Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Overlook Cabin Atop the Blue Ridge Mountains [#323812] | View Property

Bent Mountain
Cabin, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 4)
$200/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (29)

Sort by:
  • Exquisite Cabin. Loving details. Beautiful view.

    Exquisite Cabin. Loving details. Beautiful view.

    • Guest Edward B.
    • Date of stay 01/24/14
    • Review Submitted 01/28/14
    Hostess couldn't have been more accommodating. Wonderful weekend retreat. Very private. Nice home for a few days (or more). As has been mentioned, pictures do not do the cabin or the surroundings justice.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Incredible Cabin with Amazing Owners

    Incredible Cabin with Amazing Owners

    • Guest Anne (Stuart, Florida)
    • Date of stay 01/13/14
    • Review Submitted 03/16/14
    We stayed at this cabin for a week in January. It was so unique and perfect in every way. It is difficult to describe the experience! The cabin is authentic, comfortable, and luxuriously furnished with the best of everything. The beds were very, very comfortable, and I loved soaking in the tub, looking out the window at the beautiful view. The fireplaces are wonderful, and one of my favorite days was during a snow storm. I spent the entire day curled up on the sofa in front of the fire, and read 2 books! The cabin is a perfect get away, and the views are amazing. You truly have to see it to understand how unique and perfect this property is. Other reviewers are accurate... it is even better than the pictures! While there, my brother had a medical emergency, and the owners were incredibly helpful in every way. I cannot express how much we appreciated everything they did to assist us. Jill is simply the best! While staying at the Overlook Cabin, I thoroughly enjoyed the local Bistro, which is located nearby. The food there was delicious, and the staff very friendly and helpful. It is a short drive from the cabin, and I highly recommend eating there. Even after I left the cabin and stayed in Roanoke, I drove back up to the Bistro several times for dinner! Loved it! I rent homes frequently as I travel, and have never found any rental better than this one... I highly recommend it for those seeking a perfect retreat.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fall mountain escape

    Fall mountain escape

    • Guest E &J (Arlington, Va.)
    • Date of stay 10/27/13
    • Review Submitted 10/30/13
    This cabin, for us, met the highest standards of Southern comfort, beauty and tranquility. The owners were gracious, and helpful. Everything imaginable was provided. The furnishings were lovely. The view from the front porch was certainly one of the best in the blue ridge. The cabin has been meticulously restored and maintained. For us, this was the perfect place to stay....to enjoy the woods, the trails, the quiet, the wildlife and read our books by the fireplace....the ultimate retreat.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Rustic Modern

    Rustic Modern

    • Guest Doug W. (Sagamore Hills, OH)
    • Date of stay 10/14/13
    • Review Submitted 10/27/13
    The cabin shows it's original charm with modern conveniences. Great privacy and mountain views. Recommend bringing food or snacks before arrival. Though not totally isolated, there is no short run to the nearest grocery. Expect smokey fires regardless which fireplace you use, but this only adds to the ambiance. We highly recommend.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • our week in the woods

    our week in the woods

    • Guest Katharine (United States)
    • Date of stay 08/07/13
    • Review Submitted 08/19/13
    Our choice of this property was greatly influenced by other reviews, and we agree with them all. The cabin is gorgeous, private, comfortable, and woodsy all at the same time. We appreciated the high quality of kitchen appliances, cookware and china as we ate in most of the time. Private trails offered hours of fun, and we even caught blue gill in the little pond down the hill. Nothing was better, however, than hours of staring at the Overlook view from the front porch. It was unseasonably cool and rainy while we were there and the wood we found laid in the downstairs fireplace was much appreciated, as were the fresh cut flowers we found on our arrival. Owner, Jill, made us feel very much at home.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A slice of paradise

    A slice of paradise

    • Guest V- (PA)
    • Date of stay 08/05/13
    • Review Submitted 08/17/13
    I hate to admit how wonderful this place is because I don't think I want to share. lol The post that stated this was not a kid friendly location was truly mistaken. It was a slice of paradise with quality family time. The kids loved the hiking trails, pulling large bass from the pond, roasting marshmallows in the outside fireplace, playing flashlight hide and seek. And then when it got dark the three dimensional tic tac toe was a huge hit. My only recommendation would be to bring your groceries with you because it is a hike into town. And I would have loved to had a blender. The views can not even be described. Thank you Jill, I'd love to be back for a nice girls weekend.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Highly recommend!

    Highly recommend!

    • Guest Barb (Wisconsin)
    • Date of stay 07/28/13
    • Review Submitted 08/05/13
    This was one of the nicest home rentals we have ever stayed in. The restored cabin was beautiful, comfortable and had everything we needed. The outdoor fireplace and patio were so nice for a place to sit in the evening. The views from the front porch were magnificent. We hope to be back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fabulous Getaway - Not to be missed!!!

    Fabulous Getaway - Not to be missed!!!

    • Guest Lynn (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 05/04/13
    • Review Submitted 05/15/13
    My husband and I have traveled quite extensively and stayed at many B&B's and luxury cabins in the mountains. This is by far one of our most memorable. The owners have left nothing unattended to especially all the small touches. The outdoor fireplace was such a lovely way to make the outside warm and inviting! We visited with our family on one of the 3 nights and they just loved it! We spent the other 2 nights in the Overlook Cabin together enjoying the nature surrounding the cabin. It was a fabulous place to relax and unwind with all the comforts of home at your fingertips! Thanks Jim and Jill for making this such a wonderful experience!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Awesome Cabin

    Awesome Cabin

    • Guest Casey O.
    • Date of stay 04/05/13
    • Review Submitted 04/12/13
    Photos online do not do this place justice! Beautiful! Owners were very nice and accommodating. Very clean and well kept cabin. The kitchen was fully stocked, the beds and linens were very comfortable.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A piece of heaven....

    A piece of heaven....

    • Guest Amy L.
    • Date of stay 03/28/13
    • Review Submitted 03/31/13
    My husband and I just returned from a place that is truly heavenly....the Overlook Cabin. Everything was simply perfect - from the picturesque wide open mountain views to the charming old world detail of the cabin. The wonderful owners have built a place in which you feel you are taken back in time (with every modern convenince you could want). We believe that everyone should put this place on their bucket list....you will not be disappointed!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Amazing

    Amazing

    • Guest Paul & Melissa (Richmond VA)
    • Date of stay 02/01/13
    • Review Submitted 02/06/13
    The perfect winter cabin getaway. The ideal place to enjoy a hilltop retreat, with an incredible view, wonderful woods and scenery, and great hiking trails. The cabin is spacious, comfortable, and a great mix of historic charm and modern amenities.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Pefect Getaway!

    Pefect Getaway!

    • Guest StevKel (Virginia)
    • Date of stay 11/09/12
    • Review Submitted 11/16/12
    My wife and I use VRBO often and have always had great experiences, however, this was absolutely the best ever!! The home was well equiped and maintained, the hosts were fabulous and the views are exquisite!!! We would highly recomend this home and will definateyl be returning.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • we love overlook cabin!

    we love overlook cabin!

    • Guest jeff and chris (fort myers,fl)
    • Date of stay 10/21/12
    • Review Submitted 11/10/12
    sorry this is late, but still getting over not being at overlook cabin anymore. my husband and i rented the cabin for 4 days and nights in late october. we have never stayed in a place more beautiful or serene.everything about this property was right on, including the 450 acres around the cabin. we are still in awe over the beauty of overlook cabin, i truely believe this should be in southern living magazine for one of the most beautiful places to visit. the hospitality shown by the owners jim and jill was unbelievable, after our short stay, i felt as if we knew them for years! can't wait to book our next stay here!!! thanks again, we had the best time in overlook cabin! christine and jeff burke

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Heavenly.

    Heavenly.

    • Guest Stephanie (Harrisonburg, VA)
    • Date of stay 09/26/12
    • Review Submitted 09/30/12
    Hard to find words to do it justice! A great to place to get away, reconnect and relax (we ventured off to celebrate our anniversary).The cabin itself is gorgeous and impeccably decorated down to the tiniest detail, the view from the front porch overlooking all of Roanoke and the mountains is breathtaking and we LOVED having dinner and wine around the outdoor fireplace. The kitchen is well stocked with good cookware, utensils and appliances and all of the basics... I felt like I was cooking at home. The hiking around the 450 acre property was also a treat. We loved everything about it and the owners are also most gracious and were a pleasure to meet! We will be returning no doubt!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • WONDERFUL CABIN, WONDERFUL OWNERS!!

    WONDERFUL CABIN, WONDERFUL OWNERS!!

    • Guest xmasgirl (Washington, DC)
    • Date of stay 09/01/12
    • Review Submitted 09/17/12
    My friends and I spent Labor Day weekend at Overlook Cabin and had an amazing time! The cabin itself was entertainment for our group, but the main attraction was the beautiful woods surrounding it. We took in the view over coffee each morning, went on several hikes, and saw a bunch of wildlife and a gorgeous lily pond. The incredible bath tub and divine shower welcomed us back at the end of each day, and the cozy outdoor fireplace was our favored gathering place at night. The cabin has everything you need to feel at home. Plus, in the event that the power goes out - which it did briefly during a short, blustering rainstorm - a back up generator kicks in and the cabin is still fully functional. The owners are totally lovely, and even offered to stock up some groceries for us - AMAZING! Bottom line: This cabin is a gem and a steal for the price!! We can't wait to come back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Amazing two days in Paradise

    Amazing two days in Paradise

    • Guest Dreifke Family (North Va)
    • Date of stay 07/31/12
    • Review Submitted 08/02/12
    Thank you Jim and Jill. Woltz. We are so grateful, for the two nights we stayed in your rustic, yet modern cabin with modern amenities gourmet kitchen, the Westin shower and overall antiques made a great combination that made our stay comfortable and fun. We truly will remember your cabin for the history and stories behind that door dated back to 1854!!! Many thanks, from the Dreifke Family

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • fantastic cabin

    fantastic cabin

    • Guest Bill (Evanston, IL)
    • Date of stay 07/26/12
    • Review Submitted 08/08/12
    Everything about this property was great. Spectacular setting with amazing views, all the amenities you could want and we saw a bear. The owners are gracious and accomodating.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • fantastic cabin

    fantastic cabin

    • Guest Bill (Evanston, IL)
    • Date of stay 07/26/12
    • Review Submitted 08/08/12
    Everything about this property was great. Spectacular setting with amazing views, all the amenities you could want and we saw a bear. The owners are gracious and accomodating.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Luxurious cabin in pristine natural setting...the perfect getaway!

    Luxurious cabin in pristine natural setting...the perfect getaway!

    • Guest Amy (Baltimore)
    • Date of stay 05/30/12
    • Review Submitted 06/08/12
    This beautiful cabin has been lovingly restored in every way-- from the expert stone-masonry in the chimneys to the interlacing tree branch railings on the porches. Its construction from wood logs that still have the original axe marks from the 1800's adds to the ambiance here. A prior review from last year mentioned insect issues, but I found this not to be the case during our stay. Actually, the lack of insects inside a cabin located in such a deeply wooded environment is a testament to how well the owners care for this property. There weren't even mosquitoes outside! The cabin is beautifully furnished and provides a luxurious way to enjoy this pristine mountain environment. The overlooks along the nearby Blue Ridge Parkway pale in comparison to the spectacular view from the front porch! The hiking trails around the cabin were an added bonus and provided a great opportunity to further explore this beautiful place. The hospitality of the owners and their generosity with provided items was an unexpected and welcome change to prior rental experiences. We will definitely be returning here and I highly recommend the Overlook Cabin to all those who would like to truly "get away from it all." Five stars!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Mountaintop Experience!

    Wonderful Mountaintop Experience!

    • Guest Bob (Hendersonville, TN)
    • Date of stay 05/30/12
    • Review Submitted 06/05/12
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Overlook Cabin and the surrounding area! The cabin had a homey atmosphere with many extra included amenities. The spectular view was unequaled! We definitely want to thank Jim and Jill for their hospitality. It definitely was a 5-star experience, and we are already planning on returning!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Awesome getaway!

    Awesome getaway!

    • Guest Matt (Norfolk, VA)
    • Date of stay 05/25/12
    • Review Submitted 05/29/12
    What an inspiration! We arrived and immediately fell in love with The Overlook. The pictures just do not do a justice. It's well maintained and well decorated! We mainly vegged out at the cabin but we occasionally ventured out around the land surrounding the cabin and to some of the trails in the area (roanokeoutside.com). The drive into Roanoke isn't bad - only about 30 minutes or so - it's a neat little drive too (we recommend Blue 5 restaurant in downtown Roanoke). We also visited some of the local wineries (Blue Ridge & Virginia Mountain Wineries were our favorites), but to be honest, we were always excited to come back to this gem every night. Also, since it's been brought up, the bugs were not really an issue. Yes, there were some, but you're in the mountains and it was obvious the owner had just sprayed - many were dead. And too, this time of year, you're going to run into this everywhere. None of the bugs were a nuisance however. Just an afterthought. We can't wait to visit again soon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful

    Wonderful

    • Guest Polly (Vermont)
    • Date of stay 04/16/12
    • Review Submitted 04/23/12
    One of the most beautiful and relaxing places I have ever been. I highly recommend the cabin as a vacation spot for those who are looking for a place away from the hustle and bustle. The owners are wonderful and the cabin is beautifully done with all the comforts of home and more!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • It Doesn't Get More Perfect Than This

    It Doesn't Get More Perfect Than This

    • Guest librarychic (Alabama)
    • Date of stay 10/27/11
    • Review Submitted 03/28/12
    My husband and I stayed here for the last 3 nights of our honeymoon, following a trip up the Blue Ridge Mountains. We had a surprise ice storm the last two days of our stay, but if you're going to be stuck inside for two days this is the place for it! We spent one whole day just sitting in front of a roaring fire in the living room, reading and relaxing. We also enjoyed something we never do at home- playing checkers on the vintage game set in the living room. I particularly enjoyed the clawfoot bathtub- there was even a book in the bathroom to read called "The Art of Doing Nothing," which was precisely what we did! The furnishings are beautiful, comfortable, and luxurious- many of them antiques obviously chosen with care. The kitchens and bathrooms are very high-end yet homey. The entire house is amazing- I can't imagine the task of rebuilding an 1800s log cabin into a modern-day dream home, but the owners have mananged to do it very well! The setting is most beautiful- you can see the distant lights of Roanoke below at night. The views of the valley are absolutely amazing! Had the weather been nicer, we had planned to go fishing and exploring one day on the property- we will definitely have to return sometime to do that. What little we saw of the property was very beautiful and peaceful, as I'm sure all of it is. The owner is very nice and accomodating and came to check on us after the bad weather. All in all, we had a wonderful, relaxing stay at this property. If you are looking for peace and quiet in a luxurious and historical environment with amazing views, this is the place for you.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Fantastic Getaway!

    Fantastic Getaway!

    • Guest drivingedge (Richmond, VA)
    • Date of stay 10/21/11
    • Review Submitted 10/25/11
    We loved every aspect of this cabin! Perfect location-Cozy Cabin-Amazing views. You need nothing else!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Absolutely over the top, this rental is amazing in every way

    Absolutely over the top, this rental is amazing in every way

    • Guest Mike and Nancy (Toronto, Ontario)
    • Date of stay 08/27/11
    • Review Submitted 10/01/11
    We had an amazing stay at this one of a kind log cabin, from the moment we arrived we were in awe of the views of the mountains, the fires in all 3 fireplaces and the fact that the owners rebuilt this original cabin and then added all the luxuries of a modern home. The week went by way to quick and the photos dont do justice to what you will find when you arrive. We highly recommend this to anyone who wants to cruise the parkway as we did or have a romantic getaway like we will next year. We will definitely be back again soon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Absolutely Wonderful !

    Absolutely Wonderful !

    • Guest John & Lynne (Weirton,WV)
    • Date of stay 08/23/11
    • Review Submitted 08/31/11
    This cabin has everything you could hope for. Very inviting, quiet, cozy, clean, comfortable and very relaxing all with an outstanding view . Setting in the rocking chairs in front of the huge outdoor fireplace was on of our favorite ways to relax .The owners provided everything we needed for a very pleasant stay.They take great pride in this cabin and it showes in every detail. We are very blessed to have stayed in this Jewel On The Mountain ! ( not a stinkbug in sight )

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A little piece of heaven ...

    A little piece of heaven ...

    • Guest Wendy (Florida)
    • Date of stay 07/08/11
    • Review Submitted 07/20/11
    As beautiful and charming as this cabin appears in these photos, they don't come near doing it justice. The setting is totally secluded and beyond breath taking. It couldn't have been more perfect. And beyond that, the owners showed the kind of gracious hospitality that is unheard of these days. We can't wait to go back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful and Amazing, but...

    Beautiful and Amazing, but...

    • Guest Pocket (Washington, DC)
    • Date of stay 05/27/11
    • Review Submitted 06/07/11
    First: this is an absolutely BEAUTIFUL and wonderful cabin. Half of the cabin is an authentic reconstruction of an old 1800's style log cabin and has been completely and lovingly re-done; the other half is a modern construction with all the amenities you could ask for. The inside and outside are wonderful; the land has a stunning view and we spent much of our time just sitting on the porch watching the clouds roll by. The price is more than reasonable and it is truly an amazing cabin and perfect for a romantic getaway or just a lovely weekend stay. The logistics were all very easy and the owners were wonderful and accomodating for all of our requests. Unfortunately, we were also considerably troubled by stinkbugs. We went over Memorial Day and they were everywhere. They were all over the inside of the cabin. We would clean them all out and in an hour they would be back to peak levels, with a few buzzing around and 5-8 of them on the windows. Over the 4 day weekend we must have killed, vacuumed up, or tossed outside over a hundred of them. There were only a few on the new-cabin side, but they swarmed the old-cabin side including the bedroom. Stinkbugs don't bite or sting, but they are annoying and after rounding up enough of them the air did stink a bit. Mostly it was just startling when they would buzz past you or you could see them crawling on a wall. Now we did check around with other people we met and it seems that stinkbugs are a terrible pest that is hitting the Roanoke area particularly badly. They have no natural predators in this country and there isn't much that can be done about them once they are inside. The best guidance on them seems to be to keep them from getting inside by sealing up vents, crawl spaces, etc. Unfortunately the cabin (I assume) simply isn't sealed well-enough to keep them out. No matter how many we tossed out they always made their way back inside. We even tried bug-bombing them one night but it only knocked the numbers down until next morning. IN SUMMARY: This is an absolutely gorgeous cabin at extremely reasonable rates, rented by wonderful people in an amazing setting. However if you are bothered by bugs you should ask whether the stinkbugs have been taken care of or if they are bad that month. I understand they are a seasonal problem, so perhaps some times of the year are better than others. If the stinkbugs were gone I would rent again in a heartbeat.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: My Response When this person stayed at the Overlook there was a crazy flurry of the new, pesty stink bug. I will say we have taken steps to make sure it doesn't happen again by having the property sprayed each quarter. Since that incident, we have not had an issue. There might be a few from time to time but keep in mind, you are in the country, not in the city. We are blessed with not having many annoying mosquitoes or gnats instead, we have the kind of bugs that sing a pleasant song at night as you enjoy the peaceful evenings out by the fire. We have and will continue to work very hard to make sure the quests that come to enjoy our mountain paradise leave with pleasant memories. I would invite you to please read every other review posted. We do not remove any postings and really appreciate all of the kind words the many guests have offered. Jim and Jill Woltz

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • A very special place

    A very special place

    • Guest Aristea (Virginia)
    • Date of stay 03/24/11
    • Review Submitted 03/26/11
    This cabin is a very special place. It's totally relaxing - a great place to unwind. There are many good trails to hike and a beautful meadow and stream. The view is spectacular. The cabin is very interesting - a great combination of 1854 and today - all the lovely amenities with an ambience from another century. It's warm and cozy and has wonderful karma. A great place to totally relax.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]