cuteness of the apartment. The apartment itself was spotless, in a great location, and Joanna had thoughtfully provided some snacks which allowed us to have coffee and breakfast (apples) the next morning without having to find a market. Everything worked, and the internet was easy to access. Joanna was very helpful in answering questions and remaining in contact. I would definitely recommend this apartment to friends, and I plan to try to use it again myself.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: To our guests from Alaska - Thank you for your kind words and taking time to post a review! Current input is always appreciated! We wish you the best and hope you are able to return again in the near future! John and JoAnna

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Returning guests from Colorado

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Returning guests from Colorado

    • Guest M and L
    • Date of stay 11/09/12
    • Review Submitted 01/02/13
    We feel so much at home here - there is an atmosphere of peace and serenity. My favorite is still the wonderful kitchen window with the holly outside! It is all so special to us. Thank you for your gracious hospitality. We hope to return soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Anniversary Get-Away

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Anniversary Get-Away

    • Guest Jack and Julie
    • Date of stay 10/21/12
    • Review Submitted 01/02/13
    Thank you so very much for the warm and charming retreat. We couldn't have asked for more. It was exactly the right place to celebrate over 30 years together. We enjoyed exploring Fremont, experiencing coffee shops and restaurants and walking everywhere! Reading about your family connection to this place really added to the charm. What a beautiful job you've done making this place into a peaceful little "island" in the city. Thank you so very much!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Honeymooners from the Netherlands

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Honeymooners from the Netherlands

    • Guest E and J
    • Date of stay 10/01/12
    • Review Submitted 01/02/13
    Thank you so much for creating this special place! It provided us with a great ending to our honeymoon. We've only come to love Seattle and Fremont more. We had so much fun riding our rental bicycles everywhere. Every time we came back after a sun-filled day to Linden Ave., it felt like home. Delicious coffee every morning, the great art, the fantastic deck, of course super-friendly John downstairs; there's too many great things to mention. Truly hope we'll be back here in the future. THANKS! :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • SPU Parents

    Guest comment entered by owner

    SPU Parents

    • Guest V and M from El Dorado Hills, CA
    • Date of stay 09/21/12
    • Review Submitted 01/02/13
    Thank you for your hospitality. You have a cozy, quaint place and we loved discovering Fremont for the first time. We especially loved its locale to SPU - just a short ride/walk away. Also enjoyed the Burke-Gilman Trail along the canal. Many Blessings.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • "A Thousand Thank-Yous!"

    Guest comment entered by owner

    "A Thousand Thank-Yous!"

    • Guest M and T from Phoenix, Arizona
    • Date of stay 09/10/12
    • Review Submitted 01/02/13
    ...Your sweet little place is so charming and homey. We've been to Seattle several times to see our son, and found this to be the best way to really live in and enjoy a city. The fact that it's been home to a few generations in your family makes it that much more special and evocative of another time. Love that kitchen with its curved cabinetry and big window over the table :) And all the little touches - from the welcoming basket to the salt crystal lamp to all the great Seattle information placed here and there were special and appreciated. We really enjoyed a day trip to a cute little town up north, called LaConner, a drive over stunning Deception Pass onto Whidbey Island, a stop in quaint Coupville for a bite and then a ferry back to the mainland. We highly recommend eating dinner at Cantinetta in Wallingford and The Walrus and the Carpentar in Ballard; both are great and special. MacLeods is a beautiful old bar in Ballard. Again, many thanks! We had a blast in your cozy spot!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A visit from Atlanta

    A visit from Atlanta

    • Guest John (Atlanta, GA)
    • Date of stay 07/12/12
    • Review Submitted 07/29/12
    Enjoyed being a part of the Freemont community, walking to places we drive to at home. In additon to the units being well located, with its own off street parking, we had everything we needed for a little in unit entertaining with our Seattle based daughter with ample cooking stuff. Excelent base for area day trips and seeing the sights of Seattle.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • "It really feels like home."

    Guest comment entered by owner

    "It really feels like home."

    • Guest M and D from Switzerland/Poland
    • Date of stay 06/26/12
    • Review Submitted 01/02/13
    Thank you for very warm welcome in your apartment! We travel a lot, stayed in many apartments so far but this one is by far the best one! We will be back most likely in two years :) All the best to you.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic Fremont Getaway

    Fantastic Fremont Getaway

    • Guest Daryl H.
    • Date of stay 06/25/12
    • Review Submitted 07/11/12
    One of our favorite apartments so far. We are already talking about coming back for our next 2 week trip. Warm and Cozy and only a little over a block from the "Center of the Center of the Universe," we felt right at home from the first moment we arrived. Of course, with a welcome basket and a fridge full of goodies, it was hard not to. We come from Switzerland and chose not to rent a car, yet found between busses and the occasional taxi we had zero problems getting around the area. Great for exploring Ballard, Fremont, Queen Anne and Green Lake either by foot or bike (ok, I am also sure by car) we still loved coming home each night to this wonderful rental. Thanks again and hope to see you again someday soon (or in Switzerland) !!!! Daryl and Marta

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Cozy Apartment

    Cozy Apartment

    • Guest Mt biker (Bozeman, Montana)
    • Date of stay 06/01/12
    • Review Submitted 06/12/12
    This apartment made for a wonderful stay in the Fremont area. The apartment had everything we needed, the kitchen and deck were great.We loved how close we were to the bike path and having a secure place to keep our bikes. I would stay here again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Jeff - Thank you so much for taking time to post a review - always appreciated! We are happy to hear that the property worked well for your biking adventures and that you were able to enjoy some deck time. Take care and we hope to see you in the future! John and JoAnna

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Sunny Seattle Week

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Sunny Seattle Week

    • Guest Returning guest from Brussels, Belgium
    • Date of stay 05/06/12
    • Review Submitted 05/13/12
    "It is so hard to leave – in particular on a day like today. I enjoyed my stay with rowing, motorbiking and sailing and tried to make the most out of this week of sunshine besides work. Staying at your Linden place was wonderful – as always!!! Thanks for renting out this lovely oasis in the middle of Seattle and next to everything one could possibly need to combine a week of work and outdoors."

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Choice!

    Perfect Choice!

    • Guest Maureen F. (Bartlesville, Oklahoma)
    • Date of stay 04/03/12
    • Review Submitted 04/18/12
    Choosing to stay at the Linden was the perfect choice for us. Clean, comfortable surroundings with all the ammenities and close to the wonderful Fremont cafes, shops and markets. Highly recommend.

    Owner response: To our Oklahoma guests! Thank you for your kind words and taking time to post a review - each one is very much appreciated! We are so glad you were happy with your choice and that you were able to explore the interesting neighborhood of Fremont! We hope you find your way here again! Wishing you the best - John and JoAnna

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Place to Stay! Highest Recommendations

    Great Place to Stay! Highest Recommendations

    • Guest Marie S. (null)
    • Date of stay 02/28/12
    • Review Submitted 03/27/12
    I have stayed at this apartment for over a month and could not be happier with this place. This apartment is beautiful - as soon as you step in you feel like you have walked in to your own home. It is well laid out and beautifully furnished. The neighborhood is quiet, so it is easy to get a good night's sleep. It is also located close to good restaurants, grocery shopping, and cafes (of course). Fremont is really accessible: it is about 12 minutes to downtown on the bus. You can even walk to Capitol Hill (takes about an hour). There are lots of places to jog and exercise - up and down the hills, or along the canal. The hosts (the Worthens) are great people and very helpful and welcoming. I really enjoyed my stay here and recommend this apartment highly. You will get a good sense of the real Seattle if you stay here.

    Owner response: To our new friend from New York... Thank you for taking the tme to post about your time at Linden and the Fremont neighborhood! Always appreciated. We love to hear that during your stay, even during a wet and cold month, you were able to explore on foot so much of the neighborhood and beyond! Cheers to all of your new beginnings! We are wishing you the very best - John and JoAnna

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful little Fremont apartment

    Wonderful little Fremont apartment

    • Guest Laerkin (Washington, DC, USA)
    • Date of stay 10/27/11
    • Review Submitted 11/08/11
    Where to start? First, JoAnna and John, the owners, were absolutely fantastic to work with. They made the reservation process clear and simple. They had a gift basket and a welcome book waiting for us that was filled with menus, recommendations, reviews from previous visitors, and more. Plus, they reached out to us after our stay and asked how we enjoyed our visit. Very nice people. The property itself is well-maintained and in a great location. There are a number of delightful restaurants, coffee shops, and stores just 2-3 blocks away (try 35th Street Bistro for an intimate dinner one night!). The Fremont bridge troll is at the bottom of the street and the bus stop is steps away, so getting to downtown without a car is very easy and accessible. The house was built in the late 1800's, so there's plenty of history and love in the building. The kitchen was well-stocked with all of the necessities like sugar, spices, and even a few surprises in the refridgerator. The bed is very comfortable and the property has Wi-Fi and cable TV in case you have a night in. My favorite thing about the property was the small private balcony in the back. I sat outside each morning sipping my coffee and taking in the fresh air and the sounds of Seattle. In the evening, I watched the sunset in bright oranges and pinks as we sampled local beer and snacked on organic cheeses from the nearby organic market. When we head back to Seattle, we will definitely rebook this property!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: To our guests from Washington D.C. - Thank you so much for taking the time to post about your stay! Travelers find up-to-date reviews informative and are also a great help to us. We love hearing that you found balcony time and the 35th Street Bistro! We hope you're working on plans that will bring you this way again soon! The best to you! John and JoAnna

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Family visit

    Family visit

    • Guest Joe & Fran (Kildeer, IL)
    • Date of stay 10/01/11
    • Review Submitted 10/19/11
    This was our first time renting from VRBO, We struck gold in picking this property. The owners were wonderful. They even had fresh baked cookies and a basket full of goodies for our arrival. The bed was very comfortable, and the unit was very clean and inviting. Freemont is a very walkable area and has lots of resturants nearby. Although the kitchen was so well stocked, I could have cooked every night. Thanks for a great visit!

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: To our guests from Illinois, Thank you for taking the time to post a review! Always appreciated. We're glad you found the unit comfortable and that you were able to get out and explore the neighborhood. Thank you for being such great guests, and we hope you are working on plans that will bring you back again in the near future! The best to you, John and JoAnna

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great place, you will not be disappointed.

    Great place, you will not be disappointed.

    • Guest Todd C. (Norton Shores, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 09/18/11
    • Review Submitted 09/30/11
    The owners do a great job with this rental and really take the time to make sure your stay is perfect. Very clean efficient space. Kitchen is well equipped and there is a small grill for eating in. Close to things to do, restaurants, bars etc. You will not be disappointed renting this unit.

    Owner response: To our guests from Michigan! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and for your kind words. It is our joy to host guests at Linden, and we are glad that the space worked well for you! And glad that September gave you good enough weather to be able to do some balcony cooking. We hope your plans bring you this way again! The best to you! John and JoAnna

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great week in Fremont, Seattle.

    Great week in Fremont, Seattle.

    • Guest phil & patti (richmond hill/ontario)
    • Date of stay 09/11/11
    • Review Submitted 09/25/11
    A friend & i recently spent a very enjoyable week at this property around a climb of Mt. Rainier. JoAnna & John are very gracious hosts who make you most welcome at their well appionted & conveniently located house. Especially appreciated was the welcome basket of provisions & the supply of sundries. We are international visitors, did not rent a car & found it easy to get around with transit & cabs. Fremont is a neat area of Seattle, not cookie cutter chain stores, but lots of local flavour. Would highly recommend this property.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Phil - Thank you for your post and kind recommendation! We are very happy to hear you found the local transit to work well. I believe you are our first guest to plan their entire trip without a car! We love that Linden could be a part of your journey from Eastern Canada to the summit of Mt Rainier - congratulations on your success!! Wishing you the best, John and JoAnna

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Perfect Vacation!

    A Perfect Vacation!

    • Guest MikeG (SF, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/06/11
    • Review Submitted 09/13/11
    We had a fantastic time at this rental. Not only was it an adorable building, but everything about it was just right. We were instantly made to feel at home, thanks to the many thoughtful touches. We were also given a lovely tour around the neighborhood to make sure we had our bearings. We would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat and would recommend it without any hesitation! Thanks again for everything!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It was our pleasure to meet you and have you at Linden! For guests new to the area or without local family, we find a walk around the neighborhood when possible can help make the most of valuable travel time. Thanks for your kind review and we hope you can make it up this away again in the near future!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great little get a way

    Great little get a way

    • Guest Vic (Shoreline, Wa)
    • Date of stay 08/21/11
    • Review Submitted 08/25/11
    Recently my daughter and I had a chance to stay at this charming Fremont duplex. It was just what we needed to get away from the guys at home. We enjoyed the very simple surroundings of the decor and the comforts of home. The old charm of the building was refreshing. We took a walk down to the canal and stopped in to the PCC grocery store. Everything is so conveniently located and there is plenty to do in the neighborhood. Just down the street is one of the city's icons, The Troll Under The Bridge Also the Burke Gilman Trail is right on the canal and you can follow it for miles in either direction, I highly recommend this quaint and cozy place for anyone just wanting a relaxing and centrally located spot to get a way.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Vicki, thank you for taking time to post a review! Always appreciated. We're happy that our place worked for a mother-daughter get away! Also, great that you were able to get down to the canal - so beautiful! The best to you and yours! J and J

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great vacation rental! You should stay here.

    Great vacation rental! You should stay here.

    • Guest pete (appleton, wi)
    • Date of stay 08/16/11
    • Review Submitted 08/22/11
    My wife and I took our first get away without the kids and had a wonderful time exploring Fremont, Seattle, and the surrounding area. This was our first experience with VRBO and with Seattle and it was amazing. JoAnna was so helpful throughout the trip giving us insights and tips on what to do, how to get around, and even offering to show us around Fremont. When we arrived there was a gift basket and some basic groceries stocked in the refrigerator (she asked us what we would like beforehand) and the place was very clean. The hospitality was amazing and one can tell that the owners really want to make sure you have a good time. We had a car during our trip and it seemed like we were in a very central location. Took us about 15 minutes to get downtown when there was little traffic. There is a parking space at the house so you don't need to worry about finding one. Great amount of space in the rental for 2 people. I'd say the pictures are very accurate. We used the deck quite a bit since it was so nice out. They also have a great book and CD collection that you can use. We don't have cable so we watched a little bit of TV too. We made dinner at home one night and had everything we needed to cook with. There were also some stock food items to borrow if needed (spices, etc.). The location is great. Close to gas works park and a biking/running trail. Also very close to downtown Fremont which is very quaint with great restaurants and shops. We also rented kayaks one day at Agua Verde Cafe and paddle club which isn't too far away (5 minute drive). I highly recommend doing that if you have nice weather during your stay. For us the only hiccup on the trip was finding the rental unit initally since it's on a one way street, but when you're coming in at close to midnight that is expected. :-) Overall this is a very affordable and nice place to stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Peter - Thank you for your helpful and kind review! We love hearing that you were able to get out on the water (Agua Verde Cafe is a favorite spot for the view and food)! Thanks for the note about Linden being a one-way street, helpful in keeping the noise down, but can see that adds to the challenge of finding your way the first time. We hope you and your wife can make it out to Seattle again! John and JoAnna

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • "We will be back!"

    Guest comment entered by owner

    "We will be back!"

    • Guest Guests from Colorado
    • Date of stay 08/16/11
    • Review Submitted 08/16/11
    We had a wonderful time and are grateful for all you did to make our stay enjoyable!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great location!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great location!

    • Guest Gary from San Francisco
    • Date of stay 08/06/11
    • Review Submitted 08/16/11
    Thanks for the hospitality. Great location and I love Fremont and Ballard. Good to see my old friends from the 60's as well. Had fun at the M's. Sox game last nigjht too. Thanks again + the apartment was just great!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • One month stay...

    Guest comment entered by owner

    One month stay...

    • Guest Guests coming to be close to medical treatment
    • Date of stay 06/30/11
    • Review Submitted 08/16/11
    Day 1 Felt like coming home again for the first time in a long time. Day 30. Moving out day for us...It's been a life-filled month! And what a place to spend it. Thank you for opening this part of your lives to us! Your place was perfect and we experienced many freest adventures while here!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Words can't fully describe...

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Words can't fully describe...

    • Guest Honeymooners from Arizona
    • Date of stay 06/18/11
    • Review Submitted 08/16/11
    How grateful we are for this house and the love that goes into it. We had such a blast exploring Seattle and enjoying all that is has to offer. This was truly the best honeymoon we could have asked for. Thank you so much for sharing your home :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Mother and daughter trip

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Mother and daughter trip

    • Guest Guests from Colorado
    • Date of stay 06/04/11
    • Review Submitted 08/16/11
    Thank you! Wonderful apartment and location - We had a great time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We absolutely...

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We absolutely...

    • Guest Guests from Alberta, Canada
    • Date of stay 05/30/11
    • Review Submitted 08/16/11
    ...loved our time on Linden St. Your attention to detail is amazing - we had everything we needed and much more. We would feel very privileged to stay in your beautiful "apartment" in very COOL Fremont again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Hard to believe this quiet...

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Hard to believe this quiet...

    • Guest Guests from Iowa
    • Date of stay 05/14/11
    • Review Submitted 08/16/11
    ...cozy retreat is so close to the "center of the universe.". Whether walking Fremont and vicinity or "day-tripping" via car, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Thank you for all the extras... We hope to be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What a lovely place

    What a lovely place

    • Guest vetwife (Falls Church, Virginia)
    • Date of stay 04/14/11
    • Review Submitted 04/28/11
    Recently, my husband and I spent 9 days in Seattle visiting our daughter and getting more familiar with the city. The Linden Avenue apartment was perfect in every way - from the proximity to restaurants, bars, shops, stores and everything else Fremont has to offer. The photos on the VRBO page were accurate - actually, the apartment is even nicer than the photos. It was very clean, and has been well cared for. The well equipped kitchen and the welcome basket of crackers, chocolate, cookies, wine, coffee as well as the provisions in the refrigerator that JoAnna brought over were very much appreciated. JoAnna and John have provided their guests with a wonderful choice of CDs (Yo Yo Ma was my favorite), DVDs, books, and magazines about Seattle. Last, but certainly not least, the washer & dryer located in the back of the house is a real plus. I would recommend this apartment to anyone traveling to Seattle. We would recommend Dad Watson's, The Dubliner Pub, and further down Fremont Avenue is a wonderful restaurant / bar called Hunger - it's great. The Zoo is about a half hour walk from the apartment and the Burke-Gilman Trail is within easy walking distance.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: To our dear guests from Falls Church - Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host your stay and for taking the time to post a review - always much appreciated! We loved having you for guests and look forward to when you can stay again. Wishing you all the best, John and JoAnna

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Guest from NewYork
    • Date of stay 03/17/11
    • Review Submitted 04/07/11
    I'm coming close to the end of my stay and frankly don't want to leave. What an absolute treat it was here - you have provided all the necessities and the 'Divine' has provided all the scenic beauty! All I can say is a big thank you with the hope of returning some day. I'm leaving more tranquil than I arrived.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A warm retreat on a chilly weekend!

    A warm retreat on a chilly weekend!

    • Guest Terri (AZ)
    • Date of stay 02/24/11
    • Review Submitted 03/01/11
    Thank you JoAnna and John for turning a blustery, cold weekend in Seattle into a cozy, warm retreat at Linden Ave. We walked in late in the evening to check in to find soft music playing, warm lights aglow, the heat turned on and a bountiful welcome basket. The attention to detail was exquisite. Even on a cold, damp weekend walking to Fremont was easy and accessible. The cleanliness of the property was pleasing and the fact that JoAnna also called to make sure we were staying warm was just another bonus. Don't miss Roxy's for breakfast. The Bloody Mary's are great and the Emerald City scramble was the best I've had. We really enjoyed Jai Thai and my new favorite Seattle coffee is Cafe Ladro. We look forward to returning and enjoying the great view of the city lights on a warm summer evening.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you, Terri! Loved having you at Linden and also look forward to when you can return - and yes, hopefully to warmer weather! Glad you found Roxy's - just tried the Emerald Scramble for the first time myself this last week! So good! Take care, J and J

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Guests from Cincinati, Ohio
    • Date of stay 02/15/11
    • Review Submitted 04/07/11
    Thank you so much for your wonderful hospitality. We felt right at home and enjoyed the fresh strawberries, bread, and wine. What an unexpected surprise to look out the bedroom window and see Mt. Rainer! Loved the location! A short one block trip to visit the Troll and a one hour trek to the top of Queen Anne Hill. We also walked to Gas Works and on to Ivars Salmon House. Thank you again. We will surely be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Spirit of the Emerald City!

    Spirit of the Emerald City!

    • Guest SPU Dad (Northern Colorado, USA)
    • Date of stay 01/30/11
    • Review Submitted 02/22/11
    A spotless, picture-perfect little getaway awaits you in the Emerald City of Seattle. This lovely upstairs apartment in a classic, early Twentieth Century home embodies the charm of a fairy-tale cottage. This little gem is a gentle treat for the soul. The home is perched on one of the city’s hills, in an exceptionally quiet neighborhood nestled two blocks away from the central Fremont business district. You are greeted by a secure private entrance and foyer (please remove your shoes). At the top of a flight of stairs is a second secure door behind which are the living room, bedroom, kitchen-dining area with an outside private sun deck, and bath. It is a comfortable, cozy space. There is no landline telephone but the cellular signal is 5 bars. For those who require Internet access, there is a secure wireless router. If you eschew the (outstanding) Fremont restaurant scene and prefer to cook for yourself, you can stock your larder from the Marketplace grocery store 0.6 mile up the street. [A cautionary recommendation if you are driving: Bring your little car. This district has cramped streets and limited parking. The two-vehicle driveway for this home is shared with the downstairs permanent resident and each half is suitable for a subcompact.] Fremont is a fascinatingly eclectic mix of business, pleasure, and infrastructure (e.g., the ship canal with its operational drawbridge, etc.). Self-guided tour pamphlets are available, and from this location a vehicle is essentially unnecessary. If you have business with (or perhaps are visiting your student at) Seattle Pacific University, it is a scenic 1.5 mile walk or quick drive to campus. Your hosts have the gift of hospitality, made incarnate by the warm and welcoming surroundings they have created for their guests. Make time to meet them! Once you stay in their home, you won’t want to leave.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: SPU Dad - Thank you for your kind words and informative input for future guests! We loved having opportunity to host your stay and look forward to your coming again! Take Care! J and J

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Amber from Californina
    • Date of stay 01/28/11
    • Review Submitted 04/07/11
    We had a lovely time here! Beautiful, cozy house, we felt at home! Thank you for everything. We walked and saw the awesome Troll, must see it. Hope to come back soon!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Gem!

    A Gem!

    • Guest JoAnn (Meridian, Idaho)
    • Date of stay 01/15/11
    • Review Submitted 01/28/11
    I can't thank JoAnna and John enough for making my stay in Fremont so comfortable! They thought of everything, from the welcome basket to little details throughout the apartment! I have stayed in many places in Seattle, but never one that was so clean and well taken care of! I hope to return this fall for another stay. Thank you again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you, JoAnn! We loved having the opportunity to host your stay in Seattle and are glad the unit worked well for your travel needs! We look forward to having you stay again - you took fantastic care of our little place! Hope to see you in the fall - John and JoAnna

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Charming Fremont Getaway!

    Charming Fremont Getaway!

    • Guest Chelsea (Mount Vernon, WA)
    • Date of stay 12/29/10
    • Review Submitted 12/31/10
    My husband and I recently stayed in this apartment with a couple of friends and we were truly impressed. It's newly remodeled, clean, private, comfortable and beautifully decorated. We found it to be in a great central location for exploring all of Fremont (walking distance to most everything) and there's even a small view from the back porch that looks out just West of Queen Anne which is especially beautiful at night. You could even hop on a bus and get downtown Seattle fairly quick. We really enjoyed this little getaway and would highly recommend staying here.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you Chelsea! We are so glad it worked out for you to stay in our Fremont unit and hope you have an opportunity to return for a visit when you are back in the country! Wishing you the best! John and JoAnna

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Resting and Meandering in Seattle

    Resting and Meandering in Seattle

    • Guest CW (Wine Country, OR)
    • Date of stay 12/25/10
    • Review Submitted 12/29/10
    Relaxed. Elegant. Simple. Lively. Peaceful. These are just a few words to describe our stay at this city retreat house over Christmas weekend. Even three days after our stay, thinking of our respite at this Freemont getaway brings a smile to my face. The contrast of a charming, peaceful yet well-equipped century-old home with downtown Freemont just two blocks away was delightful. The space was so comfortable and inviting that we found ourselves losing track of time, enjoying some moments of solitude, enjoying some delicious times of togetherness, and then wandering out to get a late, lazy breakfast at Roxy's. Roxy's is a breakfast place that characterizes the entire neighborhood. Roxy's was a Kitschy, quirky place for locals who go there to eat fresh, chewy bagels, feta-filled omelets, and home-fries to curl your toes. Then we strolled around Freemont taking in the other understated, but unique places--like Ophelia's--a small gem of a used bookstore owned by two cats. Be sure to check out their little (5 foot ceiling) reading nook upstairs. Then we walked back to the house to sink back into relaxing. This place is appointed with the most welcoming touches--luxurious towels, chocolate, wine, and a nice selection of books and CDs and well-lit reading spots. We'll be back, for sure to enjoy this spot that is lively or peaceful, depending on what you need. What can I say other than that it is tucked two blocks east of the Freemont Bridge Troll and two blocks west of a statue of Lenin wearing a Santa hat. You have to experience it to believe it.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: CW - Wow, we love hearing that a guest's stay was all that you described it to be! Thank you for taking the time to help paint such a helpful picture of Fremont! We had not yet discovered Roxy's, but your review pointed us to it! Our new favorite. Super happy to find a place that serves Matzo Ball Chicken Soup and breakfast all day. We hope you find your way back to our little place again soon! John and JoAnna

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Guests from Estes Park, Colorado
    • Date of stay 11/28/10
    • Review Submitted 04/07/11
    Had a wonderful time here visiting our children and grandchildren. Thanks, John and JoAnna for providing this wonderful "home away from home". It has been very comfortable and charming.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Gem in Fremont!

    A Gem in Fremont!

    • Guest Margy (Denver, Colorado)
    • Date of stay 11/16/10
    • Review Submitted 12/15/10
    This charming property is a wonderfully welcoming and relaxing retreat for your vacation in Seattle. The location is perfect for exploring the restaurants and shops in Fremont, and an easy commute by car or bus to explore the many other sights in Seattle. The unit is very attractive, with wonderful light, comfortable furnishings, a beautifully equipped kitchen, and a great library of CDs, DVDs, and books! The outdoor deck is a great place to watch sunsets (and a nice view, too!) JoAnna and John were extremely thoughtful and accommodating. They really extend themselves to ensure your stay is a pleasant one and that your needs are met. They also have great suggestions about things to do and see while visiting in Seattle. Some of our favorite places in the area are the nearby Crittendon Locks, the Arboretum, and the Rose Garden by the Woodland Park Zoo. We also enjoy people watching while walking around Green Lake. We enjoyed every moment of our getaway on Linden Street and intend to book here when we visit Seattle again (hopefully in the Spring.)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Margy! We are so glad we had the opportunity to meet you and that our place worked well for your visit while here. Thanks for sharing your favorite places to visit! We hope to see you again in the Spring! John and JoAnna

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • What a great place! -- And not just for a visit to Fremont!

    What a great place! -- And not just for a visit to Fremont!

    • Guest Bill & Joan (Shoreline)
    • Date of stay 11/13/10
    • Review Submitted 12/19/10
    We parked the car (in the off-street spot) and our weekend began! This is the cutest place we've ever stayed at, full of old-world charm in the moldings, tall ceilings and big windows, yet nicely updated so there's no roughing it here. My wife and I had a great time both in and out. Yes, Fremont has most everything you'd ever want in a destination, but heading downtown is very easy also. A main bus route is only one block away. Thanks Joanna and John for such a nice destination!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks Bill and Joan! Love hearing that you had a great getaway and that Linden worked well for you! We loved having you for guests and hope you're planning on another get away soon! John and JoAnna

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • You'll Love Fremont

    You'll Love Fremont

    • Guest Becky (Madison, WI)
    • Date of stay 10/14/10
    • Review Submitted 11/02/10
    As JoAnna accurately describes, Fremont really is a great neighborhood, espeically if you don't want to be in the heart of 'touristville.' This house definitely provides a much more relaxing and interesting view of Seattle, almost making you feel like you live there! We used it as a base camp for exploring many of the parks in and around the city, but also had a great time in the neighborhood itself. Specifically don't miss the tour at Theo Chocolates or the bourbon at Nine Million Dollars in Unmarked Bills, both just blocks away. Just be prepared to walk up and down some hills. Our midwestern calves were sore.... :) The house itself has everything you need, along with the charm that comes from a Victorian - a clawfoot tub, large windows, and space that is well used. The best part about the house, however, are its hosts. JoAnna and John go out of their way to make sure that you are comfortable and have everything you need to get the most out of your stay in Seattle. My guess is that JoAnna would plan your whole trip for you if you asked! Do it. Stay here.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks, Becky! Glad you mentioned Theo's and Nine Million Dollars in Unmarked Bills (both hits with locals), and to be prepared for some incline! Seattle, likes to boast of being built on seven hills, but some may argue it is more like 27, with the Fremont district being at the base of one of them. It was great hosting you! We hope you're busy planning for your next get away, wherever that may take you, and that Seattle finds it way into your plans again, John and JoAnna

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]