Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Sunset House dock & swim platform

Beach Front Sunset House with Dock & Swimming Platform [#320463] | View Property

West End
House, 4 Bedrooms + Detached Unit, 3.5 Baths (Sleeps 8-14)
$321 - $500/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (48)

Sort by:
  • 8 plus Sunset House = Great Times

    8 plus Sunset House = Great Times

    • Guest Chris and Erica Walker, MN (Walker, MN)
    • Date of stay 03/08/14
    • Review Submitted 03/18/14
    Our party of 8 adults stayed at Sunset House from March 8 -March 15, 2014. Some of us have stayed at multiple rental homes in the past and I must say that Sunset House exceeded our expectations. We have stayed on Roatan previously and this experience was far better than the others. The house, beach, dock and bar are exactly as they appear in the pictures. We figured out how to use the blender at the bar pretty quickly and it got a workout the rest of the week. The kitchen is very well equipped and the grill is top shelf. The swimming area and the dock are great for any swimming ability. The dogs running around were a little annoying at times but after they figured out that we were not giving them scraps, they left us alone. They did tend to bark a bit at night though. We used Scuda Roatan, in half moon bay, for most of our scuba diving excursions. Very friendly people who were very patient with our less experienced divers. We ate at some good restaurants. Our favorite was El Pisco in West End. Although our best meal was Chef Blackie's coconut shrimp and red snapper with key lime and coconut cream pies for desert. Also, Blackie's husband Marty Wood is a fantastic tour guide. We would higly recommend both of them. Finally, I would be remiss if I did not post our appreciation of Ruth. she responded to all of our questions before, during and after our stay. One of our bags did not arrive with our flight. Ruth jumped right on that and the bag was delivered to the house before we got back from dinner the first night.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • HOW DID WE PICK THE BEST HOUSE ON ROATAN ISLAND

    HOW DID WE PICK THE BEST HOUSE ON ROATAN ISLAND

    • Guest Leslie Dean (New York City)
    • Date of stay 02/27/14
    • Review Submitted 03/18/14
    Our family chose the “Sunset House” on VRBO to rent for 10 days. What luck for us, with such a big selection of rentals, we picked the best house on the island. It’s in the center of everything, yet all the privacy you want…and after the first evening you’ll know how it got it’s name. This home is stocked with every necessity. Plenty of towels, comfortable beds, beach towels and a kitchen like home. It was immaculate with plenty of room for our family of seven people to enjoy meals and morning coffee on the deck. Mark and Gail, have added so many personal touches to their wonderful home you instantly feel comfortable. They’ve thought of everything for guest’s to enjoy their vacation. Kayaks, snorkeling gear, numerous hammocks for your afternoon nap and a big bag of kids sand toys, that our grandson ran for the first thing every morning. Upon our arrival, Ruth and Brad, property managers, welcomed us to the Sunset house. Through a very quick but thorough introduction to the house they left us with a programmed cell phone to call anytime with questions, requests or emergencies. Johnny, the caretaker, lives behind the house with his sweet family. He’s up early, raking the beach and is always available to assist with any request always with a big smile! Chris and Carlos, neighbors, arranged several wonderful all day excursions, taking the family to fabulous snorkeling spots. They also can to take you for some great fishing…and they definitely know where to go to catch fish! Nothing like fresh barbecued tuna in the covered beach/ bar with a first class grill…what a deal! When you get tired of eating fresh fish that you catch…you can hire Blackie and Marty. They shop and arrive in the early evening to prepare your dinner…coconut shrimp is by far the winner. They clean up and leave you and your family to enjoy this wonderful “Island Meal” No need to hire anyone but Marty for reliable transportation. (Blackie’s husband) He'll pick you up at the airport and include a stop at Eden’s market to pick up provisions to stock your vacation home. Also Marty’s transportation service was great for us in a last minute pinch, when the concierge from “At Your Service” was a “No Show” for our pre-paid expedited airport transfer on Saturday. Marty, quickly sent a driver to fetch us and our bags at a last minute request. Thank you Mark and Gail…“You have a “super number one staff” in place to make the “Sunset House” a 5 + VRBO rental.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • We'll be back!!!

    We'll be back!!!

    • Guest Snowbound W. (Where do you live?)
    • Date of stay 02/15/14
    • Review Submitted 03/05/14
    What a fantastic vacation, we had such a great time. The Sunset House is in the perfect spot on the island. A beautiful secluded location but not too far from town or the Airport. The house is half way between West End and West Bay. You can walk the beach to either one or take a water taxi, which you flag down from the dock for a couple of dollars a person. West Bay is a nice stretch of beach with a lot of resorts and restaurants, and some great snorkeling. West End is a village with a lot of shops and restaurants. The house itself is very nice, has everything you need and is well maintained. Johnny keeps the property very clean and rakes the beach every day. The swimming is great, there's open kayaks and you can swim straight out to the reef to go snorkeling. I would have liked to have seen more of the island, but with the beach bar, the hammocks and the snorkeling it was hard to go anywhere else. One thing we did was swimming with the dolphins at Anthony's Key, and we'd highly recommend that. We're already planning our next trip.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Clearly one of the best vacations ever!

    Clearly one of the best vacations ever!

    • Guest Big (St-Albert, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/10/14
    • Review Submitted 02/26/14
    We were very lucky to have Gail and Mark present that week, they were outstanding hosts and provided us with a worry free vacation! A very sincere thank you to both of you!!! The location is extremely nice and the Sunset House is one of the most beautiful set-ups on the island, by far. The location is great and allows for a nice walk to the West End or West Bay. The beach speaks for itself ;-) There is great snorkelling right in front of the house…but don't tip over the kayak on your way out to the reef…because its a by deep to retrieve your mask at the bottom…speaking from experience. Sunset house has all the modern amenities one can wish for and more. If you decide to eat in the kitchen is great and has all you need. If you decide to eat out, West Bay is full of restaurants a short walk away. We were lucky to have access to the rental pick-up that Gail and Mark had and really enjoyed taking a drive around the island and a few cool rides in the back! To anybody on the fence about taking a vacation at Sunset House…DON'T BE, the location is great, the facilities are exactly as advertised and constantly being improved and maintained. The bar and blender right by the water make it a real paradise!!! I certainly plan on visiting again!!! Thank you to our hosts for the awesome week in your company! Sincerely, Steeven

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Sunset House.... a true PARADISE

    Sunset House.... a true PARADISE

    • Guest L&kids
    • Date of stay 02/10/14
    • Review Submitted 02/20/14
    This was our first visit to Roatan and will be one remembered for all time. Sunset House is located in a pristine setting looking out onto the water with one of the best views of the sunset - it was the highlight of every day as we all made sure to be back at the dock as the sun went down. The Island, the people and the accommodations were simply incredible. The pictures of this vacation rental are true to life, the house is fully equipped and exceptionally maintained. We were able to purchase groceries on arrival and make some meals at the house. Blackie also came in to cook one evening - it was wonderful!! She even cooked up my son's catch of the day :) The beach bar is incredible and we can't say enough about the awesome blender for all those island drinks!!! We loved the snorkelling right from the dock and made our way out to the barrier reef with the kayak also. A short walk to West Bay, we found great restaurants and more amazing snorkelling. West End was an easy walk, or for those not up to it, water taxis were readily available. Some of our favourite things: watching the sunset, snorkelling, outdoor shower, awesome BBQ grill at the bar, amazing bar blender, hammocks, beach, view......we also highly recommend the dolphin activities at Anthony's Key - so much fun! Thanks to the owners Mark and Gail for all that you've done to make Sunset House such an incredibly beautiful island home. We would definitely like to return and highly recommend it to others!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Hot damn what a cool place to stay.

    Hot damn what a cool place to stay.

    • Guest Pierce (;))
    • Date of stay 02/09/14
    • Review Submitted 02/26/14
    What a blessing to get to spend two weeks here with Mark, Gail and their friends & family. Learned how to use the mach 3 blender straight away. Good diving & excellent snorkeling to be had - right off the dock (public by day-private by night). Two weeks was not enough ;) I'll be back. Mark & Gail have done a wonderful job of furbishing this well build retreat - granite counter tops, ample hot water (solar system), terrific out door shower for you & your swim gear, walkways & covered decks. One needs look no further for a quality vacation destination & private retreat.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Island Vacation

    Island Vacation

    • Guest Chuck (Sault Ste. Marie MI)
    • Date of stay 02/08/14
    • Review Submitted 04/03/14
    It is truly amazing, I lost so much weight within tje first few days, its unbelievable. The cottage was amazing as well. There are tons of things to do, like snorkeling, diving, fishing, and hiking. I would recommend this vacation spot for anyone looking for a relaxing and enjoyable time.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • I'm Gonna Steal the Blender Next Time I Go

    I'm Gonna Steal the Blender Next Time I Go

    • Guest Mychal (Marysville, CA)
    • Date of stay 02/08/14
    • Review Submitted 03/27/14
    I stayed in a variety of accommodations during my six week stay on Roatan and the Sunset House was easily my favorite. The main house is awesome and has cooking facilities to feed everyone even if you pack the place, if you're into that cooking thing. It's also far enough away from the main tourist and population centers for privacy, while close enough that they are a quick water taxi ride or short hike away. The cleaning people keep the place nice and clean and the bug repellent system is all natural and really effective. The location also makes it a great place to take the kayak out to the reef and snorkel. The place is awesome, I had a blast, and if you go, I'm sure you will to. You should probably hurry though, because next trip THE BLENDER LEAVES WITH ME!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect visit

    Perfect visit

    • Guest Bob (Sonoma, Ca)
    • Date of stay 01/25/14
    • Review Submitted 02/11/14
    This was my third trip to Roatan and my first to Sunset House. There were 7 of us. The description of the property was spot on and the pictures really helped us to decide about renting. Very clean with everything there but the food of course. One stop at Eldon's grocery and that solved that problem. By the way, Eldon's is right by the airport and has everything you need. During the stay there are produce trucks in West End as well as a shop to purchase fish. We cooked in a lot using a top of the line range. If we went out there were many choices all reasonably priced. Roasted chicken place (1/2 chicken and 2 sides $8) was great, Thai, Puruvian, Agrentenian, and a Thursday night lobster tail (2) dinner for $12. The beach was raked everyday, Juan sprayed regularly for insects (Part of the tropics), got fresh water when needed and in 10 minutes and the maids cleaned each week. Water taxies provided easy access to both West End and West Bay although you can walk to both so you really do not need a car unless you want to explore. You will spend a lot of time either on the large porch/deck/, cabana with top grade grill and bar or the beach and dock. The house is equipped with all the water toys you need. A beautiful house in a perfect location. We look forward to our return visit next year.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Sunsets just this side of Heaven

    Sunsets just this side of Heaven

    • Guest 'fer (Alaska)
    • Date of stay 01/11/14
    • Review Submitted 03/11/14
    This was our second vacation at Sunset House. I am so happy that we came back to Roatan for the rest, relaxation and fun times. I loved all the improved amenities plus all the new perks like the bar on the beach, the outdoor shower, the hammock chairs just to name a few. The bar was made for friends to show off their BBQ skills and wash everything down with your favorite margarita. It might have been a vacation but I had so much exercise I didn’t have a chance to gain those “5 pounds”. Up at the crack of dawn, swimming at the dock; taking walks; fishing charters; swimming with the dolphins; enjoying the warm weather and water. We had Blackie come out to cook dinner for my birthday; it is always great to have her over. There are plenty of activities to do, places to visit, foods to eat. Do you want to stay in and have a simple night at home playing cards; board games; watching movies or go out on the town and dance the night away? The people of the island are so friendly I feel like they are happy to see us come back again and again. Juan was very helpful if we needed anything handled or local information regarding island life. The house was so posh and welcoming yet very comfy and home like.....only better. I can’t wait to come back. I tell all the people I work with this is a vacation dreams are made of.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Had to come back!

    Had to come back!

    • Guest REFAK (Chugiak, AK USA)
    • Date of stay 01/11/14
    • Review Submitted 03/05/14
    In 2011 we made our first trip to Roatan and enjoyed our stay here at the Sunset House. When we arrived on this trip, the on site caretaker Yoni, greeted us with a big smile and unlocked the house. He had opened the windows earlier in the day and the house had a nice breeze coming through. In fact, the breeze was fairly steady and with the fan on, we never had to run the air conditioning. We thought the place was great the first time we stayed here, but the owner has made improvements. I might not be a "Greenie" but do appreciate technology and the solar hot water system was assume. The granite counter tops are beautiful along with the tiles in the bathroom. The board walk below the upper deck to the BBQ/bar was a nice improvement. The BBQ/bar was GREAT! We really enjoyed spending time down there drinking Monkey LaLa's and eating fresh fish cooked on the BBQ. The hammock seats are really comfortable. We were in the water every day except one. The water was sooo relaxing. Coming down from Alaska to 82 degree weather was what the doctor ordered. We are again planning our NEXT trip down. We can not stay away. Thank you for providing such a wonderful place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Relax at Sunset House on Roatan

    Relax at Sunset House on Roatan

    • Guest Pam B.
    • Date of stay 12/28/13
    • Review Submitted 03/29/14
    We had a wonderfully relaxing time at Sunset House with our adult children, six of us altogether. The property and beach were just as pictured on the website. Sunset House is clean and well equipped for outdoor fun: snorkels, kayaks, floatation devices and yoga mats. We appreciated the well-equipped kitchen and outdoor bar/barbeque area. Situated approximately halfway between West Bay and West End, we could walk in either direction for about half an hour and be in town to enjoy restaurants and shopping. Highly recommend Oasis Restaurant in West End. If you don't feel like walking, stand at the end of the dock and flag a water taxi. Ruth was incredibly helpful in answering questions and arranging transportation. I have already recommended Sunset House to family and friends.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Exactly as pictured . . . and more

    Exactly as pictured . . . and more

    • Guest Tammir (Raleigh)
    • Date of stay 12/21/13
    • Review Submitted 12/30/13
    Just returned from a week at this awesome beach house. Great secluded location very private. Exactly as pictured. The place is well stocked with all the dishes, cooking utensils, amenities you could want . . . and then some. Very well maintained and very well kept and looked after. Yonnie the onsite caretaker is awesome. The management was very helpful. The owners have done a good job. We definitely are talking about another trip during the Whale shark season. You won't be disappointed in this house.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Another Week in Paradise!

    Another Week in Paradise!

    • Guest sue821 (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 11/02/13
    • Review Submitted 11/17/13
    I stayed at Sunset House for a girls week back in February 2012 and loved it so much I returned again. I wanted to share paradise with my husband and we had an amazing week. He loved it as much as I did. We snorkelled, ate good food and shared time with great friends. We took a drive to the other side of the Island and had lunch at Camp Bay in a little restaurant litterally right on the water. The owners of this beautiful house have thought of absolutely everything. The kitchen is very well equipped with beautiful granite counters and gas stove. We bought groceries on our way in and prepared a lot of our food at the house (we are vegan so our choices in restaurants were a bit more limiited. One resaurant that we loved was the "Thai Place" We loved the dock and beautiful sunsets. We loved the outdoor bar!!!! I read 3 books! We returned to Canada with our batteries totally recharged.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Roatan Paradise

    Roatan Paradise

    • Guest 95husker (Nebraska )
    • Date of stay 07/01/13
    • Review Submitted 08/24/13
    My husband and I, my sister and her husband, and my parents all stayed here for 10 nights. We all had an amazing vacation. The house had everything we needed and many things we didn't expect to have provided. Stella made sure we got checked in and out easily and checked in on us often. Johnny who lives right behind the property took care of anything we needed anytime. He even picked mangos for us. If you want to learn to scuba dive check with Denise at Anemona Dive Shop at West End, she was a great instructor. We would definitely stay here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Dream Family Beach Vacation

    Dream Family Beach Vacation

    • Guest diverdownAg (Houston, TX)
    • Date of stay 06/16/13
    • Review Submitted 06/29/13
    We (a family of 6) just returned from a week’s stay at the Sunset House and could not have had a better time. It was our first trip to Roatan, but I imagine that after the week we had, we will be coming back often in the future. This house is AMAZING! The pictures do not do the house and grounds justice. It is set in a perfect location, right on the water, almost directly between West Bay Beach and West End (both locations were a 5 minute water taxi ride away and beautiful West Bay Beach was an easy 10 minute walk away). The house is fully equipped with every modern amenity imaginable and very comfortable on the inside. You can tell that a lot of time and thought went into the design, construction, and maintenance of this place. We split most of our time between the hammocks on the front porch (a great place to have coffee in the morning), the fantastic tiki bar (with a state of the art grill) and the dock. Although the dock is not private, it was rare to find other people using it and even then our neighbors were extremely friendly. We ended every day on the dock with drinks watching the sun set. The crystal clear water made for great snorkeling right off the dock and the barrier reef was a 10-15 minute kayak ride from the house. Stella and the team were great to work with before, during, and after the trip and did a great job keeping the grounds clean and ensuring that we had a smooth trip. The anti-mosquito system seemed to work great as we rarely had bites or were bothered by bugs. Thank you, Mark and Gail, for sharing your house with us! I am sure we will become repeat customers. This house is the rare property that is suitable for both a family vacation or a romantic getaway. I would highly recommend it to all! Also, while staying in Sunset House during your trip to Roatan, be sure to contact At Your Service concierge (find her on Facebook). We met Sue-Ann Solomon (the owner) on the dock one night shortly before we left. She arranged an awesome birthday dinner for us at Roatan Oasis and handled our pre-check in at the airport the day we departed. Saturdays are extremely busy at the airport and travelers can normally expect to spend 2-3 hours waiting in line for check in. Thanks to Sue-Ann we spent those 2 hours on West Bay Beach and only had to show up 45 minutes before our flight. We greatly regret not contacting her earlier!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Wonderful family vacation!!!

    Wonderful family vacation!!!

    • Guest kms92651 (Laguna Beach, CA)
    • Date of stay 03/30/13
    • Review Submitted 04/19/13
    We loved the Sunset house and highly recommend it anyone traveling to Roatan!! It is in a PERFECT location between West End and West Bay, both about 10-15 min walk away (beach walk). The beach right at the house is beautiful and the kids loved jumping from the dock all day long! There are comfortable lounge beach chairs and hammocks and we truly relaxed on this vacation! The house and the beach right there was just too beautiful to leave too much. There are sea kayaks which we used a lot to go to the reef for snorkeling, water loungers, toys and some snorkeling equipment. We brought our own snorkeling gear which I would recommend. The house is nicely decorated and very comfortable for two families (we had four adults and six kids, ages 7-12) and never felt it was too crowded. We loved the outdoor palapa bar which was great for BBQ'ing and enjoying drinks and the outdoor shower was wonderful! Once you get to the house and if you don't have a car (we didn't), you either walk to town or take a water taxi. Both West End and West Bay are small town with lots of restaurants but no major groceries. So I would highly recommend you stock up on your way from the airport. We had breakfast and lunch at the house pretty much each day and dinners out (lots of restaurants to choose from!). We felt completely safe walking to town at night (little rocky going to West End) and only took a water taxi once or twice. Some of the activities we were snorkeling trip, fishing, scuba diving and zip lining. Plus we snorkeled a lot in the reef in front of the house and in West Bay (beautiful!). This was one of the most relaxing vacations we have ever done. Roatan is such an amazing authentic paradise and we are so happy we visited before it gets too commercialized. And the Sunset house is the perfect place to stay! Highly recommend!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car.

    Manager response: We have been trying to make this a vacation destination for the entire family to enjoy, especially families with children and couples. Adding water and beach toys everyone can have fun with. I am brining down with me on my next visit, a new proffesional badmintion set and a new beach game. Thank you for staying at the Sunsert House.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Sunset House, Roatan Honduras

    Sunset House, Roatan Honduras

    • Guest John (Ohio USA)
    • Date of stay 03/04/13
    • Review Submitted 03/25/13
    I had the pleasure of staying at the Sunset House March 4 through March 11, 2013. The weather was superb, it was warm but not beastly hot and uncomfortably humid. It was relatively easily accessible from Northwest Ohio, USA. The facilities were excellent and well maintained. The amenities, an outdoor bar, special drinking water facility, and echo friendly insect control system, a dock with shaded gazebo, small boats available, water taxi available to various parts of the island. The resident maintenance man maintains the facility in first-rate condition. The separate bar is gazebo is well thought out well decorated and could easily be mistaken for a commercial facility however it is for the private use of the guests at sunset house. The facilities are such that they could accommodate a large party or a couple of small ones. This is the quintessential Caribbean getaway site. It is a great place to take superb sunset pictures. The beaches are pristine white and maintained in a clean and bug free condition. It has all the ambiance anyone could ask for in a tropical paradise. I particularly enjoyed it because it is a primere dive and snorkeling spot. There is a reef about 400 yards out from the dock for snorkeling there is a plethora of dive shops in dive operators to provide an enjoyable scuba dive vacation. For those who do not wish to swim 400 yards out to snorkel the West Beach is a short water taxi away and can be snorkeled without swimming out great distance. The island itself is dotted with reef in dive locations all the way around it. For those who wish to cook their own meals there is a full kitchen in the main house and in the top floor of the secondary building. There is also a superb grill incorporated into the bar area For those who wish to go into town the West End provides several restaurants with varying bill of fare. For those who wish to rent a car there are other good restaurants in various locations on the island. Take care however do not park your vehicle on the street as they have a tendency to"boot"the vehicle and charge you the equivalent of about a $25 fine. This is a superb spot for a family getaway honeymoon or just a great vacation. I had a great time.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • This place is soooo RAD!

    This place is soooo RAD!

    • Guest Matt (Detroit, MI)
    • Date of stay 03/02/13
    • Review Submitted 05/02/13
    Stop looking for places and book this before you regret it. This was my second stay at The Sunset House, otherwise known as PARADISE. I stayed for one week in March of 2013 and regretted not staying for a second week. BOOK TWO WEEKS if not more!!! Trust Me. Many improvements were made since my first stay... First off... the outdoor bar/kitchen is awesome. Full size fridge with freezer and ice maker, sink with running water, additional line with drinking water, awesome grill, margarita machine, ceiling fan and the best view you can imagine 20 feet from the water. The owner has also installed a wooden path so you dont have to walk through the hot sand if you choose. Next... the upstairs bathroom. Completely re-done and looks amazing. Very spacious shower and ample hot water. I preferred the outdoor shower but those who enjoy their privacy in a very luxurious bathroom will enjoy it. Next... the kitchen. All new counter tops were installed including a new sink with new fixtures. The island counter is also bigger and angled which makes it great for entertaining. Both indoor and outdoor kitchens have everything you need. We caught Tuna one day and had it on the grill a few hours later. Next... the outdoor deck. The owner added giant drapes to shade from the mid day sun. Pull them closed, hop in a hammock and take a siesta in the cool shade. A very nice touch which also cools off the living room and kitchen. I almost regret writing this review as I have a feeling it will be very VERY hard to book this magical place in the future.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • My Best Vacation Ever!

    My Best Vacation Ever!

    • Guest Jerry (Bainbridge Island, Washington)
    • Date of stay 02/20/13
    • Review Submitted 03/25/13
    It's paradise with a comfortable hammock and a world-class blender! Need activity? Just go snorkel right off the dock or maybe wander up or down the beach to West End or West Bay for a snack or a drink. It's a wonderful place to stay in a great location. Having fun doesn't get any easier than this.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Owners thought of everything right down to the icemaker

    Owners thought of everything right down to the icemaker

    • Guest Carolyn&Currie (Oakwood, Ontario Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/11/13
    • Review Submitted 02/21/13
    Property is exactly as you see perhaps even better than the pictures. Only had to ask Gail, Tanisha, Johnie, Marty or neighbour captain Kevin about things on property or in area and they all delivered. Quiet relaxing place within walking distance(10mins) to West Bay or (4min) $3 water taxi to West End w pickup off the end of our dock. Eat in w Groceries from Eldon's a large supermarket in Coxen Hole. Dinners out in West End(Blue Marlin, Rudy's) or West Bay(Pizza Rama(delivered), Fosters, or Bite on the Beach and the best was eating at house with chef Blackie & her huddy Marty assisting. Lots of fish/marine life right out from house in reef. A baby Barracuda visited us right at the dock. Swimming excellent. We did Gumbalina Zipline which we walked to down the beach from the house. You leave tanned,recharged and richer in so many ways from the experience of Sunset House. Thank you Mark and Gail for sharing your paradise.....it made marking our 25th Anniversary very special.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/9

  • Our First Family Beach Vacation!

    Our First Family Beach Vacation!

    • Guest Muskokan (Huntsville, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/02/13
    • Review Submitted 02/18/13
    We have two boys ages 7 and 8 and we were looking for a family vacation with activities that were suitable for the boys. We definitely found it in this vacation. The accommodations were excellent and I was thrilled at how comfortable the beds were. I loved the fact that we were able to shop for our own groceries and cook our own meals cutting down the 'eating out' cost. As a family we were much healthier with none of us getting sick. The owner had supplied 3 large water bottles with purified water piped to the sink which was very handy. My husband and I loved the 'Margaritaville' machine that was kept at the outside bar and by day 3 we had perfected our margaritas...pineapple is essential! The outside built in barbecue was top notch. I found myself reflecting that I was not missing anything that I used at home to cook for my family. One night we had 'Blackie' cook a traditional Honduran meal for us that was excellent. Coconut shrimp yum! The open sea kayaks were very useful to us as we would paddle our boys out to the reef and anchor them with a rock. We could then snorkel for hours. The boys found the inflatable snorkelling pfd excellent as it conserved their energy and they lasted much longer looking at the reef and colourful fish. The outside shower rocked and was a hit for the entire family. I liked the television with Blue ray DVD player. The kids could watch a movie after dinner or during the very hot time of day. We had excursions to the Iguana Farm which was great and our kids loved it. They even had fish that were in a protected enclosure and were fun to watch. Our driver 'Marty" was knowledgable and gave us an interesting history of the island. We took the boat taxis daily to West Beach were we snorkelled and fed the fish (bring bread..kids loved it). The property was well maintained by Johnny who raked the sand every morning and swept off the decks. The only thing that caused us problems were the sand mites who really liked me! I brought bug spray and had to apply daily. WE LOVED THE AIR CONDITIONING! Enough said :) We went out on daily fishing excursions and I would highly recommend Martin from Mango Bay. We caught Tuna and Barracuda which we cooked on the grill with seafood seasoning (purchased at local grocery) Excellent! There is a trick with the Barracuda ask the locals as some are poisonous fyi. By day 3 we were all saying that we would do this vacation again in a heartbeat! We were all very, very relaxed. Enjoy

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Good Times....

    Good Times....

    • Guest LNB (San Francisco, CA USA)
    • Date of stay 09/03/12
    • Review Submitted 09/13/12
    We have only nice things to say about the Sunset House. The listing gives an honest, accurate depiction of the place. Everything is very clean & in great repair, especially the deluxe grill in the awesome outdoor kitchen. Any GrillMaster would be grateful for such an amenity! There was great communication from the property managers, who are super sweet. They were easily reached when we needed more water. The kitchen was well-equipped & the linens starchy fresh. There is plenty of room for lots of people to lounge comfortably all around the property. We were here during the low season, so the vibe was pretty chill. I would imagine that there can be a livelier scene around during peak times. If you want to be close to West End & activity without actually being IN town, this is the perfect spot. Those seeking more peace & seclusion might choose a different part of the island. The snorkeling is very nice at West Bay & other spots along the reef, but not necessarily right in front of the house. The gorgeous Sunset Views can't be beat, though! I would have no trouble recommending this place for those seeking a place on the West end of the Island.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Sunset House in June

    Sunset House in June

    • Guest Michelle C. (Houston, Texas)
    • Date of stay 06/16/12
    • Review Submitted 06/27/12
    My husband and I stayed at Sunset House from 6/16/12-6/23/12. This was by far the best vacation we've ever had. After two days, we decided to rent a car so we could tour the entire island. If you're more inclined to stay close to home, a car isn't really necessary as restaurants and shopping are within walking distance. Johnny (caretaker) and Carlos (next door neighbor) were really helpful and made us feel very welcome. As others have said, the home is very comfortable, clean and is stocked with everything you need. Stella and Tanisha at Roatan Property Management made everything so easy for us that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this vacation rental.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • AWESOME VACATION

    AWESOME VACATION

    • Guest Frannie (Rock Cave,WV,USA)
    • Date of stay 04/01/12
    • Review Submitted 04/08/12
    WE STAYED IN THE 2 QUEEN BED UNIT. GREAT BEDS AND PILLOWS. ALL PHOTOS AND LISTING ARE SPOT ON. WE RENTED A PADDLE BOARD AND WAS TAUGHT TO USE IT. WE'll TELL ANYONE TO TRY THIS VACATION HOME. BEST EVER RENTAL. THANKS FOR THE GOOD JOB..

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Wow, it is like I am there all over again. Thank you for the great review, you bring the experience of Roatan back to me when I read this. I am glad you liked the new beach bar and the location of the house.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • “BLISS - sigh, I was speechless - ask my friends it's not like me (grin)”

    “BLISS - sigh, I was speechless - ask my friends it's not like me (grin)”

    • Guest Nat (Ottawa ON Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/29/12
    • Review Submitted 04/15/12
    I recently stayed at Sunset House, Roatan - Honduras with a group of friends. This type of vacation was new to me. I had never been to the Caribbean before but let me tell you THIS WAS THE WAY to experience it for the first time! The Island was amazing with its white sand beaches, friendly locals and breathtaking views at every turn. The house itself was a relaxing venue with a sunset backdrop. It is perfectly located between West End Village and West Bay Beach. It sleeps eight comfortably, has a huge kitchen/living room with a/c and all the comforts of home. The outside set up was equally spacious; with an upper deck which homed two hammocks for your lounging pleasure. A lower deck which featured two picnic tables for dinner gatherings and a beach front bar complete with refrigerator/sink and a gas BBQ. And last but not least; the dock/sundeck! Oh and there is also a caretaker in residence who tends to the grounds and oversees the house during your stay. Let me walk you through one of our days; after waking from a restful evening in a cozy bed/air- conditioned room, jump into swim suit, grab a coffee and something easy for breakfast as we slowly eased into consciousness while lounging in a hammock on the upper deck; watching the sky brighten to an awe-inspiring view. The dock/beach out front would then call our names to float/sun tan/ unwind as the tensions of the real world eased away. Around noon we would hail a water taxi from our dock ($3.00) to West-End Village for a little souvenir shopping/ stopping at THE BLUE MARLIN cafe for some scrumptious calamari and chicken fingers. Afterwards we would flag another water taxi to West Bay Beach where you literally snorkel by walking/swimming from the beach into the wondrous underworld. Then a leisurely walk of the beach back to the house/ outside bar for drinks/ laughter and watching a sunset that will leave you speechless and mesmerized. Followed by sparking up the BBQ for another meal with friends (and many drinks ). We even had the luxury of having one of the resident families – Blackie, Marty and their girls come and cook an island meal for us. The coconut shrimp was mouth-watering and the opportunity of getting to spend time with them and learning of their island was an absolute pleasure. RINSE AND REPEAT! Can you tell I had a fabulous time ! (grin)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Great Vacation!

    Great Vacation!

    • Guest Kelly (Beckley, WV / USA)
    • Date of stay 03/11/12
    • Review Submitted 03/22/12
    This beautiful house was located in the center of everything you need yet you have all the privacy you want. Loved the outdoor kitchen and especially the blender, must try a Monkey la-la ( : . Great place for families to reconnect. If you get a chance, swim with dolphins and definitely have an island meal cooked by Blackie! One place to avoid- "Light House" restaurant. Very clean, conviently located and relaxing.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Megan's Amazing Holiday In Roatan Reveiw

    Megan's Amazing Holiday In Roatan Reveiw

    • Guest Megan (Lindsay, Ontario)
    • Date of stay 03/03/12
    • Review Submitted 05/11/12
    It was a amazing experience that I will never forget. Sunset house felt like my second home. It was so amazing to have a ocean in your back yard. Not to mention the veiw it was so spectacular. Swimming with the dolphins was a once in a lifetime experience and was soooo much fun. The beaches were amazing and the swimming was outstanding. THe food was delicious,make sure you try the coconut shrimp. The only thing I would do different is stay two weeks next time. Go get your bags packed and book the Sunset house, you won't be dissapointed it is a FIVE STAR! Thankyou Mark and Gail for giving me the best holiday!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • March 1 2012

    March 1 2012

    • Guest March 1 2012 (South Bend Indiana)
    • Date of stay 03/01/12
    • Review Submitted 03/23/12
    My wife and I had the pleasure of staying here while on vacation. We enjoyed everything about the property, my wifes favorite was fresh coconut in the morning....thanks johnny. We also had the misfortune of staying at another location and there is no comparison. Sunset House is FIVE STARS.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Canada loves Sunset House

    Canada loves Sunset House

    • Guest Dante (Toronto, Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/27/12
    • Review Submitted 04/20/12
    This was my second visit to Sunset House so I already knew how awesome it was going to be. The new beach bar was brilliant and well used and loved by everyone. The house and grounds show definite pride of ownership and you are made to feel at home instantly! West End, West Bay, snorkelling, touring around the island - it will never get old! We had Marty pick us up at the Airport (all 11 of us!) and his wife, Blackie, came in a couple of times to cook us an authentic Roatan dinner - yummy - especially the seafood! Absolutely wonderful people! This is a vacation spot where you want for nothing - except another Monkey La La!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • VACATION OF A LIFETIME WITH FRIENDS AND FAMILY---TRULY PARADISE

    VACATION OF A LIFETIME WITH FRIENDS AND FAMILY---TRULY PARADISE

    • Guest Karen (Lindsay, Ontario )
    • Date of stay 02/25/12
    • Review Submitted 05/11/12
    I recently stayed at Sunset House, Roatan - Honduras for two weeks. Roatan is truly paradise and Sunset House was beautiful. We had a large group of people both weeks and it was very spacious. It was very clean had a huge kitchen/livingroom with a/c and all the comforts of home. One of my favorite spot's was the BEACH BAR complete with refrigerator/sink and a gas bbq. We had a alot of good laughs a few Monkey La La's while enjoying the beautiful view. The snorkelling was amazing and we swam with the dolphins ""AMAZING" highly recommend it. The residents of Roatan are very friendly and it's a very safe place to walk around. Marty and Blackie are a must. Marty picked us up at the airport, gave us a tour of the island and his lovely wife Blackie cooked us mouth watering meal's . Water taxi trip to West End, its little shops restarants and bar's fantastic. Johnny was the handy man/care taker keeps the grounds in beautiful condition and was a pleasure to be around.Cannot tell you how much we enjoyed the snorkeling, kayaking, swimming the walks on the beach and OMG the sunset's are truly beautiful. Sunset house was Spectacular, I would highly recommend Sunset House it is a 5 star. Thank you to Mark and Gail for giving us the opportunity to visit, it was trip of a lifetime. I

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Canadian Girls Hit Roatan

    Canadian Girls Hit Roatan

    • Guest "What Time" (Ottawa Ontario Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/25/12
    • Review Submitted 04/06/12
    What a week, I cant wait to go back. This is a truly little piece of paradise Just the perfect spot on the beach with the most beautiful sunsets. The house and apartment are far more than anticipated, your descriptions are humble. I especially love the bar/eating area built on the beach. How many many memories we will cherish from this great gathering spot. Red Solo Cup!! Marty and Blackie are a must, for those visiting the Sunset house. Marty did everything from airport transfer, tour guide grocery store run and of course Blackie his wife who will come cook a fantastic meal and do all the dishes at a very reasonable rate, just sit back and relax. Walks to West Bay and the snorkelling just a few feet was a great experience. FYI, Nemo lives in Roatan. Water taxi trip out to the West End, its little shops, restaurants and bar's fantastic. Johnny Sunset House resident handy man/care taker keeps the grounds in beautiful condition, the landscaping is stunning! This is the perfect island for those who want to enjoy the sun, embrace the culture and relax! WHile this is my first VRBO, it wont be my last at all, Sunset House was a delight! By far the nicest spot on the beach! Looking forward to coming back with family and the kids. Perfect for all ages, enjoy.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Manager response: We are so glad you liked Marty & Blackie. We love there island cooking and hospitality. They bring the real island experience to the house with there stories and culture background of the island, and Marty is one of the best drivers on the island. They are true Roatan!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Vacation Destination of a Lifetime

    Vacation Destination of a Lifetime

    • Guest Karen (Pickering, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/25/12
    • Review Submitted 04/06/12
    Sunset House was one of the best vacations - the house was spectacular - high end quality. So much room, in each and every room, and it's decorated with class. The water/beach front is stunning to wake up to every morning with a coffee & baileys! and at night the stars are amazing! The bar is unbelievable! 5 Class resort style! The property is rented with so many things you can use to keep the kids entertained. Snorkelling amazing! Swimming with the dolphins - lifetime experience. The residents of Roatan are friendly and it's a very safe place to walk around. Overall, this property is 5 Star all the way! Would love to visit it again! K.R.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fantastic

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Fantastic

    • Guest Angela
    • Date of stay 02/25/12
    • Review Submitted 04/03/12
    The beautiful beachfront house is excellent for some r&r but also ideally located to go out for day trips snorkeling, scuba diving, ziplining etc. Watet taxis come by regularly but you can easily walk or kayak to the little towns on either side of the house. Lots of new renovations have been done to the house and the pride of ownership shows. The swimming was great and sitting out under the stars at night was spectacular. I would recommend this property to anyone. Spectacular!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Best Vacation Yet

    Best Vacation Yet

    • Guest Karen (Fenelon Falls Ontario)
    • Date of stay 02/25/12
    • Review Submitted 03/08/12
    This place is the ultimate. It has everything you need, with all the comforts of home and then some. It is my most enjoyable trip yet. Privacy & solitude and what a view. No comparison to a regular resort, so nice to have the comforts of home. Very nicely maintained, Snorkeling is incredible, beach is beautiful and two others close by. Owners offer recommendations for a tour guide & a chef (Blackie) to come in and cook an island meal, and it was absolutely awesome. I highly recommend this heavenly spot.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Stop reading reviews and book this place!

    Stop reading reviews and book this place!

    • Guest Matt (Detroit, MI)
    • Date of stay 09/17/11
    • Review Submitted 09/29/11
    If you have ever wanted to vacation at a private beach house, this is your place. I stayed at the Sunset House for a week and didn't want to leave. Do yourself a favor and book this place for two weeks, you'll thank me later. Snorkeling, sea kayaking, diving, hiking, swimming, exploring or just straight chilling... this is your place. I stayed in one of the two downstairs bedrooms and had a great time. You can wake up and be swimming in 75 degree water in 30 seconds. After your swim rinse off in the outdoor shower, which, to my surprise, has hot water. You can take a water taxi (or hike along the beach) to the West End Bay for snorkeling and mingling with other tourists or do the same in the other direction to the village of West End for the bars and restaurants. We also rented a car and took a day trip exploring the rest of the island. If you have any questions, Joni (caretaker) is there to help. My only regret about the Sunset House was not staying for a second week. I hope to return sooner then later. Staying at the Sunset House is like starring in your own Corona commercial!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Best House on Roatan

    Best House on Roatan

    • Guest Erich (Green Bay, WI)
    • Date of stay 05/07/11
    • Review Submitted 05/13/11
    We just finished up our stay at Sunset House, everything was fantastic. The house and staff were great, one of the appliances was on the fritz and they had someone there the next morning. I loved having our own dock, it made sitting out and watching the sunset even better. We walked up to West End and down to West Bay many times, it really is that close. We have some first time international traveler's with us. The expression on their faces, sitting in a hammock on the deck, coconut full of rum in hand, watching the sunset... it was priceless. We are definitely coming back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • didnt want to leave

    didnt want to leave

    • Guest pianoman (Baudette, MN)
    • Date of stay 03/30/11
    • Review Submitted 05/17/11
    If you want a relaxing vaca, go here, it was relaxing from the moment we got here until the day we left. Plus fishing, sight seeing, snorkeling, boat rides, food, friendly people, diving, swimming, beaches, kayaking, many of them we did and most of them within walking distance. The weather was perfect everyday; there was always a nice breeze off the ocean. Regarding the house everything was as advertised and better. Loved the hammocks and cocktails, stroll down the beach, have another cocktail, and then maybe snorkeling or nap. Like others have written the island food was awesome and very affordable, it really was a treat. We had Blackie's cooking right there in the house what a great way to go and very delicious. It truly seemed like an island paradise…(Heaven on earth) We didn't want to leave after 11 days and can't wait to go back

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • I'm not dreaming!

    I'm not dreaming!

    • Guest 'fer (Alaska)
    • Date of stay 03/26/11
    • Review Submitted 05/07/11
    The pictures do not lie, this house is roomy enough to sleep and entertain large parties without stepping on toes. The rooms were clean and large, the king size beds felt so good after a long active day. Clean linens, washer and dryer on sight. Wake up in the morning walk out the front door to the beach and start swimming. Sitting out on the porch, "monkey lala" in hand be it morning, noon or night never got old. The swimming and snorkeling was "Class A" entertainment...and exercise....will I ever un-wrinkle? There are water taxis easily accesible for tranportation if one did not wish to walk along the beach to reach the restaurants, shops, hotels, the other beaches for snorkeling. Drive around the whole island it makes for a nice day trip. Just watching the wildlife is engaging for hours. Don't miss out on "Blackies Island Cooking". This lady can cook! She arrives with food in tow and begins preparations, stuffs you....I mean you stuff yourself, she CLEANS UP while you fill what little room you have left with the home made pie. Such a sweet lady and great cook we hired her twice. When we come back I'll check on having her on a retainer....maybe she can move in with us. X-treme charters was great fun, getting a close look at the other islands and meeting the people. The guys X-treme charters where extremely professional, personable, adept at handling the nice 42ft. boat. I was at ease on the trip the whole time and well taken care of, there was always a helping hand when getting on or off the boat. If the fishing isn't hot don't worry because the crew is! Lots of tourist sights and yet you don't feel pushed. I am telling all my friends and family about this little gem. Great place for family renunions. Mark was right when he said "sunglasses, SPF 50, bug dope" will be your best friends.

    Manager response: Thanks Rick & Jennifer for coming on down. Glad you had a good time. We would love to have you come back again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Spectacular View, Awesome Waterfront Vacation Property

    Spectacular View, Awesome Waterfront Vacation Property

    • Guest Paris (Pickering, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 01/24/11
    • Review Submitted 05/05/11
    My husband and I spent a week at this beach front location with good friend of ours. I was a little nervous at first as we had never been to Roatan, actually never heard of it. Now I am sorry we did not investigate it sooner as we do travel quite frequently, easy acess, friendly people. We had a great time! Just a short taxi ride from the airport and we were in the hammocks with a glass of wine viewing the waterfront. We stopped at the local grocery on our way to the Beach House and picked up a few items for breakfast and some snacks however we ended up walking into town for breakfast and dinner most days. Lots of places to eat and drink in West End and West Bay. The house is clean and very well equipped with everything you need from glasses, dishes, linens, towels, board games, water toys and so much more. The swimming, diving and snorkeling is unbelieveable, with the reef just a swim away. It is a perfect location. With the amount of space offered here we will definately be spending more time here with more friends very soon. Can't wait to go back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Canadian's view

    Canadian's view

    • Guest mort (toronto)
    • Date of stay 09/17/10
    • Review Submitted 10/30/10
    I stayed here with my girl friend and it is a really nice and clean place. Everything worked in the house and the caretaker (Joni) was a great guy and helped us lots, even though he could only speak spanish. The diving is the best there is in C.A. We kayaked and had so much fun! In the morning we would sit out on the deck with our coffee and watch the butterflys cruise by and all the birds and wildlife were really nice to see. The sunsets are to die for! We are definitely coming back. Everyone should stay here at least once, it is a true beach house!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Wonderful property, snorkelling, people and sunsets

    Wonderful property, snorkelling, people and sunsets

    • Guest Dante (Toronto, Canada)
    • Date of stay 04/24/10
    • Review Submitted 05/05/11
    I stayed at Sunset House with a large group of people and had a wonderful time. The house and property are big enough that we weren't on top of each other and everything we needed from beach towels to salt and pepper were available. The beach and dock in front of the house was our main hangout if we were home. West End was our destination for eating out and shopping. The people who live on Roatan are so friendly and welcoming. We had a local cook, Blackie, come in to make an authentic Roatan dinner - absolutely amazing. The seafood is to die for! We walked down the beach to West Bay to go snorkelling and after this experience I was totally hooked. The coral reef is also not far out from the house and a good 15 minute swim is worth it! We took a boat excursion to Cayos Cochinos (also called the Hog Islands), a group of marine protected islands. We anchored on our own private island for snorkelling in the morning and then went to the island of Chachauate, a fishing village of the Garifuna people where they had lunch waiting for us. More snorkelling and then on home - what a day! The only downside was the sun set too quickly each night! Every sunset we were scrambling to find our cameras - the sunsets are unbelievable and never the same twice. But pictures don't do the sunsets justice - I will come back again just to see the most beautiful sunsets I've ever experienced.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Sunset House Roatan... Heaven on Earth

    Sunset House Roatan... Heaven on Earth

    • Guest BS (Humboldt County Ca)
    • Date of stay 04/13/10
    • Review Submitted 05/07/11
    My girlfriend and I spent a week here in April 2010. It was heaven on earth. The house itself is beautiful, clean and spacious. It has everything provided that you could possibly want or need. (Just bring whatever food or drinks you desire) It is located on the most beautiful beach you could dream of. Which is where we spent most of our time... either in the water swimming, snorkeling, diving, or just walking the beach. The beaches are so clean and the sand so white and the house being situation on a stretch of beach between the two towns it was very quiet and peaceful there ... For more excitement, It was a quick walk down the beach in either direction to one of the nearby towns..(West End or Roatan) where you can find tourist shops, fine dining, as well as lots of palm covered bars along the way. Don't forget to try the "Monkey Lala's" ...which are mmmmm mmm good. There are charter boats available for fishing, diving and snorkeling. and water taxi's which pass by all the time to take you anywhere you would like to go. Either to start or end your day, you'll enjoy the deck and dock which offer you some of the most beautiful views on earth, and either are wonderful places to relax and enjoy your time while in Roatan. Even the locals stop whatever they are doing to check out the sunsets here in Roatan, And some of the best views are available right here from either the dock or from the deck... The natives are friendly and helpful.... We can't wait to come back to Sunset House in Roatan, you'll see why once you've checked it out. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a good time either relaxing, looking to enjoy some water activities, exploring new areas, or just wanting to get away , enjoy life and have some fun

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • saltsie

    saltsie

    • Guest Saltsie (Macomb, MIchigan USA)
    • Date of stay 03/26/10
    • Review Submitted 04/12/11
    We spent a week at Sunset House and had one fantastic time. The place was clean, well furnished, spacious, and comfortable. At one time there was as many as 11 of us yet we still had our privacy when desired. Sitting in the main living area or on the porch drinking the local “monkey la la” after watching the sunset was totally relaxing after a very active day. A $3 water taxi will get you to West End or West Bay in about 3 minutes; we walked each way once (wear your water shoes) and I would recommend the taxi. At West Bay we did some snorkeling, but by far the very best snorkeling (out of the 4 different places we went) was straight out from Sunset House to the reef. We swam out there in the morning three times and the reef was beautiful. On the bulletin board in the dining room there was a note recommending Blackie as a cook; we contacted her and had such a great meal, we had her come back again to cook for us; her shrimp and yellow fin snapper can’t be beat. We spent a day on the Xtreme Charters ($150/person) that I would also recommend. One day we drove (about 45 minutes) to the Iguana Farm which was well worth the $8 entrance fee to be in the midst of “a whole herd” of iguana feeding them banana leaves; young and old will love this. Here you can also see and feed the tuna, terrapins, barracuda, and lobster close up. Our time at Sunset House was nothing short of 5 stars.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Manager response: Thanks for the response, I am glad you had a great time. We just started using Blackie and she is wonderful. Best dinner's on the island and the freshest! Hope you return soon for another vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • We loved Sunset House--location, decor, cleanliness, comfort, hospitality, ambiance, the view

    We loved Sunset House--location, decor, cleanliness, comfort, hospitality, ambiance, the view

    • Guest Kelly (Birmingham, Michigan USA)
    • Date of stay 03/20/10
    • Review Submitted 05/03/11
    This is about as perfect a get-away as we have rented anywhere. It’s right on the beach facing west, for spectacular sunsets. On the dock is a thatched-roofed gazebo where we sipped coffee, beer or cocktails. From here we jumped in and swam to the reef to snorkel. Lots of fish and coral to see right here. No need for a dive boat. But that's fun, too. Walk one direction down the beach about half mile to the town. It’s jumpin' every night—restaurants, bars, karaoke, shops, live music. Go the other direction for sunshine, beautiful beaches and resorts and restaurants. You have peace and quiet, but you are a water taxi ride (or short walk) away from restaurants, dive shops, resorts, bars, pina coladas. When we were there in March, a casual bar / restaurant opened a few minutes’ walk down the beach. So we didn’t even have to make breakfast. That place became our own private kitchen/dining room/beach bar. It’s good to have a car; but one could easily take water taxis. Walking into town was a daily routine to shop, dine and sign up for dive excursions, fishing, etc. Weather was just beautiful. Hot and sunny by day; a bit cooler at night so we ladies could wear our gauzy dresses with a light shawl. Sunset House Accommodations: There's a main house above a convenient outdoor shower and a sandy area for dragging in water craft. Climb up to the huge deck (and barbeque grill) facing the sea. Inside the glass doors is a big clean comfortable living room with sofas comfy enough to sleep on, dining room, really big kitchen, bath room and master bedroom and guest room. Behind the main house are the very generously appointed guest rooms. Our double room was separated from the other one by a big double sink bathroom with tub and shower. All the comforts of a lovely home. Condition: Excellent. But not so fancy that you can’t put your feet up and relax. It’s like a big cottage where you can totally chill. And if you don’t like the local temperature, just switch on the AC. We “dined in” often, because we like to cook; local seafood was plentiful and delicious. We purchased fixings for salsa, salad and guacamole at green markets. But no need to cook. Restaurant next door was great & town abounds with every type of cuisine at low to moderate prices. We dined and drank for less than what we are accustomed to in beautiful sunny beach resort areas. Spectacular views. Magnificent! Everything as advertised--or better! We will go back to Sunset House this fall!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thanks for the great review. Your description of Roatan and the Sunset house is excellent and we look forward to seeing you again this fall.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • An amazing place to chill out and have fun.

    An amazing place to chill out and have fun.

    • Guest Buttercup (Toronto)
    • Date of stay 03/20/10
    • Review Submitted 11/08/10
    I stayed with friends at Sunset House for a week in March 2010. It is a good size, clean, well furnished and had everything we needed to relax, wash, sleep & cook. The bedrooms are spacious and the beds comfortable. There are decent sized dressers with clean, deep drawers to put your clothes into which is what I like (I hate rifling through my suitcase trying to find a piece of clothing). The living room, kitchen & dining area are in one big room - open concept. It's fanastic with a bunch of people, some in the kitchen cooking (or mixing drinks), others relaxing in the living room - everyone together for a great party atmosphere. The balcony off the main part of the house is magnificent, overlooking the ocean - such a wonderful view. Having morning coffee, sitting in a rocking chair, watching all the wildlife in the trees, with a view of the ocean was the perfect way to start off the day. The afternoons were for swaying in hammocks with a drink in hand. And of course the evening sunsets are stunning to see – I really hated to leave this little piece of heaven. It was fantastic to be in your own private house right on the beach (which is kept clean and raked every day by the caretaker who lives on site). Swimming out to the reef for a little snorkelling was incredible. It was nice to just swim out there at your own pace whenever you wanted, not on some excursion schedule. Walking to West End along the beach is relatively easy (we went there for dinner a number of times) – there are a couple of rocky area's to climb over, but nothing too treacherous. If going in for dinner, I would recommend taking a cab home or making sure you take a flashlight. Walking to West Bay along the beach is also an easy walk with a bridge to cross along the way (it might look a little intimidating, but looks are deceiving). One day we walked there with our snorkelling gear, had breakfast at one of the hotels and then spent a few hours in the water – the reef is closer to the shoreline in this area. The caretaker lives in a house at the back of the property and although he doesn't speak fluent English, he is very friendly and helpful, always smiling. This is most definitely a place I will return too.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

  • tropical paradise

    tropical paradise

    • Guest Billy (Anchorage Alaska)
    • Date of stay 12/12/09
    • Review Submitted 04/29/11
    I stayed there from December 12th to April, 7 and was in the back upstairs apartment. I went snorkeling to the reef out in front of the house, many times and the snorkeling there was as good as anywhere else I snorkled on the island. I got certified PADI Open Water Diver in West Bay and then took an advanced diver training course in West End. I would wake up in the morning and go bone fishing down the beach, almost daily, I used a 9 weight temple fork 4 piece fly pole, and a 8 foot mid weight 4 piece Ugly stick spin rod. I fished for and caught bone fish, skip jacks, king mackeral, baricudda, ocean perch, grouper, and other jack's, etc. I went night diving in Half Moon Bay in the West End and had a good time. The food was not the greatest in general on the island, but in general it was OK. Considering that I was in the poorest country in Central America, things went reasonably smooth all around. Generally most people are open minded in the West End, and I took advantage of many oppurtunities to relax with the local people. I had no problems with the house, and I had a really good time and would recommend this place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: I think your the first real fisherman that has stayed there. Glad you liked it. Thanks for staying at the Sunset House. Maybe next time a charter for tuna would be fun.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Chuck M
    • Date of stay 12/12/09
    • Review Submitted 10/30/10
    My friend Bill and I stayed at the Sunset House and it was a blast. We snorkeled almost every day. In the morning, we would walk to town which was 1 1/2 miles and have breakfast, then walk back to the house and get ready for a swim or snorkel. We sometimes would walk down to the West End beach 1 /1/2 miles and go snorkeling and have lunch. If we were tired we would take a $2 water taxi back to the house. The house is in excellent shape and the kayaks were fun to use. Over all we would highly recommend this house for a quiet and fun vacation spot. With all the swimming and walking I lost weight on vacation! It was so nice sitting on the dock at night witht the warm tropical wind blowing and smell of the salt water. Man this place was heaven. I give this place a 5 star rating*****

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]