Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
East Side of the Villa at Punta Rica

Punta Rica ! Jungle Villa for Nature Passionate! [#319253] | View Property

Bastimentos
Bed And Breakfast, 4 Bedrooms, 4.5 Baths (Sleeps 8)
$225/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (16)

Sort by:
  • FABULOUS

    FABULOUS

    • Guest Nancy (Golden, Colorado / USA)
    • Date of stay 09/06/12
    • Review Submitted 03/09/13
    Punta Rica Lodge is PARADISE. The setting is absolutely beautiful... from your room, the lodge, the gardens and the surrounding trees. Humming birds, monkeys, parakeets, Montezuma oropendola birds are just some of the local wildlife you will encounter. Colette and Richard are wonderful hosts who will make you fill right at home. All of the meals are gourmet and five star. The design and location of the property will allow you to enjoy a bug free stay. You will not find a better place in all of Panama. Recommended and organized by Colette and Richard, take advantage of a day trip to Coral Key and Red Frog beach. Nancy and Bob, Colorado, USA

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wow! Best place to stay in Bocas hands down

    Wow! Best place to stay in Bocas hands down

    • Guest mike426075 (Sebastian, FL)
    • Date of stay 06/17/11
    • Review Submitted 07/10/11
    We stayed at Punta Rica for two weeks after Aydika spent a week on Careneros Island looking for the best place to stay. Two weeks at Punta Rica with amazing food and the feeling of being family- we have to say it is the best place we found in Bocas. This isn't to say there aren't other "good" places, but Colette made us feel more at home away from home than one would think possible. She got to know our food and wine preferences instantly and served the best cuisine available anywhere in Bocas (no joke). The best eggs benedict (and pineapple flambé) on the planet may very well be from Colette's “French-Canadian with Panama flair”, kitchen. If you’re a foodie, meet Colette. The balcony view overlooking the water, the beautiful sunsets with a glass of wine, the comfy hammock for reading set within the jungle of Bastimentos away from the daily party noise of town made Punta Rica wonderful. We were there as a work-travel experiment so the high speed wireless internet access was critical. I think our only complaint would be the internet access could use an upgrade- seeing how we were working just as we would if we were in the states for several hours a day before walking down to the ocean to snorkel at the reefs just off the main dock. One of the things I loved about Punta Rica was the hummingbirds, they’re crazy. They would buzz through the main room like the owned the place chirping loudly and chasing each other. The sound of monkeys at night added to the reminder we were on the ocean, in the jungle, in rural Panama. Colette even provided us with a local cell phone so we could call up water taxis as needed and communicate with friends we made while visiting. By the time we left, it felt like we were leaving a second home. We also thoroughly enjoyed George (and the rum!) at the Pickled Parrot, which is kayaking distance. Would we go back? Heck yes. I highly recommend anyone visiting Bocas check to see if Punta Rica has availability before looking anywhere else.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: This comment is very welcomed. We are in progress with the internet supplier in order to increase the speed since it is now available. Thanks to this guess to have pinpoint us to that improvement and to have helped us with his expertise

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Antonio & Sylvia
    • Date of stay 01/01/11
    • Review Submitted 04/17/11
    Punta Rica jungle villa es espectacular. Richard y Collette son una maravilla tratando a sus huespedes. Son tan solo 4 habitaciones muy bonitas muy espaciosas, la cama es enorme y de muy buena calidad así como la ropa de cama y mas detalles como el jabón de coco que hacen ellos y una toallas de calidad.Te vence el sueño con el sonido espectacular de la jungla. Menudas cenas las que preparan y como cuidan los pequeños detalles.Gracias por todo Collette y richard. Antonio y Silvia from Spain

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Elliott and Nikki
    • Date of stay 01/01/11
    • Review Submitted 04/15/11
    Dear Colette and Richard, Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us. The setting was picture perfect. You were so helpful in arranging tours and taxis. The food was outstanding. We will always remember New Year Eve in the jungle. Elliott, Nikki, Mikaela and Simon, Winnipeg, Canada

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest SHKSF- San Francisco, CA
    • Date of stay 12/31/10
    • Review Submitted 04/15/11
    Punta Rica is much more than a hotel, it is a home away from home. Richard and Collette’s hospitality will make you feel like family- from the welcome drink at your arrival, to the engaging conversation over a glass of wine. With four spacious bi-level guest rooms, you will relax in a private and comfortable lodging, while a beautifully decorated common area is available for playing cards, reading books, or enjoying the natural environment. Each suite includes a private bathroom, comfortable king bed, and balcony overlooking the jungle. The hosts will help you organize outings for the day, and you will look forward to returning home for an exquisite meal prepared by two of the best chefs in Bocas. The resort is situated on a forested hill above a small beach, a quick 10 minute boat-ride to Bocas town. The location could not be more ideal for those who want to get away from it all, but have easy access to activities. Our experience was magical, and after a week, our only complaint was that the trip was far too short!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Vivek and Sherin
    • Date of stay 12/31/10
    • Review Submitted 04/15/11
    Colette and Richard, We can't thank you enough for such a wonderful stay in Bocas. Echoing others appreciation of food, comfort and fun wouldn't do justice to what was most memorable about Punta Rica... both of you. Rarely do people encounter others that are so generous, so sincere and so welcoming. Not to mention your friends Natatouche and Elena were amazing to set the stage for perfect morning breakfasts and evening dinners. Despite heavy rains and only moments of sun, we always felt totally relaxed at your place. Wish you all the best for 2011 and many, many more years to come! Vivek and Sherin, Washington, D.C., USA

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Zack & Anna
    • Date of stay 12/29/10
    • Review Submitted 04/15/11
    Colette and Richard, Thank you so much for creating the perfect paradise for us here in Bocas. Colette, the attention to detail with every aspect of teh villa truly makes for a special place. Richard, thank you for always keeping the beer cold. For this I can never thank you enough. We never felt like clients. We felt like a part of your family wich was the most memorable part. We promise to come back and visit. Oh, and the food..QUE RICO!!! The best we ever had. Love, Zack & Anna , San diego

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Incredible Nature retreat!! Lovely hosts!

    Incredible Nature retreat!! Lovely hosts!

    • Guest Monique (Terrebone, Quebec, Canada)
    • Date of stay 10/20/10
    • Review Submitted 11/14/10
    Incredibly beautifull stay ( 5 nights). You will find a gem up on a hill, its a Wounderfull place surounded by jungle and the beautifull caribean see. An everyday breeze will make your stay blissfull...Rooms are very nice, confortable, very spacious. Beds are very cosy, bathrooms are charming to. You will also find cute amenities such as a home made coco oil soap. Our host was very welcoming always taking care of the smalest details and our wellness. You will eat deliciously and fresh. Food is always prepared with lots of love and with organic ingredients. Located between the open see and the Bocas bay, many exciting day trip and activitie options will be offered to you. Would recomended Punta Rica to everyone looking for welness, tranquility and nature discovery.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • This place makes me feel so good

    This place makes me feel so good

    • Guest Francine (Montreal)
    • Date of stay 10/16/10
    • Review Submitted 11/01/10
    First impression is calmness surrounded by nature. The sounds, the smell and the beauty of the nature is really unforgettable In addition the unbelievable luxury of the suite makes you very comfortable in this nature retreat. The clear warm sea is right there at your reach for boat excursions. Food is great and our host makes feel you at home, the feeling is that we are family for them.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Julie et Gregory
    • Date of stay 09/16/10
    • Review Submitted 04/15/11
    Chers Colette et Richard, Tout d'abord chapeau pour la réalisation de ce magnifique projet qui vous représente si bien. Punta Rica dans son cadre paradisiaque a une âme si accueillante qu'il fait bon vivre. Merci du fond du coeur pour votre si grande générosité. Vous avez fait de notre séjour parmi vous un moment inoubliable. Merci également pour avoir partagé votre amour de Bocas, de nous avoir donné envie d'y revenir et d'y rester. Julie, Gregory et Louka

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Unforgettable experience!

    Unforgettable experience!

    • Guest julesatsea (brooklyn ny)
    • Date of stay 08/26/10
    • Review Submitted 10/23/10
    I spent 6 days in October 2010 and wish it was for perpetuity. The location is incredible, you are on the top of a small hill overlooking a crystal clear emerald bay, just 5 minutes from the town of Boca del Toro. The rooms are luxurious and elegant, the bed very comfortable and the food fresh and delicious. Richard and Colette are full of attention and discreet. Loved it.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Amazing holiday!

    Amazing holiday!

    • Guest GlobeTrotter (Montreal, Canada)
    • Date of stay 01/01/10
    • Review Submitted 10/22/10
    Had a fabulous holiday at Punta Rica. The rooms, grounds, food and drink were all wonderful. There is plenty of things for everyone to do wether it be beaching, surfing, horsing, excursions, etc. We had a great time and would go back for sure.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Loved it !

    Loved it !

    • Guest Karine (Montreal, Quebec, Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/26/09
    • Review Submitted 10/25/10
    This place is so beautiful ! I really enjoyed living in the heart of nature.The food was great, my room was very nice, comfortable and spacious and the place was always clean. The owners Colette and Richard showed us lots of places to discover and activities to do (beaches, monkeys, horseback riding...). I recommend this place to everyone !

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Spectacular!! Raw luxury, Nature lovers dreams!!

    Spectacular!! Raw luxury, Nature lovers dreams!!

    • Guest Emma (Mexico)
    • Date of stay 11/15/09
    • Review Submitted 11/14/10
    Just when you thought you couldn't possibly discover anything else on Bocas Del Toro an-other gem appears on the tip of Bastimentos island: Punta Rica Beach and Jungle villa (www.puntaricabocas.com) : This is the type of resort best suited for those looking to get away from it all. Punta Rica is very exclusive, it has only 4 accommodations— 4 Casonas. You will sleep with the sound of the famous red frogs and all the wild jungle species you can imagine (the best sleep I ever had of my life!). Rooms are very spacious and comfortable, great mattress, 400 tread count sheets and quality towels. Room amenities include owners property fresh coconut hand made soap! Service is great with host Richard and Colette! Enjoy!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Exotic nature in Bastimentos- Punta Rica Resort

    Exotic nature in Bastimentos- Punta Rica Resort

    • Guest Huguette (Métis-sur-mer,Québec)
    • Date of stay 10/19/09
    • Review Submitted 10/23/10
    I like to live jungle around the property and the fabulous excursions at the sandbeach and in the mangrooves. We appréciate to eat tropical meals at the zappatillas island and all around our stay. The owners are goodlivingpeoples and very helpful for organizing our visit. It's unforgettable trip ...we have many, many to discover...it's a place for nature lover et for a special way of life. Huguette et Pierreh

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • good times

    good times

    • Guest billy (Montreal)
    • Date of stay 03/01/09
    • Review Submitted 01/16/11
    Ive visited Punta Rica on 2 occasions and have some stunning pictures to remind me of how beautiful it wa. We fell upon some stunning flora and fauna and were treated to some back-home hospitality set to a tropical background. The hosts are incredibly welcoming and were very helpful with directing us to the daily activity of our choice, be it wet, sunny or both! An ideal vacation for those seeking the serenity of the tropics with the luxury and comfort of home.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]