5 BR Oceanfront, Heated Pool & Cinema, Sleeps 13
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:Contact owner
- Pets considered:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Salvo cottage description
26213 Colony Dr is the address, it is Oceanfront, the calendar is correct however they may be some pending rez's out there, and the rate schedule is too (sorry no discounts). House is Sunday turnover.
Casa Costa Rica brings a taste of the tropics conveniently to the Outer Banks of NC, get the best of both worlds! Every effort possible was made to make this elegant Hatteras Island vacation home exotic in every way, we even traveled to the Costa Rican Tropics in search of the finest hand carved furniture and accessories that adorns each room of this stately seaside retreat.
Casa Costa Rica's 4200 square foot floorplan (5F & 2H bth (2K,2Q + 1D,1T & 1 D sleeper futon (downstairs gameroom)) includes 5 spacious master bedrooms with private baths, 1 of which offers ocean views with access to huge furnished decks. Relax in the theater room with a/v equipment, projection screen, and surround sound, or enjoy a game of pool in the rec room with its own flat screen TV, wet bar and fridge. You'll be in awe of the ocean views through the expansive glass windows in the great room with fireplace and flat screen TV with surround sound. This lovely coastal home is ideal for large family gatherings and destination weddings.
*for 2014 we're guaranteeing access to the home. if the road is closed or have to evacuate for a storm we'll refund you the prorated amount that you miss! well trained and housebroken pets accepted with $75 per pet pet fee. must be paid upfront or cost will be $200 per dog. sorry but no Pitbulls, cats, or dogs under 1 year old. One out of three renters must be at least 25 years of age. no smoking inside! 50% down to reserve, 25% accepted if half is not possible. Pool can be heated for an extra $200/$350 ($75 higher if not purchased at time of initial rez). $275 cancellation fee if and only if replacement tenants are found, otherwise you lose all monies deposited. $75 security deposit waiver fee required (covers up to $750 in accidental damages). $50 discount available to those who agree to allow for non-essential maintenance to be done during rental period, see lease for details. $1000 large wedding fee applies if tent and reception planned at house. must be paid upfront or $500 penalty charged on top of $1000 if caught holding large wedding (we live local and will catch you :-) Please note: no disposable products are provided (soap, tp, s&p, paper towels, etc) Tenants responsible for propane grille refills upon check-in if empty. Linens are not included, if not bringing your own they can be rented from us with our discount through a local vendor. Tax rate is 11.75%, must be charged on everything.
Keywords: Oceanfront, Private Pool, heated pool, Hatteras Island, Salvo, Waves, Rodanthe, Theatre Room
- Vacation Rental
- Minimum Age Limit For Renters
- Non Smoking Only
- Children Welcome
- Pets Considered
Bedrooms: 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11, Beds for 11
Bathrooms: 5 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bathroom
Kitchen & Dining
- Ice Maker
- Cooking Utensils
- Washing Machine
- Air Conditioning
- Parking Off Street
- Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
- Gas Fireplace
- Clothes Dryer
- Linens Provided
- Satellite / Cable
- CD Player
- Pool Table
- DVD Player
- Wireless Internet
- Free Long Distance
Pool & Spa
- Hot Tub
- Private Pool
- Deck / Patio
- Outdoor Grill
Location & View
- Water View
- Jet Skiing
- Sound/Bay Fishing
- Surf Fishing
- Wildlife Viewing
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Sight Seeing
- Deepsea Fishing
- Pier Fishing
- Miniature Golf
ReviewsWrite a review
Have had better
Have had better
We recently stayed at this house for a family vacation and didn't have such a great experience. The house itself is very nice. It has great space, and has great potential. However, the cleanliness wasn't great. The first day I stepped on a piece of glass that was on the bedroom floor. There must have been a party there previously and it wasn't cleaned well. There were items all over the floors in all the rooms, under the beds and other furniture. The one shower curtain was completely moldy. The beds, well lets just say it would be more comfortable to stay at a motel 6. There were springs coming through the one matress. I ended up sleeping on the couch, and others on air mattresses. The owner was contacted about these items as well as the fact that there were only three tvs in the house of that size. It took several days to finally get some resolution. We checked in on Sunday and Wednesday someone finally showed up to change the shower curtain. We were told the matress that had springs coming out would be replaced, but we never saw that happen. Friday, they came and added more tvs, but we were at that point leaving in two days. Hardly any of the patio doors locked which was concerning since our cars, and 5 others on that street were broken into Sunday night. The police told us this happens several days a week in that area. There were ants all over the common areas especially in the main living room. (probably due to the lack of cleanliness). The sink in the kitchen leaked all over the counter and floor. We showed this to the maintenance guy when he was there but it never got fixed. This was a large hole in the wall in the dining room, as well as a broken window. Again, this house has great potential, but needs to be taken better care of. Especially when paying so much for it. We have paid the same amount in that area and have had amazing houses. This would not be one we returned to.
- Guest angie21179 (Pittsburgh, PA )
- Date of stay 08/18/13
- Review Submitted 08/28/13
Owner response: i'm sorry ya'll didn't have a great experience there. our new cleaning crew this year is MUCH better than sun services that we had on it last year. don't know why your week wasn't up to par, i forwarded this to them and they'll be doing better. correct, that we did not have tv's in 3 bedrooms, but we just got two more installed, sorry it did take till friday to get them in as nobody on the island sells them and we had to wait for online shipment to come in. Yes there was a small hole in the wall from a door knob and maintenance hadn't gotten to it yet since it wasn't critical repair. the window you spoke of is not actually broke. it just has a settlement fracture and has been like that since 2007. the windows all have hurricane film on them anyways.
COULD NOT HAVE PICKED A BETTER HOUSE! FANTASTIC STAY!
COULD NOT HAVE PICKED A BETTER HOUSE! FANTASTIC STAY!
This home is exactly as advertised - clean, upscale, spacious, gorgeous views, overall an A+. This was the first time we had ever been to Salvo and found it to be such a quaint area. There were several farm stands that had the best tomatoes - nothing says summer like fresh bread, tomatoes, mayo and plenty of salt! The pool is so relaxing. There is a retaining wall between the pool and the ocean, it completely cut down any strong winds and there was absolutely no sand blown into the pool, just beautiful blue water. We had to call RJ, the caretaker, one time, we couldn't figure out how to use the remotes for the TV and theater room, he was at the house first thing the next morning and explained it all. He was helpful, gracious and professional. If you are looking for a beautiful home to relax in and enjoy the beach - this is the one!
- Guest Anonymous
- Date of stay 06/02/13
- Review Submitted 06/11/13
Recommended for: Pet owners, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.
This house is absolutely awesome – very open and spacious, a great layout on every floor and the furnishings and décor exquisite. The furnished decks on the second, third, and fourth floors afford a great view of the ocean and a place to relax. The large, open kitchen/dining/living area on the third floor is wonderful and the view tremendous, a great gathering place for the whole family. The three bedrooms on the second floor and the one on the fourth floor are very nicely decorated with each having its own private bath. Everything was as depicted on the website. The first floor entry way is very spacious and accommodated very well the crates for Cookie, our Bull Mastiff, and Max, our Olde English Bulldog. To be near their pets at night, our two grandsons picked the first floor bedroom. The theater room, also on the first floor, was the children’s favorite hangout place. And the pool table in the rec room drew a few games of pool. Having the wet bar and fridge on the first floor right near the movie room and rec room and a few feet from the pool and hot tub worked out well - no hiking up to the third floor every time someone wanted a drink or snack. We loved that there was a gas grill, and having an outdoor shower was nice for rinsing off the beach sand. We brought the majority of our groceries with us, which we highly recommend, since the nearest chain grocery store is about 20 miles. In a pinch, there are a couple local stores, but they are very expensive. It was on Easter Sunday that we arrived, and the first to arrive were presented with an Easter bag containing a few household items, along with some Easter treats – what a nice, warm welcome. Prior to our renting, the owner was very responsive to every question we had and provided us with check-in instructions and the number to call for any concerns we might have during our stay. The only negative we encountered was the cold front that descended upon the whole East Coast the week of our stay.
- Guest Lee (Charlotte, NC)
- Date of stay 03/31/13
- Review Submitted 04/28/13
Recommended for: Age 55+, pet owners, families with young children, families with teenagers, sightseeing, girls getaway, adventure seekers, romantic getaway.
Owner response: thanks LeEtta, sorry it was so abnormally cold for you, hopefully it'll be better next year...
2014 = 3/08 to 5/4=$1995 except 4/13 &4/20 =$2195, 5/11=$2495, 5/18=$2995 5/25=$3495, 6/1=$4495, 6/08=$5595, 6/15=$6695, 6/22=$6895 6/29=$6995, 7/6 to 8/3=$7195, 8/10=$5695, 8/24 & 8/31=$3195 9/7=$2345, 9/14=$2195, 9/21=$2095, 9/28 to 10/30=$1995, t-giving $2495 $200 discount for two week stays pool heat =$400, $200 june/july/aug $75 pet fee, $75 security deposit waiver fee, $1000 large wedding fee
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
4th level queen master suite with ocean view
4th level queen master suite
4th level master bath w/ shower too
2nd floor foyer
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2010.
Date last modified - Tuesday, November 05, 2013
5 Bedroom / 5.5 Bathroom
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.