Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
The street of the apartment

Ile Saint Louis : Best Paris Location, a Fabulous Place [#320389] | View Property

Paris Arrondissement 4
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 4)
$414/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (44)

Sort by:
  • PERFECT APARTMENT FOR A VACATION IN PARIS!

    PERFECT APARTMENT FOR A VACATION IN PARIS!

    • Guest Richard (Coquitlam, BC)
    • Date of stay 03/14/14
    • Review Submitted 03/29/14
    Isabel’s apartment is the perfect place in Paris to stay for a family or anyone else looking for a great base for their vacation in Paris. We stayed at Isabel’s apartment last year and enjoyed it so much we just returned from another stay this year of 7 nights. There is plenty of room and we spread out our family of 4 over 3 floors so everyone had their own space and privacy. The beds are very comfortable and the shower is fabulous and great for relaxing in after a long day of sightseeing. We have travelled to Paris for the past 3 years in a row in March and can’t think of a better location in Paris to stay. After staying in this Ile St Louis location apartment for 2 years in a row we understand why the location is very much sought after and considered one of the best locations in Paris. Everything from grocery stores, restaurants, bakeries and transit stations are all within an easy 2 to 5 minute walk from the apartment. The apartment itself is extremely secure, private, and quiet yet it is only a few steps away from all the action and hustle and bustle of Paris and the Seine. Isabel is a pleasure to deal with and is always very happy to answer questions and offer helpful tips on getting around Paris and sightseeing. Our family is looking forward to our next stay in Paris again at Isabel’s apartment!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • WILL DEFINITELY RETURN....GREAT LOCATION....LOTS OF FUN!!!

    WILL DEFINITELY RETURN....GREAT LOCATION....LOTS OF FUN!!!

    • Guest Terry V. (-)
    • Date of stay 03/08/14
    • Review Submitted 03/16/14
    Perfect location..very quiet but close to everything. Isabel is a very warm and helpful owner. We visited with our two teen-age grandchildren and found the apartment to be both unique and very comfy. If stairs are an issue, be sure to take the lower bedroom, but all beds are extremely comfortable and the place is equipped with everything you could need. Bathroom is huge..kitchen is too...and the courtyard would be wonderful in warm weather. We visited in March so weather was too chilly, but we were steps from everything and right across from the Seine. We all loved it! Can't wait to return!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you very much it was a pleasure to receive you. Best

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Three Weeks in Paris

    Three Weeks in Paris

    • Guest Jill E. (Jacksonville, Florida)
    • Date of stay 01/16/14
    • Review Submitted 03/22/14
    My daughter and I had the opportunity to stay at this comfortable and cozy apartment in Jan/Feb 2014 for three weeks. It is in one of the most convenient locations in all of Paris. This beautiful apartment was very well equipped and immaculate. The kitchen is light and bright even on cloudy days. Isabel was very sweet and helpful whenever we had a question. She even invited us to her yoga class (which I highly recommend). Being unfamiliar with Paris, I also struggled with which arrondissement we should stay. The Iie St. Louis was the perfect decision. It was very close to the metro stations, food shops and bakeries. I would recommend this apartment hands down.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great stay on Ile Saint Louis

    Great stay on Ile Saint Louis

    • Guest Amy E.
    • Date of stay 11/25/13
    • Review Submitted 12/01/13
    My family enjoyed our stay at Isabel's apartment over Thanksgiving break. She was very responsive during the booking process and met us at the apartment when we arrived. Everything was as it was described in the listing. You cannot hear any street traffic because this apartment is located on the inner side of the building's courtyard, far from the street. The owner left fresh flowers which was a nice touch, as well as some refreshments. This place was great for a family with teenagers. The only problem we had was with the dryer. We couldn't get it to dry our clothes and so we flew home with a bag of wet clothes. The owner did try to help us with this but it probably needs to be fixed. She lives nearby and is easy to contact with any questions you may have. Overall, we had a great visit and enjoyed staying here during our time in Paris.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • A Week in Paris

    A Week in Paris

    • Guest Porch Mom (New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 10/31/13
    • Review Submitted 11/22/13
    The owner of the apartment was friendly, easy to deal with and attentive to one or two issues I had questions about. The kitchen has all sorts of little extras (guide books, maps, sewing kit, etc), so you needn't worry if you've forgotten anything. The apartment itself is immaculate and incredibly quiet, though not isolated. As others have mentioned, and can be seen in the photos, the inside stairs are steep and would be a problem for those with mobility or depth perception issues. The bedroom on the 2nd floor has a low ceiling, so taller folks might want to sleep in the twin beds downstairs. I'd never been to Paris before and struggled to decide in which arrondissement I should stay. The Ile St. Louis turned out to be a wise choice, with Metro and RER stations a 4 minute walk away. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Paris!

    Paris!

    • Guest Melissa D.
    • Date of stay 10/17/13
    • Review Submitted 10/25/13
    Wonderful setting amazing amazing amazing!! Everything was perfect

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Chic Oasis in the Middle of Paris

    Chic Oasis in the Middle of Paris

    • Guest Thad S. (Oakland, California)
    • Date of stay 10/11/13
    • Review Submitted 10/28/13
    We loved the location of this rental and couldn't believe how quiet it was at night. The upstairs bed was very comfortable & perfect for a couple. The downstairs twin beds would be appropriate for kids. If traveling with friends, be aware that privacy is limited: there are no doors separating the sleeping areas and bathroom from one another, and everyone needs to pass through the curtained-off lower sleeping area to get to the bathroom. The kitchen was well appointed and stocked, and the remodeling of this 1643 property added clear glass skylights in the 2 upper floors to get natural light into the below-ground bedroom & bathroom. Isabel, the proprietor, was very accommodating & friendly. She also provides her rentors with a detailed description of the neighborhood including shops, restaurants, transportation and sightseeing recommendations, which helped us get quickly acclimated to our Paris setting. The interior staircases to both the upper & lower bedrooms are very steep and not suitable for persons with mobility issues. But I would gladly stay in this rental again & recommend it for young families and for groups of close friends who don't require total privacy from one another.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Girls trip to PAris

    Girls trip to PAris

    • Guest Carla M. (Tustin, California)
    • Date of stay 10/05/13
    • Review Submitted 11/13/13
    This property is in a great location. It fells like a small community with stores and shops just around the corner. Very good restaurants which were recommended by the owner. The island is very quiet in the evenings. The owner was so helpful and friendly. We loved the basket of croissants and bottle of wine she left for us. This is a 3 story property which could be a problem with families with small children or older adults. We enjoyed our stay very much.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Paris - what a great adventure!

    Paris - what a great adventure!

    • Guest Leslie B. (Calgary, Alberta)
    • Date of stay 09/16/13
    • Review Submitted 10/02/13
    Property could'nt have been better located. Steps away from 2 metro stations, boulanger right around the corner, fantastic restaurants just around the corner as well. Cathedral Notre Dames only steps away. What more could you ask for! The appartment itself was great - although a bit small (top floor ceiling height is only about 5'8" high and there is only washroom located in the lower level (3 levels in total). Be advised that to go from floor to floor you must use a spiral staircase which is steep and not for anyone with any kind of physical limitations. Owner was always at the ready to provide answers and even bought a bodum for the appartment as we brought our own ground coffee, for our morning coffees to go with our croissants. The booklet she provided to help us getting around was complete and offer great suggestions. We would recommend highly recommend this appartment. Thanks Isabel!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Paris Location

    Perfect Paris Location

    • Guest Hariet N.
    • Date of stay 09/06/13
    • Review Submitted 09/09/13
    Isabel 's apartment was perfect for my girlfriends and myself during our recent stay in Paris. The apartment was clean, well decorated and fun. The glass floors and stairs might not work for everyone but were no problem for us( we are all in our mid fifties). The apartment is in a great location and Isabel is a great hostess. We would recommend the apartment to anyone looking for a nice quiet, safe and well located address.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • HPham

    HPham

    • Guest HQP (Pasadena, california)
    • Date of stay 09/02/13
    • Review Submitted 09/17/13
    Excellent property. Superb, quiet location with comfortable beds. Close to Notre Dame and Metro lines. Nice living room and kitchen. Nice owner. Will rent again.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • great apartment

    great apartment

    • Guest john j.
    • Date of stay 08/04/13
    • Review Submitted 09/04/13
    Our family stayed in this gorgeous apartment for a week and we highly recommend it. The location is the best-close to all the major attractions and right off the Rue de Rivoli for great shopping and the Chatelet metro stop is in the same block. The owner, Isabel, was very helpful and also gave us many recommendations for great restaurants that were all close by. We hope to stay here again the next time we visit Paris.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Pom Paisal

    Pom Paisal

    • Guest Pom Paisal (Chiangmai Thailand)
    • Date of stay 07/03/13
    • Review Submitted 08/20/13
    Excellent and charming small appartement in the heart of Paris. Just a little walking distance to Rue de St.Louis en L'ile , look like a small Parisiene Village that we can buy cheese, bread and a good French wine....also full of typical and sympathy French Bistro which the one that recommend by Isabel , Salon de The "Pain d'Epice" , here we can have a very good lunch or dinner , or just spend the afternoon time with a cup of tea or the very famous Bertillon Ice-cream. The appartement is very nice decorate with good taste , full of furnishing and kitchen equiped but no need for us to cook here because there are a lot of interesting restaurants around. Many thanks again to Isabel for your very kind information about Paris and waiting to come back here soon.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful Apartment

    Beautiful Apartment

    • Guest Robin H.
    • Date of stay 06/16/13
    • Review Submitted 06/22/13
    Isabel was wonderful in helping us get oriented to apartment, neighborhood (which is gorgeous), and Paris. Stayed with my husband, teen daughter, and my brother. Amazing location, close to everything. Try all the shops on the island - cheese, wine, fruit/veggie, restaurants, boutiques. Highly recommend Isabel and her very French home. Difficult if you have problems with stairs.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Location, Location, Location

    Location, Location, Location

    • Guest Paul T. (Vienna, VA)
    • Date of stay 06/08/13
    • Review Submitted 06/16/13
    The property met all our requirements. Was well maintained and comfortable but not for vacationers with mobility issues.Owner was very helpful and responded to any questions we had. The owner even guided us to the train station for the ride back to the airport.The location was perfect. Close to Notre Dame, The Batobus, and Paris Metro Station. Unfortunately we failed to really find out what the island had to offer until the last day. Great bakeries, butchers and cheese shops. Will use next time to see the other six sites we didn't get to.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Lovely Aparment

    Lovely Aparment

    • Guest Nolan R.
    • Date of stay 06/05/13
    • Review Submitted 06/20/13
    What a lovely and charming apartment! And a beautiful location. It was located just a couple of minutes from the nearest metro station and about a five minute walk to Notre Dame. When you walk out the front door, you get a beautiful view of the Seine River. Isobel was so wonderful and met us at the apartment to make sure we had everything we needed. When my dad needed a doctor, she showed him where to go. We look forward to returning to Paris and would definitely stay here again. Thank you Isobel!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Apartment, Great Location!!!

    Great Apartment, Great Location!!!

    • Guest Max (Toronto, Canada)
    • Date of stay 05/20/13
    • Review Submitted 06/04/13
    We had the opportunity to rent this apartment for 5 nights on Ill St Louis. A great location with a fabulous bakery, cheese shop and wine merchant literally around the corner. Ours kids 8 and 5, loved the uniqueness of the layout with spiral staircases, loft bedroom and neat skylights. The kitchen, bathroom and laundry facilities were all very good and the apartmetn is quite spacious given its location. There is a small private courtyard to enjoy a glass of wine and a larger public courtyard where I played with the kids a few times. Although we never met Isobel she was very helpful through email, tolerated my attempt to communicate in French and has very good command of English. The concierge of the apartment building was also very nice. Close to 4 different metro stops, this was a very central location and didn't seem quite as touristy as other parts of Paris. We would highly recommend renting this apartment.....

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • What gracious hospitality!

    What gracious hospitality!

    • Guest Keith (San Antonio, Texas)
    • Date of stay 04/30/13
    • Review Submitted 05/13/13
    Our host did everything possible to make our visit extaordinary. She stocked the refrgerator with essentials, had a bottle of wine there for us, had soup in the freezer for our first night. She even had beautiful, live flowers all over the apartment.Her instruction book was extrememlty well done. The area was magical. We even found Parisians coming to that area (Ilse St. Louis on the weekend. Some of the best small restaurants we have ever been to are just around the corner. Your are in easy walkind ccdistance to Notre Dame Cathedral. The apartment itself was fantastic. It it located in a 400 year old building . Isabel redecorated the space to mix old and new. When you walk out the main (secured) door you are literally looking at the Seine River. We strongly recommend this property and its host to all who want a memorable, gracious experience in Paris. Thank you Isabel for making our time there so special. This is a multilevel apartment with steps...Keith Mirrer

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Ladies from Texas loved Paris!

    Ladies from Texas loved Paris!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/26/13
    • Review Submitted 05/08/13
    Two of my gal pals and I celebrated my 50th birthday in PARIS...our rental was FABULOUS! The owner greeted us with keys and information, maps and restaurant ideas...she placed fresh roses in many of the rooms and our staying quarters were even better than the online reference...the location is perfect for everything and within walking distance of the Notre Dame Cathedral...crepes, pastries and ice cream are just a step away...we felt totally safe! Taxis were available as well as the river boat to jump onto for other parts of the city...we plan to return and will be hopeful that this same unit is available for us next year! It's also great for couples and/or kiddos as the bedrooms are separate...

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect location

    Perfect location

    • Guest Tamsin S.
    • Date of stay 04/13/13
    • Review Submitted 05/15/13
    Absolutely the best location in Paris. The island is a beautiful and quiet neighborhood with everything you need within a block. The apartment is lovely. Our family of 4 four were comfortable. The apartment was a snug fit for our 6'2" teenager, but he was a good sport about it. The glass floors took some getting used to, a blanket was used to add extra privacy (not really necessary, but the teenagers felt a little exposed). I wouldn't recommend this apartment for the elderly or overly tall as the tight staircases and low ceilings offer some challenges. I loved the apartment for its uniqueness. We had a wonderful vacation and would stay there again (as long as our son doesn't grow anymore)!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Fabulous Property and Location

    Fabulous Property and Location

    • Guest Jamie (Tacoma, WA)
    • Date of stay 03/29/13
    • Review Submitted 04/12/13
    This property is very comfortable and you really can't beat the location. Centrally located with easy walking access to everything. We brought our two kids and had a wonderful time here. It was a great retreat at the end of a day exploring the city. It is very well maintained and clean and the owner was very helpful in ensuring that we were comfortable and set up for a great visit. I would certainly recommend this for a great Paris vacation.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Exactly as advertised - A great place to Stay!

    Exactly as advertised - A great place to Stay!

    • Guest Richard (Coquitlam, BC)
    • Date of stay 03/15/13
    • Review Submitted 03/28/13
    We just got back from a 11 night stay at this apartment from March 15 to March 25. The apartment was a wonderful very quiet and peaceful place to stay in Paris with a fantastic central location just 200 meters from the transit station and very close to many restaurants, bakeries, and shops. We loved waking up in the morning and walking 100 meters to pick up fresh bread and croissants from the bakery, there are 2 other bakeries to choose from also within a short 5 minute walk. If you want to go for a larger grocery shopping trip for dinner or supplies there is a Fran Prix supermarket store that is a short 10 minute walk away. The Seine River is literally a one minute walk from the front door of the apartment but is across 2 locked courtyard doors so the apartment is centrally located but very secure. The apartment is on 3 levels so if you are a family you can spread the kids out and you each can have your own privacy and quiet time. There are also 2 TV’s in the apartment to wind down with after a long day of walking and sightseeing but we never bothered using them instead my wife and 2 daughters usually read books or made use of the very strong WIFI signal from the apartment. The bathroom in the basement has a very nice large shower with lots of hot water that allowed each of the 4 of us to take showers and still have hot water left (a different apartment we stayed at in Paris last year ran out of hot water after a 5 minute shower). Isabel was a wonderful host and met us in person to answer any questions that we had regarding the apartment or also any questions we had about museums, restaurants, shopping, transit or anything else. It was also very nice after a long day of travelling and airports to come to the apartment and have it already stocked with a bottle of wine and various hot and cold drinks and some biscuits. Thank you Isabel for being such a gracious and caring host to our family! Richard, Carol, Anna, and Sophie

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Charming Apartment!

    Charming Apartment!

    • Guest Kim L.
    • Date of stay 03/04/13
    • Review Submitted 04/18/13
    The apartment is just as pictured the décor is charming with really unique floor skylights. When we arrived we were greeted by Isabel who was very kind and helpful, she walked us through the apartment and made sure that we knew how everything worked. She had fresh flowers throughout the apartment as well as coffee, tea, milk, juice and wine to get us started in the kitchen! Excellent location! Convenient five minute walk to grocery store, bakery, shopping, restaurants and metro. We felt very safe and would definitely come back again! Thanks Isabel!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wonderful host - great apartment

    Wonderful host - great apartment

    • Guest Linda B.
    • Date of stay 02/21/13
    • Review Submitted 03/08/13
    My girlfriend and I had a wonderful 5 day stay at Isabel's delightful flat on Ile Saint Louis. The location is in a quiet neighborhood with many very good restaurants and cafes, and walking distance of many Paris sights; we felt very safe and comfortable walking the streets in the evening. The apartment is just as pictured – efficient and beautifully decorated. Isabel was a most gracious host, providing fresh flowers and many kitchen basics such as milk, juice, tea, and coffee. The apartment was very clean, and the beds were very comfortable. The skylights in the floors were ingenious and provided wonderful light into the apartment. Isabel's complete guide to the neighborhood and Paris was great – it was so helpful to have it prior to our arrival. We would caution those with mobility issues and maybe even very tall persons due to the narrow staircases and low ceilings in the living room and upstairs bedroom. We will definitely be back and recommend it to our friends and family. Thank you, Isabel, for a delightful stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A dream-like stay on Ile St Louis

    A dream-like stay on Ile St Louis

    • Guest Julie (Redwood City, California USA)
    • Date of stay 11/16/12
    • Review Submitted 12/02/12
    My family of four absolutely adored our brief stay at Isabel's wonderful flat on Ile Saint Louis. One could not wish for a better location for exploring Paris: a quiet neighborhood within a short walk of many Paris destinations. The apartment itself is exactly as pictured -- a compact, functional and cozy design which accommodates a family like ours perfectly. I loved the way it was decorated. We were greeted by fresh flowers, a bottle of wine, cookies, and a selection of basics in the kitchen (milk, butter, juice, tea, coffee). The linens were beautful and very comfortable.The skylights in the floors are ingenious. Isabel's written guide to the neighborhood & Paris is quite helpful. My only caution is that the staircases are a little bit tight and not for someone with disabilties. For us they added to the charm of the place! We will definitely be back, and for longer next time. Thank you, Isabel, for a delightful stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Ideal Location

    Ideal Location

    • Guest Allie (SC)
    • Date of stay 10/16/12
    • Review Submitted 10/31/12
    Thank you Isabel for sharing your wonderful apartment with us. We spent 5 enjoyable days in Paris & loved being so close to the attractions. The fresh flowers & bottle of wine provided by our hostess were a delight. Beds were comfortable & apartment was clean. Ceilings are low in some areas, but were not a problem for our short-statured group of 3. The area is so safe, & the Ile St. Louis a perfect location for seeing Paris. Isabel was very helpful with recommendations for restaurants, & her English language skills were much appreciated. Staircases need care to climb & may not be suitable for those with mobility issues. We would highly recommend Isabel's lovely apartment to others! The Norton Family

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fabulous apartment!

    Fabulous apartment!

    • Guest Sara (United States)
    • Date of stay 10/01/12
    • Review Submitted 10/14/12
    We adored staying at this wonderful apartment on Ile St. Louis! Our hostess Isabel was so very helpful which made our trip even more amazing! The apartment had everything including some wine and snacks to welcome us when we arrived. Isabel provided great restaurant and cafe recommendations as well! The apartment was beautiful too...and the location was to die for! I would highly recommend it! Thank you again Isabel for making our stay so comfortable and amazing!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Ile Saint Louis pied-a-terre

    Ile Saint Louis pied-a-terre

    • Guest Evi (Seattle)
    • Date of stay 10/01/12
    • Review Submitted 10/11/12
    Wonderful little apartment on three floors on the Quai de Bourbon, facing the Seine, on the lovely Ile St Louis. Well equipped, good linens, charming and very helpful owner. One block to the closest metro, and also walking distance to many Paris attractions. Only caveat is very narrow winding staircases to access both the mezzanine bedroom and the downstairs bedroom and bath, which would be problematic for large or very tall people. Otherwise a great find.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ile Saint Louis Retreat

    Ile Saint Louis Retreat

    • Guest Michael S.
    • Date of stay 09/20/12
    • Review Submitted 10/11/12
    Wonderful, central, easily accessible location. Our family of three stayed in Isabel's lovely retreat for 10 days in September. What an amazing place. Isabel is a very gracious host sharing lots of information and tips on where to eat, shop and go while visiting Paris. This is a clean, well-appointed apartment, true to the photos. It provides a quiet retreat from the bustle of of the city. You are close to everything - Notre Dame, Latin Quarter, Luxembourg Gardens, the Marais, metro and RER stations. For avid walkers the Louvre/Tuilieries/Arc de Triomphe, Muse d'Orsay and Eiffel Tower are accessible by foot. there are also excellent restaurants, butcher shops, patisseries, fruit and vegetable sellers and small markets all within a 5 minute walk. We would recommend this property for families with slightly older children. The layout and stairs may be a challenge for the very young and those with mobility issues. Also, if you are tall (over 6') the ceilings in the living room and upstairs bedroom are low. We would definitely recommend this location to our friends and family travelling to Paris.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Young Family in Paris

    Young Family in Paris

    • Guest LoriD (Canada)
    • Date of stay 08/06/12
    • Review Submitted 08/17/12
    Our family had a wonderful stay at Isabel's beautiful apartment! The location is unbeatable, the apartment is large (by Paris standards) and very tastefully decorated. Our children were thrilled with the transparent floors (a very clever way to get light into all rooms of an old character building). We couldn't have been happier with our stay. Isabel was a pleasure to work with. She was very accommodating when we chose to extend our stay and PayPal was being difficult. She was absolutely lovely. I would recommend this apartment for adults or families with children over 6. The staircases may not be appropriate for small children or people with mobility issues. Also, if you're over 6 feet tall, you may find the ceiling height a little low in some places. But then you'd be missing out on an absolutely amazing place! We will be recommending it to our friends travelling to Paris - the apartment made our stay much more enjoyable than any hotel could. The character of the apartment, the lovely neighbourhood and Isabel's wonderful suggestions were perfect.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • PERFECT location!

    PERFECT location!

    • Guest Sparkie (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/21/12
    • Review Submitted 10/09/12
    If you want to get the true flavor of living in Paris stay HERE! We had a wonderful time and the owner was so helpful. We had all the necessary amenities and MORE. You couldn't ask for a better location. We could easily walk or take public transportation to any number of sites. The listing information and photos are completely accurate. The property was spotless and had top quality linens. The kitchen was fully stocked and the air conditioning worked flawlessly. We have recommended this property to our friends and family. The nearby activities, attractions and restaurants are too numerous to mention. The owner has information on all of them at your disposal and gave wonderful recommendations.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Comfortable and Beautiful Apartment!

    Comfortable and Beautiful Apartment!

    • Guest Allie (Portland, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 07/04/12
    • Review Submitted 07/09/12
    We were a party of 3 adults and absolutely adored staying in this beautiful apartment! Isabel is excellent to work with and so attentive. She lives close by and we actually bumped into her out and about a few times. She had the apartment filled with fresh flowers and goodies, including snacks, wine and coffee waiting for us upon arrival. The apartment is very well appointed and stocked with everything you could need. The location was excellent. Very easy to walk to may of the big attractions and just a few blocks from the Metro. The island has got to be one of the most charming areas of all of Paris. We felt very safe. Many cafes, shops and bakeries are very close by. We loved taking a bottle of wine down the steps in front of the apartment where we could sit by the river and watch the boats go by. If ever I am in Paris, I would stay here in a heart beat! Thank you Isabel!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Dream stay!

    Dream stay!

    • Guest Sandy P.
    • Date of stay 07/02/12
    • Review Submitted 08/13/12
    My daughter and I stayed in Isabel's apartment and couldn't believe our good fortune to have such a beautiful place to return to each evening. Isabel was a very gracious hostess, very kind, informative, and understanding, and she made us feel quite welcome from the first day with fresh flowers, a bottle of wine, and even bathrobes! The apt. is clean, clean, clean and the decor is spectacular, exactly like the photos on this site. There is plenty of space on 3 floors to spread out and the kitchen with its "greenhouse-like" atmosphere was quite special. The entry has two locked areas, making us feel very safe at all times. Ile St. Louis is like a little city all its own....fantastic shops, restaurants, no crowds, excellent food, the best ice cream (Berthillon!), and walkable to many great sites and arrondisements. Isabel made our final days in Paris so very lovely; thank you for the memory of a wonderful stay. We will make certain to book with you again and tell all our Paris-bound friends!!! Sandy Peters

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to receive you. All my best . Isabel

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Mary (Boston) Excellent location

    Mary (Boston) Excellent location

    • Guest Mary (Boston)
    • Date of stay 06/18/12
    • Review Submitted 06/23/12
    Apartment was perfect us and two children. Very close to everything. Isabel is very responsive and helpful. Great layout of a small space. Bathroom is very luxurious and modern.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • In the heart of Paris

    In the heart of Paris

    • Guest Dave J.
    • Date of stay 05/29/12
    • Review Submitted 06/12/12
    The location for this apartment is ideal - it is within walking easy distance of many of Paris' sights. It is very comfortable, quiet, and secure. We loved staying on the island and walking along the Seine River at night. Isabel was very easy to work with on the reservation, check in and check out. The apartment fit our family of four (2 adults and 2 teenagers) perfectly. We loved visited Paris and staying at this apartment.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful Apartment in a great location

    Beautiful Apartment in a great location

    • Guest Frank F. (Springfield, IL)
    • Date of stay 05/01/12
    • Review Submitted 05/13/12
    My wife and I stayed the first week of May. We both loved this apartment. The apartment is in a great location. It is beautifully decorated with a great design. The kitchen and bathroom are modern and clean. The beds and the couch were very comfortable. It is a fun and romantic place to stay. The apartment is in one of the best neighborhoods in Paris. We felt safe anytime of the day or night. The apartment is also very secure. The owner was excellent. She provided more in the way of amenities that we had ever expected. She also provide a great written guide to the apartment and her own travel guide to Paris. We tied several of her restaurant recommendations and they were very good. She was easily reached when need but also respected our privacy. We loved Paris. This apartment helped make our stay a great experience. We have rented apartments all over Europe and North America and this apartment has been one of the best. This place is a great place to stay!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Fantastique apartment

    Fantastique apartment

    • Guest David (Sydney, NSW, Australia)
    • Date of stay 04/10/12
    • Review Submitted 05/29/12
    Our family of ( 2 adults, one 18 year old and one 11 years) stayed in April for 17 nights. We had a wonderful time and the apartment was a fantastic base to explore this beautiful city. The apartment was well fitted out, is spacious and more than met our expectations.For Australians the concept of staying in a 400 year old building is unheard of and we "felt" the history! It was amazing to have such a quiet and private location in a central paris setting. The Ile St Louis is the best place to stay in Paris - we had quick access to everything. Greta restaurants nearby, and the patisserie is the best! Isabel was very helpful and caring - my daughter celebrated her 18th birthday while we were here and Isabel was on hand with the champagne. We would love to return one day (in fact we will!!) and will recommend Isabel's apartment to our travelling friends. The Riches Family

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Amazing Location/Lovely Apartment

    Amazing Location/Lovely Apartment

    • Guest csh (New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 03/31/12
    • Review Submitted 04/24/12
    We had a wonderful vacation at this flat. My family of 4 - 2 adults/2 children (ages 10/13) stayed for 10 days in early April. The apartment is centrally located to everything in Paris. Ile St Louis is lovely, and we loved getting up every day and bringing warm croissants and fresh fruit back to the apt. It is an easy walk to the Marais area, to Notre Dame, to the Latin Quarter (all within a 5 min. walk!) and the train and metro stations are also extremely close to the flat. Isabel was wonderful and the apartment is beautiful and very modern - the heated toilet was a treat for our kids! :) I would happily return for another extended visit.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you very much . It was a pleasure to receive you. All the very best Isabel

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Very nice place

    Very nice place

    • Guest H. (City)
    • Date of stay 02/01/12
    • Review Submitted 02/11/12
    This place is charming, typicaly parisian and the proprietary is very friendly and welcoming. This location is perfect to discover Paris two steps from Notre Dame church and from tube station to go everywhere in this city. The most famous places can be accessed by foot too. This place also very quite and romantic for those who want to have a relaxing trip. I recommand you this place for a very nice trip in Paris.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Happy to have visited Paris!

    Happy to have visited Paris!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/12/12
    • Review Submitted 01/23/12
    We enjoyed a great long weekend in Paris at the apartment. It was a perfect location, close to many metro stops, and right in the middle of everything, where we could even easily come home in the middle of the afternoon and rest up again before heading out again. Great little stores around the corner for wandering and browsing. The apartment was very comfortable--quiet, comfortable beds, pretty soothing colors on the walls, nice artwork, and the owners have thought of all conveniences, w/ a fully appointed kitchen, laundry, etc. I would happily and eagerly stay here again. And, the most delicious almond croissant right around the corner! Yum.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Quite the Paris experience?

    Quite the Paris experience?

    • Guest krista h.
    • Date of stay 12/09/11
    • Review Submitted 12/25/11
    On such short notice, Isabel was able to accommodate the two of us traveling for a quick girls getaway. Literally, the night before we were to arrive, our other rental fell through. Isabel responded quickly to our inquiry and made special arrangements to meet us. The apartment was delightful - full of Parisian personality. Impeccably clean, up to date, this apartment was perfect for the two of us. Location couldn't be beat. Again, Isabel was always in touch offering advice and informations where to go and how to get there. We would be delighted to stay in this charming apartment on our next visit. Thank you Isabel!!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: thank you very much it was a pleasure to receive you in my place.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Rupert(Copenhqgen-Denmark) consultant

    Rupert(Copenhqgen-Denmark) consultant

    • Guest Rupert (Copenhagen)
    • Date of stay 11/24/11
    • Review Submitted 11/27/11
    Very charming place in the middle of the heart of Paris. I just stayed here some days ago and I really liked to stay here. Beautiful quiet place In a wonderful backyard. You feel very comfortable and everything is so close nearby.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect for the 3 of us! Loved it!

    Perfect for the 3 of us! Loved it!

    • Guest TaraAZ (Scottsdale, Arizona USA)
    • Date of stay 11/18/11
    • Review Submitted 12/08/11
    Loved this place! *THE Best* location: on the Ile St Louis – quiet/cozy neighborhood feeling, yet steps from restaurants, major sights, and a short walk across either of the bridges gives superb access to Metro lines. The apartment is on the ground floor, tucked back behind a quiet, secure courtyard and was so nice to ‘come home’ to after a day of sightseeing around Paris and kick back with a bottle of wine, cheese and goodies that we had picked up from the markets just around the corner. Pop in a Vivaldi CD and enjoy the evening, or head out to one of the great little restaurants just around the corner. Two minutes walk to the south bridge, at night is an amazing view of the back of Notre Dame all lit up and one can see the top of the Tour Eiffel as well. For those interested, the restaurant La Tour d’Argent is just on the other side of the bridge as well. Isabel was so welcoming – fresh flowers, coffee and a bottle of wine upon arrival, she also had some starter items in the fridge that made it so convenient. I’ve stayed at places before where there’s nothing – not even salt – so it was much appreciated to have the basics – coffee/tea, sugar, salt/pepp, juice, butter, milk, olive oil, laundry soap, paper towels, etc. Cozy bathrobes, nice towels and a good hairdryer are also provided. She also lives right nearby in the neighborhood, and can suggest great places to eat, shop and visit! There were 3 of us staying together for a week in November – all women in our 40s and it worked out so well for us – we were originally a little worried about only having one bathroom, but it’s nice and spacious and we were able to handle it just fine, even with all 3 of us in there at once. One double bed upstairs and two twins downstairs – creative use of in-floor heavy duty glass keeps the apartment light and comfy, even in the downstairs spaces. Loved the old stone walls! While the apartment is on the ground floor, there is a short set of stairs up to one bedroom, and a spiral staircase down to the second bedroom and bathroom. We had no issues with them, but if you can't do stairs at all, that could be tricky. Wifi access was a piece of cake. I will definitely stay here again should I be so lucky to travel to Paris on another vacation!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • excellent experience

    excellent experience

    • Guest Al (Monaco)
    • Date of stay 10/17/11
    • Review Submitted 10/27/11
    My wife and me are staying 5 days and the weather was wonderful. With the smal terasse it was genial and very quiet . We felt better than in hotel. And the owner was wonderful. Flowers... wine cofee...The appartment was perfect and we really enjoyed your stay.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]