Luxurious, Private, Central & Bohemian... Best Location & View in Boulder!
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:1-7 nights
- Pets considered:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Boulder house description
We have a beautiful home for you to rent, just minutes from CU & Downtown. It's private and quiet, with incredible views of the front range & Boulder.
It has a very open floor plan, with 2 bedrooms and a loft. There is a collection of art from around the world, including paintings from Brazil and Cuba, rugs and more from Morocco. The kitchen has an array of utensils, appliances and cooking tools, and the cupboards are generally stocked with most basics. Fully furnished, with tasteful touches like granite counters, slate & travertine flooring; walnut trim; a huge deck & hot tub.
Best of all is the view. Huge picture windows and a huge deck open out to a view of the front range from Boulder to Lyons. The deck features a hot tub, grill, Apricot tree and unique hand carved king size bed from Bali. There's not a better view or location in Boulder. There are no cars or people walking by.
We live here, but we're often out of town or out of the country. We have an eco-lodge in Africa (amongst other things) so we are often gone. We rent both our entire home or a private room depending on your need and our schedule.
When we are in town, we rent the private room for $95/night (less if you stay longer). We are very happy to share our space when in town.
Sometimes we have some flexibility to plan our travel dates according to rental opportunities so be sure to let us know whether you are looking for the entire house or just a room.
Keywords: apartment, house, beautiful, mountain, downtown, university, natural, home, nature, chatauqua, university hill, pearl street, boulder, flagstaff, romantic, private, garden, hot tub, retreat, bikes,
- 2000 sq. ft.
- 1 story
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
Please note- this home is not specifically set up as 'children friendly'- there a quite a bit of expensive art & furniture, and so you'll need to maintain fairly strict control of young children. Further, the loft has steep access with an attic ladder- you will have to use at your own (and your childrens own) risk....moreless
- Limited Accessibility:
- Non Smoking Only
- Alternative Lifestyle
Bedrooms: 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6, Beds for 5-6
Bathrooms: 1 Bathroom
- Slate bathroom, with views to the flatirons.
Kitchen & Dining
- Pantry Items:
- Coffee Maker:
- Dishes & Utensils:
- Shared Kitchen
- Cooking Utensils
- Washing Machine:
- Living Room seats 10:
- Wood Fireplace
- Linens Provided
- Clothes Dryer
- Music Library:
- DVD Player
- Satellite / Cable
- Deck / Patio:
- Sports & Activities
- Away From It All
Location & View
- Mountain View
- Not Necessary
- Mountain Biking
- Basketball Court
- Rock Climbing
- Cross Country Skiing
- Jet Skiing
- Mountain Climbing
- Whitewater Rafting
- Water Tubing
- Roller Blading
- Hunting Small Game
- Water Skiing
- Equestrian Events
- Hunting Big Game
- Freshwater Fishing
- Fly Fishing
- Hot Air Ballooning
- Gambling Casinos
- Recreation Center
- Scenic Drives
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Live Theater
- Horseback Riding
- Medical Services
- Massage Therapist
- Fitness Center
- Sight Seeing
- Miniature Golf
- Wildlife Viewing
ReviewsWrite a review
Great house with a beautiful view.
Great house with a beautiful view.
We enjoyed staying in this house over the coldest weekend we have ever experienced. We live in Mobile Alabama and I don't care how dry your cold is -13 is cold. Sooo we spent most of our time in the house enjoying spectacular views of the snow covered mountains outside of Boulder. we kept a fire in the fireplace and really enjoyed time spent with my daughter and her boyfriend. We made many trips in to Boulder to shop, eat, and meditate. Nothing was more than about five minutes from the house. The owner and her property manager where attentive through the weekend and made about five trips to the house to check on the heating system and on us. They were very nice. The house itself is luxurious and well stocked. I think their were at least four ways to make coffee in the morning and the tv must have gotten 500 stations. It was too cold to enjoy the rooftop patio and hot tub so we hope to return for another visit with my daughter in the summer at this same property.
- Guest John (Mobile AL)
- Date of stay 12/05/13
- Review Submitted 12/17/13
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing, girls getaway, adventure seekers.
Reuniting with friends
Reuniting with friends
What a special place! Hillary and Greg were very accomadating. The beautiful artwork and comforts of home made it truly a pleasure. We spent a week in Boulder reuniting with old freinds and enjoying the majestic view. We couldn't have asked for anything more perfect. We will definitely return. Thank you Hillary and Greg for a wonderful stay!
- Guest Ashley W.
- Date of stay 04/05/13
- Review Submitted 04/21/13
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing, girls getaway, age 55+, tourists without a car, families with teenagers, adventure seekers.
Great family trip for foodies in Boulder!!!
Great family trip for foodies in Boulder!!!
Our family trip was awesome!!! the home was very accomodating and comfortable with great views of Boulder, looked great at night with all the lights.The only simple change we would advise is some cozy blankies in the living room. (bed pillows have seen a better day too) the kitchen had everything you could want to cook awesome meals. We had a couple of fantastic candlight dinners with great mood lighting surrounding us. Pearl St. mall was a lot of fun day or night, as foodies we were very pleased, the owner gave the best recommendations on restaurants they were amazing to say the least. The red rocks that you see out the big front windows is a MUST DO!!!!...just park in front or behind and hike & hike & hike...you can choose to stay on trails forever or go straight up the rocks (with some care) and over the other side, great for photo memories. We loved our trip to Boulder it was sad to leave :( but the good news is we can always go back!!! Thanks to Hillary for all your suggestions.
- Guest Foodies in Boulder (Grand Haven MI.)
- Date of stay 03/02/13
- Review Submitted 03/12/13
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, pet owners, sightseeing, girls getaway, tourists without a car, families with young children, families with teenagers, adventure seekers.
Not Worth the Price
Not Worth the Price
The Good: Awesome view of Boulder. Great big kitchen and chill living room. I am sure the deck is good too, but we were there in the winter. The Bad: Needs a very deep clean. Anything that you took out of the cupboard in the kitchen had to be cleaned before use. The floors and the corners were not clean. Very little storage for your own stuff. The washing machine is very old and smells bad (was broken most of our stay.) Surrounded by college students (not always a bad) who moved out and left lots of trash behind that we got to look at and maneuver around. Can hear everything that goes on in the other areas of the house. We contacted the owner and asked for a reasonable refund on part of our stay because of the items mentioned above. He refused and did not really respond to all of our concerns, although he thought that he had. Bottom line -- This place has potential, but it is NOT WORTH THE PRICE. We have stayed in several places in Boulder that were much better kept than this one. We suggest that you keep looking.
- Guest Jessica K.
- Date of stay 12/16/12
- Review Submitted 01/10/13
Owner response: Firstly, we take our our guests' opinions (and their stay) very seriously- we bend over backwards for our guests- as can be seen from the reviews, we have had everyone- bar none- have a great stay. When replying to her concerns (and we did reply to her concerns) we were told that she would not be satisfied unless she got 2 nights free stay. We thought this was excessive. To respond to her criticism- we had the place professionally cleaned the day before she arrived. When she complained of dirt, we had it professionally cleaned again. Her final comment after the cleanings was that she found a lemon under the couch. On her other points: Very little storage for your own stuff. We have a closet & some drawers in each bedroom- I think this is pretty average?!? If the average person has a few suitcases full of things, then we have plenty of storage for that. The washing machine is very old and smells bad (was broken most of our stay.) We repaired the washing machine within 24 hrs when told of the problem; we've since replaced it with a new, state of the art washer / dryer. Surrounded by college students (not always a bad) who moved out and left lots of trash behind that we got to look at and maneuver around. True- there were some graduate students living in the bottom floor, and they did leave trash in the bins for disposal when they moved out for the year at the end of December. Bad timing I guess, but hardly more than an annoyance- we get trash cleared every week. Can hear everything that goes on in the other areas of the house. Well... as the description of the house states- we have a very open floor plan- which is what makes the house so cool. It's hard to have an open floor plan & not hear people around the house- that's logical. The bedrooms are well insulated from the living areas, as is the bottom unit well insulated from the top. Like I said- we do all we can to make sure everyone has a great stay. This is one of the most incredible homes in Boulder- the price is average, and we, and others, think it's great value. I guess there's no pleasing everyone, although we try!
We rented this beautiful home in Boulder, Co for our 13th wedding anniversary. The home was gorgeous! The view from the deck and hot tub was amazing! Estes Park was a short drive away and it was beautiful there. Denver is less thana hour drive away as well. It is a great location. I wish we could have stayed longer. The owners were great and very easy to work with. We would recomend this home to anyone. You will not regret it!
- Guest MJ (Fort Worth, TX)
- Date of stay 10/31/12
- Review Submitted 11/09/12
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing, girls getaway, families with teenagers, adventure seekers.
Stunning home in BoulderGuest comment entered by owner
Stunning home in Boulder
This place was just stunning. Large, open, but very inviting. Amazing view and great launch pad for exploring Boulder. Greg was an awesome host.
- Guest Tree
- Date of stay 07/20/12
- Review Submitted 10/29/12
About as good as it gets.Guest comment entered by owner
About as good as it gets.
Greg and Hillary were fantastic! Super friendly and extemely accomodating! The location was perfect and the view from their deck and front window was about as good as it gets for Boulder. Easy walk to town as well.
- Guest Cameron L
- Date of stay 10/08/12
- Review Submitted 10/29/12
Perfect location, beautiful space
Perfect location, beautiful space
My husband and I went to Boulder for CU parents weekend, met by our oldest daughter who lives in LA. The three of us had very spacious and extremely comfortable accommodations on Jay Street which was a quiet oasis at the end of a dead end street not far from campus. The house has a huge kitchen and spacious living area where we were able to relax. Picture windows overlook the mountains. There's a massive, gorgeous deck off the master bedroom, great for yoga, meditation, reading. I can't say enough good things about this rental. The beds and linens were great, too. The space is the top floor (street level), above what seems like a garden apartment in a strictly residential area. Proximity to any commercial area is about a mile away.
- Guest grocery store mom (Wilmette, Illinois)
- Date of stay 09/27/12
- Review Submitted 10/08/12
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, adventure seekers.
This place is in a beautiful setting, up against the hillside with a lovely view and surrounded by trees, in a very nice area of Boulder. It is very near the Chatauqua area which has plenty of good hiking trails. The owner's mother-in-law lives in the adjacent house with three friendly dogs who like to visit with guests, and she was helpful in giving suggestions about places to go and things to see. The interior is done in lots of natural wood and tile, and the photo with the spiral staircase is an accurate representation of it. The furnishings are nice, there are plenty of dishes and pots and pans. There was a good high-speed wi-fi arrangement. However, it is really a one-bedroom plus loft arrangement, not two like the ad says. The bedroom has a lovely double bed, and the loft has a raised platform with a mattress and a small couch, so if you have a couple in the bedroom you could put another person or maybe a couple in the loft OK, or the loft would be good for a couple of children. The ceiling in the loft is low, however, with a peaked roof that is just about six feet high at the peak, so tall people need to watch their heads. There are two doors to the deck, one from the bedroom and one from the kitchen, and I could not get the deadbolt to work on either one, so we just latched the doors shut; it did not seem to me there was much likelihood of theft due to the location at the top of the gravel driveway and the presence of the dogs nearby, so we didn't worry about it. We were very comfortable in the house and enjoyed relaxing on the deck with our morning coffee and our evening glass of wine, and I recommend it highly, with the limitations noted.
- Guest Phil (Berkeley, CA)
- Date of stay 09/28/11
- Review Submitted 10/08/11
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.
Owner response: It should be noted; the floor plan of the property was completely redone over the winter. We now have 2 bedrooms, plus a loft. The kitchen, dining area and lounge are all open plan, and are around 1400 sq. ft. Each bedroom is around 200 sq. ft. The loft is around 120 sq. ft. The deck is around 1000 sq. ft. We've fixed the locks, also ;-)
Our short stay of two nights and 3 days was hardly sufficient to enjoy the most lovely little house perched on the side of the mountain overlooking absolutely mesmerizing views of Chautauqua and the Flat Irons. It seemed like there was plenty to do, just sitting on the glorious deck and looking out. Super convenient, a short walk to everywhere. Can hardly wait to return.
- Guest Tina (Los Gatos, CA)
- Date of stay 09/25/11
- Review Submitted 10/02/11
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing, girls getaway, tourists without a car.
|Dates||Nightly||Weekend Night||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
|Graduation weekend 2014
May 8 - May 10, 2014
3 night min stay
|My Standard Rate
1 night min stay
Rates are based on 4 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
Additional information about rental rates
You can choose to book just one room ($125/nt) or the entire home ($275/nt); just let us know. If you have 3 or more adults staying, you'll need to book the entire home. More than 4 guests pay a surcharge of $50/ per person, with a maximum of 6.
- Refundable Damage Deposit: $250
- Pet Fee: $50
- 5th person: $50
- Cleaning: $55
- 6th person: $50
- Taxes Included
Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
- Nearest Airport: Denver International at 35 Miles
- Nearest Motorway: Highway 36 at 1 Miles
- Nearest Barpub: The Hill at 0.5 Miles
- Nearest Ski: Eldora at 15 Miles
- Nearest Golf: Flatirons at 1 Miles
- Nearest Restaurant: The Hill or downtown at 0.5 Miles
Year Purchased: 2008
About the owner: We are an Australian-American couple with two grown children now at Univeristy (Stanford & UCL in London). We travel extensively and hope to share our love of the environment, nature and beautiful things with you. Enjoy our amazing views, a walk to the farmers market, Pearl Street Mall, Boulder creek, great restaurants, university and ski slopes - all nearby.
Why the Owner Chose Boulder:
It's unique; beautiful & serene, with great art & comforts. There are amazing 360 degree views of Boulder. Enjoy our hot tub and outdoor Balinese bed.
The Unique Benefits at this House:
Quiet, private, luxurious & centrally located. Bikes to borrow, tea, coffee & some breakfast supplies. Great views, apple TV, carved bed on the deck, hot tub, etc.
- Primary: + (303) 499-6611
- Secondary: + 3034423354
Links to more information:
The view of Mt Sanitas & Boulder in winter
The lounge; comfy couch; large TV; armoir from Morocco; trees, light, art...
Bedroom 1; king bed; walnut wardrobe; romantic, cosy & comfy
Bedroom 2; queen bed, high ceiling, TV & study desk.
Large kitchen. Travertine tile, stainless stove, high-end appliances & cabinets
Art from Brazil; kitchen bar, piano, high-end lighting
Entry to loft; bar to kitchen; art & antique rugs
Hot tub overlooking Boulder. Bed from Indonesia to relax.
Front entry. Fruit trees & grapes along the trellis
180 degree panorama from the deck.
Lounge, dining areas with great views. Fireplace, art, lots of light & greenery.
Large living area with views all the way to Lyons.
Bathroom: slate on walls & floor
Kitchen, open to living area. Washer & dryer behind curtain
View from kitchen to lounge
Our hand carved outdoor bed!
Our view in late summer. Grape vines, apricot, pear & apple trees -full of fruit
BBQ & fridge on deck; stereo & outdoor speakers. View of flatirons in background
View from the living room during winter months.
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2010.
Date last modified - Monday, March 03, 2014
3 Bedroom / 1 Bathroom
Get a rental quote, then book it!
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.