Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Property exterior

Bayfront Cottage Near Acadia National Park [#33071] | View Property

Hancock
- 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 4-6
$200 - $300/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (26)

Sort by:
  • LOVED the cottage & the area

    LOVED the cottage & the area

    • Guest Stuey S.
    • Date of stay 09/03/11
    • Review Submitted 01/28/12
    Blueberry Ledge cottage is the perfect retreat for a visit to the Bar Harbor/Acadia National Park area!! The cottage is very well appointed and has everything one might need to make your stay enjoyable. And if there is something it doesn't have, Wanda will go to almost any length to get what you need. We enjoyed sitting out on the deck enjoying the view after a full day of hiking in and around Acadia. (which is about a 30 minute EASY drive away) There's a lobster steamer on the deck which was great for steaming fresh lobsters and the cottage has all the utensils necessary for cracking and eating the delicious crustaceans. We found the cottage to be extremely clean, very comfortable and we are certain that you will too! Don't hesitate to book this rental ~ you won't be disappointed!!

    Owner response: Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure meeting you all. Contact me anytime as we would love to have you return to Blueberry Ledge. Wanda and Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best family vacation ever!

    Best family vacation ever!

    • Guest Ventriss (Smithfield, VA)
    • Date of stay 07/30/11
    • Review Submitted 08/09/11
    Blueberry Ledge is the perfect home away from home! The cottage is well appointed and immaculate. The location is tucked away in a cove that provides peace and tranquility with amazing views. We enjoyed many days of hiking in Acadia National Park and sightseeing in and around "Bahaba" and Southwest Harbour. We felt so comfortable in the cottage that it was very hard to make ourselves go out and do things! We are looking forward to returning to Maine and know that there will be a "home" waiting for us with welcoming arms.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Blueberry Ledge is wonderful!

    Blueberry Ledge is wonderful!

    • Guest Julie (Dover, DE)
    • Date of stay 08/07/10
    • Review Submitted 08/29/10
    Our family has truly enjoyed staying at Blueberry Ledge over the years. The views are beautiful, the house is very comfortable and the hosts' are incredibly gracious. We highly recommend Blueberry Ledge!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/01/08
    • Review Submitted 07/03/08
    We had a wonderful time exploring Acadia National Park and all of Bar Harbor and points one hour north. Our accomodations at Blueberry Ledge were first class and made us feel as if we were home. We loved the exclusivity together with the great view at Frenchman's Bay. We look forward to our first opportunity to visit this idyllic setting very soon. We extend our appreciation to Bill and Wanda for all that you did to make our trip so memeorable. Maine is blessed to have you as their residents and proud citizens.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/01/07
    • Review Submitted 10/10/07
    Hi Wanda: It is amazing that we got the kids to leave the cottage. They wanted to literally stay forever. Blueberry Ledge is truly a beautiful cottage with outstanding and soothing views of the bay. Our family really had one of our best vacations ever taking in all of Maine's beauty, exploring, boating, climbing, hiking and just relaxing at Blueberry Ledge. We all had a wonderful time and I am sure we will be back to visit again real soon! Thanks for making it such a memorable experience. Thanks for everything, Kris, Rob, Matthew and Julia Rutkowski

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/01/07
    • Review Submitted 08/13/07
    Dear Wanda, Thankyou for given us the opportunity to stay in an amazing place. The cottage was perfect for sleeping in those cool nights.Well being from florida it seemed cool.We had two sightings of a beautiful eagle soaring above us.This was one of the most memorable vacations we ever experienced. Thanks again, Neveux family.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/01/06
    • Review Submitted 09/23/06
    Dear Wanda and Bill What a wonderful time we had visiting Bluberry Ledge. Your personal touch (including the blueberry muffins) much appreciated. We explored all of Acadia National Park hiking and biking our way around. We also kayaked right from your cottage and were lucky enough to see a beautiful bald eagle on the islands nearby. Hope to visit again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Kathi & Robert Higgins (Fairfax Station, VA)
    • Date of stay 08/01/06
    • Review Submitted 08/15/06
    Dear Wanda & Bill, What a wonderful vacation home. My kids never wanted to leave the house, they just wanted to play on the basement "rock", canoe in the bay, or wait until the tide was out and play in the mud! The home is beautiful and well stocked. I would enjoy my morning coffee in the chairs on the "point" and just relax and enjoy the view. We enjoyed......... the sunset on top of Cadillac Mtn. Bartlett Winery & Bar Harbor Brewery Great buys at Reny's A day trip to Moosehead Lake, getting up close and personal with a moose!! Hiking at Petit Manan NWR Rt 1 seaside towns along the way to Rockland. I highly recommmend this home for your vacation anytime of year! Thanks again, The Higgins Family

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/01/06
    • Review Submitted 07/09/06
    Wanda and Bill, Thank you so much for sharing Blueberry Ledge with me, my daughter, my mom, and my sister. We had the best "girls" week ever and it was truly in part to your beautiful home and your generous hospitality. The house has everything you could possibly want - we felt right at home. The view and surroundings are spectactular! And the Lobsters -- YUM! It was a short drive to everything we wanted to do and more! Then to come home to the clean and comfortable cottage was great. I hope someday we can make another trip to Maine with the guys and we will definately stay at your cottage!! Thanks again!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/01/06
    • Review Submitted 06/02/06
    Dear Wanda: We'd like to thank you for the wonderful week we had in Maine. The information package and directions you provided made the trip over and activity planning easy. The house was wonderfully prepared and stocked. One sees and hears no neighbors from this house, yet we could buy fresh clams just across the street, and the rental canoe was delivered to the door free of charge (people are just wonderful and friendly when you need them). The view from the house made us want to wake up early in the morning every day. The house is just 22 miles from Acadia NP (the centerpiece of our activities during the stay), which made going to Cadillac Mountain to see the sun rise at 4:50am an easy drive. The "surprise" you delivered for seafood lovers like us was a jaw-dropper. What else could we add; it was just such a wonderful stay, and more than a home away from home!! Many thanks, and we may just take up on the discount you sent for the 2nd-timers. Sincerely, Jeff & Kathy Huang

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/01/06
    • Review Submitted 05/16/06
    Dear Wanda and Bill, Blueberry Ledge is a treasure, thanks to attention to every possible detail. Your home is beautiful, with spectacular views to match. Blueberry Ledge is immaculate, tasteful, yet comfortable, with highly responsive management. We have told all of our friends and family that if they ever are traveling to your area, that they should look no further than Blueberry Ledge for their rental. Thanks so much for everything. We look forward to renting from you again in the future. Kind regards, Stephanie and Dick Melrose

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Bohling's
    • Date of stay 10/24/05
    • Review Submitted 10/23/05
    Wanda & Bill, Thank you for everything! Blueberry Ledge was a wonderful place for our Honeymoon! The cabin has become like home in our short visit to Maine. We appreciate everything which made our stay that much more enjoyable. Our favorite thing was the view of the bay each morning. We enjoyed watching the sunrise and the tide coming in. We also liked how the cabin is nestled between the trees; great for watching wildlife. Besides our time at the cabin, we also made a few road trips (Vermont & Nova Scotia), sightseeing on Mt. Desert Island, antiquing at local shops and out to dinner at the local restaurants. Thanks again and we look forward to returning for another stay. Scott and Mary

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Thomas & Johnston Family
    • Date of stay 09/10/05
    • Review Submitted 09/09/05
    Arrival 10pm As you can see we arrived late at night. A long drive from Cleveland, Ohio! Go Tribe!! What a beautiful home we found. The icing on the cake was the views from every room in the house. What a beautiful way to wake up in the morning. Wanda, you were the perfect hostess, sorry we did not get to meet you. Maybe next time. Thanks for all the information before we came and the things we found in the house. We did it all..... Dee & John and Jim & Judi

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Starito & Hatch Group
    • Date of stay 08/20/05
    • Review Submitted 08/19/05
    We all had a lovely time here in this ideallic spot. Thank you, Wanda, for your attention to detail & warm hospitality. Favorite spots: - Mornings by the ledge watching for the eagle - Eaton's Lobster Pool on Little Deer Isle - Ship Harbor Trail in Acadia - Cleonice Bistro' in Ellsworth (tapas) - Bartlett Winery - Right here on the deck enjoying the delicious lobster - Try the scallops from Shaw's, delicious on the grill! Donna & Jon (Kingston, NY) Connie & Joe (NYC)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Armstrong's
    • Date of stay 08/06/05
    • Review Submitted 08/05/05
    We so needed a vacation! A very busy family of 5 with a hectic lifestyle; and so leisure mornings, daily unscheduled wanderings and laidback evenings were totally enjoyed. We visited Bar Harbor, Cadillac Mtn and Sand Beach (and many stops in between) for lots of goodies and great photos. The boys especially liked being buried standing up at the beach and the large frigid surf. Fresh blueberries with granola & yogurt for breakfast were such a treat! Boiled lobster and crab off your own deck was the best though- so sweet. Weather was perfect- Praise God! Wanda made us feel like family with such hospitality and warmth. Love the comforts of home all over this lovely home and setting. We felt refreshed and ready to get back into the swing of it all. Thanks again Bill & Wanda! The Armstrong's

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The O'Connor's
    • Date of stay 07/29/05
    • Review Submitted 07/28/05
    **This wonderful addition to our guest book (at the cottage) is full of information regarding The O'Connor's stay. I am only printing a few lines and hope folks will come and read it for themselves during their vacation at Blueberry Ledge! ************************************************************** After listing all of their outdoor pleasures, they write: At Blueberry Ledge, we enjoyed the house and the surrounding properties immensely. We will always remember - The solitude of morning on the point; the wildlife including a fox, an eagle, crows, an owl and other animals. - The beautifully appointed house with lovely "Maine" furnishings which so inspired us to take a jaunt to Bangor in search of a few such items. (again, thanks Wanda, for the tips!) - The indoor ledge which our boys treated as a fort and from which they re-enacted every episode of "Star Wars". - How wonderful it was to have a dishwasher and washer/dryer at our beck and call. - The lovely deck from which we enjoyed home cooked meals every day in beautiful weather with a glorious view. - Seafood (especially lobster) up to our eyeballs. We have had more seafood in the past week than in the previous year. DE-LI-CIOUS! - And, finally, the graciousness and hospitality of our hostess, Wanda. Thanks to you, Wanda, we have found some places off the beaten path with your excellent directions that have been worth the trip. You have anticipated our every need and we are grateful. May you enjoy your next vacation. You deserve it! If you ever find yourself in Delaware, come find us, please! Faithfully yours, The O'Connor Family Dover, Delaware

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Tan's
    • Date of stay 07/08/05
    • Review Submitted 07/07/05
    Blueberry Ledge has been a perfect respite for our family. Coming from a busy Cosmopolitan in the Far East (Hong Kong), this lovely home away from home, with its idealic cove, is the ultimate country escape. Wanda has done a fabulous job in taking every need into consideration-there's absolutely nothing lacking in this place! The interiors are charming, bright & airy. The deck provides a picture-perfect setting to relax and enjoy the captivating views. This is a destination all by itself! My boys have enjoyed countless afternoons exploring their own little woods and skipping stones by the water (when the tide is in!) Blueberry Ledge's proximity to the many exquisite coastal towns of Maine has made exploring the region so easy and fun. Even a drive down to Camden took us no more than 1 1/2 hours. Acadia National Park is almost like a "backyard", being only 1/2 hour away. All in all, this charming place is all that a vacation home should be. We could come back again & again!...if only we weren't half a world away! Thanks Wanda; for making our first experience of Maine a magical & memorable one! The Tan's Singaporeans living in - Hong Kong -

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/01/05
    • Review Submitted 06/21/05
    Peace and tranquility coupled with practically any amenity one could wish for characterized our stay at Blueberry Ledge (Memorial Day week)! Our 'home away from home" was perfectly situated so that we could explore Acadia National Park and the entire coastal region in both directions without the traffic hassles that could arise by staying in Bar Harbor. Our stay was characterized by fairly good weather, but I was almost wishing at times that fog and rain would housebound us....the house is so cozy. It's a perfect place for introspection, for plotting your life's path, for taking a moment to reflect on small blessings. Blueberry Ledge was a respite for the three of us who desperately needed to reconnect with ourselves, with nature and with each other.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Garvin's
    • Date of stay 05/28/05
    • Review Submitted 05/27/05
    This comment was left in our guestbook at the Cottage on May 28,05. We're off to the airport to end our stay on our honeymoon. The trip and cottage was unforgettable! Some of our favorite places to go and site-see were Fort Knox in Bucksport, Schoodic Peninsula and Bar Harbor and the Acadia National Park. We ate at The Mex in downtown Ellsworth- the entire menu looks good-wish we could have tried everything! Believe it or not the Mexican food here is better than in Texas. The view in Bucksport had a nice menu and food too. But I think our favorite place was Geddy's on Main Street in Bar Harbor. The clam chowder was superb! So despite all the rain, we enjoyed our stay playing games, sitting by the fire and looking outside and occasionally venturing outside. Take care and thanks for creating such a lovely home for visitors. The Garvin's Dallas/Ft. Worth, Texas

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Dittrich/Becque Family
    • Date of stay 01/03/05
    • Review Submitted 01/02/05
    This was written in our guest book at the cottage during the week of December 23rd-29th,2004.A Most Wonderful Holiday!As I sit by the fire, Christmas tree sparkling, snow covered trees outside, I await another spectacular sunrise over the bay. Usually, I have had this pleasure from the bed of the master bedroom, but this morning the day beckons me early.We have had a wonderful holiday visiting our family, The Bruce Becque’s of Hancock, and although many of the summer places and activities have not been available, this has been a perfect setting for us to retreat from our usual busy schedules & just be with family. Even the normally elusive teenagers(17&17)have enjoyed playing cards & scattegories by the fire and playing football in the snow. I’ve enjoyed preparing nice meals as I look out over the bay, and snuggling up on the sofa with a good book.Thank you, Wanda, for all the care and detail that you put into decorating the house for Christmas. It was beautiful and helped us feel at home and festive.Bill, you have done a fantastic job building this home in such a beautiful location. It is truly one of the nicest views of any place I have ever stayed in the world!Thank you both for all of the amenities & comforts of home. We hope to visit again during blueberry season!! Janet Dittrich of St. Louis, MO

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 11/01/04
    • Review Submitted 11/29/04
    Hi Wanda And Bill, Just to add to our comments from the summer. Sorry for the late entry as life is busy, unlike our relaxing vacation at your home. We truly had a wonderful time. You truly put so much thought and care into preparing Blueberry Ledge for a fantastic relaxing time away. The house has everything we could think of and more! It's a great home away from home! Fondly, Tammy, Craig and Katlyn Ahles

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Schiff's
    • Date of stay 08/20/04
    • Review Submitted 08/19/04
    This is a comment copied from our guest book at Blueberry Ledge. The Schiff Family stayed at Blueberry Ledge for two weeks. Wanda & Bill your lovely house & beautiful setting have been a joy for our whole family. Waking up and seeing the view from all rooms, we are going to miss!! The ledge is a wonderful place to perch & read & smell & see & listen. The location is only perfect, within an hour you can be in so many different environments, Deer Isle, Blueberry Hill, Petit Manan Point & Mt. Desert Island, Maine is indeed a national treasure. Ohoooo the lobsters & mussells are so so great, we ate and ate. Unfortunately the red tide kept us from trying your wrinkles & having steamers, oh well, next time! The house does not need a thing that I can think of, when we needed something it was there. We've been so so cozy. Have a good and warm winter. The Schiff Family

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest N/A
    • Date of stay 07/10/04
    • Review Submitted 07/09/04
    This message was left in our guestbook at the cottage on July 10,2004 Wanda & Bill- you are great. What a spectacular setting for your perfect house! On this misty morning we are looking out to an island like Avalon. We also saw the eagle and his mate in the trees off to the right of the water. We watched them for an hour. Today a huge heron flew by near the water level. I made my own perch on the rocks to paint your Blueberry Ledge. Even though we had more fog than sun this week, your extraordinary spot was heavenly. Thanks for the well stocked kitchen, everything from a meat thermometer to lobster fixings, and the amenities throughout the house. We felt like we were in a hotel. Plus, your lobster and wrinkles (whelks) and clams were great. We also had wrinkles at Mama's Boy Bistro and were pleased the owner knew Wanda by her wrinkles! Our Favorite Spots: *Top of Cadillac Mtn. on a clear day *Bernard & Stonington Harbors *Ft. Knox in Bucksport for a change of scene and some history *Art Galleries in Blue Hill ( esp. Leros Gallery) *View from Blueberry Ledge! Fondly, The Smith's Washington, DC

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest N/A
    • Date of stay 07/10/04
    • Review Submitted 07/09/04
    This comment was left in our guestbook on July 10,04 by the wonderful couple who were with the Smith's. We second all that The Smith's wrote on the other page. All the wood used throughout makes for a very warm house. I especially liked the upstairs bedroom. The views are great from every room. We were very happy to meet both of you and appreciate the personal touch-especially the recommendation of the 4th of July restaurant-it truly was a "Wonder View"! P.S. WE enjoyed the 2-hour "Rachel B. Jackson" schooner trip. The Captain was very knowlegeable and liked to explain some of the features of his beautiful boat. The Dollison's

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Jay L. (Bethesda, Maryland USA)
    • Date of stay 07/01/04
    • Review Submitted 07/30/04
    I wanted to add to our guestbook entry. I was hesitant to rent from the internet, but couldn't have been more pleased when we arrived at the house. It is much bigger than it looks, has light wood paneling throughout, and is airy and modern. The huge great room, with kitchen, dining room and living room area, has a lofty cathedral ceiling paneled in natural wood with shining natural wood floors and kitchen cabinets, stone and wood fireplace,and a wall of windows and glass doors overlooking the water. The view makes it seem like you have your own private bay. The master bedroom also has paneled cathedral ceiling, and both that room and the other main floor bedroom have glass across the back wall with walkout deck like the living area. The decks are, in fact, on two levels across the entire back of the house. There is even a porch swing on the lower level! Plus, Wanda and Bill have set up a couple of Adirondak chairs both high out on the ledge and on a minideck down at the water level. Beds are comfy and the two baths have the same natural wood cabinets and nice soap and lotions and fluffy towels. We were surprised to find a cheerful family room in the basement as well as another large room that sports the giant rock face of the ledge on which the house is built. The upstairs bedroom has a loft seating area that overlooks the greatroom. The kitchen is stocked with everything you could want. We found a good supply of paper goods, condiments and coffee, soaps and other necessities that I have had to buy for other places I've rented. The house is a little out of the way, so you do have to drive everywhere, but there are good places to eat and shop within 10-15 minutes.Wanda and Bill were great hosts and concerned to make their tenants' stay perfect. This is a great find if you don't mind being a bit off the beaten path. The setting is indeed wonderful and all is bright and spanking new.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Ahles Family
    • Date of stay 06/05/04
    • Review Submitted 06/04/04
    Our first tenants left this comment in our Guestbook at Blueberry Legde: The house is fantastic with all of the comforts & special touches of home! We had a very relaxing, peaceful week. We saw a bald eagle on the ledge Thursday morning! A great site for our daughter to see! We were excited too! We enjoyed the ledge room & game room for fun, family nights - as well as a great place to "cool" off when it got hot. Wanda & Bill, you have a wonderful place & did a great job making our vacation memorable! We look forward to visiting you and Maine again soon! Fondly, The Ahles

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]