Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Traverse City Carriage House vacation rental

Winter Special Only $150/Night! [#319272] | View Property

Traverse City
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms + Attached Unit, 1.5 Baths (Sleeps 6-10)
$150 - $250/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (16)

Sort by:
  • Great house 6 miles from heart of downtown TC!

    Great house 6 miles from heart of downtown TC!

    • Guest Amanda M.
    • Date of stay 08/22/13
    • Review Submitted 09/13/13
    We live in Chicago and when we get away to smaller towns, we like to find homes to rent (over hotels) to completely escape. Fortunately we were able to find someone who would rent to us without having to commit to a full week as we had a family wedding to attend to over the weekend. This house is exactly as pictured and we had a great stay. It was unseasonably hot the time we were there (mid-90's) so the A/C units had to work extra hard while we were there, but they still kept the place comfortable. The well water did surprise this city girl, but when in Rome... =) Just buy bottled water and you'll be fine! Full kitchen stocked with everything you could ever need. Hope to stay here again - very nice, accommodating owner and I feel it wouldn't be fair if I didn't mention that you must check out the very fun CD collection! =) We'll be back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Place to Stay!!

    Great Place to Stay!!

    • Guest Renee (Essexville, MI)
    • Date of stay 07/14/13
    • Review Submitted 08/03/13
    We could not have asked for a better experience staying at the Carriage House for our family vacation in Traverse City. The house and grounds were just as wonderful as the pictures showed and the property was extremely welcoming and inviting. We felt right at home during our stay and would not have wanted to stay anywhere else. It made our trip that much more enjoyable knowing that we could stay in such a comfortable and well maintained house with no worries. Awesome to have a full kitchen, washer and dryer, air conditioner, and our very own fire pit for our family vacation. It was private, secluded, and truly felt like a home away from home during our stay.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect location for a perfect weekend

    Perfect location for a perfect weekend

    • Guest Bryan (Bay City, MI)
    • Date of stay 02/01/13
    • Review Submitted 02/03/13
    We had six adults stay there and had plenty of room. It is a few miles outside of town but that was great for us. There was plenty of snow but the roads and the driveway were plowed for us and the house was just beautiful. Very clean and felt like a home, not an old hotel room like in town. The views from the large picture windows of the snow covered pine trees were gorgeous. We rented the whole house and couldn't be happier with our choice. We will be checking availability on this house for all future trips to Traverse City. Thanks Angie

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Getaway Spot!

    Perfect Getaway Spot!

    • Guest liz (chicago)
    • Date of stay 01/24/13
    • Review Submitted 02/04/13
    The Carriage House was an amazing getaway for myself and some friends this winter. It was the perfect distance from Chicago (approx 4.5 hours) and had everything we were looking for from wineries, breweries, and fantastic restaurants only miles away. The Carriage House was incredibly clean and the description and photos online were spot on! The place was huge, with 3 large bedrooms, with sleeping room for 10. It is located up a private drive, so it was completely secluded with lots of room to roam. We are definitely recommending it to friends looking for a getaway and are already talking about returning next year!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Excellent Stay

    Excellent Stay

    • Guest Jonathan G.
    • Date of stay 12/30/12
    • Review Submitted 01/08/13
    Could not have been happier with the property and the stay. Beautiful house and very cozy.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Traverse City Wedding

    Traverse City Wedding

    • Guest Alison (Sparta, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 08/23/12
    • Review Submitted 10/24/12
    We all really enjoyed our stay at the Carriage House in Traverse City. We rented it for our stay during my sister's wedding, and had it fill to capacity the entire weekend, but we still had plenty of room. I especially liked the privacy the lot gave you and the fire pit in the back got used every night! Everything was clean, updated, and well maintained. We will be back again someday!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Summer 2012 in Traverse City.....

    Summer 2012 in Traverse City.....

    • Guest Lucky (Bentonville, Arkansas)
    • Date of stay 07/17/12
    • Review Submitted 10/18/12
    We enjoyed our stay in Traverse City and especially liked the peaceful landscape.....just the two of us so the house was plenty big enough. Our research and discoveries would lead us to a wide variety of restaurants and interesting stores plus the wonderful Traverse Bay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Agree with comments, photos accurate, description accurate, high quality

    Agree with comments, photos accurate, description accurate, high quality

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/04/12
    • Review Submitted 05/15/12
    We stayed recently for our anniversary at this home. Quiet location and not far from town. Thanks for supplying soaps and linens. King bed perfectly comfortable. Pine trees across road makes calming sound when wind is blowing. Had never seen northern Michigan. Love the variety of the area. A lot more to see than the usual east shore beaches. History, fruit orchards of every kind, wineries (try organic Good Neighbor at Leelanlau Peninsula) lake beaches of every variety, lots of biking opportunities, friendly people, consignment shops, lighthouses, water color fantastic, fossil rocks on beaches, general area a lot cleaner than other tourist areas, on & on. Old Tavern restaurant on the Old Mission Peninsula was delicious. ( oldmissiontavern ) Had the artichoke chicken. Grand Traverse Pie Co. has the best strawberry-rhubarb pie. (gtpie) get the regular crust not the crumb. Buy a whole pie. Sleeping Bear Dune. Be sure to drive the scenic loop and stop to view. Don't be afraid to drive on little roads to see old barns, school houses, wildflowers etc. Many places in the small towns in May are not open BUT there are many places to still visit. We spent a couple whole days at the house and there is only one house past this one. Rarely heard anything. Perfect!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Winter Escape at the Carriage House

    Perfect Winter Escape at the Carriage House

    • Guest Mary (Lake Orion Michigan)
    • Date of stay 02/17/12
    • Review Submitted 03/19/12
    Our family of 6 (two adults and 4 t'ween girls) stayed at the charming Carriage House during mid winter school break. We found it to be absolutely perfect - in size, accommodations, and location. It is secluded, yet within a few minutes of Traverse city, tubing hills, good restaurants, and the allure of all things up north. Angie was great and we really enjoyed her welcome. My husband and daughters enjoyed walking in the woods surrounding the carriage house. The home appears to be practically brand new and the Hawaii room was perfect for the kids. We couldn't believe we found the perfect place for our winter getaway. Thanks Angie - we WILL be back for another stay at the Carriage House

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Definitely Returning to the Carriage House

    Definitely Returning to the Carriage House

    • Guest Hazel411 (Ann Arbor, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 11/04/11
    • Review Submitted 01/03/12
    I stayed two nights in November, 2011, with my mom and sister. We had a fantastic weekend, mostly because the accommodations were so adorable, clean and comfortable. It was the perfect place to relax and spend time with loved ones. The views from the windows are gorgeous. We loved the radiant heat floors. Angie was fantastic to work with. I plan to return next summer with my family to this beautiful retreat.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Cozy Carriage House

    Cozy Carriage House

    • Guest Liz (Grand Rapids, MI)
    • Date of stay 10/01/11
    • Review Submitted 10/18/11
    We stayed there with two other couples, taking in a wine tour on Saturday. The carriage house was cozy, clean and very comfortable....so much nicer than a hotel! Angie Machin, our hostess, was very accommodating and made our stay wonderful. We would definitely visit again; I only wish we could have stayed for the whole weekend. The house was very close to Traverse City, downtown restaurants and the wineries along the Leelanau peninsula. Thank you, Angie!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Retreat weekend

    Retreat weekend

    • Guest JS (Dearborn, MI)
    • Date of stay 07/14/11
    • Review Submitted 08/18/11
    The cottage is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Not too far from town and a few beaches. A little pricey compared to comparable locations.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Had a great family time

    Had a great family time

    • Guest vwm (Rochester Hills MI)
    • Date of stay 05/28/11
    • Review Submitted 06/07/11
    We found this place by accident but were quickly and pleasantly surprised. The place matched the description. It was even nicer and very clean. Nice 'homey' touches throughout. We enjoyed our family time as compared to hotel rooms. Location is convenient to get anywhere in the area. Definitely would recommend it and would stay here again. Only issue we had was the No A/C, but hear that is coming soon. Angie was a pleasure to work with.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • nice, updated, cozy

    nice, updated, cozy

    • Guest rtwardy (nwi)
    • Date of stay 01/21/11
    • Review Submitted 01/24/11
    Very nice and lots of space. Kitchen bathroom and bedrooms are very clean and new lookin. Plenty of space. Overall good experience ...friendly to deal with

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • In love with this property

    In love with this property

    • Guest Returning Guests (Ann Arbor, MI)
    • Date of stay 12/23/10
    • Review Submitted 12/29/10
    My family has stayed at the Carriage house twice in the last several months. We LOVED it both times. The house is gorgeous - everything is as described or better. The location is perfect - its only 5-10 minutes away from anything you might need yet still secluded and quiet. The property was clean and beautifully cared for and we loved the high-speed wireless internet. It was also great to have a washer and dryer to use (especially with a toddler). The owner is very helpful and was available by phone any time we had a question. My husband and I both have family in the Traverse City area so we visit frequently. We will definitely be renting the Carriage House again soon. Even our two-year old daughter loves the "red house".... she acts like its her home away from home. I have already recommended this property to several friends and family members who might need a place to say in TC....as long as they don't want the property for the dates we want it. :)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Review of the Adorable Carriage House

    Review of the Adorable Carriage House

    • Guest Ellie (Holland, MI)
    • Date of stay 08/29/10
    • Review Submitted 02/03/11
    My husband and I spent two nights of our honeymoon in the carriage house this summer. It was impeccably clean and well-maintained. The listing description of the carriage house as well as the photos were accurate regarding the location and the rental's appearance/amenities. The owner was very helpful in answering our questions and addressing our concerns. We had everything we needed (i.e., sheets, towels, pots, pans, silverware, etc.). We had so much fun wine tasting, going out for romantic dinners, making breakfast, swimming at the beach, and siteseeing on the beautiful peninsula. For restaurants, we would recommend the Blue Tractor and the Jolly Pumpkin. Overall, we would definitely recommend this property to our friends and relatives. It truly was adorable:)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]