Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Living Room with lanai over-looks the golf course & Kohala Mountain

Laughing Gecko Golf - Special - Last Nights April $75/N 2pp!! [#321814] | View Property

Waikoloa Village
Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)
$75 - $101/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (14)

Sort by:
  • Great Time / Cozy Place

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great Time / Cozy Place

    • Guest Noah
    • Date of stay 03/28/14
    • Review Submitted 03/28/14
    Hi Ali, We had a great time here and are sad to leave tomorrow! Thanks for a nice cozy place.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Certainly enjoyed our stay

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Certainly enjoyed our stay

    • Guest Paula and Bernie
    • Date of stay 02/07/14
    • Review Submitted 02/09/14
    Hi Ali We certainly enjoyed our stay in the Laughing Gecko Golf and visiting the beaches and historical spots along the North and South Kohala area. I was delighted to find the sofa bed so comfortable as many aren't. Tried to extend my trip to continue to be away from the lengthy cold spell up here in Canada but here we are back in the cold. Thanks again and we sure hope to return at some point and maybe one day find a bigger accommodation to include the rest of the family!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Private, quiet, great location

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Private, quiet, great location

    • Guest sharyl
    • Date of stay 07/04/13
    • Review Submitted 07/20/13
    Ali, Just wanted to let you know, all went very well at your vacation rental. We found everything very adequate. Nice private and quiet location in the back corner of the complex. Waikoloa village was a great central location for our exploring of the north end of the island. Thanks, Sharyl

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Laughng Gecko Rental

    Laughng Gecko Rental

    • Guest Sherm (Hales Corners, Wisconsin)
    • Date of stay 01/17/13
    • Review Submitted 02/04/13
    We have traveled the world during the 6+ decades of our marriage. We learned to be skeptical when making lodging reservations based on the owner's description. Most oversell. In this case, the owners may be guilty of underselling. It was perfect for our needs and comfort. We were especially impressed with the professional look of its decorating. The furniture and wall-hangings are wonderful. Thank you. Sherman & Sally Stock Sherman

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your kind words. I think being in Hawaii is all about the beautiful outdoors and the mountain view from this unit is lovely. But, when we are indoors we like to have beauty around us also. Your vacation should be special and you should feel spoiled a bit. I have been disappointed also at some rentals I have stayed in, so I understand your sentiments. Bottom line, I try to create spaces I myself would like to stay in. Aloha, ali

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Good quality for a good price

    Good quality for a good price

    • Guest Tani (Oahu, Hawaii)
    • Date of stay 12/25/12
    • Review Submitted 01/02/13
    This is a nice place to stay. It's clean and has everything you need and for a reasonable price. The weather is much cooler in Waikoloa too. The owner is very helpful and friendly.

    Owner response: Thank you! We think this condo is great value; it's lovely and very affordably priced. You can't beat that! We strive to offer the 'best in class' at the lowest pricepoint because you should be pampered on your holiday, and it shouldn't cost you an arm and a leg! aloha, ali

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great value for Waikoloa, clean, quiet, close to everything, beautiful furniture and decorating

    Great value for Waikoloa, clean, quiet, close to everything, beautiful furniture and decorating

    • Guest traveler (USA) (Ohio)
    • Date of stay 07/15/12
    • Review Submitted 07/20/12
    Just stayed here for a week. Loved everything about it. Wonderful value for location and condo. Everything seemed brand new. Loved being on the end of the building/complex, it was very quiet and peaceful. Mornings on the lanai with all the birds and watching the golfers were quite entertaining. Waikoloa Village is about the best location on the island for getting around. The weather is perfect. We stayed on the hilo side for 3 days and had pouring rain, mold, mud, mosquitos, very loud frogs all night (couqie), even if it wasn't raining, we couldn't be outside because the mosquitos would carry us away. No beaches on the entire east side of the island. We loved being on the sunny, dry, west side. Some of the best beaches I have ever seen in Hawaii are just 6 miles down the hill from the village. We went to Hapuna or Mauna Kea at least once a day. Loved your grocery store in Waikoloa Village as well. We could even walk there if needed. The complex itself was very well maintained, all the gardeners and grounds people were very friendly and helpful.. Love that the pool is a large pool, good for lap swimming. Workout facility was OK, not anything special, but had what we needed. BBQ at the pool was very nice and we even met a local guy who gave us fresh caught Ahi tuna for grilling. We were blown away. Nice to have the secure gated access, not that I think it probably necessary in Waikoloa. We have been coming to Big Island for 20 years and could not be happier with finding this sweet little condo. Thank you Ali for all your advice and info. We greatly appreciated your assistance and kindness. You might want to take a look at the drawer next to the stove, it sticks a bit and I think the ice maker might need to be hooked up (looks like ref. is brand new?). Not a problem as there were ice trays and we could just make ice. Thanks again and we will certainly be back. The value of your place is incredible. A Motel Six room in Cleveland costs more than this little gem of a place!! Not sure how you can keep the price so low, but we appreciate it!! Take Care, Marcus & Julie

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your kind words. The nene have been visiting and the francolin have chicks which are adorable. Sorry Hilo was wet. The east side has had much rain but the flip side is the farmers market is the best. regards, ali

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great value, close to everything, beautiful furniture and decorating

    Great value, close to everything, beautiful furniture and decorating

    • Guest georgie (Oahu)
    • Date of stay 06/12/12
    • Review Submitted 06/25/12
    Just stayed here for a week. Fit all of our needs nicely. Very quiet and serene. On the edge of the golf course so you can watch the golfers. unit was nice and cool. For the price this is a great deal. Has everything you need and more. I found the unit to be very clean, well stocked and of much higher quality than most hotels room in Waikoloa, which you will pay double for. Complex has a pool, hot tub, grilling area and workout room. Gated parking is nice also. Everything seemed really new in the unit from the couch, to the flat screen tv and the bed. We would recommend this unit. You just can't beat the price and the quiet location. We found the owner to be very helpful and answered all our questions..Thank you ! Gia Madison, WI

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks, another thing our guests really like is the library and reading room at the pool area. great news too, the complex is getting brand new barbeques, and they have an organic herb garden right by the grills. rosmary rub on your steak, or dill on your fish anyone?

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • couldn't have been any better

    Guest comment entered by owner

    couldn't have been any better

    • Guest vegard
    • Date of stay 05/27/12
    • Review Submitted 06/11/12
    thank you so much for letting me stay here. i had a great time, and was able to relax. it couldn't have been any better and i really appresciate the late check out. god bless, vegard

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Our assessment of Laughing Gecko Waikoloa Condo

    Our assessment of Laughing Gecko Waikoloa Condo

    • Guest Mountain Runner (Victoria, B.C., Canada)
    • Date of stay 01/27/12
    • Review Submitted 06/06/12
    The condo was centrally located to many of the things we are interested in but found the following deficiencies; kitchen sink needs a plug; had to replace the batteries in the TV remote; toilet flush mechanism needs to be replaced (fixed it temporarily); sliding glass window was very dirty so we washed it; bedroom overhead fan needs to be secured better rather than jamming a piece of paper to firm up the base; stemware was dirty so had to wash it; kitchen and bathroom floror was very dirty and needs a good scrub; bedroom windows and sills have not been clean for a long time; window blinds were very dirty so cleaned some of them because dust bothered us; clean on window sill so we could open window; drapes need cleaning; mattress was of poor quality and hard on back; sliding glass door lock needs to be be repaired rather than using a piece of wood; both drawers in the kitchen have broken sliders and are ready to fall apart and in general the condo needs a good two or three day cleaning and the carpets and mattress replaced. There was dust everywhere in the condo.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you. We appreciate feedback. Of course had you let us know while you were here we would have taken care of everything immediately. Waikoloa, or 'Waikablowa" as we fondly call it, has Trade Winds and it's located in a dry area; there is dust. we service our units just before rental, but on a windy day, in 30 minutes there will be dust. Carpets are steam cleaned regularly and the bed is new standard hotel grade. With your feedback you didn't mention the price. At $75/n on special I defy you to find a better choice. Yes, it's not the Ritz, but it's also $75/n in a comparable range where similar units are $110/n. We do hope you had time to enjoy the beauty of the complex, the Village and the island and have worked to remedy these items. Kind regards, ali

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Not affordable

    Not affordable

    • Guest Chris (Bellingham WA)
    • Date of stay 07/28/11
    • Review Submitted 09/17/11
    We picked this condo because of the "affordable" price and good location and while the condo provided us with what we expected, don't be fooled by the price. When you add the "cleaning fee" it ends up to be much more per night....could have probably had a place closer to the beach for that price. Adding to this, a few months after we got back we received a letter about how the condo was not cleaned properly and we got another $ 25.00 taken for cleaning. We followed the instructions provided when we cleaned the place; we've used many VRBOs in the past and never had a problem with the cleaning. On the positive side, the condo felt safe, close to groceries, gas station, good location.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Aloha Chris and thank you for your review. At $79/n this condo does offer very good value. In it's class it is, we believe, the best offering in Waikoloa Village. A comparable unit at the beach resorts would cost $125 - $180 a night. Rack rate on a hotel room is app. $300/n. Of course for a suite with kitchen that would be a great deal more. Most all VRBO rentals charge a cleaning fee and at $89 our cleaning fee is far lower than average, which is $110. The cleaning fee covers normal cleaning after your stay. As clearly outlined in our rental agreement it defines what is covered (and what is not). A check out list also covers what a guest's responsibilities are. Sadly, on occassion, guests leave our vacation homes in a state that would be considered far beyond normal 'wear & tear' and necessitates our cleaners having to spend more than the alloted 3 hours to clean. The cleaners bill us for the 'above & beyond' and we feel this is the responsibility of the guest who created the situation. A $25 surcharge, in your case, was more than reasonable for the extra cleaning that was required after your stay. As owner operators we sometimes face complete nightmares when we enter a unit after a guest has left. In all instances we try to be fair; there is an equal responsibility on the part of the owner and the guest and each party's responsibility is clearly outlined in the rental agreement. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the location convienient. We regret you found the witholding of $25 unreasonable, as we also equally regret the state in which you left our accomodations. Regards, ali

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Unbelievable Deal!

    Unbelievable Deal!

    • Guest ashley (Los Angeles)
    • Date of stay 04/18/11
    • Review Submitted 05/15/11
    we stayed at your condo in April 2011. /i can not get over what a great deal this condo was. 5 star decorating, furniture, bed etc. Very private, quiet location, convenient to everything in the village. Loved your local grocery store (walking distance from the condo). In general Waikoloa is a oerfect spot to stay on Big Island. It is convenient to everything, beaches, mountains, resort, etc. Thank you and we will be back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you. Isn't this condo just such a great deal? It's a great location and a great unit at a very low price. We love it too! So glad to hear you had a good visit and you will be coming back. return guests enjoy a discounted rate and our 'family' of return guests is growing rapidly as people find out what a superb deal the Laughing Gecko rentals are. ali

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Tom & Carmen
    • Date of stay 11/24/10
    • Review Submitted 12/03/10
    We had a great time on our Big Island vacation. The condo was amazing for the price and location was good for all our exploring. We loved that the beach was so close. Nice grocery store too for all our shopping. We don't play golf but it was a pretty and private spot to enjoy the golf course views.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Shelia
    • Date of stay 11/03/10
    • Review Submitted 12/03/10
    I wanted to let you know what a nice time I had at your condo. I was on island visiting family and this was a great place to call my own while I was here. Very convienient and beautifully decorated. The condo was comfortable and I would recommend it to friends. Thanks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Megan
    • Date of stay 10/12/10
    • Review Submitted 12/03/10
    Mahalo for a wonderful stay. We loved this condo. The interior was so nice and the location was quiet and pretty with the green space and golf course right off the lanai. It was perect for our Big Island vacation. We want to come again next year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]