Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Villa Sea Gate. Back view of the villa.

Sea Gate, Your Private Retreat in Akumal [#324729] | View Property

Akumal
Villa, 4 Bedrooms, 4.5 Baths (Sleeps 8)
$2300-$7500/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (15)

Sort by:
  • The entire experience was fabulous!!!

    Guest comment entered by manager

    The entire experience was fabulous!!!

    • Guest Nadia from Rochester, MN
    • Date of stay 07/31/11
    • Review Submitted 08/26/11
    Casa Sea Gate is a gem. This is our second stay in Akumal (August 2011), and while we also enjoyed the first property we rented on the same block (August 2009), we fell in love with Casa Sea Gate. The property truly is beautiful. Upon our arrival one member of our group couldn't stop saying how overwhelmed she felt because of how beautiful the place was. Not enough good things could be said about the caretakers, Don Gregorio and Margarita. They are SO friendly and professional. They not only keep the grounds in perfect condition, but also go above and beyond to make you feel welcome. For example, Don Gregorio brought us fresh coconuts one night right off the tree. On another occasion, he washed all of our fruit, cut it up, and put it in a serving bowl in the refrigerator. The entire experience was fabulous!!! Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • This visit enhanced our love for Mexico

    Guest comment entered by manager

    This visit enhanced our love for Mexico

    • Guest Ward, Reston, VA
    • Date of stay 06/18/11
    • Review Submitted 08/26/11
    Family and Friends came to Akumal to celebrate our daughter's college graduation and son's engagement.The trip truly enhanced our joy.Many of us are return visitors to Akumal while others were here for the first time.For those returning, this visit enhanced our love for Mexico and Akumal.For the first time visitors, it is clear that they now understand why we constantly talk about the joys of staying in Akumal - they are clearly hooked.Casa Sea Gate was new to all of us but we can assure you we will back.Gregorio and Margarita were amazing hosts and went out of their way to share their home and community.The meal they prepared for us was the best we had during our week of dining - an amazing experience!We will always remember our trip and the kindnesses extended to us by Margarita, Gregorio and the people of Akumal.Thanks to all who made this so wonderful.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What a beautiful location and home!

    Guest comment entered by manager

    What a beautiful location and home!

    • Guest Michael and Katie Noel
    • Date of stay 03/19/11
    • Review Submitted 08/26/11
    What a beautiful location and home!We couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more.Our brother got married at casa Iguana using a priest and priestess and it was not only interesting, but also very moving spiritually.Akumal is far and away our favorite spot in Mexico so far and we will definitely be back.The snorkeling at the beach is just great, we saw 8 sea turtles in one day!!They were tame and not bothered by the numerous people snorkeling in the area.Now to Gregorio and Margarita - WONDERFUL cooks and housekeepers.Delicious chicken fajitas, rice and homemade flan!Gregorio literally rides his bike to Tulum to pick up the food - a 20-30 min. DRIVE!Anyway, thank you to Gregorio and Margarita for making our stay so easy and enjoyable.We couldn't have asked for more!Uh, and be sure to check out La Buena Vida - delicious chiles rellenos!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Made our stay a delight

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Made our stay a delight

    • Guest Michael
    • Date of stay 03/14/11
    • Review Submitted 08/26/11
    Gregorio and Margarita, the property staff, made our stay a delight. Food, weather, location are great. The only problem we had was with the car rental, Autosel; I strongly would not recommend them.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The layout of this house was perfect

    Guest comment entered by manager

    The layout of this house was perfect

    • Guest Julie, Paul, Mary Genevieve and Grey
    • Date of stay 03/12/11
    • Review Submitted 08/26/11
    We love Casa Sea Gate!We have traveled all over and this house with its setting in Akumal is perfect!Gregorio, Margarita y José are wonderful!Their pescado cena was the best meal we had anywhere.We are also huge coconut flan fans as well. The layout of this house was perfect for us and everyone enjoyed being cuddled to sleep with the ocean.I never want to repeat a vacation but this is one time where I would be tempted!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Hermit crabs come out every night

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Hermit crabs come out every night

    • Guest Jefe (Geoff), Claudine, Gemma and Maddie
    • Date of stay 02/12/11
    • Review Submitted 08/26/11
    This is our 4th time being here in Akumal and this is by far one of the nicest houses we've stayed in!Gregorio's cooking is AMAZING! Make sure you try his coconut flan!We also enjoyed evening walks to and from restaurants.Make sure you check out the sand pit out back - hermit crabs come out every night (and they really enjoy fruit loops)Snorkeling at the local beach can be really good, just make sure that you go out on a day that's not super windy.One day we went out, we saw some baby turtles!We also recommend going to Hidden Worlds!There they have ziplines, cenotes, spider monkeys, and cycles you ride on lines in the air!¡Gracias para todo!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What a wonderful vacation!

    Guest comment entered by manager

    What a wonderful vacation!

    • Guest The Urban Family
    • Date of stay 02/05/11
    • Review Submitted 08/26/11
    What a wonderful vacation! 2 weeks in paradise, the first week spent with great friends in the perfect spot to relax.The second week with our children, grandchildren (less relaxing but lots of fun) The pool is terrific and a great size. Gregorio’s cooking was superb and I really want to import his flan.This house has wonderful spots for "getting away" from others and equally good spots to gather.The decorating is lovely (must be done by a real pro!)We just couldn't have asked for anything more.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Akumal is a great area for family vacations

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Akumal is a great area for family vacations

    • Guest The Nerney Clan
    • Date of stay 01/22/11
    • Review Submitted 08/26/11
    We celebrated our 40th anniversary this week with our children and grand children, what a nice time.The villa was perfect for a multi-generation vacation.The little one's had plenty of space in and out.The parents could relax with the beautiful view and the grand parents could retreat upstairs as necessary.The meal that Gregorio and Margarita prepared was fantastic.We were very pleased with the way we were treated and the cleanliness of the villa and the amenities.Akumal is a great area for family vacations.We would love to return.Thank you.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Casa Sea Gate is our home.

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Casa Sea Gate is our home.

    • Guest Irene, Kelly, John, Carol and Mark
    • Date of stay 01/08/11
    • Review Submitted 08/26/11
    The snorkeling was fabulous, The house comfy, food wonderful, especially the dinner Gregorio and Margarita prepared for us. Do not miss Gregorio's flan! It will be the best you have ever tested.After one week we know the roads and feel like Casa Sea Gate is our home.We visited Tulum and Playa del Carmen but spent most of our time right here in Akumal, enjoying the tropical wonderland it offers.Stargazing from the roof was a real treat.We loved the slow peace and relaxation of Akumal and wish we could stay longer - if only to learn more Spanish.Ah well, we shall have fond memories.Muchas gracias!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A graet villa for a private retreat

    Guest comment entered by manager

    A graet villa for a private retreat

    • Guest Paul
    • Date of stay 12/18/10
    • Review Submitted 08/26/11
    A graet villa for a private retreat. Lots of room and privacy inside and out with great ocean views from almost every room and a terrific roof top balcony. Convenient to Akumal restaurants and only a short drive to Tulum for more dining options.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We will definetly recommend this to our friends.

    Guest comment entered by manager

    We will definetly recommend this to our friends.

    • Guest Mike & Jackie
    • Date of stay 02/20/10
    • Review Submitted 08/26/11
    We had an excellent time at Villa Sea Gate. The property was clean and had all of the accomodations we needed. Our caretakers Gregario & Marguerita were very helpful. We highly recommend that everyone try at least one of their dinners. The food is phenomenal. We would recommend staying here to anyone. Having the ocean in the back & pool in the front gives you the best of both worlds. <br/>We will definetly recommend this to our friends.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Thanks for a wonderful experience!

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Thanks for a wonderful experience!

    • Guest Thanks for a wonderful experience!
    • Date of stay 02/01/10
    • Review Submitted 08/26/11
    We have been visiting Akumal for 5 years now with our extended family. During that time, we have added children to our party and so have varied from year to year in our accomodation requirements. Each year we have enjoyed our visit, but have always made our following year's reservations with the intention that we find a house that would better suit our needs. After our most recent trip, however, we have made plans to return to Sea Gate, as it suited us perfectly and even allows space to grow a bit as we will be adding another two children to our party by our next anticipated time of travel. The layout is perfect, and the comfort, decor and ambiance of the house couldnt be better. Thanks for a wonderful experience!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • More Privacy

    Guest comment entered by manager

    More Privacy

    • Guest John
    • Date of stay 12/26/09
    • Review Submitted 08/26/11
    The staff was very nice but they were always there. We would have enjoyed more privacy and not have the staff always knocking on the door to gain access to the kitchen.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Akumal is a great little village

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Akumal is a great little village

    • Guest Geff
    • Date of stay 06/30/08
    • Review Submitted 08/26/11
    The house was great, and the hospitality of the property caretakers was the best of any vacation we have taken to date. Akumal is a great little village, and very convenient to Tulum and Playa del Carmen.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Don't miss Gregor's wonderful cooking

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Don't miss Gregor's wonderful cooking

    • Guest Katalin
    • Date of stay 04/07/07
    • Review Submitted 08/26/11
    Don't miss Gregor's wonderful cooking.... and check out the pay-for-snorkeling in the lagoon early in your trip so you can go agan!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]