Horizon House - Galena's Most Popular 4 Bedroom Rental Home
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:Contact owner
- Pets considered:No
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Galena house description
Nestled on a secluded hillside that overlooks miles of Galena Territory's wildlife preserve, Horizon House offers its guests total privacy, yet the convenience of being only minutes from the area's many popular amenities.
A famous resort and its 4 nationally rated golf courses are just around the corner. The Shenandoah Riding Stable and over 40 miles of trails are equally convenient. The historic town of Galena is only 6 miles to the west, while the Diamond Jo casino and the Dubuque Dog Track and casino are only a little further down the road.
Horizon House is not just another carbon copy resort rental. It is a unique private home that has many features seldom found in vacation rentals, as you will see from the following partial list:
- Four Bedrooms
- Three Full Baths
- Two King Suites with Private Bath
- Four Queen Beds
- One Queen Sleeper Sofa
- One Full Sleeper Sofa
- Central Heat & Air Conditioning
- Wood Burning Fireplace
- Fully Equipped Eat-in Kitchen seats 10
- Microwave oven
- Bar B Que Gas Grill
- Two Spacious Decks
- Large Screened Porch
- Six Person Hot Tub with a Spectacular View
- HD Satellite Dish
- Stereo System with MP3/Ipod Dock
- Phillips Ambi-light flat screen HDTV
- Four bedroom flat screen TV's
- Four DVD & blueray players
- Dolby Home Theater System
- Its Own Game Arcade Featuring:
Operation Wolf Shooting Game
TRON Arcade Game
Imagine that you have returned from a full day of golf, tennis, boating, gambling, shopping, skiing or any of the activities that historic Galena has to offer. It's time to sink into the spa on the Horizon House screened porch and enjoy a spectacular view of the unspoiled nature preserve that surrounds you. Watch the colors change as the sun moves over the horizon.
Although the area features some of the most spectacular golf in the country, this is not just a Summer house. In Fall, the changing colors are an attraction in themselves, while in Winter, the Chestnut Mountain Ski Resort is only minutes away and...
THE SPA IS KEPT HOT ALL YEAR!
Horizon House has been tastefully designed and decorated to comfortably accommodate up to 10 guests of all ages. However, pets are not allowed. There is no smoking, except on the outdoor deck areas.
The availability of rental dates is always at a premium. Please inquire for reservations as soon as your desired dates are determined. Horizon House is located at 243 Blackhawk Trace (between Northridge Lane & Russet Lane) in The Galena Territory, Galena, Illinois. The entrance to the Territory is located on US Route 20 fifty miles west of Freeport in extreme Northwestern Illinois.
Horizon House requires a two night minimum rental. There are discounted rates available for off-season weekday stays. Weekly rates are available and there are sometimes free bonus nights that can be added to you stay. The adjacent four bedroom house can also be booked with Horizon House to easily accommodate up to 20 guests
Keywords: Vacation Rental Home
- Vacation Rental
- Children Welcome
- Non Smoking Only
- Minimum Age Limit For Renters
- Pets Not Allowed
Bedrooms: 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10, Beds for 10
Bathrooms: 3 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Cooking Utensils
- Ice Maker
- Linens Provided
- Air Conditioning
- Parking Off Street
- Washing Machine
- Wood Fireplace
- Clothes Dryer
- CD Player
- Video Library
- DVD Player
- Video Games
Pool & Spa
- Hot Tub
- Deck / Patio
- Outdoor Grill
- Lanai / Gazebo
- Cross Country Skiing
- Hot Air Ballooning
- Mountain Biking
- Basketball Court
- Fitness Center
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Live Theater
- Horseback Riding
- Wildlife Viewing
- Miniature Golf
- Sight Seeing
ReviewsWrite a review
We were four couples that stayed at Horizon House this past weekend and had a terrific time. The house had more than we could hope for. We cooked dinner on the BBQ and breakfast every morning in the kitchen, which had everything we needed. The hot tub was great for after golf and shopping and the girls even challenged the guys to a Foosball tournament (the guys won). The house is not brand new, but is well maintained and loaded with character. You can tell a whole lot of people have shared good times here and we wee glad we got the opportunity to do so as well. We will be back.
- Guest luann (Illinois)
- Date of stay 08/23/13
- Review Submitted 08/26/13
Recommended for: Sightseeing, girls getaway, romantic getaway.
We only found two positives – the hot tub and the layout of the bedrooms. The house is in need of a thorough cleaning and painting. The house was dirty and dusty. If a person has allergies, you would need your inhaler for sure! We left the house cleaner than when we arrived. There were several chairs on the deck that are broken. The games in the basement were all broken in some manner. Some more than others (we did NOT break them). The TVs that they advertise in each bedroom all have to be on the same satellite channel. So if they kids were watching cartoon network that is what everyone had to watch if they were wanted to watch satellite TV! But the most disappointing thing was the access to the facilities at the owners club. This house sleeps 10, we had 9 with 5 being children. We went to the owners club pool and was told we only had access for 6 of us. We were told the owners of the property could purchase more access cards but chose not to. We were never told nor does it say anywhere on this website that only 6 can use the amenities. We had 5 kids, and needed more than one adult to supervise them at the pool. We were in bathing suits with no cash. We could buy one day passes for 5.00 each. That wouldn’t have bothered me as much had I known in advance. We were very embarrassed and disappointed to be turned away at the security desk. We did call and complain to the phone number but were not given any suggestions are answers. I for one would not want someone in the house cleaning with all of our belongings laying around. That is not the answer. The house needs a good spring cleaning.
- Guest upchusl (IL)
- Date of stay 08/15/13
- Review Submitted 08/19/13
Owner response: Beware of Renters Who Cannot Be Pleased This is the first complaint we’ve had about the Owner’s Club pool policy. However, we are not the Owner’s Club, but a private rental home. We offer six free passes to the Club, day fees are only $5 for additional guests. This had been sufficient for all our guests over the past ten years. This guest indicated that she brought no money with her to the Owner’s Club, not a good choice anywhere in Galena. However, our house is only a five minute round trip from the Club. A short drive could have quickly solved the problem of admitting her large group Although we believe the house was clean, we offered to send the maid over at no charge to clean it again while the guest was present. She abruptly refused this offer. As far as broken items, there was one broken deck chair out of fourteen and there were two arcade machine that were out of service, leaving five more that worked fine. Finicky arcade machines seldom all work at the same time, but we do our best with maintenance. Our handy man is only a phone call away if having all seven working is important to you. The satellite system in the house offers independent channel tuning in the living room and one channel of viewing in all the bedrooms and the game room, but there are also 14 other local channels available everywhere in the house independent of satellite viewing. Instructions for tuning these channels appear in each of the six flat screen locations. We can, however, appreciate that this guest liked our brand new seven person hot tub and each of the four bedrooms. At least she and her family seemed to have relieved their stress and then slept well, which is what Galena is all about.
Thanks for a Great weekend!
Thanks for a Great weekend!
We had an wonderful weekend at this house! We had our kids and friends in for a weekend getaway. The adults all played cards and games upstairs while the kids were entertained with all the arcade games in the downstairs area. The house had all the amenities we needed for the weekend and took full advantage of the territory offerings. we have rented before in the Territories and have never found a house this well equipped. The Hot Tub was great!
- Guest Charles (Chicago, illinois)
- Date of stay 07/12/13
- Review Submitted 07/30/13
Recommended for: Tourists without a car, girls getaway, romantic getaway, families with young children, adventure seekers, families with teenagers.
Was disappointed in the overall cleanliness and appearance of the house. Definite need for paint and an update. Would not stay at the house again because of that. Plusses include, passes to the clubhouse, 4 bedrooms, and close to Galena for shopping.
- Guest mp (Illinois)
- Date of stay 07/07/13
- Review Submitted 07/11/13
Owner response: Horizon House is cleaned by a professional maid service that posts its phone number in the house. If their is a problem regarding the condition of the house, we have always encouraged our guests to contact the maid or our repair service and have it addressed immediately. They heard nothing from this guest. Our house is also in a constant state of repair and improvement. It is this policy that accounts for the many upgrades that are seldom found in other rental homes. These include a 7 person hot tub, flat screens in virtually every room and internet access. There is also a fully equipped game room which now features a broken machine that was most probably damaged during this stay. We have heard no complaints directly from this guest, only this questionable review. Why not call us directly if there are problems with our house? We have had many hundreds of happy guests over the years and take great pride in our house.
Our family Christmas
Our family Christmas
We met this past weekend to celebrate Christmas with our children and grandchildren. It was wonderful. We had plenty of room for all. The arrangement of the bedrooms was great for our family, and the game room was enjoyed by all. The property was well kept, only concern was the parking, and the incline of the sidewalk to the house. glad it did not snow, it would have been very slick. thanks for a great stay.
- Guest kb (East Moline, Ill)
- Date of stay 12/06/12
- Review Submitted 12/11/12
Recommended for: Girls getaway, families with young children.
Owner response: Thank you for the kind words, but perhaps you are leaving the wrong impression of our parking facilities. Although Horizon House is located on a dramatic ridge, which is part of its charm, we have invested in paved parking for up to 10 cars. This is very unusual in the Galena area. When it does snow, the entire area is plowed and salted by professionals. We have never had a guest stranded even in snows up to 18 inches. Again, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us in the future.
Wonderful family destination
Wonderful family destination
Our multi-generational family had a fabulous time at Horizon House. Game room for grown sons was great. Floor for each family helped with privacy. Fully equipped kitchen left us wanting for nothing. Mauture tree growth helped keep temperatures down. Close to Galena and Dubuque. Passes to Owners Clubhouse a definite bonus. Totally relaxing time. Owners very easy to work with. Would stay again if in the area.
- Guest holly (eau claire wi)
- Date of stay 07/22/12
- Review Submitted 08/03/12
Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, age 55+, adventure seekers.
$200-$400/night plus tax Minimum rentals from 2-4 nights depending on special rates quoted
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
This owner accepts: Credit cards.
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Sorry this information is not available. Please contact the owner for more information.
Year Purchased: 2000
Why the Owner Chose Galena:
After visiting the Galena area for many years, we decided to purchase our own home there. We have not regretted our decision as we have hundreds of happy memories of our wonderful house and the good time that have been had there by all. We ourselves have rented many vacation homes all over the world and we have tried to give our house everything we thought was missing from the places we have rented.
The Unique Benefits at this House:
Our house is conveniently located in the center of the Galena Territory/Eagle Ridge Resort complex. It is close to all amenities and on a main road, but it is located down a secluded ridge which gives it complete privacy. It is also adjacent to deep woods hiking trails, which we use quite often for morning nature walks. There have been more than a dozen deer in our backyard at one time and bald eagles have perched right outside our windows.
- Primary: (800) 292-7676 (Toll Free)
Horizon House Six Person Hot Tub
One of two King Bedrooms
Rear of Horizon House
One of two Double queen bedrooms
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2010.
Date last modified - Monday, August 26, 2013
4 Bedroom / 3 Bathroom
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.