Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Dining Area, Living Room, and Deck!

Luxury Apartment in the Heart of Blue Hill Village [#320110] | View Property

Blue Hill
One (1) bedroom, One (1) bath, sleeps three (3)
$100 - $190/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (29)

Sort by:
  • Beautiful Respite in Blue Hill

    Beautiful Respite in Blue Hill

    • Guest Kristy S. (Where do you live?)
    • Date of stay 09/21/13
    • Review Submitted 10/01/13
    This property is an adorable, high end apartment in a lovely little town! 5 star food and scenery within steps of the door! Owners are so hospitable, and the area is fantastic. I highly recommend this place!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Weekend getaway!..

    Weekend getaway!..

    • Guest The Hardys (MA.)
    • Date of stay 01/24/13
    • Review Submitted 04/30/13
    Wonderful place to stay!! Very homey, comfortable and has everything you need. YOU MUST go to their restaurant that's right on site. The best food you will ever have!.. Very convenient to great sites and points of interest.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Worth a trip from anywhere!

    Worth a trip from anywhere!

    • Guest Christine H. (Boston, MA)
    • Date of stay 12/28/12
    • Review Submitted 01/09/13
    A tastefully decorated, immaculately clean, perfectly located, private, cozy, romantic retreat. Pictures are accurate but this lovely apartment is even nicer in real life. Blue Hill has many terrific eating options (don't miss the superb Arborvine next door) but the perfectly equipped kitchen and cozy little gas stove will tempt you to bring home something yummy from the Blue Hill Coop (and wine and cheese from the excellent Blue Hill wine shop) and cuddle as the snow falls gently outside and the sun sets out your window overlooking a perfect New England white church steeple...Ask Chrissy, John, or Beth for advice on any of the many splendid local activities, from hiking and biking and water activities to art, culture, history and, of course, Maine's splendid food and beverages. A very cute brewpub is under construction in an old barn in the back of the property and looks to be the perfect place to be come this summer.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Very nice apartment

    Very nice apartment

    • Guest Peter M.
    • Date of stay 11/19/12
    • Review Submitted 11/27/12
    I stayed in this unit while I was in the area dealing with a local boatyard. The apartment was clean,nicely furnished and very comfortable. Nice location. Within walking distance to all amenities in Blue Hill. Highly recommended.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Comfortable and charming retreat

    Comfortable and charming retreat

    • Guest John and Linda (Ambler, Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 10/12/12
    • Review Submitted 10/18/12
    The Apartment at Arborvine was exactly as advertised and pictured. It was well appointed, incredibly clean and very convenient. Beth and John were excellent hosts - very helpful but not intrusive. Their Arborvine restaurant is a must. Acadia National Park in one direction and Stonington in the other are both worthwhile destinations. We also visited Ellsworth and ate at Cleonice - an excellent tappas restaurant. We were very comfortable during our stay due to the thoughtfulness of our hosts. This was our first VRBO experience and it was an excellent one. We would recommend this property without reservation.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • This Place Gets it Right!

    This Place Gets it Right!

    • Guest MK from GA (Decatur, GA)
    • Date of stay 09/03/12
    • Review Submitted 09/12/12
    Our first trip to Maine, Blue Hill, Arborvine and Apartment. You can be assured and feel comfortable with this selection for your visit. The owners and managers" get it right" with warmth, hospitality, and attention to detail yet are respectful of your privacy. The apartment was perfect for my husband and me. We enjoyed returning in the evenings after filling the day with sites,hikes, and biking. The property is a wee village itself! Downtown shops, restaurants, galleris an easy stroll, but be sure to dine on property too! It was a restful week after a very busy summer. Thank you.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect place to stay in a delightful town!

    Perfect place to stay in a delightful town!

    • Guest Anne (Denver, Colorado)
    • Date of stay 07/14/12
    • Review Submitted 09/06/12
    The Arborvine was the first place I had ever rented through VRBO and we were delighted in every way. Chrissy, the manager, did a great job of communicating the initial nuts and bolts (quick responses to emails, easy to deal with on the $$) so we set it up quickly and painlessly. The actual unit itself is a treat – everything is tasteful and thoughtfully put together, right down to the last detail. Nothing was missing in the kitchen that I could discover – appliances, coffee, pots, pans, colanders to rinse your blueberries… Initially, I was a little concerned about being so close to the restaurant, but it is a mature and subdued crowd and we never even heard them. While we didn’t eat at the Arborvine, we did go several times to the more casual part of the restaurant and enjoyed the beer, tasty burgers and out-of-this-world blueberry pie. The town of Blue Hill is charming and there was a surprising amount for a 6-year-old to do – a wonderful playground, hands-on marine center, nearby kid-friendly beach. We made a number of day trips to explore the area and found no end of things to do and see. We visited Acadia & Bar Harbor, Stonington, Brooklin, Castine, Deer Isle, climbed to the top of Blue Hill Mountain, and went to the beach. We went out on a two-hour mail boat ride through all the small, family-owned islands, which was a definite highlight. I loved poking around in all the interesting galleries and often meeting the artists, who were hard at work. This isn’t schlock art – think Santa Fe prices, not tourist trap stuff. It was a great trip and we hope to return to Maine next summer and every summer!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Modern, clean and comfortable

    Modern, clean and comfortable

    • Guest Greg (Bergen County, New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 06/30/12
    • Review Submitted 07/17/12
    We really enjoyed our stay here. It is as clean and nice as it looks in the pictures. The balcony, large shower and skylight over the bed were all big pluses. Blue Hill is a great location to use as a base camp to explore the area, with a great supermarket and drug store up the hill from the apartment. Highly recommend for a pleasant and relaxing trip to this part of Maine.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Our stay wasn't long enough!!

    Our stay wasn't long enough!!

    • Guest Billie (Key Largo Florida)
    • Date of stay 06/10/12
    • Review Submitted 06/21/12
    Our 5 day stay at Arborvine Apt was wonderful! Everything was just perfect, from the Acadia travel guide, to the fabulous dining experience we had at The Arborvine Restaurant. The apartment has everything needed, comfortable and complete. Chrissy gave us all the info we needed to have a great few days to celebrate my husbands retirement! Our first hike was 5 minutes away on Blue Hill Mt. The view was spectacular! Acadia offered lots more of adventure. We enjoyed our meal at the Barncastle in Blue Hill as well as Thurston's in Bernard, the quiet side of Acadia. I have recommended this apt. to my family and friends! Thanks to all the staff at Arborvine, Chrissy, John and Beth for a great time.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Excellent Condo/Apartment in charming Blue Hill ME

    Excellent Condo/Apartment in charming Blue Hill ME

    • Guest JB (Wellesley, MA)
    • Date of stay 06/08/12
    • Review Submitted 06/11/12
    My family and I recently stayed at the Arborvine apartment for my sister's wedding in Blue Hill, ME. The apartment was amazing and made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable for the entire family. We enjoyed the apartment's modern bathroom/kitchen and tasteful furniture and design. It was also spacious and had a beautiful deck to enjoy our coffee in the morning. One of the most important features of the apartment is that you can conveniently walk into the town without needing to drive. In addition, the Arborvine restaurant is steps away for fine dining and it's very own brewery. We will make the trip again next summer to stay at this wonderful property.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • clean, quite, and lovely apt in beautiful Blue Hill

    clean, quite, and lovely apt in beautiful Blue Hill

    • Guest Judy (New York)
    • Date of stay 05/29/12
    • Review Submitted 06/05/12
    a quite, clean, and comfortable place to stay. Blue hill is very beautiful and easy to get to the national park. Highly recommended.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • I CAN'T WAIT TO RETURN

    I CAN'T WAIT TO RETURN

    • Guest Cynthia (Bellingham, Washington State)
    • Date of stay 05/21/12
    • Review Submitted 05/31/12
    I can't say what it was about this vacation rental property listing that caught my eye; the description, photos, location? All I can say is that this apartment exceeded expectations. The photo's can't really do it justice - sunshine thru the beautiful french doors (fitted with solid screen doors) in the front room and the AWESOME skylight in the bedroom create a sunny, happy place. I was impressed with the "tightness" of the apartment and would bet that those lucky folks staying at the apartment during the winter enjoy a warm, comfy environment. The kitchen is terrific to use; well thought out and outfitted with looks-like-new appliances. The shower is as advertised; large and wonderful. The apartment is very clean and obviously well maintained; flooring to window treatments - all appeared new. Actually it all was great; no disappointments with any detail of our stay at the apartment. Management of the property is in able hands and I look forward to my next stay. I have to return; the menu at the restaurant looks incredible and I wasn't able to indulge in what surely is a memorable meal there. Oh, and the brewery! The location of the property was perfect for my first Maine experience - Acadia, Deer Island, Bar Harbor were some of the highlights and all very close. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this wonderful rental to anyone!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Perfect Stay

    A Perfect Stay

    • Guest Debbie B.
    • Date of stay 02/02/12
    • Review Submitted 03/11/12
    The Arborvine Apartment was my first home in Blue Hill, Maine. I stayed here for the month of February while making more permanent arrangements for moving to this lovely town. John and Beth have created a most welcoming and comfortable home away. Chrissy is the best manager possible. I felt like she was my personal assistant and feel lucky to have her as a friend. The listing description is more than accurate! The property is spotless and the location central to this beautiful area of Maine. I arrived with my clothes and had everything I needed to feel settled right away. The highlights for me were the really great kitchen, skylight to the stars at night and the morning sun over my bed, and reading by the fire. My son visited from New York City and we dined at the Arborvine Restaurant. He would say have the short ribs and ceasar salad, but seriously, have the lamb!

    Owner response: It was so nice to see the lights on in that cozy apartment this winter. We are so happy to have been your welcoming committee to Blue Hill and look forward to seeing you around town!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Splendid sanctuary

    Splendid sanctuary

    • Guest Christine H. (Boston, MA)
    • Date of stay 12/30/11
    • Review Submitted 01/16/12
    Romantic, private, elegant and comfortable at the same time--this charming and spacious apartment is the perfect launch pad for all of Blue Hill's wonders, and a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The apartment provides the perfect excuse to stay cozy under the quilt, reading in bed under the skylight or in front of the fire if the rain patters or the fog creeps in. After a lovely breakfast in your own kitchen (thoughtfully provisioned by your host), with a sunny day at your doorstep, it's only a short walk into town or a short ride to Mountain Road for a hike up Blue Hill Mountain. Stop by the Blue Hill Co-op for sandwiches and snacks, the Blue Hill Wine Shop for a great bottle and an awesome wedge of cheese (ask for Max, but any of his staff are knowledgeable, helpful, and mindful of your budget). In the evening, have a glass of wine and some of the cheese you discovered as you prepare yourselves for a sumptuous dining experience next door at Arborvine. The Hikade family has created the perfect restaurant. Beth and staff will greet you and serve you in style, while John, Tim, Andrew and staff prepare dinners that will astonish you with their goodness. Eat all you want; tomorrow will beguile you with walks, hikes, paddling, beaches, and a dozen other ways to work it off and leave you wanting more--of everything Blue Hill has to offer, but especially this perfect sanctuary.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Another lovely stay!

    Another lovely stay!

    • Guest Carley k.
    • Date of stay 08/06/11
    • Review Submitted 09/09/11
    We enjoyed our trip so much last August that we came back for two weeks this year. The apartment is very neat and comfortable, and it is so conveniently located. We walked to the Blue Hill public library and read one afternoon, went to the bakery to buy fresh bread, and down to Trade Winds for ice cream, the Fishnet for steamed Lobster, and the Blue Hill Co-op for fresh blueberries. It's great not to have to use the car. We also enjoyed having the kitchen in the apartment which meant we could cook at home if we were tired from hiking all day. There are a lot of great day hikes on Deer Isle. Check the Island Heritage Trust for details. All in all, this is a wonderful, cozy apartment in the most beautiful part of Maine you'll ever visit.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Warm welcome, simple elegance

    Warm welcome, simple elegance

    • Guest Heather V. (Paris, France)
    • Date of stay 07/25/11
    • Review Submitted 08/02/11
    Maine was new to us and I researched long and hard before choosing Blue Hill as our starting point. In finding The Arborvine apartment, we really did find the perfect place to "nest" during our stay. Immaculately clean and well considered, from the fireplace to the skylight above the bed that closes itself if it rains (how smart is that?), tastefully decorated, with high-quality furnishings and a superb kitchen. Put that all aside however- what makes this special is the warmth of welcome we received, from Chrissy, Beth and Mary, who made us feel like we were more than just visitors. That counts for such a lot in making the experience a good one. Our nights were blissfully quiet, even with the (excellent) restaurant across the street. Easy distance to walk into the village, which has a wonderful progressive bookish vibe. Bought blueberries across the street at the farmers' market, and ate them right there by the handful. Walked up Blue Hill mountain for the view, even though it just about did us in. Took Chrissy's suggestion for dinner on the landing at Perry's lobster shack- take a bottle of wine around sunset, and buckle up for the best lobster roll of your life. Listened to the wacky WERU radio station, drove down to Deer Isle and Stonington crossing or fingers as we drove over the bridge, had a memorable meal at the Arborvine, and said goodbye with much reluctance as we felt we'd only begun to scratch the surface of what this beautiful area has to offer. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the apartment or the area. I look forward to when we can come back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful stay at the Arborvine Apartment!

    Wonderful stay at the Arborvine Apartment!

    • Guest Veerle Matarazzo
    • Date of stay 03/12/11
    • Review Submitted 07/25/11
    Our family traveled to Blue Hill twice during this past winter and each time we stayed at the Arborvine. We felt like we were coming home as soon as we entered the apartment. Our wonderful hostess Chrissy provided us with any info we needed and truly made us feel comfortable. The apartment was very clean, luxurious and warm (in the midst of winter). We were able to return to Blue Hill a second time because we knew we had a beautiful place to stay at. Both the apartment and restaurant were of exceptional quality and allowed us to relax and unwind after those few cold days outside. As it is located right in the heart of Blue Hill we were able to walk to several nearby attractions and truly get a feeling for the area. Now that we have moved to the area, we look back at our time at the Arborvine Apartment as a cozy place where we planned and were able to lay the foundation for our dream to one day live in the area. I would truly recommend this apartment to anyone who would like to really get a feeling for this area. Our hostess at the apartment, as well as people in the restaurant were extremely accomodating and friendly. Truly a great place to stay at!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Winter Weekend

    Wonderful Winter Weekend

    • Guest hereandthere (Marblehead MA)
    • Date of stay 01/27/11
    • Review Submitted 02/23/11
    We stayed here on a snowy weekend in January while we were exploring the area and were delighted with the apartment. Beautifully decorated, clean, warm and cosy, and the photos for the listing give you an accurate picture of the place. Chrissy the apartment manager made us feel very welcome and was totally responsive to a few minor glitches we had with the thermostat and hot water. Let me stress these were indeed small glitches as far as we were concerned, and I have since been informed that after our visit they have put in a new hot water heater and thermostat...which is reflective of the management's responsive attitude and care for their customers. The Arborvine restaurant was 5 star...wonderful atmosphere, friendly knowledgeable service, and excellent food...not to mention right next door! We will definitely be returning for another stay at this lovely apartment.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Late but not forgotten

    Late but not forgotten

    • Guest Jan (Alstead, New HAmpshire)
    • Date of stay 10/21/10
    • Review Submitted 11/16/10
    We just loved this apartment - clean, cozy and close to all that we needed. Crissy and her adorable daughter greeted us and then left us to ourselves unless needed. The weather was blustery and cool but that didn't stop us from enjoying every minute. Don't miss this great place!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • delicious arborvine

    delicious arborvine

    • Guest dn (portland, maine)
    • Date of stay 10/14/10
    • Review Submitted 10/25/10
    Skies: gray and overcast- to full on rainstorm (lashing & binding)- to peeks of sun & more rain & gray- to colors & sun, more than the eyes can take in. Itinerary: eat, (moaningly good meal at Arborvine- Halibut and Lamb and wonderful waitress Cerri), cook, play, drive, Acadia storming and wild, lobster that defied any previously held remembrances of what lobster should taste like, walks in the leaves- oh and more eating- cooking in the kitchen (pasta fagiole and pear galette)- and always coming back and feeling like the apartment had been designed perfectly just for us and that we were the most important people in Blue Hill- thanks to Chrissy's gift for welcoming, warming and sharing her love for Arborvine and Blue Hill. This place will be sealed in our memory banks as quintessentially the place to come for a vacation.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Autumn at Arborvine

    Autumn at Arborvine

    • Guest Vernon (Salt Lake City, Utah)
    • Date of stay 10/11/10
    • Review Submitted 10/20/10
    Fantastic property. Everything is updated and ultra-comfortable. Chrissy is a great hostess, meeting you upon arrival and making sure your needs are met. They even provided complimentary Green Mountain Coffee. Blue Hill is the perfect location to base out of for exploring the Maine Coast and Acadia. The fall foilage was spactacular everywhere around Blue Hill. And Blue Hill and the Apartment at Arborvine are quiet enough to allow relaxation, away from all of the cheap motels near Acadia. Overall we had a very positive experience, and I would recommend the property to couples looking for a romantic getaway in coastal Maine.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fall in Blue Hill

    Fall in Blue Hill

    • Guest World Traveler (Diablo CA)
    • Date of stay 10/03/10
    • Review Submitted 10/17/10
    The newly redesigned apartment equipped with the latest appliances was clean, comfortable and sufficiently roomy for 2 or 3 people. Chrissy, the apartment manager was extremely helpful with supplying brochures, maps and information that we needed about the area, current events and places to eat. We especially enjoyed eating several times at The Arborvine restaurant next to the apartment. The food is outstanding and the service superb. I highly recommend this apartment. Look forward to seeing you next year!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Gorgeous Appartment

    Gorgeous Appartment

    • Guest Chris (UK)
    • Date of stay 09/29/10
    • Review Submitted 10/09/10
    MY partner and I loved staying at the appartment. As other guests have testified everything was new, clean and beautifully decorated! It was very conveniently located for lovely walks, Acadia Park and we even managed to see a bear about a 10 minute drive from the appartment. Chrissy was very good at explaining everything we need to know about the appartment and very generously left a small bottle of sparking wine in the fridge to enjoy on our first evening. The kitchen was immaculate and had the most amazing cooker. We would definitely recommend this appartment to anyone staying in this part of Maine and would return again. Sadly we did not have time to sample the restaurant.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The Luxury Apartment at Arborvine

    The Luxury Apartment at Arborvine

    • Guest Gary J. (Owego, NY)
    • Date of stay 09/06/10
    • Review Submitted 09/19/10
    We wanted to celebrate a milestone anniversary somepalce special. We certainly found an absolutely beautifull apartment in Blue Hill, Maine that exceeded our expectations. The owners and their staff were genuine, accomodating and most helpful. The apartment was exceptionally clean and it's location at the edge of the village was perfect for walking to all of the stores and attractions. Blue Hill is centrally located so we were able to take day trips to Bar Harbor, Ellsworth, Stonington, Belfast and Camden and still find plenty time to relax at our luxury apartment. Don't miss the park in the vllage and the hike to the top of Blue Hill for exceptional views of the surrounding area on clear days. Over the years we have done our share of traveling in the USA and Europe. It is our belief that the owners and their staff, the apartment, and THE ARBORVINE RESTAURANT are SIMPLY the BEST!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Two thumbs up for this lovely apartment!

    Two thumbs up for this lovely apartment!

    • Guest ElizabethK (The South)
    • Date of stay 08/17/10
    • Review Submitted 09/14/10
    My husband and I stayed here in August, and had a great time. We arrived late, but were welcomed warmly by Christina, the apartment manager. She did a lot of nice things for us during our visit, including leaving us a basket of fresh peaches on our porch and a small bottle of sparkling wine in the refrigerator upon our arrival. The apartment was so comfortable and attractive, and we enjoyed opening the windows and spending time on the deck in the mornings to catch the cool breezes. Blue Hill is a great town, and the apartment is located so conveniently that we did a lot of walking. My only regret is that we ran out of time to try the Arborvine Restaurant. We did so much sightseeing during the day that we often came back to the apartment exhausted in the evenings, but it was a lovely vacation.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Modern, comfortable, & a chef's kitchen!

    Modern, comfortable, & a chef's kitchen!

    • Guest Travelon! (Washington, DC)
    • Date of stay 08/04/10
    • Review Submitted 08/11/10
    I really cannot overstate it: I LOVED my stay at the apartment at the Arborvine. First, Blue Hill is a wonderful setting for a "base" for your Maine vacation. The little town is everything you want when you envision the Maine coast- quaint, cute, breezy, nice people, good food, good restaurants-wonderful. Second, the apartment is decorated so beautifully and elegantly and yet is still comfortable and welcoming. The kitchen is fully stocked with pots/pans--I made several good meals using locally bought corn, tomatoes, blueberries- you name it! I am a bit of a wanna-be chef and I LOVED cooking in this kitchen while the breeze flowed all through the apartment from the open air balcony to the skylight/window above the gorgeous modern sleigh bed in the bedroom. Plus wi-fi is included which makes planning daytrips to Bar Harbor/Acadia/Ellsworth/wherever so easy. The bathroom is spacious and comfortable with a very large shower. Immediately next door is a restaurant and a wine bar, where during the evening there is an older gentlement who plays the piano and the music drifts out of the winery and onto the apartment balcony-- not in a distracting or overly loud way, but in a lovely and very authentic vacation-vibe way. I had such a great stay that for a minute I actually contemplated toning down my review just because I don't want this place to become too popular because then it won't be available the next time I want to stay! I was there by myself and had plenty of room. This place would be perfect for a couple on a getaway, for a girls/sisters getaway with 2-4 people, or for a couple with one child. I would say it is probably not appropriate for small children, as there wouldn't really be a foolproof way to keep a toddler/small child away from the balcony/stairs. Enjoy!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Delightful Apartment At Arborvine, Blue Hill

    Delightful Apartment At Arborvine, Blue Hill

    • Guest Frank (Urbana, IL)
    • Date of stay 07/30/10
    • Review Submitted 08/21/10
    The apartment at Arborvine in Blue Hill is absolutely delightful. It is beautifully laidout and very tastefully appointed. The flooring, furniture(including a handsome high dining table for two and an equally handsome bed and bedcoverings), paintings and prints, window treatments, etc. all reflect this good taste. It is also very comfortable including a modern fully equipped kitchen which simply cries out for use and an expansive bath and shower which encourages loitering. Even the entrance hall is eye catching with its handsome maple bench, under which is the perfect place to store one's hiking boots. There is also a small balcony most suitable for a morning cup of coffee or an early evening glass of wine. If you two are looking for a romantic in town apartment this is THE place. No kidding this apartment will surpass your expectations in many ways. Another plus is the capable and helpful managress Crissy Allen. PS The apartment also came with fresh cut flowers and a small bottle of champagne/brut.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Comfort in the Heart of Beautiful Blue Hill

    Comfort in the Heart of Beautiful Blue Hill

    • Guest Sherri M. (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 07/22/10
    • Review Submitted 09/20/10
    This beautiful apartment is in the heart of Blue Hill, Maine. Everything is brand new: a beautiful living room, gourmet kitchen with eating area, a Master bedroom with luxury bedding and fabulous mattress and a luxurious bathroom with huge shower. French doors leading to a little deck is the perfect place to read or have morning coffee. The flat screen TV and wireless internet collection was a pleasant surprise. Everything is top of the line. A nice country feeling but within walking distance to all that the town has to offer. The two best restaurants in Blue Hill are right on the property. Arborvine is a lovely white table restaurant with a reputation as one of the areas best dining experience. We had a lovely dinner there Sunday evening. The Vinery offers a more casual menu, available without a reservation and offering live entertainment. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Blue Hill. And the property manager, Crissy, couldn't have been more helpful and attentive. You'll love it!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • July 2010

    July 2010

    • Guest Alissa (United States)
    • Date of stay 07/20/10
    • Review Submitted 09/13/10
    This apartment is clean, new, quiet and comfortable. It is located next to two wonderful restaurants, and is within walking distance of the center of Blue Hill village. Chrissy was attentive and excellent! I would definitely recommend this apartment to a friend or relative traveling through Maine.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]