Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Living Room

Centrally Located Riverside Heights [#328799] | View Property

Tampa
House, 2 Bedrooms + Den, 1 Bath (Sleeps 4)
$700/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (11)

Sort by:
  • retired couple

    retired couple

    • Guest Roger and Debbie (Robinson, Illinois)
    • Date of stay 01/01/13
    • Review Submitted 02/10/13
    This home was incredible!! We really loved it and felt so "at home", cozy, and comfortable! Jim was excellent and paid close attention to details. The home is located in a neighborhood away from noice and traffic. Jim has all the local sites and how to get there listed in his "Welcome Book". After we found our way around the city of Tampa, we were very pleased with the location. It was so very nice having our morning coffee on the beautiful deck just off the den french doors, nice dining area, great media system, very comfortable beds, very clean. I would recommend this property to a friend or relative.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • LIVE LIKE A FLORIDIAN

    LIVE LIKE A FLORIDIAN

    • Guest jmf (Bahrain)
    • Date of stay 05/01/12
    • Review Submitted 06/01/12
    We were in Tampa for my son's graduation and it was in a perfect location for us. One needs a car to get around, but I found that this was the case in most places that I visited in the U.S. Having said that I used a Taxi once and found that quite reasonably priced. The house is an absolutely charming and cosy dwelling. We felt at home the minute we walked through the door. It seemed to be in a nice, quiet neighborhood amongst, I assume, Floridian owner/occupied homes. All the houses and gardens in that area appeared to be nicely cared for. This house has been furnished to match the era of the house with the appliances and entertainment that we take for granted in this era. For us, there was nothing missing. Jim, the owner was also very helpful. I would recommend this house to any of my friends and, if ever I should visit Tampa again I would like to stay in it. For the last two days of my stay in Tampa I had booked into a 4 star hotel because the house had already been booked for those two dates. It was nice and even had a balcony but the charm, cosiness and price of the Riverside Heights home beat it hands down and by a country mile. The hotel was downtown and I still needed a car or taxi to get anywhere.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • COMPLETELY SATISFIED Team of Professional Artists

    COMPLETELY SATISFIED Team of Professional Artists

    • Guest sherry r. (Springfield, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 04/09/12
    • Review Submitted 04/19/12
    We are a team of visual artists who travel to various locations to render our creative talents on the walls of commercial stores or in the homes or estates of 'high profile' clients. Because our work is taxing and often done in new construction dust and dirt, instead of staying in several hotel rooms, we prefer to stay as a group in a comfortable dwelling, where we can cook our meals, eat at a dining table and relax after hours in 'the comforts of home.' This home could not have been better for us! It said "Welcome" from the moment we stepped inside. Music was playing on the TV and the owner sent a welcome message with the offer to be of help, should we need something. We had everything we needed and MORE! The quiet back yard - enclosed with privacy fence - made evening meals cozy and delightful when shared on the deck that is ambiently lighted by strands of small, overhead twinkle lights. The clean gas grill is in the garage. Having the convenience of our own washer and dryer (+ a table to fold on!) allowed us extra time to relax without going to the coin laundry. On the days that we could not begin working until late afternoon, we grabbed the beach chairs from the garage and beach towels from the linen closet and spent the mornings at Belleair Beach (a half-hour away). The house has good lighting and is tastefully appointed without the feeling of clutter. We found every necessity we needed to conduct day-to-day life - all in logical places. The neighborhood is a quiet, middle-class family-type neighborhood with people jogging, walking their dogs and pushiing strollers in the mornings and evenings. The instructions for the TV and electronics were written so well in the owner's 'notes to the renter', that I could actually maneuver the system without any glitches - even the DVD and surround sound! There is a perfect small desk to use for your laptop. The beds were comfy. But best of all, the home was clean and tidy. We will definitely stay here again, should the need ever arise and our team is small enough. We have stayed in many VRBO rental properties . . . I highly recommend this choice to a small group or family. [In my opinion . . . Jim, the owner of this property, could offer tips to other VRBO owners as to how to make their rental property comfortable and inviting for their renters.]

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/5

  • COMPLETELY SATISFIED Team of Professional Artists

    COMPLETELY SATISFIED Team of Professional Artists

    • Guest sherry r. (Springfield, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 04/09/12
    • Review Submitted 04/19/12
    We are a team of visual artists who travel to various locations to render our creative talents on the walls of commercial stores or in the homes or estates of 'high profile' clients. Because our work is taxing and often done in new construction dust and dirt, instead of staying in several hotel rooms, we prefer to stay as a group in a comfortable dwelling, where we can cook our meals, eat at a dining table and relax after hours in 'the comforts of home.' This home could not have been better for us! It said "Welcome" from the moment we stepped inside. Music was playing on the TV and the owner sent a welcome message with the offer to be of help, should we need something. We had everything we needed and MORE! The quiet back yard - enclosed with privacy fence - made evening meals cozy and delightful when shared on the deck that ambiently lighted by strands of small, overhead twinkle lights. The clean gas grill is in the garage. Having the convenience of our own washer and dryer (+ a table to fold on!) allowed us extra time to relax without going to the coin laundry. On the days that we could not begin working until late afternoon, we grabbed the beach chairs from the garage and beach towels from the linen closet and spent the mornings at Belleair Beach (a half-hour away). The house has good lighting and is tastefully appointed without the feeling of clutter. We found every necessity we needed to conduct day-to-day life - all in logical places. The neighborhood is a quiet, middle-class family-type neighborhood with people jogging, walking their dogs and pushiing strollers in the mornings and evenings. The instructions for the TV and electronics were written so well in the owner's 'notes to the renter', that I could actually maneuver the system without any glitches - even the DVD and surround sound! There is a perfect small desk to use for your laptop. The beds were comfy. But best of all, the home was clean and tidy. We will definitely stay here again, should the need ever arise and our team is small enough. We have stayed in many VRBO rental properties . . . I highly recommend this choice to a small group or family. [In my opinion . . . Jim, the owner of this property, could offer tips to other VRBO owners as to how to make their rental property comfortable and inviting for their renters.]

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Our stay at Oakdale drive.

    Our stay at Oakdale drive.

    • Guest Samson (Tinton Falls, New Jersey U.S.A.)
    • Date of stay 01/01/12
    • Review Submitted 04/08/12
    When we arrived we found the property clean. The owner was very helpful in answering questions, and provided a welcome guide, bound in a white notebook for places to at in the area. I would not recommend this place to a friend or relative. I was disappointed with the surrounding neighborhood, bars on some of the windows, sirens blaring almost daily, and a persistent problem with ants. Even though there wereexterminators visiting the property, it did not alleviate this problem. There was a nearby park which was very dog friendly, and had a playground as well. For a very short stay this house would nice, but not for a long term rental.

    Recommended for: Pet owners

    Owner response: There seems to be an assumption here that window bars (installed long before there were alarm systems or gated communities with guard shacks and security guards), coupled with sirens, mean that this must be an unsafe and high crime area. Not true. This is a large established older residential neighborhood sitting in the midst of Tampa’s urban sprawl. The sirens come from paramedics, EMTs and ambulances rushing accident and emergency victims to the two major Trauma Center Hospitals in central Florida which flank us on two sides. These sirens are not from police cruisers. These sirens are not from within our neighborhood. They are not crime or window bar related. There are no bars on this house. There is an alarm system which nobody has thought necessary to use—including these reviewers. The sugar ant issue has been resolved. Professional exterminators now treat the property monthly, or at any time ants are reported in between. The problem is seasonal and is now totally under control now. The following quote is from a hand written portion of the letter this couple left us when they headed back up north. “Thanks for your wonderful and tasteful decorating, beautiful and comfortable den and living room and dining room, wonderful deck, book of helpful hints and places to eat, key basic food stuffs, paper goods, etc, firewood and grill (used both) and warm weather.” Please refer to any or every other review of this listing to better understand all that there is here.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Charming home close to local attractions-recommended!

    Charming home close to local attractions-recommended!

    • Guest Rebecca (Virginia)
    • Date of stay 12/26/11
    • Review Submitted 01/03/12
    We really enjoyed our stay at this home. Jim was great in helping with any questions we had. The home was beautifully decorated, VERY CLEAN(a must for me!) and was such a great retreat every evening to come home and relax. It really did have all the comforts of home. It is in a quiet neighborhood but only minutes from the airport, downtown and only 30 minutes from Clearwater Beach. We enjoyed some great restaurant recommendations(Rick's on the River, Miguel's(great mexican) or delivery pizza from New York New York. I would definitely recommend choosing this home. It is an excellent value in a close in location. Thank you Jim for keeping such a well maintained home.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Fantastic house

    Fantastic house

    • Guest DJC (MA)
    • Date of stay 05/03/11
    • Review Submitted 09/02/11
    Very clean and well maintained home, with every amenity you need. Incredibly close to downtown Tampa. Jim the owner is accessible and easy to work with, and the renting process was simple. Look no further if you want to rent a top notch home.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Stunning

    Stunning

    • Guest OPTIX ROX (Watertown, TN)
    • Date of stay 03/13/11
    • Review Submitted 05/25/11
    LOVED LOVED LOVED the house, the neighborhood, the location, the “landlord”, Jim. The VRBO listing is adequate, but cannot completely describe the treats and treasures in store for you during your stay. Jim's clear communication made booking easy. We handled the entire leasing process online. We arrived close to midnight for our first night and were greeted by a well lit, welcoming home. (One of the many personal touches provided by Jim.) Walking in, we had to just stop and take it all in before the word “WOW” could be spontaneously proclaimed. Stunning. The style and the vibe is soothing, pleasant and full of happy zen. The floor plan, the decorating, the exquisite renovation choices were all stunning. With every turn, there was either another cool, original feature of the home, or yet another thoughtful or considerate touch that Jim had added. The kitchen is simply spectacular. Definitely original, well stocked with easy to find necessities for you to prepare a 5 course meal, or just nuke some popcorn. The high efficiency dishwasher was added later, but cleverly installed to preserve and respect the highly functional original kitchen. Washer and dryer are in detached garage, just steps from the kitchen. The clothes line beside the garage was an unexpected surprise which we used often. The neighboring houses are situated to maximize privacy. I emailed Jim when we arrived, just to let him know that all of his instructions and directions were perfect and that we had arrived. I told him in passing that my great nephew's lifelong sleeping companion “Red Dog” had suffered a communications breakdown and was not with us, after all. The next day, while at Busch Gardens, Jim replied to inquire if he could place a temporary, substitute sleeping friend in the house for the rest of the week. My great nephew and I had already made plans to go to Walmart to purchase a new friend, but he agreed to interview “Mr Bear.” By the end of the week, Jim suggested that maybe Mr Bear would like to go home with my great nephew to meet Red Dog. My great nephew now sleeps with both of them. There was absolutely nothing that we wanted or needed that Jim had not already thought of and provided. Coffee, half & half, beach towels, q-tips and so on. The information binder answered any question and even included menus for numerous local restaurants. Renting Jim's vacation home was an exceptionally memorable experience and we hope to stay there again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • February escape from CT

    February escape from CT

    • Guest Susan (Shelton, CT, USA)
    • Date of stay 02/01/11
    • Review Submitted 05/20/11
    My husband and I stayed in this lovely home in February. It is a true home in a quiet, friendly neighborhood. The home is charming, extremely livable and decorated beautifully throughout. Gleaming hardwood floors, lovely furniture, great choice of wall colors, a private and inviting side deck - everything in tip-top condition and spotlessly clean. The kitchen is old-fashioned but completely workable, with a small table for eating and for additional food prep space. Laundry machines are in the garage, brand-new and super-efficient. The garage also provided locked storage for our bikes. The location was superb. We especially enjoyed the close access to downtown Tampa, the Hyde Park/Soho areas, and Bayshore Drive. We often rode our bikes over to Rick's on the River and enjoyed a blissful seafood lunch overlooking the river. Owner Jim was the best "landlord" possible - very helpful, responsive to all questions and requests, and anxious to help his guests get the most out of their stay in Tampa. He created a very helpful looseleaf binder of information about not only the home itself, but also local restaurants and attractions, and provided useful telephone numbers. We would recommend this home very highly.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Kim
    • Date of stay 01/08/11
    • Review Submitted 03/09/11
    Hi Jim, Thank you so much for renting your house. It is a great house in a great location.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • A Really Good Choice

    A Really Good Choice

    • Guest Richard and Rebecca (Mobile AL)
    • Date of stay 12/25/10
    • Review Submitted 01/03/11
    This house is an extremely fine vacation rental value. We are VRBO veterans and would put this house in the top rank. I am from Tampa, and we usually go there about once a year. In the past we have stayed with my relatives. This year we got our own house from Jim, and it was a great decision. For a change, we could invite my relatives to visit us, and even cook dinner or breakfast for them. It was much better. One night one of my nieces and her associate stayed over in the second bedroom, and her brother slept on the beautiful leather couch in the den. Jim doesn’t say the house sleeps five, but it does comfortably. It does stretch the single bathroom. In the morning my two sisters came over and the seven of us had breakfast together. The kitchen is very well equipped with cookware and tableware. When we weren’t visiting or having company we caught up on our reading, mostly. The den has windows on three sides, and on sunny days it is a very nice place to be. The beds are very good, and the closet space is adequate for vacationers. We were there in December, and except for one day it was too cold to sit out on the deck. We took advantage of the one warm day and sat out in the afternoon and then in the evening with the lights on. That’s another great space to hang out. This house is very similar in plan to one I lived in as a child, so I’m biased. Our overall sense when we first went in was “Goodness, this is really beautiful. It really feels good to be in this space.” The style suits us, and we could live there if we didn’t already have our own home. The neighborhood is very quiet and settled, and from that location access is easy to all points. I would recommend this property without hesitation to any friends traveling to Tampa. Richard Rebecca wants me to specifically add that we both really loved the visual presentation and functionality. Whoever furnished and decorated the house has style and taste very similar to ours. It is restful to the eye and restful to the psyche.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]