Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Our Bar and Outside table has the best views of the lake and surrounding hills.

A House with Incredible Views of the Lake and Hills! [#317507] | View Property

Bristol Hills
House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 8)
$225 - $250/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (16)

Sort by:
  • Pictures don't do this property justice

    Pictures don't do this property justice

    • Guest Cheryl (Ontario)
    • Date of stay 07/28/13
    • Review Submitted 08/13/13
    First off I want to thank the owners for allowing us to come in a day early on short notice. The owners were very helpful and truly wanted us to have a good experience at their vacation home. Two couples rented the home for 4 nights. We did some golfing, wine and brewery tastings and just some general sightseeing in this very beautiful part of New York state. When we arrived at the property we drove by the first time thinking that we could not have possibly rented such a lovely place. We were very happy to turn around and find that this was indeed our new home for 4 nights. The views are outstanding. The pictures simply don't do this property justice. The view of the lake is absolutely beautiful and the wrap around deck is a pleasure to enjoy the lake and the fish pond. There is no easy access to the lake so if you are hoping for a place on or near the water you may be disappointed with this property. The home was absolutely beautiful. The beds were very comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked and we enjoyed some great meals in the home. The BBQ worked well. The owners are hunters so there was an abundance of animal trophies hanging on the wall. Not my thing but if you look at the pictures they were honest about their presence there. There are 3 bedrooms - 2 up and 1 on the main floor in this vacation home, so the home would suit six people very comfortably. I would not want to stay in the basement as it was quite musty smelling when we were there. It has not had the same make over as the rest of the vacation home. The washer and dryer are quite old and on arrival the guest book suggests not using them and waiting to do laundry until you return home. You may want to consider this when packing. Overall we had a great vacation in this beautiful property and if a home with a view is what you are looking for we do not think you could find a nicer property in the area. It was close to golf, wineries and a town with a great little grocery store. All you need for a wonderful vacation in the Finger Lakes.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Just What the Doctor Ordered!

    Just What the Doctor Ordered!

    • Guest Deb (Cleveland, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 07/14/13
    • Review Submitted 08/02/13
    First of all, I want to thank the owners for letting us have a 3.5 day/3night stay. We married both of our daughters in a 10 month period of time and wanted a family get together, but four of our adult children couldn't take off a full week because of time used for their honeymoon. Lisa and David were the only people that would relax their policy to allow this to happen. Believe me, I spent several days calling and emailing people on the vrbo site. Everyone else who had availability said a week was the minimum stay, period! The setting of this cabin is spectacular. The wrap around deck affords breathtaking views. We enjoyed late nights of card playing on the deck and early morning coffee with the sunrise. The fire pit provided hours of guitar playing, singing, s'mores and reminiscing. We fed the goldfish in the pond every day with feed that Lisa left for us. Inside the cabin were the luxuries of home and the eight of us slept comfortably in ample space and privacy. We had an issue one day with no hot water, but a call to John (which he answered immediately) was solved in no time (just replaced the water filter with one they had on site) and everyone had enough hot water. Lisa helped us determine area activities to see and do while we were there. The days that we were there the temperatures were in the 90's and the heat index was even higher. Thankfully the home is air conditioned and it was a relief to go inside. The only thing I would perhaps think about if I were the owners would be to put a half bath on the lowest level. Anyone sleeping on that level would have to go to the master bedroom bath on the main floor or to the bath on the 2nd floor. I would love to go back again when we could enjoy an entire week. It would afford us more time to enjoy the comforts of this lovely home and the beautiful finger lakes region. Thank you Lisa and John

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Girl's Getaway!

    Girl's Getaway!

    • Guest Terri N.
    • Date of stay 06/23/13
    • Review Submitted 07/28/13
    All I can say is spectacular! This was a three generation "mother/daughter trip for us and it did not disappoint. If you are looking for a Girly trip or even a romantic getaway this home is ideal. The view is spectacular!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Absolutely Gorgeous Property!

    Absolutely Gorgeous Property!

    • Guest M&M Travel (Jacksonville, Florida, USA)
    • Date of stay 08/05/12
    • Review Submitted 09/10/12
    Perfect home for a romantic getaway or that next family reunion! Great location and views for miles! Owners are extremely helpful and extremely easy to work with! Would recommend this property to anyone visiting the area!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Exceptional

    Exceptional

    • Guest T.G. (LaGrange Texas)
    • Date of stay 06/20/12
    • Review Submitted 07/26/12
    Without a doubt, a most impressive property with unbelievable views. I've been traveling to this area for 44 years, and have never experienced a more relaxing, enjoyable trip. Our family and grandkids loved the beautiful peaceful mornings on the decks and watching the day turn to dusk over the lake. The cabin was perfect and the owners could not have been nicer to deal with. This is the true ideal spot for discovering that life was created to be enjoyed.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guys' Golf Getaway

    Guys' Golf Getaway

    • Guest jg (Toronto)
    • Date of stay 06/02/12
    • Review Submitted 06/18/12
    A golf weekend away with the guys was great. There are lots of nice courses in the surrounding area, and the Lakehouse makes for a perfect launching pad. There is a nice, big, comfy common area, and a well appointed kitchen, plus a BBQ on the deck. There are 3 good bedrooms on the main & upper floors, and a kids room in the basement. The place was very clean. We may well make another trip to the Finger Lakes area, and I already know where we will stay.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Christmas visit

    Wonderful Christmas visit

    • Guest Annieb (Georgia)
    • Date of stay 12/23/11
    • Review Submitted 01/14/12
    Our family of 6 traveled home for the holidays and found this lovely home for our stay. What a beautiful view! We had a dusting of snow that was picture perfect! We had everything we needed from our gracious hosts.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • A refreshing and relaxing vacation

    A refreshing and relaxing vacation

    • Guest BJ (Grampian, PA USA)
    • Date of stay 09/17/11
    • Review Submitted 09/26/11
    This property was perfect for our getaway. It was everything that was listed and more. The photos are great but the actual physical property was even better. The home was very clean and maintained. The owners were very helpful with any and all questions asked. Our little group usually uses our vacation rentals as a resting place after hours of excursions in the surrounding areas....but this time we spent a majority of our time at "home" relaxing and enjoying the house, deck, pond, firepit, the beautiful view, etc. Even though the property is not handicapped accessible...one of our group is physically challenged and had no problems because the kitchen, dining/living rooms, 1 bedroom and bath and the deck are all on one level. Some of our outings were to the Hemlock Fiber Festival...which was great and informative, browsing thru and shopping in various Antiques and slightly used shops....came home with some "treasures ..... a great highlight to our trip was taking the Dinner/Cruise on the Canandaigua Lady. It was a beautiful evening and the trip on the lake was wonderful. We were also there during grape harvesting time. We picked grapes for jams and juices. Bought a wonderful grape pie. The air was fragrant with the smell of grapes. There are so many different things to do in the area ..... we did not do or see half of what is available. I would definately recommend this property and the surrounding areas to anyone wanting a great getaway! You can tell the owners take great pride in their property and maintain it as their home. Our little group will be looking forward to a possible return in the future.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Escape

    Perfect Escape

    • Guest Chris and DOn (Greece, NY)
    • Date of stay 09/03/11
    • Review Submitted 09/14/11
    A perfect escape with another couple for Labor Day Weekend. Lisa and John's home is beautiful and the deck and view are outstanding. We spent hours just sitting outside relaxing and catching up with our friends listening to the peaceful waterfall. Lisa and John were very accommodating to our last minute request for rental on a holiday weekend. Lisa also gave us many suggestions for restaurants. We enjoyed Little Italy and went back to the house to enjoy the ring of fire and fireworks. Highly recommend Brew and Brats at Arbor Hill (delicious sausages and beverages). Thank you for sharing your home with us. We hope to be able to spend another weekend relaxing at the Lake House.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Home with a beautiful View

    Home with a beautiful View

    • Guest fletcher (Meadville, PA )
    • Date of stay 08/04/11
    • Review Submitted 08/13/11
    My family and I rented this home for my Father Birthday. We loved the view and the home. A great place to sit and relax, we all truely enjoyed the beautiful deck. We did some wine tasting in the area and found all the people extrememly friendly. Thank you for allowing us to share your beautiful home.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great vacation spot

    Great vacation spot

    • Guest Dave (San Rafael, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/09/11
    • Review Submitted 08/17/11
    My family stayed here back in June while vacationing from California. Our overall experience was excellent though I am only giving the house 4 stars for a couple of reasons. I will explain in a moment, but first the good stuff. The house itself is wonderfully located. The views of the lake are breathtaking whether sitting on the large deck and enjoying them or looking through the large number of windows within the home. (We even saw a double rainbow over the lake after a rain storm). The property is a very short drive to Naples which is an adorable little town. We went to dinner there, found great shopping and even visited one of the local bars. We also rented a pontoon boat at Smith Boys and had a wonderful day of boating and tubing on the lake. The house is also conveniently close to Canandaigua where you'll find the beach and more restaurants and shopping. The property also has a ton of space for just goofing around. I had fun rolling down the small hill in the side yard with my 2.5 year-old son. While we were in the yard we were visited by a very friendly yellow lab that lived nearby. My son really enjoyed this as well. The pond on the property is also fantastic. Whether feeding the fish or trying to catch a frog, this too was also a blast. As for the house itself. It is quite nice with an updated full size kitchen, comfortable living room with TV/DVD/Stereo and cozy bedrooms. So overall it was a great experience. So why not give 5 stars? There were a couple of things that were less than ideal. First and foremost, renters should be aware that this is clearly a house that doubles as a hunting cabin. The home is filled with mounted deer and turkeys. While no one in my party found this offensive I could imagine there are some people who would. Additionally the house did not appear to be 100% cleaned prior to our visit. By no means was it dirty but we did find small hairs in the upstairs bathtub and a random dirty sock sitting on a chair in the basement. One other minor issue, there are family photos throughout the house. On the surface this might be nit picking but we have rented many places throughout the country through this website before and have never encountered this. And finally, as terrific as the back deck is, if you have a little one you should be aware that the bottom of the deck (under the built-in benches) is wide open and could be dangerous for small children (it's pretty high off the ground).

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/5

  • Wonderful home and location!

    Wonderful home and location!

    • Guest Kara (Farmington, NY)
    • Date of stay 01/08/11
    • Review Submitted 02/13/11
    I had the opportunity to rent this home a few weeks back in early January for a monthly girls night with some family and friends. The home was everything I expected and more. Even though it was quite a snowy weekend I could easily see why this would be the perfect place for a fall foliage getaway overlooking Canandaigua Lake. It is also a perfect spot for anyone that enjoys skiing, only 5 min from Bristol Moutain. I would recommend this rental property to anyone.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Cozy accommodations, private and spectacular views

    Cozy accommodations, private and spectacular views

    • Guest Tammy (WV)
    • Date of stay 10/06/10
    • Review Submitted 10/11/10
    Total thumbs up to Lisa and John for their ease of communication and being friendly and helpful. Without feeling crowded the home owners funished it with everything you could need. From the cozy warmth of the fireplace to the awesome views of Lake Canandaiuga and the night sky featuring several shooting stars and the milkyway, a wonderful place to stay. Property is beautiful, privately situated off road with all blacktop pull through driveway. It even has it's own pond with waterfall. Watched at least five deer feeding in the evening. The designer of the home has taken advantage of the perfectly situated property, interiorly as well as exteriorly with the wrap around porch, access, and the window views. Very open feeling. About 1.15 hours to drive to Watkins Glen, and be sure to check out Wegman's Grocery Store!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Laurie & Ken

    Laurie & Ken

    • Guest Laurie (Webster)
    • Date of stay 10/02/10
    • Review Submitted 10/19/10
    We all just loved your Lake Home. We had a wonderful time and truly enjoyed the breathtaking view. We wished our schedules allowed us to stay longer.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing View

    Amazing View

    • Guest Brian (CT)
    • Date of stay 09/24/10
    • Review Submitted 10/01/10
    What a great place in a great area. We stayed for a long weekend and the house is gorgeous. Plenty of space, everything laid out perfectly. The view makes you never want to leave. Can't wait to go back

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The "EYES" have it!!!

    The "EYES" have it!!!

    • Guest Hugh, Rhonda, and Family (Rochester)
    • Date of stay 09/19/10
    • Review Submitted 09/27/10
    The description of this property is right on...the views are incredible! Sunsets were amazing from the deck and seeing the Harvet Moon rise was spectacular. We imagine fellow travelers would enjoy this home any time of year, but our preference is definately fall, with the colors coming into glory, the fireplace taking off the morning and evening chill, the constant cool breeze, and the produce stands along beautiful country roads offering great local fare like "grape pie". This home is thoughtfully stocked by the owners and had everything you could possibly need, whether staying a weekend or a week. We were a party of 8 and wanted for nothing. There were a couple of issues that came up during our stay and the owners were very accessible and responsive to our needs. Our only critique at this point, and the ONLY reason we did not rate this property excellent, is that the washer, dryer, and garage should not be part of the amenity listing as they are not available for use. The garage of course was not an issue for us, nor would we imagine it would be for anyone, there is more than ample parking. The washer and dryer however, did put a damper on things because we packed light thinking we could wash mid-week. However, this should not discourage anyone from this home, just pack more clothes! Lisa and John, thank you for a truly wonderful week. You have a TRUE GEM in the Lakehouse and we wish you all the best. ps) even the neighbors are nice!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]