Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Front of the cottage with a porch to enjoy the farm views

Charming Cottage in the Country [#331363] | View Property

Nanaimo
Cottage, Studio + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 5)
$130/nt - $800/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (11)

Sort by:
  • Great vacation!

    Great vacation!

    • Guest Traveller (St Albert, AB)
    • Date of stay 07/21/13
    • Review Submitted 10/01/13
    Our family had a relaxing vacation at the Broody Rooster. The hosts were welcoming and patient with the children and their questions in the barn. The cabin was well equipped and having fresh vegetables from the garden was a treat. There were many activities nearby to keep every one happy and entertained. We would definitely stay here the next time we visit the island. Oh, and we weren't bothered by the early rising roosters - our son was awake before they began their morning cockadoodledoo!!'

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent place!

    Excellent place!

    • Guest Bill (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 06/16/13
    • Review Submitted 06/20/13
    We had a great time visiting Nanaimo and staying in Nicole's cute cottage. She was a great host showing us around the farm and we had a nice relaxing stay. Would recommend in a heartbeat.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Owner response: Thank you for the positive review Bill, hope you all had a safe trip home and best of success with your new job.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Horse clinic

    Horse clinic

    • Guest Jim (Victoria, BC)
    • Date of stay 06/12/13
    • Review Submitted 06/26/13
    My husband and I really enjoyed the atmosphere and natural feel of the cottage and farm. We truly enjoyed having our horse and dog with us for four days. The description of the property and pictures were accurate. The entire property was clean, beautiful and well organized for the enjoyment of guests. We were greeted on arrival and we were orientated to the amenities. The cottage had many unexpected treats; fresh flowers, fresh eggs, jellies and jams. Special considerations were given to providing a comfortable stay for our horse. We recommend the Broody Rooster as a destination for horse or non horse people alike.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you Brenda for the positive review. We enjoyed having you girls, Gary and the horses for the weekend. Hope your Jonathan field clinic at Michael Lake Equestrian Center was productive and we hope you will return again if back in the area.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • away from home

    away from home

    • Guest City Girl (Victoria, BC)
    • Date of stay 10/27/12
    • Review Submitted 11/29/12
    A sweet and cozy home-away-from-home. Loved my stay. The week went by too quickly. Nicole and John are lovely hosts and I would highly recommend this accommodation. This city girl appreciated her time in the country! Thank you Nicole and John

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great location, greta wake up call!

    Great location, greta wake up call!

    • Guest Northern Prof (Prince George)
    • Date of stay 10/14/12
    • Review Submitted 11/27/12
    Staying at the Broody Rooster was a fantastic experience. It's a charming little cabin, with all the amenities of home - a full kitchen, washer, dryer, cable TV, WiFi, etc. Plus you get the added bonus of living next to a working hobby farm, complete with the beautiful barn, horses, very energetic dogs, hens, and of course the 'wake up' call of the roosters. Thanks Nicole and John for being great hosts and making the entire stay simple and comfortable. Living in Cedar for a few weeks was a relaxing delight.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Lovely cottage

    Lovely cottage

    • Guest Weltenbummler (Mainz, Germany)
    • Date of stay 07/07/12
    • Review Submitted 08/09/12
    We enjoyed our two weeks stay at this charming cottage very much. Not only because of this beautiful landscape but also because of the very kind and helpful owners. The cabin is very "gemütlich" as we say in Germany. And there is no word that can describe that cute accommodation better.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxed

    Relaxed

    • Guest Bob & Vicki (Cody, Wyoming)
    • Date of stay 08/18/11
    • Review Submitted 09/15/11
    There is a homey, comfortable atmosphere here, where, at the end of the day, you'll want to plop down on one of the chairs on the front porch, pour a glass of wine, and enjoy Happy Hour while admiring all sorts of flowers and checking out various farm animals that stroll by. We laughed a lot while watching the antics (and listening to the crows) of the many barnyard chickens. Fresh vegetables and fruit from the ample garden are a real plus. We grilled fresh seafood, ate homemade jam, even prepared bruschetta with tomatoes and basil from the garden. It's easy to unwind here, and the owners are very helpful.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Crowing Roosters Disturb Sleep

    Crowing Roosters Disturb Sleep

    • Guest Glenn (Campbell River)
    • Date of stay 08/10/11
    • Review Submitted 09/13/11
    Location & setting very lovely however roosters crowing at 4:30am and ongoing all morning a huge negative. Rooster home so close to cottage that even earplugs didn't drown out continual crowing. Don't stay here if sleeping past sunrise is important to you. Also we found a compost bin with rotting food under the kitchen sink. As a result we had hundreds of fruit flies to deal with. Our intention was to stay three nights but after one day we decided to move elsewhere. Have stayed in many vrbo accommodations and this is the first time we have written a negative review.

    Owner response: Dear future guests. We feel badly about the experience that Connie and Glenn had at our property. We always want our guests to have the best vacation and indeed this is our only negative complaint yet. It is true that the compost bin was left. The guests were actually booked a day later and at the last moment asked to come early. In my haste to get the cabin ready, I forgot to empty the compost. You can rest assured that I won't do that again and you will not have fruit flies. Our apologies to Connie and Glenn once again. We do describe our property as being on a farm with lots of critters, which most guests truly love and which is why they choose to come. This includes free range chickens and some prize roosters, and yes, roosters crow! We cannot control when they crow but typically it is at sunrise about 6:00 am. We provide earplugs for guests but have never had a complaint, and in fact, many guests comment that they enjoy waking to natures alarm clock. We also rented the cabin for 8 years to tenants and didn't have issues. But yes, you should expect to see them and hear them. We think however, if a farm experience is what you are looking for, that you are more likely to enjoy the chickens, the fresh eggs, the baby chicks and the photo opportunities they provide as well! Once again, we feel badly these guests did not have the experience all of our other guests have had. But please, future guests, don't let one guests experience with natures alarm clock get in the way of the wonderful experience that you can have at the Broody Rooster Gallery and Guesthouse.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Warm welcome retreat

    Warm welcome retreat

    • Guest Hillbilly (Calgary)
    • Date of stay 07/13/11
    • Review Submitted 07/28/11
    We stayed for one week and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hosts were warm and welcoming and have set up the cottage with every amenity you'll need. Fresh flowers, eggs in the fridge and home made jam upon our arrival started things off right. We drank a few good bottles of wine on the front porch after our various day trips. Lots to do and see and the location was great. Highly recommended.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Very relaxing

    Very relaxing

    • Guest Megan (Calgary)
    • Date of stay 06/17/11
    • Review Submitted 09/15/11
    Thank you John and Nicole for a very relaxing week. Our son thoroughly enjoyed talking to all the animals, we had several cookouts and also managed to do some sightseeing around the area. It was nice to have a 'home' to come back to at the end of the day.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Our Farm Away from Home!

    Our Farm Away from Home!

    • Guest VI fly guy (Northern Vancouver Island)
    • Date of stay 08/27/10
    • Review Submitted 09/20/11
    My girlfriend and I spent our first overnight together at Broody Rooster Guesthouse – it was perfect! The cabin was as described in words and pictures; in excellent shape, amenities galore, farm critters walking to and fro during the day and star gazing from either of the decks at night, and the check-in and customer service was superb. Hard to argue with the fresh free-run eggs, and the unlimited access to the plentiful vegetable garden and blackberry bushes everywhere that surrounded the area. The guesthouse is in an excellent location; set in an agriculture region approx. 15 minutes from downtown Nanaimo, but with grocery and other supply shopping outlets closer. Highly recommended! We’ve already booked our next stay at Broody Rooster - “our farm away from home...”

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]