Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Winter Sunrise at The Stonehouse At Duck Lake

The Stonehouse! Lake Frontage, Gnp E. Side, St. Marys, Many Glacier [#328654] | View Property

Babb
House, 2 Bedrooms + , 1 Bath (Sleeps 6)
$200 - $300/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (23)

Sort by:
  • Great experience

    Great experience

    • Guest Prism
    • Date of stay 03/14/14
    • Review Submitted 03/18/14
    Fantastic views, great fishing, beautiful space and location! The only thing I would improve on was the cleanliness in the kitchen, but I would definitely go back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fall Stay at the Stonehouse

    Fall Stay at the Stonehouse

    • Guest Donna W.
    • Date of stay 10/04/13
    • Review Submitted 10/12/13
    We very much enjoyed our stay at the Stonehouse. As far as we can tell, this is the nicest home at Duck Lake. What a great location for visiting the East side of Glacier Park. The fishing at Duck Lake was excellent and David readily offered great advice on this and other hiking opportunities in the area. The view of the peaks in Glacier Park cannot be adequately portrayed in photos. It is absolutely fantastic. The home is well-equipped, clean and comfortable. We look forward to another visit!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hey Jim and Donna, I was just cleaning out my mail box and saw your review email and just wanted to respond and say thanks it is very helpful to me and potential guest. I hope all is well and you will consider staying with us again when you visit Montana. David

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Base Camp for Glacier National Park Visit

    Great Base Camp for Glacier National Park Visit

    • Guest Li (Silver Spring, MD)
    • Date of stay 08/11/13
    • Review Submitted 08/20/13
    We had a great visit to Glacier National Park (best by far our favorite park over Yellowstone and Grand Tetons), made even better by our stay at The Stonehouse at Duck Lake. The Stonehouse is new-rustic and quite comfortable. The two bedrooms were perfect for housing our family of two adults and four daughters who shared the bunk & queen bedroom. It was a perfect setting to start and end full days of hiking, wading and sightseeing at GNP. Every sunrise and sunset was uniquely beautiful and lightning over the mountains was striking to watch. The location gave us quick access to the park from multiple entry points at St. Mary's, Many Glacier & Watertown Lakes in Canada. Our daily excursions to and from The Stonehouse were an adventure in themselves with cows and horses roaming roadside and right up to the house in the mornings. Bird watching from the cabin became hands on when the girls rescued a stunned yellow warbler that had flown into the side of the house. Great locale for night sky gazing, on clear nights able to easily spot satellites and meteors, although recent bear activity had us a bit skittish about roaming outside at night. We enjoyed meeting the owner, David Walburn and his friend John, and hope to make it back there again to take advantage of the dock they were building which will be a nice addition to the property. David's show at Many Glacier Lodge and his music was a Montana experience in itself that widened our appreciation for Montana history.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Stonehouse is Great!

    Stonehouse is Great!

    • Guest Karen (Princeton, MA)
    • Date of stay 07/27/13
    • Review Submitted 08/14/13
    My family recently stayed at the Stonehouse. It is a peaceful property and is a great home base to see the Eastern side of Glacier, such as St. Mary, Many Glacier, and Two Medicine. It was really nice to come back to the house after a very busy day of hiking and driving around. Making meals in the modern kitchen, looking out the picture window at the mountains, seeing meandering cattle and horses, and sleeping in comfortable beds was great. Also, it is near a lake so we saw pelicans, bald eagles and heard loon song at night. I would highly recommend a family staying here. Thanks David for the great house!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect

    Perfect

    • Guest Adventurers (Winston-Salem, NC)
    • Date of stay 07/18/13
    • Review Submitted 08/05/13
    Perfect! We found Stonehouse to be just right for our family. We explored Glacier during the day and had a comfortable place to return too and relax. Beautiful view of the Mountains from the large picture window which changes in beauty with sunrise/sunsets. A great family table to gather and play games, getting away from electronics is a must for our family with 4 teenagers. Stonehouse is a perfect location to get really acquainted with GNP. After one day exploring the West side of Glacier we were so thankful to be staying at Duck Lake with far less crowds and great access to Two Medicine, Many Glacier and Waterton Lakes. Getting to experience David's performance at the Many Glacier Lodge solidified our Montana experience!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hey Kathy and Dan, Thanks for the wonderful review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. It was great getting to know everyone and I hope you return. David

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Nothing Lacking

    Nothing Lacking

    • Guest Betsy (United States)
    • Date of stay 07/05/13
    • Review Submitted 07/31/13
    Six adults and two young children plus an infant - we were very comfortable in the upstairs space. We would have rented the full house for several days but one night was all that was available. We will try to schedule this house again in the future. Everything we needed was on site and Two Sisters of Babb is nearby for the perfect dinner and pie! One motivated member of our group biked from the Stone House to Many Glacier and back - the rest of us were more than content to drive. Dave is a delightful host and we were made to feel very welcome.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Awesome View, Lovely and Comfortable Home

    Awesome View, Lovely and Comfortable Home

    • Guest Brutus Buckeye (Columbus, OH)
    • Date of stay 06/30/13
    • Review Submitted 07/20/13
    The Stone House was our home base while exploring Glacier National Park (GNP). The Stone House has an astounding mountain view and is a very clean and comfortable home. It is quiet and very private. Upon arrival, the house was in perfect order for us and was a wonderful place to relax and unwind. The owner lives downstairs and was very helpful and knowledgeable. We appreciate how easy he made everything for us. We also enjoyed his show at the Many Glacier hotel. It should not be missed. We loved this house and still miss the beautiful view (which we can't adequately describe.) This was our first time using a vacation rental and it was an excellent experience. We would recommend this home to others and hope to get back in the future.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for the great review... I'm so glad you had a great vacation and I hope you will stay hear again on you next visit to the area. I just had a black bear with two cubs walk up on me down at the lake while working on the dock. I had to run into the lake. They do not know if it was a black bear or a griz that attacked the lady last week. That really unnerved me. The lady that was attacked will be ok David

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Excellent Location to East Glacier! Beautiful home with an amazing view!! Highly Recommend!

    Excellent Location to East Glacier! Beautiful home with an amazing view!! Highly Recommend!

    • Guest kayla (Louisiana)
    • Date of stay 05/26/13
    • Review Submitted 06/01/13
    Perfect location for our visit to Glacier National Park! The house was great! It was clean, well maintained and fully stocked! It was nice to have the extras like paper towels, trash bags, laundry detergent ,etc. The MBR had a very comfortable bed with nice sheets. You couldn't ask for a better view out the picture window in the kitchen!! David was very friendly and accommodating. Very easy to work with! Overall, I couldn't have been more pleased with the accomodations!! Thanks!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hey Kayla, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and everything was to your liking. I hope you will stay with us again when you return to Glacier. Thanks for the great review! David

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Perfect Place for the Manskursion

    Perfect Place for the Manskursion

    • Guest Manskursion (Bozeman, Montana USA)
    • Date of stay 04/12/13
    • Review Submitted 04/17/13
    I came up with 9 of my buddies/brothers/brothers-in-law and we had a great time. It was really cold out, and we got a few inches of snow, but we were really quite comfortable and warm in the cabin. And the fishing was great too as long as you kept the ice off the line! The place was immaculate when we arrived, and the kitchen/grill was well stocked for all the meat and potatoes - and all the bacon and eggs we had. Also, the refrigerator can fit approximately 50 Bayern Brewery bottles. Ron Swanson would approve! One other thing - the views were out of this world.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Glad you had a good time and thanks for the review.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Peace and quiet

    Peace and quiet

    • Guest Punkin (Easley, SC)
    • Date of stay 10/29/12
    • Review Submitted 11/12/12
    My wife and I had a much needed quite vacation. Comfortable, rustic cabin with a great location for an eastern Glacier visit. Most all the local stores and amenities were closed for the winter. Need to bring all provisions, however fuel and basic needs were available in St. Marys, and the hardware store in Babb. We saw much more wildlife than during a previous summer visit, including elk herds, moose, deer, and tons of water foul, including scores of trupeter swans just in front of the cabin. David provided much usefull information for fishing Duck lake, and the locals are very friendly. Thanks, Scott

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for the review! Glad you had a good time at the StoneHouse. Thanks for doing such a great job closing down the cabin.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • exquisite sunrises and sunsets

    exquisite sunrises and sunsets

    • Guest chip and dale ( Colorado)
    • Date of stay 09/08/12
    • Review Submitted 09/18/12
    I must add: The sunrises over duck lake greeted us each day with red, pink and orange watercolors. The sunsets over Many Glacier and Chief Mountain was a different show each night with an explosion of color and light. Rainbows painted the sky over the blue lake. Many Glacier surprised us with turquoise lakes with floating ice burgs, crystal clear waterfalls and cascades, and a grizzly swimming in a lake. The Stone house is the perfect refuge after a day on the trail. It greeted us with comfortable beds, warm wood stove and full kitchen with a custom made big dining room table built by the capable and talented owner, David. Stay here and enjoy the show!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Exquiste sunrises and sunrises

    Exquiste sunrises and sunrises

    • Guest chip and dale ( Colorado)
    • Date of stay 09/08/12
    • Review Submitted 09/18/12
    The sunrises and sunsets are reason enough to stay in the Stone house. The house was very cozy with an excellent wood stove and spacious living room. The house is just 20 minutes to Many Glacier Hotel with a spectacular drive. David, was a very gracious host and we loved his music and show . We would love to return to this Montana paradise.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Outstanding Getaway

    Outstanding Getaway

    • Guest Dick (Wisconsin)
    • Date of stay 09/05/12
    • Review Submitted 09/11/12
    The Stone House is a beautiful and immaculate cabin off the beaten path. The views out the large picture windows are breathtaking. We very much enjoyed our stay there. The large collection of magazines were interesting to read and we added a few for others to enjoy. We didn't miss having a tv, but if you like to watch movies on a rainy day, we'd suggest bringing along a portable dvd player and dvd's. We had great weather though, so it wasn't an issue. Thanks to David for being such a wonderful host and for generously sharing his outstanding cabin and labor of love.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Spectacular Sunsets!

    Spectacular Sunsets!

    • Guest Deb (Forest Lake, MN)
    • Date of stay 08/27/12
    • Review Submitted 09/03/12
    We honeymooned at the Stone House and couldn't have picked a better place. It was comfortable, serene, and offered spectacular views on both sides of the house. We watched the sunset each night over the full range of mountains on the east side of Glacier National Park. It offered us an excellent location to take in fabulous days of hiking and sightseeing in Glacier and Waterton National Parks. The home was well equiped with everything we needed and the nights were quite and peaceful. We highly recommend this place and while we didn't have a chance to experience any fishing in Duck Lake, that would be an added plus!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Mayo's 2012 Glacier Vacation

    Mayo's 2012 Glacier Vacation

    • Guest Mike (Salem, VA)
    • Date of stay 08/24/12
    • Review Submitted 09/03/12
    We were very impressed with the Stone House. It was well built & very clean. Very neatly furnished with everything we needed. David checked on us and made sure everything was in good order. He was a gracious host and knowledgable about the area. The location to the park was perfect. I have already recommended the Stone House to a friend planning his trip to Glacier NP. Hopefully we'll visit again next year. Thanks David! Mike & Jeanne Mayo

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Duck Lake Cabin

    Duck Lake Cabin

    • Guest Amy (Dekalb, IL/USA)
    • Date of stay 08/18/12
    • Review Submitted 08/27/12
    We had a wonderful stay at the cabin on Duck Lake, and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area. We spent most of our time at Glacier National Park and the cabin was only about a 10 min. drive to the East entrance. It was also nice to be closer to the Two Medicine and Many Glacier entrances which are also on the East side of the park. The cabin was a great place to come "home" to. It was very cozy and had all the amenities you could need. The view of the mountains from the windows were amazing, especially around sunset. We also loved how secluded it was so we had lots of quiet/privacy. The only "con" I could say is that the loft didn't have any beds in it as was advertised. Fortunately we only had a group of 5 (one couple in one of the queen beds) so it worked out fine for us. Perhaps a bed would be added to the loft if it was needed? Anyway, I would highly recommend a stay at this cabin. It was a wonderful getaway and I would happily do it all again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful location

    Beautiful location

    • Guest AM (United States)
    • Date of stay 07/28/12
    • Review Submitted 08/13/12
    We enjoyed our stay at Duck Lake. It is a gorgeous location, and so close to Many Glacier that we were able to go back and forth twice a day for morning and evening hikes and wildlife spotting. Two Medicine was perhaps an hour away - and what an unbelievably spectacular drive that was. The house was clean and well-maintained. Visitors should be aware that there is no TV, which was fine with me. There's also no land-line phone, and only Verizon cell service works (not AT&T) - that did cause us a little bit of inconvenience, and being unable to contact anyone from the house induced a tiny bit of anxiety at times, although no actual problems. The owner is very friendly. We had a bit of a mixup with our reservation and he dealt with it in a very professional and honest way. We loved the Park Cafe in St. Mary. Johnson's Diner was pretty good. Two Sisters has great food - a bit pricey but perhaps that reflects the cost of running a restaurant so far off the beaten path. Nearest grocery store is about 15 mins away in St Mary. The town of Babb has a gas station and general store but not much else. I would encourage vistors not only to explore Glacier but to take a drive west and marvel at the vast rolling plains.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Bearcat

    Bearcat

    • Guest Bearcat (Connecticut)
    • Date of stay 07/06/12
    • Review Submitted 07/15/12
    This cabin was a perfect place for us (2 couples) - private, roomy, well appointed kitchen, and a great view. The cabin was clean and ready when we arrived, and its combination lock was perfect so we did not need to keep track of a key. It is located only a few miles from Babb and the entrance to the road to Many Glacier - a perfect location for your visit to Glacier National Park.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • hiking trip

    hiking trip

    • Guest Jeannie (White Plains, NY)
    • Date of stay 06/22/12
    • Review Submitted 07/05/12
    We had a great time at the stone house. Absolutely incredible views. "Digger's" review is totally accurate only to add that the hiking as well as the fishing in East Glacier is unsurpassed. If you venture out for meals, we would recommend the Leaning Tree Cafe, Johnson's and athe Duck Lake Lodge. Good hardy food and the folks are extremely friendly. dinner at the Cattle Baron in Babbb is also a must do for a nice steak. We can't wait to return next year.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • East Glacier Hiking

    East Glacier Hiking

    • Guest Jeannie (White Plains, NY)
    • Date of stay 06/22/12
    • Review Submitted 07/02/12
    The stone house was absolutely wonderful. David has obviously taken alot of time and effort to make the house comfortable and user friendly. The location was perfect for all outdoor activities. Great hiking in the area. We ate home a few times, but enjoed breakfast at the Leaning Tree cafe, Johnson's Cafe and dinner at the Cattle Baron in Babb...we also ate and had a few cocktails at the Duck Lake Lodge where the folks couldn't be friendlier... A perfect vacation in a great location...for a stay in East Glacier, and if you are an outdoor enthusiast, nothing could be better.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • December, 2011

    December, 2011

    • Guest Digger (Kalispell, MT)
    • Date of stay 12/30/11
    • Review Submitted 01/03/12
    We had a fantastic time at the Stone House. Listing description was acurate regarding the location. Photo's were also accurate. Views are incredible. Property was clean and well maintained. Owner was extremenly helpful with questions and very easy to reach. I would highly recommend this property to a friend or relative. While we were there, we ice fished Duck Lake and had excellent success on rainbows from 12" to 20". I would recommend cooking your own fresh catch or a steak over charcoal at the house.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Doug! If you have any photos send them via email and I'll post them on the StoneHouse site. I'll look you up when I meeting with Chris. I have a call into him. Thanks, David

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful, Open Playground

    Beautiful, Open Playground

    • Guest Mark (Whitefish)
    • Date of stay 01/01/11
    • Review Submitted 01/08/11
    We visited the Stone Cabin at Duck Lake over the Christmas holidays and it was most certainly a highlight for our family. The open space and quiet solitude was a perfect mixture for my rather rambunctious family. The ice skating was excellent – literally, we skated for hours playing variations of “pond” hockey, racing one another until exhaustion and towing ‘little sister’ in the red flyer until our toes protested loud enough to seek the warmth of the wood burning stove inside. We took the small fishing house out to the main part of the lake and had our first experience ice fishing as well. It is hard to describe, but after the door closes, the ice and water come alive with illumination; it’s like watching TV in a dark room. Visibility becomes perfect: we saw grass at the bottom of the lake and several fish swimming past - avoiding our bait I might add. We eventually caught 3 fish however and cooked them up for dinner. – Delicious. The cabin is clean and well maintained. I look forward to coming again. Mark Van Everen

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Nice! Ice skating and ice fishing all in one day, not to mention that in the evening the lunar eclipse, which was spectacular! The winter activities are outrageous. Spring is coming up with Ice-Off the #1 fishing activity on the lake. And then Summer is around the corner! Hiking, mountain biking, Glacier Park activities, rafting, swimming, fly fishing, star gazing.......it's endless. Hope to see ya'll soon at The StoneHouse!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great views!

    Great views!

    • Guest Mapper (Whitefish, MT)
    • Date of stay 08/18/10
    • Review Submitted 11/24/10
    The views are even better than the pictures would lead you to believe! I particularly liked sitting out in the sunshine in the late afternoon, reading a good book, and taking in the incredible beauty that surrounds you. Being only a short distance to Glacier National Park provides unlimited recreational opportunities, and the supper club in the local down of Babb is a local treat!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]