Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
The Beach House

Steps to the Beach [#323492] | View Property

Treasure Island
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 8)
$1,600 - $1,750/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (26)

Sort by:
  • Treasure Island Beach House

    Treasure Island Beach House

    • Guest CTBunt (New Hampshire)
    • Date of stay 02/22/14
    • Review Submitted 04/14/14
    This was our second relatively long-term stay at Gayle's Beach House and was, again, a perfectly wonderful experience. Gayle continues to upgrade her house, which was very nice to begin with, probably accurately described as luxurious by beach standards. The location is ideal- a block off the beach within an easy walk to shopping, dining, and nightlife. The area is ideal for families with children, or without. An added bonus to this property is the abundant outdoor space, either in the sun or shade. Overall, this is a great place to enjoy Florida beach life!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fabulous Beach House Vacation!!!

    Fabulous Beach House Vacation!!!

    • Guest sandy k.
    • Date of stay 02/15/14
    • Review Submitted 02/23/14
    Our little group of 5 (3 adults and 2 kids) spent a fabulous week at Gail's beach house! From the moment we stepped inside we felt comfortable and 'at home'. Pros: the beach house is spacious, super clean, everything in excellent working condition, comfortable beds and furniture, lots of indoor and outdoor seating options and the handy and fun outdoor shower for post beach rinse offs! Cons: none! Friendly neighbours, quiet evenings and a short stroll to the beach and fishing, this place has it all! We are frequent Airbnb, VRBO, etc users and this is probably the best property we've ever rented. Though we didn't meet Gail in person she is an excellent host and great communicator. We loved the games and videos and sand toys, plenty of cooking implements, dishes, glassware, etc. Gail has thought of everything. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ladies Turkey Trot

    Ladies Turkey Trot

    • Guest Lisa S.
    • Date of stay 11/13/13
    • Review Submitted 11/22/13
    What a fabulous Beach House!!!It was like it was designed for the 6 of us, who traveled from Buffalo for our annual ladies getaway before the holiday! Just steps from the beautiful Treasure Island beach and a short walk to numerous restaurants ,etc. all made it the perfect location! We walked to breakfast each morning and there is a beautiful path to follow (wide sidewalk) from the public beach almost all the way to the private beach by the cottage.The rooms and decor are beautiful and very spacious!!!Easy to unpack and make your self at home. Everything one could need for a perfect beach vacation is there.The patio and adirondacks on the porch are great for early morning coffee or late afternoon wine time.And if one wants to cook a meal or two, the kitchen has everything you need and plenty of seating. The Tampa airport is only a half hour drive and lots of fun restaurants,shopping and sights to be seen there as well! Look forward to making our way back in the very near future...fun,relaxation and great memories were had by all! Highly reccomend!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic Girls Weekend!

    Fantastic Girls Weekend!

    • Guest McC Family & Friends (Old Lyme, CT)
    • Date of stay 05/10/13
    • Review Submitted 05/18/13
    Our annual girls weekend brought us to Gail's home this year. Best trip EVER! Close to the beach. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. The house was beautiful, super clean and spacious. Thank you Gail. I hope to be emailing you soon with next year's rental date.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Treasure Isalnd Treasure

    Treasure Isalnd Treasure

    • Guest CTBunt (New Hampshire)
    • Date of stay 03/02/13
    • Review Submitted 04/03/13
    "Steps to the Beach" accurately describes the location of this vacation home. It's also steps to restaurants, bars, ice cream, etc- - all the things that make vacations enjoyable. The house opens on to a quiet street suitable for visiting neighbors or strolling and a nice place to walk for our 18 month old granddaughter. Gail has remodeled the interior of the home wonderfully, with beautiful and functional kitchen/eating area and baths, all done in granite and tile. Bedrooms are large and well appointed with ample storage/closet space. The exterior has very nice decks on three sides, so you always have access to sun and/or shade, as you desire. Some of the furnishings and linens are not up to par with the quality of the home but are adequate, as are kitchen appliances. Overall, this is a great vacation home in a great location!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Treasure Island Treasure

    Treasure Island Treasure

    • Guest CTBunt (New Hampshire)
    • Date of stay 03/02/13
    • Review Submitted 04/03/13
    "Steps to the Beach" accurately describes the location of this vacation home. It's also steps to restaurants, bars, ice cream, etc- - all the things that make vacations enjoyable. The house opens on to a quiet street suitable for visiting neighbors or strolling and a nice place to walk for our 18 month old granddaughter. Gail has remodeled the interior of the home wonderfully, with beautiful and functional kitchen/eating area and baths, all done in granite and tile. Bedrooms are large and well appointed with ample storage/closet space. The exterior has very nice decks on three sides, so you always have access to sun and/or shade, as you desire. Some of the furnishings and linens are not up to par with the quality of the home but are adequate, as are kitchen appliances. Overall, this is a great vacation home in a great location!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Beach Vacation Rental!

    Perfect Beach Vacation Rental!

    • Guest kate (westfield, massachusetts)
    • Date of stay 02/14/13
    • Review Submitted 02/22/13
    We stayed at this rental home last weekend for our mom's surprise birthday vacation (family of 4 adults). Gail was pleasant to work with and made the exchange of rental fees and agreement easy. The house was lovely and the location was superb! The house was very well kept, very clean, and included everything we needed. The beds were comfortable and the showers in the bathroom were incredible. The porch was also lovely to sit on and relax in the sun. The location of the house was also perfect. The beach was only a very short walk over a cute boardwalk. The white sand beach was lovely for morning walks and relaxing in the sun. A short walk over a bridge yielded a dockside area with restaurants, shops, and places to watch the water wildlife. Apart from the dockside area, there are many other great restaurants, grocery stores, and ice cream shops close to the house. Overall the house was wonderful and we all agreed we would rent it again in the future.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beachcomber Bungalow- Great choice!!!

    Beachcomber Bungalow- Great choice!!!

    • Guest Jessica H.
    • Date of stay 08/08/12
    • Review Submitted 08/19/12
    The house was even better than we expected! We had 7 people that stayed here and there was plenty of room for all of us. The bedrooms were very spacious, nice sized kitchen, dining, and living room areas, and good size bathrooms. And my children loved going to the beach, so it helped that it's located very close to the beach, as well. It is also very close to Johns Pass, shopping and convenience stores and there is a grocery store right down the road. The house was very clean and orderly. The owner called while we were staying there to ensure that everything was satisfactory. I will definitely recommend staying in this house to anybody visiting the Treasure Island/Madeira Beach area. Wonderful house!!!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great, great, great!!

    Great, great, great!!

    • Guest Melanie S.
    • Date of stay 06/01/12
    • Review Submitted 06/11/12
    We went back to TI to celebrate our daughters' College Graduation. She wanted a trip back to TI as her grad present. We used to take our kids there for their Spring Breaks every year & we drove from Indy with the whole family, our children, grandchildren, spouse & boyfriend. Ages 52 to 8 weeks. Eight of us. It was great. The home was very family friendly, beautiful, steps from the beach & fully equipt. Much, much more than we expected. Gail even provided a pack-n-play for the baby. There were games for indoors as well as beach toys & beach chairs. Everything was very clean & in good order. Quite a bargain for the price as well. Gail welcomed us via e-mail & asked if there were any problems to call her right away. We would highly recommend this rental home to anyone & definately will! Thank you Gail for your hospitality & allowing us to enjoy your beautiful home away from home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful and perfect for us!

    Beautiful and perfect for us!

    • Guest Dani B.
    • Date of stay 04/07/12
    • Review Submitted 05/30/12
    We are a large family with seven children, four of whom are young adults, and we had plenty of room for us and our other family members who came to visit! The access to the beach couldn't have been better unless we were actually on the beach. The location was perfect as we were only a short walk to John's Pass and the boardwalk area of Madeira Beach, as well as the heart of Treasure Island! Since it's on the quiet end of the island, there wasn't a lot of noise, either, which made having fires on the back deck perfect, even late into the evening! The home was clean and well-maintained. The recent updates only added to the beauty of the home. I would highly recommend this home to anyone who wishes to be centrally located in Treasure Island.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful rental!

    Beautiful rental!

    • Guest Dani B.
    • Date of stay 04/07/12
    • Review Submitted 04/16/12
    This home was perfect for our family! The pictures do not do it justice. Most of the home is updated and was a beautiful place to entertain our family who were also visiting the area. The home was clean and had great amenities such as towels, baking dishes and cookware. The location was perfect, as well. Our teenage children were able to walk to Madeira Beach at John's Pass or go to the heart of Treasure Island whenever they wanted. We were able to park our cars and walk most of the vacation, except to go hit the golf courses! The beach access is literally right around the corner. Gail was responsive to our needs and immediately took care of the one small problem we encountered. I would definitely recommend this home to anyone! :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Spring Break Family Trip

    Spring Break Family Trip

    • Guest Toby (McCordsville, IN)
    • Date of stay 03/24/12
    • Review Submitted 04/06/12
    The beach house is awesome! When you first pull up, it looks tiny but when you walk in, it is really spacious and clean! The pictures on the site are very true and we were not disappointed at all. The house is not directly on the beach and is probably close to the 150 steps that the listing describes. It is a short, safe walk (you don't have to cross a busy road or anything). Gail was very nice and easy to work- very responsive each time I had a question. She has supplied the house with just about everything you might need- towels, beach chairs, beach toys, a grill, a washer and dryer, etc. We really appreciated having all the comforts of home, without actually having to bring them with us :) There were 10 of us in the house and we never felt like we were cramped or tripping on each other. There was plenty of places for us all to sleep and Gail even had a pack-n-play in the closet that we were able to use for my niece. The house is amazingly close to the beach and to John's Pass. We walked up to dinner a few nights and it was a short walk over the bridge. The house is also close to a trolley stop so hopping on the trolley to head to St. Pete or Clearwater for dinner is super easy and convenient. We all enjoyed our week in the beach house and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a Treasure Island vacation!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Family Reunion

    Family Reunion

    • Guest Kate (Miami, FL )
    • Date of stay 03/17/12
    • Review Submitted 03/28/12
    We had 6 adults and one child at the cottage. It is very well kept, nicely appointed with basic necessities. Great location, very easy beach access and additional free public parking if needed. Beds were comfy with nice soft sheets. The only negatives I have are that the back of the house sits on a very busy road and there was a fair bit of traffic noise that could be heard from the bedrooms at night and there were no real shady exterior spaces to sit outside during the day. Gail was very accessible and a pleasure to work with. The cottage was very clean when we arrived and a very nice bottle of wine was waiting for us on the counter when we got there. There is lots of space on the interior, the picture of the house is really deceiving - it is a cute cottage but very roomy. The three bedrooms are all of a generous size as are the two baths We had a family birthday party with 12 of us and there was plenty of seating and space for all, lots of dishes, glasses and silverware. I would highly recommend this as a vacation home for couples or families. It is very close to shops and restaurants so we could go to the beach early in the day, then escape the hot sun with other activies and return to the beach in the evenings and enjoy the sunsets. We were there during spring break and it was a nice place for a family vacation. We did not feel like we were surrounded by spring break parties and loud noises. The local beaches are well maintained. lots of shells to be gathered and birds and dolphins to enjoy. Great kite flying place as well. The only reason i did not give an excellent was due to the street noise and the lack of exterior shade. If we vacation in the area again we would very likely choose to stay at this property again. Thank you Gail.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Treasure Island Bungalow

    Treasure Island Bungalow

    • Guest Lori (Horsham, PA)
    • Date of stay 03/03/12
    • Review Submitted 03/12/12
    Found property on VBRO....pictures of bungalow were accurate...very well maintained three bedrooms two full bathrooms....found home to be fully equipped and ready for guests......great experience! Owner was very accomondating and easy to work with. Weather was beautiful....enjoyed visitng John's Pass....enjoyed so many great meals ....like The Hut, Crabby Bills's for a sunset dinner....

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Neat house

    Neat house

    • Guest Debbie H.
    • Date of stay 02/25/12
    • Review Submitted 03/04/12
    The house is very comfortable, well equipped and clean - easy to feel at home. It is bigger than it appears in the photo and worked well for the five of us. The location is great - just a two minute walk to the beach and close to restaurants, grocery stores, etc. The rental fee is good value. The owner was pleasant to deal with. We would stay here again. The only surprise is that we thought the house was right on the beach with a view of the beach - it isn't. As long as that isn't an issue for you, I would highly recommend this property.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome!

    Awesome!

    • Guest Di (Orlando Florida)
    • Date of stay 12/24/11
    • Review Submitted 01/01/12
    Celebrated our Grams 99th here for the Holiday week. Very beautiful, spacious cottage. Looks small from the outside, but it was BIG with plenty of room for the 5 of us... Definately RECOMMEND this bungalow for a great getaway. I live in Orlando and will let others know of this great find. Thank you for letting us stay at your home. Happy New Year!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Place near the beach!

    Great Place near the beach!

    • Guest Christy A.
    • Date of stay 07/30/11
    • Review Submitted 08/18/11
    We loved our stay at the Beachcomber Bungalow! Gail was a great host, even providing a pack-n-play for our 1 year old. The only problems we had were it was really sandy on the couch and floors, so make sure you shower after beach time (inside and out!) and the house wasn't cool until the next morning, so the first day was really warm. Other than that little hiccup, I'd highly recommend this place to friends and family! Loved Treasure Island, Loved the nearby shopping and beach/ocean area, Loved the vacation spot! Not far from Disney World too, which was perfect for us! Thanks Gail for being such a great and accessible hostess!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Beach House!

    Perfect Beach House!

    • Guest Lisa (Monticello, KY)
    • Date of stay 07/16/11
    • Review Submitted 08/11/11
    My family went down for my son's wedding on the beach at Treasure Island and stayed at this house. Our stay was perfect!!!!! The house had everything we needed and was only steps from the beach. The owner had a "Congratulation" sign up and a bottle of champaign for my son and his wife on the bar when we arrived. (Nice touch)! The house was perfect on the inside and a lot larger than it appeared on the outside. I would definitely recommend it to someone and I would love to go back some time in the future. GREAT HOME!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • terrific

    terrific

    • Guest abs (Hiawatha, KS)
    • Date of stay 06/26/11
    • Review Submitted 07/04/11
    great location, literally just steps to the boardwalk. The kitchen was great and open to the living area which was great for cooking and staying connected with the rest of the group. A couple of items that would great to have would have been a hair dryer, pack n' play, and some beach chairs. we loved the wood blinds in all the rooms, it made it easy to darken a room quickly for kids naps.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Clean, updated, larger than it looks

    Clean, updated, larger than it looks

    • Guest Rose (Amherst, NY, USA)
    • Date of stay 06/18/11
    • Review Submitted 06/29/11
    The beach bungalow was a wonderful retreat for our family with 4 adults and young children. It was clean, spacious and nicely updated and appointed. It felt like home. The homeowner had supplied everything we needed so we had no need to call her with questions. The area is quiet, the beach is a very short walk away and the beach is lovely and not crowded. The area outside the bungalow neighborhood is primarily tourist oriented so there are many restaurants and shops designed to appeal to tourists. We spent most of our time on the beach and enjoyed eating at "home". We would definitely return here.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A wonderful choice for beach getaway.

    A wonderful choice for beach getaway.

    • Guest DJ (San Jose, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/11/11
    • Review Submitted 06/30/11
    We had a wonderful stay at the Beachcomber Bungalow! The listing was exactly as described, and the photos accurately reflected the property. It was clean and well-maintained, something very important to me. Working with the owner was hassle-free and very pleasant and professional. I appreciated the call before the end of our stay to check in with us. The location is fabulous: extremely quiet, and within walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants. A grocery store was just up the road a bit. There were 6 of us, and we could all be in the common areas and not feel crowded, or get away to the bedrooms for quiet time. The openness between the kitchen, dining area and living room is a nice, and the configuration is comfortable. The bathrooms have nice showers and are a good size. The bedrooms are spacious and have ceiling fans, a real necessity. Some of the beds were comfortable, some were not. There are few beach chairs, umbrellas and toys, so bring your own, or purchase some inexpensively at local shops. We love to cook, and it would have been nice to have a few more pots and pans and sharp knives to work with, but there was enough to do the job. That being said, we had just about everything we needed to be comfortable. All the appliances worked well, and having the washer and dryer was a definite bonus! We would definitely come back to this house again, and recommend it to all our friends!! It was one of the most relaxing trips we had taken in years.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • GREAT TREASURE ISLAND VACATION

    GREAT TREASURE ISLAND VACATION

    • Guest Judi and Gary (Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 04/09/11
    • Review Submitted 04/20/11
    Just returned from a great vacation at this newly renovated cottage, in Treasure Island. It was perfect for 3 couples to enjoy a relaxing week of fun,sun and golf. The cottage was fully equipped with everything we needed, and the location was perfect for us. John's Pass with all of the restaurants and shopping was a 5 minute stroll across the bridge and the Trolley Stop was right in front of the cottage. Great for seeing the area and doing Hop on Hop off tours of all the Happy Hour bars and great restaurants. Exactly 126 steps to a beautiful beach, as advertised.( I counted!) Would I recommend this property? Definitely! But I'd really rather keep this little gem in Treaure Island our little secret!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • beach house review

    beach house review

    • Guest oiltowner (petrolia,ontario,canada)
    • Date of stay 04/08/11
    • Review Submitted 04/19/11
    everything posted was as stated.we had 3 adult couples and there was plenty of room. the girls loved the beach and the guys golfed within 3/4 hour drive to many golf courses.a short walk to john's pass and the beach trolley is good for farther trips.we would highly recommend this beach house.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • great place

    great place

    • Guest FM (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 03/26/11
    • Review Submitted 04/04/11
    great house, clean, comfortable, functional, close to beach, convenient to gulf blvd. strip and john's pass

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Owner response: Beachcomber Bungalow is within walking distance to John's Pass Fishing Village-lots of shops, restaurants, jet ski rentals, etc. The perfect vacation spot for the entire family!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beachcomber Bungalow Exceeded Our Expectations!!

    Beachcomber Bungalow Exceeded Our Expectations!!

    • Guest Lisa (Newburgh, IN)
    • Date of stay 03/21/11
    • Review Submitted 04/11/11
    Our family of 8 had the pleasure of staying in Beachcomber Bungalow in March for 5 nights. We were very pleased with the accomodations--it was clean, newly renovated, spacious, well-maintained and the perfect amount of distance to the beach. If we travel back to Treasure Island, we will definitely try to book the Beachcomber Bungalow again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Bliss

    Bliss

    • Guest Leah (Brighton, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 02/18/11
    • Review Submitted 04/07/11
    Everything about this property is top notch. The owner was responsive and helpful. This was my first time renting any house, and the owner helped me not only understand what was provided, but also what activites were nearby. The house is better located than the description mentions! I loved walking to coffee in the morning, or strolling the beautiful beach. The rooms were spacious and well set up. The decor clean and pleasant. The kitchen and baths made me feel spoiled (along with the new deck)! I would definitely recommend this property.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]