Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
55 Roaring Creek Rd, Catawissa, PA, 17820

Mayberry Canyon Cottage [#323503] | View Property

Elysburg
Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-6)
$150/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (25)

Sort by:
  • Mayberry

    Mayberry

    • Guest Shaboom
    • Date of stay 02/21/14
    • Review Submitted 02/26/14
    Great for bachelor get away in the wilderness. Although it states it only sleeps up to 6, the cottage can easily fit ten if needed. My friends and I had a blast.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Love this place :)

    Love this place :)

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/30/13
    • Review Submitted 09/04/13
    My family and I have been going to Knobels for about 12 years. This is one of the nicest, most cozy little cottages we've stayed in around this area. Doug the owner is very helpful and makes you feel so welcome when you arrive. I would recommend this lovely little cottage to anyone that's wanting a getaway for 2 or for a family of 4. Our family of 6 (5 grown ups and a child) did just fine in this one bedroom because of the spacious living room. We did bring our own blow up mattress, but really wouldn't have been needed. The screened in porch is great for early morning coffee and watching the ducks swim by :) My daughter actually cried when we had to leave and said she hated our trip was over. We can't wait to come back again!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Serene getaway

    Serene getaway

    • Guest Jenn (Allentown )
    • Date of stay 08/18/13
    • Review Submitted 08/28/13
    My family and I snuck away from life in the Lehigh valley to Knoebels. We stayed at this lovely cottage, which is only a few minute but beautiful drive away. The accommodations were more than comfortable with everything you need to build a fire by the river. We caught a few fish and had a rule of no technology which wasn't hard to keep with all of the nature around. We will be back again soon for another escape! Thanks!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Setting, Smelled Smoky

    Great Setting, Smelled Smoky

    • Guest Brad (Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 08/06/13
    • Review Submitted 08/11/13
    The cottage is just as described and pictured. Setting couldn't be better (quiet, secluded, scenic, etc). Our kids had a great time playing in the creek, watching wildlife and cooking hot dogs over the campfire. It had all the benefits of camping without all the hassle, which worked well for our 3 and 6 y.o. Our stay would have been perfect, but apparently the prior tenants had smoked inside, leaving an unpleasant cigarette odor. This was a disappointment and had we planned to spend much time in the cottage or if the weather had not cooperated for outdoor activities, this would have been a bigger issue. For the most part, we were only in the cottage for sleeping and some of us slept on the screen porch to escape the smoke smell. The cottage is close to several attractions, we visited Reptiland, Pioneer Tunnel and Knoebels. All 3 were easy and scenic drives. Our kids enjoyed all 3 attractions. I would recommend the cottage to anyone, unless you are sensitive to cigarette smoke. I know it can be a hard smell to get rid of and I guess at any rental you don't know what the prior tenants will do during their stay.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Brad, thank you for your review. We are extremely disappointed in the tenants that smoked in our property and saddened that due to this, your stay didn't live up to the high expectations we pride ourselves in giving to our guests. Our guests' stay and experience is of utmost importance to us and we have not taken your feedback lightly. We are in the process of a thorough deep cleaning to remove the smell. To prevent this in the future, I have added a clause to our contract noting that anyone who smokes in the property will be responsible for and charged all fees associated with cleaning and removing the odor. We will continue to take any further measures needed to ensure our guests always have an enjoyable and memorable experience, while still respecting our property and our future guests' to come.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Loved this place!

    Loved this place!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/19/13
    • Review Submitted 07/28/13
    We had a great time! The cottage has pretty much everything you might need. The kitchen had pretty much anything you would need to cook with. I loved having my coffee on the screened in back porch every morning & watching the water & the birds. Just bring your bed linens, towels and personal items. The creek was wonderful & my son loved taking the canoe out and paddling around. Doug was a great host making sure we had everything we needed. The firepit down by the creek was a great place to do smores and relax as the lightning bugs started twinkling all around us. We are already planning next years stay. Thanks Doug for sharing this special place with us!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Peaceful Stay

    Peaceful Stay

    • Guest kimberly (Eastern PA)
    • Date of stay 07/07/13
    • Review Submitted 07/10/13
    Our family of six just returned from three nights at Mayberry Cottage. The cottage is cute, clean and convenient to Knoebels and about an hour from beautiful Ricketts Glen State Park. We enjoyed the peaceful location - it is off the beaten path! We all played in the creek in the canoe, tubes and raft, enjoyed a campfire by the creek and dinner on the huge screened porch. The kitchen is well equiped and the great room spacious. Doug the owner lives next door and is very friendly and helpful. Our first afternoon we lost power due to a tree coming down in the storm. Doug brought us a lantern and kept us informed of the power company's progress. Power returned overnight. We recommend a stay here!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • scott

    scott

    • Guest scott (phoenixville, pa)
    • Date of stay 06/28/13
    • Review Submitted 09/20/13
    We had a wonderful time. We stayed there as a base for Knobel's Grove and the kids couldn't wait to get back to the cottage and the stream.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful location and excellent lodging

    Beautiful location and excellent lodging

    • Guest Texas Proud (Houston, TX)
    • Date of stay 06/21/13
    • Review Submitted 06/29/13
    We are from Houston and were looking for lodging that would offer us a peaceful and beautiful setting around the area of Knoebel's park. Mayberry Canyon cottage is exactly what it was advertised to be a peaceful, well appointed cabin, setting nestled in the woods. My wife and daughter used the raft that was stored underneath the back porch and drifted down the creek behind the cottage. This cabin is perfect for families or couples. Doug came over and saw that all our needs were taken care of.. He is a great host.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Did NOT Want To Leave This Amazing Place!!

    Did NOT Want To Leave This Amazing Place!!

    • Guest Brandy M. (Wisconsin)
    • Date of stay 05/31/13
    • Review Submitted 06/03/13
    Fabulous getaway!!!! The location was amazing, quiet, relaxing, surrounded by wonderful flora and fauna. The creek was clean, refreshing and a main attraction. The cottage was spacious, clean, accommodating and felt like home. Doug was a top quality host and made the stay even better by being helpful, friendly and an overall great guy. I plan on making this an annual tradition as well as bragging about how great it is to as many people as possible, even though my better judgment wants to keep this a secret sweet spot. Close proximity to many amenities and entertainment. Overall a great stay and truly couldn't have asked for a better place to spend a vacation in the Poconos!!!! Thanks Again!!! :)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • great time

    great time

    • Guest Mary C. (Glen Burnie, Maryland)
    • Date of stay 05/17/13
    • Review Submitted 06/24/13
    my husband and i brought our 2 year old grandson. we went to knoebels and had a great time. we were gonna go back the next day but my grandson wanted to stay at the cabin. he had a great time hanging with his pappy building a fire, fishing and just hanging out. he loved it as much as we did. cabin is awesome we will surely be coming back. thanks for letting us stay at your beautiful property. would also be nice for a romantic getaway.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • creekside charm

    creekside charm

    • Guest Carol F. (-)
    • Date of stay 09/14/12
    • Review Submitted 09/19/12
    We had a great girlfriends' reunion over a long weekend at the Mayberry Cottage. Everything was as discussed in both the website, and in emails with the manager. Great location - Danville had the better selection of restaurants and grocery store. Doug was great and even helped us with our stream side campfire. Thanks for a relaxing, rural stay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Cabin

    Great Cabin

    • Guest iodine (Wind Gap, Pa)
    • Date of stay 08/31/12
    • Review Submitted 09/02/12
    Our family was just at the cabin for a weekend getaway. The cabin was great and the owner Doug was very helpful.The property was scenic with creekside seating and fire-ring which we used to make Mountain Pies. Plan on return again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Gary

    Gary

    • Guest Gary (Bendersville, Pa)
    • Date of stay 08/10/12
    • Review Submitted 08/17/12
    Had a great weekend, looking forward to visiting again.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Cabin

    Great Cabin

    • Guest Maggie (The Netherlands)
    • Date of stay 07/15/12
    • Review Submitted 08/02/12
    This cabin is a great place to stay. It is clean and comfortable and located right on a small river. There is a canoe and a swing by the water. We enjoyed barbecuing and building fires in the fire pit. The owner is also very nice and helpful. I would highly recommend this cabin to anyone looking for a quiet getaway.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful spot for relaxation and close to Bloomsburg University

    Beautiful spot for relaxation and close to Bloomsburg University

    • Guest Rose (Philadelphia, PA)
    • Date of stay 07/14/12
    • Review Submitted 07/19/12
    My husband and I stayed at the cottage for one night. It was clean and more spacious than I expected. There is a large living room and a long screened in porch with a view of the creek. There is a small kitchen, a bathroom and a small bedroom. There is a futon in the living room and plenty of floor space for kids to sprawl out. The owner lives next door and greeted us when we arrived. There is a canoe and paddle boat for use in the creek. The place is very serene and is on a wooded, quiet road, which was also great for a bike ride. We are Bloomsburg University alumni and drove about fifteen minutes to Bloom for dinner and to spend some time in town. The rest of the evening was spent listening to the sounds of the creek at the cottage and watching the lightening bugs. There is also a tv if you prefer indoor entertainment. This was a parents' getaway for us, but we plan to go back soon with our three kids because the place would be great for them. It is also only a few miles from Knoebels Amusement resort. I would highly recommend a stay at the Mayberry Cottage. You will leave feeling refreshed!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect spot for R&R!

    Perfect spot for R&R!

    • Guest Aileen C. (-)
    • Date of stay 06/29/12
    • Review Submitted 07/07/12
    We loved this vacation rental! We have two small children and were joined by my father for the weekend. We spent the weekend playing on the huge lawn between the back of the house and the creek. The water is very clean in the creek and you can walk right in. Doug has rafts and a canoe, chairs, a fire pit with firewood, and more for your enjoyment. We headed to nearby Knoebels. The screened in porch on the back is large and a great spot for meals and relaxing with the group. The location is absolutely perfect for a relaxing getaway in the country. I hope to come back in the fall.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxing, Hassle-Free, and Beautiful

    Relaxing, Hassle-Free, and Beautiful

    • Guest cin3371 (Spring Grove, PA)
    • Date of stay 06/21/12
    • Review Submitted 06/24/12
    The place was very clean upon arrival and was fully equipped with everything we needed for cooking and cleaning up before we left -- all we needed was our own food, towels, sheets, blankets, pillows, and shampoo. My family spent time fishing, swimming, roasting food over the fire, and relaxing in the serenity of the stunning scenery. The electric was knocked out after a storm, but the friendly property owner checked on us twice, making sure we had everything we needed. If I get the chance, I will return to Mayberry Cottage.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Will become a family tradition!

    Will become a family tradition!

    • Guest kkl (Doylestown, Pa)
    • Date of stay 06/09/12
    • Review Submitted 06/14/12
    We found this cabin online and really had no idea what to expect ...It was awesome! The setting is beautiful. Air conditioner in tip top working order. There was direct tv - didnt have to miss True Blood season premier (Yay)! The cabin was clean and provided everything we could possibly need. Even a canoe and water toys outback for us to use. Doug was wonderful - even stayed up late for our arrival. Thank you so much. We will be returning!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • relaxing

    relaxing

    • Guest Kathy1053 (New Oxford, PA)
    • Date of stay 05/19/12
    • Review Submitted 06/04/12
    Our stay at the cottage was quite relaxing and enjoyable. The young adults floated down the creek of the tubes and had a blast doing that. We older ones just walked and splashed in the creek in front of the property and the toddlers dipped their toes in and walked a bit. In Danville, we bought a small pool at the dollar store for the toddlers to splash in some more. The cottage kitchen was well stocked and Doug is very gracious if there is anything that you need. The few suggestions I have is fix the screen onto the back porch....can be dangerous....someday maybe put stairs leading off the awesome back porch, and the mattress on the bed hurt both my husband's any my backs. We both sleep on firm mattresses and that was very soft so it may not bother someone else but I slept on the couch because that was more firm. Thank you for a week of relaxation......all of us enjoyed our stay.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Manager response: The screen door going onto the back porch was removed in May after it was determined unnecessary since the back porch is screened in already and the lower screen on the door had the potential to snag someone on the way out. Thank you for the comments as we appreciate them and are always looking to improve and achieve the best experience possible for our tenants staying at Mayberry Canyon Cottage.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Hope to return!!!!

    Hope to return!!!!

    • Guest Sue (Redford, MI)
    • Date of stay 08/04/11
    • Review Submitted 08/12/11
    We spent 5 nights here, and hope to make it back again sometime! It is peaceful, beautiful, and the kids (7 and 13) had a blast playing in the creek! We daytripped to Hershey, spent time at Knoebel's and just explored the immediate area! I have already recommended a stay here to several friends!! Thanks Doug! Hope to see you again one day!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • wonderful stay during a very warm weekend

    wonderful stay during a very warm weekend

    • Guest mac (Rockville Maryland)
    • Date of stay 07/21/11
    • Review Submitted 07/27/11
    This is a wonderful cottage on a very quiet country lane overlooking a stream. The AC was essential the weekend we visited and it was great. The kitchen exceeded expectations and we made good use of it. The cottage is spacious and comfortable and the flat screen reception perfect for the Tour de France. You might inquire if you need to bring sheets and towels as I missed this point and the owner was kind enough to provide them. I would definitely stay here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A great place to stay with kids!

    A great place to stay with kids!

    • Guest Kari (Lancaster County, PA)
    • Date of stay 06/27/11
    • Review Submitted 06/29/11
    Our family of 8 stayed at this great cabin. All the kids bunked in the big living room which they had such a good time doing. This cabin is close to Knobels, and has a wonderful clean creek in the backyard that the kids just had a blast in. The rental had a small blow up boat that the kids paddled around in too. It was such a fun vacation we hope to come up and stay again sometime!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great place

    Great place

    • Guest Asco G. (Exton, Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 05/28/11
    • Review Submitted 05/31/11
    We had a wonderful time. Thank you Lindsey and Doug.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Much needed respite

    Much needed respite

    • Guest dame (emmaus, pa)
    • Date of stay 05/20/11
    • Review Submitted 05/23/11
    Just spent 2 nights at Doug's cottage for a family getaway to Knoebels. Everything was wonderful - beautiful property and the cottage was extremely well-kept. It has everything you could possibly need for a stress-free vacation. Highly Recommended!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • mayberry

    mayberry

    • Guest jen (hamburg ny)
    • Date of stay 02/04/11
    • Review Submitted 05/16/11
    What a place..My husband had business in the area and stayd at MAYBERRY cottage for three weeks.I joined him for the last two weeks of his job and found a fascinating peice of haven.Lindsay,Doug,great people..RELAXING.. We cannot wait to go back for more calm picturesque views&sounds..GO..I swear u will b glad u did.Thanks to all @ MAYBERRY cottage.... JS

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]