Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
HappyOurs Ranch,50 acre paradise is quiet and secluded, but only 1 mile from Hwy

Unique Cowboy Cabin/Bunkhouse @ Happyours Ranch / Rave Reviews [#325278] | View Property

Bryce Canyon National Park
Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths (Sleeps 8)
$169/nt or $1075/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (27)

Sort by:
  • Wow!

    Wow!

    • Guest Llanie (Thousand Oaks, California)
    • Date of stay 08/09/13
    • Review Submitted 08/25/13
    This was by far the best VRBO rental we have ever had!! The bunkhouse is exactly how described and even better. You are a short distance from Zion , Bryce, and the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. We stayed a full week and we wish we could have stayed longer. This is definitely somewhere we would stay again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Another Rave Review

    Another Rave Review

    • Guest dbaker@themarketingunderground.com1 (Austin, TX)
    • Date of stay 08/01/13
    • Review Submitted 08/06/13
    You have already seen the rave reviews. All are well deserved. So rather than repeating what has already been said, let me try another approach for those seasoned VRBO users. Think of places you've rented where the accommodations were nice and the location was excellent but there was something missing. Maybe a lack of good cooking utensils, bad linens, a lumpy bed, noisy neighbors or nooks that haven't been cleaned in years. Not the case with Karren and Dave's place. You'll be hard pressed to find a single complaint. Thank you so much Dave and Karren. Your cabin is a delight and your thoughtful suggestions made our visits to Bryce and Zion better than expected. We arrived safe and sound last night and are already planning our next visit. PS - We did take the route you suggested back home and it was breathtaking. Thanks again for all the suggestions.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Rustic Charm

    Rustic Charm

    • Guest Cathy and Dennis (Palm Desert, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/07/13
    • Review Submitted 07/18/13
    This charming cabin is nestled in the mountains of Glendale, Utah, and there is no more perfect place to stay, if you are planning hikes into Zion, Cedar Breaks, and Bryce! The cabin is warm and cozy, with lots of windows, as well as three doors with screens leading to the green, green outdoors. We are convinced we found a little slice of heaven! Our hosts, Karren and Dave, warmly greeted us upon our arrival, and offered many suggestions for places to go and see. They made our trip feel like a visit with family! They have lived on the ranch for almost thirty years, and the bunkhouse is quite simply a labor of love with a generous amount of warm hospitality! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • HappyOurs Ranch

    HappyOurs Ranch

    • Guest stephmw (United States)
    • Date of stay 06/25/13
    • Review Submitted 07/02/13
    Awesome! This was just right. We were able to make breakfast and dinner to limit eating out during our vacation. The next time we come to Bryce and Zion we will book with Happy Ours.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What a Gem!

    What a Gem!

    • Guest Lynn (Rocky Mount, NC)
    • Date of stay 06/20/13
    • Review Submitted 06/23/13
    Absolutely loved HappyOurs Ranch & Bunkhouse! It is a very clean, very spacious, well-appointed rental. The owners were very informative & friendly without being intrusive. We loved coming "home" at the end of the day & enjoyed cooking at the cabin. We had 4 days & 5 nights in the cabin & easily did Zion, Bryce & the North Rim. I worried that it would be too much driving but the area is so beautiful & diverse we never tired of the scenery! We did a horse/mule ride down into Bryce Canyon that was amazing. We spent almost 2 full days in Zion & really enjoyed the Canyon Rim Trail & the Narrows. The North Rim was well worth the drive. All in all, a great trip. Make sure to stock up on groceries in St. George but we did use the corner grocery a bit. Ate at the Buffalo Bistro - very good & a lot of fun! We have done several other trips similar to this & all through VRBO & agreed this was one of, if not, the best. I would absolutely recommend it to friends. Thanks to Karren & Dave for being great hosts!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • An ideal base for Southern Utah adventures

    An ideal base for Southern Utah adventures

    • Guest Refueling on Vacation (Seattle, WA, USA)
    • Date of stay 05/17/13
    • Review Submitted 05/30/13
    My partner and I spent nine nights at the Bunkhouse in May and loved it. Our hosts, Karren and Dave, struck a perfect balance of allowing us complete privacy, and warm, welcoming access to them as needed. They have a wealth of history to share regarding the demographic and geographic history of the area. The Bunkhouse is clean and fully functional. It's also conveniently situated between Zion and Bryce National Parks, making daily hikes in both easily accessible. The drive down to the North Rim of the Grand Canyon was an beautiful 2.5-hour drive away--completely do-able as a day trip and hike into the Canyon. Do stay at the Bunkhouse if you can!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • family meeting

    family meeting

    • Guest Florence (Paris)
    • Date of stay 08/30/12
    • Review Submitted 09/18/12
    a fantastic place, warm and cosy, very family oriented!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The perfect choice!

    The perfect choice!

    • Guest Susan T.
    • Date of stay 07/09/12
    • Review Submitted 07/18/12
    There were a lot of options for vrbo rentals in the Bryce Canyon/Zion NP area, and we feel very grateful that we chose the perfect one for this trip with our grandson! Believe me, no cowboy ever had a bunkhouse like this one! Our hosts were gracious, welcoming, and accommodating. They thought of every detail and provided everything one could ask for in this lovely and peaceful home away from home. Proximity to both the parks, as well as the north rim of Grand Canyon, made it possible to see the most amazing sights! We hiked, we rafted, we rode horses, and we marveled at the treasure of our national parks. And following those busy, active days, we had the perfect place to relax and enjoy the peaceful canyon that houses Happy Ours Ranch! Thank you Karin and Dave!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect getaway

    Perfect getaway

    • Guest Karen (Canton, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 07/05/12
    • Review Submitted 07/17/12
    Happyours Ranch was absolutely perfect for our family of 6. The bunkhouse was even nicer than it appears in the photos. The kids loved the bunkroom and the adults enjoyed the space to relax. Dinners on the patio were so relaxing. Location is convenient to Zion, Bryce, Grand Staircase and several nice state parks. And David and Karren truly made you feel at home. Just remember to plan shopping for food as grocery stores are further away than us city folk are used to:)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Location and Hosts

    Perfect Location and Hosts

    • Guest Eric (Nashville, TN)
    • Date of stay 07/01/12
    • Review Submitted 11/26/12
    Our family stayed here over the 4th of July holiday and toured Zion and Bryce. We had a large crowd of 5 adults and 2 kids and the accomodations were perfect. The family lived on site and were very accomodating. Part of the house was an old bunk house and they added onto it. It is a perfect location in being central to both National Parks. If you arrive on a Sunday, come with food, because most of the groceries in the area are closed. I would also plan on doing shopping in St. George, as the local stores are very small.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Southern Utah Vacation Home

    Great Southern Utah Vacation Home

    • Guest Kentucky Gators (Louisville, Kentucky, USA)
    • Date of stay 06/24/12
    • Review Submitted 07/06/12
    This was the perfect vacation home for sightseeing in Southern Utah and Northern Arizona. It was central to everything that we wanted to do. Karren and Dave were wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome. It was like we were staying with family. The property was beautiful and the bunkhouse was beautifully furnished with everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. What a great vacation. Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks were spectacular but we also enjoyed visiting Coral Pink Sand Dunes State Park and the Grand Canyon. We look forward to staying here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Base Camp in Southern Utah

    Perfect Base Camp in Southern Utah

    • Guest Joanne (Allen, TX)
    • Date of stay 06/06/12
    • Review Submitted 06/23/12
    What can I say that hasn't already been said? Dave and Karren's Bunkhouse is the perfect base camp for a vacation in Southern Utah. Our family of seven spent a week and would have loved to stay longer. We didn't drive past any other cabin in our exploring that could compare to our "home" in Lydia's Canyon. What a treat to come back to the quiet and comfort of the beautiful cabin at the end of each day. Dave and Karren have done everything possible to make you feel at home - snacks for your arrival, laundry detergent for the oh-so-convenient washer and dryer, and even things you didn't know you'd need until you found them. What a treat to relax on the porch at the end of a busy day and watch the hummingbirds feed and the aspen leaves flutter in the breeze.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Cowboy cabin

    Cowboy cabin

    • Guest Jay (Thailand)
    • Date of stay 05/25/12
    • Review Submitted 06/03/12
    We thoroughly enjoyed our week stay here with Dave and Karren as hosts. There were five adults and the place was completely outfitted from a great kitchen and BBQ to two very nice full bathrooms. The best was the location which is tucked back under beautiful aspen trees with hummingbirds and little wobblers keeping us company while we read or napped put on the front porch. We took long walks and runs along the road that runs up the canyon in the early mornings, got to Brice Canyon, Zion, Red Canyon, Ceadr Breaks and Kodachrome Canyon within an hour for great hikes. Dave and Karren were great hosts who were always available to answer our questions in their house at the bottom of the hill but very respectful of our privacy. We would go back the next time we get out that way and would recommend it to anyone.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What a great place!

    What a great place!

    • Guest Amy (Cohasset, MA)
    • Date of stay 05/21/12
    • Review Submitted 06/03/12
    We had only a few days to stay at the Bunkhouse and meant to use it as a base for trips to Zion but we loved it so much that we never left. Lydia's Canyon is absolutely beautiful. The bunkhouse was incredibly clean, well-stocked and appointed and extremely comfortable. The back porch is lovely, the hosts are warm and engaging but not intrusive. We highly recommend this spot and would love to go back. Maybe we will make those trips to Zion, or maybe we will again spend our time walking up and down this beautiful canyon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Eclipse Viewing Trip

    Eclipse Viewing Trip

    • Guest Donna Laue (Eugene, OR)
    • Date of stay 05/18/12
    • Review Submitted 05/23/12
    wonderful hospitality, the quality of the bunkhouse was amazing. I'd stay here again the next time I'm in the area. Absolutely loved it. Don't be scared off by the outside corrugated metal front (looks like something out of Deliverance for an instant - but it's to retain some of the nostaligic history of the bunkhouse). When you walk inside it's just HOME. My husband has been in construction his whole adult life & was so impressed with the quality of the work and love that was put into the refurbishing of this bunkhouse. It's a great retreat! And I personally think it would be a great girls' weekend away spot!!! It's right between Zion & Bryce--Perfect!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A beautiful week in Utah

    A beautiful week in Utah

    • Guest randy (Central New York)
    • Date of stay 09/22/11
    • Review Submitted 10/01/11
    Our one week vacation @ "The Bunkhouse" was awesome a great retreat for anyone who wants to have peace and quiet and to also see some of the most beautiful national parks and scenery we have in our great country. The location was perfect ,the accommodations were much more then we expected and was a perfect ending to each day to relax and enjoy all the tranquility it offered. David and Karren were very welcoming and friendly. We definitely plan to return!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect for touring Southern Utah

    Perfect for touring Southern Utah

    • Guest Cindy (Boiling Springs, PA)
    • Date of stay 08/26/11
    • Review Submitted 10/11/11
    WOW! What a fabulous place. Happy Ours Ranch was a special treat in the middle of our travels. It is everything the listing describes and more. So homey and comfortable. Anything any traveler could want or need is here. Karren and David really considered what folks need to feel welcome and relaxed. The Bunkhouse is clean and private. Our hosts were as friendly and helpful and accomodating as family. In fact, we just might come back to Utah to visit with them. It is a wonderful spot for seeing some of the primary sights in Souther Utah. Very warm, comfortable and pleasant. We were so pleased to have found it. We were four adults traveling together and we were very pleased with the laundry and bathroom setup. The beds were very comfortable. We would highly recommend this property to anyone who is going through that area.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Quiet and comfortable

    Quiet and comfortable

    • Guest Ted5 (Sammamish WA)
    • Date of stay 08/20/11
    • Review Submitted 09/14/11
    Coming from the Northwest, we had to endure many hours of driving to get to HappyOurs Ranch. However, this destination was well worth it due to the cleanness and pricing which were better than that of hotels! The convenient location provided easy access to several nearby national parks along with several other sites such as Lake Powell. The comfortable beds felt really wonderful after exploring the parks, and the shower was very refreshing after hiking for half a day. Seeing the stars at night was made simple by the beds out front because they provided a soft place to sit and lie down on. The hosts, Dave and Karren, were able to give us suggestions on which attractions to visit. We highly recommend others to come visit this unique location."

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Warm Hospitality, Comfort and Charm!

    Warm Hospitality, Comfort and Charm!

    • Guest roxannerocks (New England, USA)
    • Date of stay 08/09/11
    • Review Submitted 08/28/11
    Our family just returned from an extensive cross country trip, and Happy Ours was a highlight of our travels. Dave and Karren gave us a lovely welcome and were great hosts during our visit. The bunk house is new, with very comfortable custom beds, spacious clean bathrooms and very nice shared spaces. The bunk house is in an ideal location, and it was so nice to tour the many National Parks, points of interest and State Parks in the area and then be in a well-appointed home each evening. We appreciated the nature, beauty and tranquility of Happy Ours and the good humor and friendliness of the owners. Our children particularly enjoyed the Kane County Rodeo! We are a group of six, and we found that the bunkhouse was perfect for our sized group. The kids enjoyed the spacious bunk area, and my husband and I appreciated the quiet and privacy of the loft bedroom. Our sons loved exploring the area, hiking to an old bat cave or walking down the road past the grazing horses. We are sharing information about this special place with all of our friends and family.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • wonderful time

    wonderful time

    • Guest Rick (Bradenton, Florida)
    • Date of stay 07/23/11
    • Review Submitted 08/13/11
    My family has just returned to Florida from our wonderful vacation in Utah. Our first week was spent at the Bunkhouse at Happy Ours Ranch. The property was nicely appointed and very comfortable. The owners were very helpful without being intrusive. The pictures, though accurate, cannot convey the beauty of the property, the community, and the setting. It was a great location for visiting several natural beauties ie: Cedar Breaks, Zion and Bryce....and when we needed to rest, the bunkhouse was perfect.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful home in a wonderful area

    Wonderful home in a wonderful area

    • Guest michelle (Waukegan, IL)
    • Date of stay 06/11/11
    • Review Submitted 06/25/11
    We have stayed in vacation rentals all around the country and Happy Ours is one of the very best. It is an easy drive to both Zion and Bryce Canyon (plus quite a few more interesting places) but it is a little off the main road, so it is peaceful and quiet. The home was lovingly built and charmingly decorated by Dave and Karren, the hosts, and don't let the term Bunkhouse fool you - no cowboy had it this nice! The bunk room has 4 beds with comfortable mattresses. There is a second bedroom upstairs if you want privacy. The kitchen has everything you need to cook and serve your meals. The leather couches in the living room are comfy (we wanted to take them home!) and there is WiFi and a diverse movie library - but no cell phone coverage. (This didn't really bother us at all!) Dave and Karren were so friendly that we felt we were visiting old friends. Even our 12 and 15 year old kids enjoyed talking with them. They made us wish we had booked a longer stay! The area is beautiful, the home is wonderful, the hosts are charming. We highly recommend Happy Ours Bunkhouse!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Paradise in Southern Utah

    Paradise in Southern Utah

    • Guest neephee (Mesa)
    • Date of stay 06/02/11
    • Review Submitted 07/12/11
    Happy Ours is an idyllic place for anyone traveling to Southern Utah. It is situated between Zion National Park and Bryce Canyon, making them it a very nice stay for those wanting to explore either park, or on the way to another more Northern location. For the same or less then a hotel stay, you have location, privacy and two wonderful hosts to take care of your every need. Everything is supplied and newly built, so it's especially clean and well maintained. The cabin itself is spacious and accommodates most any family with plenty of outdoor area to spread. The setting is like the sort of place you imagine in story books; rolling hills, meandering meadow, back into the woods, babbling brook nearby, horses, peace and privacy. Be sure to stock up on groceries before arriving as there are not many grocers or restaurants in town. The kitchen is fully loaded so bring what you need and enjoy your stay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great base camp for meeting and exploring

    Great base camp for meeting and exploring

    • Guest NY Oregon traveling buddies (New York-Oregon)
    • Date of stay 05/27/11
    • Review Submitted 06/12/11
    Bunk House doesn't really do justic to descibing the accomodations. This is like being home only better. So comfortable,beautifully decorated, has all the amentities. All you need to do is show up with friends and food! Dave and Karen made us feel like long lost relatives. When we got to the cabin they were ready for us with snacks and fruit and lots of ideas for site seeing. They know the area and what to see. We loved our stay this was a great experience for all of us!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A wonderful experience!

    A wonderful experience!

    • Guest Jo (Utah)
    • Date of stay 10/10/10
    • Review Submitted 01/12/11
    We loved our bunkhouse experience. The furnishings are unique without being fussy. The beds and furniture are comfortable. The views are fantastic. My favorite part was the quiet outdoors and wonderful clean air. I could sit on the porch and read or knit for hours in the wonderful peace of the mountain. I'd recommend the bunkhouse to everyone. Kids could explore, go hiking, and grandpa can take a nap. A great family experience.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Rejuvenating

    Rejuvenating

    • Guest fablehaven (Lakeland, Florida, USA)
    • Date of stay 09/05/10
    • Review Submitted 01/16/11
    Remote enough for solitude, yet within easy driving distance of many world-famous natural wonders, the Bunkhouse has all the modern conveniences while retaining the atmosphere and flavor of a bygone era. Everything was new, clean, and comfortable, something the early cowboys only dreamed of. Whether relaxing and listening to the wind in the pines, or exploring the local canyons and parks, our time at the Bunkhouse was rejuvenating. We highly recommend it.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Bunkhouse

    Bunkhouse

    • Guest Jesse (Highland, Utah)
    • Date of stay 08/13/10
    • Review Submitted 01/14/11
    Comfortable cabin with a great atmosphere. I highly recommend bringing the family and staying for the weekend retreat.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Base for our Vacation!

    Wonderful Base for our Vacation!

    • Guest Lisa (New Mexico)
    • Date of stay 07/18/10
    • Review Submitted 01/14/11
    It's always tricky vacationing with kids, so we were so happy when we pulled up to this bunkhouse after some long and aggravating days of traveling. I am always worried that my high-strung children will break flimsy motel furniture and keep me stressed out with my constant pleading that they be careful. No worries here - this place is STURDY! Well-built, solid logs and planking are everywhere, from the porches to the bunkbeds (which had nice, comfortable mattresses). The property is pretty new and everything is in great shape. The photos are of the actual property. The pond is just down the road a few thousand yards. The porches are on the south side of the bunkhouse, with vehicle parking on the north and east. Wonderfully, the laundry room and one of the bathrooms are accessed off one of the porches, so you can handle the sweaty, dirty clothes, equipment and bodies without tracking it inside! I wish our house was set up more like this! This place is in easy driving distance to all the places we were going (Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks; Dixie and Kaibab National Forests) and is a welcome spot to relax after full days of outdoor activities. The owners were quick to show us around and even helped us find some of the hidden gems in the area that weren't so crowded. My husband usually hates vacations and "roughing it", but even he found the relaxation he needed. After the kids and I dragged him all over creation, there were hot showers, "movie nights" and soft beds upstairs (and away) from the kids to make it all worth his while. He was in such a good mood that he even helped a bit with the cooking! Truly a place of miracles! We will certainly be coming back to "Happy Ours" and would encourage all our friends and family to make this spot their base for any explorations in southern Utah (but not until we have made our own reservations for the next few seasons)!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]