Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

The Bear's Den Private Cabin on Beautiful Acreage [#328501] | View Property

Glenwood Springs
Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Day Bed, 1 Bath (Sleeps 4-6)
$145 - $160/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (34)

Sort by:
  • A Beautiful little house

    A Beautiful little house

    • Guest Björn (Stockholm, Sweden)
    • Date of stay 01/27/14
    • Review Submitted 02/11/14
    The Bear´s Den was very clean and equipped with whatever you might need. Both Matt en Michelle are very freindly and if we responded quickley to all our questions.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Super Clean. Great king size bed and kitchen

    Super Clean. Great king size bed and kitchen

    • Guest mike p.
    • Date of stay 11/08/13
    • Review Submitted 11/13/13
    I would definitely stay there again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent Home away from home

    Excellent Home away from home

    • Guest Mrs. B (Lochbuie)
    • Date of stay 09/29/13
    • Review Submitted 10/06/13
    We loved our stay in the Bear's Den. Just simply a great experience and worth the drive.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Vacation in Glenwood Springs

    Vacation in Glenwood Springs

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/16/13
    • Review Submitted 09/30/13
    We travel quite a bit with our dog and stay in vacation rental homes. This rental house was one of the best we have ever stayed in. The house was super clean and organized. You truely felt at home when you arrived at the Bear's Den. The house has a binder with ideas on things to do and places to eat. It was very helpful and we used it a lot. The house location was perfect. It was a quick drive into town and also secluded so that you could enjoy the mountains. We had a great time in Glenwood Springs and look forward to making a trip back in the future!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great stay at the Bears Den

    Great stay at the Bears Den

    • Guest Hike, Bike & Jeep (Missouri)
    • Date of stay 09/01/13
    • Review Submitted 09/22/13
    The Glenwood Springs area and the Bears Den is an excellent place to spend your Colorado vacation. The Bears Den is as advertised. Clean, well equipped and very comfortable. The owners are very accommodating and a delight to visit with. The area information provided by the owners was very helpful. We will return.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A nice place to relax

    A nice place to relax

    • Guest Bert (New Mexico)
    • Date of stay 08/21/13
    • Review Submitted 08/28/13
    The Bears Den is located in a great place for those of us who wish to have some quiet and not be surrounded by traffic and street lights. We enjoyed the space the house provided compared to renting a hotel room. The location is close enough to town to go at any time the mood suits you. Michelle has decorated the house with lots of personal touches. She goes the extra mile to make you feel welcome when you arrive via home made goodies in the refrigerator and wine.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Cozy Mountain Den

    Cozy Mountain Den

    • Guest Tanna (Sharon Springs, Kansas)
    • Date of stay 08/03/13
    • Review Submitted 08/29/13
    We loved our recent trip to Glenwood Springs and our stay at the Bear's Den. The cabin is exceptionally clean and cozy. We packed all of our food and I was very surprised at the fully stocked kitchen, it was above and beyond my expectations for a vacation home. We would want to go to town in the evenings and the kids just wanted to stay at the cabin and play badminton and horse shoes! We enjoyed our hike to Hanging Lake, rafting, and the day we spent at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park. It was a great vacation and we definitely plan on returning.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Just As Advertised! Awesome!

    Just As Advertised! Awesome!

    • Guest BAM (Colorado Springs, CO)
    • Date of stay 07/25/13
    • Review Submitted 08/04/13
    We were looking to enjoy Glenwood Springs but have peaceful and private evenings. We have never rented a cabin before but thought we would try it. The Bear's Den was perfect. Affordable, Super clean and maintained, and beautifully decorated with comfortable furnishings. The kitchen is fully stocked which allowed us to grill on evenings easily. The cabin also had a large binder complete with information about all the activities available in area such dining, sights, hiking, rafting, hot springs, etc....we used it extensively. Matt and Michelle were incredibly responsive to any questions or needs. Commute to surrounding areas sites was very easy.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Get-Away

    Wonderful Get-Away

    • Guest Jk (Colorado)
    • Date of stay 07/22/13
    • Review Submitted 08/01/13
    This beautifully decorated space has all the comforts of home! All of our needs were anticipated, and the area is gorgeous - close enough to civilization, but secluded enough for relaxation. Our dog was perfectly content, too. We've already begun planning a return trip.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Place to Stay!

    Great Place to Stay!

    • Guest Nate R.
    • Date of stay 07/17/13
    • Review Submitted 07/31/13
    Once you check out the (very) through description and video description of the Bears Den, you get a very accurate description of this great place to stay. What you don't know until you get there, is that the house is very clean, well organized, GREAT information about things/restaurants around town and in a very accessible (yet remote) location. Would gladly stay again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent!

    Excellent!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/13/13
    • Review Submitted 07/19/13
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Bear's Den. Located in a peaceful area, it was a short trip away from all that Glenwood Springs has to offer - including Glenwood Canyon, the Hot Springs, biking, hiking and rafting. The owners' attention to details made this vacation rental a "home away from home". Highly recommended.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Bear's Den

    Bear's Den

    • Guest John (Parker, CO)
    • Date of stay 06/25/13
    • Review Submitted 07/02/13
    Very nice home and a wonderful stay for us and the kids.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Just what we needed

    Just what we needed

    • Guest Cartolina (Colorado)
    • Date of stay 06/22/13
    • Review Submitted 07/08/13
    We were looking for a place in Glenwood that wouldn't break the bank but where our family of four could spread out and our dog could come along. This was just right. The kids loved having lots of open space to explore on the property. The kitchen had all the dishes and utensils you could possibly need. This cozy and fun home provided room for lots of good family time; we would definitely recommend it!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Awesome Place!

    Awesome Place!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/31/13
    • Review Submitted 06/07/13
    We had a great time staying in Bears Den. It was close to the city but still felt secluded and private. I highly recommend this property.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • April Getaway

    April Getaway

    • Guest Crink (Lakewood, CO)
    • Date of stay 04/03/13
    • Review Submitted 04/09/13
    My boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay at the Bear's Den. It was a perfect getaway in a wonderful area. It was so beautiful and nice to be outside of town and have the privacy we wanted. The Bear's Den was incredibly welcoming and clean. It nearly felt like a little cottage in the mountains. Michelle and Matt had a binder of information about Glenwood Springs that was useful in giving us suggestions for activities and restaurants. The kitchen was stocked so we were able to cook instead of going out all of the time which was convenient. Overall the place was absolutely lovely. We will definitely be going back. The only downside was that we happened to be the unlucky couple to be there when the DVD player started going haywire. So we were not able to watch any movies when we came back to relax. But that was a minor issue that is easily (and I'm sure already) fixed.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Bear's Den

    We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Bear's Den

    • Guest Steve A (Denver)
    • Date of stay 01/20/13
    • Review Submitted 01/25/13
    The Bear’s Den far exceeded our hopes for a weekend getaway home. Booking with the owners was seamless allowing for worry and hassle free planning. The payment process was easy, directions were perfect and entry instructions were clear. We were surrounded by nature’s beauty as we approached the property that sits just on the outskirts of downtown Glenwood Springs, but is far enough to feel a slight sense of seclusion. Immediately we felt at home with comfortable furniture, a fully equipped kitchen and welcoming ambiance. We were especially pleased with a mountain view outside of the bedroom window! We did have a question during our stay (wireless connection) the owners quickly responded, happily tending to us. We are thankful for their thoughtfulness, impeccable attention to detail and good ol’ fashion hospitality.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful!

    Beautiful!

    • Guest Kayla L.
    • Date of stay 12/30/12
    • Review Submitted 01/08/13
    My family and I had a wonderful time at the Bears Den. Beautiful view, everything we needed for a wonderful Trip to Colorado! Plenty of room for 4 people + our dog, lovely views and lots of land to enjoy the snow.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • What a wonderful place to stay!

    What a wonderful place to stay!

    • Guest DnA (Monument, Colorado)
    • Date of stay 10/03/12
    • Review Submitted 10/15/12
    My husband and I stayed at The Bear's Den recently to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. The cottage was exactly as Michelle and Matt described and was very neat and clean. We loved all the wildlife viewing from the property to include a visit by some black bears while we were there. One of the cubs was in the front yard one morning and the pix we took of him before he ran off into the brush are amazing! Glenwood Springs offers many activities and amenities and The Bear's Den is within a short drive which makes it an outstanding place to stay. We would highly recommend Fin's for excellent steaks and seafood and of course the Glenwood hot springs pool isn't to be missed! Fall is a great time to visit Glenwood Springs because the crowds are minimal and the fall foliage is spectacular. We highly recommend The Bear's Den and look forward to another stay there in the future!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • One of the best we have stayed at

    One of the best we have stayed at

    • Guest Gary & Patricia (Urbana,Il)
    • Date of stay 09/16/12
    • Review Submitted 09/25/12
    The photos are an accurate depiction of the Bear's Den. What doesn't show is how well organized. stocked and clean the cabin is. We enjoyed the quiet and were pleased with the room darkening shades for peaceful sleep and the rugged views during the day. Definitely would recommend! You cannot go wrong with this rental.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Stay at The Bear's Den

    Perfect Stay at The Bear's Den

    • Guest BA (Heath, Texas USA)
    • Date of stay 09/07/12
    • Review Submitted 09/15/12
    We stayed 5 nights at The Bear's Den and had a wonderful time. We have rented several homes and The Bear's Den definitely had the nicest furnishings and facilities. We love to cook and usually bring our own knives and cookware since most kitchens are filled with hand me downs or garage sale items. We did not even get ours out. The kitchen was stocked with a set of Cuisinart knives and cookware. There is also a wonderful grill in a common deck area across the driveway. Top notch. This cottage is very comfortable and would be perfect for a small family. The outside patio is very nice with comfortable chairs and a small table. We lived out there. Morning coffee (birds, humming birds and deer), Evening Cocktails (Deer) and Star viewing - Milky Way and Shooting stars. The video convinced us that this was the place, but there have been some upgrades since it was shot. The patio area furnishings and the tv (now a flat panel). Good internet and ATT cell service. Matt and Michelle have put together a wonder binder and things to see and do in the area. It is very complete with maps, brochures, and personal recommendations. While we did not get to meet Matt and Michelle (they get to go on vacation too), Matt's father, John, was a perfect host. We will be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What a beautiful cabin!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    What a beautiful cabin!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Guest Deb (Akron, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 08/23/12
    • Review Submitted 09/03/12
    The Bear's Den is a very beautiful, clean, comfortable place to stay in Glenwood Springs, CO. It was even better then what we thought it would be!!!! It is far enough away from the city so you can get away from everything and relax, but close enough to get to wherever you might want to go. It was wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!! I'd definitely recommend the Bear's Den to anyone visiting the Glenwood Springs area.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The Bear's Den

    The Bear's Den

    • Guest Sheila & Ralph L. (Westminster, CO)
    • Date of stay 08/17/12
    • Review Submitted 08/24/12
    Wonderfully quiet and relaxing. Close to so many activities from the hot springs to great hiking up Independence pass, as well as close to Aspen, Carbondale and Marble. Animal friendly which was wonderful as we love to have our English Mastiff along to hike and enjoy the outdoors. We would recommend to anyone who enjoys a quiet reprieve in a gorgeous area.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Julie

    Julie

    • Guest Julie (Springville, Iowa)
    • Date of stay 06/17/12
    • Review Submitted 06/27/12
    The Bear's Den is a very private, quiet, and beautiful place to stay. It was very homey and better than the pictures could represent.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Super Week

    Super Week

    • Guest Jo (hackettstown nj)
    • Date of stay 06/02/12
    • Review Submitted 06/12/12
    We had a excellent week at the Bear's Den. It is a a very good size with a very cozy feeling. You won't need to bring anything except your personal belongings, The kitchen is very well stocked. We plan on returning.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • L & L

    L & L

    • Guest love7336 ( Colorado)
    • Date of stay 03/25/12
    • Review Submitted 03/29/12
    Very clean and well stocked! Absolutely enjoyed our stay and would recommend as a travel destination.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Little Hideaway

    Great Little Hideaway

    • Guest Phd_Mama (Colorado)
    • Date of stay 03/16/12
    • Review Submitted 03/19/12
    We stayed at the Bear's Den during March. We have 5 total in our family (2 elementary aged kids, a wiggly toddler and a medium sized dog). The Bear's Den was even cuter than the description posted online. The bear theme pervades the house and you happen upon bears in the most surprising places. The property owners were super helpful, directing us to local activities and restaurants via an especially made handbook waiting for us upon arrival and assisting us when our DVD didn't work in the player. The kitchen is well stocked and on several occasions I realized I had forgotten something that I needed for cooking (spices, sugar packets, etc.) and these items were easily found. If you're thinking of staying in town, right next to the hot springs pool, there are some advantages to doing so. We did that during the peak season of summer last year, and the proximity to the pool was helpful with so many kids of diverse ages. However, if you want an experience off the beaten path, away from the crowds, nestled close to a ridge where you can view wildlife, AND you are disciplined enough to get up early and get to the pool ahead of everyone else so you can get good parking and a place to lay your hat, then you can have your cake and eat it too at the Bear's Den! We are definitely coming back.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Jolly Good!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Jolly Good!

    • Guest Dave from Brighton, England
    • Date of stay 02/27/12
    • Review Submitted 03/04/12
    Our first non-hotel accommodation we have had outside Europe. Excellent accommodations! Had a very relaxing time. Jolly good show!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful & Relaxing

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Wonderful & Relaxing

    • Guest Kate & Rob, Colorado Springs
    • Date of stay 10/09/11
    • Review Submitted 10/22/11
    We had a wonderful & relaxing time at The Bear's Den. The surroundings are absolutely gorgeous and the fall leaves were breathtaking. Our kids loved having lunch by the river. We hope to be back soon for some winter skiing & fun!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What a Spot

    What a Spot

    • Guest Judy F.
    • Date of stay 08/01/11
    • Review Submitted 09/06/11
    We just spent the whole month of August at the Bears Den. This had everything you could possibly want. Michelle and Mat provided many things you would not find in other rentals. When we entered the cabin, we were both amazed with how clean it was. No one could ever go wrong in renting this lovely home. It is only five miles from the Sunlight Ski area (which is a great ski area). Although we are ex-residents of Colorado, we had not spent much time in Glenwood Springs other than skiing, so we did many of the things we didn't do when we lived in Colorado; golfing, walking,in the the crisp mountain air, biking, working out at the wonderful community center ($55/person for the month). The community center also has four computers for your use - plus the pool. We can't say enough about our experiences and the Bears Den. We give it ten stars - even though they only show five stars. Matt and Michelle will make you fill right at home

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Pat & Susan from Centennial, CO
    • Date of stay 03/01/11
    • Review Submitted 03/06/11
    The Bear's Den is a wonderful getaway. The layout, the decor and the furniture is cozy and comfortable. Seeing so many stars in the sky at night was wonderful and brought back memories for us. We also appreciated being able to bring our little dog and she loved all the scents on our walks. Skiing and snowshoeing at Sunlight was a lot of fun. Sunlight is the best ski deal in the state. We hope to return in the spring or summer to see the garden and landscaping in bloom.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Everything was as promised!

    Everything was as promised!

    • Guest Kansas (Wichita, KS)
    • Date of stay 01/29/11
    • Review Submitted 03/12/11
    We stayed at Bears Den with our 6-yr-old granddaughter. After skiing all day at Sunlight during a historical cold snap it was so nice to get back to a nice warm cabin. Everything was perfect and mostly brand new. The kitchen was well stocked, the towels and linens were fluffy and nice, and the beds were comfortable. The drive and walks remained clear of snow and although the location was extremely convenient we felt we were in the middle of the wilderness. Our weeklong stay at Bear's Den will become an annual event. Thank you Michelle and Matt!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Sandra, Dave, Anna & Eric from Colorado Springs
    • Date of stay 12/28/10
    • Review Submitted 03/06/11
    We enjoyed our stay at the Bear's Den. The kitchen was especially well stocked! We thought we would mainly ski Snowmass, but liked Sunlight just as well. The downtown is full of great places to eat especially the Brewery. We hope to return for more hiking & biking. Thanks to Matt & Michelle for being such great hosts!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great place, friendly hosts

    Great place, friendly hosts

    • Guest Marvin (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 11/26/10
    • Review Submitted 12/01/10
    We spent a three day weekend at the Bear's Den and had a great time. The owners gaves us some great tips for cross country and back country skiing in the area. We also tried two of the restaurants recommended by the owners and they were both very good.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Sari & Richard from Wichita, KS
    • Date of stay 01/29/10
    • Review Submitted 03/06/11
    We had a great stay and the skiing was great. The Bear's Den was always warm & welcoming when we returned from Sunlight tired, cold & hungry. We make an annual trip to Sunlight with our 6 yr. old grand daughter. The ski instructors always make her feel special. We hope to make the Bear's Den our annual retreat.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]