Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Private Dock on crystal clear Ichetucknee River

Riverfront on Crystal Clear Waters of the Ichetucknee River. [#319220] | View Property

Fort White
House, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths (Sleeps 8)
$125/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (25)

Sort by:
  • Jim & Janets River house

    Jim & Janets River house

    • Guest Steve B.
    • Date of stay 12/28/13
    • Review Submitted 01/06/14
    Jim & Janet Very helpful w/all info.for our river front vacation.The property was clean & w/pristine natural surrounding.Very quite.The springs & river were crystal clear & 72 degrees .We kayaked,swam & fished even in Dec.Very comfortable and offer everything you need to have a great time.Thanks Jim & Janet.We will come back later in the new year.Steve Beem & family

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nice property.

    Nice property.

    • Guest EB
    • Date of stay 12/23/13
    • Review Submitted 12/30/13
    We enjoyed our stay at this beautiful property! It was clean, spacious, and comfortable!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place!

    Great place!

    • Guest reinski (Spring Hill, Fl)
    • Date of stay 09/03/13
    • Review Submitted 09/05/13
    This house is really nice and comfortable......the owners have provided everything you could possibly need. Really quiet neighborhood.....saw Otters several times frolicking out by the dock and playing on it, heard a Barred Owl, heard and saw Pileated Woodpeckers, plus a lot more cool wildlife. And it's great to be able to sit out at night on the screened-in porch overlooking the river and not be attacked by Florida bugs. I highly recommend this place!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Over Way Too Quickly!!!!

    Over Way Too Quickly!!!!

    • Guest David (FL)
    • Date of stay 08/26/13
    • Review Submitted 09/03/13
    My Family and I stayed at you house for 4 days just before Labor day 2013. We had a great time there. Rustic yet beautiful everything you need for a great family vacation. We spent a day swimming at the Blue hole and Mouth of the Ichetucknee. Another Tubing down the river. Drove into Gainesville and enjoyed the Natural history museum's free admission. My Four boys spent everyday fishing and swimming right off the dock. We all had a wonderful time and wanted to thank you for allowing us into your home.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Relaxing

    Relaxing

    • Guest Julia (Jacksonville )
    • Date of stay 08/19/13
    • Review Submitted 08/25/13
    A relaxing place to spend time with family on the beautiful river. We loved it & hope to make it an annual tradition.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Enjoyable week on the Itchetucknee river!

    Enjoyable week on the Itchetucknee river!

    • Guest Tom (Montgomery Alabama)
    • Date of stay 06/04/13
    • Review Submitted 06/11/13
    I hadn't been at the river in 23 years and thought my kids would love it as much as I did as a kid. The environment was wonderful...the house is nice, very functional and perfect for a stay on the river. If your idea of fun involves the outdoors, then make your reservations now. The house is not elegent or luxurious, but great for a relaxing week with family and/or friends as you spend time tubing, boating and/or fishing on the river. During the stay my kids caught a lot of fish, tubed/swam several days, snorkeled in the clear waters of the river (I even saw a family of otters one evening at dusk). There is a screened in porch that is perfect for having a relaxing dinner or just sitting and talking with each other. Cable and Internet and Air-hockey table provided activities for all during rainstorms (Our stay was during a Tropical Storm). I am looking forward to going back again! NOTE: if you like luxury accomodations, spas, fine dining, etc, then a stay on the Itchetucknee might not be for you. The house is located in rural North Central Florida, well away from any "boutiques" or "bistros" to purchase a latte or a 5-star meal.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Better than what we expected!!!!

    Better than what we expected!!!!

    • Guest Pete (Homosassa, Florida)
    • Date of stay 05/03/13
    • Review Submitted 05/09/13
    The place was "the perfect" river house!!! Great accomadations, everything you need kitchen wise- other than your food, and beverage- plenty of paper supplies- clean linens- and other than the DVR not working in the living area- it was perfect!!!! Who watches movies when they have a river???? Thank you so much for a great get away!!! Sorry you can't control the weather- but it was great any way!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Riverfront Get a way.

    Riverfront Get a way.

    • Guest Barb (Cincinnati, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 04/07/13
    • Review Submitted 04/13/13
    We had a wonderful time, and everything we needed. This is the only way to experience the "real" florida. Kayaking, Canoeing, Tubing, Scuba Diving........ beautiful crystal clear waters. Relaxing on the large screened in porch and the doc where we watch manatees glide by every day. We have already booked this location for a return stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • It is quite simply the best

    It is quite simply the best

    • Guest Blake (Jacksonville, Fl)
    • Date of stay 03/03/13
    • Review Submitted 07/27/13
    I looked online for weeks before coming across Jim and Janet's place. All of the other reviewers that described how great the house is and how helpful the owners are, are correct. I have stayed there twice and will book again any time there is availability. The stars are beautiful at night from the dock and ghe water. Is crystal clear. We saw manatees, beaver, otter, turkey, deer and as many birds and fish as you can imagine. If you are out there searching for a place that can accommodate a couple or several families at a great rate this is the place. I am a native Floridian who has visited most of the springs in the state and travelled the world extensively. I can thoroughly recommend this place and send my thanks to Jim and Janet for having me.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Great Family Time at the River House

    Great Family Time at the River House

    • Guest Karl (High Springs, Florida)
    • Date of stay 12/22/12
    • Review Submitted 02/05/13
    We had a wonderful time fishing, kayaking and cooking on the BBQ. We had several nights where it was quite cold and the house was warm. There was plenty to do and our guests felt comfortable.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful setting

    Beautiful setting

    • Guest Betty Sue Jones (Clermont, Florida)
    • Date of stay 10/17/12
    • Review Submitted 10/30/12
    We enjoyed our stay at the Ft. White home by the river. The house was roomy and comfortable. My husband loved kayaking on the river and I enjoyed sitting on the porch watching the woodpeckers and feeding the minnows on the dock.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What a House, what a deal!!

    What a House, what a deal!!

    • Guest Ian (Fort White)
    • Date of stay 09/13/12
    • Review Submitted 09/27/12
    Jim and Janet rented us the most beautiful, spacious, and affordable;e home on the Icthetucknee for our wedding party. This house has the most amazing dock that sits right along the crystal clear Icthetucknee. The house was perfect for our situation and I am sure it will be perfect for you. Jim and Janet give you the privacy you need, while supplying the support you need to feel comfortable in their rental. Checkout was a cinch, and overall our experience was EXCELLENT! I actually left a nice dress shirt at the house post check out and I emailed Jim, he got back to me right away and is dropping it in the mail for me! Needless to say we will be renting from them again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Rx for Fun!

    Rx for Fun!

    • Guest Vicki (Cape Coral, Florida, USA)
    • Date of stay 06/01/12
    • Review Submitted 09/08/12
    The Rivers' home is a real find! We've enjoyed playing on the Ichetucknee for years--snorkeling, paddling, or just a lazy day's float. Their spacious and well-stocked home made the perfect base for enjoying all these activities and more--plus room for several friends as well. We found the house to be everything it was advertised to be, but photos can't do justice to the beautiful Cypress forests. We plan on returning next summer. Can't wait!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Real florida vacation

    Real florida vacation

    • Guest Gina M.
    • Date of stay 05/25/12
    • Review Submitted 05/28/12
    This is a great vacation cabin for those that enjoy natural Florida. The owners have everything you need for a relaxing time. Just bring your tubes and enjoy the river. I agree with the review about keeping this place a secret. Will definitely be back if I can get a spot on the calendar.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Everything You Need!

    Everything You Need!

    • Guest Let it Flow (Gainesville, FL)
    • Date of stay 05/18/12
    • Review Submitted 05/22/12
    I almost don't want to give a good review because I don't want the competition for renting this place again! I have rented this place twice already (and have a weekend coming up in August) and love it. We float from the dock and walk the mile back to the house from the midway point. I love the screened in porch and open kitchen.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Memorable 40th

    Memorable 40th

    • Guest Sherryufl (Harvard, il)
    • Date of stay 04/20/12
    • Review Submitted 04/24/12
    This is a beautiful place. The house is spacious and there is much to do. The house is well supplied with what you need. Thank you for the memories :)

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Wonderful weekend in a wonderful house

    Wonderful weekend in a wonderful house

    • Guest bigC (Tifton, GA)
    • Date of stay 09/08/11
    • Review Submitted 09/13/11
    Large, wonderful house with plenty of room for everybody to hang our or to get away for some personal time. We were surprised to find paper towels, toilet paper, and other such accommodations already there. We didn't have to bring anything except for food and clothes! Our 9 month-old enjoyed exploring the yard as well. We definitely plan on coming back next year!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Aug 18 - 21, 2011 - perfect!

    Aug 18 - 21, 2011 - perfect!

    • Guest Ruth B.
    • Date of stay 08/18/11
    • Review Submitted 08/25/11
    I was part of a group of four couples who stayed in this wonderful home for three nights. Everything was perfect. We enjoyed floating/swimming the mile and a half to Point Park, returning "home", and then floating again. People we met on the shore along the way were so friendly! I personally loved the walk back; but, it was nice to have the option of leaving a car at the other end. The house is wonderful and comfortable. Everything we needed was right there. We were comfortable and happy! It was so peaceful to wake up in the morning to the sounds of nature, and walk to the end of the dock to drink a morning coffee, or feed the minnows. Even though it is in a neighborhood, it is very private feeling, and perfect for a weekend gathering of best friends. We all left relaxed, and sad to leave this little slice of paradise. We all agree it is where we want to return! Thank you!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect Relaxing Getaway

    Perfect Relaxing Getaway

    • Guest pattycake (Georgia)
    • Date of stay 07/01/11
    • Review Submitted 07/27/11
    We enjoyed the cabin over the July 4th holiday. The open floor plan was great and so was the nice, big screened porch. I was so afraid of snakes, but never saw one! The length of the float down the river from the house was about an hour. Just perfect. We went to the State Park once, but actually enjoyed floating the river at the house the best. The owners were very helpful and pleasant to deal with. Will definitely go back again and I highly recommend this house for families with children. We all had a blast!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Want to go back!

    Want to go back!

    • Guest Nay-Nay (Boynton Beach, FL)
    • Date of stay 06/13/11
    • Review Submitted 11/05/11
    We rented this house in June of 2011. We had such a good time and the house was clean and spacious with everything we needed plus more! I keep thinking of this place since we were there 5 months agoand want to go back....the sounds of nature, the crystal clear water, the small town feeling. It was so peaceful and relaxing. The owner's are so nice and helpful, so friendly. Thanks for a wonderful vacation! We LOVED It! We shall be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • Great place for a "get away from it all vacation"

    Great place for a "get away from it all vacation"

    • Guest Claire (Port Charlotte, Florida)
    • Date of stay 05/07/11
    • Review Submitted 06/11/11
    The location is perfect - away from it all but still within driving distance of stores and amenities. The house itself is very comfortable and well equiped. The river is just a very short walk down the boardwalk and perfect for swimming, floating or snorkling. A word of warning, the river outside the house is quite fast flowing but a short walk up the road to the nearby park lets you swim safely. Great vacation and we hope to be back next year.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Relaxing Reunion

    Relaxing Reunion

    • Guest Grandma (Alabama)
    • Date of stay 05/07/11
    • Review Submitted 05/07/11
    We stayed at this property while we were attending a family reunion at Ft. White. It was very comfortable for our large family, and very entertaining for the younger generation. What I enjoyed most was the relaxing atmosphere. There were plenty of areas to sit outside and enjoy the sound of the springs. The owners were very helpful with our questions and needs. I would recommend this to my family and friends, and would certainly stay there again. It was a very good value for the money.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Family Vacation right on the beautiful crystal-clear Ichetucknee River

    Family Vacation right on the beautiful crystal-clear Ichetucknee River

    • Guest rlanders (Tampa, FL)
    • Date of stay 04/22/11
    • Review Submitted 04/29/11
    We LOVED our vacation time together at this amazing home on the Ichetucknee River. We only wish we had a more time off of work so we could have stayed here longer! We bought a couple tubes and floated from the house to the Santa Fe River 3 times. It's about an hour float from the house to the park where you can exit the river and drive back to the house (of course, you'll need a extra vehicle to leave at the exit point if you don't want to walk back). We also thought about entering the river at the mid-point entry in the State Park and then float right to the house, but we ran out of time. Such an amazing experience and we owe all our thanks to Jim & Janet for sharing their beautiful home and property with us. Thanks again!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • My time on the river

    My time on the river

    • Guest ninjaboy (Jacksonville Florida)
    • Date of stay 02/18/11
    • Review Submitted 03/21/11
    My family and I really enjoyed our time at this property. Very well located to both nature and convinence of town. Can't wait to return.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Great place with all the comforts of home!

    Great place with all the comforts of home!

    • Guest Donna (GRAPEVINE)
    • Date of stay 06/24/10
    • Review Submitted 06/05/11
    We recently spent a week at this home on the Ichetucknee River with our adult age children. We were all smitten with the atmosphere of this fairy tale like setting. The fireflies in the trees along the river at night looked like twinkle lights they were so abundant. The home was well equipped and comfortable. The Rivers were extremely helpful and attentive to the smallest details of our family’s needs. Great Place! We can’t wait until next summer to return to this beautiful setting and the relaxing home on the Ichetucknee River.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]