Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Looking out the living room window.

Beautiful House Nestled Against Tucson Mt. Park; Mt. Views in Quiet, Scenic Area [#320104] | View Property

Private Homes
3 bedrooms, sleeps 6+
$98 - $140/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (15)

Sort by:
  • Fantastic! Hope to stay here again soon

    Fantastic! Hope to stay here again soon

    • Guest R Michael L. (Mendota Heights, MN)
    • Date of stay 02/08/14
    • Review Submitted 03/09/14
    We had a wonderful time at this lovely home in Tucson. I don’t think the pictures that are posted on VRBO do it justice. It was much nicer and more spacious than we had hoped. The house is well equipped with most anything you’ll need. The bed was comfortable and the master bathroom is large and thoughtfully designed. The patio was our favorite place to sit and enjoy the scenery and the comfortable climate. We had a number of close encounters with desert wildlife while staying here. We had a bobcat prance through the patio, while we were having breakfast one morning. We saw the Cooper ’s hawk land in the backyard mesquite tree a few times. But what we saw most often were javelina. We first saw a lone male, and then a few days later a family unit of 5 visited the backyard. We saw that family unit a couple of times during our stay. They seemed to show up shortly before dinner time. I think the fact that we fed the birds about 70 lbs. of birdseed while we were there helped attract the javelina. On our last day, we saw a rattlesnake while hiking on the trail to Gates Pass. The hiking and biking trails start just 100 yards from the front door. There are many trails to choose from. Most trails are easy, but if you want a challenge those trails are there too. The heated swimming pool and spa are fantastic too. They’re only about a one block walk from the house. Be sure to take the short-cut along the outside of the tennis courts – but watch out for pricklies. We hope to be back again soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • at times it was like living in a zoo

    at times it was like living in a zoo

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/15/13
    • Review Submitted 10/25/13
    addition to prior review: I forgot to mention the 3 gray fox that were just off of the back patio on our 2nd night at Casa Verde.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • what a great find! amazing home & perfect location

    what a great find! amazing home & perfect location

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/15/13
    • Review Submitted 10/24/13
    My family could not have been more pleased with our stay at Casa Verde. We were there for 5 nights & we all loved it! The owners, Jon & Sue, were quite friendly & very easy to communicate with. They provided easy-to-follow directions for us to locate the home. Max, their property manager, greeted us on arrival & answered all of our questions. Casa Verde is a beautiful home; it's located in a very pretty, quiet area. The house was spotlessly clean when we arrived & the amenities were endless. It was especially nice to have use of their automatic garage door opener; we liked being able to park our car inside the garage. Tucson Mountain Park is a short stroll away & is a great location for hiking (my brother & I especially enjoyed early morning hikes). Saguaro National Park is a very short drive away. The back yard was amazing: two bobcats were sunning on "our" back patio our 1st morning! ...& the next morning ~7-8 javelina (peccary) were there! We saw lots of dove, quail, thrashers, woodpeckers-- more birds than I could identify. I couldn't believe my eyes when a peregrine falcon landed on a tree branch ~5 ft from the patio's sliding door one morning! The sunsets & full moon were gorgeous. We made may different day trips & outings around Tucson & southern AZ but were always anxious to "get back home" & see what critters would be coming by to visit. I would not hesitate to recommend this property to friends & relatives. Anyone who enjoys the outdoors would find this to be a slice of heaven. If I ever travel back to Tucson, I'll definitely want to stay here. I feel confident that my brother & parents would say the same. Ginger F. San Antonio, Texas

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Awesome!

    Awesome!

    • Guest Chad W.
    • Date of stay 10/02/13
    • Review Submitted 10/11/13
    Absolutely Amazing! That's about covers it!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great getaway!

    Great getaway!

    • Guest Sandra J. (Pinole, CA)
    • Date of stay 04/28/12
    • Review Submitted 05/10/12
    We had great communication with the owners Jon and Sue. Also, Max greeted us when we arrived and answered any questions we had during our stay. It is a beautiful home in a very nice clean quiet neighborhood. We all felt right at home. The home was clean and the kitchen had everything you needed to cook and eat with. That was important to us because we don't usually eat out (however, there is a McDonalds nearby). Out the back patio we saw lots of birds, bunnies and some reptile. It was like having a park in your backyard. In fact, we loved how we could just walk out the front door and a few steps away there were mountains with great hiking and biking trails. Also, it was nice to see the cactus were in blossom. We took the short walk to the large heated pool; don't miss the shortcut through the tennis courts. There was also a large spa, ping pong table, basketball court, tennis courts, and another court (forgot the name). Also a large indoor clubhouse. Half the time there was just the three of us at the pool area. This is a great place just to kick back and relax (large flat screen TV, too). Of course, we did do some sightseeing like the Desert Museum, Colossal Cave, and Sabino Canyon to name a few. There is so much more to see and do in Tucson, but it will have to wait till next time. This will be the place to stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Perfect Location

    Perfect Location

    • Guest AZ Traveler (Michigan)
    • Date of stay 03/04/12
    • Review Submitted 03/27/12
    We enjoyed the wonderful location of the Casa Verde. A short walk to the trails of Tucson Mountain Park is a treat. We took several trips to the nearby Arizona Sonora Desert museum as well as other side trips. From the patio we saw a great variety of birds, including newly fledged thrashers. There are plenty of places for walking and getting exercise. The neighbors are friendly. The spaciousness of the well-appointed home, including newer washer and dryer and fast WiFi internet is great. We loved it all!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • An Adventure Every Day!

    An Adventure Every Day!

    • Guest Barb J.
    • Date of stay 11/18/11
    • Review Submitted 11/28/11
    Thank you so much for sharing your home with us! we had one of the best vacations ever.....only it was too short....we stayed a week ! The home was warm and inviting and all the "extras" you had on hand such as soaps, lotions, paper products, kitchen supplies were such a wonderful surprise! The house was "spotless" clean and well stocked with linens, towels, dishes..and wonderful appliances..We spent so much time outside on the large patio....each sunset was breathtaking and such a relief from city life...the wildlife was an adventure every day...we saw havalinas every day, coyotes, rabbits, a great horned owl and dozens of different birds constantly..all the activity in the yard..was like watching a movie..The house is perfectly located right by the park...very private! but....very close to the interstate so getting around the city is very simple...It's very close to tourist attractions, shopping, restaurants and there are hiking trails in the desert almost right outside the door....The neighbors we met were very kind and helpful and we enjoyed meeting them... We loved this place and are already booked for next year! and ..Thanks again, Jon and Sue....you were both so kind and helpful to work with....we can't speak highly enough of your home....!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wonderful Vacation Home

    Wonderful Vacation Home

    • Guest Tucson traveler (CA)
    • Date of stay 03/08/11
    • Review Submitted 03/16/11
    Our family loved staying at Jon and Sue's Tucson house. The house is beautiful and welcoming, and located close to many things to see and do: the Tucson Mountain park for hiking, the Arizona Sonoran Desert Museum, Old Tucson studios, Saguaro National Park... the list goes on. The view from the backyard is amazing, and the birds and wildlife we saw, mostly because of the bird feeders they graciously provide, were equally amazing. There are several good restaurants fairly close by as well, and it's not far from the freeway with easy access to downtown Tucson. In short, we had a great time staying here, and hope to come back someday.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Home away from Home

    Home away from Home

    • Guest Ruth T. (Rush City, Minnesota)
    • Date of stay 01/17/11
    • Review Submitted 02/17/11
    My wife, myself and 4 daughters had an absolutley wonderful time at Jon and Sue's home. The kids loved the pool and tennis courts as well as hiking and observing the abundant wildlife right outside the patio. We saw many kinds of birds including quail, doves, hawks and a roadrunner. Mule deer, coyotes and a fox were also seen right outside the patio. The veiws from the house are nothing short of spectacular. Watching the sun set over the mountain as gambles quail call in the distance was worth the whole trip. Within ten minutes of the house you can do or see just about anything; Desert Museum, Old Tucson, San Xavier Mission etc..as well as many fine restaurants. Jon and Sue were very easy to deal with and always got back to us right away. They even helped us out with a special request we had reguarding one of our family members. When we come back to Tucson, this is where we want to stay. Thanks again. Bill, Ruth, Jill, Erin, Lisa and Jena

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Great Mini-Vacation

    Great Mini-Vacation

    • Guest St.Charles (Washington)
    • Date of stay 07/21/10
    • Review Submitted 07/30/10
    We stayed for a week to see family and friends. Although it was (hot) - it was July in Tucson after all - the house was very comfortable. We still did "tourist stuff". In addition to the Az Sonora Musuem - the International Wildlife Museum is a "must see". The views from the house were wonderful and very relaxing. We will definitely rent again in the future.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • A Relaxing, Peaceful and Spotless Vacation Home!

    A Relaxing, Peaceful and Spotless Vacation Home!

    • Guest Jeanne K. (Flagstaff, AZ, USA)
    • Date of stay 06/22/10
    • Review Submitted 09/23/10
    We stayed a week and enjoyed every moment. With the weather being "WARM" in June, we were delighted with the excellent air conditioning and large swimming pool. The things we appreciated the most were no pets, no smoking but especially the salt water pool. Some in our family have chemical sensitivities so we're restricted on where we can stay. The non-chlorinated pool was not advertised that way, so it was a GREAT surprise!! The home was spotless, fresh ice in the freezer, complete kitchen equipment and supplies, a barbecue with a beautiful large patio for relaxing. The yard is full of an enormous variety of cactus, and in the morning and evening especially, a real variety of wildlife can be observed! We would definitely recommend this home to others travelling to Tucson, who desire to stay in a clean, comfortable, quiet setting a couple of miles from town. The owners were available to answer questions we had and were patient and helpful with our questions and requests. Very much appreciated! We were also pleased that there were lots of towels, extra sheets and lots of soap and other toiletries. This was a PERFECT vacation spot for us and we hope to return next year!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • A Great Week in Tucson!

    A Great Week in Tucson!

    • Guest Andy 19034 (Fort Washington, PA)
    • Date of stay 04/24/10
    • Review Submitted 05/10/10
    My friends and I spent a wonderful week in Tucson. Jon and Sue's house is large, clean and very comfortable. The pictures do not do it justice. The location is just far enough from the hustle and bustle of Tucson to be relaxing, but still close enough to not feel isolated. The Desert Museum, Saguaro Natl Park West and Gates Pass are close by, and it is easy to access almost any area of Tucson and SE AZ via I-10 and I-19. My main activity was birding. The backyard is filled with trees, cactus and other bird-friendly plants as well as feeders. The evenings on the porch were spent watching the many doves, thrashers, quail and woodpeckers enjoying the yard. We even had a Lesser Nighthawk and some bats fly low over the yard. Restaurants in the immediate area are limited, but the Mexican restaurant just outside the entry road is excellent. The Silver Saddle Steakhouse about 15 minutes away was also a favorite. All in all, it was a great week. I will be recommending the house to my birding friends and am looking forward to another visit in the next few years. Thanks to Jon and Sue for making such a wonderful house available for travelers!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Great Stay!

    Great Stay!

    • Guest RFE (California)
    • Date of stay 04/04/10
    • Review Submitted 04/16/10
    My family stayed here at the beginning of April 2010 and found the home as shown in the pictures. It was very comfortable and clean. The birds, squirrels, and rabbits were a treat to watch everyday. The weather was great and the wild flowers made the desert very pretty. Our kids had a great time in the heated pool. Overall, I highly recommend this house for a nice getaway.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Wonderful Experience!

    Wonderful Experience!

    • Guest Bob W.W. (Spokane, WA - USA)
    • Date of stay 11/15/09
    • Review Submitted 03/15/10
    I was fortunate to rent this 3 bdrm home with a great view of the Tucson Mtns. It's a comfortable house, well appointed. Lots of birds and mammalian wildlife. Good area with nice neighbors. Dark skies in Tucson allow great views of stars I never see in light-polluted Spokane. I spent most of the winter months here and I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Wonderful retreat!

    Wonderful retreat!

    • Guest JLynn7 (San Antonio, Texas)
    • Date of stay 06/27/09
    • Review Submitted 07/13/09
    We stayed several days at Casa Verde the last week of June and first week of July 2009 and it was the best vacation house we have ever stayed in. Quiet, relaxing, beautiful scenery and yet close to Tucson and all the attractions. The house is spacious and nicely furnished. We had adults, toddlers and teenagers and each one throughly enjoyed our stay with room to spread out and relax. Cable TV is provided and there is also a very nice clubhouse and pool we had lots of fun in. The washer and dryer made it much easier to keep up with laundry while there instead of having to go to a laundromat. Being able to fix complete meals in the beautiful kitchen saved alot in not having to eat out every day. And the rates were very reasonable versus staying in a hotel. There is just no comparison to having a whole house to spread out in compared to two or three hotel rooms. They also provide little extras like bird seed and hummingbird food to fill the feeders so you can watch the birds/wildlife right out the large picture window in the family room. The owner and property manager were also a pleasure to work with and any questions we had before renting or during our stay were promptly answered with great customer service. We loved feeling like we were out in the country, nestled at the base of the foothills, and yet town, shopping, and so many attractions were nearby. This house offered a lot of privacy and it was incredibly peaceful. We highly recommend this property to any age group as it is easily accessible to older vacationers as well as families with young kids. We have visited Tucson many times, but this trip will stand out in our memories as the nicest, most relaxing because of our stay in this home. Judy

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]